Blue Diamond Pan Review: Is It a Good Non-Stick Pan?

By HighYa Staff
Published on: Jun 4, 2018

Using ultra-durable ceramic that’s infused with millions of diamond particles, Blue Diamond Pan promises to deliver a coating that’s five times harder, lasts 10 times longer, and transfers heat four times better than the competition.

Together with its solid forged base, heat-safe functionality up to 850°, and ability to roast, broil, bake, low-fat fry, sear, and sauté, the manufacturer advertises it delivers extreme strength and warp prevention, toxin-free (PFOA, PFAS, lead, cadmium) cooking, and is dishwasher safe for quick and easy cleanup. In fact, they claim you can even use metal utensils.

These certainly sound like some fantastic benefits. But, once we move away from marketing sound bites and look at real-world performance, is Blue Diamond really the strongest, longest lasting non-stick pan available? Even then, does it represent the best non-stick option for you?

Let’s start by taking a look at non-stick cookware in general, and coatings infused with diamond particles, specifically.

How Does Diamond-Infused Cookware Work?

In How to Buy the Best Non-Stick Cookware, we explain there are three different types of coatings used in these types of products:

  • Fluoropolymer Gel – Typically sold under the Teflon brand name, this is made from polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE), a plastic polymer resin that’s known for its durability.
  • Silicone – The least expensive option that's baked onto metal, but which is known to lose its non-stick ability quickly.
  • Sol-Gel Ceramic – A ceramic like blend “that incorporates a release agent in the coating to give a slippery texture,” provides good temperature resistance, and offers a variety of color choices.

In the instance of cookware like Blue Diamond, ultra-small diamond particles are added to the ceramic mixture before it’s baked onto the metal, which these manufacturers typically advertise improves hardness, durability, and heat transferability.

However, it’s worth emphasizing that the company behind Blue Diamond Pan doesn’t provide evidence to support their claims that their diamond-infused coating is five times harder, lasts 10 times longer, or transfers heat four times better than the competition. Even the originator of these diamond-infused non-stick coatings (more soon) doesn’t provide evidence to support these claims.

Furthermore, zooming out and looking at the information reported by sites like Geek.com, MSN.com, and ChowHound.com, based on real-world testing (including some conducted by professional chefs), popular diamond-infused non-stick coatings don’t necessarily deliver better performance compared to standard PTFE-based coatings, regardless of price.

» Related: Non-Stick Cookware 101: Is Teflon Safe?

How Much Does Blue Diamond Pan Cost?

One 9.5” Blue Diamond Pan is priced at $19.99, plus $8.95 S&H, while you can purchase a second pan during checkout for an additional $8.95 fee.

Each order comes with 50 quick and easy recipes, a 60-day refund policy (less S&H and any fees associated with the second pan), and a limited lifetime warranty against defects in materials and workmanship.

Note: Per the Warranty listed on the Blue Diamond Pan website, if a claim is filed more than 60 days after purchase, customers are required to pay for S&H to the manufacturer and also include an $8.95 check for return S&H.

In order to request a refund or file a warranty claim, you’ll need to call customer support at 800-430-0475. Next, let’s quickly take a look at who you’ll call and what their online customer reputation is.

Who Makes Blue Diamond Pan?

The Cookware Company (USA), LLC is based out of Tarrytown, NY and has been in business since 2007.

In addition to Blue Diamond, they also manufacture popular brands such as GreenPan (more in the next section), GreenChef, GreenLife, VitaVerde, Twiztt, Michel Roux, Cookware Holland, GERO, Keltum, van Kempen & Begeer, and Fiesta cookware.

Blue Diamond Pan vs. Other Non-Stick Cookware

While traditional Teflon-based non-stick cookware has been on the market for decades, and ceramic cookware is newer but has still been available for years, it appears that Swiss Diamond is the original diamond-infused non-stick manufacturer. They’ve been in business since 2001.

Based on their length of time in the marketplace, it seems they’ve dominated this cookware niche for a while, although several other companies have recently entered their territory. Some of the top options at the time of our research included:

Company Size(s) Available Price(s)
Blue Diamond Pan 9.5" $19.99
Swiss Diamond 7" - 12.5" $39.95 - $229.95
Copper Chef Diamond Pan 10" $24.99+
Diamotech Pan 9.5", 12.5" $19.99, $29.99
GreenPan Diamond EverShine 8", 10", 12" $89.95 - $99.96
WOLL Diamond Lite Fry Pan 8" - 12" $60 - $135
Happycall 5-Layer Diamond Coating Fry Pan 7.9" - 12.6" $25 - $50

Considering the wide variety of sizes and price points available, how can you choose the best diamond-infused option? As with most consumer purchases, it’s largely going to come down to your individual needs.

For example, returning to our non-stick cookware buying guide, we emphasize that sol-gel ceramic coatings typically boast a better initial release than traditional Teflon.

“However, the non-stick property of sol-gel can degrade faster than conventional PTFE coatings. While proper use and care play a significant role, if treated similarly, ceramic would lose its non-stick qualities sooner. Not only will ceramic-like non-stick pans wear more quickly, but they are more prone to scratching, reducing their overall durability.

On the other hand, ceramic coatings like Blue Diamond’s are often heat resistant up to 850°, while traditional Teflon begins deteriorating and losing its quality at temps above 500°. So, if high temps are your main concern—as long as you’re ultra-careful when using utensils and washing, then it might deliver a solid option.

Does this necessarily mean you should go ahead and place an order? Let’s fully answer this important question as we come to a conclusion.

Our Final Thoughts About Blue Diamond Pan

When choosing a non-stick pan, quality largely comes down to three distinct—but closely related—factors:

  • The coating’s specific formula, which is frequently proprietary to each manufacturer
  • The number of layers in the coating
  • Each layer’s thickness

We contacted several customer support representatives at the number above looking for these types of details about Blue Diamond, although none were able to provide anything more than what was listed on the website.

If you decide to give the 9.5" pan a try, though, it comes from a company with many years in business and who stands behind it with a 60-day refund and a lifetime limited warranty. Just keep in mind that since you’ll lose your initial $8.95 S&H charge (plus the additional $8.85 fee if you ordered the second pan), it’s not a completely risk-free transaction.

» Related: How to Season, Use, Clean, and Store Your Non-Stick Cookware

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 40 Blue Diamond Pan Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.9
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 6 4 star: 0 3 star: 3 2 star: 5 1 star:  26
Bottom Line: 20% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 40
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    The handle burns your hand

    • Tampa, FL,
    • Apr 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I like the pots and pans, only have it for two months now, but notice the handles get hot. They need a coating like other brands have on them. You need a pot holder or towel. They need to make it better or just not make cookware anymore.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Pan is not what they claim it to be

    • Bowmanville, Ontario, Canada,
    • Apr 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I received several of these Blue Diamond Pans at Christmas to replace my old one. Well, it was no stick the very first time I used it, then I always had to spray with Pam, use butter or oil, not at all what it says. I wash with warm water and never have used anything harsh to wipe it down and the coating is coming off. Gotta say I am very disappointed with this.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    10-inch frying pan

    • Sylvania, GA,
    • Apr 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I got a set of Blue Diamond for Christmas. Today is April 2nd. I have had this cookware now for three months and hate it. My 10-inch pan started sticking within two weeks of use. No, I do not use high heat on the cookware or put in the dishwasher. The money spent on this cookware is a waste of money. You are better off spending more money to get what you want. In order to use my warranty, I need to have all the documentation from purchase, but this was a gift. I wouldn't recommend you even attempting to spend money on this.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 10 people found this review helpful

    I have not found a way to keep this pan from sticking

    • Spring Branch, TX,
    • Mar 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought this pan from Amazon. This Blue Diamond pan worked great for a couple of weeks, then everything stuck to it. I am 84 years old and have been frying food for over 75 years and I have never had a pan this bad. Do not waste your money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Scrambled eggs stuck after 2 months of use

    • McAllen, TX,
    • Mar 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I wanted this pan to be as great as the commercials claimed. I bought mine at Khols. For a while, it was excellent with omelets and pancakes. I haven't had it very long, but use it daily, only with silicone utensils. I've never used metal, wood, or even scouring pads, and only a sponge for washing. When I make scrambled eggs, even though I always add a little EVOO, a film of egg gets stuck and I have to scrape it (with a silicone spatula) before it burns. I made French toast. The recipe said to oil the pan between slices. Now, there's a large patch of black burnt on oil and I don't want to scour it off. I'll look for a remedy online, but that wasn't supposed to happen, according to the commercials. That never happened to me with my Teflon pan. Scrambled eggs weren't supposed to stick either. The pan was excellent at first. About 2 months later, my Blue Diamond pan is not at all special. I took a pic of the burnt oil patch, hoping to upload it somewhere.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    I love my pan.

    • Cleveland, OH,
    • Mar 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    With any non-stick pan, you must observe certain rules.

    1) Do not wash with soap. Soak pan well, then clean off with sponge or rag. Wipe dry.

    2) If the surface starts to stick, clean pan as above, rub a small amount of oil on the inside surface covering inside completely, then put in 350-degree oven for 1/2 hour to seal surface. Let cool and wipe with clean cloth. It will be good to go.

    3) Keep outside clean each time you use the pan. Spattered grease can build up fast, ruining the looks of this beautiful pan.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Blue Diamond Pan set

    • Minnesota,
    • Mar 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I don't understand all the negative comments. I have been using my pans for a while and I actually have to be careful because they are so slippery! I went to put what I was cooking onto my plate and it almost flew out and missed my plate! I wish they make a smaller saucepan too.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Disgusted

    • Tucson, AZ,
    • Mar 1, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought this pan thinking it would be awesome. Two weeks into moderate use, it has proven to be of less quality than a 10" pan I bought at Walmart as part of a three pan set for $9.99!

    The no-stick surface is NOT effective...the coating in the center of the pan is clearly GONE, everything sticks to the pan and cannot be easily cleaned. I use oil, and or Pam, doesn't matter, this pan is JUNK.

    P.S. The paint/coating on the bottom of the pan is chipping off!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Garbage!

    • Calgary, Alberta, Canada,
    • Feb 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Everything sticks. Bacon especially. I would never buy this product if you're looking for a non-stick surface. NO, don't buy it!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Junk

    • Michigan,
    • Feb 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The pan was nice at first. I followed all the care instructions no spray oils nothing would stick eggs came out perfect. After a few weeks of use, everything would stick to it. Nothing but a waste of money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Terrible

    • Hickory Hills, IL,
    • Feb 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    STICKS! I am going to throw it out. I'm so mad that I fell for this nonsense. Going back to my old faithful T-Fal pans. I wish I could take pictures of this pan. I've only had it for about a month. Today I tried again with ground beef. I couldn't even move the meat around without scraping it off the bottom.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 40

Write a Review for Blue Diamond Pan!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review