About Zulily

Based out of Seattle, WA, Zulily provides moms, babies, and kids with daily deals on a wide variety of brands in categories such as women’s and children’s clothing, toys, housewares, and more. The company was founded in 2009, and has seen a significant amount of growth ever since.

Zulily holds an A rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on 93 closed complaints within the past three years. Based on our research, the company appears to have a mixed online reputation, with the most common complaints being substandard customer service, slow shipping, being billed for items twice, and poor quality merchandise. With this said, it appears Zulily is diligent in addressing any customer complaints and quickly solving their issues.

How Zulily Works

Zulily claims to “search far and wide” for the best deals, which change on a daily basis. In other words, one day you may find great deals on educational products, while the next day it may be focused on eco-friendly items. In order to begin receiving daily emails, you’ll need to sign up, which only involves entering your first and last names, your email address, and choosing a password. However, once you decide to purchase an item, you’ll also need to enter shipping and billing addresses, as well as payment information.

Whichever classes of items are being offered, Zulily calls their sales “events,” which begin each day at 6am PST. Some of these events only last one day, while some will last as long as 72 hours; some feature just a single brand or theme, while others will feature several. However long their events last though, once they’re done they’re done, and they often sell out prior to their end date. Because of this, the company recommends you take a look at your daily Zulily email early in the morning, and visit their site as often as you can. You can also use the Zulily app to shop from your mobile device while you’re on the go.

The Zulily website is divided into five main sections:

  1. New Today – This section features all the new events that started today.
  2. Best Sellers – Includes some of the most popular items on the site, as well as the date the events end.
  3. Last Day – Just like it sounds, this section features events that will expire today.
  4. Shop by Category – Choose from girls, boys, women, maternity & baby, home, and much more.
  5. Shop by Size – Sizes from infants to adults.

Whichever page you’re on, you’ll be able to see upcoming events for the next week. After click on one of the events, you’ll be able to view more detailed information, such as the brand and the general category.

Zulily Pricing, Shipping Options, & Refund Policy

Due to the large number of products offered by Zulily, prices can vary greatly, though a handy feature is the ability to earn $15 for each friend you refer. You won’t be charged sales tax on your order, unless you reside in Washington State, Nevada, or Ohio. Shipping charges vary depending on a wide variety of factors as well, though you’ll typically be presented with four options:

  1. Standard – Some items will include free shipping, which is usually sent via ground.
  2. Fast – Arrives in 6-11 days
  3. Faster – Arrives in 4-5 days
  4. Fastest – Arrives in 3-4 days

Obviously the faster the shipping method you choose, the more it will cost. However, you’ll be notified of all shipping charges prior to finalizing your order, which can be changed at any time.

One concern we noticed during our research is that Zulily’s return/refund policy seems very vague. According to the company’s FAQ, you’ll need to contact their Customer Service department if you’re unsatisfied with your products, and that they’re unable to accept returns on “intimate apparel, shapewear, swimsuits or rashguards, or any personalized items,” in addition to no exchanges. Other than this, no information is provided.

Pros:

  • Daily events/sales that feature a wide variety of products and brands.
  • Email alerts that provide insight into upcoming events.
  • Zulily offers a wide variety of brands across numerous categories.
  • The ability to earn $15 for every friend you refer.
  • The company appears to address customer complaints quickly.

Cons:

  • Primarily intended for women and children (very few men’s products).
  • Mixed online reviews, with some customers having complained of substandard customer service, slow shipping, being billed for items twice, and poor quality merchandise.
  • Vague return/refund policy.

Read Next: 6 Top Tips to Buying Pre-Owned Designer Clothing Online (That You’ll Actually Love)

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

139 Consumer Reviews for Zulily

Average Consumer Rating: 2.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 25 4 star: 8 3 star: 4 2 star: 15 1 star:  87
Bottom Line: 27% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 139
Sort reviews by:

  • Horrible quality

    • Boise, ID,
    • Sep 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered what looked like cute blouses and they came and the Mediums were the sizes of XL! They also hung so low that my entire chest would be exposed. Both shirts were super poor quality and not fit to wear. I went to return them and they are keeping a "restocking fee." They were both $14.99 and they are keeping nearly $10. What a racket. Save your money and DON'T SHOP HERE.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Charged my account, no clothing

    • Fort Myers, FL,
    • Sep 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered a dress online and they took my credit card (thank god it was Amex). I called to see when it was coming and there was nothing in my account, the agent said it could be in another account, so I say never, never order from Zulily!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Tips before you shop on Zulily

    • Hawaii,
    • Aug 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've shopped on Zulily since 2014. I've never had any issues with customer service except recently they appear to not answer emails for returns or damaged items. I've received several damaged items and they always credited back my credit card and gave me a $10.00 credit.

    They are also currently using several different shipping methods and you never know how your items will be sent until the item is sent out. AND yes most of the items take a ridiculous length of time for delivery, and I thought it was just me living in Hawaii until I read other reviews. I am actually grateful for the flat rate shipping that I'm charged on my orders, as other websites tend to think Hawaii is on Mars and charge unsubstantiated stupid high shipping rates.

    I also noticed that when my items are shipped using a certain carrier, Zulily's website tracking page showed the item was "delivered" but the item was not received until several days later. There have been many changes, both positive and negative since QVC bought the company.

    So if you want to give Zulily a try:

    *Pay attention to each clothing item's size chart. Many items are China size (made for petite people)!

    *Know that if the price is ridiculously cheap, the item will probably be of low quality.

    *Shop for brands you are already familiar with and understand their quality and size chart.

    *Don't try to return stuff by email because they no longer have staff responding efficiently.

    *Compare prices to other websites such as Amazon, department stores, designer websites or Chinese clothing companies.

    I am addicted to checking Zulily every day for new daily items and have received many compliments on clothing, shoes, and house stuff I have purchased. Although the site may have grown too large too fast, I will keep shopping cautiously on their website.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Good website for experienced online shoppers

    • Colorado,
    • Aug 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Contrary to many reviews I've read, I've always had good luck with Zulily. Each item has a size chart specific to the brand that they're selling (since they sell many different brands), which I found very helpful. You HAVE to look at the size charts, even for shoes! I've ordered all sorts of things from here over the past couple years - a coat, lingerie, shoes, a purse, and a dress, and the merchandise has always arrived well-packaged and mostly on-time.

    I've only experienced their customer service once, but there was no issue. I had ordered a couple of bras through Zulily, and one of the colors was no longer in stock as they had thought, so they issued me an immediate refund, and the remaining bra was sent on time.

    The only reason that I gave 4 stars instead of 5 is that they use a multitude of different shipping companies, some of which I've never heard of, and the items often don't all ship at once, making it tough to track orders. This is the nature of a website that sells merchandise from other companies though, I imagine, so it's not a dealbreaker.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Refusal to refund

    • Seattle, WA,
    • Jul 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Zulily charged me twice for an item I had canceled. When I contacted customer support, they said this wasn’t possible but to send them a screenshot of the transactions. I did. They stated these would just fall off my account, but my bank assured me they had been deducted. Zulily won’t issue refunds but continues to send emails as to how they are working on it. I have had to complete a police report stating fraud on the part of Zulily and give it to my bank. My debit card has been shut down, and the bank has reimbursed me. Now I am waiting on a new debit card. I also filed a complaint with the Better Business Bureau. Buyer beware!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Horrible fit

    • Michigan,
    • Jul 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered $250.00 worth of clothing. Nothing fit and the materials were cheap. All of the clothes are still sitting in my closet. Everything came in yellow paper with oriental writing. What a waste of money!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Don’t, just don’t!

    • Utah,
    • Jul 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered three items around Christmas time last year. I returned them all. Terrible quality! Not sure where made or what material the fabric was made from. Of course I didn’t read the fine print. So I had a credit. I thought I would buy only brands I knew. I bought shoes...again, terrible quality and fit, but they were brands I had heard of. I sent them back. Still credit minus the shipping. I placed an order of three items over a month ago. I received only one item so far. A Tag pillow. Terrible quality...not finished properly. I am so frustrated I don’t even care about the $136.00 credit I still have. Don’t even buy from Zulily and get in this trap! The pictures and descriptions are deceiving!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    They are NOT the company they used to be

    • Nebraska,
    • Jul 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I started ordering from Zulily in 2014. The deals were incredible, and if something arrived broken or damaged (which happened about every third order on average), customer service immediately gave a store credit if they couldn't replace the item AND gave an additional $10 credit for the inconvenience. At the time, they didn't accept returns of any kind. Pretty legit customer service practices, so I never worried about my purchases.

    Yes, some items were cheaply made, yes, some items were not quite as described, but for the price, it was worth the gamble to me. Over the past four years, I have spent around $15,000 or more with them. Some things I kept, some I resold if the quality and price point were right. But that all ended recently.

    I had noticed a steady decline in both customer service and the quality of the goods over the years. I started receiving items that look like they were returns and had been used, or at the very least opened and repackaged. Fitted sheets that the stitching holding in the elastic came undone after one wash, shoes with scuff marks on them, jewelry that looked like it came from a gumball machine.

    When I would receive these items, I would call and explain they were damaged. No problem until they started doing returns. I was told I had to return the damaged items but would not be reimbursed for shipping. Why? I'm not the one who damaged it and their policy before had been to refund and give an additional credit. She said that was the OLD policy and that they would pay for return shipping this one time for me...great...thanks.

    I also have to add that I started seeing a lot of the jewelry they sell available on Wish, or the Ali Express China direct ordering apps. These supposed great deals from Zulily, and listed as a third party brand (ZAD and Elly & Ella are two examples), I could get through them for 80% less than Zulily but wait the SAME amount of time for them.

    The one positive I will say is this. I will still shop with them for tried and trusted name brands that I am familiar with. I check the Zulily price, then go to the brand's website and see what they are selling it for. With the exception of brand name purses (Kate Spade, Coach, etc., go to Poshmark for better deals), they beat the brand's price on their website and other main retailers usually by 30% or more, even when it's on final clearance. Steve Madden, Modcloth clothing brand suppliers, Crocs, Ann Cole, Lucky and Kut from the Kloth Jean's, etc. They don't always carry these brands and you have to sift through a lot of cheaply made items from China or Taiwan crap, but go to the search feature and see what you can find. Sometimes it's definitely worth it!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Horrible business, stay away! Really.

    • Fresno, CA,
    • Jul 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I never received the items ordered; I kept getting excuses such as "customs issues" and "technical glitches." I emailed them at least seven times and they told me that I was "confused" about the arrival date. I called four times. Then, finally said that they would refund me, but they never did, and then again, a "technical glitch."

    Do NOT order from this company; they are dishonest, liars, and cheaters. Yes, the website makes it looks amazing, but it is the worst shopping experience ever, and I question if they even have the items they purport to sell. I think it's a scam. I cannot say enough negative things about them. Any positive reviews must be fake or paid.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Don’t buy anything from them

    • Katy, TX,
    • Jul 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    They claim that the item is returnable and when you return the item they deduct the cost of the shipping from your money and they actually keep the refund as a credit store to force you to buy from more from them. The material is cheap. The size is off. The service is horrible. They are way, way expensive for their cheap material. I will never buy anything else after they stole my money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Slow delivery and bad return policy

    • Texas,
    • Jul 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I recently bought three pairs of shoes from Zulily. I received them rather quickly, but when I tried them on, none of them fit. They were too small. I had to return all of them.

    When I sent them back, I looked back at the website to maybe just get an exchange, but they didn't have a single pair in a size larger available. So I asked for a refund. I had to pay to ship the shoes back to them and got nothing in return. So, I pretty much gave them around $5.00 for shipping and got nothing. I normally wear a size 8 in all of my shoes, but none of those shoes fit. I should have just kept all three pairs and sold them online. I would have at least got something out of the deal instead of having to pay for nothing.

    To add insult to injury, instead of refunding my credit card for the cost of the shoes, they gave me a credit to Zulily. I returned to the site and decided that shoes were not a thing to buy on Zulily so I purchased some kitchen items. I order those 18 days ago and they still have not even been received at zulily. It just shouldn't take 3 weeks to get a credit item that I didn't even really want in the first place, but had to buy something in order to receive my credit and not get ripped of any further. No wonder they are having problems competing with other online companies.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 139

Write a Review for Zulily!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review