BlueChew Review - The Ideal ED Treatment?

By Derek Lakin
HighYa Staff
Published on: Jun 21, 2018

BlueChew is an online subscription service that ships physician-prescribed chewable sildenafil and tadalafil ED tablets—the same active ingredients as Cialis or Viagra—directly to your door.

According to their website, these tablets dissolve quicker, don’t require water to take, aren’t affected by food or beverages, and “jump into action up to twice as fast for many men.”

Together, Dr. Alex Jovanovich, BlueChew’s co-founder, emphasizes they make “the process affordable, convenient and discreet for those who don’t want to take pills but still want the confidence of being at their best.”

And since only the medical professional assigned to your chart will review your profile, the website emphasizes you can rest assured that all your medical information is kept 100% private and HIPAA compliant.

According to Statista.com, telemedicine—“the remote diagnosis and treatment of patients by means of telecommunications technology”—will more than double its global market size between 2016 and 2021 to more than $41 billion.

As such, BlueChew’s claim that “this is the future of healthcare” seems accurate from a high-level perspective. In this article, we’ll zoom in and take a closer look at the company and their competitors, so you can make a more informed decision.

How Does BlueChew Work?

BlueChew currently offers their services to residents of CA, FL, GA, IL, NJ, NY, NC, MI, OH, and VA. Their terms emphasize that “each state has different telemedicine laws and the staff is working diligently to be in all 50 states.”

If you’re a resident of one of these states, after clicking the Get Started button on home page, you’ll choose one of the following product and plan combinations:

  • 25 MG Sildenafil chewables: 5, 8, or 13 per month
  • 2.5 MG Tadalafil chewables: 3, 5, or 8 per month

From there, you'll complete your profile, which involves entering your name, date of birth, state, the reason for choosing BlueChew, as well as high-level details about your treatment history (any medications/supplements you’re taking, allergies, level of physical fitness, medical conditions, etc.).

To finalize the process, you’ll create an account by entering your email address and choosing a password, inputting your first and last name, address, shipping method, and credit card details and pressing the Place Order button. Overall, this shouldn’t take more than five minutes.

According to the website, this information will be used “to help certified doctors write you a prescription.” “Each patient,” they tell us, “is reviewed by a licensed physician or medical professional.

We also offer patient care from licensed physician assistants to make sure your medical questions are answered in a timely matter.”

From there, your medication will be delivered monthly in discreet, individually wrapped packages. Sildenafil will arrive in black pouches, while tadalafil will be in light gray pouches.

What are Sildenafil and Tadalafil?

Sildenafil and Tadalafil are known as a phosphodiesterase type-5 (PDE5) inhibitors, which is a molecule that plays a significant role in regulating the cardiovascular system.

Specifically, Patient.info explains that these medications help “widen (relax) blood vessels and improve the flow of blood to the penis following sexual stimulation. This helps to maintain an erection.”

Despite their similar mechanisms of action, there are some meaningful differences between the two medications.

As explained on the BlueChew website, one big difference is that tadalafil chewables are taken daily and typically last 24 to 36 hours, whereas sildenafil is taken as needed and often starts working in 25 to 30 minutes, but provides a much narrower window of opportunity between four and six hours.

Another difference explained by Patient.info is that tadalafil can help relax prostate and bladder muscles and improve blood flow to the areas, so it’s typically prescribed for men experiencing benign prostatic hyperplasia (BPH).

Both medications (under different brand names) are also prescribed to address pulmonary arterial hypertension.

How Much Does BlueChew Cost?

BlueChew’s monthly subscriptions are priced as follows:

  • Sildenafil Chewables, 25 mg: Five ($20), Eight ($30), Thirteen ($50)
  • Tadalafil Chewables, 2.5 mg: Three ($20), Five ($30), Eight ($50)

Customers can cancel or stop their subscription at any time under their My Account page, without contracts or hidden fees.

While BlueChew doesn’t accept insurance for their services, their FAQ emphasizes, "we are usually a lot cheaper than an in-person doctor visit and filling a prescription at the pharmacy (even with insurance)."

Pro tip: This appears to be correct as of this writing. According to GoodRX.com, the cheapest sildenafil tablets available were $17.50 apiece, while AccessRX.com found tadalafil tablets as low as $41 each.

BlueChew offers a 30-day refund policy from the date of purchase if customers are dissatisfied, although they can’t take back any prescription medications. To request one or to ask additional questions, a representative can be reached at support@bluechew.com.

BlueChew vs. Hims, Roman, & Lemonaid Health

According to the BlueChew website, “Advancements in telemedicine have allowed the company to make access to sildenafil and tadalafil treatments readily available to every man from the comfort and privacy of their home.”

Well, these same advancements have allowed several other companies to provide competing services. Here are the most popular and how they compare:

Company States Currently Available Monthly Pricing Notes
BlueChew CA, FL, GA, IL, NJ, NY, NC, MI, OH, VA Sildenafil, 25 mg: Five ($20), Eight ($30), Thirteen ($50) Tadalafil, 2.5 mg: Three ($20), Five ($30), Eight ($50) The only online company that offers chewable versions of these medications
Hims ED Meds: CA, CT, FL, IL, MO, NY, OH, PA, TN, TX, WA, WI Sildenafil, 20 mg: Ten ($20) Will also pay a one-time $5 medical fee Also offers DHT shampoo, finasteride, and Minoxidil for hair, as well as a biotin gummies supplement
Roman ED Meds AZ, CA, CO, CT, FL, GA, IL, IN, IA, KY, LA, MA, MI, MD, MO, MS, MT, NC, NE, NM, NJ, NV, NY, OH, OK, OR, PA, TN, TX, VA, WA, WI, WV, WY Sildenafil (20, 40, 60, 80, or 100 mg): $2 - $10 per dose Tadalafil (2.5, 5, 10, or 20 mg): $17 - $62 per dose Vardenafil (2.5, 5, 10, or 20 mg): $52 per dose Features a companion app, all customers will have an online telemedicine visit with a licensed physician
Lemonaid Health AZ, AR, CA, CO, CT, FL, GA, IL, MD, MI, MO, NC, NJ, NV, NY, OH, OR, PA, RI, SC, VA, WA Sildenafil (20 mg only): $2 per dose Will also pay $25 per online doctor visit Offers a wide variety of additional testing and prescription services. May not need a video visit, although some states require it. Partners with popular retail pharmacies to dispense medication.

Which of these options—if any—should you choose? We think it’s primarily going to come down to which factors you emphasize most.

Obviously, you’ll need to reside in a state where one of these companies operates. And as we can see from the table above, BlueChew is currently available in the fewest states, while Roman is available in the most.

Assuming you live in a state where each of these companies operates, both Hims and Lemonaid offer sildenafil for as low as $2 per dose, while you’ll pay between $3.84 and $4 with BlueChew and $2 to $10 with Roman.

On the other hand, if you want tadalafil, BlueChew and Roman are your only telemedicine options above, although you’ll pay $6.25 to $6.66 per dose with the former, and meaningfully more at $17 to $62 per dose with the latter.

However, Roman also offers a much wider range of tadalafil dosages.

Finally, perhaps BlueChew’s most distinguishing feature is that their sildenafil and tadalafil is available in chewable tablets.

While they’re currently the only telemedicine company offering this version, it’s important to point out that we found 100 mg Sildenafil chewables available through third-party online pharmacies for as little as $1.13 per dose at the time of our research.

Is BlueChew the Right Telemedicine Option for Your ED Prescription Medications?

Chewable medications can offer greater ease of use than tablets, since they might not require water (unless they’re especially chalky).

And because they’re already broken up by the time they reach your stomach, it’s possible that the ingredients contained in chewables might deliver faster results.

With this said, it’s important to point out that sites like ZavaMed.com and AccessRX.com indicate that standard tablet versions of tadalafil and sildenafil can work in as little as 30 minutes, which is about what BlueChew claims for their chewables.

Regardless of the version, WebMD indicates that potential side effects related to tadalafil include “headache, stomach upset, back pain, muscle pain, stuffy nose, flushing, or dizziness.”

For sildenafil, these include vision changes, “dizziness, headache, flushing, or stomach upset.”

While no dosages or other circumstances were noted, this is something you’ll definitely want to discuss with your BlueChew physician.

Another factor to keep in mind is that compared to many competitors, BlueChew comes with minimal online customer feedback, since they only recently opened their doors in May 2018.

However, the company was co-founded by Chief Medical Officer Dr. Alex Jovanovich, who also founded the prescription skincare website Dermacare.com, which has been in business since 2015.

Considering their competitive pricing and 30-day refund policy, though, it seems that you might not have much to lose by giving BlueChew a try and finding out for yourself if their online prescription services and chewable medications meet your needs and preferences.


Read 16 BlueChew Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 3.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 5 4 star: 3 3 star: 1 2 star: 2 1 star:  5
Bottom Line: 56% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 16
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Yuck!

    • Peoria, AZ,
    • Oct 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Tastes gross, not enough active ingredient to work. Need to take 5 tabs to work, at that point, it is too much money. Ugh, and another subscription service that was hard to cancel. I’ll pass and stick to the real thing.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    First dosage

    • Antioch, TN,
    • Jun 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was never skeptical, and tried this product after dinner and a few beers. Boy was I surprised. Darn Johnson got harder than Superman's kneecap (LOL). I am still chasing the ole girl around the house with a pretty good woodie. The second dose will tell the story and I will either increase the order on stop. Great product so far!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Don't waste your time

    • Orange County, CA,
    • May 1, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I got a Groupon deal and read some reviews and thought I would give it a shot. I filled out their questionnaire and within a few days, I got the pills. I tried it for the first time and it worked great, but after that, this product did not work at all.

    Not satisfied at all and let the company know and got a refund. This is the only reason I gave them 2 stars.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 7 people found this review helpful

    NO

    • Texas,
    • Apr 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Took advantage of coupon offer for a free trial. Ordering and setting up an account was easy. The product arrived in a timely manner (chewable tadalafil), but alas, the product did NOT work, even after doubling the dosage.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    It's the real thing.

    • Phoenix, AZ,
    • Feb 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The good: I get regular, prescription Viagra and Cialis form my doctor. I switched to BlueChew simply because it's actually cheaper even with insurance. But I know the real stuff, and this is it.

    I get the same congestion, same head-cold type symptoms, and the same occasional flushing symptoms. But more importantly, I get the same intended result. Small price to pay.

    It also works in only half the time like advertised. I started to feel these symptoms like I normally do but in about 15 minutes instead of the usual 45.

    The bad: I took away one star just because the taste is awful. It's even beyond a bad medicine taste. Again, a small price to pay for what you get, but it was enough that I felt it warranted at least mentioning.

    Bottom line: Definitely legit and works.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Works but I did feel the mild side effects associated with Tadalafil

    • Richmond, VA,
    • Feb 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I will start this review off by saying that I do not have ED so my experience may be different from someone who does have ED. I chose the tadalafil because I don't require "on-demand" help and liked the benefits of a longer-lasting option both for sexual performance and increased blood flow overall.

    I have been occasionally popping the name brand tadalafil over the years, both the 2.5 mg and the 5 mg. I find the 2.5 mg pills to be largely ineffective, but I am also 6'5" and 260, built like a D-lineman, so maybe that had something to do with it. Got some sample packs from my doctor and figured I'd see how well it would help boost my sexual performance when having very frequent sex. I found that the name brand stuff always made me chubbed at all times and get rock hard erections at will. It also really helped me recover for round 2 or 3 in short periods of time very well. So with my experience with the name brand stuff, I felt like giving BlueChew a try to compare.

    I turned to BlueChew because I liked that the tadalafil was the 5 mg variety. I also liked that I was able to sign up, answer some question and once approved get them in the mail. I went with the 5 a month for the first order to see if I liked it and if it worked. When it arrived, I popped one in and chewed it up and within minutes started to feel flushed. I did this on an empty stomach, which I am not sure if that's how you're supposed to do it, but I do not recommend it. After almost immediately feeling flushed, I felt light-headed, a slight headache and a bit of an upset stomach. I know these are all common side effects of tadalafil, but I'd never experienced anything other than mild flushed feeling after taking the name brand stuff.

    Once I grabbed a snack those feelings faded, but my chubby did not. I noticed blood flow to that region almost immediately. I can say that the tadalafil BlueChew definitely works, maybe even works too well as I have not noticed the name brand tadalafil working so instantly and intense. Erections are rock hard and the constant chubby is present. Sex is incredible and my recovery times are short and round 2 and beyond is just as strong as the first one. I am very pleased with BlueChew and will continue to refill the order.

    I will try taking it on a semi-full stomach and maybe even try breaking the chew up and taking it in two parts in the same day so that I still get the desired outcome of 5 mg of the med without the undesirable side effects. Tastes like a spree, but maybe a knock-off brand one that doesn't taste quite right.

    Pros:

    - Works.

    - Tastes fine.

    - Intense erections and good blood flow all week.

    - Improved sexual performance.

    Cons:

    - Intense and felt the milder side effects on an empty stomach.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 10 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Buyer beware

    • Texas,
    • Jan 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    It did not work for me. I have bought from overseas and Rx in the USA and always work somewhat. Their dosage is too low compared to others. You would probably get better results if you took four or more, but then the price is way too high.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    It works

    • Houston, TX,
    • Jan 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased this product due to being on steroids and having a hard time staying erect. I took one pill for a trial run, and I could feel my face start warming within 10 minutes. Then my old buddy came to life while doing some work on the computer, and watching strippers dance around. So it works, and the steroid side effects have been curved. I’ll keep ordering this product.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Doesn't really work that well. And they did reoccurring refills without permission.

    • Florida,
    • Jan 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have taken real Cialis before with great results. Viagra does not work at all for me except makes my heart rate jump. So ordered their version of Cialis. It did not work or work well. I did find in the middle of the night a couple of tent poles, which is something unusual, lol. However, that was hours and hours later. So for me, it doesnt work like regular Cialis. I wish it did. The other problem is, I'm not happy with their ordering. I ordered it once!

    Then they did an automatic order the next month. I didn't cancel because I tried it again to see if it would work. Still the same results. Being busy, I forgot to call them to cancel and ask why they charged me a second time and sent an order without my permission. Then a third order came. I got on the phone. Waited a half hour to speak to someone. And canceled my orders. I never agreed to reoccurring orders. However. The third refill is my fault for not canceling as soon as I got it. Either way. Not satisfied with the product. It might work for some. But not for me. How real Cialis does.

    By the way, it asks below if I would recommend to a friend. I'm going to check yes. But explain to my friends it didn't work for me, but maybe it will work for you. But watch out for the automatic refills.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 11 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Not happy but I always give a product a second chance

    • California,
    • Jan 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was excited to try Blue Chew. I took out one tadalafil, chewed it, the taste wasn't that bad. I didn't eat anything for a few hours. And after hour...nothing. I was even trying to help with it and nothing. I took another one and two hours later nothing. So I will try this a different day. Because I'll always give a product a second chance and will try to remember to come back and give my results. I'm being totally honest here. I would love for it to work.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 18 out 23 people found this review helpful

    Works great!

    • Niagara Falls, NY,
    • Dec 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am 63 years old, male, in great shape, but like a lot of men my age, it was a real job to get an erection. It took a lot of concentration to keep it there, and with all that effort it just was not as firm. Well, that all changed with my first dose of BlueChew! I took BlueChew as recommended, about 40 minutes before "play time." My wife and I were thrilled to find that I was like my "old self!" We were able to take it slow and relaxed because there was no problem at all! I won’t go into detail, but it was our best night in quite awhile.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 16

Write a Review for BlueChew!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review