About MyCleanPC

As advertised on TV, MyCleanPC software is intended to repair and improve the performance of your PC, which it claims to accomplish through junk file elimination and registry restoration.

Produced by Santa Monica-based CyberDefender.com, MyCleanPC is but one small part of a whole line of products intended to repair, clean, enhance, and fine-tune PCs.

How MyCleanPC Works and What You Should Know

A lot of junk can accumulate on your PC over time, including cookies, browsing histories, random toolbars that may have been part of some other software you downloaded, and even stray files from the uninstall process.

These files tend to build up, and if there are too many, can cause performance issues, or even allow viruses to sneak through.

If you’ve noticed a significant slowdown in your PCs processing ability, and/or have been using your computer on a frequent basis for at least a year, it may be time for a cleaning.

To get started with MyCleanPC, you can begin by downloading their “free” version. Once installed, the program will automatically begin scanning your computer, and after several moments will provide you with an extensive list of problems that require your immediate attention.

But here’s something to keep in mind: Yes, there are probably a few issues that need to be resolved on your computer, but PC optimization software tends to over exaggerate both the number and the risk.

In fact, if you ran MyCleanPC on a brand new computer, it would likely identify some problems even there.

After the list of issues appears in big, bright red text, it’s only natural to be alarmed, and to want to take immediate action. However, in order to do this, you’ll have to pay $19.95.

While this may be a little off-putting since you thought you downloaded their “free” version, keep in mind that this is how most PC optimization companies operate today.

Bottom Line: Do You Need MyCleanPC?

While we admit that companies such as MyCleanPC may be useful to a certain extent, this type of software is often targeted at less-than-average PC users. But why is this?

Because MyCleanPC knows that above average computer users typically don’t need software such as this since most of its benefits can be accomplished for free.

See Also: Tech Support Scams: How to Identify and Avoid Them

Another option you may not be aware of is the premium anti-virus/internet security software available through most major internet providers.

For instance, as long as your bill is current, Comcast provides free deluxe versions of Norton 360, while AT&T Uverse offers McAfee. We’d recommend that you contact your provider directly to find out if they provide something similar, and you may never have to pay a dime for anti-virus software again.


Read 35 MyCleanPC Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 4.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 30 4 star: 1 3 star: 0 2 star: 0 1 star:  4
Bottom Line: 89% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 35
Sort reviews by:

  • Review...

    • Ottawa, Ontario, Canada,
    • Oct 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    MyCleanPC is a sold, reliable product, which I have used since roughly 2012. I tried ostensibly similar, products and services, but always come back to MyCleanPC, which does what it claims and does it well. MyCleanPC support is remarkable, too.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Problem with pop-ups

    • Bacliff, TX,
    • Oct 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I called because of pop-ups and their technician did something to my computer and now it’s really messed up. They tried to fix it and I was supposed to call them back. When I tried 6 times finally I got a message that said they were closed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Great work!

    • Miami, FL,
    • Sep 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This company has done a great job of repairing my computer.

    They have repaired my system completely. The sales dept were extremely helpful and the Technical Department was outstanding!

    I purchased their service and it was worth every penny. I highly recommend the "MyCleanPC" company. Have a great day!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Very good service to have

    • Florida,
    • Aug 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Good service to have. It helps me every time. Good response time and very knowledgeable people. I would not know what to do if I did not have this service it is worth every dollar I spend to have it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Always do a good job.

    Every time I use their services they successfully correct the problem and the cost is affordable. I tell all my friends about how good they are. They are very polite and helpful. I am never kept waiting long on the phone.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Sales pitch

    • Colorado,
    • Jul 24, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I called in to have my computer checked. Kept locking up. I spoke to a nice gentleman who was willing to help. However, he kept trying to sell me an upgrade. I told him I had a doctor appointment shortly and didn’t have time for this. Didn’t matter. The sales pitch went on and on. Eventually, I ended up buying an upgrade I am not sure I needed ($200) just to get off the phone AND was late to my appointment. I know you have sales expectations of your employees - but, when I call in to get my computer fixed, that’s all I want. If you have specials, email me. Not happy.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Great experience!

    • Oak Ridge, NC,
    • May 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    MyCleanPC is a great product. It is easy to use and very efficient. The staff us always willing and ready to assist if you have any questions or need help. Thank you for providing such a great service!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Sloooww computer

    • South Bend, IN,
    • May 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Your tech logged in to my computer and showed me where my computer had been compromised. Unloaded and loaded programs. I have an old computer that still does the job but, it was slow. My goal is to speed it up, even just a little.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Restored computer

    • Ormond Beach, FL,
    • May 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The technique used to keep my computer working at its best working condition is highly appreciated and fully recommended to individuals who would otherwise seek outside help. The cost is fair.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Excellent work, the best we have experienced.

    • Land O' Lakes, FL,
    • May 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    We have lost many expensive computers to hackers that could not be repaired. We went to Microsoft, Geek, Office Depot, and all determined that the repairs were more expensive than a new computer. So instead of buying the most expensive and fastest, our present computer is the least expensive and slowest. It was freezing up and most of the time it worked, there were long delays in waiting. After you repaired it today, the speed is better than our previous, top of the line, that we had. Amazing.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    PC was receiving "Blue Screen: errors, and shutting down.

    • Branchburg, NJ,
    • May 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The problem was finally handled expertly, and professionally by Dean! Thank you.

    I must tell you though, I first tried to go via "Chat" and it took me approximately 30 minutes, and waited for a technician for quite a while, although the chat screen said "Technician has arrived to help you." Huh? But at the top of my PC screen, it continued to say "Waiting!"

    It's very confusing to your customers when you are sitting, and waiting so long, only to have to end up calling you on the phone to finally get some action.

    Try to fix that for the future, please?

    Thanks.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 35

Write a Review for MyCleanPC!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review