What Is Wish.com?

By HighYa Staff
Updated on: May 1, 2018

Founded in 2011 by former Google and Yahoo engineers, Wish.com is a direct-from-China bargain hunting website that features hundreds of different stores and millions of products from all over the world.

Compared to other “online shopping malls,” Wish.com allows you to personalize your shopping experience using their unique algorithm that recommends products based on your past purchases, as well as products you view and reject (more about this in a moment). You can even save your favorite products to your Wishlist and buy later, or share them with others through Facebook.

But you’re not stuck browsing items on your computer, because Wish.com also offers apps for iOS, Android, Windows, and Amazon devices. Taken together, the company claims to make shopping fun!

There’s no doubt that shopping can be enjoyable (that’s why they call it ‘retail therapy’!). But just because Wish.com might be enjoyable—not to mention their rock-bottom prices—does this mean you’ll get a good value? Or, will you wait a long time, only to end up with junk? We’ll cover your most important questions here.

To start things off, let’s begin from square one: How to set up your Wish.com account.

How Does Wish.com Work?

The first thing you’ll notice after landing on the Wish.com website is that you have to set up an account before browsing their products. This involves entering your email address, first and last name, and choosing a password.

In our experience, this seems to be a trend with many of these online discount marketplaces, but we think it’s a little annoying. In our mind, you should have the opportunity to learn whether or not you like a website before handing over your personal information.

At any rate, you’ll then need to enter your birthdate and gender in order to help the site “find products you love.” Remember that algorithm we talked about above? This is where it starts by tailoring your results based on your age and gender. Then, as you browse and view different items, the algorithm will continue refining your selections.

Wish.com’s home page will display their most recent listings, but you can also narrow your search by category (e.g. fashion, accessories, gadgets, etc.), or by product type (e.g. shoes, tops, underwear, and so forth).

If you come across a product you might be interested in, simply click on it and a separate window will appear with a description, pictures, and price. Here, you’ll also be able to view shipping charges, estimated arrival times, previous customer ratings and reviews about the product (as well as the store/seller itself), view related products, and more.

Wish.com's Product DescriptionAn example of what you’ll see after clicking on an item, including product and store ratings, shipping information, and more.

From here, you can buy the item or save it to your Wishlist. If you haven’t created a Wishlist yet, you’ll be prompted to do so, which only involves choosing a name for your list and pressing enter.

Under your account, you can create multiple Wishlists and add or delete items as you see fit. Wish.com also gives you the ability to follow your friends and view their Wishlists, and even make Birthday Wishlists that can be shared to Facebook.

What Products Does Wish.com Sell

Signing up for a Wish.com account is completely free, and you won’t have to pay anything until you decide to buy.

As we noted above, Wish.com features products from a wide range of categories, from gadgets to fashion—and even some products that defy categorization.

Overall though, they seem to specialize in inexpensive electronics and gadgets sourced from overseas (most of which are knockoffs of popular products from mainstream companies, such as smartwatches intended to look like an Apple Watch), Bluetooth earbuds, action cameras (knockoffs of GoPro cameras), storage media (USB flash drives), cables, and speakers. For the most part, the site’s products are less than $100, and usually fall somewhere between $5 and $50.

Pro tip: According to a recent Wall Street Journal article, “Mr. Szulczewski [one of the company’s co-founders] said Wish vendors are free to price goods and make claims about discounts as they see fit.” As such, you’ll want to take any listed retail prices (the crossed-out number in the picture above) with a grain of salt.

Since Wish.com only acts as a marketplace for other sellers, each listing comes with its own shipping charges, although we found free shipping to be the norm.

As you browse Wish.com, add items to your Wishlists, and purchase products, you’ll earn rewards in the form of gift cards, which can be viewed in the Wallet section of your account. These gift cards expire within a few days, so be sure to use yours as soon as you get them!

All products purchased through Wish.com come with a 30-day refund policy (from the date of delivery), less S&H charges. In order to initiate a refund, “Simply click on ‘Contact Support’ next to the item you wish to request a return or a refund.”

But is it really this simple? What are customers saying?

A Look at the Reviews and Complaints About Wish.com

You probably understand that, for the most part, you get what you pay for. But despite their ultra-low prices, does Wish.com rank high on the list of their customers?

On ComplaintsBoard, there were dozens of customer complaints about Wish.com, including unauthorized transactions soon after placing an order, poor quality products (especially related to electronics), long shipping times (as you can see from the picture above, it could take a month or more to arrive), difficulty obtaining a refund, and poor customer service.

Wish.com, based out of San Francisco, CA, also had an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau at the time of our research, based on 1,144 closed complaints (as of 5/1/18). Nearly all of these appeared to reference difficulty obtaining refunds, and the company’s tendency to continuously send automated email responses to very specific requests.

But what about Wish.com’s apps? In contrast to their business model, their apps were rated highly, earning 4.5 stars on Google Play based on more than 5 million votes, and another 4.5-star rating on iTunes, based on 53,500 reviews.

Is Wish.com Legit?

There’s an old project management saying that goes: You have the option of fast, good and cheap. Pick two.

And in the instance of Wish.com, nearly all of the emphasis is placed on ‘cheap,’ basically to the exclusion of ‘fast’ and ‘good.’ So, although you’ll be getting rock-bottom prices, you’ll have to wait a very long time to receive your order, and in general, the product(s) will probably be of less-than-stellar quality.

On top of this, should anything go wrong with your order, you might experience difficulty getting in contact with the original seller (remember, Wish.com only acts as a storefront, but doesn’t sell items directly). And if you need to get Wish.com involved, many customers have complained that they weren’t much more help.

Taking all of this together, Wish.com certainly isn’t a scam, although many of their vendors could be. After all, they’re probably located overseas and completely anonymous (at least to customers), and it’s not clear if they’re required to go through any kind of vetting process before opening their Wish.com store.

Despite this gamble, Wish.com has millions of fans who regularly buy from their vendors, and sing praises about the products they purchased and the ultra-low prices they received. Only you will be able to understand whether or not it’s worth taking the risk.

» For Further Reading:

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

756 Consumer Reviews for Wish.com

Average Consumer Rating: 2.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 124 4 star: 62 3 star: 37 2 star: 46 1 star:  487
Bottom Line: 28% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 756
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    They ripped me off

    • Daytona Beach, FL,
    • Nov 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Buyer BEWARE, they charged my bank $31.00, $11.00, $23.00, and $8.00 for items. Free shipping is not this much. Make sure to check your bank statements. I will never order anything again. Go to Tophatter and shop; they don't pull this kind of FAKE SPAM. They ripped me off big time.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Unreliable service

    • Florida,
    • Nov 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought an item with them. This one never arrived to my home, so I requested a refund. Well, guess what? They decided not to give me my money back even though I have been writing to them about the situation and the due date for a refund has not passed yet. In summary, Wish tricked me out and stole my money. Very unreliable!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Not shopping again in Wish.com

    • London, England,
    • Nov 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Items are affordable, but that comes at a high price. My experience using this app was terrible. Deliveries come most of the time after the expected date. I had +9 items lost, that were sent to an unknown incorrect address. Refunds are not easy to get in those cases. The UX of making claims is super bureaucratic. When you want to make a claim, you never have an actual human customer representative to talk with, and you have to make a new ticket per item. When there is an actual human and you explain that your issue and that you already checked in the surrounding areas, contacted post office, they just recommend you to do that as they were not listening to you. Nobody responds to emails. Contact information is hidden or not visible on their website.

    If you want to do refunds because of that, you can do with some but then your account is flagged and you cannot contact support anymore. There is no guarantee you will receive the actual items. I suspect that is part of their business model. I had been dealing with customer support for more than a month, and the issue is still unsolved. I hope this helps new users. DO NOT USE Wish.com. I will only recommend this app to my worst enemy.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Shame on you

    • France,
    • Nov 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I can’t believe how they are stealing money from their customers. The delivery price very very misleading, like all clothing and footwear. I never checked my purchase price before paying, but now I do, and then I discover their company tricks. One price on the web with a picture for product and delivery, but when I push the button pay, the price for delivery and product goes up double or triple times. I complained before but the answer was unacceptable. I hope I will have a good talk with their company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • Largo, FL,
    • Nov 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've also been flagged for "excessive refunds." Of the two orders I've mentioned, placed more than five weeks ago, what I have received has been defective. Also, it shows items supposedly received that were not received and Wish won't do anything about them. Save your money! I'll be disputing the two charges with my bank. Seriously a complete rip-off! How they manage to get away with this crap is unbelievable.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Complaint regarding order

    • Polokwane, South Africa,
    • Nov 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I placed and PAID for my order on the 17th of June 2018.

    Unfortunately, I have been experiencing many problems with my cell phone and only could put the Wish app on a loan phone in late September.

    I contacted Wish support with regards to my order and informed them I had not received it yet. According to Wish, my arrival date was the 12th of August 2018.

    An automated message kept saying my request for a refund is too late. What service is it if you only get one sentence answers from a machine.

    I have tried a couple of times to see where I can actually contact a real person! To no avail.

    To this day, I have not received any of the products I have ordered.

    This is unacceptable. I will be telling anyone who will listen about my bad experience and even worse customer support I have received from with.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    This place is a fraud.

    • Florida,
    • Nov 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I can’t stand Wish. They will tell you the item was sent to the wrong address and won’t refund your money. I can’t believe people actually order from this God awful place. I am disgusted how they can stay in business. Stay away from this place. Frauds.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 13, 2018

      Woodrow V.

      I ordered over $20 from Wish.com, I kept on waiting for them to come in. Now they tell me they cannot give me a refund, and that is well over $300.00 they got me from me.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Be careful shopping at Wish

    • Oregon,
    • Nov 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Be careful shopping on Wish. I received three items that were coming apart at the seams, got a refund. Ordered about other 10 tops, the sizes are way smaller than what our sizes here are and 2 items I didn't even receive. I didn't ask for a refund on the way too small clothing, about 8 items were way smaller than what I ordered, even though I ordered way bigger than what I normally wear. I gave them away. I let them know for a month now that I haven't received 2 of the items, but they wouldn't refund saying I've had too many refunds and that the items will be here soon. Now I go up, and it says I'm past the refund date. I won't be ordering from them anymore!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Absolutely shocking service.

    • Glasgow, Scotland,
    • Nov 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Please be aware when buying from this site. Firstly, when goods arrive, you will find yourself binning them as I did. I have purchased many items only for them to break or just not fit for purpose. They also took 47 Pounds from my account that I didn't spend and now refuse to contact me with an explanation. Once again I warn you, BEWARE OF THIS SITE.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Disappointing experience

    • Queensland, Australia,
    • Nov 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Such a disappointing experience. I placed a big order on the 13th of October and they canceled it on the 18th with no explanation and no notice. I was waiting for products that were never going to arrive. Pathetic response to emails. Avoid this online store and shop somewhere else. Don't waste your time, there are plenty of places to purchase these types of products.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Legitimate scam

    • Canada,
    • Nov 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The products are nothing like the pictures and poor quality. DO NOT buy from here. Deliveries take forever as well. I will not buy from here again or recommend this site to others.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 756

Write a Review for Wish.com!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review