Noom Diet Reviews

  This company has claimed this profile, is getting alerted on any new customer reviews entering this page, and may engage in dialogue with its customers to address their matters.

Companies cannot pay money or provide goods in order to remove or alter customer reviews.
Noom Diet

Overall Rating

4.0

1315 Customer Reviews

Write a Review

Summary

Noom is an app-based personalized weight loss program that wants to permanently change your relationship to food. Thousands have used Noom to successfully lose weight, but the level of support you’ll get from the Noom online community can vary considerably.

Pros

  • Proven effective as a weightloss program for thousands of users
  • Makes it possible to track your daily food and fitness choices
  • Provides community support in a virtual setting

Cons

  • Included eating guide doesn’t suit all diet strategies
  • Online coaches and goal specialists can vary in quality
  • More expensive than many app-based weight loss plans

Customer Reviews

4.0 Stars out of 1315 Reviews
5 Star:56% 4 Star:18% 3 Star:5% 2 Star:4% 1 Star:15%
77% Recommend This Company
Start your review of Noom Diet:
Sort Reviews By
This company is actively collecting reviews from its customers. All reviews submitted are subject to moderation and approval to ensure they meet our Review Guidelines.

Posted on Jul 31, 2018

Excellent results

By Deanna G., Castro Valley, CA, Verified Reviewer

With Noom I have lost more weight than any other weight loss site. They change your thinking about food and exercise. It takes away the guesswork of navigating menus. It also teaches you to weigh in at the same time every day. There is individual and group accountability.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 7 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 31, 2018

Total disappointment

By Dionne G., Seattle, WA, Verified Reviewer

The app is a nice tool for tracking, but I am being asked to pay $59/month (what are they thinking?!).

With price in mind, I evaluated the free 14-day trial period and found that the only real value that may have been worth that incredibly arrogant price would be the coaching they said comes with the membership. However, the coaches aren’t really people but “virtual/digital coaches” OR if they are real people they don’t care enough about their assigned people enough to read and answer specific questions and resort to vague canned answers that don’t have anything to do with what you’ve asked.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 16 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 31, 2018

Beware!

By Robyn W., Florida, Verified Reviewer

Initially, the advertisement for this appears on your Facebook page. They advertise use of the app for one dollar. But really it is a trial that takes place for 14 days. After those 14 days, they charge your credit card $100. If you asked to cancel, they will refuse to refund your money. The app itself is not very easy to use. If you receive this advertisement, delete immediately! It is a scam!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 11 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 31, 2018

Don't waste your money

By Kelsey B., Baltimore, MD, Verified Reviewer

Noom is terrible. I joined for the free trial and was charged $129 because I was a day late to cancel and was not able to be refunded.

The psychology part of it was interesting and inspiring at first, but just became repetitive and boring. Group coaches post random messages throughout the week but don't really start the conversation as they are meant to. Personal goal coaches seem to have scripted questions and responses that are not even worth responding to.

The only positive thing I have to say about the app is that the recipes aren't bad, but they are not anything unique from what can be found with a google search. The rest of the app, like the food logging, weight graphs, step counter, etc. is the same you can get from other free apps.

Do NOT waste your money, and make sure you cancel your free trial on time!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 12 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 30, 2018

Great experience

By Astrid W., Switzerland, Verified Reviewer

Noom is helping me keep my focus on the distance. The advice shared is also very helpful and helped me to make some good lifestyle (re)thinking. I particularly appreciate the weekly check with my advisor - I am happy with my result so I don't really take advantage of her support, but knowing that I have someone checking on me once a week helps me with the motivation. I also appreciate sharing with my group members - it's good to see that you are not alone and to exchange experience and best practice. Noom is providing good guidance, it's up to you to choose how to implement it.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 30, 2018

Wow, this WORKS!

By Danielle F., Verified Reviewer

Ok, so I've tried everything under the sun from mail order premade meals to "magic pills" to dozens of workout programs, and nothing has worked. THIS works! And a majority aren't realistically sustainable.

But Noom is not a diet, it really is a change of lifestyle. It makes sense, there are no "off-limit" foods, and this is the first time I've been able to stick with something and see results!

It's NOT overnight changes, but it's sustainable, and therefore I don't have to worry about gaining back any pounds or inches I lose, because it's not a diet. I've managed to lose about 6 lbs in the first month, and I'm excited to keep with this because I know I'm building better habits.

I'm not relying on someone else's pre-measured food (and therefore not learning how to make healthy choices and meals on my own) and I'm not wasting money on all of the "lose weight fast" gimmicks (pills, workout programs) that inundate TV.

I just can't say enough about this program!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 7 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 30, 2018

Thank you!

By Barbora K., Vilnius, Lithuania, Verified Reviewer

I'm really happy with the experience so far. Although I'd like a bit more personalized course. I did say at the beginning of the course that I have a moving disability and I feel a bit that it was not paid attention to regarding particular exercise.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 30, 2018

It clicked with me

By Gillian W., Berkshire, England, Verified Reviewer

I love Noom. By getting underneath the weird way the brain works in relation to food and the choices I make, I can rationalize much more and think "ah this is my elephant at work" or "behavior chain." "Thought distortion" or whatever and that helps me not to overreact, feel a failure and throw in the towel as I have done previously. The scale (scan) anxiety piece, for example, was so helpful at the very start and made me actually weigh myself for the first time in two years; and just by doing this I got to grip with the extent of my challenge rather than avoiding and kidding myself. Now I chip away pound by pound.

The info is there at your fingertips and there is a LOT of information each day. I've learned now to skim through info in the morning, save in my library and ready properly later when I've got more time. Logging is easy, although UK food lists are more limited. I understand that is building and it's easy to add by calories.

Personally, I'm not great at group chats, etc. (is that a generational thing?), but I'm always interested in what others are experiencing and occasionally contribute. Helpful to be accountable to a coach weekly as well so you can plan the following week and identify what your focus will be.

So all in all, 9 lbs down in 6 weeks and it's going well!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 7 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 30, 2018

Noom review

By Belgin E., Izmir, Turkey, Verified Reviewer

I loved learning new things. It was good to be part of a group with similar concerns. The positive approach to food helped me to make good choices without feeling prevented. I am losing weight, and I am more energetic since I do my exercises more often now.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 30, 2018

Pretty good so far

By Karen K., Portland, OR, Verified Reviewer

I actually like the science/psychology platform. I work in behavioral health and it's like a personal cognitive behavioral therapy program. The structure is helpful. I am having a hard time getting all the articles in every day, but likely due to my crazy work schedule and I am continuing to strive for the balance, which is kind of the point right?

The group platform is cool, but a little hard to navigate when you are looking for the comments. One hundred times better than Weight Watchers - I hated the meetings and mostly did the online to track but they have none of the information you have with Noom, and I am slowly finding success here (Weight Watchers worked once for me and I lost 25 lbs, but did not keep it off, and couldn't make it work again).

I think overall the combo of coaching and logging but with the extra information for making different life choices fed to me in little logical bits that build on each other, with the quizzes to check understanding, and then a repeat loop here and there, is actually working to change thinking and behavior.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 30, 2018

Highly recommended

By Jill S., Johnstown, PA, Verified Reviewer

Noom is the first holistic diet I have tried that makes the experience fun and interactive. I also love the daily articles that explain the why’s and the science behind it all. There is tons of information on a daily basis but given in a way and amount that’s not overwhelming. I enjoy my group and that I get a goal coach that keeps me accountable. Using the app is fun and user-friendly. Thank you!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted
Showing 1277-1287 of 1315

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.