Read 41 Planet Fitness Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 2)

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 1.9
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 7 4 star: 0 3 star: 1 2 star: 6 1 star:  27
Bottom Line: 20% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 12-22 of 41
Sort reviews by:

  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Poor management

    • By D S.,
    • Greensburg, PA,
    • Jun 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I joined in November and was charged a large annual fee that everyone will get charged and you are not told nor do you see it on the $10 ads. My gym is so cluttered that it is unsafe. I bought it up to management. I was spoken to so badly that I am shocked. No customer service training, and worse, I sensed that it was based on Planet Fitness Training. I was told that safety is the user's problem, that they are only a family gym, and that you sign a waver and even that cameras won't lie and Planet Fitness would believe a manager over member when or if something happens. I am appalled! Planet Fitness corporate just refers you back to the same manager even though it is a corporate site I was told. I canceled, so did my whole family. Cheap and discount are not supposed to be lesser, but here it is. Even the no intimidation rules, they are based on keeping their site easier to clean and keep. It does not have much to do with people that are scared of people who really know how to lift. Plus, their staff at my site have no knowledge of lifting, by conservation and by appearance, so I think this is just the worst. Management told me to be quiet. Imagine politely bringing safety up and getting verbally attacked. I was told that if I did not know what Planet Fitness is like (people and staff who are not deeply into weight training and CrossFit, and if I did not know that it is also my fault).

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Don't do it!

    • By Jam B.,
    • Evanston, IL,
    • May 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    If you're serious about working out, DON'T go to PF! People don't know how to use the machines and they don't ask either. They don't monitor their 30-minute workout area and you have to tattle like a little kid to get the diddlers out. The 30-minute workout area is for serious workouts. You get on a machine when the light turns green and you get off when it turns red! Sounds simple right? NOPE! Not for the kind of people that go to the PF! They justify why they can't get on and get off the machines or they sit there for several minutes doing their reps. and they just get in the way! Eventually, you'll leave for a better gym where people know how to work out and do it correctly!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    No stars if possible to Planet Fitness scam

    • By Linda M.,
    • Centurion, South Africa,
    • May 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is the worst gym ever! I told the lady at reception to cancel my membership because it reached a year. She told me "it will not be a problem..." and scribbled my details on a paper A4. I finished my work out and left.

    I'm a student and the harsh reality is 4 months later attorneys send me an SMS that I owed interest and fees! I don't work since my studies are full time and I called them back, they actually noted my call FOR CANCELLATION on their system.

    So why now in April I get another SMS! Idiots! According to law, I am not responsible for all this money and they will not see a sent from me!

    No permission = no money!

    I wonder if the CEO in the USA knows what the people in SA are doing to harm his business!

    Centurion Gate Business Park The Gate Shopping Centre, Cnr Akkerboom and, John Vorster Dr, Centurion, 7440

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    A simple request...POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE.

    • By Tom H.,
    • Madison, WI,
    • May 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Although I understand, and agree, that every gym needs a bit of music to get the spirits motivated, when the music is SO LOUD that you can BARELY hear the TVs with your earplugs on, the quality and duration of one's workout becomes difficult to endure. And after REPEATED ATTEMPTS to politely ask if the music could be turned down a smidgeon the scripted answer from Mr. Estrada is...CORPORATE POLICY, take it up with the Manager (who has done NOTHING). For a judgment-free gym with a goal to provide a quality experience for ALL, I would hope that CORPORATE would entrust their staff with the ability to use COMMON SENSE when attempting to resolve a fairly basic complaint. STILL WAITING...

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Easy to join, difficult to cancel membership

    • By Cheryl F.,
    • Maryland,
    • Apr 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been trying to cancel my membership for months. Every time I get a different explanation for why I haven't been able to get them to stop charging my bank account. I would never recommend joining Planet Fitness.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Awesome staff

    • By Judy F.,
    • Cleburne, TX,
    • Apr 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I joined the Planet Fitness in Cleburne, Texas in May of 2018. I had been bedridden the year prior. The entire staff was so warm and welcoming from the moment I walked in the door. I was shown around the gym and introduced to the personal trainer who was able to start training with me later that week. I was always welcomed when I walked in. I was sorry to be leaving my PF family. They will be sorely missed. Our new place has a fully stocked gym so I won’t be needing PF any longer. Thank you to my PF gurus in Cleburne, Texas. God bless you.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    They just want your money

    • By Sadie J.,
    • Aurora, CO,
    • Mar 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Don't get me wrong, the gym itself was nice, besides some of the crappy customer service. It all went downhill when I moved and called to cancel my membership in February and they said they would cancel it and I never went again. But then March rolls around and they take out the next payment (non-refundable of course). They just want your money, so be careful when canceling your memberships.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Lies, fraud, contracts are meaningless, poor service, zero stars if possible

    • By Chilly C.,
    • Airport,
    • Feb 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I called in advance of starting a membership. I was told my son, under 16, was able to use my membership (homebound and disabled) without me present. I started a membership and was then told he could not attend without me. I am now told I have to pay for a full year's charges before canceling. On top of that, I was given three options: come in to cancel, go to a post office and get a certified letter, or go to a doctor's office and pay for an appointment in order to get a medical exemption - all inconvenient, unacceptable and/or an unnecessary expense for a disabled person. If they allow you to sign up online with an e-signature, why is that not sufficient to cancel a membership?

    The managers at the Airport location in Colorado Springs, Jill, and Miguel, said they need a "real" signature. E-signatures are sufficient for withdrawing the membership fees (or for taxes and legal documents), why are they not sufficient for Planet Fitness? They throw the contract in my face, but then say they would violate it by allowing a hand-carried, uncertified letter from me - so why throw the contract up in my face? They can violate it "a little to help me," but we cannot violate it at all? Violating a contract 1% is legally the same as violating it 100%. They dared to threaten me if I cancel the charges through my bank. They play by their own rules, so what is to stop them from violating ANY CONTRACT?

    They should have been honest from the start...before taking hundreds of dollars from my account without one day of use. This company is not honest, cannot be trusted, and takes advantage of disabled people. DO NOT TRUST THEM!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Tyesha's superb customer service skills

    • By Saundra T.,
    • Seat Pleasant, MD,
    • Feb 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I want to express my great experience with Tyesha at Planet Fitness located in Seat Pleasant, MD. She assisted me with renewing my membership. I watched the way she interacted with the vendors that were coming in to do work and the members. She was very pleasant and attentive to everyone she interacted with. From what I saw, she also has excellent multitasking skills. She greeted everyone with a smile and those who were leaving the gym, she made sure she told them to enjoy their day. I could tell customer service is her passion. I truly appreciate her assisting me and would be most appreciative if you would please make sure she is acknowledged for her great customer service skills. I wish her the best!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Bad place

    • By Jesus E.,
    • West Valley City, UT,
    • Feb 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was picked on by your staff members for lunking (I have diabetes so I have to breathe...out loud). And I was far from the front desk. I was told to leave. I'm new in this club, about 3 months, so I called the police on her. I don't want to break my contract with them but it's bad place (loud music), or you get picked on for lunking, whatever that means...

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Worst customers service ever, money hungry

    • By Vidal B.,
    • Dallas, TX,
    • Feb 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had a membership for about a year. I recently called to cancel my account. A few months later I was going through my credit card bill and this place is still charging my credit card for the membership. So I called to solve this problem and they told me they'll fix the issue...a month later they haven't done anything about it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 12-22 of 41

Write a Review for Planet Fitness!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review