NewDay USA Reviews

  This company has claimed this profile, is getting alerted on any new customer reviews entering this page, and may engage in dialogue with its customers to address their matters.

Companies cannot pay money or provide goods in order to remove or alter customer reviews.
NewDay USA

Overall Rating

4.0

247 Customer Reviews

Summary

NewDay USA is a mortgage lender that claims to provide a wide range of financial products that can help you save money and achieve your financial goals.

Write a Review

Customer Reviews

4.0 Stars out of 247 Reviews
5 Star:67% 4 Star:5% 3 Star:2% 2 Star:4% 1 Star:19%
75% Recommend This Company
Start your review of NewDay USA:
Sort Reviews By
This company is actively collecting reviews from its customers. All reviews submitted are subject to moderation and approval to ensure they meet our Review Guidelines.

Posted on Apr 9, 2018

Outstanding!

By Donald R. Nadell, Lebanon, TN, Verified Reviewer

I don't have the words to express how great an experience it was refinancing through NewDay USA. Jonathan was terrific! The whole process could not have been easier, and I was kept informed every step of the way.

I sing your praises to everyone. Keep up the good work serving veterans.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 30, 2018

Refinance

By Andrew J. Snyder, Wake Forest, NC, Verified Reviewer

Very efficient and professional. Zach Bean was available to walk us through the entire process, step by step, to keep us on track and on time. All but the final signatures were accomplished via email and electronic signatures, which reduces travel and costs.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 29, 2018

First rate experience

By Ralph E. Blickenderfer, Pittsburgh, PA, Verified Reviewer

A great opportunity for veterans to utilize the equity in their home for whatever needs may exist. An all-encompassing remodeling of my home was accomplished with resources secured. Two bathrooms, an entry hall and a complete kitchen including appliances, flooring, and paint were done. In addition, new doors and windows were installed. Upgrades and improvements beyond reach before NewDay.

Mr. William J. Couillard as my account executive set the bar to a new high for customer service. Courteous and patient in addressing all questions and concerns. Coordinated with first-rate people throughout the entire process.

An excellent experience I would recommend to anyone.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Mar 22, 2018

Great experience!

By Dwayne Bissette, Bailey, NC, Verified Reviewer

I had an awesome refinance experience with NewDayUSA. Alec was the best. Alec kept us informed every step, and it was great having only one person to deal with through the entire loan process. I have bought, sold and refinanced a few times in my lifetime but, this was by far the most organized and easiest of them all.

Without any hesitation, I would highly recommend it to any Veteran.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Mar 21, 2018

My home mortgage - NewDayUSA

By Michael R Sexton, Las Vegas, NV, Verified Reviewer

Let me start by saying I saw the ad for NewDay USA on TV and as a veteran (Army - 82nd Abn Div), I thought I'd give it a try. I was very impressed with how fast the background and initial credit check went. I was also impressed this loan was made available to a veteran like me that served nearly 50 years ago!

I then submitted the information required (which was quite a lot) and sat back to hear the results. It wasn't long before I was granted my Gold Seal Certification for $470,000 (the amount I requested). From start to finish, I closed within 30 days.

I would like to thank my Loan Officer Aaron Jacobson (License 1329933) for answering any questions I had and for all his help in expediting my loan.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Mar 14, 2018

Refinance loan

By Rita Ellis, Las Vegas, NV, Verified Reviewer

Since my husband is a veteran, I went with NewDay USA and made no mistake in dealing with them. They were very helpful, patient and thorough in assisting us. Our loan was approved within a month, and they assured us that they are still there to help us. Thank you NewDay USA.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Mar 13, 2018

The worst experience I have ever had

By Milam Williams, California, Verified Reviewer

The person that handled my transaction made me feel like they were doing me a favor. The communication was lacking. I would ask for a call, and I would get an email. Every time I talked to their associate, the numbers would change. I asked him to break it down for me and he couldn't. I had to put the numbers into an Excel worksheet and break them down myself, so I could understand. I have gotten three couples that I know that are looking for a refinance to look elsewhere. I still have never received a call from a supervisor like I asked. I will continue to tell people my story on how poorly I was treated.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 13, 2018

We were pleased!

By Peter Pochowski, Milwaukee, WI, Verified Reviewer

From the start, our Account Manager Sarah Gabrielle Mandel was outstanding. She understood that this was a complicated matter with many legal issues to address and she took the appropriate amount of time to ensure we understood every page of the file. My wife and I never felt rushed, and she answered our many questions with patience and professionalism. On the two occasions that we called her back with questions, she was again, patient and professional. I cannot think of a single unresolved issue we had with her, and I would strongly encourage my friends and fellow vets to ask for her. She is a real credit to your organization. She would have been a good soldier!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 9, 2018

Professional

By Robert Dimascio, Sicklerville, NJ, Verified Reviewer

The staff was very professional and kept in contact with me during problems with third parties such as my bank and associations. The only problem is the money appears three days later than I expect it.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Mar 5, 2018

Told one thing, something else happened!

By Charles R. Kann, Summerville, SC, Verified Reviewer

Total technology experience, no face to face (except appraiser and closing attorney), always dealing with computer, messages, and phone, however, this is 2018. The coordinator says one thing that will happen, however, in the end, two days before closing, it is a totally different story. Good news, the VA loan did close, however, for $30,000 less than we told we would receive for repairs. They way the funds were dispensed were totally unprofessional; if not dangerous in this third or fourth party system.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 5, 2018

Retired Army CSM

By Arthur Marsden, San Tan Valley, AZ, Verified Reviewer

Great and non-painful refinancing of our home. Matt Downing was outstanding with our experience in this matter with his candor and professionalism. Every transaction went without a snag, and they paid our appraisal.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Mar 5, 2018

Great experience

By Clark P. Beall, Maryland, Verified Reviewer

With all the refinances we have done, NewDay has been the best. William Couillard answered all the questions that we had. He also explained the loan in terms that we could understand. He talked us through all the paperwork that needed to be signed online. We received copies of all the paperwork that was done for our loan process. This was the easiest refinance we have done. We would recommend NewDay to anyone that needs to refinance their home. Our interest rate was higher than other rates we saw at 3.75%, but NewDay rolled everything into our mortgage, which was good.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Jan 29, 2018

Refinancing

By Frank A Ross Jr, Wasilla, AK, Verified Reviewer

When I refinanced my home with NewDay USA, it was really easy. They talked me through everything. It only took me a few weeks, and I was done. I would highly recommend NewDay USA to anyone wanting to refinance or buy a new home.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Jan 27, 2018

The service was very productive and very helpful.

By Gary Caplinger, Arizona, Verified Reviewer

Very well pleased overall. They kept me informed on everything that was taking place, or was going to take place. They answered all my questions and concerns, without hesitation. Almost everything went very smoothly. I learned a lot about what my wife and I hadn't taken care of for several years, like Title on the property and Title on the insurance.

I am greatly appreciative of Mr. Nick Pierce for helping us out. Great job. I will definitely recommend New Day USA. Thank you for your time.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Oct 22, 2017

Stay clear of them

By Nick Halford, Sheridan, OR, Verified Reviewer

As a Veteran, I applied for a loan to refinance my house. I filled out forms, sent them info and paid them a fee with one of my credit cards.

Once they collected the money, they vanished. Never returned phone calls or answered mails from me.

This is SCAM.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 20 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 11, 2017

Lie

By Harold Zastrow, Missouri, Verified Reviewer

I went to NewDay USA and applied for a loan, and when they called me, they said they do not finance manufactured homes. Their main page that you inquire on asks what type of residence and I checked manufactured home.

This is a complete lie, and nobody should use them.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 15 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 21, 2017

Refi

By Darin Young, Minneapolis, MN, Verified Reviewer

I was very pleased with the service I received no from my NewDay representative (Jesse). He was very professional, thorough and helpful answering all of my questions. I would recommend this lender to any Veterans looking to refi or start the mortgage process. Thanks Jesse and NewDay! Well done!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 6, 2017

Very impressed with speed, simplicity and courtesies during loan process

By John F Maier, Lima, Ohio, Verified Reviewer

I was very impressed with the NewDay approach to refinance my loan with a VA loan. Kyle Stolte was very upfront on all aspects of the loan process. Very hi-tech loan processing paperwork was done via the internet, very simple. Kyle walked me through the process. Everything that was done as they said it would be. I would be more than happy to tell my Veteran friends, do not hesitate if they have a need for extra funds, just give them a call, they quickly responded and got the ball rolling in the first 24 hours of my call. My final synopsis very professional, highly reputable loan service!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on May 12, 2017

High income requirements

By Jeff DeVall, St. Johns, AZ, Verified Reviewer

You can have perfect credit, you can have a lot of assets like owning two homes free and clear, but if you make less than $1,725 a month, you won't qualify. Every other lender I talk to doesn't have these rigid income requirements.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 24 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 21, 2017

Incompetent personnel

By Gerald Lynch, Ballwin, MO, Verified Reviewer

In December of 2016, I started a loan approval to purchase a house.

First, Sasha Malcolmson (the credit person assigned to me) was a complete "out-to-lunch" employee. I sent numerous copies of documents she requested and received no feedback and no phone calls. I left numerous messages to call me, with no return calls.

Then Teresa Ruck took over, and she was worse than Sasha. She promises that loan qualifications were on the way. On 4/7/2017 I informed Teresa that I put a contract on a house and needed loan commitment, and I have yet to hear from her. On February 5, 2017, I received a preliminary approval letter, which was three days AFTER IT EXPIRED.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from NewDay USA

May 8, 2017

Thank you for taking my call today to discuss your recent experience with NewDay USA. Making the decision to shop for a new home, in potentially a different part of the country can be a very demanding event. Clear communication and the setting of expectations, regarding timelines, documentation, and next steps are important factors. On behalf of NewDay USA, we regret that your interactions with our company were less than satisfactory. If NewDay can be of further service, please contact us.

Respectfully,

R. Pek

Helpful Review? 21 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 12, 2017

Waste of time

By Luke, Dallas, Texas, Verified Reviewer

I gave these people everything they needed to verify what they asked for. 60 days later they come back to me and say they make fact-based decisions. Well, I gave one year of cashed rent checks, one year of water bills, one year of another utility bill, and they deny my loan because they said that they can't prove my residence.

Do not waste your time with this company. They do not look out for vets; they look out for their bottom line. Do your research and find a real company. All lenders will do VA loans, and they are more of experts than these morons.

I went with another company and was able to get my VA loan hassle free. I wasted two months with these morons, and screwed my interest rate since rates have increased.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from NewDay USA

Apr 18, 2017

Thank you for your candor regarding your recent transaction with NewDay. Our understanding is that the VP of Compliance discussed this specific situation with you regarding the primary residence requirement for Veteran Affair loans. We are pleased that you were able to move forward with the transaction with another lender.

Respectfully, The Customer Service Team.

Helpful Review? 21 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 28, 2017

Great company!

By Carla Pennington, Greenville, PA, Verified Reviewer

My husband is a disabled veteran and received a preapproval paper in the mail. We were a little hesitant about checking into it, but we gave them a chance. We got a GREAT guy named Jon Riley. He was very helpful and explained everything up front.

Our process took about two and a half weeks from beginning to end. We have a great rate, paid off our medical and credit card debt, and put money in our savings. It was truly a painless process, nd I couldn't be happier!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 13 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 22, 2017

Bad reviews are BS

By Jeff W, Sevierville, TN, Verified Reviewer

I am retired from the military (retired at the age of 37) and was very reluctant to go with this company after reading the numerous negative reviews. I even pulled out of requesting a cash-out refinance after reading the reviews, but Daniel Campanaro called me and convinced me to give them a try (and I'm not easily persuaded).

The bottom line is this: I am closing tomorrow, paying off four debts and receiving a sum of money as well because of the equity I have in my home. The VA appraiser is being paid by them, and this was all done within 30 days. The fees may be a little high, but they have done what they said, and I was informed about each step. I sent paperwork and answered questions as soon as I was asked, and there have been no real issues.

These negative reviews are crap in my opinion. I see where some complain because the VA appraiser requested repairs, but this isn't new day's fault, I mean seriously? Then those that didn't qualify, had a tight budget, on fixed income, etc. If you don't meet the qualifications, they can't GIVE you a loan just because you are a veteran. I call BS on most of the complaints I've read. I know everyone's situation is different, but I almost declined these guys because of these reviews. It goes to show you that you have to read between the lines.

My case wasn't without some things to get through either. I don't ever do reviews unless I get totally screwed, but had to say my piece about these guys. I was very pleasantly surprised. Yeah, they are making money off of me, but that's what businesses do, and I'm happy, so I have nothing negative to say.

Some folks implied that they were barely making it and thought that with the commercial and them being a veteran that NewDay could work miracles, but that's unrealistic. They aren't a charity. And no, I have no affiliation with them at all, just being truthful about my experience and opinions after reading the negative reviews. Daniel C is a straight-shooter and made this process fairly easy.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 24 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 29, 2016

Did not ask and the surely did not tell!

By Fuka C., York, PA, Verified Reviewer

We applied for a VA Refi trying to consolidate other bills. The rep was always there if we had any questions. My husband was a veteran as well as servicing the public up to his retirement as a Baltimore City Firefighter.

We had passed the credit check and had sent over some personal information that was requested. Like I said the representative was always there to answer any question. When we received the docs from them - disclosures along with the estimated closing sheet - that is where the problem became clear.

With the paying off of the mortgage also funding our escrow the numbers still seemed way too high. When we called the representative we wanted to know why we had to pay to bring down the rate. The rate we were quoted was 4.75%, that was higher than our credit union which offered 3.25%. But the real problem was the 1.5% to the tune of $4300 extra to buy down the rate so it was not 4.75 but 5.25%. Using Veterans is unforgivable.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 49 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 19, 2016

Business Owners Beware

By Jennifer, Verified Reviewer

If you are a business owner don't tell them about your business because they will factor in all your business losses and make it look like you make nothing when in fact you bring in close to $200K a year (separate from business) and are sitting on $160K in equity yet somehow the business loss from your Corporation, a separate entity, somehow means that you don't make enough to qualify for a loan that you can more than afford to repay.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 33 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 13, 2016

Stay away from NewDay USA

By Tom Rosen, Tampa, Fl, Verified Reviewer

These people have one thing in mind and that is to charge you as much as they can. Their fees are so outrageous that I am quite certain the Government will step in. They are a sales organization and send your loan to a mortgage lender and that is why it takes so long to close.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 48 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 8, 2016

My Experience with NewDay 100

By Alan M Kaplan, LtCol USAF (ret), NV, Verified Reviewer

I was attracted to NewDay 100 by the TV ad featuring Admiral Lynch. That guy is really good at what he does. I was convinced that if at all possible I would do business with NewDay because they truly want to help veterans. I'm not in a big rush to refinance because I have a good interest rate now and my only purpose in refinancing is the lower monthly payments so when I die (I'm almost 90) the house payments would be a little easier for my daughter. I have talked with a number of lenders and have gotten some reasonable offers.

The first time I tried NewDay 100 was about four or five months ago. At that time they were not licensed to do business in Nevada. Somewhere I heard that they were doing business in Nevada and I call them about a week ago and was able to reach a salesman who told me that now they are able to do business in Nevada. Since I have been shopping mortgages for some months now, I know exactly what I want and don't need to play with a lot of options. I currently have a 3.785% 30-year conventional loan. My credit is an average of about 760. Other lenders have quoted me anywhere between 3.00% and 3.25% with no points.

I gave that requirement to the NewDay agent on the phone. He wasted about an hour of my time going over each item on my credit report and having me set up an Excel spreadsheet which did nothing. He kept probing for other emergency funds and other accounts in which I had money. I have never had a mortgage lender ask questions in that area. I don't think they should because their collateral is the house. The only thing he would tell me is that they would pay for the appraisal which as I recall was going to be $500.

Anyhow, that call took place about 2 p.m., he asked me if I would be home at 8 p.m. that evening and he would call me back. I never received any call from him. But about two days later I got is the proposal which ended up in the trash about two minutes later.

I will never do business with these guys. I don't know if they are running a scam or not, but I know that there is something wrong with their operation. And that operation is not the veteran-friendly operation that Admiral Lynch fronts for. I fear for people with no experience in this area. One thing is to do comparison-shopping. It's easy to get them calling. Don't settle for the first one who calls you.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 57 People Have Voted
Showing 190-216 of 247

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.