BetterHelp Reviews - How Effective Is It?

  This company has claimed this profile, is getting alerted on any new customer reviews entering this page, and may engage in dialogue with its customers to address their matters.

Companies cannot pay money or provide goods in order to remove or alter customer reviews.
BetterHelp

Overall Rating

4.7

2318 Customer Reviews

Write a Review

Summary

BetterHelp is an online counseling platform that will pair you with a professionally licensed counselor. Access to counseling can be scheduled at any time, anywhere, and through any smart device. The efficacy of BetterHelp is linked to provider skill and intervention protocols but there are some drawbacks if you fall into certain categories of needs.

Pros

  • Flexibility of schedule that is convenient for your schedule
  • Access to a licensed professional counselor

Cons

  • Results and efficacy are dependent on your paired provider
  • Scheduled counseling sessions will require and will depend on available internet connection and speeds
  • Not covered through insurance

Customer Reviews

4.7 Stars out of 2318 Reviews
5 Star:86% 4 Star:6% 3 Star:0% 2 Star:0% 1 Star:4%
94% Recommend This Service
Start your review of BetterHelp:
Sort Reviews By
This company is actively collecting reviews from its customers. All reviews submitted are subject to moderation and approval to ensure they meet our Review Guidelines.

Posted on May 17, 2022

100% recommend

By Lexi A., Huntsville, AL, Verified Reviewer

I had a free month trial to BetterHelp and now I love my therapist so much. This can be seen as a good or bad thing, if you have the extra money to receive therapy on this app I would recommend it 100%. I came into this experience not expecting much but now I look forward to it every week.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Chat sessions

Worksheets

Availability to chat whenever

Cost

Posted on May 17, 2022

Wonderful service

By Jill Y. , Austin, TX

I love BetterHelp and recommend at least trying it. It helped me through some very tough times and continues to show me new ways to cope with the new life I choose to live about 5 years ago.

I was on drugs for a long time and find that I have a lot of things that I haven’t experienced or sometimes just wanna know if I’m thinking the right things. So if you have any experience with a regular counseling format, you’ll find this way better. You can text anytime you want and ask questions. You can also do your appointments via telephone or on the camera on your phone or computer. My counselor is giving me a lot of ways to cope with life on life’s terms.

It’s not easy and I guess that’s why I stayed high for like 25 years. That’s also no life. They are respectful of your current needs and support you where you are at the time.

Thank you to whoever started BetterHelp.

Length of Use: 6–12 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Variety of counselors

Variety of expertise

Variety of therapy methods

Give financial aid

Expensive for me

Financial aid could be more

More places for funding for people who can’t afford

Posted on May 17, 2022

Growth in ways unimaginable

By Stormy T., Summerville, SC, Verified Reviewer

I came to this app out of desperation. I had no hope and I felt I was running out of time. After the application, I was paired with someone who would save my life and teach me ways to love and trust myself. I’m not perfect and I’m not all the way healed, but in the 3 months I’ve been here I’ve made more progress than I thought I ever could. If you want help, reach out. It’s going to change you. BetterHelp has made me believe in a future. And Mary Beth teaches me ways to get there.

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

My therapist

The quick response time

The attention to my needs

The app interface is amazing

The cost; but I understand the times

Posted on May 16, 2022

Gained tools to manage workplace anger

By Patrick B., Tampa, FL, Verified Reviewer

I was connected with an outstanding therapist and in a very short period of time. We worked for about five months and during that time I was able to gain many different tools to help control and better manage my anger.

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

The ability to meet virtually

Appointment scheduling flexibility

Being connected with a professional therapist

The cost

Posted on May 16, 2022

I was skeptical

By Anna J., North Carolina, Verified Reviewer

I’m always skeptical of things I see in ads on social media, podcasts, or radio, but after hearing about BetterHelp for over a year and hitting my lowest low, I decided I needed something and traditional therapy was not something I could do or afford. I finally checked out BetterHelp and was actually able to receive financial help as well. I was matched with a therapist who has done more for me in 2 sessions than any therapist I had seen before in the past. It also fits my super busy life with 3 super active in extracurricular activities and an infant. I stay on the go constantly. So the ability to do a session anywhere and schedule my own sessions has been a HUGE plus! I even did my last session sitting in the carpool line, lol. I can’t say enough good things about BetterHelp.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Flexibility

Customizable

Affordable

No “cons” were specified in this review

Posted on May 16, 2022

So glad for the empowerment of therapy

By Hope S. , Florida

I lost my son unexpectedly and my world changed dramatically. I never experienced such pain and grief with loss. I thought I was losing my mind. I am so glad that I took the chance on therapy. My LMHC has been a great help.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Virtual available

Can text through app

Offers webinars to help make sense of things

No “cons” were specified in this review

Posted on May 15, 2022

So easy, yet productive!

By Christa R., Atlanta, GA, Verified Reviewer

My daughter recommended this service after trying it herself. From the first session, I felt a connection with my therapist. And now I look forward to my weekly sessions to, as she says, “keep unpacking experiences in my life that I need to acknowledge and address.” I told her from the beginning that I don’t have any urgent issues to address, but I have a lot of mental illness in my family and I want to maintain a healthy mental health lifestyle. She’s been able to direct the sessions casually, but productively, and I’m so grateful.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Convenience

Cost

Quality

No “cons” were specified in this review

Posted on May 14, 2022

Love this

By Geoffrey G., Texas, Verified Reviewer

Being able to schedule video call sessions has been a game-changer. I found a doctor I like a lot and having better accessibility is great.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Easy to schedule

Flexibility

No “cons” were specified in this review

Posted on May 14, 2022

Great value

By Jacqui D., Lincoln, NE, Verified Reviewer

This experience has been way better than finding an in-person therapist on my own. Not only can I choose how I meet with my therapist, but I can also message her and get feedback before my next session. The group webinars have been highly beneficial and I can participate in as many as I want and follow up on my experience with my therapist to dig deeper.

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

The questionnaire matching me to a therapist

Groupinars

Value without having to deal with insurance

Service is occasionally spotty on video

Posted on May 14, 2022

I did NOT expect this

By Jenn B., Houston, TX, Verified Reviewer

After being a skeptic about therapy for years and experiencing not-so-great therapists in the past, I thought the BetterHelp app would be no different from what I'd already been through. I can gratefully admit I was wrong!

I never expected to be comfortable doing therapy online, especially not in group sessions, but my whole experience with BetterHelp has been mainly good. The sense of relief after joining a group session feels nice. I no longer hesitate to join in and to others experiencing similar concerns, I don't feel as unrelatable as I did before. I use to feel as if no one would ever understand me.

Talking with Dr. Moran during our private sessions is always a fresh breath of relief. She is so easygoing, responsive, realistic, and has great active listening skills. Having a therapist that doesn't make me feel judged or pressured is amazing, and Dr. Moran is the best at this!

I definitely recommend anyone who feels anxious, depressed, confused, lonely, misunderstood, or angry to try BetterHelp – things can only go up from there.

Length of Use: 6–12 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

I love having the ability to write my thoughts in a private journal and choose what I'd like to share with my therapist whenever I want

Variety of therapist hosting group sessions about different topics, and they're scheduled at different times

The app has pretty great reminders, as well as other useful features

I not a fan of the live chat sessions – but only because I type too slow for it

Posted on May 14, 2022

My review of BetterHelp

By Olga P., Daytona Beach, FL, Verified Reviewer

I really like the program. My therapist is awesome – she is exactly what I need in a therapist, she listens to what I need, and she knows her best to help me and the areas I need her to help in. She is very supportive and not judgemental and she offers me any advice or support that I need. I enjoy and look forward to my sessions with her.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Great therapist

I enjoy the groupings

I enjoy the journey and the suggested topics

No “cons” were specified in this review

Showing 199-209 of 2318

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.