About Mott & Bow

By Autumn Yates
HighYa Staff Published on: Nov 11, 2016

Mott & Bow offers premium, handmade denim at affordable prices—promising the same quality at approximately half the cost when compared to other designer brands.

Alejandro Chahin, the brand’s founder, grew up in a denim factory in Honduras—first counting buttons, then fabric sourcing and hand-creating washes later as a teen.

But rather than stay put and spend his life filling production orders for other brands, Alejandro took everything he learned in the factory to business school at NYU. From there, he studied consumer demand and realized there was a gap in the marketplace.

In short, there weren’t any brands offering premium denim at a fair price.

How Can Mott & Bow Offer Premium Denim at a Lower Cost?

Alejandro recognized that part of the reason premium denim was so expensive was that these brands had started before the era of online shopping. Instead of bringing the product directly to you, the customer, it went through various distribution channels and was marked up along the way.

By creating jeans in the same factory that his family has owned since 1982, Mott & Bow is able to cut out the cost of distribution—and pass those savings onto their customers.

What Makes Mott & Bow “Premium” Denim?

Mott & Bow states that the high-quality of their jeans starts with the raw materials and that they source denim from some of the most respected denim mills in the world: Orta in Turkey and Candiani in Italy.

The brand claims that this higher-quality cloth not only looks better, but it performs better with wear, unlike cheap denim that won't “bounce back” after multiple washes.

Once the raw fabric arrives at Mott & Bow’s factory in Honduras, each pair is attended to by hand to ensure that the design, cut, wash, and finish are all perfected.

The result, claims Mott & Bow, is that customers have come to know the brand as successfully blending comfort, style, and an affordable price point.

Mott & Bow Men’s Denim Styles

Composition fabrics that offer stretch have been used for women’s jeans for years. Sometimes called “stretch denim,” they’re more comfortable and move with your body. Mott & Bow is one of only a few brands that offer jeans made from blended fabrics for men.

The jeans, which range from $96 to $128 a pair, are made from a high-quality blend of cotton, polyester, and elastane for a formulation of up to 35% stretch denim.

Note that not all Mott & Bow jeans are cut from the same cloth—there are varying degrees of stretch, up to their Dynamic Stretch line that claims to be as comfortable as athletic wear after just two washes.

Mott & Bow offers about ten different colors of denim for men, including the jet-black Morton or the indigo Moscow to the light and casual Ludlow. The different shades are achieved through special processes of washes and applied resin, as well as some detailed razoring and scuffing up the edges of pockets and hems for that perfectly worn-in look.

Available men’s sizes range from 28" to 36" waist and either 32" or 34" length. Additionally, Mott & Bow provides exact measurements for each different fit to take the guesswork out of selecting skinny, slim, or straight:

Skinny:

  • Mid-rise with zipper fly
  • Skinny from hip to hem
  • Tapered leg
  • 13 ½" Leg opening

Slim:

  • Mid-rise with zipper fly
  • Straight through hip
  • Slim through thigh
  • 15 ½" Leg opening

Straight:

  • Mid-rise with zipper fly
  • Straight through hip and thigh
  • Straight leg from knee to opening
  • 17" Leg opening

Each product page displays the denim’s fit, where the fabric is sourced from, its composition and weight, fit details (seen above), and how Mott & Bow achieved the pair’s particular wash. You’ll also find customer reviews that rate on size, comfort, and quality along with comments.

Mott & Bow Women’s Denim Styles

Mott & Bow started offering only men’s denim but has recently expanded to women’s. Women’s denim is available in six different washes, including jet black Bond and a pretty, subtle grey-black named Orchard, and prices range from $96 to $128.

Women’s denim are more limited in available sizes, with waist ranging from 24" to a max of 32". Choose between three styles of fit:

High Rise Skinny:

  • Front rise of 10"
  • Skinny fit
  • 9" Leg opening
  • 30" Inseam

Mid Rise Skinny:

  • Front rise of 8.5"
  • Skinny fit
  • 9" Leg opening
  • 30" Inseam

Slim Boyfriend:

  • Front rise of 8.75"
  • Slim fit
  • 12" Leg opening
  • 32" Inseam (for cuffing)

Just like the men’s category, each product page shares information on the denim, the wash, and details of the fit, followed by customer reviews of the specific product.

Even if you read through all the reviews and compare measurements, it can be darn difficult to find perfectly fitting denim in the store—much less online. How to find your perfect Mott & Bow size?

Ensure a Perfect Fit With Mott & Bow Home Try-On Program

A feature unique to Mott & Bow is their home try-on program, which allows you to order both your own size and a second pair, either a size above or a size below, to make sure the fit is right, at no extra cost.

Here’s how their home try-on program works:

  1. Buy your first pair and choose a second waist size for free.
  2. They’ll send both so you can decide the best fit for you.
  3. Keep the one you like and send the second pair back for free.
  4. Using the pre-paid label drop the box off at the nearest FedEx.

One catch: A few styles are in such high demand that Mott & Bow can’t spare the extra pairs for their home try-on program. However, you can filter out which styles aren’t available in the top menu bar.

Mott & Bow Pricing & Refund Policy

Both men and women’s Mott & Bow denim costs between $96 to $128 a pair. The cost of shipping varies slightly depending on your location (they also ship to 24 countries outside of the United States). However, order two or more pairs and shipping is free.

If your jeans don’t fit, Mott & Bow also claims to make returns easier. Orders are eligible for refunds for 30 days. To do so, follow the instructions that came with your package or fill out a digital refund request here.

Refunds will be processed within five days. However, each is subjected to a $5 restocking fee—that’s per order, not per product. And don't forget, returns are free as each delivery comes with a prepaid return label.

Potential Cons of Mott & Bow Denim

Members of the Men’s Fashion Advice (MFA) Subreddit offer up some criticisms of Mott & Bow denim. Two points being that the jeans aren’t made in the US and that they don’t include the kind of details that denim lovers associate with quality, such as selvaged edges. (“Selvage” means that the edges are self-finished, which keeps them from unraveling or fraying over time.)

Selvedge Denim vs Non Selvedge DenimImage via Brooklyn Clothing

However, it’s important to note the any criticism offered came from people who hadn’t actually tried on Mott & Bow denim. Reading further down in the forum and you can find that the lack of a self-finished edge hasn’t curbed the enthusiasm of several MFA customers.

Customer Reviews of Mott & Bow

Either Mott & Bow has an amazing press team or these jeans really rock, because you’re hard pressed to find anything but glowing reviews of their men’s denim. Reviewers at The Style Guide, Paul Evans, and even Business Insider offer up the opinion that Mott & Bow are likely the most comfortable men’s jeans ever made.

As we mentioned above, blended comfort fabrics aren’t anything new to women’s denim. After all, we have “jeggings” made from sweatpant material. However, Mott & Bow does promise to offer that perfect point of compression and stretch.

That being said, customer reviews of Mott & Bow’s women’s denim are equally glowing, with women remarking that the high-rise style was surprisingly giving in the waist while retaining shape.

The only criticism was of the women’s slim boyfriend style, which one reviewer said wasn’t a true boyfriend fit, and wore more like a skinny jean.

Bottom Line on Mott & Bow?

Hovering at right around $100 per pair, Mott & Bow denim are certainly more expensive than a pair that you’d pick up at Target or Macy’s.

On the other hand, based on what we learned during our research, it seems like you’ll get what you pay for with Mott & Bow, including high-quality fabric, fashionable designs, and an exact fit.

Looking to switch things up from your standard jeans brand? If you’re not on a tight budget, Mott & Bow could deliver exactly what you need.

Read Next: 6 Top Tips to Buying Pre-Owned Designer Clothing Online (That You’ll Actually Love)

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

45 Consumer Reviews for Mott & Bow

Average Consumer Rating: 3.8
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 21 4 star: 11 3 star: 4 2 star: 1 1 star:  8
Bottom Line: 76% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 45
Sort reviews by:

  • Are these jeans anti-feminist?

    • San Francisco, CA,
    • Oct 24, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    These jeans had a lot going for them—the texture and feel of the denim was good, and felt fairly high quality. Also, the Internet is losing its mind about them, for some reason. But don't believe the hype. These jeans don't like real women. Or at least women who have to, you know, walk around on their legs, and do normal stuff like run down the subway stairs.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Amazing fit, form and fashion - BEST EVER for me!

    • Miami, FL,
    • Oct 24, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'm very picky when it comes to my jeans - always been tough to find the right fit and almost never happens for me. These jeans fit great right out of the box. The "try on size" was a lifesaver. I was buying these jeans to have a nice pair of jeans that could be "dressed up" with a collared shirt, jacket and brown cap toe shoe for a work conference. Felt/fit great!

    First time I have ever had guys ask me what brand of jeans I was wearing and where to get them. Worth every penny!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • You just might find the perfect jean

    • Newark, New Jersey,
    • Oct 24, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased a few different styles of these jeans to try on and see which ones I like. They are all really nice, super skinny and they look and feel very well made. They seem very stretchy so I would definitely size down on some of the washes. Also, it seems like depending on what wash you get you may have to get a size up! (ex: Mid Rise Skinny Jane in medium/dark blue wash I needed the 27 (super stretchy) but in the medium blue wash I needed a 28 (my true size).

    Overall I’m returning all the different ones I tried on mostly because I’m waiting for the Mid Rise Skinny - Jane to be available in a medium/dark blue wash with a petite length!

    I’m 5’4” 135 lbs and I found the 28L was still too long for me. They bunched up just a bit at the ankle and the 30L bunched up a lot!

    I definitely recommend these, they are worth a try and you just might find that perfect jean!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Great jeans, odd fit for athletic body type

    • NY, NY,
    • Oct 24, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I loved the look and feel of the boyfriend jeans I bought. I got two sizes since I hadn't bought this brand and sizes often vary. I bought boyfriend jeans because I have trouble with skinny jeans around my calves. I have strong calves so often skinny jeans are too tight.

    Boyfriend jeans typically have a looser cut but, they were fine around the waist, they were still very tight at my calves. This caused the jeans to kind of pull down as I walked. I had to return them both because both sizes had this problem. The company was just excellent about the return. I would try them if they came up with another cut because the feel of the material is awesome.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • My new favorite jeans!

    • Phoenix, Arizona,
    • Oct 24, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    These jeans look and feel wonderful! I have several pairs of high-end jeans in similar cuts (Paige, J-brand, and Hudson high waisted skinnies) and I repeatedly find myself grabbing this Mott & bow pair first. I think this is probably due to the thickness and durability, I am hard on my clothes and these jeans perform great (I have even caught myself gardening in them).

    As far as sizing, they do run ever-so-slightly larger than the other jeans I mentioned. I also do wish they would sell them in different lengths. Mott & Bow, if you're reading this, I would purchase tons of a shorter/cropped inseam!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • It is in the details…

    • Chicago, IL,
    • Oct 24, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    The jean material was excellent. The jean cut was good. The inside lining of the left pocket (with the white color) shows a bit which is a small, but a very visible error.

    The customer service is really good, all of my doubts were cleared. Overall, the jeans are a fairly good value for the price. I most likely would purchase again as I like the styles offered.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Amazing fit, feel, and look

    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Oct 24, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I found Mott & Bow and was skeptical since I've had premium denim before and it was mostly ok, but not amazing. These jeans are amazing! When I put them on, they were legitimately the best pair of pants I have ever put on my butt.

    The fit was fantastic and the length was perfect. Feel was amazing. I instantly bought a second pair, and I'm currently waiting for a few more styles to come back into stock.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Pretty cozy & roomy

    • New York, New York,
    • Oct 24, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Soft and comfortable. The Monroe Boyfriend runs roomy through hips & waist for that "boyfriend" sag. I wear a 27 in AG jeans, am currently about 5 lbs overweight (AGs are tight) - these 27s are already riding comfortably on my hips after 10 minutes and they're only going to get bigger. It's a good look (more of a classic boyfriend fit) but it's a different look than the one shown on the model, which is a snugger, more fitted style.

    I plan to order a 26 to get the snugger fit. Perhaps it will be nice to have both but once I lose these five pounds these pants (27) may be too large

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Great skinny jeans!

    • Houston, TX,
    • Oct 21, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am 5'2'' and I did the try at home service with sizes 28 and 29. Size 29 is perfect for me: I am not your typical "skinny jean" girl, I'm short and have muscular legs. I've never looked good in skinny jeans, so I was skeptical. Thanks to the try at home program I ordered up a size from my usual 28 and they fit wonderfully! I would equate these jeans to a really great pair of leggings; they are SO comfortable with generous stretch, but they still look polished. The dark gray color is great for both day and night.

    These jeans are extremely versatile, I wear them to work and on nights out so if you but these you won't regret it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Really comfortable jeans.

    • New York,
    • Oct 20, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I usually wear 26 for every jean I own, but for the try-on size, I selected 25. Miraculously, size 25 fits perfectly! Make sure if you're a first-time buyer to get the additional size to try because you never know. The material is so comfortable, soft and slightly elastic but it doesn't get stretched too easily, which is one of the reasons why it is so hard to find a truly skinny jeans these days. I like it and it styles up with everything! I am considering getting another pair in different color!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Love love love these jeans

    • Seattle, WA,
    • Oct 20, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    These are my favorite jeans I own. When I get home after work, I usually take my jeans off to make myself comfortable but the other day I realized at 9 pm that I was still wearing my jeans. They are so comfortable I didn't even notice! I've been recommending them to all my friends.

    I purchased the Warren in the slim fit and although the color wasn't exactly as the picture online they did not disappoint me at all. If you're thinking of buying these jeans just stop thinking about it and go for it. Buy them now!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 45

Write a Review for Mott & Bow!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review