What is FootMedix from Dermal Medix?

Formulated by Dr. David Watts, MD, FootMedix by Dermal Medix is a topical solution that claims to strengthen skin, stimulate new growth, and increase circulation, aimed at protecting and restoring severely dry, cracked, and painful feet.

In order to achieve this, Dermal Medix tells us that FootMedix's active ingredients—including the Nobel Prize-winning ingredient human epidermal growth factor (hEGF)—deliver “rapid healing,” provide deep moisturization, and keep perspiration away from the skin.

In fact, Dr. Watts claims these ingredients will start working in just five minutes, regardless of your age!

According to the company, all you need to do is apply FootMedix to clean, dry feet twice daily, focusing on any areas where you’re experiencing dry, damaged skin. While the exact results you’ll experience will vary, Dermal Medix claims that many customers “feel and see a difference within just minutes of their first use.”

Even though it’s formulated by a doctor, can you expect FootMedix to leave you with healthier, more attractive feet? Is it worth the higher price? Let’s help you make a more informed decision by taking a look at the facts.

What Causes Calluses and Dry Skin?

Calluses aren't much more than the flat build-up of hard skin, usually located on the bottom of feet and hands and caused by repeated pressure or friction in a specific area. These are different than corns, which typically feature a soft core that falls inward.

Although not directly related, dry skin (insufficient moisture)—which is often caused by environmental factors like weather, humidity levels, hot showers, and more—can cause calluses to become increasingly uncomfortable.

In general, calluses cause little more than minor discomfort and can often be addressed by wearing shoes that fit, adding padding where needed, using salicylic acid to soften the callus (or soaking in warm water) and removing with a pumice stone, and more.

In some instances (creams like FootMedix aside), you might need to visit your podiatrist for professional callus removal, and/or to purchase specialized orthotics that can help prevent calluses from getting worse, while relieving at least some measure of discomfort.

From a moisturization perspective, the American Academy of Dermatology recommends avoiding excessively hot baths or showers; using a gentle, fragrance-free cleanser, applying an ointment or a cream (instead of lotion) immediately after bathing, and using a humidifier at home, especially during the winter months when heat can dry out skin.

What about the ingredients in FootMedix? Will they deliver any better results than these suggestions?

What Ingredients Are Found In FootMedix and Is the Formula Clinically Proven?

According to the Dermal Medix website, FootMedix contains the following ingredients (only active ingredients are hyperlinked):

Water, Glycerine, Glycine Soja (Soybean) Oil, Emulsifying Wax NF, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter) Dimethicone, Alcohol, Cetearyl Alcohol, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil, Propylene Glycol, Glyceryl Stearate, PEG-8, PEG-100 Stearate, PEG-40 Stearate, Beta-Glucan, Glyceryl Caprylate, Tocopheryl Acetate, Panthenol, Clotrimazole, Human Oligopeptide-1, 1,2-Hexanediol, Caprylyl Glycol, Disodium EDTA, Triethanolamine, Melaleuca Alternifolia (Tea Tree) Leaf Oil

Of these, we learned the vast majority work as surfactants, emulsifiers, humectants, emollients, and cleansing agents. This is common for any cream, foot-related or otherwise, since they help clean skin and trap moisture, thereby improving symptoms of dry skin and helping to prevent irritation.

Clotrimazole is often used in over-the-counter creams to treat (or prevent) fungal skin infections, like athlete’s foot and jock itch. Tea tree oil is thought to perform a similar function.

What about the human epidermal growth factor (hEGF) mentioned on the FootMedix website? This appears to reference the human oligopeptide-1, which Amarte Skincare defines as:

… a small polypeptide of 53 amino acids that serves as a cytokine to stimulate epidermal cell growth and proliferation. This peptide is derived from non-human sources using recombinant DNA biotechnology. Also known as EGF or epidermal growth factor.

However, we didn’t find any clinical evidence on authoritative websites like WebMD, Natural Medicines Database, and Examine.com supporting this claim, or that human oligopeptide-1 can reliably lead to improved skin condition (at least compared to other traditional moisturizers).

See more: 4 Health Benefits of a Cold Shower

Speaking of which, Dermal Medix claims that in clinical trials conducted by Dr. Watts, “100% of users reported improvement in foot calluses and dry skin, and a staggering 96% of FootMedix users reported results they classified as “phenomenal.” Again, no support for these claims is provided.

We didn’t locate a copy of this trial on the FootMedix website, so we reached out to the company for more details and they confirmed that they did conduct an internal study and showed us the results. However, due to their internal policies, we were asked not to make it public.

Will FootMedix Cause Any Side Effects?

Unless you have especially sensitive skin, these sites indicate you probably won’t experience anything worse with FootMedix’s ingredients than mild, temporary redness in the application area.

However, when it comes to PEG-8, PEG-100 Stearate, PEG-40 Stearate, Truth in Aging writes that PEGs applied to broken skin (specifically, severe burns) have been shown to result in kidney damage. This means you should only apply creams containing this cream to unbroken, non-irritated skin.

Important note: After hearing from a Dermal Medix representative, we were informed that the amount of PEGs needed to cause any type of harm “would be extremely high.”

How Much Does FootMedix Cream Cost?

FootMedix is only available directly through Dermal Medix, and is priced as follows:

  • 1 Bottle (no amount listed, although company claims it's a 30-day supply): $49, plus $4.95 S&H
  • 2 Bottles: $86
  • 3 Bottles: $120

On the other hand, if ordered on their Product page, you’ll pay:

  • 1 Tube (again, no amount listed): $120
  • 2 Tubes: $228
  • 3 Tubes: $324

All of these secondary options come with free S&H.

Regardless of how much you pay, though, Dermal Medix provides a 90-day risk-free guarantee on FootMedix purchases, less S&H charges. To request one, customer service can be reached at 800-425-0243 or support@dermalmedix.com.

Are There Any Reviews for FootMedix?

Since writing our original article, nearly 80 HighYa readers had chimed in about their experiences with FootMedix, giving the formulation an average rating of 4.7 stars.

Common compliments revolved around fast, effective results (reduced cracking, improved appearance, relieved pain and discomfort, etc.). More than one customer claimed it was the best foot cream they’d ever used.

On the other hand, what few complaints there were seemed related to high price. Many, though, reported that it delivered a lot of value for the money.

From a company perspective, Los Angeles-based Dermal Medix had an A+ Better Business Bureau rating and just one closed complaint, as of 5/23/17. No details were available.

Are There Other Cracked Skin Creams Like FootMedix?

If you’re looking for a clotrimazole-based antifungal moisturizing cream, you have hundreds of different options to choose from, several of which could be available at local pharmacies and priced as low as $8.

Do any of these feature FootMedix’s same formulation? No.

In fact, we turned up little-to-no results when searching online for terms like “PEG foot cream” or “hEGF foot cream.” So, if you’re looking for the exact same (or even a similar) formulation, FootMedix was the only game in town at the time of our research.

With this said, we learned that the discovery of epidermal growth factor won the 1986 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine. However, we didn’t find any clinical evidence on authoritative websites drawing a direct link between oligopeptide-1 and improved cellular growth and differentiation in humans.

How to choose the best option? Just like when purchasing any other personal care product, the right foot cream for you depends on a unique balance of your specific needs and preferences.

For example, if you’re on the hunt for the absolute lowest priced option, FootMedix seems to have a lot of competition in front of it. However, if you’re primarily focused on customer feedback and a unique formulation, it seems many people reported that its meaningfully higher provided meaningfully better results.

On the other hand, if you’re primarily focused on getting rid of a bacterial infection, a clotrimazole cream might provide more value (although probably not the same level of moisturization) than FootMedix for the money.

What does all of this mean for you? We’ll wrap everything up in just a second, but let’s first talk about the person behind FootMedix.

Who Is Dr. David Watts, MD?

According to his bio on the FootMedix website, Dr. David Watts is a double-board certified plastic surgeon, President of QuadASF, a proud Army Major, and a former Assistant Clinical Professor of Plastic Surgery Johns Hopkins University.

Currently, Dr. Watts works as CEO of Dr. Watts' Skin Care International (no additional information available online) and President-Elect for the American Association for Accreditation of Ambulatory Surgery Facilities, Inc. (AAAASF).

He’s also Medical Director and CEO for Watts Plastic Surgery Association, Ambulatory Surgery Center.

Will FootMedix by Dermal Medix Cure Your Foot Problems?

Even if you don’t have diabetes, calluses can cause a great deal of discomfort, and can even be a cause for concern under the right circumstances. And almost all of us have experienced dry skin at some point, as well as the tight itchiness that can result.

Will FootMedix’s ingredients help address either of these issues? Based on what we learned from authoritative websites like WebMD, it seems the vast majority could help trap moisture against the skin and relieve dryness.

In turn, it’s reasonable to believe that this moisturization could also help soften calluses and reduce the discomfort they cause.

And while FootMedix seems to be up against a lot of other callus and cracked skin creams, you won’t find their unique formulation anywhere else. And not to sound like a broken record, but it appears most customers are pleased with the formulation’s results, despite its (sometimes much) higher price.

But if FootMedix ultimately doesn’t provide the results or the value you were expecting, Dermal Medix seems to stand behind their formulation with a 90-day money back guarantee. Just keep in mind that you could lose a few bucks in S&H, as with any other online order.

In the end, the choice is up to you. But if you’re looking to boost hydration from products you already own, be sure to read Making the Most Out of Your Moisturizer!

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

83 Customer Reviews for FootMedix by Dermal Medix

Average Customer Rating: 4.6
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 64 4 star: 13 3 star: 2 2 star: 3 1 star:  1
Bottom Line: 93% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 83
Sort reviews by:

  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Dermal Medix

    • New Jersey,
    • Jun 28, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Dermal Medix foot cream doesn't do what it claims to do. It is a nice foot cream, but certainly did not make my foot calluses disappear. It was totally a nice enriched body cream that softened my feet, but the calluses and dryness remain.

    I personally would like my money back! $100 for three tubes of glorified foot lotion is too much for the average consumer. Please send me back a check for $100.00 to Michelle Bivins.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 28, 2017

      Mi

      Please refund my money for the three tubes I bought at $100. Unfortunately, the product does not work any better than a $10 product.

    • Jul 12, 2017

      Sloane, Customer Care Specialist

      Hello there Michelle, Sloane here with Dermal Medix. I am sorry that you did not experience all of the benefits that FootMedix has to offer. I would be more than happy to issue you a full refund for the product you purchased.

      Please email me at [email protected] including your order number, so that I can process your refund for you as quickly as possible. Thank you for trying out our product and leaving us a review. I look forward to hearing from you Michelle.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Disappointed

    • Trinidad, Colorado,
    • May 31, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    After watching the video, I was convinced their product would work. I've had dry feet for many years and have tried most everything that promises to work. I bought the three tubes of this product and used predominantly on one foot. My other foot I had surgery on so I couldn't put any lotions on the foot.

    At first, I thought it was working, but over time I found that unless you use it every day, your foot goes right back to its dry self. I've gone back to inexpensive products because they work also if used daily.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 9, 2017

      Sloane, Customer Care Specialist

      Hi there Justin, Sloane here with Dermal Medix. I am sorry to hear that you did not receive the results you expected from FootMedix. A majority of our customers see the best results with continuous use of our product. Please keep in mind that we always honor our 90-day money back guarantee to ensure that every customer can give FootMedix a try risk-free. Please email me personally at Sloane@dermalmedix.com, so that I can begin processing your refund for you. Thank you again for your review and for giving our product a fair trial Justin. I look forward to hearing from you.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Phenomenal Product!

    • Cave Junction, OR,
    • May 30, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased this not for my feet, but for my hands which are currently under attack by this mystery skin condition that I've had for over a decade.

    I've used so many different things trying to control and heal these painful, unsightly lesions and finally I've found FootMedix and within HOURS began to see the healing effects.

    Today is the 4th day of using it and I am almost completely healed. Phenomenal!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Dermal Medix - a total waste of money!

    • New York,
    • May 26, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was sucked in by being tracked by Google. I saw one of their ads and started to watch his presentation. It was a very professionally done animation ad! As it went on, I started to hold on to my wallet. The longer it played the more money it was going to cost me.

    My friend and I split an order. Below is my opinion.

    1. Be aware that this product has been on the market for several years. So my first question is, why doesn't everyone know about this?

    2. It is only sold on the internet! If this product was so great, it would be in every drug store in America, but it isn't. I smell super huge markups, with equals lots of profit. The real question is, how come no drug store sells this? I hope that they don't respond with all kinds of crazy reasons why they need to sell direct via a website.

    3. There should be a ton of information on the internet about the Dr. and his company. Almost no information means, draw your own conclusions.

    4. Be wary when someone says that 100% or some high crazy amount of people say that your product is that good.

    Does it work? I guess it did, but so did other products that cost a fraction of this! When I say that it worked, I mean that I've used other products that were 80% cheaper that did just as good.

    If this product worked as they claimed, why wouldn't the Veterans Administration place an order for 5 or 10 million bottles? This company never did a double blind study! Trying this on 100 or so people is a total joke.

    Would I buy it again? No way! You will go broke using it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 9, 2017

      Sloane, Customer Care Specialist

      Hello Barry, Sloane here with Dermal Medix. Thank you for your valuable review of FootMedix. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the product. It is true that FootMedix is only sold on the internet. This is because we cannot guarantee that people who resell our product are selling a legitimate product or upholding our stellar customer service expectations. We also choose to sell directly to our customers so that we can offer our customers the lowest price possible by cutting out the middle man, we cut our costs, which means it is cheaper for you.

      You can also learn all about Dr. David Watts and his brand Dermal Medix through a simple Google search. Dr. David Watts is a renowned cosmetic surgeon, President of QuadASF and a proud Army Major.

      While a majority of our customers love FootMedix, we realize that we cannot satisfy everyone. This is why we always honor our 90-day money back guarantee. I would be more than happy to issue you a complete refund for your order placed, just for giving our product a fair trial. Please email me personally at Sloane@dermalmedix.com, so I can refund you as quickly as possible. Thank you Barry.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Yes it does!

    First let me say, I never ever write reviews. I was compelled to write one for Dermal Medix because, yes, it does work!

    All I know is that I have had painfully cracked dry heels most of my adult life. I've tried regular pedicures, constant moisturizing and callus removers, just to name a few. The health of my heals have always fluctuated with painful periods followed by weeks of reprieve only to the have the pain and deep cracking happen all over again. In fact, even when not in pain or deeply cracked, I ALWAYS had mildly cracked heels.

    Well, no more! My husband and I consider it a miracle ointment. Today my heals are as if I were a baby. The cracks are completely gone! Not sort of gone. Not kind of gone. They are completely gone! I even thought they'd come back when the tenderness returned recently, but they haven't. Yes, it does work. And yes it is a miracle!

    I recommend it to everyone without hesitation.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    I am amazed

    I've been a Type 1 diabetic for over 46 years. My feet were callused and cracked, sometimes very painful. Any pedicure required at least 30 minutes with a cheese grater. I hated showing my feet but gave up trying to hide them.

    I saw FootMedix online and based on other reviews decided to try it. Within a week, my feet were softer and looked so much better. It has been nearly a month, and the calluses have nearly disappeared. This stuff works! I thought it was a tad speedy, but now I see it is totally worth the price. Love, love, love it!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Very impressed!

    • California,
    • May 10, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had mostly dry, cracked heels for the past 10+ years and was resolved that this was how it was going to be. Pumice stones and moisturizing creams never had a lasting effect. Once I tried FootMedix, I started seeing results within two weeks. A month later, I have heels I'm no longer ashamed to show in public. Pumice stones are a thing of the past!

    Moreover, I suffer from psoriasis and eczema and have had a dry patch by my ankle for 15+ years. FootMedix was able to cure what prescription medication couldn't.

    I highly recommend this to anyone suffering from dry, cracked skin. I always apply after showering and continue to see great results.

    Thank you!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Best foot cream I've used yet

    I'm very pleased to report my experience with FootMedix. I have suffered from dry, callused and achy feet for years. So I'm little over a month now with FootMedix. And though I haven't gotten back the pink color yet, the soreness has diminished a ton. Walking in my work boots is no longer something I dread. I actually use the cream on legs and elbows too and have seen great skin results.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Soothing comfort

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • May 8, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    What a great feeling to have the cracked skin and dryness now to be smooth on my heels. I apply it immediately out of the shower in the morning, and in the evening. I am now ready to wear sandals again.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    FootMedix Dermal Medix

    • Allentown, NJ,
    • May 8, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    My experience has been very good. The only reason it's not excellent is because there are still a couple of spots that the callous is hard and cracked by my big toe where it is an obvious pressure point. The coloring of my foot is better and much softer. My heals are definitely no longer rough and dry.

    It hasn't been 30 days yet but I will definitely continue to use FootMedix. It really has made a noticeable difference.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    My feet are soft again!

    I have to say I was not thrilled about the price and not knowing what size tube of cream would show up. That aside, within a few days I started to notice a big difference in my feet. I have been using this daily for two months now and am very, very pleased with the results. My feet are ready for summer!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 83

Write a Review for FootMedix by Dermal Medix!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review