About Roman ED Meds

By Derek Lakin
HighYa Staff Published on: Dec 1, 2017

If you’re experiencing erectile dysfunction and prefer to receive treatment from the comfort of your home, Roman ED Meds promises to handle everything from online diagnosis to prescription delivery, right to your door.

All you have to do is complete a five-minute online visit that involves answering questions about your medical history, as well as indicating if you have a medication preference. Within two hours, a U.S.-licensed Roman physician will review your treatment request and, if appropriate, will write a prescription.

From there, you’ll continue receiving automatic shipments of your ED medication once per month or per quarter, depending on your needs.

For most guys, going to the doctor isn’t at the top of our list. And this is perhaps especially the case when dealing with sexual issues like erectile dysfunction, which is why the concept behind Roman is so compelling.

But are they your only option for ED medication delivery? Before signing up, are there any important considerations to keep in mind? Let’s get you the information you’re looking for by covering a few quick basics.

What Is Erectile Dysfunction & What Causes It?

The Mayo Clinic defines erectile dysfunction simply as the “inability to get and keep an erection firm enough for sex.”

Despite this straightforward definition, they go on to explain that the cause of ED can be anything but, since achieving an erection involves a complex process of biological, emotional, and psychological factors. And a ‘hiccup' in any of these areas can culminate in the inability to get and keep an erection.

In some instances, ED might not be a cause for concern, but in others, it could represent an underlying health condition that needs to be addressed, as mentioned on the Roman site.

With this said, the Mayo Clinic outlines that common causes include heart disease, high blood pressure or cholesterol, diabetes, obesity, tobacco use, excessive stress, and sleep disorders, to name just a few.

And as you might imagine, the underlying cause will directly determine the optimal ED treatment, although common options include reducing stress, exercising regularly, eating a healthy diet, obtaining psychological help if necessary, and even taking a prescription medication while under your doctor’s care. According to WebMD, common choices include:

  • Avanafil (Stendra)
  • Sildenafil (Viagra)
  • Tadalafil (Cialis)
  • Vardenafil (Levitra, Staxyn)

Let’s find out how Roman can prescribe these types of medications, without requiring patients to attend an in-office visit.

How Does Roman’s Web-Based App Work?

According to their website, “Roman has built telemedicine technologies to enable physicians to create a patient-physician relationship and to enable physicians to satisfy the standard of care,” but without an in-person visit.

Let’s take a look at how they accomplish this, starting with eligibility.

Roman Eligibility Criteria

In order to use the Roman website, you’ll need to have five minutes available to complete their dynamic online visit (more next) and have access to a functioning desktop or mobile camera, a blood pressure reading from within the last six months, a driver’s license or other ID, and a credit card.

From a strict eligibility perspective, the company requires customers to be at least 18 years old, to have had a physical exam within the last five years (including an exam of the penis, testis, and groin), to have normal blood pressure readings, to not take nitroglycerin or other nitrate-containing medicines, and to be cleared for sex.

Finally, you’ll need to be a resident of New York, California, Pennsylvania, Florida, Washington, Montana, Virginia, Nebraska, or Michigan.

Taking a Closer Look at Roman ED Meds’ Online Visit System

To begin, prospective patients will enter their zip code, DOB, email address, and gender. Then, you’ll indicate how many times per month you anticipate using these medications, drug and dosage preferences, and shipping frequency.

Roman Online Visit Start ScreenRoman’s telehealth assistant automatically walks you through your online visit and tailors its workflow based on your individual responses. Credit: Roman Health Medical LLC

Next, you’ll indicate if you’ve been treated for ED (whether by prescription medication or dietary supplement) and dose, and if you experienced any side effects.

From there, you’ll answer several medical questions, such as if you ever have problems “getting or maintaining an erection that is satisfying enough for sex,” how your ED began, if you’ve had a physical exam with a healthcare provider in the past five years, blood pressure readings, libido level, and any other conditions you’re experiencing (HIV, low blood pressure, clotting or bleeding disorders, retinitis pigmentosa, etc.).

Following this, you’ll input any lifestyle habits that might impact your ED (e.g., exercise, healthy eating, smoking, drinking, problems sleeping, etc.), other medications you’re taking, and any allergies. You’ll then confirm if you would like for Roman to act as your pharmacy, or a third-party company.

Note: The company tells us that in order to use your own pharmacy, they must be in the Surescripts Network, which we’re told includes 95 percent of pharmacies across the U.S.

Roman Pharmacy Confirmation ScreenCustomers can choose Roman or another pharmacy to fill their prescriptions, although the company offers free shipping and the first month free for direct orders. Credit: Roman Health Medical LLC

Finally, you’ll input your personal information, take a photo of yourself and your driver’s license or ID, review your details, add payment info, and process your payment.

Roman Online Visit Image UploadIn order to complete your online visit, Roman requires all patients to upload their picture and driver’s license or ID. Credit: Roman Health Medical LLC

According to the website, within two hours, a Roman doctor will review your information, determine if it’s safe and appropriate to write a prescription for Sildenafil (Viagra—25, 50, or 100 mg), generic Sildenafil (20 mg only), Tadalafil (Cialis—2.5, 5, 10, or 20 mg), or Vardenafil (Levitra—2.5, 5, 10, or 20 mg).

If it is, your medication will be shipped to you in discreet packaging as soon as the next day, and then monthly or quarterly after that. If necessary, they may ask follow up questions.

Keep in mind that Roman’s physicians depend solely on your online visit for answers, so it’s important to be truthful and as accurate as possible. After you complete your treatment request, though, you can message a physician at any time.

More About Roman’s Staff Physicians

Whenever you interact with a physician, the company automatically shares their resume and credentials with you, so you can know more about who you’re dealing with.

The Roman website emphasizes that customers will only be treated by physicians licensed in their state. And since staff physicians are currently only licensed in New York, California, Pennsylvania, Florida, Washington, Montana, Virginia, Nebraska, and Michigan, this means you’ll have to reside in one of these states in order to use the company’s services.

They also tell us that every physician on their staff has undergone a background check and license verification process.

However, they also emphasize that their physicians are intended to act as a “complement, not a replacement, to your primary care physician.” As a result, it’s important to keep your primary care doctor in the loop about your interaction with Roman, and share with them any related news or new prescriptions.

How Much Do Roman’s ED Meds Cost?

For the online visit discussed above, Roman charges a flat rate of $15. From there, medications range between $2 and $63 per dose, with multiple quantities available, along with monthly or quarterly shipping options.

In other words, the exact price you pay will depend on the medication you choose, the dosage, the quantity (between four and 10 per month), and shipping frequency. In general though, here were the prices provided by Roman at the time of our research:

Roman ED Meds Price ListRoman ED’s medication price list, which was listed as accurate as of 11/5/17, although they emphasize that prices are updated weekly. Credit: Roman Health Medical LLC

Shipping is free, and your first shipment will arrive within two to three days of the prescription. If a physician determines that you’re not a candidate, you’ll be refunded your $15 fee.

All purchases are cash only, and the company doesn’t handle or process insurance payments. For additional details, customer service can be reached at 888-798-8686, support@getroman.com, or via live chat.

What Are Customers Saying In Their Online Roman ED Meds Reviews?

Roman Health Medical LLC is a brand new startup that launched in late October 2017. As you might imagine, this means we didn’t encounter much direct customer feedback at the time of our research.

But because they’re potentially tapping into a largely unmet marketplace (men who want to avoid an embarrassing conversation with their doctor, but who also want to do something about their ED), they’ve received a lot of press attention in a short time from popular outlets like TechCrunch, Mashable, The New York Times, Forbes, CNN, and Men’s Health, to name just a few.

And in general, it seems that many health professionals agree that bringing a broader awareness and product availability is mostly positive. As Dr. Michael Eisenberg, Director of Male Reproductive Medicine and Surgery and Stanford University told Mashable, “Any time you can reduce friction or decrease the barriers to care, I think that’s a good thing.”

Reading through these articles, we also learned that co-founder and CEO Zachariah Reitano first experienced ED at the age of 17 due to a heart condition. After undergoing surgery and recovering, he set out to help men receive the treatment they need for their ED, along with any underlying health problems it might be a side effect of.

The company was also co-founded by Saman Rahmanian and Rob Schutz. Previously, Saman worked as a partner with Prehype and co-founder of Managed by Q, while Rob worked as the VP of Growth for Bark & Co. and as Instructor and Curriculum Developer for General Assemb.ly.

Roman currently boasts a team of 11 physicians. Their Medical Team is staffed by Dr. Steven Lamm (Medical Director at the NYU Center for Men’s Health), Dr. Pepper Schwartz (author, researcher, and relationship expert), and Dr. Jeff Gardere, who is listed on the site as “one of the most widely sought-after experts in the field of mental health.”

Are There Other ED Medication Companies Like Roman?

While there are certainly other online pharmacies out there, as well as companies that utilize telemedicine to diagnose patients without an in-office visit, we didn’t encounter any competitors with the exact business model as Roman.

Perhaps the closest option was Hims, who also employs a staff of physicians (across a total of nine states) that can diagnose patients and then write a prescription for the ED medication Sildenafil ($20 for 10X 20mg tablets). It can then be filled through one of Hims’ partners, or through a third-party pharmacy of the customer’s choosing.

Unlike Roman, though, Hims also offers prescriptions for hair loss-related medications like finasteride, as well as OTC options like Minoxidil and multivitamin supplements.

How can you decide which of these options—if either—is right for you? Let’ carry this thought over as we come to a conclusion.

Our Final Thoughts About Roman ED Meds

According to Becker’s Health IT & CIO Review, “the global telemedicine market is anticipated to grow at a compound annual growth rate of 14.3 percent between 2014 and 2020,” at which point it’s estimated to represent a $36 billion industry—a more than 250 percent increase.

And as telemedicine grows, it’s only natural that it will continue making its way into different areas of the medical field, where it potentially stands to greatly increase access to varying aspects healthcare. In this regard, it’s exciting to see companies like Roman make their way to the market, who we can only imagine stands to help further disrupt the industry with their ED-specific approach.

But whether you choose to go with Roman or another online erectile dysfunction medication provider, as emphasized on their website, these companies don’t intend to replace your primary care physician.

And since you’ll need to have a relatively recent checkup to use Roman’s services anyway, you might as well discuss your ED with your doctor before paying for an Online Visit or placing an order for a prescription.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

14 Consumer Reviews for Roman ED Meds

Average Consumer Rating: 3.9
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 10 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 1 1 star:  3
Bottom Line: 64% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 14
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    They are a fraud and scam

    • Orlando, FL,
    • Oct 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    It was my first experience with them and I have never received my order or my $15 back. I checked my bank account and sure enough, they took the money. Since our last correspondence, they stopped replying. I will now do all that's possible to report them everywhere I can. Beware of angry old men!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Heck yeah!

    • Colorado,
    • Sep 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was/am very impressed with this service. The entire process was seamless and I received the product at my door in less than a week. And wow, it worked amazingly, for this guy anyway. Awesome feeling when you know you rocked somebody's world beyond a shadow of a doubt.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Great product

    • Ohio,
    • Sep 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is a great product. It gave me a strong erection that lasted about 20 minutes. Ended in a very powerful way. I have not had an experience like this in a very long time. I would definitely recommend it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 10 people found this review helpful
    Updated review

    Awaiting a resolution

    • Chicago, IL,
    • Sep 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am currently awaiting a resolution.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)

    • Previous review
    • Sep 8, 2018

    Stay away from Dr. Furhan Qureshi!

    I started a subscription with getroman.com, after a couple of weeks, I contacted the company to receive a new order with more doses. The doctor agreed and let me know that the order will be there before Friday. The next day the order still hasn't shipped, the doctor said he could call in a prescription to a local pharmacy for me. Then he never did, so I contacted the company to cancel the order. They did so and said my refund should be back on my account in a couple of days, (which it still has not). I was confused because on my profile's dashboard it still said processing, so I contacted the doctor and asked him what was going on, he instantly, without confirming with me or anything, ships out another order and told me I wouldn't be charged for it. I was charged for it, so again after contacting customer service, they told me it's been canceled and I will receive a refund (which I have not). Dr. Furnhan told me if I didn't see the refunds in a couple of days to get in touch with him. Now my account has been deleted without my permission, and now I cannot get to my prescription, and I am still without my refunds.

    (read moreread less...)

  • 17 out 23 people found this review helpful

    Big rip-off warning

    • Colorado,
    • Aug 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    After taking a charge of $15 on my credit card they didn't contact me as they said they would, and repeated calls to the listed phone number gets you to a Google Phone Number with a "leave a message." Discover Card refuses to refund me the charge, even after Roman repeated fails on returning my phone calls and website messages. So avoid Roman and Discover Card.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 17 out 90 people found this review helpful
    Updated review

    Edit

    • Jul 31, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    To those making comments about my review, it is not illegal to perform telemedicine in Nebraska; it’s illegal to prescribe without actually talking to a doctor per Nebraska telemedicine laws. I was expecting a call from a doctor and instead just received the medication in my mail. I immediately canceled my service and reported them. Weird also how a lot of positive reviews on this site are from New York, the headquarters of Getroman. Hmmm...

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (4)
    View all 4 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 17, 2018

      Bill K.

      Funny, even though you knew upfront that selling these drugs to you in your state and online was illegal but you did it anyway.

    • Jul 23, 2018

      Mark L.

      Right Bill? Let's go online and order because assuming it was needed, I got the order delivered (could have canceled it), then I come here to complain that they broke the law? LOL.

    • Jul 25, 2018

      Aaron

      Read my edit. Clearly, you both didn’t read my original review and you are just trying to discredit me. I didn’t say it was illegal to prescribe medication in Nebraska with telemedicine, I said it’s against the law to prescribe this medication without talking to a doctor first. I was waiting in the doctor to call me after I placed my order and nobody ever called, I just got medication in my mail. I immediately canceled my account with www.getroman.com, and filed a complaint with the appropriate authorities.

    • Aug 9, 2018

      Rich L.

      Wow, a crime of the century! Internet rattle tale. You deserve any negative responses you receive!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)

    • Previous review
    • Apr 13, 2018

    Getroman.com doesn’t follow telemedicine laws

    Getroman.com claims they follow the law, but they do not. All states have varying telemedicine laws. Laws required to perform prescription writing over the phone or on the internet. Getroman.com does not follow the law.

    Example: I ordered with them, I live in Nebraska, and telemedicine laws in my state require I verbally talk to a doctor over the phone. I talked to nobody. All I had to do to order was send a copy of my driver's license and a picture of myself and a week later I got prescription drugs. This is illegal. I could be a little kid that stole my dad's wallet and took his picture, and I could have gotten prescription drugs from Getroman.com. This is unacceptable.

    There are numerous other online sources that operate legally, and Getroman.com is not one of them and is a scam. There are private companies that monitor online telemedicine companies, LegitScript and CSIP. Getroman.com is approved by LegitScript, but they should not be as they do not follow telemedicine laws. I’ve already filed a complaint with LegitScript and CSIP. If you want prescription drugs and you want to obtain them illegally, use Getroman.com.

    (read moreread less...)

  • 9 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Will be a huge help

    • Denver, CO,
    • Jul 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I spoke to my doctor about ED. I am over 50, and things don't respond like they're 30 years old anymore.

    At my last doctor visit, he gave me some of the Viagra sample packs to try. The ones they get for free to hand out. It was amazing to be back in peak performance again. I went back several weeks later for a prescription. My health plan would be $160 for four pills. Heck no! I tried several different T-boosting supplements with little to no results.

    I saw a commercial for Roman, signed up, and they answered the questions. I spoke to a doctor, and they're being shipped. Much less expensive and right to my door and less than the supplements that did nothing.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 9, 2018

      Rich L.

      Stop being a tattletale. How old are you? You sound like a 5-year-old girl. Be happy that you got to skip a step, and stop being a snitch and grow up. You know pretty well that a kid is not going to do something like that and even if they did, so what. With everything going on in the world, today this is your grip, this is your stand? Get a life bruh.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Easy, works, economical!

    • Oregon,
    • Jun 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Just as the article describes, I filled out a brief online questionnaire, then a physician called me by phone and discussed my case. He agreed I was a good candidate for the drug, so he created a prescription and order, and in about one week, I had my first eight doses of generic sildenafil (Viagra). I would highly recommend going that route as it is much cheaper than the brand-name drug and it worked wonderfully for me!

    I have since found it easy to send follow-up messages to the online doctor I was assigned to and get prompt replies. I have since changed my ordering quantity to get more doses per month since they have proven themselves to be safe, reliable and accessible.

    This service is really terrific and is something MUCH needed in the medical community. My only word of advice is to remember, like they say, this service and doctor are not intended to replace your regular doctor, and what you do, TELL THE TRUTH on the medical questionnaire and when you talk to the doctor by phone. Remember, he is relying on your honesty to know if it is safe to prescribe you an ED medication. If you lie about other health conditions, drugs you are taking, etc., you can really harm or kill yourself, so do the right thing. Be straight up with them, and they will be straight with you.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Couldn't be easier.

    • San Jose, CA,
    • May 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    To be honest, even the name Roman didn't appear to me to be legit at the beginning. But I needed to impress my girlfriend, so I gave it a try.

    The whole process literally took like seven minutes. I did everything by phone while just sitting in a grocery store parking lot in a car.

    I was approved, and they say the parcel is on its way. Wow! Too good to be true but it seems like it is! I'm happy so far!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Great idea

    I tried Roman for the first time. I have been treated in the past for ED, however, it’s very expensive. So I gave Roman a try and so far it’s great. I answered a few questions, and I received a phone call from their doctor who had an office about two hours away from where I lived, so I knew he was real. I talked to the doctor longer then I did my PCP and found the best medication and route to go with and within four hours my medication was sent by UPS and it showed up in a brown box and was everything they said it would be. The medication was 100% real. Also, just to let you know, in the past I’ve gotten fake V from a different company, and it’s always something I don’t want to go through again.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Convenient, discreet, professional

    • San Francisco, CA,
    • Apr 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was very happy with my experience with Roman. The entire process was very smooth and convenient. I would say the what I was most hesitant about was the interaction(s) with the physicians, but I was pleased with the professionalism and response time of the physician matched with me. I had several questions over the course of a few days, and they answered them all with great detail that made me feel comfortable. Shipping was fast and discreet. I would definitely recommend Roman.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 14

Write a Review for Roman ED Meds!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review