About Roman ED Meds

By Derek Lakin
HighYa Staff Published on: Dec 1, 2017

If you’re experiencing erectile dysfunction and prefer to receive treatment from the comfort of your home, Roman ED Meds promises to handle everything from online diagnosis to prescription delivery, right to your door.

All you have to do is complete a five-minute online visit that involves answering questions about your medical history, as well as indicating if you have a medication preference. Within two hours, a U.S.-licensed Roman physician will review your treatment request and, if appropriate, will write a prescription.

From there, you’ll continue receiving automatic shipments of your ED medication once per month or per quarter, depending on your needs.

For most guys, going to the doctor isn’t at the top of our list. And this is perhaps especially the case when dealing with sexual issues like erectile dysfunction, which is why the concept behind Roman is so compelling.

But are they your only option for ED medication delivery? Before signing up, are there any important considerations to keep in mind? Let’s get you the information you’re looking for by covering a few quick basics.

What Is Erectile Dysfunction & What Causes It?

The Mayo Clinic defines erectile dysfunction simply as the “inability to get and keep an erection firm enough for sex.”

Despite this straightforward definition, they go on to explain that the cause of ED can be anything but, since achieving an erection involves a complex process of biological, emotional, and psychological factors. And a ‘hiccup' in any of these areas can culminate in the inability to get and keep an erection.

In some instances, ED might not be a cause for concern, but in others, it could represent an underlying health condition that needs to be addressed, as mentioned on the Roman site.

With this said, the Mayo Clinic outlines that common causes include heart disease, high blood pressure or cholesterol, diabetes, obesity, tobacco use, excessive stress, and sleep disorders, to name just a few.

And as you might imagine, the underlying cause will directly determine the optimal ED treatment, although common options include reducing stress, exercising regularly, eating a healthy diet, obtaining psychological help if necessary, and even taking a prescription medication while under your doctor’s care. According to WebMD, common choices include:

  • Avanafil (Stendra)
  • Sildenafil (Viagra)
  • Tadalafil (Cialis)
  • Vardenafil (Levitra, Staxyn)

Let’s find out how Roman can prescribe these types of medications, without requiring patients to attend an in-office visit.

How Does Roman’s Web-Based App Work?

According to their website, “Roman has built telemedicine technologies to enable physicians to create a patient-physician relationship and to enable physicians to satisfy the standard of care,” but without an in-person visit.

Let’s take a look at how they accomplish this, starting with eligibility.

Roman Eligibility Criteria

In order to use the Roman website, you’ll need to have five minutes available to complete their dynamic online visit (more next) and have access to a functioning desktop or mobile camera, a blood pressure reading from within the last six months, a driver’s license or other ID, and a credit card.

From a strict eligibility perspective, the company requires customers to be at least 18 years old, to have had a physical exam within the last five years (including an exam of the penis, testis, and groin), to have normal blood pressure readings, to not take nitroglycerin or other nitrate-containing medicines, and to be cleared for sex.

Finally, you’ll need to be a resident of New York, California, Pennsylvania, Florida, Washington, Montana, Virginia, Nebraska, or Michigan.

Taking a Closer Look at Roman ED Meds’ Online Visit System

To begin, prospective patients will enter their zip code, DOB, email address, and gender. Then, you’ll indicate how many times per month you anticipate using these medications, drug and dosage preferences, and shipping frequency.

Roman Online Visit Start ScreenRoman’s telehealth assistant automatically walks you through your online visit and tailors its workflow based on your individual responses. Credit: Roman Health Medical LLC

Next, you’ll indicate if you’ve been treated for ED (whether by prescription medication or dietary supplement) and dose, and if you experienced any side effects.

From there, you’ll answer several medical questions, such as if you ever have problems “getting or maintaining an erection that is satisfying enough for sex,” how your ED began, if you’ve had a physical exam with a healthcare provider in the past five years, blood pressure readings, libido level, and any other conditions you’re experiencing (HIV, low blood pressure, clotting or bleeding disorders, retinitis pigmentosa, etc.).

Following this, you’ll input any lifestyle habits that might impact your ED (e.g., exercise, healthy eating, smoking, drinking, problems sleeping, etc.), other medications you’re taking, and any allergies. You’ll then confirm if you would like for Roman to act as your pharmacy, or a third-party company.

Note: The company tells us that in order to use your own pharmacy, they must be in the Surescripts Network, which we’re told includes 95 percent of pharmacies across the U.S.

Roman Pharmacy Confirmation ScreenCustomers can choose Roman or another pharmacy to fill their prescriptions, although the company offers free shipping and the first month free for direct orders. Credit: Roman Health Medical LLC

Finally, you’ll input your personal information, take a photo of yourself and your driver’s license or ID, review your details, add payment info, and process your payment.

Roman Online Visit Image UploadIn order to complete your online visit, Roman requires all patients to upload their picture and driver’s license or ID. Credit: Roman Health Medical LLC

According to the website, within two hours, a Roman doctor will review your information, determine if it’s safe and appropriate to write a prescription for Sildenafil (Viagra—25, 50, or 100 mg), generic Sildenafil (20 mg only), Tadalafil (Cialis—2.5, 5, 10, or 20 mg), or Vardenafil (Levitra—2.5, 5, 10, or 20 mg).

If it is, your medication will be shipped to you in discreet packaging as soon as the next day, and then monthly or quarterly after that. If necessary, they may ask follow up questions.

Keep in mind that Roman’s physicians depend solely on your online visit for answers, so it’s important to be truthful and as accurate as possible. After you complete your treatment request, though, you can message a physician at any time.

More About Roman’s Staff Physicians

Whenever you interact with a physician, the company automatically shares their resume and credentials with you, so you can know more about who you’re dealing with.

The Roman website emphasizes that customers will only be treated by physicians licensed in their state. And since staff physicians are currently only licensed in New York, California, Pennsylvania, Florida, Washington, Montana, Virginia, Nebraska, and Michigan, this means you’ll have to reside in one of these states in order to use the company’s services.

They also tell us that every physician on their staff has undergone a background check and license verification process.

However, they also emphasize that their physicians are intended to act as a “complement, not a replacement, to your primary care physician.” As a result, it’s important to keep your primary care doctor in the loop about your interaction with Roman, and share with them any related news or new prescriptions.

How Much Do Roman’s ED Meds Cost?

For the online visit discussed above, Roman charges a flat rate of $15. From there, medications range between $2 and $63 per dose, with multiple quantities available, along with monthly or quarterly shipping options.

In other words, the exact price you pay will depend on the medication you choose, the dosage, the quantity (between four and 10 per month), and shipping frequency. In general though, here were the prices provided by Roman at the time of our research:

Roman ED Meds Price ListRoman ED’s medication price list, which was listed as accurate as of 11/5/17, although they emphasize that prices are updated weekly. Credit: Roman Health Medical LLC

Shipping is free, and your first shipment will arrive within two to three days of the prescription. If a physician determines that you’re not a candidate, you’ll be refunded your $15 fee.

All purchases are cash only, and the company doesn’t handle or process insurance payments. For additional details, customer service can be reached at 888-798-8686, support@getroman.com, or via live chat.

What Are Customers Saying In Their Online Roman ED Meds Reviews?

Roman Health Medical LLC is a brand new startup that launched in late October 2017. As you might imagine, this means we didn’t encounter much direct customer feedback at the time of our research.

But because they’re potentially tapping into a largely unmet marketplace (men who want to avoid an embarrassing conversation with their doctor, but who also want to do something about their ED), they’ve received a lot of press attention in a short time from popular outlets like TechCrunch, Mashable, The New York Times, Forbes, CNN, and Men’s Health, to name just a few.

And in general, it seems that many health professionals agree that bringing a broader awareness and product availability is mostly positive. As Dr. Michael Eisenberg, Director of Male Reproductive Medicine and Surgery and Stanford University told Mashable, “Any time you can reduce friction or decrease the barriers to care, I think that’s a good thing.”

Reading through these articles, we also learned that co-founder and CEO Zachariah Reitano first experienced ED at the age of 17 due to a heart condition. After undergoing surgery and recovering, he set out to help men receive the treatment they need for their ED, along with any underlying health problems it might be a side effect of.

The company was also co-founded by Saman Rahmanian and Rob Schutz. Previously, Saman worked as a partner with Prehype and co-founder of Managed by Q, while Rob worked as the VP of Growth for Bark & Co. and as Instructor and Curriculum Developer for General Assemb.ly.

Roman currently boasts a team of 11 physicians. Their Medical Team is staffed by Dr. Steven Lamm (Medical Director at the NYU Center for Men’s Health), Dr. Pepper Schwartz (author, researcher, and relationship expert), and Dr. Jeff Gardere, who is listed on the site as “one of the most widely sought-after experts in the field of mental health.”

Are There Other ED Medication Companies Like Roman?

While there are certainly other online pharmacies out there, as well as companies that utilize telemedicine to diagnose patients without an in-office visit, we didn’t encounter any competitors with the exact business model as Roman.

Perhaps the closest option was Hims, who also employs a staff of physicians (across a total of nine states) that can diagnose patients and then write a prescription for the ED medication Sildenafil ($20 for 10X 20mg tablets). It can then be filled through one of Hims’ partners, or through a third-party pharmacy of the customer’s choosing.

Unlike Roman, though, Hims also offers prescriptions for hair loss-related medications like finasteride, as well as OTC options like Minoxidil and multivitamin supplements.

How can you decide which of these options—if either—is right for you? Let’ carry this thought over as we come to a conclusion.

Our Final Thoughts About Roman ED Meds

According to Becker’s Health IT & CIO Review, “the global telemedicine market is anticipated to grow at a compound annual growth rate of 14.3 percent between 2014 and 2020,” at which point it’s estimated to represent a $36 billion industry—a more than 250 percent increase.

And as telemedicine grows, it’s only natural that it will continue making its way into different areas of the medical field, where it potentially stands to greatly increase access to varying aspects healthcare. In this regard, it’s exciting to see companies like Roman make their way to the market, who we can only imagine stands to help further disrupt the industry with their ED-specific approach.

But whether you choose to go with Roman or another online erectile dysfunction medication provider, as emphasized on their website, these companies don’t intend to replace your primary care physician.

And since you’ll need to have a relatively recent checkup to use Roman’s services anyway, you might as well discuss your ED with your doctor before paying for an Online Visit or placing an order for a prescription.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

32 Consumer Reviews for Roman ED Meds

Average Consumer Rating: 3.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 18 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 2 1 star:  12
Bottom Line: 53% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 32
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Great experience

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Feb 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am 60 years old and noticed that I was not waking up with erections on a regular basis. I also noticed that my erections were not as firm as in years past during sex. I was reluctant to accept this was happening and was too embarrassed to talk to my doctor. I also did not want to get a regular prescription from my local pharmacy. I saw the ad on TV and decided to do some research and give it a try. The entire process only took a few minutes. I was approved and was prescribed 40mg of Sildenafil. The prescription was shipped promptly. All I can say is the medication worked great. My erections are now as firm as they have ever been and sex has definitely been more satisfying. This has been a great experience for me and my wife.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Beyond my expectations

    • Mississippi Gulf Coast ,
    • Feb 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    First off, I am one of those people who DO NOT give out personal information online. However, after extensive research on ROMAN, I truly believe this company is legit and safe to give personal information. I signed in and answered around 34 questions honestly, and to the best of my knowledge. I uploaded my driver's license, and a photo of my face. It took about 10-15 minutes in total.

    I got an email from a doctor about an hour later, explaining that Mississippi requires a video appointment. The email explained in detail how to make an appointment, and how to use the video conference website. I picked a date and time from a list for the video appointment. I logged into my doctor's video appointment web camera. It was easy to log in, and I waited 3-4 minutes in the "waiting room" before my doctor came online.

    In the meeting, we could see and hear each other. He reviewed my medical information and made sure I had no questions or concerns. He explained what he was going to prescribe and if I had any questions or concerns to please contact him.

    Shortly after I got an email explaining what was prescribed, and a detailed explanation of charges for the Dr appointment and Rx prescribed. The next morning I got an email saying my Rx was shipped, and a tracking number. Two days later UPS delivered.

    I did the 3 months at a time plan. So I was shipped 3 months of my Rx, and it had 3 refills. I just couldn't believe how easy and efficient ROMAN made this process. It really did exceed my expectations.

    And on top of all this, they charged me less than I expected, for they gave me my first month of Rx for free. Bottom line 5 STARS. I really can not think of anything else they could do to make this process better.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Unfortunately, not legitimate

    • Arizona,
    • Feb 3, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Went through the entire set of questions then was told I had to have a video consultation with a physician due to state law. Linking up for a video consultation proved to be extremely difficult due to the Teledoc being non-responsive. We finally do manage to connect and it's some random woman driving in her car who says, "if you don't have any questions I'll go ahead and write a prescription," then hangs up. A couple days go by, and I get a message from the same physician who said she has decided to deny my request and to seek treatment in person.

    I am frustrated but sort of expected that the service was not legit, so I open my account to delete my profile and payment info. I do this only to find out there is no way to delete your account once it's made. I messaged customer support to delete my account and never heard back.

    I would strongly recommend NOT using this service. I am a bit confused by the positive reviews and the national airtime it gets because it is clearly not a fleshed out service or product. Good idea, poor execution - go to a real doctor instead.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 6, 2019

      Mike S., Customer Care

      Hi David,

      I am sorry to hear about your negative experience and would love to connect with you to turn this around. Since your Roman account credentials are not accessible on HighYa could you shoot us a quick note to care@ro.co and mention Krystin in the subject line? We can then take a look at what happened and connect with you directly. We want to make sure you understand our process and have full understanding of our platform and physician relationship. Thanks!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Totally recommend - not a scam

    • Middletown, MD,
    • Jan 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I received a box containing paper packets with 20 mg sildenafil citrate tablets from Roman within just a few days of getting my purchase approved. I've taken a 40 mg dose (two times 20 mg tablets) on separate days over the past week and found the pills to be very effective on both occasions. If anything, my erections seemed even harder and more satisfying than when I used either the original Viagra or another generic sildenafil citrate purchased thru my healthcare insurer. This past year my insurer discontinued subsidizing the generic, so I turned to Roman as an alternative. So far the experience has been very positive. I really don't understand the negative reviews.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 11, 2019

      Mike S., Customer Care

      Hi Steven - thanks so much for your positive words about Roman. We are happy to help, and thankful that you allow us to do so. If you should ever need anything, please don't hesitate to email us at care@ro.co - we are here when you need us.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Suspicious

    • California,
    • Jan 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This company will not tell you who manufactures their drugs and in what country. "Against policy." Big red flag about product quality if they won't disclose this.

    One would assume they must be making their money from their drug sales, but they claim to provide the Rx to your local pharmacy if you want. If so, then how would they be making money? One wonders they might be selling the personal identity info they collect. They require a photo ID like a driver's license, passport, etc. Why would they need that? I certainly don't give that personal info to medical providers here in the U.S.

    When you log onto my.ro.co, notice the domain name suffix: "co," that is Columbia, a country known for its illegal drug trafficking and counterfeit drugs.

    One should exercise great caution.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 17, 2019

      Mike S., Customer Care

      Hi John, thanks for your note. This is Mike with the Roman care team.

      We're happy to share where we get our medication, it's not against policy! Sorry for any miscommunication that might have been.

      I want to assure you that none of our medication is fake. Brand name medication always comes from a single source. Branded Viagra manufactured by Pfizer and branded Cialis is manufactured by Eli Lilly.

      In regards to our generics, our pharmacies purchase all of their medication exclusively from Verified-Accredited Wholesale Distributors (VAWD). A VAWD seal means that the drug wholesaler was rigorously reviewed by the highest national accrediting body in the US, the NABP, and found to purchase all of its medication from legitimate FDA approved sources. Medication is prescribed, if safe and appropriate, by a Roman physician licensed in your state after reviewing information you've provided in your online visit.

      We do sell and deliver prescribed ED medication. Right to your door! We will also happily transfer members' prescriptions to a preferred local pharmacy - once approved by a Roman physician. We're here to help!

      We are NOT selling your information. our platform is HIPAA compliant, which means we’ve implemented strict security protocols and taken extraordinary measures to protect and secure your information. We need a picture of your face and photo ID to ensure we're treating the right person! It's one of the challenges faced in telemedicine, but rest assured your information is safe and not for sale.

      Finally, we are not Columbian.Or Colombian! Well, actually - our CEO, Z, did go to Columbia, so..

      Your concerns are important and if we can address them further, I hope you'll email us at care@ro.co to continue the conversation. Thanks John!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Rip off shipping! Dates! Amount of time!

    • California,
    • Jan 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I went through all the questions and answers. I paid $330.00 for BPH meds and waited. The site states ships in as few as two days (I started to look around the web about this site for problems with shipping and fulfillment), also found more info (takes seven days for them to start the shipping process, then two days to ship the meds). Then however long it takes for the shipper to deliver the meds, if you even get the items at all. I asked to cancel shipments, delete the account, and refund money. So long story short, go to a good doctor, be embarrassed, get the correct medication! So you can get some sleep without waiting for the medicine to let you empty your bladder (yes I was looking to get generic tadalafil 2.5mg but it is still $11 a pill current from this site). Tadalafil in a daily small dose for me has zero side effects and I can pee like a racehorse!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 17, 2019

      Mike S., Customer Care

      Hi Scott - I really appreciate your honesty regarding your recent experience, this is how we can work to improve and offer a better experience for all members.

      Once you complete that online visit, we are usually able to process your first time order through our pharmacy within 1-2 business days. From there, we ship free 2nd day air! We apologize if that process was delayed for you in any way. It sound like you got the treatment you needed, and that's the most important thing! We're here if you need us, and would love to be of service down the line, if needed. Thanks Scott!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Legit

    • Florida,
    • Jan 3, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'm now 30 and have been dealing with ED for a few years. My primary doctor didn't want to help me with it after I had been on antidepressants for a while.

    Getroman.com has boosted my confidence, self-esteem and has made a drastic improvement in my sexual function and sex life.

    Very legit and easy to use. I question if it is on the more expensive side though.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Customer service

    • Wyoming,
    • Dec 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have worked in retail and customer service for 35 years. I can tell you this company has gone ABOVE and BEYOND with my order and getting my account set up. They have told me everything to expect and what will happen next.

    BRAVO to Roman.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Excellent and fast

    • Florida,
    • Dec 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I read all the reviews here and made a calculated risk. I'm glad I did. I was contemplating buying ED meds from India or Pakistan. I hated the thought of going to my PCP and explaining my "problem." I suspect people here did not meet the health requirements for getting the meds and are sour on paying the $15 check-up fee. I found it online for free. So do a little research before jumping in. This site does not promise to give everyone ED meds regardless of health, and I feel a little better knowing they actually screen the applicants. 10/10 would use again.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 24 people found this review helpful

    Fraud!

    • Boulder, CO,
    • Dec 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Initiated contact, sent $15, and submitted headshot and ID photos. The latter was sent 4 times with ro.co saying that they never got it or was blurry. Then they stopped responding after I sent a larger, very clear photo of my ID. I have requested a refund and submitted a complaint to Visa.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 17, 2019

      Mike S., Customer Care

      Hi AG - thanks for the note! This is Mike with the Roman care team. We're sorry if we missed your last email. However, our physicians and pharmacists need a clear ID photo in order to ensure they're treating the right person. I'll be happy to search for that ID photo sent over, just send an email to care@ro.co with the information you provided above and I'll take care of the rest. Thanks AG!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 17 out 25 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • Washington DC,
    • Dec 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I filled out a bunch of questions and paid $15 for a doctor to "review my chart," only to be automatically denied based on my answers to the questions. They could have rejected me without a doctor’s review and without taking my money, so thanks for the scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 17, 2019

      Mike S., Customer Care

      Hi This is Mike from the Roman care team. I understand your frustration following the decision your physician made, and would be happy to clarify.

      The $15 consultation fee is paid to your physician and their practice for the consultation they provided. This is the same as if you visited a doctor in person and paid a co-pay to discuss your sexual health. Just as in a doctor's office, we cannot provide a refund for this fee.

      As stated on our website, the only cases in which a refund is provided are if the individual has too complex of a medical history to be properly evaluated via telemedicine, which was not the case here.

      I’m so sorry you did not receive the results you wanted. If you’d like, we can offer a free phone consultation with our clinical director to speak about any health concern you may have and to further expand on this decision. You can schedule that through email at care@ro.co . Thanks David!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 32

Write a Review for Roman ED Meds!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review