ProstaGenix Review: Benefits, Ingredients, Side Effects and More

By HighYa Research Team
Updated on: Jun 30, 2020

Medically Reviewed by Anthony Dugarte, M.D., C.S.C.S

HighYa is supported by our readers. When you buy something through a link on this page, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn more.

What Is ProstaGenix?

ProstaGenix is a sterol-based prostate supplement that allegedly helps ease the urinary symptoms of benign prostate hyperplasia (BPH), including frequent nightly urination and dribbling.

BPH can affect up to 50% of men over the age of 50. The associated urinary symptoms develop as the prostate gland enlarges and compresses your urethra, the duct that transports urine out of the body from the bladder.

ProstaGenix says their supplement’s mix of ingredients will reduce the effects of an enlarged prostate, also known as benign prostate hyperplasia.

By taking pills, the company alleges that you will:

  • Pee less frequently
  • Sleep better
  • See an increase in sexual performance.

ProstaGenix is based in Hollywood and is relatively well-known because of its lengthy TV commercials featuring famed interviewer Larry King.

This review examines the supplement's ingredients and safety to determine if it can work as advertised.

Ingredients

Each capsule of ProstaGenix contains eight different elements and vitamins as well as a pair of blends: one contains sterol and one contains polyphenols.

While each ingredient may provide a health benefit, the company focuses on sterols, which are plant-based fats that ProstaGenix says have the most significant impact on reducing your prostate-related symptoms.

This is because sterol, according to John Satino, the former research coordinator for Merck Pharmaceutical’s 1989 of BPH drug finasteride, makes the urinary track slicker so that it’s easier for urine to flow out of the bladder and past the prostate.

ProstaGenix contains four types of sterols:

  • Beta-sitosterol: 824 mg
  • Campesterol: 77.2 mg
  • Stigmasterol: 7.6 mg
  • Cholesterol: Less than 0.02 mg

ProstaGenix says that their prostate supplement contains more beta-sitosterol and more sterols, in general, than 157 other supplements on the market.

We contacted the laboratory at which ProstaGenix conducted their studies to verify the results but did not receive a response at the time of publishing.

For now, we’ll provide a list of the supplement’s other ingredients along with their dosages:

  • Polyphenol blend (grape seed and pomegranate extracts, quercetin): 300 mg
  • Vitamin D3 400 IU (about 10 mcg)
  • Zinc: 15 mg
  • Silicon: 10 mg
  • Boron: 3 mg
  • Copper: 2 mg
  • Manganese: 2 mg
  • Iodine: 150 mcg
  • Chromium: 120 mcg
  • Molybdenum: 75 mcg
  • Selenium: 70 mcg

Scientific Evidence

In addition to PostaGenix's purported actions of their sterol ingredients, there are a couple of the other ingredients that have been specifically tested in those with BPH which may also offer relief.

ConsumerLab.com notes that there are two studies from the ’90s that support the notion that beta-sitosterol can improve urine flow.

One of those studies, published in The Lance in 1995, indicated that men with BPH who took 60 mg per day of beta-sitosterol saw noticeable results.

“Significant improvement in symptoms and urinary flow parameters show the effectiveness of beta-sitosterol in the treatment of benign prostatic hyperplasia,” the study concluded.

Additionally, the study noted that the prostate sizes in the men taking the beta-sitosterol did not shrink.

The study was a randomized, placebo-controlled, double-blind study, which is the highest standard when it comes to research. It means the men in the study had no idea if they were taking the placebo (fake pill) or beta-sitosterol.

Another randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled study found that men who took 130 mg of beta-sitosterol per day had better flow, less leftover urine in their bladders and overall better quality of life.

The Linus Pauling Institute referred to these two studies in their analysis of beta-sitosterol's effect on urinary symptoms of BPH. While they noted that the studies show success, they tempered their conclusions.

In 2000, a review of 4 randomized trials conclude that beta-sitosterol safely and effectively improve urinary symptoms in those with mild to moderate BPH.

They also stated that beta-sitosterol may be especially useful in those with a higher risk for adverse effects and complications related to medical or surgical management of their BPH.

In 2012, researches provided an overview of BPH treatment with dietary supplements as the 2000 study represented the last time this information was updated. They corroborated the 2000 report, finding beta-sitosterol to be effective and associated with “mild and infrequent adverse events”.

“Although the results of a few clinical trials suggest that relatively low doses of phytosterols can improve lower urinary tract symptoms related to BPH, further research is needed to confirm these findings,” the site says.

Based on these studies, we’d say there is evidence that beta-sitosterol could help reduce the urinary symptoms of BPH. However, keep in mind the studies to support this conclusion are minimal and, in most cases, more than 20 years old.

Vitamin D is another ProstaGenix ingredient that has been studied in relation to BPH.

In fact, in 322 men, those with vitamin D deficiency also had a larger prostate volume, higher scores in a blood test used to screen for prostate issues, and a lower urinary flow.

In addition to being used as a potential sign of BPH, vitamin D may offer relief as well. Doses at 6000 IU/day can decrease prostate volume in those with BPH, according to this review.

Lastly, the polyphenol blend ingredient, quercetin, has also been studied as a potential BPH treatment option.

In 30 men with chronic pelvic pain, those treated with quercetin 500mg twice daily experienced significant pain improvement and also noted enhanced urinary flow. This hinted at a possible benefit for those with BPH.

In 200 men with BPH, those treated with 40 drops of quercetin daily experienced improved urinary flow rates when compared to placebo at 3-months.

Side Effects

The main side effects you may see come from the supplement’s beta-sitosterol. you may experience diarrhea, nausea, indigestion and other gastrointestinal issues.

A favorable safety profile can be valuable as medical treatment for BPH with alpha blockers may result in drowsiness, dizziness, or unsafe drops in blood pressure.

Though beta-sitosterol is rarely associated with side effects, the doses included in ProstaGenix are much larger than those used in the studies we reviewed.

Vitamin D was safe in doses more than 10x of what is offered in this supplement, while quercetin was safe at more than 3x the dose or ProstaGenix’s total polyphenol blend dose.

Nonetheless, your urinary symptoms may be caused by an underlying medical condition that should be managed by a medical professional.

Prior to starting a new supplement, discuss your symptoms with a physician to determine the best plan of action.

Pricing and Return Policy

At the time of publishing, you could buy one, three or five bottles of Prostagenix from the company’s website (free shipping):

  • One bottle: $49.95
  • Three bottles: $99.95
  • Five bottles: $149.95

The company offers a 100% money-back guarantee through which they’ll give you a refund in the first 90 days after your purchase.

ProstaGenix

Buy ProstaGenix from Amazon:

ProstaGenix costs $44.08 for one bottle (90 capsules) and $99.98 for three bottles. Shipping is free. You take three pills a day, so one bottle will last you 30 days. It is rated 4.0-stars based on over 650 reviews.

$44.08 (1 bottle)

$99.98 (3 bottles)

The Bottom Line: Is Prostagenix Worth It?

Studies that employ the randomized placebo-controlled double-blind research techniques say there is some merit to ProstaGenix’s claims. Namely, that it could help reduce your urgency to urinate as well as your frequency.

These effects are likely related to the large dose of beta-sitosterol, though vitamin D and quercetin may have supporting roles.

At the same time, there is one video on the site that indicates the supplement can reduce the size of your prostate. We found no research to back this up.

The downside to the supplement is that it, like any supplement, is not guaranteed to work. We saw enough negative reviews on Amazon to know that the claims ProstaGenix makes aren’t promises.

Second, the supplement’s price is expensive compared to other products like it. ProstaGenix says their sterols are of the highest quality, sourced from trees on the French coast.

While they could make a case their ingredients are better so their prices are higher, we found no scientific evidence that indicates sterols of certain origins are more effective.

And, finally, ProstaGenix doesn’t claim to eliminate your BPH symptoms. Rather, it says it can improve them, which is backed up by only limited research.

You could consider popular prescription drugs designed to open your bladder neck to make urination easier: Flomax and its generic counterpart tamsulosin. These drugs are FDA-approved, meaning they have reliable studies to back up their efficacy.

Furthermore, Medicare Part D and Medicare Advantage members could pay between $0 and $18 for a monthly supply of tamsulosin. This is far more affordable than what ProstaGenix charges.

However, Flomax and tamsulosin carry with them the possible side effects of ejaculation issues and diminished sex drive.

For those with BPH wishing to avoid medical or surgical management, or at higher risk with these options, sterol-containing dietary supplements may offer a reasonable option.

Nonetheless, your urinary symptoms should be discussed with a physician to identify the underlying cause before you start taking any supplements. You can then work together to determine the best course of management.


Customer Reviews

Start your review of ProstaGenix:
  • 82 Customer Reviews
  • 73% Recommend This Company
3.9 out of 5
5 star: 71% 4 star: 0% 3 star: 1% 2 star: 2% 1 star: 24%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Fantastic product

    • By Greg F.,
    • Santa Monica, CA,
    • Sep 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    ProstaGenix has proven to be a dream come true for me. Prior to using these pills, I suffered from frequent and urgent need to go to the bathroom. Within a few weeks of taking ProstaGenix pills, this urgent and frequent use was halted and now I am able to sit through long meetings and sleep all night without having to seek urinary relief. Thanks to an article by Larry King I stumbled upon and to ProstaGenix, my life has returned to normal.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Product actually works

    • By Wayne R.,
    • Reno, NV,
    • Sep 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I was a skeptic at first of ProstaGenix, but after taking it, I'm 100% convinced. It is an amazing product. I was having to get up around five times per night to use the bathroom, and now I only have to get up one time MAX. It honestly has changed a large part of my life, and I'm able to sleep better now.

    Now that I can sleep better, I can wake up better and healthier, and give me family the best side of me.

    Truly a fantastic experience.

    Also, I spoke with a customer service representative named Tamara who handled all of my worries and concerns, and I'm glad that she did. Thanks again!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • ProstaGenix is a miracle in a bottle, it really works

    • By Ann D.,
    • New York, NY,
    • Jan 23, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I woul like to begin my testimonial by giving thanks to God for my wife who accompanied me to visit a prostate specialist and held my hand throughout my painful experience with my prostate problem. I explained to the doctor that I had endless night routines with a full bladder repeating trips to the restroom with no sign of relief and very little to no rest. So he suggested that I wear a catheter bag and prescribed medication for me to control the condition and said that I can go to work the next day. Let me tell you that I knew that after one week, I decided to go back to the doctor and have them to remove the bag because the pain was so excruciating. I was bleeding really bad. Then one day my wife decided to find an alternative method to help relieve my stress and happened to watch an infomercial with Larry King promoting ProstaGenix and giving his testimonial on how it helped give him back his stamina and longevity. He mentions how you have to incorporate a routine diet and exercise regimen.

    I was skeptical at first but he assured me that it is extremely potent and proven by an independent laboratory testing facilities, so my wife convinced me to try the ProstaGenix Testrodrene and 100% Pure Pumpkin Seed Oil supplements and she ordered me a 6-month supply, and when she did... let's just say I never felt better then I do now.

    I was embarrassed to learn that my testosterone level was very low, but soon after a week I noticed a big change, I was making less visit to the restroom and was able to empty my bladder all at once without having to strain. Another thing was that I was able to sleep throughout the night. Next, my energy level was through the roof, "can you say Amen." Later I received another email from Larry King introducing the new product Testrodrene and 100% Pure Pumpkin Seed Oil supplements, so I ordered a 3-month supply and tried the supplement and let me tell you that I have my sex drive back, more energy and stamina than ever before.

    "If you ask me I will tell you that ProstaGenix and Testrodrene and 100% Pure Pumpkin Seed Oil supplements is the proven choice. I guarantee it and stand by the products.”

    Thank you.

    Lancine Diakite

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Amazing ProstaGenix

    • By Patrick D.,
    • Duncanville, TX,
    • Jan 24, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Many years I have dealt with prostate problems. Some pretty severe, which propelled me to try and find a good solution. I take Finasteride prescription and it does some good, but not good enough. When I heard Larry King talk about ProstaGenix, I decided to try it. Well, the results were great! I take it three times a day, and it helps me tremendously. I'm not hesitant to leave the house now as it helps me empty my bladder much better. I highly recommend that others give it a try. I know you'll be pleased with the results you get.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Recommend using ProstaGenix!

    • By Gregg M.,
    • Fairbanks, AK,
    • Jan 24, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I posted the following review over a year ago. It is still valid. It still works to relieve my pressure to urinate. I am able to get a full night's sleep without having to get up to go to the bathroom. When I do wake up, I can take my time getting to the bathroom without the urgent need I used to have:

    Early last year I started having problems with urination. I was fairly sure it was due to my prostate because a few years ago I was diagnosed with early stage prostate cancer and my urologist was checking it every six months. I informed him of my difficulty and he gave me medication to relax my lower bladder valve. This had a side effect I was not happy with so I discontinued it and informed my doctor. He didn’t seem to have another option. I then heard of saw palmetto and gave it a try. After two months with no relief, I stopped using it. I went to the internet and found Larry King’s video on ProstaGenix and thought what the heck I’ll give it a try. I bought a bottle of ProstaGenix to try it myself for a month. In a couple of weeks, I noticed that the urgent need to urinate frequently had improved.

    In the third week, I noticed that the difficulty of urination had eased. Everything was not perfect, but much improved. Because of the reduced need to urinate frequently and the less "back pressure" on my system, I have now purchased a five-month supply of ProstaGenix and am confident that I have made the right choice. I fully expect that continued use will improve my problems and has already eased my mental stress of always looking for a bathroom.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • No more getting up at night

    • By Chuck J.,
    • Hamden, CT,
    • Jan 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    ProstaGenix rocks! I used to get up to urinate every hour. Now? Just once at most. My urine flow is good too. I have never had aproduct work like this - way beyond my expectations.

    Go for it guys. You'll be glad you did. By the way, this is an honest appraisal.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • ProstaGenix works as advertised

    • By James M.,
    • Ontario, Canada ,
    • Jan 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Having had prostate problems for several years now and not wanting the side effects of prescription medications, I tried ProstaGenix. It took about three weeks to notice improvement and after six weeks results were significant!

    My nightly trips to the bathroom were cut in half and daytime frequency also much reduced.

    The discomfort I was experiencing in the prostate area has disappeared, I can sit in any chair now without pain. One of the best benefits for me is that sex is no longer painful.

    I haven't encountered any unwanted side effects, and I am delighted with this product.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • My prostate problem has been cured by ProstaGenix

    • By Cicero G.,
    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Jan 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    It was started in 2006 when I experienced discomfort in urinating. As the years went by, until early of 2009 when I had my first checkup as per doctor recommendation (PSA) and I was diagnosed with prostate enlargement, whereby I was asked by my doctor in the Philippines, which of the two medicines I preferred (i.e., the one is just to give my prostate flexible in order to control my urges to urinate but doesn’t decrease the size and will not affect my sexual activity or the other one that will decrease the size of prostate but it will affect my sexual dysfunction). As the years were progressing, my situation was getting vulnerable due to my prostate getting chronic that surpassed the maximum, in spite of multiple medications and recommendations I had taken from different people and doctors as I was also having my voyage to China, multiple medicines were prescribed by a Chinese doctor, but no avail. I had tried the ozone therapy in the Philippines and it relieved me, but I cannot sustain the expenses.

    I came here to the US in June 2017 with many worries due to my prostate problem that I cannot sleep well, to wake up frequently, which drives discomfort to myself. One day in October 2017 I found the program of Larry King dealing with ProstaGenix. I tried according to the recommendation, in spite that I was still taking the synthetic medicine prescribed by my doctor, I observed that with the presence of ProstaGenix after few days I feel comfortable feelings and the previous last PSA of 2.8 went down to 2.6. in this September 2018.

    When I consulted my doctor, I showed to him the bottle of ProstaGenix, informing him that I am no longer taking his synthetic medication, only the ProstaGenix. Further check-up by my Urologist, he did not find any problem with my prostate according to all questions I answered accordingly, and he advised me to keep in touch in August, which means that the long period of time to report to him it is guaranteed that I am in good health, without problems with my prostate, consistent with what I feel, which is that I am cured. And thanks to Larry King and ProstaGenix.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Fantastic results

    • By Robert D.,
    • Blandon, PA,
    • Feb 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have been battling prostatitis for many years. In fact, I've had this painful affliction five times and it really incapacitated me for months per bout. I've tried everything under the moon until I tried ProstaGenix and my prostate is back to normal size again, and I feel great using it. You got a life member in me and I will recommend your product highly to anyone afflicted with an enlarged prostate!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • ProstaGenix excellent product.

    • By Frank B.,
    • Warren, OH,
    • Feb 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have been taking three ProstaGenix capsules for about three weeks now and I have improved urinary flow with reduced urgency. Also, my sleep patterns have improved. I would definitely recommend using this product if you have any prostate problems like myself. I have been taking all three of the capsules in the morning at the same time with a cup of tea. I have not been experiencing any digestion problems so far at this time. I do suffer with mild Acid Reflux and IBS, but I have not experienced any increase with these problems while I have been using this product.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • ProstaGenix worked for me

    • By A Thomas T.,
    • Elizabeth, NJ,
    • Feb 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    After several years of trying different supplements to improve my prostate, ProstaGenix after three months has given me a noticeable improvement. So I have just reordered. Usually, I have to send the supplements back because they don’t work.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-11 of 82

Write a Review for ProstaGenix!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
ProstaGenix Review: Benefits, Ingredients, Side Effects and More