About Wish.com

Founded in 2011 by former Google and Yahoo engineers, Wish.com is a direct-from-China bargain hunting website that features hundreds of different stores and millions of products from all over the world.

Compared to other “online shopping malls,” Wish.com allows you to personalize your shopping experience using their unique algorithm that recommends products based on your past purchases, as well as products you view and reject (more about this in a moment). You can even save your favorite products to your Wishlist and buy later, or share them with others through Facebook.

But you’re not stuck browsing items on your computer, because Wish.com also offers apps for iOS, Android, Windows, and Amazon devices. Taken together, the company claims to make shopping fun!

There’s no doubt that shopping can be enjoyable (that’s why they call it ‘retail therapy’!). But just because Wish.com might be enjoyable—not to mention their rock-bottom prices—does this mean you’ll get a good value? Or, will you wait a long time, only to end up with junk? We’ll cover your most important questions here.

To start things off, let’s begin from square one: How to set up your Wish.com account.

Setting Up Your Wish.com Account

The first thing you’ll notice after landing on the Wish.com website is that you have to set up an account before browsing their products. This involves entering your email address, first and last name, and choosing a password.

In our experience, this seems to be a trend with many of these online discount marketplaces, but we think it’s a little annoying. In our mind, you should have the opportunity to learn whether or not you like a website before handing over your personal information.

At any rate, you’ll then need to enter your birthdate and gender in order to help the site “find products you love.” Remember that algorithm we talked about above? This is where it starts by tailoring your results based on your age and gender. Then, as you browse and view different items, the algorithm will continue refining your selections.

Speaking of which, let’s take a look at exactly how you browse through Wish.com’s listings.

Browsing the Wish.com Website & Using Wishlists

Wish.com’s home page will display their most recent listings, but you can also narrow your search by category (e.g. fashion, accessories, gadgets, etc.), or by product type (e.g. shoes, tops, underwear, and so forth).

If you come across a product you might be interested in, simply click on it and a separate window will appear with a description, pictures, and price. Here, you’ll also be able to view shipping charges, estimated arrival times, previous customer ratings and reviews about the product (as well as the store/seller itself), view related products, and more.

Wish.com's Product DescriptionAn example of what you’ll see after clicking on an item, including product and store ratings, shipping information, and more.

From here, you can buy the item or save it to your Wishlist. If you haven’t created a Wishlist yet, you’ll be prompted to do so, which only involves choosing a name for your list and pressing enter.

Under your account, you can create multiple Wishlists and add or delete items as you see fit. Wish.com also gives you the ability to follow your friends and view their Wishlists, and even make Birthday Wishlists that can be shared to Facebook.

Sure, these are some pretty cool features, but how much will they cost you?

What Products Does Wish.com Sell? Are They Expensive?

Signing up for a Wish.com account is completely free, and you won’t have to pay anything until you decide to buy.

As we noted above, Wish.com features products from a wide range of categories, from gadgets to fashion—and even some products that defy categorization.

Overall though, they seem to specialize in inexpensive electronics and gadgets sourced from overseas (most of which are knockoffs of popular products from mainstream companies, such as smartwatches intended to look like an Apple Watch), Bluetooth earbuds, action cameras (knockoffs of GoPro cameras), storage media (USB flash drives), cables, and speakers. For the most part, the site’s products are less than $100, and usually fall somewhere between $5 and $50.

Pro tip: According to a recent Wall Street Journal article, “Mr. Szulczewski [one of the company’s co-founders] said Wish vendors are free to price goods and make claims about discounts as they see fit.” As such, you’ll want to take any listed retail prices (the crossed-out number in the picture above) with a grain of salt.

Since Wish.com only acts as a marketplace for other sellers, each listing comes with its own shipping charges, although we found free shipping to be the norm.

As you browse Wish.com, add items to your Wishlists, and purchase products, you’ll earn rewards in the form of gift cards, which can be viewed in the Wallet section of your account. These gift cards expire within a few days, so be sure to use yours as soon as you get them!

All products purchased through Wish.com come with a 30-day refund policy (from the date of delivery), less S&H charges. In order to initiate a refund, “Simply click on ‘Contact Support’ next to the item you wish to request a return or a refund.”

But is it really this simple? What are customers saying?

Is Wish.com’s Customer Reputation As Cheap As Their Prices?

You probably understand that, for the most part, you get what you pay for. But despite their ultra-low prices, does Wish.com rank high on the list of their customers?

On ComplaintsBoard, there were dozens of customer complaints about Wish.com, including unauthorized transactions soon after placing an order, poor quality products (especially related to electronics), long shipping times (as you can see from the picture above, it could take a month or more to arrive), difficulty obtaining a refund, and poor customer service.

Wish.com, based out of San Francisco, CA, also had an F rating with the Better Business Bureau at the time of our research, based on 245 closed complaints (as of 1/12/16). Nearly all of these appeared to reference difficulty obtaining refunds, and the company’s tendency to continuously send automated email responses to very specific requests). On top of this, there were still 72 complaints that the company never bothered responding to.

Pro tip: Looking for similar products from different websites? This Reddit thread might provide some good alternatives.

But what about Wish.com’s apps? In contrast to their business model, their apps were rated highly, earning 4.5 stars on Google Play based on more than 2.2 million votes, and another 4.5-star rating on iTunes, based on 4,200 reviews.

Is Wish.com a Rising (Or Falling) Star?

There’s an old project management saying that goes: You have the option of fast, good and cheap. Pick two.

And in the instance of Wish.com, nearly all of the emphasis is placed on ‘cheap,’ basically to the exclusion of ‘fast’ and ‘good.’ So, although you’ll be getting rock-bottom prices, you’ll have to wait a very long time to receive your order, and in general, the product(s) will probably be of less-than-stellar quality.

On top of this, should anything go wrong with your order, you might experience difficulty getting in contact with the original seller (remember, Wish.com only acts as a storefront, but doesn’t sell items directly). And if you need to get Wish.com involved, many customers have complained that they weren’t much more help.

Taking all of this together, Wish.com certainly isn’t a scam, although many of their vendors could be. After all, they’re probably located overseas and completely anonymous (at least to customers), and it’s not clear if they’re required to go through any kind of vetting process before opening their Wish.com store.

Despite this gamble, Wish.com has millions of fans who regularly buy from their vendors, and sing praises about the products they purchased and the ultra-low prices they received. Only you will be able to understand whether or not it’s worth taking the risk.

Are you a Wish.com customer? Did you just use the site once, or are you a regular shopper? Tell us all about it by writing a review below!

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 2 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

40 Customer Reviews for Wish.com

Average Customer Rating: 2.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 stars: 6 4 stars: 6 3 stars: 3 2 stars: 7 1 stars: 18
Bottom Line: 35% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 40
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Don't buy from Wish.com

    • Quebec, Canada,
    • Mar 1, 2017

    I bought three items from them, and I never received them. I was successful on getting reimbursed for two of them, but now, when I try to get my money back for the third, the option doesn't work anymore, and the page is empty. I try to contact the costumer service, and I got the same thing, which was an empty page.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Shipments never come

    • Ontario, Canada,
    • Feb 28, 2017

    I made a bunch of orders from Wish.com, and the first three items never even arrived at all. There were two hoodies that did come, and the material was cheap. I ordered six more items from Wish.com, where five of them are delayed, and I'm 100% sure they will not arrive like the others. And one item is set to be delivered by March 6th, but I honestly don't expect it to come. Even if the items on the website were cheap when you receive them, I have had issues getting the items I paid for!

    Would I recommend this? NO, because if you are looking to gift some items on the site, it's 100% guaranteed that you will never get your items on time or ever!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Do not order from this website!

    The first and only time I ordered a simple cushion from this website and what did I receive? An embossing stencil and an email from Wish.com saying my order had been delivered. That is total crap!

    Upon further investigation, there is a scam going on whereby either the wrong address or item is being sent masquerading as the item you ordered i.e. in my case (and others) an embossing stencil! The customer service at Wish.com is a joke too. You send photos of what you actually received, and they still ask for photos. I have now been back and forth for over a week with their "customer service" department and still have not resolved the problem. The police and FBI etc. should be notified about this.

    Do not order from this website!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Wish is too good to be true

    Let me start off by saying that this site came with the great promise of discounted products. Such promises are too good to be true. Let me explain.

    If you're looking to get an anime figure off of this website, or even any anime merch, in general, you are more than likely to get a bootleg. In some cases, you can very well tell if the item you are looking at is a bootleg or not as the seller might have pictures of the figure itself, and it's box. The box and overall paint job is an indication that said item isn't authentic.

    I'm not sure about the other things that they sell on there, but if I had to guess, I would think that it's not worth buying clothes off of there either. Because of the fact that online shopping can be a bit risky when going to discounted websites that sell them, I would even dare to guess that the clothes that they sell don't nearly look as good as they do in the professional photo.

    I've also heard cases of people never getting items that they ordered from Wish. I wasn't one of those people although, if such statements are true, then that is really saying a lot about the company itself. If you're considering wish, I highly advise against it for the reasons above, and the idea of possibly NEVER getting something that you paid for. May I mention that shipping is slow? No wonder, as a majority of the items you can buy on there are originally shipped from China.

    In conclusion, I would not recommend this site. I'd gladly advise sites like Amazon and eBay against this site. At least with both eBay and Amazon, you can more easily get any problems you may have done. With Wish, that seems utterly impossible.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Do not do business with this company

    • California,
    • Feb 25, 2017

    Do not ever buy this product or any other product from this seller or the company! I received the product, and it was defective, and the description of the product was fraudulent.

    Once you purchase from Wish.com, if you have any problems with the product, they will not reimburse your shipping. You also have to pay to ship it back to them. The total cost (with shipping to me) was $24.00. It would be an additional $2.00 to return the product for a total $26.00, of which I was going to receive only $12.00 back.

    Purchasers beware!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Rings

    I ordered a solid 18k white gold ring with a moissanite stone and got a cheap metal ring with CZ. Wish.com is a rip-off.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Wish.com does not deliver, and is a ripoff!

    I have ordered four items from Wish.com. One item showed up, and the other three items did not show up. I have had all four items charged to my credit card. By the way, the least expensive item showed up.

    I placed the order on January 1, 2017, and today is February 17, 2017.

    I don't trust Wish.com.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Wish.com is a terrible place to order from

    • Charlotte, NC,
    • Feb 19, 2017

    My order was placed on January 12, 2017 (Order #: 587772a06c674c319e9a5ebd).

    I received it over a month later. I didn't know that they shipped from CHINA! I wouldn't have ordered from them if I'd known that.

    I ordered a watch band for Gear S2 (metal with locking clasp), but the locking mechanism broke off when I was sizing the watch and removing the links. Yes, it simply just broke off.

    I bought it with a Christmas Amex gift card, and the gift card was long since been thrown away. I requested a refund and explained that they would have to cut a check because it was bought with a gift card THREE times, and all they kept saying was "We've refunded it to your credit card, check with them."

    Their reading comprehension is at an all-time low there. You want to support a crappy Chinese company with crappier customer service, that's your business.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 10 people found this review helpful

    It depends

    • Philadelphia, PA,
    • Feb 13, 2017

    I think it depends on the items you buy. I refuse to buy clothing from Wish.com and just stick to little stuff like makeup brushes, makeup bags, and other miscellaneous items. I've gotten everything I've ordered, except one thing, but getting a refund for it was easy (even though I had to wait about a week and a half for it).

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Rip off!

    I have placed four orders through Wish.com and received two. Wish.com will not respond to my repeated requests, and now I think Wish.com is fraudulent.

    Beware, it is not a good value when you don't get but only half of your stuff. There are other sites that are honest and will stand behind the customer, whereas Wish.com will not.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 5 people found this review helpful

    I bought a rear view mirror

    • California,
    • Feb 7, 2017

    I paid over $120 for it and it didn't work the way it was supposed to.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 40

Write a review for Wish.com!

Share your experience to help others avoid scams & discover great products!

Write a Review