About Zulily

Based out of Seattle, WA, Zulily provides moms, babies, and kids with daily deals on a wide variety of brands in categories such as women’s and children’s clothing, toys, housewares, and more. The company was founded in 2009, and has seen a significant amount of growth ever since.

Zulily holds an A rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on 93 closed complaints within the past three years. Based on our research, the company appears to have a mixed online reputation, with the most common complaints being substandard customer service, slow shipping, being billed for items twice, and poor quality merchandise. With this said, it appears Zulily is diligent in addressing any customer complaints and quickly solving their issues.

How Zulily Works

Zulily claims to “search far and wide” for the best deals, which change on a daily basis. In other words, one day you may find great deals on educational products, while the next day it may be focused on eco-friendly items. In order to begin receiving daily emails, you’ll need to sign up, which only involves entering your first and last names, your email address, and choosing a password. However, once you decide to purchase an item, you’ll also need to enter shipping and billing addresses, as well as payment information.

Whichever classes of items are being offered, Zulily calls their sales “events,” which begin each day at 6am PST. Some of these events only last one day, while some will last as long as 72 hours; some feature just a single brand or theme, while others will feature several. However long their events last though, once they’re done they’re done, and they often sell out prior to their end date. Because of this, the company recommends you take a look at your daily Zulily email early in the morning, and visit their site as often as you can. You can also use the Zulily app to shop from your mobile device while you’re on the go.

The Zulily website is divided into five main sections:

  1. New Today – This section features all the new events that started today.
  2. Best Sellers – Includes some of the most popular items on the site, as well as the date the events end.
  3. Last Day – Just like it sounds, this section features events that will expire today.
  4. Shop by Category – Choose from girls, boys, women, maternity & baby, home, and much more.
  5. Shop by Size – Sizes from infants to adults.

Whichever page you’re on, you’ll be able to see upcoming events for the next week. After click on one of the events, you’ll be able to view more detailed information, such as the brand and the general category.

Zulily Pricing, Shipping Options, & Refund Policy

Due to the large number of products offered by Zulily, prices can vary greatly, though a handy feature is the ability to earn $15 for each friend you refer. You won’t be charged sales tax on your order, unless you reside in Washington State, Nevada, or Ohio. Shipping charges vary depending on a wide variety of factors as well, though you’ll typically be presented with four options:

  1. Standard – Some items will include free shipping, which is usually sent via ground.
  2. Fast – Arrives in 6-11 days
  3. Faster – Arrives in 4-5 days
  4. Fastest – Arrives in 3-4 days

Obviously the faster the shipping method you choose, the more it will cost. However, you’ll be notified of all shipping charges prior to finalizing your order, which can be changed at any time.

One concern we noticed during our research is that Zulily’s return/refund policy seems very vague. According to the company’s FAQ, you’ll need to contact their Customer Service department if you’re unsatisfied with your products, and that they’re unable to accept returns on “intimate apparel, shapewear, swimsuits or rashguards, or any personalized items,” in addition to no exchanges. Other than this, no information is provided.

Pros:

  • Daily events/sales that feature a wide variety of products and brands.
  • Email alerts that provide insight into upcoming events.
  • Zulily offers a wide variety of brands across numerous categories.
  • The ability to earn $15 for every friend you refer.
  • The company appears to address customer complaints quickly.

Cons:

  • Primarily intended for women and children (very few men’s products).
  • Mixed online reviews, with some customers having complained of substandard customer service, slow shipping, being billed for items twice, and poor quality merchandise.
  • Vague return/refund policy.

Read Next: 6 Top Tips to Buying Pre-Owned Designer Clothing Online (That You’ll Actually Love)

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

133 Consumer Reviews for Zulily

Average Consumer Rating: 2.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 25 4 star: 6 3 star: 4 2 star: 15 1 star:  83
Bottom Line: 26% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 133
Sort reviews by:

  • Don’t, just don’t!

    • Utah,
    • Jul 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered three items around Christmas time last year. I returned them all. Terrible quality! Not sure where made or what material the fabric was made from. Of course I didn’t read the fine print. So I had a credit. I thought I would buy only brands I knew. I bought shoes...again, terrible quality and fit, but they were brands I had heard of. I sent them back. Still credit minus the shipping. I placed an order of three items over a month ago. I received only one item so far. A Tag pillow. Terrible quality...not finished properly. I am so frustrated I don’t even care about the $136.00 credit I still have. Don’t even buy from Zulily and get in this trap! The pictures and descriptions are deceiving!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    They are NOT the company they used to be

    • Nebraska,
    • Jul 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I started ordering from Zulily in 2014. The deals were incredible, and if something arrived broken or damaged (which happened about every third order on average), customer service immediately gave a store credit if they couldn't replace the item AND gave an additional $10 credit for the inconvenience. At the time, they didn't accept returns of any kind. Pretty legit customer service practices, so I never worried about my purchases.

    Yes, some items were cheaply made, yes, some items were not quite as described, but for the price, it was worth the gamble to me. Over the past four years, I have spent around $15,000 or more with them. Some things I kept, some I resold if the quality and price point were right. But that all ended recently.

    I had noticed a steady decline in both customer service and the quality of the goods over the years. I started receiving items that look like they were returns and had been used, or at the very least opened and repackaged. Fitted sheets that the stitching holding in the elastic came undone after one wash, shoes with scuff marks on them, jewelry that looked like it came from a gumball machine.

    When I would receive these items, I would call and explain they were damaged. No problem until they started doing returns. I was told I had to return the damaged items but would not be reimbursed for shipping. Why? I'm not the one who damaged it and their policy before had been to refund and give an additional credit. She said that was the OLD policy and that they would pay for return shipping this one time for me...great...thanks.

    I also have to add that I started seeing a lot of the jewelry they sell available on Wish, or the Ali Express China direct ordering apps. These supposed great deals from Zulily, and listed as a third party brand (ZAD and Elly & Ella are two examples), I could get through them for 80% less than Zulily but wait the SAME amount of time for them.

    The one positive I will say is this. I will still shop with them for tried and trusted name brands that I am familiar with. I check the Zulily price, then go to the brand's website and see what they are selling it for. With the exception of brand name purses (Kate Spade, Coach, etc., go to Poshmark for better deals), they beat the brand's price on their website and other main retailers usually by 30% or more, even when it's on final clearance. Steve Madden, Modcloth clothing brand suppliers, Crocs, Ann Cole, Lucky and Kut from the Kloth Jean's, etc. They don't always carry these brands and you have to sift through a lot of cheaply made items from China or Taiwan crap, but go to the search feature and see what you can find. Sometimes it's definitely worth it!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Horrible business, stay away! Really.

    • Fresno, CA,
    • Jul 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I never received the items ordered; I kept getting excuses such as "customs issues" and "technical glitches." I emailed them at least seven times and they told me that I was "confused" about the arrival date. I called four times. Then, finally said that they would refund me, but they never did, and then again, a "technical glitch."

    Do NOT order from this company; they are dishonest, liars, and cheaters. Yes, the website makes it looks amazing, but it is the worst shopping experience ever, and I question if they even have the items they purport to sell. I think it's a scam. I cannot say enough negative things about them. Any positive reviews must be fake or paid.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Don’t buy anything from them

    • Katy, TX,
    • Jul 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    They claim that the item is returnable and when you return the item they deduct the cost of the shipping from your money and they actually keep the refund as a credit store to force you to buy from more from them. The material is cheap. The size is off. The service is horrible. They are way, way expensive for their cheap material. I will never buy anything else after they stole my money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Slow delivery and bad return policy

    • Texas,
    • Jul 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I recently bought three pairs of shoes from Zulily. I received them rather quickly, but when I tried them on, none of them fit. They were too small. I had to return all of them.

    When I sent them back, I looked back at the website to maybe just get an exchange, but they didn't have a single pair in a size larger available. So I asked for a refund. I had to pay to ship the shoes back to them and got nothing in return. So, I pretty much gave them around $5.00 for shipping and got nothing. I normally wear a size 8 in all of my shoes, but none of those shoes fit. I should have just kept all three pairs and sold them online. I would have at least got something out of the deal instead of having to pay for nothing.

    To add insult to injury, instead of refunding my credit card for the cost of the shoes, they gave me a credit to Zulily. I returned to the site and decided that shoes were not a thing to buy on Zulily so I purchased some kitchen items. I order those 18 days ago and they still have not even been received at zulily. It just shouldn't take 3 weeks to get a credit item that I didn't even really want in the first place, but had to buy something in order to receive my credit and not get ripped of any further. No wonder they are having problems competing with other online companies.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Zulily review

    • North Carolina,
    • Jun 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Zulilly customer service has always been pleasant. I have ordered with them for two years now. Should a product not fit, they have prompt returns. Customer service is always willing to make it right with the consumer. Products have been of good and lasting quality. Returns have been corrected and accepted in a timely manner.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    I love Zulily

    • Florida,
    • Jun 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I love shopping at Zulily. It's my favorite site. I have gotten great shoes and clothes, housewares from this site. Not once have I been disappointed. Also, when one of my orders seemed to be taking a long time they emailed me letting me know if it was not released in a couple of days they would issue me a full refund.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Liars

    • Colorado,
    • May 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been back and forth with Zulily about a refund on a pair of shoes.

    First of all, the size guide was not correct. So I called them to let them know I need to return an item. They said they would send me a mailing label to send the shoes back. They told me to call them when I sent them so they can track the return. And if I called them, I would get the refund for the shoes and shipping. I called them twice and both times I was told they were unable to track the shoes.

    A couple of weeks later I get an email saying they received the shoes and I was getting a FULL refund. It even showed the full amount. They gave me two odd refunds but none equaling the amount of the shoes alone. I emailed them at least 8 times, and of course, you don't get them same numbnuts. The answer was the same each time and they make you feel like a total idiots.

    I finally sent them a copy of the email that said I was to receive a full refund. So finally they said they would give me the rest of the refund for the shoes only. Which I still haven't received by the way. So Zulily, you can suck it! You rip people off.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Unreliable and poorer quality than advertised

    • Atlanta, GA,
    • May 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Shopping online is REALLY difficult, even with the best sites. They all have size charts, but it's rare to find one that's actually accurate. The same goes for Zulily. I ordered two products using the same size chart. One was too small, the other was too big.

    With any other retailer, I would just send it back and request a different size. But not with Zulily. First, they don't have any "exchange" option that I can find. You return the item and then have to buy another one. Second, they take the shipping cost out of your return. For me, this has wound up being about 40% of the cost. Which HIGHLY reduces the chance of me ordering another size, because what if it doesn't fit, either? I'm not paying EXTRA money just to find up with nothing.

    I realize that accepting returns is a pain for the company, but that's what you're asking for if you can't get your act together and create a RELIABLE size chart.

    For the record, their shoes aren't much better than their clothes.

    As others mentioned, it also takes way longer to get your order than it does at other retailers.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    If you can take the bad with the good then ok

    Zulily really has some cute stuff that you don't see on other sites. The biggest and most important to me is it takes forever to get your items. I ordered five items on March 31st and today is April 20th and I have only received one of the five. I am used to other online stores shipping the items and getting them within a couple of days.

    The other issue is taking a chance the clothing items I ordered for the kids will fit. They have a no return policy.

    I didn't realize all this before. I guess shame on me. I should have done more research, but now that I know it is HIGHLY unlikely I will ever order from Zulily again.

    But if you don't mind waiting a long time and know you're stuck with an item, then have at it.

    Again I wish they would do some changes because they really do have some neat stuff.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    It's a mixed bag

    • Monroe, WI,
    • Apr 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have placed eight orders with Zulily over the last couple months, purchasing a number of items for an upcoming trip overseas. The merchandise has been a really mixed bag of good and bad. The name brands - Flitflop, Propet, Ruby Rd. and Cutter & Buck have all been fine. So have a couple of the "unknowns." But some of the other unknown items have been awful - chintzy fabric and construction, too small or too large and non-colorfast jeans with dye that rubs off on my hands and legs.

    I think the lesson is that old adage "you get what you pay for." I'll probably order again, I have some substantial credit, after all. But I'll stick to the name brands.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 133

Write a Review for Zulily!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review