About Zulily

Based out of Seattle, WA, Zulily provides moms, babies, and kids with daily deals on a wide variety of brands in categories such as women’s and children’s clothing, toys, housewares, and more. The company was founded in 2009, and has seen a significant amount of growth ever since.

Zulily holds an A rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on 93 closed complaints within the past three years. Based on our research, the company appears to have a mixed online reputation, with the most common complaints being substandard customer service, slow shipping, being billed for items twice, and poor quality merchandise. With this said, it appears Zulily is diligent in addressing any customer complaints and quickly solving their issues.

How Zulily Works

Zulily claims to “search far and wide” for the best deals, which change on a daily basis. In other words, one day you may find great deals on educational products, while the next day it may be focused on eco-friendly items. In order to begin receiving daily emails, you’ll need to sign up, which only involves entering your first and last names, your email address, and choosing a password. However, once you decide to purchase an item, you’ll also need to enter shipping and billing addresses, as well as payment information.

Whichever classes of items are being offered, Zulily calls their sales “events,” which begin each day at 6am PST. Some of these events only last one day, while some will last as long as 72 hours; some feature just a single brand or theme, while others will feature several. However long their events last though, once they’re done they’re done, and they often sell out prior to their end date. Because of this, the company recommends you take a look at your daily Zulily email early in the morning, and visit their site as often as you can. You can also use the Zulily app to shop from your mobile device while you’re on the go.

The Zulily website is divided into five main sections:

  1. New Today – This section features all the new events that started today.
  2. Best Sellers – Includes some of the most popular items on the site, as well as the date the events end.
  3. Last Day – Just like it sounds, this section features events that will expire today.
  4. Shop by Category – Choose from girls, boys, women, maternity & baby, home, and much more.
  5. Shop by Size – Sizes from infants to adults.

Whichever page you’re on, you’ll be able to see upcoming events for the next week. After click on one of the events, you’ll be able to view more detailed information, such as the brand and the general category.

Zulily Pricing, Shipping Options, & Refund Policy

Due to the large number of products offered by Zulily, prices can vary greatly, though a handy feature is the ability to earn $15 for each friend you refer. You won’t be charged sales tax on your order, unless you reside in Washington State, Nevada, or Ohio. Shipping charges vary depending on a wide variety of factors as well, though you’ll typically be presented with four options:

  1. Standard – Some items will include free shipping, which is usually sent via ground.
  2. Fast – Arrives in 6-11 days
  3. Faster – Arrives in 4-5 days
  4. Fastest – Arrives in 3-4 days

Obviously the faster the shipping method you choose, the more it will cost. However, you’ll be notified of all shipping charges prior to finalizing your order, which can be changed at any time.

One concern we noticed during our research is that Zulily’s return/refund policy seems very vague. According to the company’s FAQ, you’ll need to contact their Customer Service department if you’re unsatisfied with your products, and that they’re unable to accept returns on “intimate apparel, shapewear, swimsuits or rashguards, or any personalized items,” in addition to no exchanges. Other than this, no information is provided.

Pros:

  • Daily events/sales that feature a wide variety of products and brands.
  • Email alerts that provide insight into upcoming events.
  • Zulily offers a wide variety of brands across numerous categories.
  • The ability to earn $15 for every friend you refer.
  • The company appears to address customer complaints quickly.

Cons:

  • Primarily intended for women and children (very few men’s products).
  • Mixed online reviews, with some customers having complained of substandard customer service, slow shipping, being billed for items twice, and poor quality merchandise.
  • Vague return/refund policy.

Read Next: 6 Top Tips to Buying Pre-Owned Designer Clothing Online (That You’ll Actually Love)

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

152 Consumer Reviews for Zulily

Average Consumer Rating: 2.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 26 4 star: 9 3 star: 5 2 star: 16 1 star:  96
Bottom Line: 26% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 152
Sort reviews by:

  • 30 out 35 people found this review helpful

    Toxic smelling sheets

    • Fontana, CA,
    • Aug 13, 2015

    Long But worth the read. Be very aware of any sheets with no labeled company name that you try to order from Zulily. I received my order yesterday put them on my bed just before going to sleep. I'm not allergic to anything but while putting them on I started coughing and sneezing, the cough was a strong tickle nearly a choke, but I didn't think to think that it was from the sheets. Then I laid down and kept itching, and the room filled with a very strong toxic smell. I laid there for like 30 minutes or so trying to psych myself out that it couldn't be the sheets. So then I put a blanket on top to avoid the itching and said I would take them off and wash them in the morning, sure enough the itching stopped instantly but the smell was still there and getting worse.

    I started getting paranoid and feeling sick all at the same time. I had to remove all sheets and pillow cases and put them in the next room until the a.m. Then had to air out my room.

    This is ridiculous, it's now 2 a.m and the feeling it gave me kept me up researching reviews to see if this has happened to anyone else. It's very sad that Zulily would sell something so toxic and risk a person's health over a few money profit. I never take time to write a review whether good or bad and I am a frequent online shopper so take my word this is a (Very Serious issue). I will be contacting Zulily in the a.m. With prayers that they refund my money for these sheets and I throw them far far away. I wouldn't even take the risk of washing them then using them. Their lethal in my eyes and I'm being very serious. In fairness I placed like five orders with in one month. Yes shipping is horribly long but I did expect that based on what it says in the site. I have yet to receive a lot of the items but waiting patiently. Also I ordered some super cute leggings with crystal like buttons on the sides in two different colors.

    One pair was missing a button and it was so obvious. I called Zulily, the rep was beyond nice, she said she would give me a refund to my credit card, also a credit to Zulily and also to keep the leggings. That was great! I haven't received the refund yet but that was only a few days ago so I will stay in high hopes. My number two complaint is if you pay with a credit card. They charge your account to make sure the funds are there, then reverse the charge back to your bank account until it is ready to ship, then recharge your account which could be a month or so later, but the second time around they don't charge it as the total amount for that particular order as they did the first time. They charge per item shipped so if you have 20 items on that one order and they all have different shipping dates, then Zulily will charge your bank account 20 separate times. Really? They don't inform you of this in advance either.

    So here I am looking at my bank account with about 10 different charges and It looked like someone had hacked into my Zulily account and started making unauthorized charges. I called about this and they said by law they can't charge the account before shipping? Hmmm never had any problems with Amazon? Or the likes of any other company for that matter. I was still willing to give them a try after that because customer service was extremely nice. But after this smell and my life and health being at stake, I'm so over it. I'm sad about it. I really wanted them to work out, but after reading reviews after the fact (Shame on me) seems like there hurting people more so than making Satisfied Customers, to create longevity within their business.

    Oh well, God exposes all things in due time. If they are purposely selling low quality unsafe products and portraying selling it as brand items at a discounted price then they might just find themselves with a class action lawsuit. Especially if they end up selling these toxic products to hmm lets say an attorney or a doctor. Sad thing is I would have never wrote a review over the other mishaps, but I refuse to get sick or die from some sheets nor let anyone else. It's hours later and I still have a headache.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • May 9, 2014

      Assandria,

      It's ridiculous - the multiple charges and they back you into a corner, forcing you to buy things immediately so you don't lose it, thus causing as you said a list of Zulily's purchases that looks like someone hacked your account. My credit card actually put a STOP on it and wouldn't authorize anymore transactions because they probably thought that very same thing. I had to use another credit card to make the purchase as that one stopped all authorizations to Zulily because I had so many one after another.

      But since they don't give you the luxury of shopping and keeping things in your cart till you are finished but have to worry someone will swipe it out of your cart at any moment, then the only wan to secure that you really will get the item is to buy it, creating sometimes 20 or more transactions. If you are buying a lot of small things, or building a wardrobe or whatever. I thought these were designer brands at a discount which is why we must put up with all these issues like no returns - (no returns makes it SO difficult to shop) and a million Zulilly's transactions on your credit card. But if they are not designer clothes at a discount, but really junk substandard clothes masked as designer ones (such as your sheets sound like) then those other "cons" don't make it worth the "pros" at all. Actually that would leave NO pros whatsoever if these are really cheap clothes from a sweatshop. Every page of every item says no returns despite what the FAQ says, which is basically a lot of words that say nothing at all. Every item I looked at said "non-returnable."

    • Oct 6, 2014

      Theresa,

      Always wash your sheets before putting them on your bed. The manufacturers soak them in formaldehyde to make them crisp, fold properly and non wrinkled when you get them. Washing anything before you use it is a good idea. You don't know who's been trying it on and what skin rash they have, how many times it landed on the floor before you bought it, the list goes on and on.

    • Oct 27, 2014

      Barbara,

      What? You purchase sheets (or clothes) and don't wash them before using? No telling what happened with them before they were packaged. The sheets may not smell the best, but you need to check your common sense. I don't suppose you wash fruits and vegetables before eating them do you?

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 23 out 23 people found this review helpful

    Six weeks and no delivery in sight or refund!

    • Chester Springs, PA,
    • Jun 7, 2015

    I have copied and pasted the latest response from a customer service employee of Zulily. The items he mentioned as being updated on October 15th, is not true. My last update via their company hyperlink was a "preparing for shipment on October 6th." Today's update stated that the items are in transit to Zulily, not to my home. These items were ordered and paid for on September 9th (39 days ago), with no delivery date in sight.

    The response below is a condescending and ignorant one. Instant gratification? No. I just simply want a refund of my hard earned money on items that are already three weeks past due on their two to three week delivery estimates. Perhaps Kain (really?) lives in a magical world. Most of us live in the real world.

    I'm eternally regretting doing business with Zulily.

    Kain G. (zulily)

    Hello Kim,

    I do apologize for your items being delayed. I am a person of instant gratification myself. When I order something, I would like it sooner than later. I believe this is simply human nature - so I can empathize with you there. This delay has more than doubled the expected time to receive your items and for that I am eternally sorry.

    The last update on your items was actually October 15, 2014. They indicated they are in the last stages of processing and are preparing to ship out very, very soon. I appreciate your patience in this matter. I do not fault you one bit for being a little upset with our company. Since you have been such a super sport about it, I am issuing you $10 store credit for this unfortunate and unforeseen delay. I do hope that you continue to shop with us as we value every member of our magical Zulily family.

    You can call us at 877-779-5615 Monday-Friday from 5am - 9pm PT, Saturday & Sunday from 5am-7pm pt, or email service@zulily.com anytime. Thank you again for shopping with Zulily. Have a magical day.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 27, 2014

      Brenda,

      That correspondence is more than horrible. Instant gratification? Such a super sport about it? OMG It sounds like a guy sitting on the couch in his underwear and using his laptop.

    • Jan 12, 2015

      Kim,

      Wow, how condescending! OMG- call the CC company and block any further charges. Just wow.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Items, Shipping and Policies are not as they seem

    • Denver, CO,
    • Dec 9, 2014

    After waiting 6 weeks for my order, I received two items of the 6 or 7 I ordered and they are AWFUL, poor sizing, and the materials are cheap and poorly made.

    Before I ordered I made sure to check the return policy: "If you're disappointed with your order, please contact our Customer Service team. We are never able to accept returns on intimate apparel, shape-wear, swimsuits or rash guards, or any personalized items. Unfortunately we are also unable to facilitate exchanges."

    I didn't order intimates, swimsuits, shareware, rash guards or customized items and yet the person who got back to me said they don't typically accept returns but would make an acceptation for these items. Also, they stated that they could not guarantee the same for the other items I ordered at the same time but still have not received. IRRITATING!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 21 out 21 people found this review helpful

    No Zulily. Worse than scam

    • Montgomery, AL,
    • Jul 9, 2015

    I ordered two items and after finishing the order, it shows "free shipping" for next order and I purchased one more item. However, they charged shipping and even after talking with customer service, they keep saying it can't be undone because my package is already shipped. I made second order right after first order so it was only a 1-2 minute difference. I also paid for Christmas delivery guaranteed shipping but item will be delivered by Jan. 2015. What?

    1. Long shipping period (more than 1 month)
    2. Huge shipping Fee No combined shipping even though they are saying ship will be combined for free but they treat it individually and don't care afterward - meaning that after they charge you, they will not refund or credit you back.

    No guarantee for shipping they charged more money for Christmas delivery but it will actually come by January.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 16 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Terrible sizing for plus sizes

    • Pleasanton, CA,
    • Aug 18, 2015

    I purchased several items from Zulilly, and all the items were too small. I can walk into any retail store and purchase an XXL (like at Old Navy or Loft) and have the item fit. A size twice at Macy's or Nordstrom always fits. The items I purchased from Zulilly were at least two sizes too small despite being labeled twice. Do not believe them when they say they have plus size garments.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 14 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Low quality products that you can't return

    • Ann Arbor, MI,
    • Jul 13, 2015

    I've ordered from Zulily several times. The quality of the products varies widely, especially the sizing. Having read reviews of the company and knowing that many customers have complained of small sizing, I ordered larger than what I usually buy. I ordered a pair of shoes that were a half size larger and they ended up being tiny. At least a full size smaller than my actual size. I also ordered bras in 36D. The bras I received were so small, it was comical. Obviously Zulily is selling clothing intended for the Asian market. I would definitely not recommend shopping here unless you want to end up with a bunch of too-small crap you can't return.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 15 people found this review helpful

    No perks or customer service.

    • Dallas, TX,
    • Jun 8, 2015

    I’ve placed multiple ORDERS, some twice within a week. Per Zulily shipping policy, it takes at least 16 days for an order to ship, with that process any order placed within a 15 day time frame should be free. Shiloh was the representative I spoke with, he’s in the wrong line of work, perhaps a crooked politician would be his best attribute in life. The speech was lack luster to say the least and he repeatedly talked over me. Run for dog catcher in your town Shiloh if you want to speak crap!

    In short, nothing is offered for a frequent customer, with the same address who orders repeatedly from your site. You guys offer discounted items, but so does Macy’s, Amazon, Steinmart, and so on. When you start focusing on customer service and hire representatives that speak in a tone that’s customer friendly then I’ll return as a customer. Until then, KICK ROCKS ZULILY!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 21 out 21 people found this review helpful

    Pretty but deceiving

    • Georgia,
    • Jul 22, 2015

    I bought two lovely blouses size M. What I finally received, longer than two months later, was blouses probably sized for tiny Asian ladies or children. Their sizes appear to run very small, the quality is very poor. No size tags anywhere inside the items. I got stuck with two blouses I cannot wear and unable to return. I will never buy another item from them again! I will not recommend Zulily. Very sad. Good quality, promptness in delivery, and an effort to satisfy customers are key ingredients for success in an honest business. I am very, very disappointed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 18 out 19 people found this review helpful

    Wrong items shipped, broken items, no refunds or exchanges

    • May 2, 2015

    I have ordered from Zulily several times over the past 3 years. I have had several occasions where I would order something intending to give it as a gift, wait several weeks, then receive an email that the item was no longer available. Once I ordered a video camera for my daughter for Christmas and it was broken right out of the package. Zulily would not exchange or accept the return. There was one time I ordered shoes and they were labeled incorrectly and they were about 2 sizes smaller than they should have been but Zulily would not accept a return, even though I called them immediately to explain the problem.

    Today I had another issue. I had ordered 2 pair of the same boots for my daughter, in european size 23 and 24. I checked out the order when it arrived to make sure it was right and the boxes correctly indicated size 23 and size 24. My daughter loves these boots and wore the size 23 boots every day. They are now worn out and she is ready for the size 24 boots, so I got them out of the box only to find a pair of the same boots in size 22! I called Zulily to explain and they were unable to exchange since it's been so long since I ordered them. They were also unwilling to refund what I paid for them. This company is completely unwilling to offer decent customer service. I do not recommend anyone order anything from them if they want to be confident they will get what they ordered or be able to get their money back!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 28 out 29 people found this review helpful

    SORRY

    • San Antonio, TX,
    • Jun 1, 2015

    I bought several dresses and tops at the same time. BIG mistake. The first two dresses were great. They fit just fine. Next came a blouse that barely covers my breasts. Then the dresses I ordered came and they fit like tops, no way could they be dresses. I went back to check the pictures and descriptions to see if I had mistaken tops for dresses. No, they are shown as dresses. Big lesson learned, I won't buy anything else from Zulily and I tell everyone not to buy from them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 30 out 33 people found this review helpful

    Customer service wants me to pay for an item 4 times due to shipping error.

    • Colorado,
    • Jun 27, 2015

    Re: Collapse It Bowls.

    Unfortunately I was only shipped one item in this “set of six” order. I contacted Zulily customer service and they kindly resent another order (set of six) at no charge. Again, I only received one item. I contacted Zulily customer service wanting the additional four items sent overnight because at this point I needed the products ASAP, since they were intended to be given as a gift. Here is where the trouble began. Zulily initially wanted me to pay an additional $119.00 for the already purchased four items. Their reasoning is that they credited me $60.00 for the original purchase plus $20.00 for overnight service. Somehow Zulily figured each bowl must cost $40.00 apiece. I insisted that since I had already paid for a set of six plus shipping they should credit the entire order – is that unreasonable?

    Evidently it is by Zulily standards because in the end I had to pay $20.00 shipping to get the items (needed as a gift). So in effect, if you order this set of six ‘Collapse It’ bowls, expect to pay 50% more than the advertised price to get the product – nice work if you can get it. FYI, it would be less expensive to order from Crate & Barrel. Additionally, I asked Tracy, the last customer service manager I spoke with at Zulily for the name of her supervisor so I could try to work out this issue and she flat out refused to give me the name of someone I could contact.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 152

Write a Review for Zulily!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review