About Quip Toothbrush

By Derek Lakin
HighYa Staff Updated on: Jun 21, 2018

Quip Toothbrush is an online subscription service that promises to help you simplify your oral health. How?

First, Quip's attractively designed electric toothbrushes include only the features you need and exclude those you don't. You'll have just one mode (a 2-minute timer with 30-second intervals), gentle vibrations with no harsh rotations, a slim design that's travel-ready, and replaceable heads with soft, round tip bristles.

Second, Quip’s subscription plans (more about this soon) come with anti-cavity fluoride toothpaste that includes “only the ingredients your teeth need.” And since you’ll only need a pea-sized portion, the company claims one tube can last you up to 3 months.

Finally, Quip claims they’ve partnered with dentists to provide proper oral care advice, which can help improve your routine, technique, upkeep, and more.

Although Quip Toothbrushes are the result of “years of research and design,” does this mean they’re worth the price? Should you opt for a single purchase, or for monthly refills? What are customers saying? In this Quip Toothbrush review, we'll take an in-depth look at what you might expect so that you can make a more informed decision.

What Features Does a Quip Toothbrush Provide?

According to their website, Quip is out to simplify the process of caring for your teeth. Instead of focusing their research and development on bristle angles or other features that might provide 0.25% better performance, Quip claims they wanted to address the core factors that lead to teeth problems; namely:

  • Brushing too hard
  • Not brushing long enough
  • Not brushing twice a day
  • Not replacing your brush often enough

As a result, they “set about creating a more honest, accessible and simple oral care line that would cut out the excess to help focus on the basics that really matter.”

Quip Toothbrush Features

Powered by a single AAA battery that will last up to 3 months, Quip’s motor features the same vibration frequency (15,000 RPM) that you’ll find with most standard vibrating toothbrushes. Quip also uses a single pulse every 30 seconds to remind you to change quadrants (upper left, bottom left, upper right, bottom right), although this isn’t necessarily unique among electric toothbrushes. It also features a 2-minute timer to remind you to stop brushing, so you don’t damage your teeth or gums.

The base/handle of each Quip Toothbrush is available in either durable matte-finished ABS plastic or precision CNC'd aluminum. Quip’s soft brush head (there are no medium or firm options, which the company claims can damage your teeth and gums) attaches to each base and features 1,200 DuPont nylon bristles inserted into 34 tufts.

All Quip Toothbrushes also come with a travel cover that mounts to any glossy surface via a reusable suction strip, which also doubles as a storage container.

What’s the price for all these features?

How Much Do Quip Toothbrushes Cost?

Quip Toothbrushes are available in 6 colors: Silver Metal, Slate Metal, Copper Metal, Gold Metal, Green Plastic, and Blue Plastic. Each purchase includes the option to sign up for automatic brush and toothpaste refills, or just the toothbrush itself at a slightly higher price.

Starter Sets

Electric Starter Set – Includes one electric brush, travel cover mount, large toothpaste, and small toothpaste, with replacement brush heads, toothpastes, AAA batteries once every three months: $25 ($40 without refills) for plastic handle, or $40 for a metal handle ($55 without refills)

Electric Brush Starter Set – Includes one electric brush and travel cover mount, with a replacement brush head and AAA battery once every three months: $30 for a plastic handle ($35 without refills), or $45 for a metal handle ($50 without refills)

Annual Prepaid Deals

Electric Annual Set – Includes electric brush, travel cover mount, large toothpaste, small toothpaste, and replacement brush heads, toothpastes, AAA batteries once every three months, prepaid: $50 for a plastic handle, or $65 for a metal handle

Electric Brush Annual Set – Includes an electric brush, travel cover mount, and replacement brush heads and AAA batteries once every three months, prepaid: $40 for a plastic handle, or $55 for a metal handle

Group Sets

Electric Couple Set – Includes two quip electric brushes and small and large toothpastes, with replacement brush heads, toothpastes, and AAA batteries once every three months:: $40 for plastic handles, or $75 for metal handle ($100 without refills)

Electric Family Set – Includes four quip electric brushes and small and large toothpastes, with replacement brush heads, toothpastes, and AAA batteries once every three months: $125 for plastic handles, or $150 for metal handles ($200 without refills)

Additional Items

  • Toothbrush Head: $5 (same price, with or without refills)
  • Toothpaste 4.7oz: $5 (same price, with or without refills)
  • Travel Cover Mount: $5
  • White Plastic Manual Toothbrush: $10 ($5 refills every three months)

Keep in mind that refill plans are optional, ship free, and can be canceled at any time, although they cannot be paused. Without a refill plan, shipping will cost you $5.

The company provides a lifetime guarantee on all Quip Toothbrushes that are associated with an active refill plan, along with a 30-day refund policy.

Pro tip: According to Quip's website: "We charge shipping ($5 for a single brush plan, $10 for a couples plan and $15 for a family plan) to cover the return shipping cost and deduct it from your credit card refund unless you ship using your own means."

To request a refund, customer service can be reached at help@getquip.com or via online chat.

Although Quip isn’t the lowest priced electric toothbrush on the market, it’s certainly near the bottom. Outside of price though, what are customers saying about its performance?

Quip Toothbrush Reviews

Quip had been on the market for well over a year at the time of our research, and featured on many high-profile websites, including TechCrunch, Engadget, Popular Mechanics, and more. In most of these instances, they were high-level overviews or only provided insight into the company’s business model.

However, the author of this Fast Company article (and her husband) had a chance to try out a Quip Toothbrush and found: “As a user of one of the fancier models of the Sonicare electric toothbrushes, the Quip brush didn't feel as powerful or as satisfying to me. However, my husband, who uses a manual toothbrush, found the brush to be a step up from his everyday routine.”

Stephen Pulvirent over at Bloomberg had an opportunity to use a Quip Toothbrush for a while, and claimed that it looked great and that he “genuinely enjoyed” using it. He didn’t love the taste of the toothpaste though, and noted that the plastic model “felt hollow and a little too lightweight.”

In the end, the author felt that Quip’s toothbrush is “practical, reasonably priced, and still gives you that much-needed dose of mild, self-satisfied futurism.”

Finally, Dave Lee provides us with a quick but informative video review of his experience with Quip’s subscription service. He noted that he didn’t like Quip’s first generation toothbrushes, but that these second gen versions seemed to be a big upgrade.

Overall, he felt that the metal handle was nicely weighted, the head felt secure when attached, it has a stronger head vibration, and that they did a “really good job” on the aesthetics. In the end, he claimed to have had a “really solid brushing experience.”

Who Founded Quip?

Quip was founded by industrial designer Simon Enever and product designer Bill May, who wanted to help people take better care of their teeth by simplifying the process. Simon came from NY-based design agency ECCO, whereas Bill previously worked for Lifetime Brands.

Prior to launching as Quip, it appears the company initially attempted to raise funding through an Indiegogo crowdfunding campaign under the brand name byDefault, which didn’t meet its goal of $60K.

Is Quip a Serious Electric Toothbrush Contender?

When it comes down to it, Quip is upfront and honest about the results you might expect: “The truth is, a correctly used, soft bristle $5 manual toothbrush is just as effective as a $25 quip electric toothbrush which is just as effective as a $250 electric one! The issue is, us humans aren't the best at using them!”

And this is where the company seems to shine. Based on what we learned during our research and from customer reviews, they seem to offer a quality product at a reasonable price, along with a convenient refill program that can be easily canceled at any time. They also come with mostly positive online customer feedback.

To top everything off, Quip’ toothbrushes come with a 30-day refund policy, so you’ll only be out of few dollars in S&H for giving them a try.

Tell us about your Quip experience by writing a review below!

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

142 Consumer Reviews for Quip Toothbrush

Average Consumer Rating: 2.7
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 48 4 star: 8 3 star: 6 2 star: 20 1 star:  60
Bottom Line: 41% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 142
Sort reviews by:

  • Looks cool and seems reasonable

    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Sep 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Very neat idea but the product has a lot of room for improvement. I got the four-person family plan, and after three refills I am most definitely canceling my subscription.

    I had five issues during these 10 months. First off, I typed my zip code incorrectly by 1 number so it was sent to the wrong place. Completely my fault, but mistakes happen. The customer service person I spoke with said he would have to charge extra to reship. Since we both knew that I could simply cancel and just reorder at no charge, he responded to my request of canceling by saying "he could reship for free" (lol, wow that's amazing how quick he was able to change the shipping policy). Minor thing, but still odd.

    The second refill box I got was missing a brush head. I could have called and I'm sure they would have sent another, but still an inconvenience.

    The third thing, an insane amount of extra toothpaste, and it's not very good. Apparently, they just upgraded their toothpaste but the bottle looked identical and I couldn't tell a difference. I haven't checked but I would recommend a plan that didn't include toothpaste if it's significantly cheaper (but I doubt that's available).

    The fourth problem I had takes a little longer to notice, but there are areas that get absolutely disgusting. The crack between the handle and brush head is full of dirt, which you notice when switching brush heads. It is a good idea to use the old brush head to remove that dirt but it's still there every time you brush. There is also a lot of dirt that collects in the bottom of the mirror case, which isn't a huge problem unless you also use it (as intended) as a travel cover. It is possible to clean by getting a coin or something to unscrew the bottom, but it is rather difficult to get all of the dirt without spending quite a few minutes getting all the nooks and crannies with whatever small instrument and paper towel you can find.

    The last and most troublesome issue is that the brush head just falls off while brushing so I had to duct tape it to the handle. I guess after switching brush heads a few times the handle connections wear down, so it doesn't fit securely. On the positive side, the 2-minute timer is great, vibration is surprisingly powerful for just a battery (although I have never used an electric toothbrush before so I have nothing to compare it to). I love the mirror thing. It isn't as effective over time, but still a genius idea. Just get used to cleaning your mirror frequently because you will splash water all over it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Would not recommend

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Sep 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is a great toothbrush for travel, however, for daily use, it hasn't worked for me.

    First, it stopped working after a few weeks. I contacted the vendor and they said I probably had a "lemon battery" but didn't offer to send another one. It's not that I couldn't put one in, but they didn't address the fact that they sent a bad product and didn't attempt any service recovery. It works intermittently, after I bang it a couple of times. I became frustrated and went back to my Oral-B, and I am very happy.

    I ordered and paid for the annual program. After I didn't receive a refill in three months, I contacted them twice, they promised to send it but I haven't received it yet. I'm so frustrated that I will probably continue with my Oral-B and use the Quip only for travel. The product is comparable to other electric brushes, but it is more convenient, especially for travel.

    The response to my issues wasn't addressed appropriately, so I think that service is an issue for the vendor. Overall, I don't feel like I got value for the money that I paid and would not buy it again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Attractive but useless

    • Lewisville, TX,
    • Sep 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased the Quip Toothbrush, and while it looks great, it isn't actually any different than a manual toothbrush. Sure it has a timer telling you when to move to another area but the bristles don't move at all. It pulses but does not brush. You must manually do the brushing. Other than a great look, it is useless.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Sucks in every dimension

    • Warminster, PA,
    • Aug 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased this in June, and it died in July. It took support 36 hours to get back to me about the product. It turns out I had to re-seat the battery. It died again in August, re-seating the batter didn't work. Unfortunately, I purchased a full year subscription. So I don't know how much money I lost. Save yourself the trouble and don't bother. It's a piece of crap and support is marginal at best.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    The good and the bad

    • Kansas,
    • Aug 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I like the toothbrush, and it seems to be doing a good job of cleaning my teeth, but after two months of use, the head started falling off when I was using it. It falls off every time now, and is a problem! I have not got a new head yet, and I hope that will help. I have been using a Sonicare and was used to it. If you are making that switch and expecting the same brush movement, you will be disappointed. Brush movement is minimal, and you can barely feel any vibration at all. The brush head seems to be good quality. Still not sure if I will stay with it or not.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Too weak, and bad return experience

    • San Jose, CA,
    • Aug 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I just got the toothbrush. It looks great and I love the concept. I am disappointed in the power of the unit. It is too gentle and too soft. I'm trying to return it, but I'm finding it to be difficult. The website makes returns almost impossible.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Quip is "quool"

    • Fitchburg, MA,
    • Aug 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I enjoy using my Quip because it is sleek and easy to travel. If the time ever arises, I can be there to say, “I’m equipped with a Quip!" I like Quip catchy logo and it’s nearly perfect symmetrical design. I like how I have seen advertisements for Quip in Boston when I travel. Quip is easy to use, and easy to put away. It honestly makes brushing my teeth more fun!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 15 people found this review helpful

    The whole Quip system is a scam

    • Texas,
    • Aug 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered one set for myself and have been using it for two weeks. I found out the brush is too hard and the head is too long to reach out back teeth. It doesn’t work for me. So I tried to reach out the customer service, but they never reply to any single email back to me. So I tried and left a 1-star review on their website...it turned out as 5-star and doesn’t allow me to change it. Wow! At the moment I realized the whole review is a lie. A few days later I saw some people complain about their BAD customer service, I felt the same way so wrote down my experience...and then a few hours later my comment and other people’s complaints all gone! A scam company!

    Don’t waste your money on them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (5)
    View all 5 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 12, 2018

      Laura, Community Manager

      Hi Yiting. Sorry to hear about the issues you have experienced, we will try and clear these up for you as best we can here!

      Quip's bristles are the exact same "soft" Dupont nylon bristles as all large brands use, so we can assure you they are industry standard soft. Perhaps you were looking for ultra soft which we do not offer yet.

      As with the bristles, Quip's head/neck is also the same industry standard as all manual and electric toothbrushes on the market. You can test this yourself by laying Quip's next to other brushes. So should be able to reach your back teeth just the same way. Perhaps its design made it look different?

      Our help team is online seven days a week and can answer all emails within 24-48 hours. Perhaps their response got stuck in your spam filter? We would love you to check and reach out again if you cannot find it.

      We are sorry that you accidentally did not change your star rating to one star and accidentally submitted it as a five star. You can see from the reviews page; it is certainly possible to adjust your rating when you are leaving the review. Unfortunately, because we use a partner integration to collect our reviews to ensure they are legitimate and independent, we are not able to edit reviews once submitted, nor can we delete them (unless they contain offensive language). We can allow you to review again, and we would be happy to help you do so on help@getquip.com

      As you can see by the distribution of reviews of the above mentioned genuine customer review site, we have hundreds of thousands of customers most of which have loved their Quip experience. At the time of writing, there are around 4.92 out of 5 stars from over 3500 reviews, but of course, we know that Quip cannot be for everyone. We are sorry you did not enjoy your experience and encountered issues while trying to get help.

      We look forward to helping resolve this on help@getquip.com!

    • Aug 13, 2018

      Yiting C.

      It’s funny that Quip replies to bad reviews here because the reviews here can’t be removed by Quip’s management? Quip doesn’t even reply to any comments that are against their product or service, they just removed every single comment that was against them and doesn’t even care. The whole review system was fake too. Never use any product from this company, very dishonest.

    • Aug 23, 2018

      Carol R.

      I wish I had known about all of these complaints. My account has been debited as of 8-6-18, and no product, no response via email and no way to communicate on the phone. I'm calling my bank today to dispute the order.

    • Aug 29, 2018

      Laura, Community Manager

      Hi Carol,

      We're sorry you're experiencing this issue with your order. We've found one order with your first name and last initial from 8/6/18, and our tracking shows the package was delivered four days later on 8/10/18. If this is the correct order, we recommend checking with your neighbors to make sure your package didn't end up in their mail by mistake. We also haven't received an email from the email connected to this order, but we're happy to help with any additional questions at help@getquip.com. We look forward to looking into this further.

    • Aug 29, 2018

      Carol R.

      I did check, and no one has it. The delivery address is a business open seven days a week, and we have never had problems with mail or delivery. Jason sent me several emails. The email issue was corrected. In one, he said another toothbrush would be sent. I have not received it. I just had the bank refund me and wanted to make sure I have been removed from billing. Thanks for your response.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Do not buy

    • New Jersey,
    • Jul 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The product simply does not hold up! And the replacement process is a burden on the customer, I purchased two and both did not last a year. Now I have to continue with this subscription and cannot use the product. Customer support did not help at all.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 12, 2018

      Laura, Community Manager

      Hi Michael,

      We are sorry to hear you have had some trouble with your Quip! Our team does their best to troubleshoot the issue to come up with the best solution, as we have found that most often, we can help with getting your Quip up and running again.

      In the off chance that the troubleshooting does not help, we ask for a few quick photos so that we can send you the correct replacement needed to get your Quip working without needing to send your brush back first for the replacement. If you would prefer not to send any photos, we do have the option to send your Quip back using our prepaid return label, and we can assist with a replacement once your Quip is in transit back to us.

      We take these issues very seriously and always want to make sure that we address the trouble you are having correctly so that you do not experience the same issue again in the future. Additionally, you can easily cancel your subscription in your profile on our website, but this will discontinue your warranty.

      If you'd like to give your Quip another try, please email help@getquip.com, and our team would be happy to assist further!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Worst customer service ever!

    • St. Louis, MO,
    • Jul 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered a toothbrush off of the website with Quip. A free trial sample of the toothpaste was supposed to be included. My niece helped me place the order, so I’m not quite sure what website we were on, I assumed it was the Quip website.

    I didn’t get the sample of toothpaste and I sent them a message and let them know. Many emails later they’ve decided that no samples be given. They would rather lose the business with the ongoing subscription for 2/3 then send a sample of toothpaste.

    I don’t understand that they would rather lose a customer then send a sample of toothpaste. I have found similar products online, and I will be purchasing that and returning this.

    They said back to me that they have never offered a free sample of toothpaste, and maybe that’s the case I am not quite sure, but after eight emails you would think that it would’ve just been easier to send a lousy sample. And keep a satisfied customer who would be buying their brush heads forever.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 12, 2018

      Laura, Community Manager

      Hi Anne,

      We apologize if there has been any misunderstanding while ordering. The only packages that will include a free travel toothpaste are the packages that include a large toothpaste as well. Any set that includes toothpaste will also be shown with these items in the store image. Clicking on the question mark next to any package will also include a full description of what is included on day one and in three months time (if ordering a plan). We hope this helps!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Toothpaste is "interesting"

    • Damariscotta, ME,
    • Jul 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have never used an electric toothbrush so I have nothing to compare the Quip with. I am having trouble trying to figure out how to use it properly. Maybe there should be a short video for us newbies. Also, since I have just started using this, I have not experienced any of the problems I have been reading about and hope that I won't have any. I really like it. EXCEPT for the toothpaste.

    This stuff is weird. I will be blunt, there is a strong undertone of goat. I'm sure there are no animal parts but maybe "essence." I had a blind taste test with my adult daughter and she was immediately turned off. This flavor does not offend me, but I thought you needed to know it is very noticeable.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 12, 2018

      Laura, Community Manager

      We are sorry to hear you have not enjoyed your toothpaste! This portion of your package and plan is completely optional, our team at help@getquip.com would be happy to help with changing your plan if you would like. In regards to using Quip, we would recommend checking www.getquip.com/tips on best brushing technique with any brush.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 142

Write a Review for Quip Toothbrush!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review