PetGentle

PetGentle

Overall Rating

2.7

85 Customer Reviews

Summary

Using an ultrasonic sound that humans can’t hear, the PetGentle claims it can help you train your dog how to stop barking using sound, light and positive reinforcement.

Write a Review

Customer Reviews

2.7 Stars out of 85 Reviews
5 Star:40% 4 Star:1% 3 Star:1% 2 Star:7% 1 Star:50%
41% Recommend This Company
Start your review of PetGentle:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Apr 7, 2020

PetGentle works on our three mouthy dogs

By Daniel B., Missouri, Verified Reviewer

We love PetGentle! When we first tried it nothing happened so I checked the batteries and they had a protective wrap on them. Took the wrap off and it works great. Point it at their face, press the button and they run into the next room. Make sure the red lights are flashing so you know it is working. Change the batteries if necessary. Now we just pick it up when they are barking and they run into the other room. We're thinking about getting two more for other rooms.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 7 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 27, 2020

Did nothing

By Gary H., Lorain, OH, Verified Reviewer

I two barkers and two more on the other side of my fence line, I've tried and tried using it when they're out there barking. Yea, it has a light and red pointer dot, I've tried from a distance, standing right there in the middle of them, they pay no mind to it. Yes, I feel as if I was taken for my money. Save your dollars.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 18, 2020

The lights work fine but the ultrasound seems to be non-existent

By Vernon Y., Siloam Springs, AR, Verified Reviewer

I've had the PetGentle for about a year. I have a Dachshund that loves to bark. The lights get his attention but he ignores the thing and continues to bark. How can I tell if the ultrasonic is working? I've not experienced anything good from this unit.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 10 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 17, 2020

Don’t work

By Brenda C., Little Rock, AR, Verified Reviewer

I receive my PetGentle today, 3/14/20, and it’s not working at all. I thought it just needs batteries, can’t find where you would put them. So I can say is I was scammed good. As to if I would recommend it, NO.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 12, 2020

Had no problem so far

By Eva M., Richmond, VA, Verified Reviewer

I just received this device and tried to use it right away but the battery was dead. I replaced it and it started to work fine. My dogs are awful at barking so I pushed the button once and they immediately stopped. The second time they started barking and carrying on all I did was put it in my hand and they both stopped. I made a point to reward them. Hopefully this continues to work this well!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 8 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 5, 2020

RIP off

By Maz E., Lancashire, United Kingdom, Verified Reviewer

This item is a complete waste of money. DO NOT BUY. Apart from the fact that it does not work (encourages my dog to bark more). It is cheap plastic crap.

I thought that buying from USA, I would get quality. No way, it's a complete RIP-off. I paid £35, I now find they sell for £4 on Amazon.

Boy did they see me coming!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 3, 2020

Haven't had any issues

By Cynthia H., New Hampshire, Verified Reviewer

I bought this because my Teddy loves to bark when I am on the phone, someone at the door, playing with our 2 cats, and etc. When I have pushed the button he has stopped. The cats are completely afraid of it. I am hoping it really doesn't hurt any one of our animals even though it seems to be working. I would love to hear from a vet to see if it does hurt them. I wouldn't at any time want to hurt my animals as they are my children to me.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 2, 2020

Trauma

By Patricia B., Puyallup, WA, Verified Reviewer

I ordered the "PetGentle", and the first time I used on my Australian Blue Heeler, he responded. My Chihuahua was nearby, and the device TRAUMATIZED him! Every time my Chihuahua saw the PetGentle, he would run and hide, wouldn't stop shaking, and wouldn't leave our sides when he wasn't hiding, had panting spells. So besides the $110.00, I paid for the three PetGentles, which should have only been two PetGentle. I also had a $120 vet bill. The vet said the chihuahua was traumatized, and gave him some medicine to help him calm down. MY advice: DO NOT USE ON SMALL DOGS!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 20, 2020

PetGentle review

By Nancy B., El Paso, TX, Verified Reviewer

I purchased a PetGentle because my neighbor's two German Shepherds continually bark at me when I am in the front yard. The PetGentle did not work for me, the two dogs just became more vicious in their barking. Not what I wanted. If I go near the fence they snarl and growl besides barking. I am afraid of them but there is nothing I can do unless one jumps the fence. I have been in touch with Animal Control.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Jan 26, 2020

My PetGentle

By Robert W., Belfast, North Ireland, Verified Reviewer

I bought my PetGentle months ago and up to date, I've had no joy. My dog, who was 11 months when I got it, still barks when people ring the doorbell, or when he hears somebody in the hallway as they get out the lift. And when out walking with him, he goes mad at other dogs or people, but if I pick him up he stops, and in the case of a person/persons, it's the same, he barks but I pick him up and it's as if he's a different dog. So that's why we bought PetGentle, so if you could help in any way that would be much appreciated.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 24, 2020

PetGentle

By Connie C., Smyrna, TN, Verified Reviewer

This device is useless. As far as I can tell it’s a light and that’s it! Not even good enough to use as a torch. Can be used as a light to play with a cat, if you have one. Don’t waste your money. I waited 3 weeks to receive this.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted
Showing 23-33 of 85

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.