Start your review of Vroom:
  • 380 Customer Reviews
  • 31% Recommend This Service
2.3 out of 5
5 star: 22% 4 star: 5% 3 star: 4% 2 star: 10% 1 star: 56%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Very good experience

    • By Nancy Koch,
    • Marietta, GA,
    • May 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I was worried about buying a car with Vroom after reading all the negative reviews, but I had a very good experience with them. The only problem that I had was with delivery. The car arrived a day later than promised and we ended up wasting an entire day waiting for the car. I had no other troubles and ended up with a great little car and a great price for my son. We did not have a car to trade in, and I understood up front that the process would be slow as compared to a local dealer. But I never had to deal with a dealer or high pressure sells. Everybody I spoke with was very friendly and helpful and emails were answered promptly. I also received my tag in the time promised.

    I would buy a car from them again and also recommend them to others.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • May 9, 2018

      Company Response from Vroom, Inc.

      Hi Nancy,

      Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We're glad you gave Vroom a try and are happy to hear you are satisfied with your car. We're sorry we missed your delivery by a day, this is something we continue to work on and appreciate the feedback.

      Enjoy your ride!

      The Vroom team


  • Vroom is not the way to go

    • By Daniel Quinn,
    • Pennsylvania,
    • Apr 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The experience was awful from start to finish. I sold a car to them and also purchased a used 2017 Ford Explorer.

    The process of selling my car seemed excellent at first. The submission and offer process was terrific. However, executing the offer turned out to be a nightmare.

    As the sale of my vehicle was used towards the purchase of the new vehicle, Vroom was responsible for making the payment to my bank. They told me this would occur as soon as they picked up the car from me. After approximately 30 days with no communication regarding the pickup, I reached out to them to request an update as I had already made another payment on the loan. It seemed as if they had "forgot" to schedule the pickup and told me someone would reach out shortly.

    I received a call a few days later from a towing company who then showed up at my house a couple days later. He put my car on his flatbed and just drove away. No paperwork for me to prove to whom I just gave my car to. Talk about a leap of faith! The payment on my existing loan didn't occur for about another week by when I had to make ANOTHER payment on that loan to avoid late fees. So here I am, almost 60 days out from the purchase of a car through Vroom, and I still am waiting for the bank to refund me the almost $1000 I was out while waiting for Vroom to pick up the vehicle.

    Back to the purchasing of the vehicle. The delivery of the vehicle was scheduled about one week after the online purchase. I had to meet the driver at a local Walmart to receive the vehicle. It came off the truck very dirty, both inside and out, and was also almost completely out of gas. Not a good first impression.

    Due to severe winter weather in my area, I was not able to get the car inspected within the 7-day give-back period. By the time I was able to do so, there were many physical defects present on the vehicle that were not disclosed to me as part of the sale. There was damage to tailgate which was obviously repaired as demonstrated by the T-SHIRT SECURED WITH DUCK TAPE around the rear windshield wiper mechanism. There was also significant damage around the doors due to an apparent break-in attempt and scrubbing during refurbishing.

    I reported these issues to Vroom and was told since I was outside the give-back window they were no longer liable. They offered me $500 due to "inconvenience" when three different certified body shops quoted the repairs over $2000.

    Another issue is registration. I received the vehicle with a temporary vehicle registration that was good for 60 days. Here I am, with that temporary tag set to expire in five days, and I have still not received any registration paperwork from Vroom. This has prevented me from properly registering my vehicle with my state DMV and also is preventing me from having the necessary state inspection and emission tests required to make the car road-legal. Despite many phone calls and emails requesting follow up, I am no closer to receiving these documents than the day I signed the paperwork.

    I know the idea of using an online dealership like Vroom seems enticing as the local dealership experience can be downright frustrating for some people. However, please take my experience as evidence that, at least for this online dealer, it is still better to deal with a local business than it is to deal with a company thousands of miles away that won't stand behind their product and services.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Jun 8, 2018

      Company Response from Vroom, Inc.

      Daniel - we're sorry to hear there was an issue with your registration. If you are in need of any assistance to fix this, please let us know.

      The Vroom team


  • Do not use

    • By KNH,
    • Vancouver, WA,
    • Apr 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    With hidden fees, a failure to give offers that are emailed to you, and a bunch of "I don’t know answers," I’m just glad I said "no thank you" before I got too far in the process. If you still chose to go this route, good luck, you will need it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • May 22, 2018

      Company Response from Vroom, Inc.

      Hi - we're sorry to hear about your experience. Our goal is to be as transparent as possible so we're sorry we fell short in your case. If there's anything we can do for you at this point, please let us know.

      Thanks,

      The Vroom team


  • Don't buy from Vroom

    Overall Experience:

    We ordered a car with Vroom trying to save some money, but it's worth it at all. This company is so big that it has a bureaucratic process. It took me almost two weeks to get the car delivered, plus they said that it will take another two weeks to get the car papers so I can register the car. Horrible customer service, horrible deliver people. I called like 20 times to make sure my car order was processed timely but they didn't care.

    Long story short, don't buy online. On the top of that, they charge 500 bucks for delivery. Go to a local dealer or buy local and get everything done in one day unless you have the time and patience to deal with these people.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • May 22, 2018

      Company Response from Vroom, Inc.

      Hi Edgar,

      Thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback. We're sorry to hear you didn't have a good experience. We'll share your comments with our team. If there's anything we can do for you at this point, please let us know.

      The Vroom team


  • Worst experience buying a car EVER, stay away at all costs!

    • By Cristina P,
    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Apr 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    My husband purchased a car from this "company" months ago and has never received a registration, resulting in months of getting pulled over for not having a valid registration. And we call them all the time and no one can ever assist with anything. They put you on hold and transfer you a million times and now they're saying there is an issue with the car and it might need to be bought back. It's been a truly horrific experience, and definitely not worth it, so go somewhere else to buy your car.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • May 22, 2018

      Company Response from Vroom, Inc.

      Hi Cristina,

      Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. We're sorry to hear about your experience. If we can escalate your issues at all at this point, please let us know.

      Thanks,

      The Vroom team


  • No car

    • By Don Moser,
    • Lowell, NC,
    • Mar 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    On 2/26 I placed a $500 deposit, on 2/27 I received the contract, and I returned the contract on 2/28. On 3/2 Vroom said by email that they were reviewing the contract. On 3/2 Vroom said by email that they were getting the vehicle registered. I have heard nothing from them since, and it is now 3/12. I have called and everyone I speak to knows nothing. I am starting to wonder if this is a scam. I want either a delivery date on the car or all my money back. Can anyone help without anyone giving me the runaround?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • May 22, 2018

      Company Response from Vroom, Inc.

      Hi Don,

      Thanks for leaving us your comments. We're sorry to hear about the lack of communication - this is something we are actively working on. We believe we may have communicated on another review site but please let us know if there's anything we can do for you at this point.

      Thanks,

      The Vroom team


  • I took a gamble, and it didn't pay off.

    Overall Experience:

    I bought a car through Vroom without seeing it. So far, the car arrived several weeks late. I still do not have tags for the car and the company I financed the car through is sending me daily email asking why Vroom has not sent me plates yet. My DMV recommended I hire a lawyer. I was promised a second key, and then after the car was delivered, told this was something I was going to have to pay for.

    It has arrived with multiple scratches and dents, as well as mechanical issues, all noted by the transporter on their 'drop off' sheet. Vroom has refused to support the repair of the vehicle, and now I am outside of the seven-day period...

    When I purchased through Vroom, I read the multiple negative reviews online and decided to 'give it a go' anyway.

    Had I known about all of these issues listed beforehand, I never would have purchased a vehicle through Vroom. Do what you will, but this company poses a risky business proposition...and I would never do this again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Insulted

    Overall Experience:

    When you write a 5 figure check for a late model luxury SUV, you have certain expectations of service after the sale. Not with my interactions with Vroom.

    I requested to service the vehicle for a noise I did not like when it was cold started in Denver winter conditions. I was told to get two estimates for repairs. The dealer I went to was 20 miles away, another dealer another 20 miles away. I resented jumping through hoops. I was going to keep this car authentic regarding parts and service. I requested from Michele Jackson CSR to have a supervisor contact me. For five days, any time I called I got a recorded message telling me all reps were busy and they would call back in an hour. Six calls and messages on the day I talked to the CSR, no responses. I sent an email, no response.

    The five day trial period has passed. I called the sales number and asked to be transferred to customer service. When connected I asked if their phone system was down. I was assured it wasn't. Adding insult to injury, Michele Jackson emailed me a week later saying she hadn't heard from me. I sent an appropriate reply. I also sent emails to the executive staff. There were six names on their website. Four messages bounced back, I know two got through.

    I am insulted by the treatment I have received from Vroom. Never again. I should have read all the negative reviews on Cars.com first. There were plenty of them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Leaking sunroof

    Overall Experience:

    I paid $35,000.00 for a truck and this winter it turns out that the sunroof leaks. I called Vroom, and they will not fix the problem. I would never, ever recommend them. And the Safeguard Insurance that they force on you is a joke too.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Beware!

    Overall Experience:

    I contacted them on 2/8 to initiate a purchase. They placed a $500 charged to my credit card to "hold" the car "until contract signed." The contract was signed and received by them on February 13th. The bank was paid in full on 2/15. Delivery was supposed to be 2/22. It is 3/1. No car. No refund. My emails are being returned undeliverable due to their inboxes "at capacity." My salesperson's email is currently deactivated. Getting anyone with any authority on the phone is impossible. I get told someone will contact me to address my concerns. Nobody calls. Nothing.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Vroom was great

    Overall Experience:

    I purchased a van through Vroom (lots of inventory to choose from). The only slight issue was it took a little longer to get to me than originally estimated, about 6 days longer, but everything else was great. I got financing at a 3.2% rate from Capital One, through Vroom, and I didn't have to go to a dealership where I have ALWAYS gotten screwed in the past.

    The van was super clean inside, and we love it. It showed up pretty dusty, so I had to run it through a car wash, but no biggie, it was a long trip! These people that get all bent out of shape over little stuff that goes wrong really annoy me. Vroom is a great service and I'll be using it again in a few months to replace my other car.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • May 22, 2018

      Company Response from Vroom, Inc.

      Hi Erik,

      Thanks for your review. We're happy to hear you had a great experience and will be returning for another car. We look forward to working with you again.

      Enjoy your ride!

      The Vroom team


Showing 331-341 of 380

Write a Review for Vroom!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Vroom Review: How It Works, Pros and Cons, Vroom vs. Carvana