Opendoor

  This company has claimed this profile, is getting alerted on any new customer reviews entering this page, and may engage in dialogue with its customers to address their matters.

Companies cannot pay money or provide goods in order to remove or alter customer reviews.
Opendoor

Overall Rating

3.9

234 Customer Reviews

Summary

Opendoor’s tech-driven homebuying platform presents an attractive option to sell your home fast. Our review will help you decide if it is the right service for you.

Write a Review

Customer Reviews

3.9 Stars out of 234 Reviews
5 Star:66% 4 Star:4% 3 Star:0% 2 Star:4% 1 Star:23%
72% Recommend This Company
Start your review of Opendoor:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Sep 18, 2018

Beware

By Shara T., Peachtree Corners, GA, Verified Reviewer

I received an offer below FMV, however, I had my eyes on another house and didn’t want to wait. I included all what I thought was issues, trying to be as transparent as possible. The assessment came back with no worries about the items I mentioned, however, with bogus items. "We think you have mold." What? I had a prior inspection report indicating no mold. "Your retainer wall may need repairs." No discussion of reductions - just denied. A complete waste of time.

Note: they were past the due diligence period, and now they have to give me earnest money. Well deserved after wasting my time.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Opendoor

Oct 23, 2018

Truly appreciate your honest feedback, Shara. Please know that we will circulate what you have shared internally and use this an opportunity to improve. Please feel free to share any additional feedback with community@opendoor.com.

Helpful Review? 17 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 16, 2018

Opendoor made it so easy.

By Adam V., Tennessee, Verified Reviewer

Opendoor was the best experience. Everyone I worked with was professional and helpful all along the way. The offer that came in was really fair market, I got an outside consult with a realtor I have used before and trust, and she honestly didn't think she could get me any different. The process is painless and worry-free. They give you lots of options and explain EVERYTHING in easy to understand terms. Big thanks to Dan Burkhart and Aubrey Bachand for all the work.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Opendoor

Sep 17, 2018

Thanks for sharing your experience, Adam! We're so glad to have been able to support you through your home sale. We will be sure to pass along your kind words to the team.

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 15, 2018

Best experience EVER!

By Anna P., Hermitage, TN, Verified Reviewer

I cannot say enough good things about my experience with Opendoor! It started with a great offer for my house, I accepted the offer, they sent their inspection team, sent me a detailed repair list with a dollar amount for Opendoor to complete repairs, and I choose whether to pay them or do the work myself. I set my own closing at a time that comfortable for me. Even when I wanted to move closing up two weeks, no problem! They sent a notary to my home to close, and the proceeds from my sale were wired to my bank account the next day. The sale is done! No taking my pets out of the house at a moment's notice for showings, I don't even have to clean it! Just move out! It really is that simple! Thanks for an amazing, stress-free experience Opendoor!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Sep 15, 2018

Total scam

By Nita Iris W., Temple Terrace, FL, Verified Reviewer

Opendoor starts by saying they can offer a fair market price. Their offer to us was 83% of our home value based on recent sales per square foot in our immediate community. That was okay with us since they were allowed to make a profit reselling. Then they added their own 7% administrative fee.

Then they deducted for "updates" they way overcharged. For instance, we had replaced the air conditioner 12 years ago (30-year expected life) but they deducted for a whole new air conditioner without allowing for a trade in. The kitchen cabinets and counters had been replaced 10 years ago, but they deducted for a whole new kitchen without regard to a deduction they would receive even if they donated the existing cabinets to something like Habitat for Humanity. The deductions went on and on even though their own home inspector said our home was in incredible shape for its age of 30 years.

We went to closing and the closer told us to expect our proceeds to be deposited in our account by that afternoon. We only we got a call at the end of the day asking why we hadn't paid Opendoor $6,050 for "buying" our house?! Yes, their closing documents were THAT "devious" that even the professional closer thought we were being paid money than Opendoor CHARGING us money to "buy our house!"

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Opendoor

Sep 17, 2018

Thank you for sharing your experience. Please know that your feedback will be circulated internally and we will use this as an opportunity to improve. If you have any additional feedback you would like to share, feel free to email community@opendoor.com.

Helpful Review? 21 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 15, 2018

Pass unless you're desperate

By Jessica A., Las Vegas, NV, Verified Reviewer

We are in the process of selling our house and we had our personal realtor over to evaluate our home to prepare for listing. He showed us the comps and we agreed it was fair. Naturally, you think your home is worth more and I did as well, but I said ok to what our realtor said was a fair offer.

We began to also look at other houses to move to as we are downsizing now that 2 of our 4 kids are grown and moved out. We found the perfect house and fell in love with it, so the realtor for that property told us about Opendoor. We gave it a shot and submitted our request for an offer, they got back to us 2 days later with an offer that was 45,000 less then what our realtor said it was worth and they wanted to charge us 25,000 in fees. We were highly insulted by the offer and immediately passed.

I now understand the way this company operates. They offer to buy houses and the people who are extremely desperate for whatever reason will take the offer which guarantee is less than if they went traditionally. We were not desperate to sell despite loving the new house. We are sticking with our realtor.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Opendoor

Sep 17, 2018

Thank you for your feedback, Jessica. Please know that your feedback will be circulated internally so we can continue to improve the experience for both buyers and sellers. We wish you all the best with your home sale and we appreciate you giving Opendoor a shot.

Helpful Review? 22 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 14, 2018

Void of service

By Kelly B., San Antonio, TX, Verified Reviewer

It seems neat to go view a house whenever you want. However, if you want information about the house, forget about it. There is no easy or expedient way to contact someone who is not part of the giant 800 number representing Opendoor. The house we viewed had significant water damage and mold in the garage. It appeared it also affected the upstairs bedroom window. There was also water damage at the room line. Not a mention of it in the listing.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 12 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 13, 2018

A paragraph won't be enough so I'll cut to the point!

By Jill S., Arizona, Verified Reviewer

Madelynn Triggs at Opendoor is a SUPERSTAR in every possible way at Opendoor. She treats buyers (working with agents) as if their happiness and positive outcome are the MOST important part of the sale! Considering Madelynn Triggs represents the sellers, this is unheard of! This was my first sale with Opendoor and Madelynn and she exceeded my expectations more then words can describe. She does what she says she'll do and then adds another 100% in effort! From the beginning, Madelynn Triggs communicated, always listened and immediately answered all questions. She was proactive, kind, available to reach and so much more!

After 13 years in real estate, 95% of my business is with buyers. I'm very active, so it takes a lot to blow my mind from the listing agent. Let's be honest, most list agents primarily concern themselves with the sellers.

Just as my buyers accomplishing their dreams and feeling like their needs are top priority is most important to me. I try to show through my actions and not just words that I'll do whatever it takes!

To have the listing broker make the same effort is shocking! We had a lot of unexpected issues come up during this transaction and what "typically would happen," which would be falling out of escrow, didn't happen!

This was my first sale with Opendoor and they could have thrown in the towel, but they did the opposite. They worked with my buyers and my team like we were all part of their family. We closed a week ago and my buyers now have their first home thanks to Opendoor! I will forever be grateful and will spread the word!

So if you ever want a real broker testimonial for a compelling true story (in more detail), I will be more than happy to share my experience with others! Thank you to Madelynn Triggs, the Opendoor team and especially Lisa (one of the managing brokers- high up in the company) who really put herself out there to help make this happen!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 8, 2018

Seamless and stress-free

By Beth H., Wake Forest, NC, Verified Reviewer

The entire process from offer to closing was seamless. We received a fair offer, fair repair quote and all went as scheduled. We skipped the hassle of multiple showings and long closing delays. I can’t say enough how easy the process was. I will admit I was skeptical at first, but the process ending up being the best thing for our family and a stress-free home sale.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 6, 2018

Waste of time

By Bryan R., Arizona, Verified Reviewer

I attempted to sell my home to Opendoor and it ended up being a huge waste of time. The inspector they send out to check my home was not a certified home inspector, and he worked directly for Opendoor, which was the first red flag. It then took them 7 days to tell me they are going back out of the deal because they smelt "mildew." It was easily explainable as a wet carpet tile I just finished cleaning and placed back in the house to show that day, unfortunately wasn't dry or clean enough. Opendoor would hear none of it and refused to work with me any further even though the perceived issue was non-existent after I replaced the carpet tile. I also have a moisture mitigation system for under the house and they assumed it was for some kind of Radon Gas prevention which is entirely off base.

Clearly Opendoor knows absolutely nothing and completely wasted my time by making me wait 7 days to end up backing out. I had to actually call them to track down an answer the 7th day to any info at all.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Opendoor

Sep 26, 2018

Truly appreciate you sharing your story Bryan. We apologize for any lapse and communication and understand your frustration. Please know that your situation has been documented and circulated internally. Situations like these we are not proud of, so we will use this as an opportunity to improve the experience for both buyers and sellers.

Helpful Review? 12 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 4, 2018

Not what we were told

By Erin K., Texas, Verified Reviewer

We are still in the process of selling our house, so I'm writing this hoping they make it right. We were given an initial offer that seemed fair based on the condition of our home and the current market. We set up the inspection which went great. There was only about 2k worth of repairs, $1600 of it which we can fix ourselves. When we got the repair estimate back we were also called and hit with a $16k valuation credit because they "made an error" when calculating our lot size.

The perception is that this is a complete scam as it was given to us in a matter of fact way. I'm hoping they can make this right by waiving another type of fee, but I'm pretty frustrated at this point as this is not what we were hoping for.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Opendoor

Sep 5, 2018

Thank you for your feedback, Erin. We apologize for any lapse in communication and we will share your insights with our internal teams as we work to ensure the best customer experience possible. Additionally, we have flagged your issue with the team that is working with your home, please continue to work with them directly. We truly appreciate you choosing Opendoor for such an important transaction.

Helpful Review? 16 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 31, 2018

Updated!

By William S., Tampa, FL, Verified Reviewer

I had another interested party to purchase my house. The offer was too good to refuse.

They too had a home inspection done. This is the third one done. This inspector found no issues with the roof. That would be two inspectors and one roofing contractor that said there were no issues.

The only inspector that said there was an issue was hired by Opendoor. He would also have been the replacement contractor. Conflict of interest much.

The reason I gave Opendoor another 2 stars is because they were true to their word. Opendoor promises the ability to cancel right up to the day of closing with no repercussions to you. We were four days to closing and the contract was canceled within 24 hours of the request to cancel. I feel the fault with the sale not going through was the fault of the roofing contractor they employ. Everyone at Opendoor was very good to work with and helpful and accommodating. They made a competitive offer and would have honored it. The devil is in the details. Do yourself a favor and have an independent inspection done if you doubt the Opendoor report.

Yes, I would recommend to a friend offering the same advice.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 14 People Have Voted
Showing 166-176 of 234

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.