PillPack Review - Is This Online Pharmacy Worth It?

By Anthony Dugarte, M.D., C.S.C.S
Updated on: Mar 25, 2020

What is PillPack?

PillPack from Amazon is an online pharmacy that works with your doctors to coordinate the delivery of your prescription medications straight to your door.

Nearly half of our population uses prescription medications. Filling your prescription often includes multiple phone calls, missed school or work, doctor appointments, and trips to the pharmacy.

Can you imagine a world where you can avoid much of the extra work getting your medications often entails? PillPack can.

Their methods are pretty straight-forward:

  1. They coordinate with your doctors and insurance providers to obtain your prescriptions.
  2. For your convenience, they organize your pills by the date and time you must take them.
  3. Lastly, they deliver your pills to your door.

The idea is that PillPack does the heavy lifting so you can get back to your life.

In this article, we’ll review how to sign up, the services, and the cost to help you determine if PillPack is what you need to manage your prescription medications.

Getting Started With PillPack

PillPack seems to make signing-up simple.

Getting started is accomplished in a few easy steps - here’s what you’ll need:

  1. Your medication list
  2. Your doctors’ contact information
  3. Your insurance provider contact information
  4. Your payment method

That’s really it. Pretty painless, right? After you provide this info, simply sit back and relax while PillPack gets to work.

In the first 2-weeks after you sign-up, PillPack works as the facilitator between your doctors and an insurance company. Once these details are ironed out, they schedule your first shipment.

PillPack’s Services

While PillPack’s methods are relatively easy to understand, there’s actually much more going on behind the scenes.

Here, you can read about the steps PillPack takes to ensure your satisfaction.

Packaging

Whereas traditional pharmacies were designed to dispense single medications, nearly a quarter of those taking prescription drugs use 3 or more.

For those that fall into this category, managing their medications can be challenging and potentially dangerous.

PillPack limits your risk by delivering your medications organized by the day and time you are directed to take them. A pharmacist checks every single packet for accuracy and reviews your medication list to ensure there are no dangerous drug interactions.

In addition to your prescription medications, dietary supplements, and over the counter medications are also available through PillPack.

Delivery

PillPack coordinates shipping based on your prescriptions and doctors’ instructions. Though you may have 90-day refills, your medications are filled on a 30-day cycle.

Refills are automated and will arrive before you run out.

Support

PillPack support is available, both day and night, through various means of communication. You can call 855-745-5725, email hello@pillpack.co, or reach out through the app.

Also, there is always a 2-way line of communication with PillPack. Each month, they send you a detailed list of your prescriptions that includes images of each pill and dosing instructions.

What Do These Services Cost?

So far, it may seem like all this is too good to be true. As we haven't discussed the cost yet, the catch must be pricey shipping charges or hidden fees, right?

According to PillPack’s website, there is no catch. Both their services and shipping costs are always free. Also, they work with most insurance plans - call support to check your coverage.

Thus, your responsibilities include only insurance copays and any out-of-pocket expenses that your insurance doesn’t cover.

If you opt to include any vitamins or over the counter medications with your prescriptions, simply pay market prices - no up-charges or convenience fees.

Payment options are flexible; you can edit account information from any device at your convenience.

You can choose to use a debit or credit card, pay directly from a bank account, or cover the cost with a health savings account.

PillPack also allows you to select a billing date or simply pay when your medications are delivered.

Are There Any Alternatives?

While online pharmacies do seem to be a relatively new phenomenon, PillPack does have a few competitors.

Some well-known retailers are cashing-in on this model by adding delivery options to their pharmacy services.

CVS is one example. You now have the option to log in online or through their mobile app to manage prescriptions, schedule delivery, and also add any other items available from their store to your order.

Most locations offer 1-2 day delivery, though some accommodate same day service as well. They limit delivery to medications that are not considered controlled substances and those that do not require refrigeration.

While delivery charges can vary by location, your insurance may cover these fees.

CVS may not be able to ship some medications, and you are likely to incur shipping costs, but being able to add other necessities available in their stores is convenient.

The Bottom Line

While PillPack seems to offer a great deal of convenience, users do not seem to find value in their services.

At HighYA, 81 users rated PillPack 2 out of 5-stars on average. Over 65% of users assigned a 1-star rating.

These negative reviews seem to revolve around poor customer services, misinformation provided to doctors, mistakes made in prescription packaging, and delivery issues.

It is challenging to recommend this company when users seem to consistently report issues with the pillars of PillPack’s services.

While the upside is the convenience PillPack claims to offer, the downside appears to be more hassle than it takes to fill prescriptions in the first place.

If you’re looking for a delivery service, going with an established company like CVS may be a better option until it is clear that PillPack has made a concerted effort to address the complaints of its users.


Read 83 PillPack Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 2.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 14 4 star: 3 3 star: 3 2 star: 8 1 star:  55
Bottom Line: 23% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 83
Sort reviews by:

  • Best idea Ever!

    • By Deb Anthony,
    • Sarasota, FL,
    • Jul 28, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    These guys are amazing. I take 4 meds daily and always forgot to refill them. Now they come automatically without having to stand in line at the pharmacy. I love that the little packets are easy to open too. Great customer service too. Super nice people. I'm recommending to all my friends.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Great service. Intuitive process.

    • By Mark,
    • TX,
    • Dec 1, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am extremely happy since transferring all my medications to PillPack. I receive an almost simultaneous response when I have questions. I post a message on my account through their mobile app and I am completely satisfied with the timeliness of their response to my questions. They are ready and willing to help and to ensure I receive exactly what I need.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Great pharmacy!

    I love having PillPack fill my medications. They are always on time, and I never have to guess if I have taken my medication for the day because it is all in a packet and it is all dated. So there are no overdoses or skipped doses. I have been with them for almost two years now, and they are a GREAT pharmacy! Thank you PillPack for making my day go easier.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Love it!

    • By Amanda Song,
    • Indiana,
    • May 26, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Not a scam! Wonderful service, with Next Day Air for urgent items. Easy billing. Great use of technology to communicate via website, email or phone!

    It is wonderful to have each dosage labeled. No more opening bottles constantly for each pill and no more filling pill boxes. If I am not acting right or do not feel well, the first thing my husband does is look at the pill pack. He can see exactly what date and time I missed a med and to remind me to take my meds, which fixes all my problems. With regular pill bottles, he does not know after work if I have taken my meds, accidentally taken them twice, etc. When I go on a weekend trip, I no longer need an entire basket for all 14 meds I need. I just put the pamphlet with the prescription info in my purse and three days worth of med packets.

    Meds arrive at my door on time, but usually early even! PillPack is wonderful for many reasons, especially those with memory problems or just busy lives.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Godsend!

    • By Gina,
    • Boston, MA,
    • Oct 30, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have two older parents; Ma 81 and Dad 84. They were living at home until they really needed a safer home environment and so they are a nice assisted living apartment and fairly independent. Each has their own list of ailments, pills, and prescriptions. It was getting harder and harder to keep their medications straight, and it felt like I was going to the local pharmacy every other day. Then I had to worry about them taking the right pills at the right time, out of those little weekly pill organizers.

    Then I read about PillPack.com. No more trips to the pharmacy, no more organizing pills, no more worrying about which pills and when my parents were going to take them. It was all done, and it shows up at my house once a month! It was easy to switch them from CVS over to PillPack. They do most of the work. They call the pharmacy and switch the prescriptions and insurance over; I did none of it. Co-pays are the same.

    You can see everything online in your own account with a dashboard with all your meds, what they look like, information about each med, etc. The doctor's office calls them if there are any changes and should you need a one time or short termed, say an anti-biotic or right away or one time, I just have it sent over to CVS and pick it up that day. They can package pills by specific times, or morning, afternoon or evening.

    Their customer service had been top notch. Always get a real person, fast service, and they are helpful with any question. It really has made both their lives, as well as mine less stressful and the meds more manageable. I really love this product and company!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • I just ordered from them

    This is my first order with them. Very good customer service. I pay less for my medication with them than at my local pharmacy. Plus it is winter time now and this convenient for me because I have a disability and I have trouble getting around in the winter time, and this will help me. Thank you PillPack!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Excellent

    I started using PillPack on January 1, 2018, and I absolutely love it! Your pills come pre-packaged for am, noon, afternoon, and pm, and it's so convenient. I don't have to worry about remembering to take all my pills! I was recently diagnosed with Alzheimer's and was forgetting some of my meds, but I don't worry about that with PillPack! I feel so much better!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • I am very happy with PillPack

    Really, I have only one minor complaint and some helpful information. I was told by an employee that they can only charge a 30-day co-pay. Supposedly their system can't calculate 90-day prescriptions which are a lot cheaper than paying every 30 days. I'll have to look into that more if this is the case. I can't believe their sophisticated system isn't able to do 90-day co-pays. They should be able to set-up their computers to do so.

    But, if this is true, it's still worth it for me. I'm on so much medication. I have put my trust in PillPack, and they came through for me. They have saved me a lot of time and aggravation. It would take me what seemed like forever to sort my meds into little pill boxes (you know, Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, and so on) then I had to make sure I counted them out properly, which wasn't always the case. I would double check and double check.

    Oh, here's the helpful part: The hardest thing about getting started with PillPack is that you have to make sure you coordinate your prescriptions from the start. You should make sure you have at least one month left of your prescription. It may be a shorter time depending on when your doctor gets with the program and sends new prescriptions to PillPack.

    So, trust me, it's all worthwhile, and don't forget PillPack has a phone and computer app. You can't go wrong. You can make sure they have everything right!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • PillPack has been awesome to work with

    • By Mark S.,
    • New York,
    • Dec 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'm an early user of PillPack. Slightly skeptical at first, I was quickly won over. We've had a couple of small hiccups, which they immediately resolved. They even handle 1/2 pills. My one nit-picky request is that the "rip-point" where each day's pills detach can be improved. The "packets" do not separate as easily as they should.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • PillPack.com is AWESOME!

    • By Brad H.,
    • Kentucky,
    • Jan 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've been using PillPack.com for several years now. First for my elderly mother who was having trouble remembering which medications to take when and more recently for myself.

    You don't have to worry about individual pill bottles (unless you want to) and shipments come once a month about a week in advance.

    Prices are the same as my regular pharmacy.

    Customer service, the few times I've needed it, has been awesome.

    You can't beat the service, convenience, and price.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Awesome!

    • By John B.,
    • Tennessee,
    • May 8, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Nine different meds, including one OTC, got my first shipment and it was perfect. They informed me because I had just refilled 2 of my meds, including a 90-day supply of one of them, there would be a transition time before all meds were in the pack. Totally understandable and professional. Highly recommend the service!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-11 of 83

Write a Review for PillPack!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review
PillPack