Read 37 Planet Fitness Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 3)

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.9
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 7 4 star: 0 3 star: 1 2 star: 5 1 star:  24
Bottom Line: 22% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 23-33 of 37
Sort reviews by:

  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • Champaign, IL,
    • Sep 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I went in to work out and start a membership. I only need it for three months. They want to charge a $60 new membership fee, plus $10 a month, plus charge me an annual membership fee of $30 starting November 1st. So for 2 and 1/2 months of working out, they wanna charge me $120. I thought they were supposed to be the cheapest center in town. And they don’t cater to students who only need a membership for a few months. They want to charge you for a whole year's membership. I will never go here!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Planet Fitness experience with free unlimited trainer Carlos Zarate

    • Nevada,
    • Sep 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    As far as gyms go, I've been a member of several in Law Vegas including LVAC and 24 Hour Fitness. I joined Planet Fitness a few months ago and am loving it there. Not only is it affordable for anybody the personal trainer at my location on Sahara and Nellis named Carlos Zarate has been a huge help. He keeps me motivated and has trained with me to reach my goals. At other gyms, I felt as if I was just going through the motions. Here, I am pushing myself, setting goals and reaching them. Carlos has shown me what I need to do to get to where I want to be and anytime I need help he has been there. At other gyms, I've asked for assistance and had to wait, and wait and wait. Carlos Zarate has been very informative and is probably the reason I am sticking with my work out plan! Planet Fitness has all the equipment I need and is a friendly environment. I love it there!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    AC very frequently out of order

    • Moreno Valley, CA,
    • Aug 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have not been a gym member for a lot of years, and my body showed it. I was looking for a convenient, judgment-free option near my new home, as I had just moved to Moreno Valley, California. Planet Fitness was quite close, and they have plenty of equipment. The place appeared to be in pretty good working order, and they are open 24 hours a day.

    Unfortunately, my local Planet Fitness is not a good place to work out. I have been a member for three months, and the problems are numerous. First and foremost, the AC has gone out at least three times in just three months! And it usually takes a week or more for them to fix it! Meanwhile, even a moderate workout is a total sweat bath, even if I go early in the morning. Lesser problems include dirty locker rooms and poor supervision of the members. Members take their gym bags onto the floor, despite a safety policy against it. Members go into the 30-minute-workout area and fail to move from one station to the next prompt.

    Instead, they settle in on a machine and work out on that one machine as they own it, despite signs on the wall clearly forbidding this behavior. The employees say nothing, even when they see what is happening. I am glad I got the no-commitment monthly membership, because I am seriously considering switching to a gym twice as far away and more expensive, to get a better environment.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Horrible customer service

    • Kitchener, Ontario, Canada,
    • Jul 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    One horrible place to go to. Their employees, they are all nice, until they get your bank details and money. However, they do not want to treat their members with respect whatsoever after.

    My membership was canceled on April 29, 2018 (I have the proof on canceling it as of this date too) and for two months in a row, the money was being debited without my knowledge. When I asked them for a refund of my money, Josh (supervisor/manager) said that I have to wait for my money that was taken out of my account without my permission for 12-15 business days, this is called daylight robbery. How is this even fair? This is horrible customer service.

    There is not even another person I could talk to in that place who can resolve a simple issue. And also their BS about the 30-day notice to cancel the membership was not advised while signing up. I went through the contract and it does not talk about the 30-day notice to cancel the membership. I am sure I am not the only one who has had this experience. I do not recommend this place. These guys are true scammers.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Nightmare cancellation

    • Miami, FL,
    • Jul 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I tried to cancel my membership on-site and over the phone and always they found an excuse. They charged me $150.09 because I refuse to pay for the last two months.

    Never again Planet Fitness.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Not satisfied

    • Binghamton, NY,
    • Jun 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I joined Planet Fitness for one year. I called the gym and told the lady I will not continue for another year because I cannot afford it, and she told me I have to come in person. She did not tell me that they will charge me another fee if I didn't come exactly a year, and they did charge my bank another $39 after my deadline.

    I am warning people out there that this is a catch and please spread it so this doesn't happen to more people because I will let my Facebook friends know about this. Not fair, it says one year, not two.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    No such thing as a free lunch.

    • Rogers, AR,
    • Jun 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have belonged to Planet Fitness in Melbourne, Florida and now in Rogers, Arkansas. Can't beat the price. Can't beat the hours. Equipment has always been adequate.

    Bad points: Music sucks and too many people use weight machines as lounge chairs as they text.

    Worst bad thing: I just tried to cancel my membership before relocating to another city. Late at night, the guy at the desk said the computers were down. In the day I learned that I had to pay a buy-out fee equal to about six months of payments. I did not recall being told of that requirement when I joined. Because my annual membership was ending in two months, I just tried to cancel my membership at the end of the year. They said no. The guy at the desk said I had to come in during the last month to cancel.

    If it were not for their shameful policy of preventing members from closing their membership, I would give Planet Fitness at least a 4-star rating. But, I hate con artists and companies that try to steal from their customers, so they get one star and a warning to those who might join.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Easy to join/difficult to leave

    • Washington,
    • Jun 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was one of the first members at the Renton location. I signed up in April of 2011 and I have paid them $1,630 in fees. I recently moved out of the area. When I called to cancel my membership, I was told that I had to come in in-person or send a certified letter in the mail to cancel. I was told that if I refused to pay, my dues would accrue and be sent to collection. After 7 years of loyal membership, I found their refusal to let me cancel over the phone after moving out of the area to be unimpressive.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Incompetent billing and staff

    • Knoxville, TN,
    • Jun 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am a 65-year-old retired military officer.

    I have been a member of Planet Fitness in Dallas, Texas and Knoxville, Tennessee for years. About a month ago I was questioned about my payment of the monthly bill.

    The first thing that happened was the Planet Fitness staff said my credit card expired in 2016 (it is now May of 2018) and that Planet Fitness had not been paid since 2016. Wrong - the credit had not expired, and a history check on my credit card billing clearly showed Planet Fitness had been paid for the last two years. Never the less, I proceeded to let them re-run the credit card, and I was told all was ok.

    This same process happened on my next four visits to the gym. Finally, I said, "let me speak to a manager." The manager comes out and is totally ignorant of the previous events or a process to correct Planet Fitness's billing problem. However, he said he would get it fixed. He DID NOT!

    Now I am receiving automated phone calls from Planet Fitness about this problem and being accused of not paying my bill. I was instructed to call this Planet Fitness by this automated call. When I did return the call - no answer.

    When I called the front desk (as I have done several times), I get another minimum wage, low information staff member who has not a clue.

    On the last call I was instructed, by a staff member, to bring in two credit cards and my bank numbers to put on file. There is not a chance of that happening.

    There are other issues with using this gym to work out. It seems to be a gathering ground for people who like to sit on machines and use their cell phones as opposed to using the machine for exercise. I have also been told I cannot use other equipment not supplied by the gym, for example, weight belts or gravity boots for stretching. On one occasion, I had a staff member come up and tell me I could not lay my sweatshirt on the floor beside me while I used a machine.

    I would not recommend Planet Fitness to anyone. Their handling of billing and customer service leaves a lot to be desired. I am at a loss as to how to proceed/fix the problem. Therefore, I am looking for another gym.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Nice place

    • California,
    • May 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Planet Fitness is a nice place to work out. It's always clean, and the staff is nice. There is no waiting, it's never crowded. I would recommend Planet Fitness to everyone that I know; family and friends and even people I don't know. I love coming here to the no judgment zone and I love the total body enhancement.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Best gym for the money

    • Kane,
    • May 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been working out at gyms for the last 40 years. I have trained under pro wrestlers and am certified as an elite personal trainer with the ISSA. This gym is light years better than any other. Hardcore bodybuilders don't belong here, but they are a tiny fraction of society and not good for business. They intimidate members and hog several machines at the same time. Times have changed, and so has gym etiquette.

    Planet Fitness has solved the "LUNK" bully attitude with their rules and restrictions. I have canceled my membership twice and never a problem. The facility has everything to get and stay in great shape. It also offers unlimited club membership, tanning, red light therapy and massage an additional 10 dollars a month. Tanning alone cost $25 a month at any salon. The red light therapy is $30 per session at doctor's offices who offer it. Always clean and never too crowded (except on the smith machines).

    The only drawback is no lap pool, but swimming is overrated in calorie burn. Also, I quit the last gym due to having to wait for lap lanes to open. For 90% of the population, this is your best bet for a great workout and great price. The free personal training is the icing on the cake. I would hate other gyms when personal trainers would interrupt your workout to try to tell you a better way and charge you for it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 23-33 of 37

Write a Review for Planet Fitness!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review