About Zulily

Based out of Seattle, WA, Zulily provides moms, babies, and kids with daily deals on a wide variety of brands in categories such as women’s and children’s clothing, toys, housewares, and more. The company was founded in 2009, and has seen a significant amount of growth ever since.

Zulily holds an A rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on 93 closed complaints within the past three years. Based on our research, the company appears to have a mixed online reputation, with the most common complaints being substandard customer service, slow shipping, being billed for items twice, and poor quality merchandise. With this said, it appears Zulily is diligent in addressing any customer complaints and quickly solving their issues.

How Zulily Works

Zulily claims to “search far and wide” for the best deals, which change on a daily basis. In other words, one day you may find great deals on educational products, while the next day it may be focused on eco-friendly items. In order to begin receiving daily emails, you’ll need to sign up, which only involves entering your first and last names, your email address, and choosing a password. However, once you decide to purchase an item, you’ll also need to enter shipping and billing addresses, as well as payment information.

Whichever classes of items are being offered, Zulily calls their sales “events,” which begin each day at 6am PST. Some of these events only last one day, while some will last as long as 72 hours; some feature just a single brand or theme, while others will feature several. However long their events last though, once they’re done they’re done, and they often sell out prior to their end date. Because of this, the company recommends you take a look at your daily Zulily email early in the morning, and visit their site as often as you can. You can also use the Zulily app to shop from your mobile device while you’re on the go.

The Zulily website is divided into five main sections:

  1. New Today – This section features all the new events that started today.
  2. Best Sellers – Includes some of the most popular items on the site, as well as the date the events end.
  3. Last Day – Just like it sounds, this section features events that will expire today.
  4. Shop by Category – Choose from girls, boys, women, maternity & baby, home, and much more.
  5. Shop by Size – Sizes from infants to adults.

Whichever page you’re on, you’ll be able to see upcoming events for the next week. After click on one of the events, you’ll be able to view more detailed information, such as the brand and the general category.

Zulily Pricing, Shipping Options, & Refund Policy

Due to the large number of products offered by Zulily, prices can vary greatly, though a handy feature is the ability to earn $15 for each friend you refer. You won’t be charged sales tax on your order, unless you reside in Washington State, Nevada, or Ohio. Shipping charges vary depending on a wide variety of factors as well, though you’ll typically be presented with four options:

  1. Standard – Some items will include free shipping, which is usually sent via ground.
  2. Fast – Arrives in 6-11 days
  3. Faster – Arrives in 4-5 days
  4. Fastest – Arrives in 3-4 days

Obviously the faster the shipping method you choose, the more it will cost. However, you’ll be notified of all shipping charges prior to finalizing your order, which can be changed at any time.

One concern we noticed during our research is that Zulily’s return/refund policy seems very vague. According to the company’s FAQ, you’ll need to contact their Customer Service department if you’re unsatisfied with your products, and that they’re unable to accept returns on “intimate apparel, shapewear, swimsuits or rashguards, or any personalized items,” in addition to no exchanges. Other than this, no information is provided.

Pros:

  • Daily events/sales that feature a wide variety of products and brands.
  • Email alerts that provide insight into upcoming events.
  • Zulily offers a wide variety of brands across numerous categories.
  • The ability to earn $15 for every friend you refer.
  • The company appears to address customer complaints quickly.

Cons:

  • Primarily intended for women and children (very few men’s products).
  • Mixed online reviews, with some customers having complained of substandard customer service, slow shipping, being billed for items twice, and poor quality merchandise.
  • Vague return/refund policy.

Read Next: 6 Top Tips to Buying Pre-Owned Designer Clothing Online (That You’ll Actually Love)

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

146 Consumer Reviews for Zulily

Average Consumer Rating: 2.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 25 4 star: 9 3 star: 5 2 star: 16 1 star:  91
Bottom Line: 26% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 146
Sort reviews by:

  • I love Zulily

    • Perryton, TX,
    • Jan 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have ordered several things from Zulily and I’ve had great results with each order. I’ve mostly ordered tunics, and they have been of excellent quality. I get compliments every time I wear them. The shipping is very slow, so don’t order from them if you are in a hurry. Most of their items say "no returns." The price is so low on most items that I have been willing to chance it. I have not wanted to return anything I’ve bought from them. I suppose at some point I will be disappointed, but so far I’ve been very pleased.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Worst online shopping experience of my life!

    • Newport News, VA,
    • Jan 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have purchased twice from Zulily and received terrible quality clothing. First of all, it took a month and a half to get my order (!) so be prepared to WAIT if you dare to make a purchase. Refunds are only applied to store credit, and you have to pay $8.95 shipping to send anything back. So I tried to spend the store credit and received clothing of terrible quality again, again a month and a half later, only to send it back and be docked another $8.95 for shipping. After three phone calls to Zulily, two folks told me I could get my money back on my credit card and the last one said they all were wrong and I could only get store credit...again. At this point, all of my original money will be spent on shipping inferior products back to Zulily. I will never again shop at Zulily and neither will anyone I know.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Horrible company

    • Elkhart, IN,
    • Dec 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Products are not as described and of low quality, and nothing ever ships or is received on time. Customer service is a joke and will refuse to address any concerns, instead give generic, canned responses and excuses for their terrible practices. THE definition of a shady company. Stay far away, there are hundreds of other merchants with better products and shipping, and WAY better customer service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Free shipping is a scam - don’t fall for it!

    • Massachusetts,
    • Dec 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    When I went to their site to place an order, there was a banner that advertised free shipping. I thought this was great because I hate paying for shipping costs. I was spending well over $200, and most sites will give you free shipping if you spent a minimum amount of money; typically more than $50. I will admit that there was a pesky little asterisk, so I proceeded to read the fine print. It said it was free shipping until 11:59 that evening. "No problem," I thought. So, I placed my order and there was still a $7.99 shipping charge. Try as I may, I could not remove the charge. In frustration, I placed the order. I had spent a considerable amount of time on this transaction by now. I got a confirmation that my order had been placed and that I now would get free shipping on the NEXT order that I placed by 11:59 that evening! How is this considered FREE SHIPPING?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Horrible quality

    • Alberta, Canada,
    • Dec 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    If you want to throw your money away, then buy from Zulily! The quality is substandard and their customer service is a joke. The clothing is practically see-through, and sizing is stupid. I am so disappointed in a quilt set I bought as I washed it and it fell apart! There was thread and filling in my washing machine, so it is now in the garbage and my money down the drain. I am not too sure what kind of company this is, it looks like they sell rejects from other foreign mass producers. Save your money or buy a lotto ticket instead, you will have the same chances of getting anything good in return!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Bought a Dusty Sage Queen comforter.

    • Ham Lake, MN,
    • Nov 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered a Dusty Sage & Almond reversible comforter for a new Queen bed. When it arrived in good time, it was a Dusty Blue & Almond comforter, although it stated it was Sage & Almond. I wasn't sure I wanted to keep it, as it was in no way any color of green, but I liked the Almond side. I washed according to directions. It held together, although the wrinkles look permanent, and it says not to iron. I put it all on the bed, it looks ok (wrinkles apparent), but it's very comfortable. For the price, I will keep it, but the description in no way is the item I ordered.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    You get what you pay for?

    • Hillsboro, OR,
    • Oct 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought a Bumbo magenta changing pad for an amazingly good deal. Usually, it's at least $70, but I got it for a little over $46 with shipping. I placed the order on a Sunday and received it on a Tuesday. Excellent shipping speed with tracking details. However, the Bumbo came unboxed (inside of the shipping box). The original box that it was in was flattened, and the changing pad was just sitting on top of it. It appeared to be an item that was returned by someone else but was not put in its original packaging. It was pretty unacceptable.

    I don't know if the changing pad had already been used, but it looked clean, so I'll be keeping it. Based on other Zulily reviews, I am afraid if I return it, I'll never see my money again. I guess that's what we'll have to settle with for getting this product at such a low price.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Horrible quality

    • Boise, ID,
    • Sep 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered what looked like cute blouses and they came and the Mediums were the sizes of XL! They also hung so low that my entire chest would be exposed. Both shirts were super poor quality and not fit to wear. I went to return them and they are keeping a "restocking fee." They were both $14.99 and they are keeping nearly $10. What a racket. Save your money and DON'T SHOP HERE.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Charged my account, no clothing

    • Fort Myers, FL,
    • Sep 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered a dress online and they took my credit card (thank god it was Amex). I called to see when it was coming and there was nothing in my account, the agent said it could be in another account, so I say never, never order from Zulily!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 14 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Tips before you shop on Zulily

    • Hawaii,
    • Aug 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've shopped on Zulily since 2014. I've never had any issues with customer service except recently they appear to not answer emails for returns or damaged items. I've received several damaged items and they always credited back my credit card and gave me a $10.00 credit.

    They are also currently using several different shipping methods and you never know how your items will be sent until the item is sent out. AND yes most of the items take a ridiculous length of time for delivery, and I thought it was just me living in Hawaii until I read other reviews. I am actually grateful for the flat rate shipping that I'm charged on my orders, as other websites tend to think Hawaii is on Mars and charge unsubstantiated stupid high shipping rates.

    I also noticed that when my items are shipped using a certain carrier, Zulily's website tracking page showed the item was "delivered" but the item was not received until several days later. There have been many changes, both positive and negative since QVC bought the company.

    So if you want to give Zulily a try:

    *Pay attention to each clothing item's size chart. Many items are China size (made for petite people)!

    *Know that if the price is ridiculously cheap, the item will probably be of low quality.

    *Shop for brands you are already familiar with and understand their quality and size chart.

    *Don't try to return stuff by email because they no longer have staff responding efficiently.

    *Compare prices to other websites such as Amazon, department stores, designer websites or Chinese clothing companies.

    I am addicted to checking Zulily every day for new daily items and have received many compliments on clothing, shoes, and house stuff I have purchased. Although the site may have grown too large too fast, I will keep shopping cautiously on their website.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Good website for experienced online shoppers

    • Colorado,
    • Aug 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Contrary to many reviews I've read, I've always had good luck with Zulily. Each item has a size chart specific to the brand that they're selling (since they sell many different brands), which I found very helpful. You HAVE to look at the size charts, even for shoes! I've ordered all sorts of things from here over the past couple years - a coat, lingerie, shoes, a purse, and a dress, and the merchandise has always arrived well-packaged and mostly on-time.

    I've only experienced their customer service once, but there was no issue. I had ordered a couple of bras through Zulily, and one of the colors was no longer in stock as they had thought, so they issued me an immediate refund, and the remaining bra was sent on time.

    The only reason that I gave 4 stars instead of 5 is that they use a multitude of different shipping companies, some of which I've never heard of, and the items often don't all ship at once, making it tough to track orders. This is the nature of a website that sells merchandise from other companies though, I imagine, so it's not a dealbreaker.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 146

Write a Review for Zulily!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review