About Mott & Bow

By Autumn Yates
HighYa Staff Published on: Nov 11, 2016

Mott & Bow offers premium, handmade denim at affordable prices—promising the same quality at approximately half the cost when compared to other designer brands.

Alejandro Chahin, the brand’s founder, grew up in a denim factory in Honduras—first counting buttons, then fabric sourcing and hand-creating washes later as a teen.

But rather than stay put and spend his life filling production orders for other brands, Alejandro took everything he learned in the factory to business school at NYU. From there, he studied consumer demand and realized there was a gap in the marketplace.

In short, there weren’t any brands offering premium denim at a fair price.

How Can Mott & Bow Offer Premium Denim at a Lower Cost?

Alejandro recognized that part of the reason premium denim was so expensive was that these brands had started before the era of online shopping. Instead of bringing the product directly to you, the customer, it went through various distribution channels and was marked up along the way.

By creating jeans in the same factory that his family has owned since 1982, Mott & Bow is able to cut out the cost of distribution—and pass those savings onto their customers.

What Makes Mott & Bow “Premium” Denim?

Mott & Bow states that the high-quality of their jeans starts with the raw materials and that they source denim from some of the most respected denim mills in the world: Orta in Turkey and Candiani in Italy.

The brand claims that this higher-quality cloth not only looks better, but it performs better with wear, unlike cheap denim that won't “bounce back” after multiple washes.

Once the raw fabric arrives at Mott & Bow’s factory in Honduras, each pair is attended to by hand to ensure that the design, cut, wash, and finish are all perfected.

The result, claims Mott & Bow, is that customers have come to know the brand as successfully blending comfort, style, and an affordable price point.

Mott & Bow Men’s Denim Styles

Composition fabrics that offer stretch have been used for women’s jeans for years. Sometimes called “stretch denim,” they’re more comfortable and move with your body. Mott & Bow is one of only a few brands that offer jeans made from blended fabrics for men.

The jeans, which range from $96 to $128 a pair, are made from a high-quality blend of cotton, polyester, and elastane for a formulation of up to 35% stretch denim.

Note that not all Mott & Bow jeans are cut from the same cloth—there are varying degrees of stretch, up to their Dynamic Stretch line that claims to be as comfortable as athletic wear after just two washes.

Mott & Bow offers about ten different colors of denim for men, including the jet-black Morton or the indigo Moscow to the light and casual Ludlow. The different shades are achieved through special processes of washes and applied resin, as well as some detailed razoring and scuffing up the edges of pockets and hems for that perfectly worn-in look.

Available men’s sizes range from 28" to 36" waist and either 32" or 34" length. Additionally, Mott & Bow provides exact measurements for each different fit to take the guesswork out of selecting skinny, slim, or straight:

Skinny:

  • Mid-rise with zipper fly
  • Skinny from hip to hem
  • Tapered leg
  • 13 ½" Leg opening

Slim:

  • Mid-rise with zipper fly
  • Straight through hip
  • Slim through thigh
  • 15 ½" Leg opening

Straight:

  • Mid-rise with zipper fly
  • Straight through hip and thigh
  • Straight leg from knee to opening
  • 17" Leg opening

Each product page displays the denim’s fit, where the fabric is sourced from, its composition and weight, fit details (seen above), and how Mott & Bow achieved the pair’s particular wash. You’ll also find customer reviews that rate on size, comfort, and quality along with comments.

Mott & Bow Women’s Denim Styles

Mott & Bow started offering only men’s denim but has recently expanded to women’s. Women’s denim is available in six different washes, including jet black Bond and a pretty, subtle grey-black named Orchard, and prices range from $96 to $128.

Women’s denim are more limited in available sizes, with waist ranging from 24" to a max of 32". Choose between three styles of fit:

High Rise Skinny:

  • Front rise of 10"
  • Skinny fit
  • 9" Leg opening
  • 30" Inseam

Mid Rise Skinny:

  • Front rise of 8.5"
  • Skinny fit
  • 9" Leg opening
  • 30" Inseam

Slim Boyfriend:

  • Front rise of 8.75"
  • Slim fit
  • 12" Leg opening
  • 32" Inseam (for cuffing)

Just like the men’s category, each product page shares information on the denim, the wash, and details of the fit, followed by customer reviews of the specific product.

Even if you read through all the reviews and compare measurements, it can be darn difficult to find perfectly fitting denim in the store—much less online. How to find your perfect Mott & Bow size?

Ensure a Perfect Fit With Mott & Bow Home Try-On Program

A feature unique to Mott & Bow is their home try-on program, which allows you to order both your own size and a second pair, either a size above or a size below, to make sure the fit is right, at no extra cost.

Here’s how their home try-on program works:

  1. Buy your first pair and choose a second waist size for free.
  2. They’ll send both so you can decide the best fit for you.
  3. Keep the one you like and send the second pair back for free.
  4. Using the pre-paid label drop the box off at the nearest FedEx.

One catch: A few styles are in such high demand that Mott & Bow can’t spare the extra pairs for their home try-on program. However, you can filter out which styles aren’t available in the top menu bar.

Mott & Bow Pricing & Refund Policy

Both men and women’s Mott & Bow denim costs between $96 to $128 a pair. The cost of shipping varies slightly depending on your location (they also ship to 24 countries outside of the United States). However, order two or more pairs and shipping is free.

If your jeans don’t fit, Mott & Bow also claims to make returns easier. Orders are eligible for refunds for 30 days. To do so, follow the instructions that came with your package or fill out a digital refund request here.

Refunds will be processed within five days. However, each is subjected to a $5 restocking fee—that’s per order, not per product. And don't forget, returns are free as each delivery comes with a prepaid return label.

Potential Cons of Mott & Bow Denim

Members of the Men’s Fashion Advice (MFA) Subreddit offer up some criticisms of Mott & Bow denim. Two points being that the jeans aren’t made in the US and that they don’t include the kind of details that denim lovers associate with quality, such as selvaged edges. (“Selvage” means that the edges are self-finished, which keeps them from unraveling or fraying over time.)

Selvedge Denim vs Non Selvedge DenimImage via Brooklyn Clothing

However, it’s important to note the any criticism offered came from people who hadn’t actually tried on Mott & Bow denim. Reading further down in the forum and you can find that the lack of a self-finished edge hasn’t curbed the enthusiasm of several MFA customers.

Customer Reviews of Mott & Bow

Either Mott & Bow has an amazing press team or these jeans really rock, because you’re hard pressed to find anything but glowing reviews of their men’s denim. Reviewers at The Style Guide, Paul Evans, and even Business Insider offer up the opinion that Mott & Bow are likely the most comfortable men’s jeans ever made.

As we mentioned above, blended comfort fabrics aren’t anything new to women’s denim. After all, we have “jeggings” made from sweatpant material. However, Mott & Bow does promise to offer that perfect point of compression and stretch.

That being said, customer reviews of Mott & Bow’s women’s denim are equally glowing, with women remarking that the high-rise style was surprisingly giving in the waist while retaining shape.

The only criticism was of the women’s slim boyfriend style, which one reviewer said wasn’t a true boyfriend fit, and wore more like a skinny jean.

Bottom Line on Mott & Bow?

Hovering at right around $100 per pair, Mott & Bow denim are certainly more expensive than a pair that you’d pick up at Target or Macy’s.

On the other hand, based on what we learned during our research, it seems like you’ll get what you pay for with Mott & Bow, including high-quality fabric, fashionable designs, and an exact fit.

Looking to switch things up from your standard jeans brand? If you’re not on a tight budget, Mott & Bow could deliver exactly what you need.

Read Next: 6 Top Tips to Buying Pre-Owned Designer Clothing Online (That You’ll Actually Love)

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

51 Consumer Reviews for Mott & Bow

Average Consumer Rating: 3.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 21 4 star: 11 3 star: 4 2 star: 1 1 star:  14
Bottom Line: 67% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 51
Sort reviews by:

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Decent jeans - terrible customer service!

    • San Francisco, CA,
    • Jun 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    A friend told me about Mott & Bow and I gave them a try. Their return system that allows you to buy an extra pair in a different size is a little strange, given that it doesn't let you try different waist AND length sizes. That's okay because they offer a decent return policy.

    Wait until you try to make returns, however.

    One pair of Slim Crosby jeans fit great, however, my hands turned blue. After trying to rinse/wash them with some vinegar (that was their support teams recommendation), to "set the dye," they continued to turn my hands blue and even turn furniture blue around my apartment. I tried to request an exchange, however, they refused.

    I ordered two new pairs, as the fit of the Crosby was great. I was hoping this was a dye issue and maybe they had fixed it. I tried on the pair, and my hands again turned blue. The second time I tried them on the rivet on the pocket ripped. I put in a request to return them, and they told me that they had "no way of knowing how many times I've worn them so they couldn't process a return OR exchange."

    In an era where internet companies with low margins are disrupting industries, this is NOT the type of customer experience a disruptive company needs to have.

    They have lost what would have been a loyal customer due to terrible customer service. I'm also going out of my way to tell friends about them too, because their jeans aren't cheap. Levi's new 511 fit is almost the same and is cheaper!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 2, 2018

      Grace, Customer Service

      Hi David,

      Thanks for the feedback. It’s typical of very dark jeans to transfer color based on the nature of the indigo dyeing process. Usually around the fifth wash is when you will see indigo transfer stop if it is happening. As for the fallen rivet, we're very sorry about this issue, this is not common to our products. We've issued a refund for the returned item and sent you a replacement. We hope you remain a valued customer and give us a chance to regain your trust in the brand.

      Grace

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Better like what you buy

    • Tallahassee, FL,
    • May 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The sizing of their jeans is incredibly inconsistent across the same style, let alone different styles. If you do not have a decision on a return within the five days allotted by the try-on program, you have to pay for your own return shipping. If you choose to return everything in the order (because of sizing problems), you may be charged the original cost of shipping and a restocking fee. Aside from quality control issues involving consistency, the jeans are okay. However, this company does NOTHING to ease the hassle of online shopping for jeans. They will take every penny they can.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Collects fuzz and lint better than a lint roller.

    I find it difficult to believe that this is not an overwhelming problem for Mott & Bow. My jeans collect fuzz and lint like it's their job. So much so that I am unable to wear them. Five minutes after leaving the house I am covered in it. God forbid I sit on a fabric couch or chair somewhere, or brush up against anything with fibers, and I will be walking away with half a blanket attached to my thigh.

    I called Mott & Bow and asked about returning them. They said that it was too late, and because I had washed them (to try and get the fuzz off) they couldn't be returned, and the same goes for the second try on pair (which had not been worn nor washed yet). But they did suggest that I wash them in vinegar. That does not work. So, now I have about $220 in jeans in my closet that I will never wear. This was an investment for me, so I am NOT HAPPY! I've contacted them a couple of times to complain, and the answer is pretty much "sorry."

    It goes without saying that I'll never buy their jeans again and I'll make sure that none of my friends here in Houston fall into this trap either. Furthermore, this BS of trying on a second pair and sending them back within five business days is a TRAP. Don't fall for it. They don't emphasize the 5-day return policy at all, so look in the fine print. They know people are busy and often fail at following through with deals like this and will end up getting stuck with that second pair of terrible jeans.

    And they charged my account today (March 20th) for the purchase that was made in December 2017, for that second pair. I thought I had already been charged. So imagine how awesome that is, to get charged almost four months later for a pair of jeans that you HATE, and have been trying to get over the bad decision for months. Like a slap in the face. This is so uncharacteristic of me to leave a bad review for anyone, but I think this company is absolutely shady.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Don't ever buy their products or you will regret it!

    I normally don't write reviews, but they got me this time.

    I am so beyond in disbelief that they're still in business. First of all, it's a terrible product. And you'll regret it the moment you'll try it.

    But that's beyond of what I experience. It took a month and a half from the time it was ordered to the time I got a "partial" refund back.

    Yes, you will risk not getting a full refund back!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 19, 2018

      Grace, Customer Service

      Hi Lilian,

      Thanks for the feedback. We're sorry about your bad experience. You are right in that we were delayed in your refund. The reason that happened is we contacted you to offer a free exchange, so we could help you find the right product. We waited a few days and after not receiving a response we proceeded with a refund. Again, we regret that our outreach was misunderstood. We invite you to check your spam folder to corroborate the legitimacy of all the information provided above. Please let us know if you want to give us another chance, we'd gladly love to help you out in any way we can. Call us at 855-798-9009 or send us an email to help@mottandbow.com.

      Best,

      Mott & Bow

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Inconsistent quality, sizing, and customer service

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Jan 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I never go online and write bad reviews, but my experience with this company has been so frustrating, and I do not want anyone else to experience what I did. I ordered the Janes in size 26 and 27. The 26 fit but was painted on and not flattering. The 27 fit beautifully, but there was an issue with the dye. The seam on one inner calf was bright white, which really stood out against the dark dye. There was also a dye issue along the seam of the pocket.

    These issues were not present on the size 26, so I notified the company and they said they would send a replacement. I was so pleased with their quick response. They said all I had to do was drop the package off at FedEx and they will send the new ones out as soon as they receive it. Easy returns as promised on their website.

    I brought the package to FedEx in the original box it was shipped in, however, and was told by FedEx they do not accept that packaging. I was told it had to go to USPS. I dropped it off at USPS.

    A week and a half later I had not heard anything, so I contacted the company. They said that there was a delay because somehow the package ended up at USPS and had to be picked up by FedEx and then shipped to them. Uh yeah, FedEx didn't accept the package.

    So finally the new package arrives. I excitedly try on the 27s. They are HUGE at the waist. At least two sizes bigger at the waist, same fit through the legs, and SAME DYE ISSUE on one calf. I contact the company saying I must have gotten a bad pair because of the drastic size difference. I then had to suffer through 12 back and forth email exchanges with two different people telling me that, "In regards to your comments, since all the jeans are handcrafted (no jean is exactly the same), there could be a slight variation from one to another in size terms." When I clarified that the variation was not at all slight, I was told: "Please bare in mind that as stated before all the jeans are handcrafted, so slight variations in size are normal."

    Clearly I was not being heard. Another part of the back and forth was the customer service asking me FOUR different times if I would consider a store credit at this point. Each time, in a very kind way, I told them no. They continued to ask. This was all after they said they will not process an exchange on an exchange and left me no other option (I understand the policy, but this pair was REALLY off in size, so this seems silly and it's not my fault, quality control missed this glaring mistake).

    I was finally told, "Once we receive them and our warehouse department determines they are in pristine conditions, your request will be fulfilled." The word "pristine" reads a bit passive-aggressive, no? I then had to pay $7 in return shipping and believe I will also be charged a restocking fee on jeans that should quite frankly not be restocked due to the sizing issue. So I'm out $13 and a lot of time.

    At the time of writing this, I have not yet received a refund, though I expect to soon. I was told the refund had been initiated before I mailed the package but then received an email saying they got the package and aren't sure if I want a refund or exchange. Aside from the fact that I was told the refund had been initiated, I had also been told that an exchange was not possible. I also declined a store credit four times.

    My opinion is that this whole ordeal has been such a huge waste of time and money. There are many other companies out there doing the same thing as this one but with much better customer service and policies. I have learned that promptness does not equate to good customer service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 10, 2018

      Grace, Customer Service

      Hi Sydney,

      On behalf of the team, we offer our sincere apology for the misunderstanding and mishandling of your case. We usually take pride in offering a premium customer experience and we are sorry we did not deliver. A full refund (no deductions were made) has been processed. Additionally, we added a store credit to your M & B account in case you decide to give us another try in the future. We certainly hope you can give us another try.

      Thank you so much for letting us know about your case. Regarding the shipping situation you encountered, it must be a new FedEx representative that did not have the correct information, as the same transaction happens hundreds of times a week without any issues. Nonetheless, we are sorry you experienced this problem. Let us know if we can be of further assistance.

      Best,

      Mott & Bow

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Shady unethical practices and unauthorized charges

    Do not order from this company. I will make sure everyone knows.

    I loved their jeans after my initial order. I placed a second order for $253 for 3 pairs of jeans, and I was charged 3 times without my consent or authorization.

    They are thieves and do not make things right at all. Their solution was to insult me by offering a coupon code for 20% off a future purchase. My bank account is still missing almost $900 because I was charged 3 separate times. They say they issued 2 credits but 1) they never advised me of 3 charges nor were authorized as there was no reason for 3 charges and 2) the money is still not in my bank account where it belongs.

    Their service is horrible. Grace is the thief, Diana from "customer experience" doesn't care at all. They are a disgrace. Not worth it if something goes wrong as they don't care! Lesson learned and I will let everyone know about their horrible shady practices.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 5, 2017

      Grace, Customer Service

      Hi Marina,

      We're glad we could solve this case in your favor:

      1. As we previously explained, we made a mistake on charging one of your orders twice (duplicated order). Nevertheless, we found and amended the mistake immediately (meaning, a full refund was issued right away after the charge was made). In regards to the third order, this was a backorder which was cancelled and refunded on your request.

      2. We verified that all these three credits are now back in your bank account, so we're all square.

      Once again, we express our deepest apologies for this misuderstanding and guarantee you that we never meant to do you any harm. Contrary to this, our aim is, has and will always be to help our customers and work our hardest to ensure their satisfaction.

      We look forward to serving you again in the near future.

      Warmest regards,

      Mott & Bow

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Are these jeans anti-feminist?

    • San Francisco, CA,
    • Oct 24, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    These jeans had a lot going for them—the texture and feel of the denim was good, and felt fairly high quality. Also, the Internet is losing its mind about them, for some reason. But don't believe the hype. These jeans don't like real women. Or at least women who have to, you know, walk around on their legs, and do normal stuff like run down the subway stairs.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Amazing fit, form and fashion - BEST EVER for me!

    • Miami, FL,
    • Oct 24, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'm very picky when it comes to my jeans - always been tough to find the right fit and almost never happens for me. These jeans fit great right out of the box. The "try on size" was a lifesaver. I was buying these jeans to have a nice pair of jeans that could be "dressed up" with a collared shirt, jacket and brown cap toe shoe for a work conference. Felt/fit great!

    First time I have ever had guys ask me what brand of jeans I was wearing and where to get them. Worth every penny!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • You just might find the perfect jean

    • Newark, New Jersey,
    • Oct 24, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased a few different styles of these jeans to try on and see which ones I like. They are all really nice, super skinny and they look and feel very well made. They seem very stretchy so I would definitely size down on some of the washes. Also, it seems like depending on what wash you get you may have to get a size up! (ex: Mid Rise Skinny Jane in medium/dark blue wash I needed the 27 (super stretchy) but in the medium blue wash I needed a 28 (my true size).

    Overall I’m returning all the different ones I tried on mostly because I’m waiting for the Mid Rise Skinny - Jane to be available in a medium/dark blue wash with a petite length!

    I’m 5’4” 135 lbs and I found the 28L was still too long for me. They bunched up just a bit at the ankle and the 30L bunched up a lot!

    I definitely recommend these, they are worth a try and you just might find that perfect jean!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Great jeans, odd fit for athletic body type

    • NY, NY,
    • Oct 24, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I loved the look and feel of the boyfriend jeans I bought. I got two sizes since I hadn't bought this brand and sizes often vary. I bought boyfriend jeans because I have trouble with skinny jeans around my calves. I have strong calves so often skinny jeans are too tight.

    Boyfriend jeans typically have a looser cut but, they were fine around the waist, they were still very tight at my calves. This caused the jeans to kind of pull down as I walked. I had to return them both because both sizes had this problem. The company was just excellent about the return. I would try them if they came up with another cut because the feel of the material is awesome.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    My new favorite jeans!

    • Phoenix, Arizona,
    • Oct 24, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    These jeans look and feel wonderful! I have several pairs of high-end jeans in similar cuts (Paige, J-brand, and Hudson high waisted skinnies) and I repeatedly find myself grabbing this Mott & bow pair first. I think this is probably due to the thickness and durability, I am hard on my clothes and these jeans perform great (I have even caught myself gardening in them).

    As far as sizing, they do run ever-so-slightly larger than the other jeans I mentioned. I also do wish they would sell them in different lengths. Mott & Bow, if you're reading this, I would purchase tons of a shorter/cropped inseam!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 51

Write a Review for Mott & Bow!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review