Start your review of Opendoor:
  • 231 Customer Reviews
  • 72% Recommend This Company
3.9 out of 5
5 star: 66% 4 star: 4% 3 star: 0% 2 star: 4% 1 star: 23%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Low ball

    • By Alfred S.,
    • Fountain Hills, AZ,
    • Mar 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Opendoor will low ball you. I would stay away from them.

    I tried Opendoor and it may be an alternative for desperate sellers who want to unload a house quick. From what I can see, they will apply a quick paint job and try and flip the house quickly at your loss.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Be aware of so called repairs! Scandalous to say the least! Even with proof you won’t save money!

    • By Angie W.,
    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Mar 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Be aware of Opendoor's scandalous procedures! Especially when it comes to any so-called "needed repairs." They gave us a whole lot less than what the house was worth to begin with, but the thing I’d like everybody to know is this...they send people out to look at your house first to check for any repairs that need be done prior to close. This is how they really screw you over! I’m mentioning this as the pool contractor guy they sent out to look at our pool, he actually broke our pool heater himself accidentally, then snuck away without saying a word. Which ended up frying out the system and we could no longer run our filters or use our pool due to his mistake. And what Opendoor did, was that they then actually went and charged us $5340 for his mistake to get this repaired. I have all the pictures, receipts and documents to show how all was perfectly just fine prior to them coming to our home. Nothing at all was wrong with our pool. I had just had it all completely redone. But because of their pool guys mistake resulting in him breaking the pool heater, they turned around and charged us when we had nothing to do with that. So I had to pay over $5,000 on pool issue alone.

    I only ended up using Opendoor as I already was in the middle of closing on another house in Florida already and I couldn’t bail out because I was already too far into the game at that point in time. They say they will look into issues to try to resolve them, but trust me...THEY WON'T! They take advantage of the fact knowing that on a move, people have so much going on, that we just don’t have the opportunity to pursue issues that are not being fairly dealt with.

    Not only was this one repair issue charged, but they charged us for repairs that we went ahead and fixed ourselves, as they told us if we did so we would not be charged for them. That was all lies! I have receipts and pictures all to prove I had taken care of these things, such as painting the inside of medicine cabinets, that they in turn did nothing to them (for I repainted them myself already), yet they still charged me $90 for that one example alone too. So they will charge you even if you do your own repairs, although they will tell you differently to begin with. Then they charged me $400 to completely trash out the house when in reality it had indeed been trashed out completely. I had paid to have this done and have pictures to prove so, but in the end, they still charged me $400! DO NOT TRUST THEM!

    I would also like to note that I had accidentally left behind my makeup bag with my expensive perfumes, makeup, and facial cleansers, etc. under the bathroom sink and called them the following day after we closed to ask if they would kindly leave that with the neighbor, but they refused to do that one simple thing for me and it was a small makeup bag (worth about $200 belongings inside) not weighing more than a pound. I had already left Las Vegas to drive to Florida so I could not turn around, but they would not do a simple thing as drop it off next door for my neighbor to ship to me. It was a small pouch that’s meaningless to them but not to me, but they DO NOT CARE! So I lost a good $200 in items there too.

    So, in the end, I lost out on a good $20,000 - $40,000 on the house alone, plus another $7,500+ for false claims of repairs they said they had to do (which in reality I had fixed on my own already so they had nothing to do). So everyone be aware that even if you do your own repairs they will NOT take that into account and they WILL still charge you for them even if they do absolutely nothing after you’ve done all the work yourself. I needed the money to buy my new home so I went with it, but you do need to be aware that they WILL rip you off as much as they can.

    Be aware of their so-called contractors they send to your home. If they break something, Opendoor will not accept responsibility on behalf of those people they send out to your home and in the end, you will have to pay for things that these people break. They will send out about 5 different people so you can’t watch all 5 at the same time. They are sneaky and very corruptive! Opendoor is only good if you have no other choice so be prepared to lose out at least $40,000 in the process of doing so. I regret trusting them. Don’t bother doing any repairs for you will end up paying no matter what! They should not be able to do this to people as it just is not right!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Mar 15, 2019

      Company Response from Opendoor

      Hi Angie,

      We apologize for what sounds like a frustrating experience. Can you send an email to community@opendoor.com with the address of the property so our team can take a look at this? This seems like a very unusual experience so we would like to escalate this with our internal teams.


  • Smooth talkers looking to rob you

    • By Sean H.,
    • Texas,
    • Mar 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I heard good things about Opendoor. Now I realize they must be fake or paid reviews. We decided to sell my house to them. They came in smooth talking about how fair and easy going they are and how they are looking to make a good impression in Texas.

    As it turns out they are just luring you in. We were hit with 10s of thousands in repair costs - one of which includes replacement of my entire HVAC system which is less than 8 years old and works just fine.

    The final straw was their refusal to honor the original closing date and rejecting my survey 2 days before closing. They wanted a new survey and pushed out closing 7+ days, costing me thousands more. Their "agent" was extremely rude, to the point refusing to communicate, when we were actually able to get them to talk to us at all. We terminated the contract.

    Do not use these folks, they are looking to take advantage of people.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Mar 7, 2019

      Company Response from Opendoor

      Hi Sean,

      We apologize for what sounds like a frustrating experience. We rely on feedback like yours to continue to optimize the experience for both buyers and sellers. Please feel free to email community@opendoor.com with any additional insights you would like to share.


  • Extremely low offers

    • By Bruce O.,
    • Rancho Cucamonga, CA,
    • Mar 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Only sellers who are desperate will use this company. Just for fun, I had Opendoor give me an "offer" on my home. They said it would be "under $600,000." After I stopped laughing, I listed my home with a conventional real estate company. One month later I sold my home for $750,000. Obviously Opendoor is going to give very low offers hoping to attract the desperate seller. They say their offers are "competitive." Absolutely BS. DO NOT sell to these people if you want to maximize your profits.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Close your door to Opendoor

    • By Mike C.,
    • Georgia,
    • Feb 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Do not attempt to sell your homes to them unless a foreclosure is imminent. Extremely low ball offers. After reading a bunch of positive reviews that were very generic, I can see that Opendoor is putting up fake reviews to promote themselves.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • They low ball you on the offer to buy your house

    • By Pat V.,
    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Feb 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I contacted Opendoor online to sell my house in Vegas. I live in California so I talked to them like 10 times before I wasted time flying to Vegas. So a few other investors came to my house the same day before Opendoor and did their inspections. My tenant had forgotten to leave me the key to open garage so I told these other investors to do their inspection and they I could email them pics of the garage later that day (or they could come back tomorrow to look at the garage), and all these other investors said no problem.

    But then Opendoor showed up and was rude and told me "you knew the rules before you flew to Vegas, and if you can't open garage then we are leaving now." I asked the guy why don't you inspect the entire house now since I'm here and come back tomorrow to look at the garage or I'll email you pics (common sense). But no, the guy from Opendoor told me he called his boss and his boss said "no we won't accommodate you and basically too bad." So, sure enough, they left after I basically begged them to stay and do the inspection minus garage. I told them that selling a house is a big deal and that I'm not just a number, I'm a person and they need to treat their customers better. They didn't care about me in any way, they just want to buy a house below market value and sell it for a profit.

    I would never use them again. Selling a home isn't easy, and any real buyer would be willing to inspect the garage another day. Anybody who has bought or sold a house knows how stressful and complex it can be, and sometimes you need to be flexible to get a deal done. Opendoor had zero flexibility.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Mar 18, 2019

      Company Response from Opendoor

      Hi Pat,

      We do apologize for this frustrating experience. We escalated this issue with our internal and executive teams. Our teams are spending some time reviewing your experience and the feedback you shared to ensure we do not provide any future customers with this type of experience. Please feel free to share any additional insights with community@opendoor.com.


  • Do not buy a house from Opendoor!

    • By Sarah K.,
    • Texas,
    • Jan 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was interested in a house in Savannah, Texas. I did a home inspection and the man told me that I should get a roof inspection. I researched for a 5-star roofing company to inspect it and found out there was severe hail damage. When we did an addendum for Opendoor to get an inspection done on the roof and fix as needed, they came back saying the roof was in great shape and their pictures from the inspection were all from a side point of view. When my realtor showed them ours with VERY detailed pictures they were in shock.

    They came back three days later saying they were going to do another roof inspection. My realtor said we would too. I pick ANOTHER 5-star rating roofing company and he said it's a no-brainer that the roof was damaged. Opendoor came back saying only $500 needs to be repaired. When my realtor said, "are you kidding me?" They came back and said, "Did we say $500, we meant $100."

    My insurance and mortgage lender wrote a lengthy letter to them that they will not allow me to purchase the home. My father even told them to drop $10,000 so we can personally fix the roof. Opendoor said no. They are a used car salesperson trying to sell you a broken car. They are shady company. OH! I found a coworker that purchased a home and found out that Opendoor replaced the carpet but no the padding.

    Opendoor cuts corners and steals from you. BEWARE!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Horrible experience

    • By Nancy C.,
    • Temecula, CA,
    • Jan 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was very happy to go into contract with Opendoor based on the reviews and advertising, however, I was severely blindsided by the assessment. The team of 10 descended on my home as if they had already owned the property. The roofer "expert" removed tiles from my roof and took pictures and did not replace the tiles removed. So, I had to call my homeowners insurance and file a claim. We had several days of rain. They were in my home for over three hours and moved and processed it as if it was a crime scene. Then on top of the 26 thousand upfront fee, they tried to charge me 21 thousand dollars for "repairs." They refused to negotiate anything, and now I have to pay for an attorney for the "assessment" process. They are criminals. Please save yourself and go with a realtor and reputable company. They're not reputable or honest.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Jan 22, 2019

      Company Response from Opendoor

      Hi Nancy,

      We apologize for what sounds like a frustrating experience. Would you be able to send an email to community@opendoor.com with more information so we can take a look at what happened here? Thank you!


  • Sold through Opendoor, then bought also!

    • By Jocelyn G.,
    • Matthews, NC,
    • Jan 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    When I first heard about Opendoor, I was super skeptical - could we really sell for a fair price without the hassle of showing? The answer was, and is, YES! Opendoor gave us a very fair price for our home (Tampa area) and scheduled an inspection very quickly. They were not too picky (our house was fairly new so there were few necessary repairs) and ended up asking for very little off the initial offer for inspection repairs. Here is a necessary notation - Opendoor has to anticipate future buyer's hesitations when negotiating the inspection repair cost. A lot of reviews complain that Opendoor performs the inspection and requests money off of the offer price to repair certain things, yet those repairs are never performed. This is the company being smart and assuming that future buyers will request money off their sale price during THEIR (the future buyers while Opendoor sells) inspection.

    While the representatives were present performing our inspection on our house in Tampa, they mentioned that there were homes for sale via Opendoor in the Charlotte area (where we were moving). We did some research and ended up falling in love with a home being sold by them as well. They had repainted the entire home and also installed brand new, upgraded carpet throughout the upstairs and basement. We were able to coordinate our move-out/move-in dates, and everything could not have gone smoother! This is the future of real estate.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Pretty floors, shady electrical and plumbing

    • By Jessica H.,
    • Nevada,
    • Jan 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    We bought a house in Las Vegas from Opendoor. They did not properly fix everything on the request to repair. When we moved in, we found out that there was a leak under the kitchen sink, none of the outlets in any of our three bathrooms worked and the washing machine valves BOTH leaked. Opendoor makes the house look pretty but falls EXTREMELY SHORT on anything else that really matters to make the house "function-able." If you can avoid buying from Opendoor, I suggest doing so, or have an experienced and licensed electrician and plumber come in to examine the house before you buy it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Complete waste of time! Fraudulent inspections!

    • By Didi K.,
    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Dec 31, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I scheduled a number of home inspections but was told that I would not need to be home during this process. Then, I learned that this requirement does not apply to my state. The inspectors spent less than two minutes on my roof, five minutes in my garage and two hours inside a condo that is less than 1,000 square feet. The lead inspector claimed he could not complete the inspection because of boxes blocking him, but he never mentioned it to me, and I was right there and eager to help! I was never informed of this problem until it was time for him to leave. He spent more time smoking on my patio and on his phone than in my place. I was told that a reinspection would need to be scheduled and that all contents would need to be removed, and that their original offer would be reduced by $10,000. In the meantime, I received two more offers by their competition, with moving assistance and additional perks. We are closing on a lovely OfferPad home today! The OfferPad staff was so kind, professional, and willing to negotiate a fair price without the lies, drama of Opendoor. Max, Mallory, and Sam from Opendoor - you are liars and crooks! God have mercy on you all!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Jan 3, 2019

      Company Response from Opendoor

      Hi Didi,

      We are sorry for what sounds like a frustrating experience. Our team would like to take a look at what happened and make sure all issues are escalated and addressed by the proper teams. Please email community@opendoor.com with the address of the property and any additional feedback you would like to share.


Showing 122-132 of 231

Write a Review for Opendoor!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Opendoor