Read 43 Planet Fitness Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 3)

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 1.9
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 7 4 star: 0 3 star: 1 2 star: 7 1 star:  28
Bottom Line: 19% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 23-33 of 43
Sort reviews by:

  • Bad place

    • By Jesus E.,
    • West Valley City, UT,
    • Feb 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was picked on by your staff members for lunking (I have diabetes so I have to breathe...out loud). And I was far from the front desk. I was told to leave. I'm new in this club, about 3 months, so I called the police on her. I don't want to break my contract with them but it's bad place (loud music), or you get picked on for lunking, whatever that means...

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Worst customers service ever, money hungry

    • By Vidal B.,
    • Dallas, TX,
    • Feb 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had a membership for about a year. I recently called to cancel my account. A few months later I was going through my credit card bill and this place is still charging my credit card for the membership. So I called to solve this problem and they told me they'll fix the issue...a month later they haven't done anything about it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Inexpensive, BUT...

    • By Matthew L.,
    • Virginia,
    • Dec 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The good:

    1. Cost is fairly inexpensive and is about $22/month for access to all clubs, which is why I still hang on.

    2. Equipment is new and usually in good condition

    3. There is often plenty of equipment in quantity to go around.

    4. I like the many TV screens viewable when I jog and work out.

    5. Their hours are better than most clubs. They say that they are open all night and all weekends, which can be convenient

    The bad is:

    1. It is often hot and stuffy inside. This is bad for us serious fitness people (i..e. the Lunks). I run 3 miles on the treadmill at 5MPH, and because it is hot and stuffy, my entire shirt often gets wet from perspiration. This is unnecessary as a bit more circulation and/or cooler temperatures would keep me dry. Temperatures are often in excess of 70F, and the air circulation is near non-existent, which may be nice for a dainty thin woman walking in, but is extremely discomforting (and possibly dangerous) for an older, overweight person who is serious about working out. They do have ceiling fans, but they are very tiny and do not provide any significant boost in comfort. They do not allow me a personal fan to keep me cool, so my hands are tied. They do have digital display thermostats, but they are generally out of visibility to the customer. Often, when I ask some staff person if I can see the thermometers, they are fresh and rude and will not let me see them.

    2. Rock and rollers and deadheads at Planet Fitness are dominant over people who like peace and quiet . Many people who jog wear earphones, and these are the same people who slam their feet on the treadmill continuously. When one of these people starts exercising next to me on the treadmill and disturbs me, and if I complain to a staff member, they often do nothing. If you need peace and quiet when you work out and you use the tread mill, you may become frustrated.

    3. Lack of Supervision and Accountability - If I do not like the way I am treated by a staff member or if I have a complaint about a facility, corporate headquarters (1.844.880.7180) often does not help. I've called in about one club refusing to fix their air conditioner in the middle of a heat wave, and corporate takes the position that each club is independently owned and operated, and thus there is little they can do. As a result, individual clubs can behave like pompous asses and not be subject to reproach.

    4. 24/7 hours is a bit of a misnomer. In actuality, they are closed on holidays, and their closure is very generous for the employees. For example, they close at 1 PM on Christmas Eve and are closed all day on Christmas day. They have closures for the new year and Thanksgiving too, to name a few. Corporate is very liberal about the hours individual facilities close. Furthermore, these closures are not publicized on their websites, so it is a bit of a surprise and an inconvenience.

    5. Staff can be rude and threatening to customers. In addition to not letting me see the thermostat, the staff can often be quite rude. If they have a surprise closure and you do not leave quickly, they threaten to call security and gang up on me. While working out, the laugh loudly behind the counter. When checking in, instead of letting you the customer wand in, they insist in taking your keys away from you and out of your sight to check you in.

    6. No one cares what you think and feel. As a customer, their attitude is "This is what we offer, and if you don't like it..." If it is too hot and stuffy and you feel that exercising can be unhealthful and potentially dangerous, they could not care less because they assert others find it too cold even though it is stuffy and in excess of 70F. If a rock and roller moves in next to you on the treadmill and starts pounding away and you have to stop and move to another machine, no one cares.

    In short, if I could buy a treadmill for my home and use a fan on said home treadmill, I would. But if I am trying to save money, this may be the next best choice.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Worst gym ever

    • By Blanca O.,
    • Phoenix, AZ,
    • Nov 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Worst gym, bad staff, and the club is dirty. Also, they don’t care about anything, and when trying to cancel, they won’t do it over the phone, even when I can't physically go to the gym due to medical reasons.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Don’t give out you credit card information

    • By Colleen B.,
    • Wichita Falls, TX,
    • Nov 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    So my experience, don’t give out your credit card info to Planet Fitness, just look at the ratings. When the manager is 12 and has no experience and every word she says is "unfortunately," then you have a problem. So in the few days, I called about canceling my account. I have $21, then another $42 taken out if my account. If you have circumstances that you cannot physically drive to Planet Fitness, then you have to write a letter. Ok.

    So read all these reviews.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Rip-off

    • By T B.,
    • Milton, GA,
    • Sep 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Planet Fitness ripped off my college-age son. They told him he could join for the summer at the advertised “No Commitment” $10/month level, and then cancel when school started to avoid the yearly fee, as long as he canceled by 8/31/18. When he went to the Planet Fitness Milton GA location to cancel, on 8/31/18, they told him, “Oh, sorry, we already sent in our financials for the month, last week.” Well, well, imagine that. Reporting early, just before the end of the month. Such diligent employees. I wonder how many other people this “early” submission affected? When my son reminded the Planet Fitness representative of the agreement that he could cancel on or before 8/31/18, he was told that he would just have to take that up with his bank and try to get it charged back.

    So out of frustration, I posted on Twitter about our experience. Planet Fitness replied:

    8:42 PM - 18 Sep 2018

    That is not what we like to hear! We always want to provide our members with all of the info that is necessary to cancel. We’d like to invite you to reach out to the management team at your home club, they’ll be the best to help resolve your concerns. Thank you!

    I replied:

    10:28 AM - 20 Sep 2018

    Sorry you don’t like to hear it. And thanks for the invitation, but he already tried that. They offered no help at all. Told him he would have to deal with it through his bank. We plan to share our experience via every ratings means available.

    So, with no further response, we’re sharing. Buyer beware. Our experience is, you cannot trust what Planet Fitness tells you about your contract. The No Commitment $10/month sounds great. But, as usual, when something sounds too good to be true, it is. Short-sighted scammers like Planet Fitness count on the fact that most people have lives and families and work, and therefore won’t have time to waste fighting to get back a lousy $40 or $50 or whatever your yearly fee is. You’ll pay it, maybe grumble a bit about it, but Planet Fitness will end up with your money. Count on it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Scam

    • By Olivia T.,
    • Champaign, IL,
    • Sep 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I went in to work out and start a membership. I only need it for three months. They want to charge a $60 new membership fee, plus $10 a month, plus charge me an annual membership fee of $30 starting November 1st. So for 2 and 1/2 months of working out, they wanna charge me $120. I thought they were supposed to be the cheapest center in town. And they don’t cater to students who only need a membership for a few months. They want to charge you for a whole year's membership. I will never go here!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Planet Fitness experience with free unlimited trainer Carlos Zarate

    • By Jewels P.,
    • Nevada,
    • Sep 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    As far as gyms go, I've been a member of several in Law Vegas including LVAC and 24 Hour Fitness. I joined Planet Fitness a few months ago and am loving it there. Not only is it affordable for anybody the personal trainer at my location on Sahara and Nellis named Carlos Zarate has been a huge help. He keeps me motivated and has trained with me to reach my goals. At other gyms, I felt as if I was just going through the motions. Here, I am pushing myself, setting goals and reaching them. Carlos has shown me what I need to do to get to where I want to be and anytime I need help he has been there. At other gyms, I've asked for assistance and had to wait, and wait and wait. Carlos Zarate has been very informative and is probably the reason I am sticking with my work out plan! Planet Fitness has all the equipment I need and is a friendly environment. I love it there!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • AC very frequently out of order

    • By Bill M.,
    • Moreno Valley, CA,
    • Aug 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have not been a gym member for a lot of years, and my body showed it. I was looking for a convenient, judgment-free option near my new home, as I had just moved to Moreno Valley, California. Planet Fitness was quite close, and they have plenty of equipment. The place appeared to be in pretty good working order, and they are open 24 hours a day.

    Unfortunately, my local Planet Fitness is not a good place to work out. I have been a member for three months, and the problems are numerous. First and foremost, the AC has gone out at least three times in just three months! And it usually takes a week or more for them to fix it! Meanwhile, even a moderate workout is a total sweat bath, even if I go early in the morning. Lesser problems include dirty locker rooms and poor supervision of the members. Members take their gym bags onto the floor, despite a safety policy against it. Members go into the 30-minute-workout area and fail to move from one station to the next prompt.

    Instead, they settle in on a machine and work out on that one machine as they own it, despite signs on the wall clearly forbidding this behavior. The employees say nothing, even when they see what is happening. I am glad I got the no-commitment monthly membership, because I am seriously considering switching to a gym twice as far away and more expensive, to get a better environment.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Horrible customer service

    • By Abhi S.,
    • Kitchener, Ontario, Canada,
    • Jul 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    One horrible place to go to. Their employees, they are all nice, until they get your bank details and money. However, they do not want to treat their members with respect whatsoever after.

    My membership was canceled on April 29, 2018 (I have the proof on canceling it as of this date too) and for two months in a row, the money was being debited without my knowledge. When I asked them for a refund of my money, Josh (supervisor/manager) said that I have to wait for my money that was taken out of my account without my permission for 12-15 business days, this is called daylight robbery. How is this even fair? This is horrible customer service.

    There is not even another person I could talk to in that place who can resolve a simple issue. And also their BS about the 30-day notice to cancel the membership was not advised while signing up. I went through the contract and it does not talk about the 30-day notice to cancel the membership. I am sure I am not the only one who has had this experience. I do not recommend this place. These guys are true scammers.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Nightmare cancellation

    • By Ramon M.,
    • Miami, FL,
    • Jul 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I tried to cancel my membership on-site and over the phone and always they found an excuse. They charged me $150.09 because I refuse to pay for the last two months.

    Never again Planet Fitness.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 23-33 of 43

Write a Review for Planet Fitness!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review
Planet Fitness