Read 36 Planet Fitness Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 2)

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 2.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 7 4 star: 0 3 star: 1 2 star: 5 1 star:  23
Bottom Line: 22% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 12-22 of 36
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Awesome staff

    • Cleburne, TX,
    • Apr 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I joined the Planet Fitness in Cleburne, Texas in May of 2018. I had been bedridden the year prior. The entire staff was so warm and welcoming from the moment I walked in the door. I was shown around the gym and introduced to the personal trainer who was able to start training with me later that week. I was always welcomed when I walked in. I was sorry to be leaving my PF family. They will be sorely missed. Our new place has a fully stocked gym so I won’t be needing PF any longer. Thank you to my PF gurus in Cleburne, Texas. God bless you.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    They just want your money

    • Aurora, CO,
    • Mar 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Don't get me wrong, the gym itself was nice, besides some of the crappy customer service. It all went downhill when I moved and called to cancel my membership in February and they said they would cancel it and I never went again. But then March rolls around and they take out the next payment (non-refundable of course). They just want your money, so be careful when canceling your memberships.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Lies, fraud, contracts are meaningless, poor service, zero stars if possible

    • Airport,
    • Feb 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I called in advance of starting a membership. I was told my son, under 16, was able to use my membership (homebound and disabled) without me present. I started a membership and was then told he could not attend without me. I am now told I have to pay for a full year's charges before canceling. On top of that, I was given three options: come in to cancel, go to a post office and get a certified letter, or go to a doctor's office and pay for an appointment in order to get a medical exemption - all inconvenient, unacceptable and/or an unnecessary expense for a disabled person. If they allow you to sign up online with an e-signature, why is that not sufficient to cancel a membership?

    The managers at the Airport location in Colorado Springs, Jill, and Miguel, said they need a "real" signature. E-signatures are sufficient for withdrawing the membership fees (or for taxes and legal documents), why are they not sufficient for Planet Fitness? They throw the contract in my face, but then say they would violate it by allowing a hand-carried, uncertified letter from me - so why throw the contract up in my face? They can violate it "a little to help me," but we cannot violate it at all? Violating a contract 1% is legally the same as violating it 100%. They dared to threaten me if I cancel the charges through my bank. They play by their own rules, so what is to stop them from violating ANY CONTRACT?

    They should have been honest from the start...before taking hundreds of dollars from my account without one day of use. This company is not honest, cannot be trusted, and takes advantage of disabled people. DO NOT TRUST THEM!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Tyesha's superb customer service skills

    • Seat Pleasant, MD,
    • Feb 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I want to express my great experience with Tyesha at Planet Fitness located in Seat Pleasant, MD. She assisted me with renewing my membership. I watched the way she interacted with the vendors that were coming in to do work and the members. She was very pleasant and attentive to everyone she interacted with. From what I saw, she also has excellent multitasking skills. She greeted everyone with a smile and those who were leaving the gym, she made sure she told them to enjoy their day. I could tell customer service is her passion. I truly appreciate her assisting me and would be most appreciative if you would please make sure she is acknowledged for her great customer service skills. I wish her the best!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Bad place

    • West Valley City, UT,
    • Feb 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was picked on by your staff members for lunking (I have diabetes so I have to breathe...out loud). And I was far from the front desk. I was told to leave. I'm new in this club, about 3 months, so I called the police on her. I don't want to break my contract with them but it's bad place (loud music), or you get picked on for lunking, whatever that means...

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Worst customers service ever, money hungry

    • Dallas, TX,
    • Feb 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had a membership for about a year. I recently called to cancel my account. A few months later I was going through my credit card bill and this place is still charging my credit card for the membership. So I called to solve this problem and they told me they'll fix the issue...a month later they haven't done anything about it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Inexpensive, BUT...

    • Virginia,
    • Dec 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The good:

    1. Cost is fairly inexpensive and is about $22/month for access to all clubs, which is why I still hang on.

    2. Equipment is new and usually in good condition

    3. There is often plenty of equipment in quantity to go around.

    4. I like the many TV screens viewable when I jog and work out.

    5. Their hours are better than most clubs. They say that they are open all night and all weekends, which can be convenient

    The bad is:

    1. It is often hot and stuffy inside. This is bad for us serious fitness people (i..e. the Lunks). I run 3 miles on the treadmill at 5MPH, and because it is hot and stuffy, my entire shirt often gets wet from perspiration. This is unnecessary as a bit more circulation and/or cooler temperatures would keep me dry. Temperatures are often in excess of 70F, and the air circulation is near non-existent, which may be nice for a dainty thin woman walking in, but is extremely discomforting (and possibly dangerous) for an older, overweight person who is serious about working out. They do have ceiling fans, but they are very tiny and do not provide any significant boost in comfort. They do not allow me a personal fan to keep me cool, so my hands are tied. They do have digital display thermostats, but they are generally out of visibility to the customer. Often, when I ask some staff person if I can see the thermometers, they are fresh and rude and will not let me see them.

    2. Rock and rollers and deadheads at Planet Fitness are dominant over people who like peace and quiet . Many people who jog wear earphones, and these are the same people who slam their feet on the treadmill continuously. When one of these people starts exercising next to me on the treadmill and disturbs me, and if I complain to a staff member, they often do nothing. If you need peace and quiet when you work out and you use the tread mill, you may become frustrated.

    3. Lack of Supervision and Accountability - If I do not like the way I am treated by a staff member or if I have a complaint about a facility, corporate headquarters (1.844.880.7180) often does not help. I've called in about one club refusing to fix their air conditioner in the middle of a heat wave, and corporate takes the position that each club is independently owned and operated, and thus there is little they can do. As a result, individual clubs can behave like pompous asses and not be subject to reproach.

    4. 24/7 hours is a bit of a misnomer. In actuality, they are closed on holidays, and their closure is very generous for the employees. For example, they close at 1 PM on Christmas Eve and are closed all day on Christmas day. They have closures for the new year and Thanksgiving too, to name a few. Corporate is very liberal about the hours individual facilities close. Furthermore, these closures are not publicized on their websites, so it is a bit of a surprise and an inconvenience.

    5. Staff can be rude and threatening to customers. In addition to not letting me see the thermostat, the staff can often be quite rude. If they have a surprise closure and you do not leave quickly, they threaten to call security and gang up on me. While working out, the laugh loudly behind the counter. When checking in, instead of letting you the customer wand in, they insist in taking your keys away from you and out of your sight to check you in.

    6. No one cares what you think and feel. As a customer, their attitude is "This is what we offer, and if you don't like it..." If it is too hot and stuffy and you feel that exercising can be unhealthful and potentially dangerous, they could not care less because they assert others find it too cold even though it is stuffy and in excess of 70F. If a rock and roller moves in next to you on the treadmill and starts pounding away and you have to stop and move to another machine, no one cares.

    In short, if I could buy a treadmill for my home and use a fan on said home treadmill, I would. But if I am trying to save money, this may be the next best choice.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Worst gym ever

    • Phoenix, AZ,
    • Nov 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Worst gym, bad staff, and the club is dirty. Also, they don’t care about anything, and when trying to cancel, they won’t do it over the phone, even when I can't physically go to the gym due to medical reasons.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Don’t give out you credit card information

    • Wichita Falls, TX,
    • Nov 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    So my experience, don’t give out your credit card info to Planet Fitness, just look at the ratings. When the manager is 12 and has no experience and every word she says is "unfortunately," then you have a problem. So in the few days, I called about canceling my account. I have $21, then another $42 taken out if my account. If you have circumstances that you cannot physically drive to Planet Fitness, then you have to write a letter. Ok.

    So read all these reviews.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Rip-off

    • Milton, GA,
    • Sep 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Planet Fitness ripped off my college-age son. They told him he could join for the summer at the advertised “No Commitment” $10/month level, and then cancel when school started to avoid the yearly fee, as long as he canceled by 8/31/18. When he went to the Planet Fitness Milton GA location to cancel, on 8/31/18, they told him, “Oh, sorry, we already sent in our financials for the month, last week.” Well, well, imagine that. Reporting early, just before the end of the month. Such diligent employees. I wonder how many other people this “early” submission affected? When my son reminded the Planet Fitness representative of the agreement that he could cancel on or before 8/31/18, he was told that he would just have to take that up with his bank and try to get it charged back.

    So out of frustration, I posted on Twitter about our experience. Planet Fitness replied:

    8:42 PM - 18 Sep 2018

    That is not what we like to hear! We always want to provide our members with all of the info that is necessary to cancel. We’d like to invite you to reach out to the management team at your home club, they’ll be the best to help resolve your concerns. Thank you!

    I replied:

    10:28 AM - 20 Sep 2018

    Sorry you don’t like to hear it. And thanks for the invitation, but he already tried that. They offered no help at all. Told him he would have to deal with it through his bank. We plan to share our experience via every ratings means available.

    So, with no further response, we’re sharing. Buyer beware. Our experience is, you cannot trust what Planet Fitness tells you about your contract. The No Commitment $10/month sounds great. But, as usual, when something sounds too good to be true, it is. Short-sighted scammers like Planet Fitness count on the fact that most people have lives and families and work, and therefore won’t have time to waste fighting to get back a lousy $40 or $50 or whatever your yearly fee is. You’ll pay it, maybe grumble a bit about it, but Planet Fitness will end up with your money. Count on it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • Champaign, IL,
    • Sep 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I went in to work out and start a membership. I only need it for three months. They want to charge a $60 new membership fee, plus $10 a month, plus charge me an annual membership fee of $30 starting November 1st. So for 2 and 1/2 months of working out, they wanna charge me $120. I thought they were supposed to be the cheapest center in town. And they don’t cater to students who only need a membership for a few months. They want to charge you for a whole year's membership. I will never go here!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 12-22 of 36

Write a Review for Planet Fitness!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review