PillPack Review and Details

By HighYa Research Team
Published on: Oct 29, 2015

Founded by TJ Parker, PillPack is a full-service pharmacy that “delivers a better, simpler experience.” How?

By pre-sorting all your medication into personalized packets (one pack for each dose), which are organized by time and date, and clearly labeled with medication names. Each convenient recyclable dispenser is delivered straight to your door every two weeks, making it simple to take all of your medications, whether at home or on the go.

And PillPack will even coordinate with your insurance company and all your doctors to actively manage your refills, so you’ll always be able to take the right medication at the right time!

Are you among the 80% of Americans who regularly forgets to take your medication? If so, you could be putting your health in jeopardy.

Can PillPack help, or will they just complicate an already complicated process? Let’s start by taking a look at exactly how the company claims to help.

How the PillPack Process Works

Signing Up

You can sign up for a PillPack account in less than 5 minutes by entering your first and last name, email address, and phone number, and then creating a password. From there, you’ll also need to enter your address, the last four digits of your SS#, your DOB, and indicate which conditions you’re treating.

Once this is complete, you’ll be able to enter medication individually by name, strength, and the pharmacy where they’re currently filled. Finally, you can enter your credit card number and insurance information.

From there, PillPack claims they’ll handle all your transfers and confirm your start date. Once everything’s set, the company will send you a message before each shipment is sent, in order to confirm medications and shipping address.

Receiving Your Prescriptions

According to PillPack, they use a highly precise, automated dispensing system to sort and fill personalized PillPacks separately for each customer. The system checks for errors using multiple barcodes and an image recognition system, while a pharmacist physically double checks for potential errors and interactions prior to shipment.

While your daily medications and vitamins will be contained in PillPacks, “as needed” medication will arrive separately in standard bottles, as will any inhalers or creams.

Important note: PillPack cannot fill schedule II prescriptions (e.g. painkillers, ADHD medication, etc.).

Proactive Refill Management

Before each refill, PillPack contacts your doctor four weeks in advance and continues following up until they have a new prescription in hand. This is something they call “proactive refill management.”

In the mean time, you can always check your personalized dashboard for “your current list of medications, where you are in your roll of PillPacks, and other helpful information.”

If you’re taking a lot of medications, this can certainly seem like a godsend. But how much will the convenience provided by PillPack cost you?

PillPack’s Pricing Model

PillPack claims there is no extra cost for their services, beyond standard 30-day co-pays. However, if you’re currently receiving your medication in 90-day supplies, your co-pay might be “slightly higher.”

PillPack accepts most major insurance plans, including most forms of Medicare Part D, although they’re not “compatible with Humana, Optum, coverage provided by the United States Veterans Administration, or state Medicaid plans.”

Unsure if your insurance will cover PillPack’s services? Be sure to call your provider in advance.

All PillPacks are shipped overnight via UPS in temperature-controlled packaging, and come with a 100% on-time guarantee. If you don’t receive the right medications, on time, every time, you’ll be eligible to receive a full refund for the cost of the medications in the shipment.

If you need assistance, PillPack’s 24/7 support can be reached at 855-745-5725.

Pricing aside, what are customers saying about PillPack?

Customer Feedback for PillPack

As a fairly unique startup (more about this next), PillPack has received a lot of media attention, having been featured in Wired, TechCrunch, Forbes, and more. Most of these were high-level overviews though, and didn’t provide a whole lot of insight into the customer experience.

PC Magazine

PC Magazine reviewed PillPack in December 2014, and gave the company a 4.5-star (excellent) rating and named them an Editors’ Choice health service.

Overall, they found PillPack to be a simple, efficient, and convenient way to refill prescriptions, although they didn’t appreciate having to enter a credit card to browse medications and prices, or the fact that you couldn’t compare these prices with other pharmacies.

Blogger Sarah Doody

Sarah Doody claimed to have really enjoyed her experience with PillPack, and could foresee it bringing “great change for both physicians, pharmacists, and patients.”

While she liked how PillPack seemed to be thinking about every little detail, she recommended that they offer a printable checklist with each medication shipment, as well as whether or not any OTC medications might interact with prescriptions.

Chronically Ridiculous

On the other hand, the author of Chronically Ridiculous was disappointed with their PillPack experience, as the company only sent one of the prescriptions they requested. And PillPack also failed to cancel their enrollment after sending an email request.

Granted, the author didn’t mention that they reached out to the company to fix the problem, or to get an explanation for what occurred.

Better Business Bureau

Finally, PillPack, based out of Manchester, NH, had an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau at the time of our research, with just two closed complaints (as of 10/27/15). One of these referenced over-billing an insurance company, and the other referenced difficulty obtaining refills.

Although PillPack seems to have a mostly positive online customer reputation, how do they compare to the competition? Does the company even have any competition?

PillPack Alternatives

Type the phrase “online pharmacy” into your favorite search engine, and you’ll encounter thousands of results. In other words, if you’re simply looking for an online pharmacy company to fill your prescriptions, you’ve got a lot of choices.

However, where PillPack really distances themselves from the competition is their pre-filled medication packets, which seems to be completely unique. Yes, robots like the one implemented by PillPack have been used for years to deliver medication to hospitals and assisted living centers, but nothing (until now) for consumer mail-order use.

Just because it’s unique, does this necessarily mean you should choose PillPack?

Should PillPack be Your New Pharmacy?

If you’re taking a lot of medications, there’s no doubt that PillPack’s pre-filled medication packets can simplify your life. To boot, the company even claims that you’ll pay about the same as your local pharmacy, so there’s no extra cost for this added convenience.

On top of this, even with limited online customer reviews, PillPack seems to have a solid customer reputation.

Perhaps the biggest hassle you’ll experience with PillPack is signing up for an account and then listing all your medications in your dashboard. And while the company claims they’ll handle all the transfers and insurance paperwork, insurance companies (and even many brick-and-mortar pharmacies) can be notoriously difficult to deal with so this might require your involvement as well.

Overall? If you’re looking for convenience with your medications, it seems you can’t go wrong with PillPack.


Read 81 PillPack Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 2.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 14 4 star: 3 3 star: 3 2 star: 7 1 star:  54
Bottom Line: 23% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 81
Sort reviews by:

  • Best idea Ever!

    • By Deb Anthony,
    • Sarasota, FL,
    • Jul 28, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    These guys are amazing. I take 4 meds daily and always forgot to refill them. Now they come automatically without having to stand in line at the pharmacy. I love that the little packets are easy to open too. Great customer service too. Super nice people. I'm recommending to all my friends.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Great service. Intuitive process.

    • By Mark,
    • TX,
    • Dec 1, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am extremely happy since transferring all my medications to PillPack. I receive an almost simultaneous response when I have questions. I post a message on my account through their mobile app and I am completely satisfied with the timeliness of their response to my questions. They are ready and willing to help and to ensure I receive exactly what I need.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Great pharmacy!

    I love having PillPack fill my medications. They are always on time, and I never have to guess if I have taken my medication for the day because it is all in a packet and it is all dated. So there are no overdoses or skipped doses. I have been with them for almost two years now, and they are a GREAT pharmacy! Thank you PillPack for making my day go easier.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Love it!

    • By Amanda Song,
    • Indiana,
    • May 26, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Not a scam! Wonderful service, with Next Day Air for urgent items. Easy billing. Great use of technology to communicate via website, email or phone!

    It is wonderful to have each dosage labeled. No more opening bottles constantly for each pill and no more filling pill boxes. If I am not acting right or do not feel well, the first thing my husband does is look at the pill pack. He can see exactly what date and time I missed a med and to remind me to take my meds, which fixes all my problems. With regular pill bottles, he does not know after work if I have taken my meds, accidentally taken them twice, etc. When I go on a weekend trip, I no longer need an entire basket for all 14 meds I need. I just put the pamphlet with the prescription info in my purse and three days worth of med packets.

    Meds arrive at my door on time, but usually early even! PillPack is wonderful for many reasons, especially those with memory problems or just busy lives.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Godsend!

    • By Gina,
    • Boston, MA,
    • Oct 30, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have two older parents; Ma 81 and Dad 84. They were living at home until they really needed a safer home environment and so they are a nice assisted living apartment and fairly independent. Each has their own list of ailments, pills, and prescriptions. It was getting harder and harder to keep their medications straight, and it felt like I was going to the local pharmacy every other day. Then I had to worry about them taking the right pills at the right time, out of those little weekly pill organizers.

    Then I read about PillPack.com. No more trips to the pharmacy, no more organizing pills, no more worrying about which pills and when my parents were going to take them. It was all done, and it shows up at my house once a month! It was easy to switch them from CVS over to PillPack. They do most of the work. They call the pharmacy and switch the prescriptions and insurance over; I did none of it. Co-pays are the same.

    You can see everything online in your own account with a dashboard with all your meds, what they look like, information about each med, etc. The doctor's office calls them if there are any changes and should you need a one time or short termed, say an anti-biotic or right away or one time, I just have it sent over to CVS and pick it up that day. They can package pills by specific times, or morning, afternoon or evening.

    Their customer service had been top notch. Always get a real person, fast service, and they are helpful with any question. It really has made both their lives, as well as mine less stressful and the meds more manageable. I really love this product and company!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • I just ordered from them

    This is my first order with them. Very good customer service. I pay less for my medication with them than at my local pharmacy. Plus it is winter time now and this convenient for me because I have a disability and I have trouble getting around in the winter time, and this will help me. Thank you PillPack!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Excellent

    I started using PillPack on January 1, 2018, and I absolutely love it! Your pills come pre-packaged for am, noon, afternoon, and pm, and it's so convenient. I don't have to worry about remembering to take all my pills! I was recently diagnosed with Alzheimer's and was forgetting some of my meds, but I don't worry about that with PillPack! I feel so much better!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • I am very happy with PillPack

    Really, I have only one minor complaint and some helpful information. I was told by an employee that they can only charge a 30-day co-pay. Supposedly their system can't calculate 90-day prescriptions which are a lot cheaper than paying every 30 days. I'll have to look into that more if this is the case. I can't believe their sophisticated system isn't able to do 90-day co-pays. They should be able to set-up their computers to do so.

    But, if this is true, it's still worth it for me. I'm on so much medication. I have put my trust in PillPack, and they came through for me. They have saved me a lot of time and aggravation. It would take me what seemed like forever to sort my meds into little pill boxes (you know, Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, and so on) then I had to make sure I counted them out properly, which wasn't always the case. I would double check and double check.

    Oh, here's the helpful part: The hardest thing about getting started with PillPack is that you have to make sure you coordinate your prescriptions from the start. You should make sure you have at least one month left of your prescription. It may be a shorter time depending on when your doctor gets with the program and sends new prescriptions to PillPack.

    So, trust me, it's all worthwhile, and don't forget PillPack has a phone and computer app. You can't go wrong. You can make sure they have everything right!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • PillPack has been awesome to work with

    • By Mark S.,
    • New York,
    • Dec 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'm an early user of PillPack. Slightly skeptical at first, I was quickly won over. We've had a couple of small hiccups, which they immediately resolved. They even handle 1/2 pills. My one nit-picky request is that the "rip-point" where each day's pills detach can be improved. The "packets" do not separate as easily as they should.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • PillPack.com is AWESOME!

    • By Brad H.,
    • Kentucky,
    • Jan 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've been using PillPack.com for several years now. First for my elderly mother who was having trouble remembering which medications to take when and more recently for myself.

    You don't have to worry about individual pill bottles (unless you want to) and shipments come once a month about a week in advance.

    Prices are the same as my regular pharmacy.

    Customer service, the few times I've needed it, has been awesome.

    You can't beat the service, convenience, and price.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Awesome!

    • By John B.,
    • Tennessee,
    • May 8, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Nine different meds, including one OTC, got my first shipment and it was perfect. They informed me because I had just refilled 2 of my meds, including a 90-day supply of one of them, there would be a transition time before all meds were in the pack. Totally understandable and professional. Highly recommend the service!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-11 of 81

Write a Review for PillPack!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review
PillPack