About Quip Toothbrush

Quip Toothbrush is an online subscription service that promises to help you simplify your oral health. How?

First, Quip’s attractively designed electric toothbrushes include only the features you need and exclude those you don’t. You’ll have just one mode (a 2-minute timer with 30 second intervals), gentle vibrations with no harsh rotations, a slim design that’s travel-ready, and replaceable heads with soft, round tip bristles.

Second, Quip’s subscription plans (more about this soon) come with anti-cavity fluoride toothpaste that includes “only the ingredients your teeth need.” And since you’ll only need a pea-sized portion, the company claims one tube can last you up to 3 months.

Finally, Quip claims they’ve partnered with dentists to provide proper oral care advice, which can help improve your routine, technique, upkeep, and more.

Although Quip Toothbrushes are the result of “years of research and design,” does this mean they’re worth the price? Should you opt for a single purchase, or for monthly refills? What are customers saying? In this Quip Toothbrush review, we’ll take an in-depth look at what you might expect, so you can make a more informed decision.

What Features Does a Quip Toothbrush Provide?

The “Why” Behind Quip

According to their website, Quip is out to simplify the process of caring for your teeth. Instead of focusing their research and development on bristle angles or other features that might provide 0.25% better performance, Quip claims they wanted to address the core factors that lead to teeth problems; namely:

  • Brushing too hard
  • Not brushing long enough
  • Not brushing twice a day
  • Not replacing your brush often enough

As a result, they “set about creating a more honest, accessible and simple oral care line that would cut out the excess to help focus on the basics that really matter.”

Quip Toothbrush Features

Powered by a single AAA battery that will last up to 3 months, Quip’s motor features the same vibration frequency (15,000 RPM) that you’ll find with most standard vibrating toothbrushes. Quip also uses a single pulse every 30 seconds to remind you to change quadrants (upper left, bottom left, upper right, bottom right), although this isn’t necessarily unique among electric toothbrushes. It also features a 2-minute timer to remind you to stop brushing, so you don’t damage your teeth or gums.

The base/handle of each Quip Toothbrush is available in either durable matte-finished ABS plastic or precision CNC'd aluminum. Quip’s soft brush head (there are no medium or firm options, which the company claims can damage your teeth and gums) attaches to each base and features 1,200 DuPont nylon bristles inserted into 34 tufts.

All Quip Toothbrushes also come with a travel cover that mounts to any glossy surface via a reusable suction strip, which also doubles as a storage container.

What’s the price for all these features?

How Much Do Quip Toothbrushes Cost?

Quip Toothbrushes are available in 6 colors: Silver Metal, Slate Metal, Copper Metal, Gold Metal, Green Plastic, and Blue Plastic. Each purchase includes the option to sign up for automatic brush and toothpaste refills, or just the toothbrush itself at a slightly higher price.

Starter Sets

Includes Quip Toothbrush, 1 replacement head, regular and travel size toothpaste:

  • Plastic Handle: $25 ($40 without refills)
  • Metal Handle: $40 ($55 without refills)

Brush and toothpaste refills cost $10 refill and are shipped once every 3 months. Alternately, you can pay for a year in advance, with free refills for a year: $65.

Brush Sets

Includes Quip Toothbrush only (no toothpaste):

  • Plastic Handle: $30 ($35 without refills)
  • Metal Handle: $45 ($50 without refills)

Brush refills are sent every 3 months and priced at $5. Prepaying for refills a year in advance will cost you $55.

Group Sets

Electric Couple Set – Includes 2 quip electric brushes, 2 refill heads, and small and large toothpastes: $75 ($100 without refills)

Electric Family Set – Includes 4 quip electric brushes, 4 refill heads, and small and large toothpastes: $150 ($200 without refills)

Additional Items

  • Toothbrush Head: $5 (same price, with or without refills)
  • Toothpaste 4.7oz: $5 (same price, with or without refills)
  • Travel Cover Mount: $5
  • White Plastic Manual Toothbrush: $10 ($5 refills every 3 months)

Keep in mind that refill plans are optional, ship free, and can be canceled at any time, although they cannot be paused. Without a refill plan, shipping will cost you $5.

The company provides a lifetime guarantee on all Quip Toothbrushes that are associated with an active refill plan, along with a 30-day refund policy.

Pro tip: According to Quip’s website: “We charge shipping ($5 for a single brush plan, $10 for a couple plan and $15 for a family plan) to cover the return shipping cost and deduct it from your credit card refund unless you ship using your own means.”

In order to request a refund, customer service can be reached at help@getquip.com or via online chat.

Although Quip isn’t the lowest priced electric toothbrush on the market, it’s certainly near the bottom. Outside of price though, what are customers saying about its performance?

Quip Toothbrush Reviews

Quip had been on the market for well over a year at the time of our research, and featured on many high-profile websites, including TechCrunch, Engadget, Popular Mechanics, and more. In most of these instances, they were high-level overviews or only provided insight into the company’s business model.

However, the author of this Fast Company article (and her husband) had a chance to try out a Quip Toothbrush and found: “As a user of one of the fancier models of the Sonicare electric toothbrushes, the Quip brush didn't feel as powerful or as satisfying to me. However, my husband, who uses a manual toothbrush, found the brush to be a step up from his everyday routine.”

Stephen Pulvirent over at Bloomberg had an opportunity to use a Quip Toothbrush for a while, and claimed that it looked great and that he “genuinely enjoyed” using it. He didn’t love the taste of the toothpaste though, and noted that the plastic model “felt hollow and a little too lightweight.”

In the end, the author felt that Quip’s toothbrush is “practical, reasonably priced, and still gives you that much-needed dose of mild, self-satisfied futurism.”

Finally, Dave Lee provides us with a quick but informative video review of his experience with Quip’s subscription service. He noted that he didn’t like Quip’s first generation toothbrushes, but that these second gen versions seemed to be a big upgrade.

Overall, he felt that the metal handle was nicely weighted, the head felt secure when attached, it has a stronger head vibration, and that they did a “really good job” on the aesthetics. In the end, he claimed to have had a “really solid brushing experience.”

Who Founded Quip?

Quip was founded by industrial designer Simon Enever and product designer Bill May, who wanted to help people take better care of their teeth by simplifying the process. Simon came from NY-based design agency ECCO, whereas Bill previously worked for Lifetime Brands.

Prior to launching as Quip, it appears the company initially attempted to raise funding through an Indiegogo crowdfunding campaign under the brand name byDefault, which didn’t meet its goal of $60K.

Is Quip a Serious Electric Toothbrush Contender?

When it comes down to it, Quip is upfront and honest about the results you might expect: “The truth is, a correctly used, soft bristle $5 manual toothbrush is just as effective as a $25 quip electric toothbrush which is just as effective as a $250 electric one! The issue is, us humans aren't the best at using them!”

And this is where the company seems to shine. Based on what we learned during our research and from customer reviews, they seem to offer a quality product at a reasonable price, along with a convenient refill program that can be easily canceled at any time. They also come with mostly positive online customer feedback.

To top everything off, Quip’ toothbrushes come with a 30-day refund policy, so you’ll only be out of few dollars in S&H for giving them a try.

Tell us about your Quip experience by writing a review below!

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

118 Consumer Reviews for Quip Toothbrush

Average Consumer Rating: 2.9
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 46 4 star: 7 3 star: 4 2 star: 15 1 star:  46
Bottom Line: 46% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 118
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Expensive for what you get

    • Fayetteville, NY,
    • May 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I like the sleek design of the brush, but after using it for a couple of months, I think my manual toothbrush does just as good a job, if not better. You're paying a lot of money for a manual toothbrush that vibrates to tell you when to move to another part of your mouth. I wish I would have saved my money!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • May 12, 2018

      Laura, Community Manager

      We are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your Quip!

      The truth is, as the American Dental Association and Consumer Reports say that any electric toothbrush will clean your teeth, exactly the same way if you're brushing your teeth properly. That's why we created Quip, to help guide habits in that matter. Quip has earned the American Dental Association Seal of Acceptance for safety and efficacy in removing plaque and gingivitis, so there will be no difference in the way that Quip brushes your teeth vs another manual or electric toothbrush if you're brushing properly. We also use dentist-recommended, industry standard soft nylon bristles and the same sensitive vibrations as many other electric toothbrushes to provide a thorough, yet non-damaging clean that's still gentle on the gums. With the addition of a 2-minute timer and 30-second pulses, with brush heads delivered on a recommended basis, Quip is guiding the good habits that really matter.

      That being said, we cannot speak to personal preference. The best brush for you should be one that encourages 2-full minutes of brushing twice every day whether that be a manual or a different electric toothbrush.

      We thank you for giving Quip a try!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Worked great until it was time for a refill

    • Pennsylvania,
    • May 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    When I first purchased Quip, I LOVED the toothbrush. Flash forward four months, and I am not impressed.

    - Before my first refill came, my battery died.

    - My refill came two weeks later than my boyfriends, and we live in the same house AND ordered them at the same time/same order

    - Ever since the refill brush, anytime I brush my teeth the entire head/refill falls off. I have since resorted to using my manual toothbrush.

    My boyfriend is having the same problem with his refill falling off, and is also using a manual toothbrush. He has also already had his battery die twice (we started using these at Christmas).

    Although the idea of this toothbrush is pretty cool, it's a piece of junk, and a very expensive piece of junk at that.

    I am highly disappointed that I spent so much money on two toothbrushes that we can't even use at this point and we have only used them for four months.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • May 12, 2018

      Laura, Community Manager

      Hi Larissa,

      We are so sorry to hear you had some trouble with your Quip and refill delivery! We can see you had emailed our team who have responded with some troubleshooting to assist you with getting your Quip up and working again. Your Quip is completely covered for life of your refill plan or for the first year of having your Quip without a plan.

      In regards to your shipment, w, unfortunately,y cannot control the end delivery date as this is reliant on USPS and do apologize if there was a delay with one of your refill orders — which our records show were completed 2 business days apart.

      If you have any additional questions or wish to give your Quips another try, please email our team at help@getquip.com and our team would be happy to help out.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Nice design...if it worked.

    • New York City, NY,
    • Apr 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was very pleased with this toothbrush when it first arrived. I like the design, and it worked well, for a couple of days. (I will add that the first thing I did was remove the annoying "sticky strip" on the case, it's really annoying if you don't intend to stick your toothbrush to the wall.)

    SO, the brush stopped working after about three days. The motor shuts off after about 3-5 seconds. Incredibly annoying. I contacted Quip customer service, and share the opinion of so many other reviewers, that they are TERRIBLE. I was told I had to register my brush online before they could help me. After doing so, they simply sent me an email with instructions for checking the motor and doing some self-repair and replacing the battery. Not sure why they couldn't send it before I registered?

    None of their suggested fixes worked. All I want is a toothbrush that works. I just contacted Bespoke Post (where I bought the brush) to see if they'll take it back, as I was sorely disappointed with Quip's customer service team. I'm also not down with "subscription plans" and Quip holding onto my credit card information indefinitely. Also, I'd replace my brush head probably every six weeks instead of every three months, but that's just me. I don't know if they'll sell you brush heads up front, as I never got that far before Quip became an annoyance instead of a pleasure.

    Too bad, it really does look nice!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • May 3, 2018

      Laura, Community Manager

      Hi Matt,

      We are so sorry to hear you had some trouble with your Quip! We can see you had ordered your Quip through Bespoke, and in order for our team to help with creating a replacement order (to validate a warranty), an account will need to be created on our website directly.

      Our help team sends troubleshooting to help with getting your Quip up and running again as quickly as possible. In the case that the steps do not help, we will be able to confirm which part of your Quip will need a replacement. Our warranty covers you for the life of your active refill plan as well as your first year of purchasing Quip if not subscribed.

      Our refill plans are completely optional and have the option to order single items in the "supplies" section of our store page. Just make sure to click on the 'single' button to avoid any plans added to your account.

      We sincerely apologize for any misunderstanding or inconvenience caused, our team is always happy to help with any additional questions at help@getquip.com.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Great toothbrush!

    • Nyack, NY,
    • Apr 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Ignore all the whiners; this is a great toothbrush. I'm a 60-something man with diabetes. I've had my fair share of dental issues due to diabetes, so I have always been very diligent in my dental hygiene routine. My dentist and periodontist both agree this toothbrush is excellent. All those complaints about how it's not powerful enough are exactly the point. You don't need supersonic power to brush your teeth. All that excess grinding just wears away the enamel, which does not regenerate.

    Think scouring powder on a bathtub. What you need is a soft brush applied with minimal pressure, assuming you are also practicing good flossing and mouthwash habits. So if you want to spend a hundred bucks or more to grind away your teeth, be my guest. If you want a very good brush for a great price, then try a Quip.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Haven't received my Quip. Customer service unresponsive.

    I ordered the Quip about a week ago and was told through tracking that it was on its way, but DHL has not updated it since last week. USPS has not received it either, and I tried to contact Quip for some help, but have not received any response. Not sure what's going on. The reviews I read regarding similar experiences does not instill confidence in me. DHL usually ships items very quickly, and I'm in Philadelphia which shouldn't take that ship from New York. So far I'm not liking this.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 22, 2018

      Laura, Community Manager

      Hi Nelsun,

      We're sorry to hear you had some trouble with shipping! Free standard shipping within the US is an estimate of 3-7 business days. We, unfortunately, cannot control the end delivery time, as this is just an estimate and the delivery will be in the hands of USPS. We reply to all emails within 24 hours during the weekdays, and we believe that we have found your email, which was received over a weekend. We apologize if there was a wait with receiving a reply from our team during business hours.

      It appears that your package has been delivered and we will be sure to share your feedback regarding shipping times with our team. If you have any additional questions or concerns, please email help@getquip.com.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Quip is a gyp

    I HATE this toothbrush.

    I personally use an electric toothbrush, and I have good checkups. I floss and enjoy a clean mouth. The Quip was interesting because it seems so small and easy to travel with.

    This is the most expensive cheap toothbrush you will ever buy.

    It's the same as a little $1 travel toothbrush that quivers a little bit. If you're used to or are looking for a good quality electric toothbrush, don't buy this. The packaging and marketing is made to look all sleek and techie, but it's a cheap toothbrush, end of story.

    I was super disappointed and am currently trying to get my money back.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 22, 2018

      Laura, Community Manager

      Hi Jessica,

      Quip is made alongside some of the top leading brands in the industry and has earned the American Dental Association Seal of Acceptance for safety, and efficacy in removing plaque and gingivitis. We also use dentist-recommended, industry standard soft nylon bristles and the same sensitive vibrations as many other electric toothbrushes to provide a thorough, yet non-damaging clean that's still gentle on the gums. With the addition of a 2-minute timer and 30-second pulses, Quip is guiding the good habits that really matter. The truth is, as the American Dental Association and Consumer Reports say, any electric toothbrush will clean your teeth just the same if you're brushing your teeth properly. That's why we created Quip, to help guide the habits that matter.

      That being said, we cannot speak to personal preference. The best brush for you should be one that encourages 2-full minutes of brushing twice every day.

      We thank you for giving Quip a try!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Quip

    I like the auto refill option. I hate to brush, and the quip model keeps me brushing. I have the metal, and I like it. I want the timer; don't want to have to time myself. I'm anxious to go to the dentist to see if my oral care is different.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Horrible customer service/delivery

    • New York City, NY,
    • Apr 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I live abroad and ordered a brush two weeks before a planned trip home so I could pick it up when I arrived. When I got back to the US, there was no toothbrush, even though it was already well beyond the stated delivery timeline. I contacted the company and asked them to expedite a replacement for me, but they said there wasn't enough time to do so and that the delivery problem "should resolve itself" in a few days. I don't have a few days, as I'm leaving the country again for a few months. I have neither a toothbrush nor a refund at this point. This company's delivery process is misleading and inaccurate, and their customer service is non-existent.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 15, 2018

      Laura, Community Manager

      Hi Andrea,

      We are sorry to hear that you had some trouble with your order delivery.

      Unfortunately, we cannot control the end delivery time and as this is in the hands of USPS. At the time you had emailed in, we could not guarantee that your package would arrive in time before you left, even with an expedited reshipment as our help team had explained.

      Looking into your case further, we can see that the shipping zip code entered at checkout was not matching your street address, which can also cause an issue with delivery. We are always here to help with updating any shipping details before an order is shipped, to assure that your package arrives within the 3-7 business days, which is outlined for free standard shipping.

      We sincerely apologize for any trouble this may have caused. We are here to help with any additional questions at help@getquip.com.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Looked and sounded good, so then I got it

    • Chicago, IL,
    • Apr 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    While the toothbrush itself is sleek and stylish, the capsule it is in adds bulk to the brush, maybe a simple cover over the head would be better? Sorry but I’m a minimalist and am always looking for ways to travel lighter. Then I brushed my teeth and honestly the vibrations, in my opinion, do nothing more than create noise. I don’t need a 30-second pulse to remind me to move to another part of my mouth. A very disappointing product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 15, 2018

      Laura, Community Manager

      Hi Raymond,

      We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your Quip!

      Unfortunately, there are many misconceptions about oral care that Quip is trying to correct. One of the worst is “the more power, the better the clean.” As the ADA and Consumer Reports say, there is no proven difference in how well a manual, gently vibrating, vigorously vibrating, or rotating toothbrush will clean your teeth, as long as its used correctly and has soft bristles.

      Quip has earned the American Dental Association Seal of Approval for safety and efficacy in removing plaque and gingivitis. We also use dentist-recommended, industry standard soft nylon bristles, and the same sensitive vibrations as many other electric toothbrushes, to provide a thorough clean that's still gentle on the gums. With the addition of a 2-minute timer and 30-second pulses, Quip is guiding good habits that really matter.

      That said, we cannot speak to personal preference. The best brush for you should be one that encourages 2 full minutes of brushing twice a day.

      We thank you for giving Quip a try!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Solid toothbrush

    • New York,
    • Apr 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The toothbrush works as well as any other - I just put the toothpaste on and presto! The new motor came just as the old one was dying. The customer service is helpful and quick to respond. Go Daria!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Great toothbrush

    • Brooklyn, NY,
    • Apr 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    A great, simple toothbrush. It vibrates for two minutes, ensuring you've brushed for enough time. I don't know if the vibration actually does anything, but I do feel like I'm getting a better clean because the effort of my own brushing is enhanced. It's also sort of meditative to only focus on the gentle hum of the toothbrush for two minutes.

    I love the design. It is sleek and attractive and doesn't take up extra space in my bathroom (other electric toothbrushes are not only ugly but also come with cumbersome charging stations...why). It's also great for travel.

    Another wonderful thing about Quip is their customer service. I had some questions about my order and the people who answer the emails are nice, attentive, and intelligent.

    Quip offers a simple product, but they've put a remarkable amount of thought into the toothbrush design and customer experience that I haven't seen anywhere else.

    Bottom line: Quip cares! Great toothbrush! Good price!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 118

Write a Review for Quip Toothbrush!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review