Start your review of Planet Fitness:
  • 50 Customer Reviews
  • 18% Recommend This Company
1.8 out of 5
5 star: 16% 4 star: 0% 3 star: 2% 2 star: 14% 1 star: 68%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • No stars if possible to Planet Fitness scam

    • By Linda M.,
    • Centurion, South Africa,
    • May 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This is the worst gym ever! I told the lady at reception to cancel my membership because it reached a year. She told me "it will not be a problem..." and scribbled my details on a paper A4. I finished my work out and left.

    I'm a student and the harsh reality is 4 months later attorneys send me an SMS that I owed interest and fees! I don't work since my studies are full time and I called them back, they actually noted my call FOR CANCELLATION on their system.

    So why now in April I get another SMS! Idiots! According to law, I am not responsible for all this money and they will not see a sent from me!

    No permission = no money!

    I wonder if the CEO in the USA knows what the people in SA are doing to harm his business!

    Centurion Gate Business Park The Gate Shopping Centre, Cnr Akkerboom and, John Vorster Dr, Centurion, 7440

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • A simple request...POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE.

    • By Tom H.,
    • Madison, WI,
    • May 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Although I understand, and agree, that every gym needs a bit of music to get the spirits motivated, when the music is SO LOUD that you can BARELY hear the TVs with your earplugs on, the quality and duration of one's workout becomes difficult to endure. And after REPEATED ATTEMPTS to politely ask if the music could be turned down a smidgeon the scripted answer from Mr. Estrada is...CORPORATE POLICY, take it up with the Manager (who has done NOTHING). For a judgment-free gym with a goal to provide a quality experience for ALL, I would hope that CORPORATE would entrust their staff with the ability to use COMMON SENSE when attempting to resolve a fairly basic complaint. STILL WAITING...

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Easy to join, difficult to cancel membership

    • By Cheryl F.,
    • Maryland,
    • Apr 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have been trying to cancel my membership for months. Every time I get a different explanation for why I haven't been able to get them to stop charging my bank account. I would never recommend joining Planet Fitness.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Awesome staff

    • By Judy F.,
    • Cleburne, TX,
    • Apr 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I joined the Planet Fitness in Cleburne, Texas in May of 2018. I had been bedridden the year prior. The entire staff was so warm and welcoming from the moment I walked in the door. I was shown around the gym and introduced to the personal trainer who was able to start training with me later that week. I was always welcomed when I walked in. I was sorry to be leaving my PF family. They will be sorely missed. Our new place has a fully stocked gym so I won’t be needing PF any longer. Thank you to my PF gurus in Cleburne, Texas. God bless you.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • They just want your money

    • By Sadie J.,
    • Aurora, CO,
    • Mar 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Don't get me wrong, the gym itself was nice, besides some of the crappy customer service. It all went downhill when I moved and called to cancel my membership in February and they said they would cancel it and I never went again. But then March rolls around and they take out the next payment (non-refundable of course). They just want your money, so be careful when canceling your memberships.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Lies, fraud, contracts are meaningless, poor service, zero stars if possible

    • By Chilly C.,
    • Airport,
    • Feb 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I called in advance of starting a membership. I was told my son, under 16, was able to use my membership (homebound and disabled) without me present. I started a membership and was then told he could not attend without me. I am now told I have to pay for a full year's charges before canceling. On top of that, I was given three options: come in to cancel, go to a post office and get a certified letter, or go to a doctor's office and pay for an appointment in order to get a medical exemption - all inconvenient, unacceptable and/or an unnecessary expense for a disabled person. If they allow you to sign up online with an e-signature, why is that not sufficient to cancel a membership?

    The managers at the Airport location in Colorado Springs, Jill, and Miguel, said they need a "real" signature. E-signatures are sufficient for withdrawing the membership fees (or for taxes and legal documents), why are they not sufficient for Planet Fitness? They throw the contract in my face, but then say they would violate it by allowing a hand-carried, uncertified letter from me - so why throw the contract up in my face? They can violate it "a little to help me," but we cannot violate it at all? Violating a contract 1% is legally the same as violating it 100%. They dared to threaten me if I cancel the charges through my bank. They play by their own rules, so what is to stop them from violating ANY CONTRACT?

    They should have been honest from the start...before taking hundreds of dollars from my account without one day of use. This company is not honest, cannot be trusted, and takes advantage of disabled people. DO NOT TRUST THEM!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Tyesha's superb customer service skills

    • By Saundra T.,
    • Seat Pleasant, MD,
    • Feb 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I want to express my great experience with Tyesha at Planet Fitness located in Seat Pleasant, MD. She assisted me with renewing my membership. I watched the way she interacted with the vendors that were coming in to do work and the members. She was very pleasant and attentive to everyone she interacted with. From what I saw, she also has excellent multitasking skills. She greeted everyone with a smile and those who were leaving the gym, she made sure she told them to enjoy their day. I could tell customer service is her passion. I truly appreciate her assisting me and would be most appreciative if you would please make sure she is acknowledged for her great customer service skills. I wish her the best!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Bad place

    • By Jesus E.,
    • West Valley City, UT,
    • Feb 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I was picked on by your staff members for lunking (I have diabetes so I have to breathe...out loud). And I was far from the front desk. I was told to leave. I'm new in this club, about 3 months, so I called the police on her. I don't want to break my contract with them but it's bad place (loud music), or you get picked on for lunking, whatever that means...

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Worst customers service ever, money hungry

    • By Vidal B.,
    • Dallas, TX,
    • Feb 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I had a membership for about a year. I recently called to cancel my account. A few months later I was going through my credit card bill and this place is still charging my credit card for the membership. So I called to solve this problem and they told me they'll fix the issue...a month later they haven't done anything about it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Inexpensive, BUT...

    • By Matthew L.,
    • Virginia,
    • Dec 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The good:

    1. Cost is fairly inexpensive and is about $22/month for access to all clubs, which is why I still hang on.

    2. Equipment is new and usually in good condition

    3. There is often plenty of equipment in quantity to go around.

    4. I like the many TV screens viewable when I jog and work out.

    5. Their hours are better than most clubs. They say that they are open all night and all weekends, which can be convenient

    The bad is:

    1. It is often hot and stuffy inside. This is bad for us serious fitness people (i..e. the Lunks). I run 3 miles on the treadmill at 5MPH, and because it is hot and stuffy, my entire shirt often gets wet from perspiration. This is unnecessary as a bit more circulation and/or cooler temperatures would keep me dry. Temperatures are often in excess of 70F, and the air circulation is near non-existent, which may be nice for a dainty thin woman walking in, but is extremely discomforting (and possibly dangerous) for an older, overweight person who is serious about working out. They do have ceiling fans, but they are very tiny and do not provide any significant boost in comfort. They do not allow me a personal fan to keep me cool, so my hands are tied. They do have digital display thermostats, but they are generally out of visibility to the customer. Often, when I ask some staff person if I can see the thermometers, they are fresh and rude and will not let me see them.

    2. Rock and rollers and deadheads at Planet Fitness are dominant over people who like peace and quiet . Many people who jog wear earphones, and these are the same people who slam their feet on the treadmill continuously. When one of these people starts exercising next to me on the treadmill and disturbs me, and if I complain to a staff member, they often do nothing. If you need peace and quiet when you work out and you use the tread mill, you may become frustrated.

    3. Lack of Supervision and Accountability - If I do not like the way I am treated by a staff member or if I have a complaint about a facility, corporate headquarters (1.844.880.7180) often does not help. I've called in about one club refusing to fix their air conditioner in the middle of a heat wave, and corporate takes the position that each club is independently owned and operated, and thus there is little they can do. As a result, individual clubs can behave like pompous asses and not be subject to reproach.

    4. 24/7 hours is a bit of a misnomer. In actuality, they are closed on holidays, and their closure is very generous for the employees. For example, they close at 1 PM on Christmas Eve and are closed all day on Christmas day. They have closures for the new year and Thanksgiving too, to name a few. Corporate is very liberal about the hours individual facilities close. Furthermore, these closures are not publicized on their websites, so it is a bit of a surprise and an inconvenience.

    5. Staff can be rude and threatening to customers. In addition to not letting me see the thermostat, the staff can often be quite rude. If they have a surprise closure and you do not leave quickly, they threaten to call security and gang up on me. While working out, the laugh loudly behind the counter. When checking in, instead of letting you the customer wand in, they insist in taking your keys away from you and out of your sight to check you in.

    6. No one cares what you think and feel. As a customer, their attitude is "This is what we offer, and if you don't like it..." If it is too hot and stuffy and you feel that exercising can be unhealthful and potentially dangerous, they could not care less because they assert others find it too cold even though it is stuffy and in excess of 70F. If a rock and roller moves in next to you on the treadmill and starts pounding away and you have to stop and move to another machine, no one cares.

    In short, if I could buy a treadmill for my home and use a fan on said home treadmill, I would. But if I am trying to save money, this may be the next best choice.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Worst gym ever

    • By Blanca O.,
    • Phoenix, AZ,
    • Nov 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Worst gym, bad staff, and the club is dirty. Also, they don’t care about anything, and when trying to cancel, they won’t do it over the phone, even when I can't physically go to the gym due to medical reasons.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 23-33 of 50

Write a Review for Planet Fitness!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Planet Fitness Review