Read 200 Vroom Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 3)

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 2.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 37 4 star: 7 3 star: 10 2 star: 22 1 star:  124
Bottom Line: 25% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 23-33 of 200
Sort reviews by:

  • 7-Day Guarantee is all LIES

    • By DR J N.,
    • North Carolina,
    • Jan 15, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    "Louis" at extension 4054 makes endless and false statements! I challenge management to review every one of his "recorded" phone calls, and look to see how long it takes for him to process a return! I called ONE day after the arrival of my initial vehicle requesting a return (and promised, 7-day satisfactory guarantee refund) and it took HIM more than 7 weeks to "swap" a different vehicle for me! This caused me excessive and unnecessary rental car fees. THEN after MANY phones calls, promises, reassurances, and more LIES, he guaranteed a refund check had been made to the bank for the promised refund. UNBEKNOWNST to me, I was THEN sent to COLLECTIONS! I have NEVER been late on ANY payment, EVER! I had to call the bank myself and was advised that Vroom/Louis didn’t even contact them until that given day, which was yesterday, to cancel a loan from NOVEMBER! EVERY single time I called to confirm the back loan had been refunded and promises were made that it had (I phoned over SEVEN times), Louis always made promises to call me back and NEVER did! Vroom will call you endlessly, SEVERAL times a day to get you to purchase a vehicle, but will NEVER do what is necessary thereafter! Yes, one may think the 7-day guarantee is a reassurance for a bad purchase...or in my case, a "one-owner" vehicle that was a RENTAL car! But don’t be fooled but the 7-day guarantee, you will end up without a vehicle for months, excessive rental car fees (so you don’t exceed the 250 mileage) or going to COLLECTIONS because they did not refund the original loan from their suggested lender...and get this...that particular vehicle that I returned and they did not refund...has bee RE-listed on their site for sale for 2 WEEKS! Sounds like fraud to me! In this case, I still own the car; as the loan and title are still in MY name! Do not WASTE your time with these EMPTY promises!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Worst car dealership ever!

    • By Ashley M.,
    • Tucson, AZ,
    • Jan 15, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    My name is Ashley Murariu. When I first began looking at Vroom's website it seemed like the website was a great way to buy my first car. I picked up the phone and called a sales rep, his name was Devon. Devon helped me buy a 2013 Mercedes-Benz C class. After speaking with Devon the contract came in just a few short days and the car came soon after, but this is where the problems started. I signed the paper for the vehicle, got into the car and the engine light was on! I had to drive the car to my local Mercedes dealership where they did not want to give me any information about the vehicle and why the engine light was on. Later I found out that Mercedes-Benz never recalled the vehicle and Vroom has sold it to me with the engine light on and everything.

    I immediately began calling Vroom customer service numbers and I spoke to Chelsea Rice. Chelsea said she'd send over all the information to my loaner about the new vehicle I wanted to swap out with the Mercedes-Benz. Well, this process took almost a month, I waited and waited and never heard anything from anyone working at Vroom and every time I called they kept telling me that I needed to be patient and that they needed to wait for the bank. Finally, after almost a month of not being able to drive the Mercedes-Benz and not having a car at all to drive, I finally received a call from someone named Patrick. Patrick took down all my information AGAIN about the vehicle that I wanted to swap for and after many weeks of waiting, Christmas day I received the vehicle. I was reassured by Patrick that everything would be sent to my loaner and everything would be updated and set up for my payment and I thought the worries were going to finally stop. Although I just received a call from the bank I am financing the vehicle with and they asked me for my monthly payment on my MERCEDES-BENZ C CLASS! I am now currently fighting with Vroom and everyone on the phone because every person is telling me that my loaner has received the new contract but my bank has said that they didn't. Clearly someone doesn't know how to their job.

    Vroom has done nothing but ruin my first experience at buying my very own car. Every single person I've talked to did not help me at all and they don't do their jobs nor try and help their customers. Please, if you're thinking about buying a car from Vroom, DON'T DO IT! Save yourself the stress and headache. Vroom is not a good car dealership!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Great sales process, bad vehicle

    • By Alexander N.,
    • Austin, TX,
    • Jan 14, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had never purchased a car online prior to this one. We decided to try it because we hated going and sitting in dealerships while they go in those back rooms and do whatever that takes forever to do back there. Overall, I liked the purchase process. They matched a rate from a competitor bank and they matched the trade-in from Carvana. My sales guy was awesome. BUT It took longer than expected to actually get the car (almost two weeks).

    Upon delivery of the car, I noticed that the heated/ventilated front seats, heated steering wheel, and rear heated seats did not work. I immediately called customer support (which as a whole varies in the quality of the person who you get...most are not great at their jobs). The guy I got was great and respectful though. He wanted us to try to use the initial warranty you get with the car - to me this made no sense since it was delivered faulty...but that is what they made me do. They had me take it to a Chrysler dealership (they agreed to pay the $175 diagnostic fee). I then became a secretary between Vroom and Chrysler, which SUCKED. Everyone was slow, and I was trying to get it done before my 7-day return period so I could return it if they wouldn’t fix it. It was hard to get ahold of both sides. Terrible experience.

    The problem ended up being RODENT DAMAGE - so much for that multi-point inspection they claim to do. The issue was going to cost almost $5000 to fix. AND as delivered, the mechanic said the car’s passenger-side airbags would not have deployed in a crash due to the rodent damage. At first, Chrysler told me it was going to be $500, and Vroom agreed to fix it. While doing the $500 repair, they found the bigger issue which was going to cost an additional $4000. Vroom then said no to that, and they told me to exchange/return the vehicle. I then had to go back and forth between Vroom and Chrysler to get the $500 of work Chrysler did paid for. Thankfully, Vroom finally agreed to pay for it - kudos to my support guy.

    I found another vehicle that I traded the bad one for. They didn’t make me pay an additional shipping fee. Even though all of this happened, I would still buy another car online...but maybe not through Vroom. Also...word of the wise...before signing for the vehicle at delivery...do a full inspection, especially of the wiring under the seats. You never know what has been chewed up.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • New ride

    • By Tina W.,
    • Pearl, MS,
    • Jan 14, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    Vroom was amazingly simple and everyone that I worked with was very knowledgeable and very helpful! Our entire process from ordering right up to delivery was probably 2 weeks and that includes holidays.

    I would definitely recommend and I personally will use them again!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • 2 weeks later and still have not paid off my car

    • By Robert T.,
    • Springville, CA,
    • Jan 2, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    It started off a great experience, everyone was very helpful and nice. My new car was delivered exactly when they said it would. Communication was great. But as soon as my car was delivered and they took away my trade-in, things have quickly turned into a nightmare! It has not been over 3 weeks and they have still not paid off my trade-in. Keep hearing the same old story from them that this is not usual...and that they will call me back, which they never do. This is completely unacceptable.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Jan 6, 2020

      Company Response from Vroom, Inc.

      Hi Robert, we appreciate your honest review. We set a high standard for ourselves, so we are disappointed to hear of the breaks in communication. When you have an opportunity, please reach out to us at (469) 660-1600 so we can look into this. Thank you again for taking the time to reach out to us, and we hope to hear from you soon.


  • Poor customer service/shipping damage 2x

    • By Russ M.,
    • Missouri,
    • Dec 28, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Unfortunately, this was my 3rd purchase from them and the last 2 were damaged during delivery. They did eventually cover the first time but now the second time they will not do anything. Very poor customer service especially for a customer who bought 3 vehicles from them. So basically I was charged $500 for shipping, cost me an extra day of work and now need to repair car myself.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Dec 31, 2019

      Company Response from Vroom, Inc.

      Thanks for taking the time to express your concerns. We are disappointed to hear we left you feeling this way. We would like the chance to talk to you further so please reach out to us at (469) 660-1600 at your earliest convenience so we can work with you to make this right. We hope to hear from you soon. - Vroom Team.


  • Car: good. Service: not so much.

    • By Sheldon W.,
    • Hartford, CT,
    • Dec 24, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Easy online searching and reasonable purchase process. The car was delivered on time and in good shape. Customer service is where improvement is needed, I had to forward private information like copies of drivers license and trade-in title at least 3 times because their system didn't pick them up. I heard nothing from them for 3 days after the car was paid for. When I called to inquire, the agent promised to call me back, but never did. I called again the next day to learn that the car was on its way to me and I would receive delivery timing. The following day I received 2 phone calls and 2 emails with an approximate delivery time. The next day I heard nothing until the car arrived in the evening.

    I soon discovered that I had not received a bill of sale or any other paperwork. I called and was told it would be sent out by email attachment immediately. I called back the next day since it had not arrived and received another promise. This time the attachment came. In preparing to go register the car, I realized that the title had not been provided. After 2 or 3 more phone calls I was informed that this would take another 2 to 4 weeks.

    If I had known what to expect and received prompt replies to my questions, there would not be any issues. However, at this point, Carvana would be a much better choice for online car buying.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Updated review

    Received a car with leaks

    • By Mary C.,
    • New Mexico,
    • Dec 23, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Refund process was handled very quickly, which I appreciate, but I wouldn’t buy a car this way again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Dec 25, 2019

      Company Response from Vroom, Inc.

      Mary, we appreciate you taking the time to leave this review. We regret to learn that you did not have a more positive online experience with us. If you would like to discuss your experience in more detail, please contact us at (469) 660-1600 at your earliest convenience. We always look for opportunities to improve so we hope to hear from you. - Vroom Team.

    • Previous review
    • Dec 16, 2019

    Sold a bad car

    I received a car from Vroom that smelled of burned rubber and oil, had multiple leaks and cracks under the hood, and needed an alignment. The manager from the company argued that they were not leaks, just seepage. The repair estimate was too large and they are buying the car back. I am left thinking they are running a scam hoping you will accept a bad car and repair it yourself. Huge hassle, no quality control check, waste of my time. Would never recommend buying a car from this company.

    (read moreread less...)

  • Surpassed expectations

    • By Kristi R.,
    • St. Louis, MO,
    • Dec 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Vroom gave us $4000 more for our trade-in than any dealership and had the best price on the Pacifica we were looking for with 8 passenger seats. They paid our old car loan off promptly. The van arrived ahead of schedule. And it was in great condition. There was one hiccup with the listing that said it had powered sliding doors and it didn’t. But Vroom sent us a check and mailed it out quickly for $1000 to make up for it. We loved the experience. I was nervous because of all the bad reviews but I just kept on top of it and called customer service every couple of days.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Dec 19, 2019

      Company Response from Vroom, Inc.

      Kristi, thank you so much for your positive feedback. We're glad to hear we provided you with a positive experience. If you need assistance again in the future, please don't hesitate to reach out. We're happy to help. -Vroom Team.


  • Updated review

    Vroom - ups and downs

    • By Tyler P.,
    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Dec 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had some trouble with delivery. Michael in customer service called me to discuss after the dust settled. It meant a lot that he followed up with me to help. I absolutely love my truck though. It’s better than I anticipated.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Previous review
    • Dec 9, 2019

    Vroom - buyer beware

    First off, the truck I purchased is great. It showed up late, was not detailed at all when received. Like it came straight from the auction. Gas was almost empty. Every person I dealt with from sales to delivery to customer service was unqualified. The salesperson was clearly working from home with babies and dogs in the background and was not professional in the least. Nobody wanted to set up and make it right. I was promised delivery in no more than 10 days. They specifically stated that the ten days wouldn’t even be hit because they wanted to "under-promise and over-deliver". I received the vehicle 14 days later. They delayed the first delivery and the second delivery. I had to buy an early plane ticket home from working out of state to receive. They had a chance to make it right, but refuse to. Buyer beware. Go to the dealer.

    • Dec 11, 2019

      Company Response from Vroom, Inc.

      Tyler, customer satisfaction is at the top of our priorities so we regret to hear we left you feeling this way. If you would like to share anything additional regarding your experience, please don't hesitate to reach out to us at: feedback@vroom.com. We hope to hear from you soon. - Vroom Team.

    (read moreread less...)

  • Delays cost me $650 - service is absent and refusing to pay.

    • By Shane D.,
    • San Diego, CA,
    • Dec 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased an Audi A5 2016 on November 8th, 2019. It is now December 6th, 2019 and I STILL do not have a drive-able vehicle. The delays in the purchase because the original salesman was "out of office" multiple times with no responses which somehow became my problem and took 2 weeks alone. When I finally had enough and went through someone else with Vroom the paperwork was done within a couple days as I expected originally. However, during this time I was forced to spend over $500 in a rental car. I then forked over another $500 for shipping which said it would be delivered on the 29th of November. I then got delayed 3 days and received the car on the 2nd of December. When the car was delivered the driver said "I could have had it here sooner as I worked every day and this has been sitting on my lot since the 26th with no information from Vroom"...Great.

    The car came, a couple of small chips in the paint which I could understand being used and didn't make it a big deal. Continued to inspect the car and felt some shaking in the left front wheel, drove it around and sounded extremely loud. From there I knew I needed to get an inspection and paid OUT OF MY POCKET to have this inspection done ($149). The mechanic said it was in decent shape overall, some rust underneath (which, being fair, is to be expected being a Florida car), however, he said something didn't sound right on the test drive and believe it be alignment and wheel bearing. Upon further inspection he found the left wheel bearing totally shot and advised me NOT to drive the car at all or it will do much further damage to the rotors, breaks, bearing and alignment which I agreed.

    Here I am 3 days later, still waiting for Vroom to tell me what to do on this, without a car again and had to pay another $120 for a rental for this week not knowing how else to get to work. The customer service team has no means of communication between each other, I completed a call with one agent and another called me just minutes later starting from scratch and having to reexplain the whole issue. I was promised a call back after providing the quote and never heard back, when I called the next day the person had no idea and says oh yea I see some document here but it won't open...WHY would no one call me to share that so I could resolve it which I did within minutes.

    I've now spoken to 4 different persons from service with NO resolution on compensation for the whole thing or how to get my car fixed. I find this extremely disappointing as I was excited and am a very reasonable person who works in the service industry and never complains until it hurts my pockets deeply. I'm now $648 in rentals in (to be fair I would have paid 1 week on my own so only ~$500 Vroom's fault), paid a mechanic $149 to inspect and Vroom is refusing to compensate for any rental. They did compensate for the bearing which is their attempt to get me to keep the car only and not any actual service recovery based on the issues faced. I'm still in the hole an extra ~$650 due to extended rentals and mechanic fees.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Dec 15, 2019

      Company Response from Vroom, Inc.

      Shane, we're extremely disappointed to hear about your negative experience with us. Our customers mean a great deal to us and we regret that we failed to provide you with the quality customer service you deserve. We would like the opportunity to address your concerns. Please reach out to us directly at feedback@vroom.com (469) 660-1600 when you have a chance. Thank you, and we look forward to hearing from you.


Showing 23-33 of 200

Write a Review for Vroom!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review
Vroom Review: How It Works, Pros and Cons, Vroom vs. Carvana