Blue Diamond Pan

Blue Diamond Pan

Overall Rating

1.8

89 Customer Reviews

Summary

Blue Diamond Pan is allegedly a nonstock pan that claims to be toxin-free, durable, and longer-lasting. The manufacture also claims that it's dishwasher and metal utensil safe. Learn how customers are reviewing this pan.

Write a Review

Customer Reviews

1.8 Stars out of 89 Reviews
5 Star:10% 4 Star:2% 3 Star:4% 2 Star:22% 1 Star:60%
16% Recommend This Product
Start your review of Blue Diamond Pan:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Jun 28, 2021

Toxic-like odor...

By Jim S., Madison, WI, Verified Reviewer

I followed the instructions of use and care to a T. I wanted a nonstick that was safe for one's health, so I bought the 12" one in particular because of its size and it claimed it as "non-toxic". Though I never used it on high flame, it has consistently given off a toxic-like odor while heated. I don't know if it's the outside or the inside of the pan, but it does concern me it may be a health risk, either by eating or by breathing it in. I have used the pan approximately 10 times over a period of about two years, and only for toasted cheese sandwiches and for fried eggs which cooked both properly. To date, I haven't had any of the other complaints mentioned by other users. Meanwhile, I will continue primarily using my stainless or cast iron cookware, and only rarely the Blue Diamond skillet. I will be listening closely for updates on the suitability of this skillet, particularly with respect to any possible toxicity.

Length of Use: 1–2 years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Did not stick

It cooked the toasted cheese sandwiches evenly as long as I turned them

It had a toxic-like odor while heated on the flame

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on May 29, 2021

2-piece frying pans

By Carol C., Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada, Verified Reviewer

I purchased the 2 frying pans and after 4 months they both will stick even bacon and especially eggs. I tried using more oil and that didn't help. I wouldn't recommend them.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

The 1st couple of months nothing stuck

After 2 months food started to stick

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on May 5, 2021

Chipping within the first week

By Michelle C., Redding, CA, Verified Reviewer

I convinced my husband to purchase this set but disappointment in the quality soon hit us. We discussed purchasing cast iron skillets.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Color

Easily scratchable

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 17, 2021

Good advertising of a crappy product

By Ted K., Raleigh, NC, Verified Reviewer

I've had T-fal pans for over a decade. The surfaces were still slick but the bottoms were unclean-able so I decided to upgrade. I was leaning toward the Titanium pans until I saw the BD ad showing the titanium pot's surface would break down after time. So I purchased a full set of the BD brand trusting the advertiser's statements. I purchased the set through Amazon and when they arrived I discarded my trusty T-fal pots. After the first use of the small saucepan, I noticed it had begun to chip. I contacted the manufacture about the lifetime warranty. They told me I needed to deal with the distributor. Amazon wanted me to send the entire set back before I could get a replacement. The shipping was more than the cost of the one failed pot so I took the loss. Now it's been a year and everything sticks to these crappy pots. Making this the MOST EXPENSIVE set of pots I've ever purchased.

Length of Use: 6–12 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

They look nice when they are new

Very poor manufacturing

Deceptive advertising

False warranty claims

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 5, 2021

Disappointed!

By Linda C., French Lick, IN, Verified Reviewer

I was so excited when I purchased the set. Frying an egg was great the first couple of times. Everything I fix in the skillets stick now. I would not recommend these to anyone. I wasted my money!

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

They stick! I wish I never purchased them.

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 3, 2021

Sticky nonstick

By James L., Wyandotte, MI, Verified Reviewer

I bit the bullet and purchased a 12" skillet at my local grocery store, as a test. At first, it was everything that was advertised. I noticed that, after the third or fourth use, that my eggs started to stick to the pan. I added some butter which seemed to help...for a while. This morning, I placed approximately 1/2 cup of oil in the pan and some freshly grated hash browns. They immediately stuck to the pan...along the entire bottom. I had to grab my spatula and scrape them off the pan.

I can feel food residue, and was able to scrape some of it off, the coating. It can only be removed with a Scotch-Brite type cleaner and only with a lot of muscle grease...not the sort of reason I'd buy the pan. I use Dawn dish soap and have even let the pan soak for a few hours but there is a visible difference in the coating.

There is a warranty and I saved it. I'll see what they do. As I said, it was a test before I went for the set. Unless we can find out why my pan malfunctioned, I'll be looking elsewhere.

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Very attractive coating (blue)

Edges at a good angle for flipping

Handle right sized for handling pan

The bottom is quite beefy...no worries about it warping

Even stickier than my non-coated pans

Handle gets hot

Extremely difficult to get all caked-on junk off

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 14, 2021

The other reviews are right, and I should have listened

By Scott L., Charlotte, NC, Verified Reviewer

In fairness, I've only had the thing a few weeks. Forever in search of pans that will last and not stick - I decided to try the square griddle pan. Out of the box, there is some sort of waxy-like coating. I couldn't get it off with gentle cleaning, so I decided maybe that's just the way it works. As that coating has broken down with daily use, the non-stick seems to be wearing off a little as well. But, never fear, I'm happy to use a little bit of oil - even the best pans can benefit, right? Well, the issue is that when the pan is heated, it warps up in the middle, so all the oil or butter goes to the edges - and so do eggs, pancakes, and other liquids. I never use more than medium heat, and I use the largest burner to distribute the heat more evenly. Upon cooling, the pan returns to flat - so it isn't me abusing it. Must be a design defect in the alloy blend used - it also doesn't distribute the heat well. So at this point, it's probably too late to return, but maybe I can save you the hassle. Doesn't live up to the hype. Alas, I'm still searching for a good non-stick pan.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

The hardness of the surface seems real - I have no scratches so far with proper use

Warps

Uneven heat-distribution

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 4, 2021

Have set of Blue Diamond

By Virginia V., Grand Terrace, CA, Verified Reviewer

After six months everything seems to stick.

I washed them carefully and purchased special spoons. Would not purchase more.

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

That when I used them everything stick

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Dec 14, 2020

False warranty

By Rick D., Mertztown, PA, Verified Reviewer

After purchasing an 11-piece set of Blue Diamond, we opened the box and found that the 9.5" fry pan had 2 marks/scratches on it. After reaching out, they never sent the e-mail to follow up on how to see about getting the pan replaced. Called a week later and the 1st customer service rep never put it through. Got the e-mail finally, sent them pictures, as they asked, and they replied by saying that it wasn't a manufacturer defect and that it was from our use of it. We didn't even use it! Horrible way to do business for a company that guarantees their products so wholeheartedly. Will not be using any of the products that the company offers at all.

We used the large saute pan and it seemed to be ok, as did the large pot to boil water for pasta.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Good price for 11-piece set

Looks of decent quality

2 marks/scratches right out of the box

Customer service tried to blame us for the damage

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Dec 8, 2020

Bad smell when heating

By Thomas D., Newark, DE, Verified Reviewer

I purchased a 12 cookware set from Walmart. I read the instructions and washed the pans by hand, The pans seem to have a strange smell when they heat up, I'm careful not to use high heat on them. The smell has me concerned, the label says non-toxic but it sure smells toxic to me, so I'm thinking of returning them.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

I liked the look of the cookware

The price was good, $79.99

Pans have a toxic smell when heated

False advertisement, they are not dishwasher safe and you cannot us metal utensils on them

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 7, 2020

Great for a little while

By Patricia A., Huntsville, AL, Verified Reviewer

The pan worked great for a while and was super non-stick. Then everything started to stick hard, even bacon. I never used any metal utensils on it and always hand washed it. I returned it to the store to find out what the "Limited Lifetime Warranty" was. They didn't know so I contact Blue Diamond customer service. They referred me back to the store even though I told them they could help. They also gave me another email to which I should send my question. Not sure why they couldn't have done that themselves. I sent it myself, however, no response from that as yet.

Length of Use: 6–12 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

At first the pan performed great

Easy to clean

Didn't last long, everything sticks hard now

Retailer and customer service were no help with the "Limited Lifetime Warranty"

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 22, 2020

Can't recommend this product

By Frank M., Tampa, FL, Verified Reviewer

I bought a total of 5 pots and pans with lids and 1 free very small egg fry pan, in February. The handles are too small and narrow (not ergonomic) and get hot, the non-stick finish is sticking all the time (never used spray oils), and the pot top edges are sharp, not rounded or burred. Now all the pots and pans are flaking/chipping inside and at the top edges of the pans. Will soon be throwing these in the recycle bin.

Length of Use: 6–12 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

They arrived on time

Handles

Edges

Flaking, sticking

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 19, 2020

Most of the skillets and griddle product line stick

By Jim L., Paris, KY, Verified Reviewer

I had purchased the skillets and griddles line of Blue Diamond Pans. With hopes to have an entire set of actual non-stick cookware, I use most. Followed every manufacturer's recommendation and to my disbelief, the poor performance of every pan but the small skillet. To this day, that one pan is doing great. Every other pan sticks terribly unless you spray/oil it heavily. Did not keep the receipt trusting the hype. So keep your receipt! You're going to need it. I personally don't recommend purchasing them!

Length of Use: 6–12 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Small skillet is the only pan worked as stated, great omelet pan

Every other pan in the lin,e except the small skillet, did not work as stated

Food sticks and stuck worse more used

Griddle, food sticks even with spray and very hard to clean residue

Does not work as claimed

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 10, 2020

I bought the the 2-pan package about a year ago and have loved them, except they now stick.

By Ronald B., Charlottesville, VA, Verified Reviewer

Love the pans but the 11-inch has started to stick after 10 months of use. They have been hand washed and only used with silicone tools. What is your warranty? Do they still have a warranty that is still good or they are only expected to only last a year.

Length of Use: 6–12 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Non stick

They do not last

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Sep 14, 2020

One good...one not so good

By Robert C., Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada, Verified Reviewer

We bought two, 12" and 10". The 12" has seen far more cooking and heat and has done well. Rinse, wipe, dry, put away. However, the 10" has stained and the surface is splotchy. The majority of cooking on this 10" has been shredded hash browns, a small slab of butter with some spices added. Medium heat, 3 minutes flip for 3 minutes and serve. For whatever reason, this has marked the pan and is hard to clean. I have not used anything abrasive, just a regular non-metallic dish scrubber. I cannot get the pan back to its regular surface.

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Oven safe

Typically, effortless to clean

Pan profile

10" pan has stained, surface is splotchy and will not clean

Price

Has not lived up to its reputation

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 9, 2020

Read the instructions

By Evangeline M., Bedford County, PA, Verified Reviewer

I bought the 10-inch fry pay about 2 weeks ago at Walmart. I have used it several times and I am happy with it. I do not use metal, most of the time. If I do (one time), I am very careful not to scrape it. No problems. I NEVER use oil sprays, as the instructions say to not do so. I think lots of people who have written did probably use spray oils. Most of those are bad for people also.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Very non-stick

Breeze to clean

Attractive

Inexpensive compared to copper pots, which are very harmful as they leach copper (very toxic)

No “cons” were specified in this review

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 27, 2020

Waste of money

By Frank C., New Jersey, Verified Reviewer

I bought the large fry pan. After 4 months, the surface discolored and developed a sticky coating. I never use high heat. I then bought a second fry pan. Same issue. I bought one on Amazon and the other at Walmart. Could not get a refund. Don't buy this product.

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Did not last long

Surface of pan discolored

Surface of pan developed a sticky coating

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 5, 2020

LOVE THESE PANS!!!

By Karen C., Puyallup , Verified Reviewer

The BEST non-stick pan I have ever used, and my husband thinks so, too! We have had zero problems with these pans and use them for everything that we can! They look great, cook great with no sticking, and clean easier than any other pans we have had! We love them so much, that we bought some for the Christmas exchange game that our family plays, and it was one of the most desired gifts!

Length of Use: 1–2 years

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Non-toxic

Food doesn't stick

Cleans easily

Very nice-looking

No “cons” were specified in this review

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 2, 2020

Worst marketing trap I ever fell into

By Florian E., Germany, Verified Reviewer

Worst marketing trap I ever fell into. The food is sticking to the pan, mostly the center of the pan. And I even know why!

Because the fat is only flowing to the sides! It's supposed to NOT start bending in the middle? Well...it didn't start bending, it already was bent when I bought it!

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Apr 17, 2020

Waste of money

By Chuck L., Minneapolis, MN, Verified Reviewer

I have the large fry pan, even under any heat bacon will stick, let alone other food types. I have never had bacon stick to any type of pan before, do not waste your money on this product.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Jan 28, 2020

I'm on my second set due to the fact that the frying pans ended with chips in bottom

By Linda B., Clinton, UT, Verified Reviewer

I received a set for Christmas, and I love how they cool, but like I said, the frying pans each ended with a chip in them just after if used a knife to cut some meat open to see how well it was cooked. Would recommend to a friend as long as I told them about my dealings with the pans.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 16, 2020

Worked for a while, now not so much.

By Roy S., Northeast Ohio, Verified Reviewer

This pan was referred to us by a friend. He claimed it was the best. Worked for a while...now everything sticks to it. Never overheated. Always oiled/greased. When cleaned, finish still looks like new. No abrasive scrubbers used on it. I got out my old Teflon frypan and finished up breakfast today. I'm going to gift the Blue Diamond to my friend. Maybe his wasn't used as much as ours.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 7 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 7, 2020

Never buying Blue Diamond Pan again.

By Tracy L., South Carolina, Verified Reviewer

Bought the largest fry pan 9" inside cooking area and 11 inches rim to rim, was great first 2 times using. Loved how it cooked! Cleanup was easy. BUT since those 2 times and thereafter, every time I cook, the pan won't come completely clean.

It leaves a brown sticky residue. I loved the size of the fry pan, very disappointed because they are not a cheap fry pan, grateful I didn't buy any more than 1 pan.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 11 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 3, 2020

Pan is crap

By Ed H., New Jersey, Verified Reviewer

My wife bought a Blue Diamond frying pan. The first time I used it I almost burned my hand on the handle. Can't pick up by handle with a hot pad. Next problem is the non-stick wears off fast. Can't make eggs without butter in the pan. The pan will go in the trash can. Don't waste your money.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 12 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 28, 2019

Hard to clean

By MaryJanr C., North Carolina, Verified Reviewer

Purchased 1 month ago, used regularly and has developed a greasy film on the cooking surface which we are unable to remove with normal hand-washing cleaning routines. Product cooks well.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 27, 2019

So so

By Ernest E., British Columbia, Canada, Verified Reviewer

You have to use oil or butter which defeats the non-stick feature. Eggs stick without oil or butter, wondering if there will be a recall after Christmas...

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 10 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 17, 2019

Do not waste your money, starts out amazing until coating wears off

By Jenness S., Texas, Verified Reviewer

I absolutely loved this pan for 4 months. Cleanup was easy, only a paper towel to wipe away excess and brand new. I tend to keep all pots oiled slightly but clean between uses. Used only silicon tools with it. My BF, ONE TIME, used metal tongues with hard nylon edges to turn over meat about 3 weeks ago and he is a very good cook so I know he wasn't just raking the pan and now the pan is useless. There are 100 tiny minuscule scratches now and everything sticks. It was NYLON edges - the metal wasn't even connecting.

This morning I tried to make eggs, put organic coconut oil (too much) in the pan and gently cracked open eggs into it. Even the oldest pans it would not stick in that much oil. I couldn't even get the eggs up without breaking them. Threw it in the trash. Just worthless.

It states you can use metal but that's a lie - you can't even use hard nylon. Nothing advertised is true.

I noticed that even with the most gentle care that it was starting to not be as good after 4 months - so perhaps the coating had worn with consistent daily albeit gentle as a feather use, that even nylon ruined it.

Don't waste your money. I'm really annoyed at how mad I am at this pan because at first, I was so happy with it.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 11 People Have Voted
Showing 1-27 of 89

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.