About Quip Toothbrush

Quip Toothbrush is an online subscription service that promises to help you simplify your oral health. How?

First, Quip’s attractively designed electric toothbrushes include only the features you need and exclude those you don’t. You’ll have just one mode (a 2-minute timer with 30 second intervals), gentle vibrations with no harsh rotations, a slim design that’s travel-ready, and replaceable heads with soft, round tip bristles.

Second, Quip’s subscription plans (more about this soon) come with anti-cavity fluoride toothpaste that includes “only the ingredients your teeth need.” And since you’ll only need a pea-sized portion, the company claims one tube can last you up to 3 months.

Finally, Quip claims they’ve partnered with dentists to provide proper oral care advice, which can help improve your routine, technique, upkeep, and more.

Although Quip Toothbrushes are the result of “years of research and design,” does this mean they’re worth the price? Should you opt for a single purchase, or for monthly refills? What are customers saying? In this Quip Toothbrush review, we’ll take an in-depth look at what you might expect, so you can make a more informed decision.

What Features Does a Quip Toothbrush Provide?

The “Why” Behind Quip

According to their website, Quip is out to simplify the process of caring for your teeth. Instead of focusing their research and development on bristle angles or other features that might provide 0.25% better performance, Quip claims they wanted to address the core factors that lead to teeth problems; namely:

  • Brushing too hard
  • Not brushing long enough
  • Not brushing twice a day
  • Not replacing your brush often enough

As a result, they “set about creating a more honest, accessible and simple oral care line that would cut out the excess to help focus on the basics that really matter.”

Quip Toothbrush Features

Powered by a single AAA battery that will last up to 3 months, Quip’s motor features the same vibration frequency (15,000 RPM) that you’ll find with most standard vibrating toothbrushes. Quip also uses a single pulse every 30 seconds to remind you to change quadrants (upper left, bottom left, upper right, bottom right), although this isn’t necessarily unique among electric toothbrushes. It also features a 2-minute timer to remind you to stop brushing, so you don’t damage your teeth or gums.

The base/handle of each Quip Toothbrush is available in either durable matte-finished ABS plastic or precision CNC'd aluminum. Quip’s soft brush head (there are no medium or firm options, which the company claims can damage your teeth and gums) attaches to each base and features 1,200 DuPont nylon bristles inserted into 34 tufts.

All Quip Toothbrushes also come with a travel cover that mounts to any glossy surface via a reusable suction strip, which also doubles as a storage container.

What’s the price for all these features?

How Much Do Quip Toothbrushes Cost?

Quip Toothbrushes are available in 6 colors: Silver Metal, Slate Metal, Copper Metal, Gold Metal, Green Plastic, and Blue Plastic. Each purchase includes the option to sign up for automatic brush and toothpaste refills, or just the toothbrush itself at a slightly higher price.

Starter Sets

Includes Quip Toothbrush, 1 replacement head, regular and travel size toothpaste:

  • Plastic Handle: $25 ($40 without refills)
  • Metal Handle: $40 ($55 without refills)

Brush and toothpaste refills cost $10 refill and are shipped once every 3 months. Alternately, you can pay for a year in advance, with free refills for a year: $65.

Brush Sets

Includes Quip Toothbrush only (no toothpaste):

  • Plastic Handle: $30 ($35 without refills)
  • Metal Handle: $45 ($50 without refills)

Brush refills are sent every 3 months and priced at $5. Prepaying for refills a year in advance will cost you $55.

Group Sets

Electric Couple Set – Includes 2 quip electric brushes, 2 refill heads, and small and large toothpastes: $75 ($100 without refills)

Electric Family Set – Includes 4 quip electric brushes, 4 refill heads, and small and large toothpastes: $150 ($200 without refills)

Additional Items

  • Toothbrush Head: $5 (same price, with or without refills)
  • Toothpaste 4.7oz: $5 (same price, with or without refills)
  • Travel Cover Mount: $5
  • White Plastic Manual Toothbrush: $10 ($5 refills every 3 months)

Keep in mind that refill plans are optional, ship free, and can be canceled at any time, although they cannot be paused. Without a refill plan, shipping will cost you $5.

The company provides a lifetime guarantee on all Quip Toothbrushes that are associated with an active refill plan, along with a 30-day refund policy.

Pro tip: According to Quip’s website: “We charge shipping ($5 for a single brush plan, $10 for a couple plan and $15 for a family plan) to cover the return shipping cost and deduct it from your credit card refund unless you ship using your own means.”

In order to request a refund, customer service can be reached at help@getquip.com or via online chat.

Although Quip isn’t the lowest priced electric toothbrush on the market, it’s certainly near the bottom. Outside of price though, what are customers saying about its performance?

Quip Toothbrush Reviews

Quip had been on the market for well over a year at the time of our research, and featured on many high-profile websites, including TechCrunch, Engadget, Popular Mechanics, and more. In most of these instances, they were high-level overviews or only provided insight into the company’s business model.

However, the author of this Fast Company article (and her husband) had a chance to try out a Quip Toothbrush and found: “As a user of one of the fancier models of the Sonicare electric toothbrushes, the Quip brush didn't feel as powerful or as satisfying to me. However, my husband, who uses a manual toothbrush, found the brush to be a step up from his everyday routine.”

Stephen Pulvirent over at Bloomberg had an opportunity to use a Quip Toothbrush for a while, and claimed that it looked great and that he “genuinely enjoyed” using it. He didn’t love the taste of the toothpaste though, and noted that the plastic model “felt hollow and a little too lightweight.”

In the end, the author felt that Quip’s toothbrush is “practical, reasonably priced, and still gives you that much-needed dose of mild, self-satisfied futurism.”

Finally, Dave Lee provides us with a quick but informative video review of his experience with Quip’s subscription service. He noted that he didn’t like Quip’s first generation toothbrushes, but that these second gen versions seemed to be a big upgrade.

Overall, he felt that the metal handle was nicely weighted, the head felt secure when attached, it has a stronger head vibration, and that they did a “really good job” on the aesthetics. In the end, he claimed to have had a “really solid brushing experience.”

Who Founded Quip?

Quip was founded by industrial designer Simon Enever and product designer Bill May, who wanted to help people take better care of their teeth by simplifying the process. Simon came from NY-based design agency ECCO, whereas Bill previously worked for Lifetime Brands.

Prior to launching as Quip, it appears the company initially attempted to raise funding through an Indiegogo crowdfunding campaign under the brand name byDefault, which didn’t meet its goal of $60K.

Is Quip a Serious Electric Toothbrush Contender?

When it comes down to it, Quip is upfront and honest about the results you might expect: “The truth is, a correctly used, soft bristle $5 manual toothbrush is just as effective as a $25 quip electric toothbrush which is just as effective as a $250 electric one! The issue is, us humans aren't the best at using them!”

And this is where the company seems to shine. Based on what we learned during our research and from customer reviews, they seem to offer a quality product at a reasonable price, along with a convenient refill program that can be easily canceled at any time. They also come with mostly positive online customer feedback.

To top everything off, Quip’ toothbrushes come with a 30-day refund policy, so you’ll only be out of few dollars in S&H for giving them a try.

Tell us about your Quip experience by writing a review below!

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

89 Consumer Reviews for Quip Toothbrush

Average Consumer Rating: 3.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 36 4 star: 6 3 star: 3 2 star: 10 1 star:  34
Bottom Line: 48% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 89
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful
    Updated review

    Good customer service

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Jan 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My package was dropped off in the mailbox, but it was lost. I emailed them and they reshipped my order. Ophelia was helping me with patience.

    I really like the brush and their service.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 16, 2018

      Laura, Community Manager

      We can see our team has helped you with any misunderstanding you have was received. Our team has confirmed by the photos that you have received the newest version of Quip along with the newest travel mount. We only sell the most recent product we have and never sell older versions of Quip.

      We are sorry for any confusion and please email our team at help@getquip.com if you have any additional questions. We hope you are able to update your review now that things have been cleared up, and it was confirmed you have what you ordered.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)

    • Previous review
    • Jan 14, 2018

    Bad customer service

    I ordered one toothbrush and one extra head, but the package was lost on the way. They promised me to resend it.

    When I get the toothbrush, it was the toothbrush with old mechanism and old holder. They lied to me. It was not what I paid for.

    (read moreread less...)

  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Don’t fall for the aesthetics of a toothbrush

    I have gum issues so my dentist told me I should get a Sonicare or vibrating toothbrush to help massage and stimulate my gums. All of the ones she recommended came large, bulky, and were unattractive units that would take up half my bathroom counter space.

    Thanks to social media algorithms spying on my shopping, an advertisement for Quip promptly popped up on Instagram. I was immediately drawn to the aesthetics and compactness of this design. As many other reviewers have already stated, these are the only positive things about this toothbrush. What a complete WASTE of money and plastic. The toothbrush doesn’t even vibrate, it simply makes a vibrating noise. I think I even do a poorer job of brushing because of the way the toothbrush is designed.

    Not much else to say except for it’s such a total waste that I felt compelled to warn others.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 16, 2018

      Laura, Community Manager

      Hi Jaclyn!

      As your dentist will tell you, the effectiveness of any toothbrush comes down to how it is used, not the features it has. Dentists recommend electric toothbrushes because they help people brush better (softer, longer, with better technique) not because their movements magically negate the need for good brushing (as the ads want you to believe).

      Quip uses the same nylon bristles, motor, sensitive sonic mode of vibration, and even manufactured with other popular leading brands in the industry. There will be no difference in the way your Quip itself brushes your teeth. The core thing that affects your oral health is how you use a toothbrush, diet, and genetics.

      Unfortunately, there are many dangerous misconceptions in oral care that we are trying to correct, such as the idea that whether a toothbrush is manual, gently vibrating, vigorously vibrating or rotating toothbrush is what effects your oral health. If they are all being used correctly (and have soft bristles), they will all "clean" perfectly, we just designed quip to help the entire brushing routine and technique for a better clean.

      We cannot speak to personal preference. The best brush for you is most often the one you enjoy most, we are sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your Quip.

      Thanks for giving Quip a try!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Amazing toothbrush!

    I absolutely love my Quip. It takes all the guesswork out of trying to remember if I had brushed long enough and when I should buy a new brush head. It’s not only sleek and beautiful, but it makes brushing easy peasy. How great is a subscription-based toothbrush?! My family is hooked as well, and we’ve had our electric Quips for well over a year. Best part, no cavities for me during this past dentist visit! Love!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • A gadget

    • New York,
    • Jan 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    It’s as bad as it is beautiful. When I turned it on, I really wondered if there was something wrong with my toothbrush. So I made some more research online, and I understood that the vibrations are just naturally extremely weak.

    I don’t buy the Quip team answers according to which it’s not about power but how you use it. Quip doesn’t have much more power than a manual one. So you would need to use your Quip like a manual one to expect any result.

    I’m still baffled that some people/magazines gave a good review. It just doesn’t make any sense. It looks like an Apple toothbrush but feels like a Dollar shop one.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 16, 2018

      Laura, Community Manager

      Hi S.I

      Just like on our website, and our help team has told you (and your dentist will tell you too), the effectiveness of any toothbrush comes down to how it is used, not the features it has.

      Quip uses the same nylon bristles, motor, and even manufacturer as other popular leading brands in the industry, so there will be no difference in the way your Quip itself brushes your teeth. The core thing that affects your oral health is how you use a toothbrush, diet, and genetics.

      Unfortunately, there are many dangerous misconceptions in oral care that we are trying to correct, such as the idea that whether a toothbrush is manual, gently vibrating, vigorously vibrating or rotating toothbrush is what effects your oral health. If they are all being used correctly (and have soft bristles), they will all "clean" perfectly.

      The truth is, all toothbrushes should be used in almost exactly the same way, gently brushing tooth by tooth, focusing on the gum line area, making sure to cover the whole mouth. Unfortunately, many believe that manual brushes should be used with "big, strong, sweeping, brushing motions" and electric brushes "don't need to be wiggled around at all." It is these misconceptions that can cause big issues, alongside the other major issues that most people are not brushing twice a day, for two minutes, or change brush heads when they are worn out.

      Of course, we cannot speak to personal preference. The best brush for you is one that encourages you to brush 2 times a day, for a full 2 minutes.

      Thanks for giving Quip a try!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Do not buy this silly toothbrush

    • Chandler, AZ,
    • Jan 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The Quip is attractive, but that's where the positives stop. My husband and I burst into laughter when we turned one on for the first time. This is in no way an electric toothbrush. It is simply a manual toothbrush that makes a light buzzing sound. If you use an electric toothbrush, you will be terribly disappointed with the Quip. We were actually puzzled as to why they would market this to people who use electric toothbrushes.

    I sent ours back immediately and was given a refund minus a restocking fee. I'm happily back to my non-sexy but super effective $8 Arm & Hammer Spinbrush.

    Don't be fooled by the hype.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 16, 2018

      Laura, Community Manager

      Hi Cindy!

      As your dentist will tell you, the effectiveness of any toothbrush comes down to how it is used, not the features it has.

      Quip uses the same nylon bristles, motor, and even manufacturer as other popular leading brands in the industry, so there will be no difference in the way your Quip itself brushes teeth. The core thing that affects your oral health is how you use a toothbrush, diet, and genetics.

      Unfortunately, there are many dangerous misconceptions in oral care that we are trying to correct, such as the idea that whether a toothbrush is manual, gently vibrating, vigorously vibrating or rotating toothbrush is what effects your oral health. If they are all being used correctly (and have soft bristles), they will all "clean" perfectly. We designed Quip to guide the perfect healthy routine to clean.

      With that said, we cannot speak to personal preference and the best brush for you is one that encourages you to brush 2 times a day, for a full 2 minutes and it sounds like that is your old brush.

      We thank you for giving Quip a try, and keep up the good brushing!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Better brushing

    I love my Quip Toothbrush for two reasons; when you are still sleep-groggy in the morning, it takes the guesswork out of how long you have brushed. I also use the timed intervals to do some mindfulness practice. A great way to start my day, then at night, I do my next day's work plan.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Awesome toothbrush

    My husband and I have had our Quips for over a year and couldn’t be happier. They take up minimal space (love that they can stick to tile!), work great (dentist said my teeth have never been cleaner), and their subscription program makes sure you’re not using an old, nasty brush head past its expiration date. Love Quip!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Worst toothbrush ever

    • San Francisco, CA,
    • Jan 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The toothbrush a) doesn't brush well, b) breaks really quickly, and c) naturally gets really disgusting since there are so many hard to wash silly components. I paid for a whole year and cancelled my subscription before the year was up because I couldn't stand using the product for a day longer.

    Save your money and get another toothbrush. After I canceled, they kept charging me for a few more months, and when I figured that out, they refused to refund me. Awful experience.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 9, 2018

      Laura, Community Manager

      Hi Erwin!

      We can't find an account or support ticket under your name, so please do email help@getquip.com

      We are so sorry to hear you did not enjoy your Quip. As we mention in our materials, and your dentist will tell you, the key to maintaining good oral health is solely based on your technique and routine. (A brush cannot "brush well instead not being able to be "used well". We designed Quip to help people brush better). This is a misconception we are trying to correct, and our dental team will be happy to expand further, should you have any questions.

      We can assure Quip does not break easily, as we cover all Quips for the life of their plan, and for the first year of having your Quip even if without a plan. (We have hundreds of thousands of happy customers for 3 years). Our team at help@getquip.com are always happy to help out with any trouble you are experiencing.

      Quip's design is the most seamless on the market, specifically designed to repel water/toothpaste and stop it building up. We will also be keen to hear which part you are mentioning is getting dirty, so we can see why and how this is happening to help.

      The only way for a refill order to generate in our system is if there is an active refill plan in your account. A refill confirmation email is always sent out as soon as a refill has been generated to allow for any cancellations before it is shipped out, and you can cancel a refill at any time in your profile area, or again by emailing help@getquip.com

      We are so sorry if any of this information was missed, and thank you for giving Quip a try!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Great toothbrush. Painless refills.

    • Brooklyn, NY,
    • Jan 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I never spent much time thinking about toothbrushes before, until I got the Quip electric set as a gift. I am hooked. It looks great, and everything I need shows up at my door regularly so I never have to run to the Bodega before work because I have run out of toothpaste again! Also, the replacement heads work out to cost less than the disposable brushes I used to get, so that's neat too.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Quip is a terrible toothbrush

    • New York,
    • Jan 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased the basic $25 Quip Toothbrush as a travel toothbrush. It is no better than a manual toothbrush. It vibrates, but it is not clear that the vibrations do anything in terms of cleaning. The one benefit over a manual toothbrush is that it has a timer, but really, you can count out the four 30 second periods yourself. It is quite attractive and has a nice looking case, but I can't wait to get home and use my regular cordless electric toothbrush. I can already feel the plaque starting to build up again over just a few days.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 9, 2018

      Laura, Community Manager

      Hi,

      As your dentist will tell you, the effectiveness of any toothbrush comes down to how it is used, not the features it has.

      Quip uses the same nylon bristles, motor and in fact, manufactured next to other popular leading brands in the industry, so there will be no difference in the way your Quip itself brushes your teeth. The core thing that effects your oral health is how you use a toothbrush, diet and genetics.

      Unfortunately, there are many dangerous misconceptions in oral care that we are trying to correct, such as the idea that whether a toothbrush is manual, gently vibrating, vigorously vibrating or rotating toothbrush is what effects your oral health. If they are all being used correctly (and have soft bristles), they will all "clean" perfectly.

      The truth is, all toothbrushes should be used in exactly the same way, gently brushing tooth by tooth, focusing on the gum line area, making sure to cover the whole mouth. Unfortunately, many believe that manual brushes should be used with "big, strong, sweeping, brushing motions" and electric brushes "don't need to be wiggled around at all" and it is these misconceptions that can, in rare cases, cause people decline (or improve!) their oral health when changing brushes.

      As we always say, we cannot speak to personal preference and the best brush for you is one that encourages you to brush 2 times a day, for a full 2 minutes.

      We thank you for giving Quip a try!

    • Jan 10, 2018

      RE

      This is the same comment that Laura writes to everyone. It doesn't address the fact that the Quip is a mediocre (but pretty) toothbrush that is overpriced and ineffective. My dental professional would say the same thing I did. If you simply want a timer on your toothbrush and want to spend $25 for that, then fine. Most people expect a better product and a better response. Would you like to offer me a refund?

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 13 people found this review helpful

    This sucks and I can't get a refund!

    • North Carolina,
    • Dec 30, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I got a Quip Toothbrush for Christmas and was completely disappointed with the whole thing. I asked for a refund, but because it was ordered for me more than 30 days prior to my receiving it, that was denied. So what you have is a company that refuses to stand behind its' product and refuses to acknowledge that the product is inferior.

    Do you want a Quip? I'll give you the cheaper, and perhaps better, solution: buy a cheap little vibrator from Amazon (of course they sell them), and tape a regular toothbrush to it. Voila! You have a Quip for less than 10 bucks.

    Don't say you weren't warned.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 9, 2018

      Laura, Community Manager

      Hi Troy!

      As your dentist and the ADA will tell you, the best brush for your teeth comes down to personal preference (which you enjoy the most), not what vibration frequency a brand chooses to set their brush. (We chose ours because research showed us that it was the power that people enjoyed the most.)

      So we are sorry to hear that Quip was not to your liking. Quip's bought during Christmas (from the end of November) are subject to extended returns through the end of January, so please do reach out if you are looking to return!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 89

Write a Review for Quip Toothbrush!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review