About Zulily

Based out of Seattle, WA, Zulily provides moms, babies, and kids with daily deals on a wide variety of brands in categories such as women’s and children’s clothing, toys, housewares, and more. The company was founded in 2009, and has seen a significant amount of growth ever since.

Zulily holds an A rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on 93 closed complaints within the past three years. Based on our research, the company appears to have a mixed online reputation, with the most common complaints being substandard customer service, slow shipping, being billed for items twice, and poor quality merchandise. With this said, it appears Zulily is diligent in addressing any customer complaints and quickly solving their issues.

How Zulily Works

Zulily claims to “search far and wide” for the best deals, which change on a daily basis. In other words, one day you may find great deals on educational products, while the next day it may be focused on eco-friendly items. In order to begin receiving daily emails, you’ll need to sign up, which only involves entering your first and last names, your email address, and choosing a password. However, once you decide to purchase an item, you’ll also need to enter shipping and billing addresses, as well as payment information.

Whichever classes of items are being offered, Zulily calls their sales “events,” which begin each day at 6am PST. Some of these events only last one day, while some will last as long as 72 hours; some feature just a single brand or theme, while others will feature several. However long their events last though, once they’re done they’re done, and they often sell out prior to their end date. Because of this, the company recommends you take a look at your daily Zulily email early in the morning, and visit their site as often as you can. You can also use the Zulily app to shop from your mobile device while you’re on the go.

The Zulily website is divided into five main sections:

  1. New Today – This section features all the new events that started today.
  2. Best Sellers – Includes some of the most popular items on the site, as well as the date the events end.
  3. Last Day – Just like it sounds, this section features events that will expire today.
  4. Shop by Category – Choose from girls, boys, women, maternity & baby, home, and much more.
  5. Shop by Size – Sizes from infants to adults.

Whichever page you’re on, you’ll be able to see upcoming events for the next week. After click on one of the events, you’ll be able to view more detailed information, such as the brand and the general category.

Zulily Pricing, Shipping Options, & Refund Policy

Due to the large number of products offered by Zulily, prices can vary greatly, though a handy feature is the ability to earn $15 for each friend you refer. You won’t be charged sales tax on your order, unless you reside in Washington State, Nevada, or Ohio. Shipping charges vary depending on a wide variety of factors as well, though you’ll typically be presented with four options:

  1. Standard – Some items will include free shipping, which is usually sent via ground.
  2. Fast – Arrives in 6-11 days
  3. Faster – Arrives in 4-5 days
  4. Fastest – Arrives in 3-4 days

Obviously the faster the shipping method you choose, the more it will cost. However, you’ll be notified of all shipping charges prior to finalizing your order, which can be changed at any time.

One concern we noticed during our research is that Zulily’s return/refund policy seems very vague. According to the company’s FAQ, you’ll need to contact their Customer Service department if you’re unsatisfied with your products, and that they’re unable to accept returns on “intimate apparel, shapewear, swimsuits or rashguards, or any personalized items,” in addition to no exchanges. Other than this, no information is provided.

Pros:

  • Daily events/sales that feature a wide variety of products and brands.
  • Email alerts that provide insight into upcoming events.
  • Zulily offers a wide variety of brands across numerous categories.
  • The ability to earn $15 for every friend you refer.
  • The company appears to address customer complaints quickly.

Cons:

  • Primarily intended for women and children (very few men’s products).
  • Mixed online reviews, with some customers having complained of substandard customer service, slow shipping, being billed for items twice, and poor quality merchandise.
  • Vague return/refund policy.

Read Next: 6 Top Tips to Buying Pre-Owned Designer Clothing Online (That You’ll Actually Love)

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

106 Consumer Reviews for Zulily

Average Consumer Rating: 2.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 18 4 star: 5 3 star: 4 2 star: 13 1 star:  66
Bottom Line: 24% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 106
Sort reviews by:

  • Not worth buying

    • New Jersey,
    • Nov 21, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought one of their Azalea brand tunic tops. Very pretty and stylish in the picture. When I got it, so excited to wear it, and it looked good. Then I saw a 2-inch part of the seam on the right back arm was not attached to the back of the shirt. I fixed it myself. Then after wearing it, I washed it. When I took out clothes from the washer, I noticed a long black thread which was coming from the bottom hem of the shirt. At least 3 inches came out. I checked other sides; more very long threads from seam coming out. Not worth the purchase price.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Don't order anything if you need it on time

    • Newtown, PA,
    • Nov 20, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    After promising myself that I'd never order from Zulily again, I gave in and placed a few orders. The prices of the toys I wanted were really good and I couldn't resist. But again, I am disappointed. The toys did not ship on time and will not be here by the date I need them.

    If you have lots of leeways as far as delivery, you can sometimes get a good deal, but don't order toys for a child's birthday; you may both be disappointed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Awful!

    • New York,
    • Nov 16, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Quality of clothing is subpar. Orders take at least one month to get to you so order in advance. I have experienced times when they canceled my order on my behalf because the items were not in stock? They just arbitrarily cancel stuff with no explanation. Don't order from them!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Refunds/returns

    Every time I email them I get the same reply back saying "give us the tracking number, and we will expedite your store credit." What?

    I bought boots, which were at least a size too small and found out I get a store credit only. I sent them back in the second week of September and can't find my tracking number from Canada Post but gave them all the other info. Still no store credit. I figure it is no good anyway, seeing that I will never buy there again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Cheap crap

    • Detroit, MI,
    • Oct 18, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Both products I ordered and received were of inferior quality. They were supposed to be designer quality linens and a designer sweater. I got a crappy Kmart quilt and a printed sweater ala Family Dollar.

    I will never order from them again since you cannot return your purchases.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Burned too many times, no more

    • Brooklyn, NY,
    • Oct 13, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Sure, the items are quite cheap on the site, but they are also terrible quality.

    With clothing, seams and stitches are off, things are asymmetrical, sizes are WAY off, or it's simply not the product that was described on their site. I recently had to order a dress in 4XL, when I typically wear an XL. I also ordered a dress that arrived with a pen mark on the front of it. I can't stress how low quality the merchandise is. Flimsy materials, cheap construction, etc. I'm positive that their merch must be the "irregular" stuff they sometimes sell for cheap, but this merch is more accurately labeled as "highly irregular AND cheap."

    But let's say you hit the jackpot on 20% of items you buy. If that were the case, it might be tolerable if they allowed returns for the other 80% of stuff. But they don't allow any returns. That means I've wasted $10s if not $100s on merchandise I can't return.

    Furthermore, the shipping is just awful. I placed an order on 8/25 that I received yesterday on 10/10. I placed another order way in advance, on 9/4, for a Halloween-themed outfit, and now they've "missed their shipping date." I'm not confident it will even arrive in time at this point. Their customer service won't promise a shipping date or that it will arrive in time for Halloween. In fact, in the past three weeks, I've received FOUR notices from them that my orders have missed their promised ship date.

    Their customer service seems to be quite responsive to issues, but they are not helpful in solving them. I've finally, finally learned my lesson and will no longer make any purchases from them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Stick to Brands You Know

    • North Carolina,
    • Oct 5, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    So far I've received 2 orders from Zulilly and have been 100% satisfied with both of them. Reason? I bought brands I've used before, and NEVER buy shoes or jeans/slacks as they are non-returnable. Why take a chance with fit? Some of the items seen on Zulilly have also been available at Burke's Outlet and they are excellent quality. Delivery was as promised and merchandise received well-packaged and in mint condition. When you see an item on Zulilly, research the brand before you order. Then comparison shop to see if it's really a bargain.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Horrible quality

    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Oct 2, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Cheap Chinese junk. They don't issue a credit to your card when you return items due to their poor quality, so, yes, it's a scam. What good is a Zulily account credit if the quality is bad?

    Fool me once, well, you all know how that goes. Never again!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Harassing!

    I ordered ONE thing from these harassing people that I had shipped to my job, and they immediately started sending to my workplace their UNAUTHORIZED advertisements! I called them immediately upon receiving the first postcard discount and told them to never, ever send another thing to my job! I was assured it wouldn't happen again. That was months ago, and today another postcard came! I will NOW be filing a legal complaint against this company, as well as take legal action against them!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 4 people found this review helpful

    I am very happy with this store

    Hello!

    I have bought at Zulily for many years. I started when my grandkids were babies and now they are two teens. I have been with the service since 2011. The only thing I will say to the store Zulily is thanks so much for the greatest service.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Bogus discounts

    • Houston, TX,
    • Sep 16, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have bought several items from Zulily, but when they had a fur throw on sale for $200, I went on the product website and found the same exact item for $100. I immediately canceled my account with Zulily.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 106

Write a Review for Zulily!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review