About Bombfell

Don’t have the time (or inclination) to shop until you drop? Bombfell is a subscription-based fashion service that aims to help men look their best without breaking the bank.

Short for “bomb fellow” (think “bombshell” meets “fellow”), Bombfell is the brainchild of co-founders Jason Kim and Bernie Yoo. The two long-term friends met as college roommates while attending Harvard where, according to one article, they built their respective wardrobes on “a shaky foundation of free t-shirts handed out by dot-com companies.”

After graduating, Jason and Bernie found that they lacked the time and know-how to dress well—often asking girlfriends to pick out clothes for them, instead. The inspiration for Bombfell came after “realizing that you could only ask someone to shop for you so many times.”

Drawing from Jason’s professional experience as a lead engineer and Bernie’s in business development, the two entrepreneurs used technology to enhance what a professional stylist could offer, and claim that the combination offers an ease-of-use and personalization that few others can match. How does it work?

How to Use Bombfell to Build Your Wardrobe

When you sign up for Bombfell, the website guides you through a short questionnaire in which you provide the following:

  • Indicate what best describes your situation, from looking for advice, stepping up your look, too busy to shop, or helping out your partner.
  • Your height, weight, and body shape.
  • What size clothing you currently wear.
  • How you like your clothes to fit. Choose between trim and relaxed.
  • Choose from six swatches to select the closest match to your skin tone.
  • Select one or more styles that represent your preferred look. Choose from casual, classic, preppy, or modern.
  • Select items or colors you’d never wear, including plaid, pink, red, stripes, skinny jeans, and graphic t-shirts.
  • Choose one or more brands that you currently wear.

After providing Bombfell with selections that best represent your size and personal style preferences, the next survey section allows you to choose your budget for each item with sliding scales.

Bombfell’s sliding scales

Note that the price ranges shown represent the least amount that Bombfell members can allot to each category of clothing. If the proposed price range is too high for any given category, you can also slide the scale to “No Thanks.”

Last up, you’re allowed to pick up to three items from the following categories to be included in your first Bombfell shipment:

Bombfell’s first shipment selection

What happens next? Bombfell’s software analyzes the information you just provided to make recommendations from a carefully curated selection of well-known and up-and-coming designers based on your fit and style preferences. Next, one of Bombfell’s personal stylists decides which items make the final cut.

Bombfell sends members a preview email, showing what’s been selected before shipment. A box of clothes is then delivered to your door. After trying the items on in the comfort of your own home, you’re allowed ten days to give your Bombfell picks a thumbs up or thumbs down. Any items that aren’t keepers can be returned in a prepaid envelope at no charge.

The company claims that their combination of technology and personalized service offers the best of both worlds: a personal shopper’s expertise and a customizable budget. Additionally, Bombfell claims that selections get better over time, as members are encouraged to send feedback through their account about what worked and what didn’t.

How Much Does a Bombfell Membership Cost?

Bombfell doesn’t charge a subscription fee, stylist fees, or shipping – members only pay for the items of clothing that they keep. According to their FAQ section, there is a fair amount of variation in how much each item costs. The average price point for one item of clothing is $89.

Bombshell’s average pricing per item example

Note that the price you pay is per item, not for a complete ensemble. Though, members are allowed to place a cap on how much they’re willing to spend on particular items of clothing, as shown in the previous section.

Bombshell’s average pricing per item example

Want a clearer understanding of how much entire Bombfell ensembles cost? You can see more examples of selected outfits in their Pricing section.

Unless otherwise specified, Bombfell members will receive shipments once a month. If that’s too often, members can change the frequency to once every two or three months in their Account Preferences or re-schedule the next shipment in the “Up Next” tab of your account dashboard. Members can also pause or cancel their account at any time.

What Range of Sizes Does Bombfell Offer?

According to the FAQ section, Bombfell has ample selections in average sizes, but only a limited selection of Big & Tall: “For bottoms, we carry a few styles in waist size from 38" to 46", and up to a 36" inseam in select waist sizes. For tops, we carry XLB to 4XB in Big sizing and for tall sizing XLT to 3XT.”

Bombfell encourages prospective members to contact their customer service at support@bombfell.com if you’re still left with questions about whether they can accommodate your size, fit, or style.

What If I Don’t Like My Bombfell Selections?

Returning unwanted items is also free—just be sure to do so within your 10-day “try on” period. The clock doesn’t start ticking until your shipment is delivered. Note that Bombfell only accepts unused, unwashed, and undamaged returns with the tags still intact.

What if you’re late? Bombfell members who exceed the 10-day period will be charged the full amount of the order. Between 11-29 days after receipt, refunds and credits are handled individually. Post 30-days, only store credit is available – minus a $10 restocking fee.

Also, due to hygiene reasons, underwear and grooming products cannot be returned. Socks can be returned, but must be in their original unopened packaging.

Remember that preview email we mentioned? To help negate the chances of getting a shipment you don’t enjoy, members can request new selections or choose to skip the month within 48 hours of the email being sent.

If you keep receiving items that don’t suit your style, Bombfell does allow members to switch up their personal stylist—just email the service department at support@bombfell.com.

Bombfell Reviews: What Customers Are Saying About Their Selections

Like many startups, Bombfell saves on their marketing budget by offering bloggers commission from affiliate links placed in their review. Meaning that, if a reader were to click through to Bombfell after reading a post, the blogger gets paid either a flat rate or percentage of your purchase. (Note that the presence of affiliate links should always be mentioned in a disclaimer.)

While affiliate links don’t always (and shouldn’t ever) affect the review, there’s still a chance that the blogger could be less than objective. To ensure objectivity, we headed to Reddit’s Male Fashion Advice (MFA) forum to find what members had to say about their Bombfell subscriptions.

Related: Trunk Club Review

Commenters comparing the service to similar fashion subscription companies targeting male shoppers, such as Trunk Club and 54 Club, described Bombfell as offering better prices.

“I've been with them for 4 months now and I love 'em!” –immasheep

“I’ve been using bombfell for a few months and I really like it. It costs me literally nothing unless there's something I like. I've kept a lot of stuff though. It's all pretty good quality stuff that I’m willing you pay for. It also has a third party picking it out that gets me to branch out. And for what it's worth, I get tons of compliments on the stuff they send.” –geoffersonspin

It’s worth noting that Reddit’s MFA community focuses on learning how to look fashionable yourself. However, the most common complaints were that Bombfell’s selections weren’t to users tastes.

“I tried Bombfell for almost a full year. I returned just about everything, kept a pair of shorts I believe. Overall wasn’t too impressed and I’d rather just do my own shopping.” –habisch

One Redditor also commented that his shipments became repetitive. Although, no statement was made as to whether or not he contacted Bombfell’s customer service about the problem before canceling.

Bombfell vs Trunk Club vs Five Four: How Do These Subscription Services Compare?

As few customers mentioned in their reviews above, Bombfell isn’t the only clothing subscription service that caters to men. How does it stack up against two similar services, Trunk Club and Five Four?

A Quick Look at Trunk Club

Trunk Club delivers a similar model of subscription service, but with a twist. Trunk Club members can take advantage of in-person styling services at its clubhouses in several cities, including Chicago, D.C., Dallas, New York, and Los Angeles. This gives members the chance to chat with a stylist and try on clothes—as well as access to a full bar to fuel your shopping experience.

While some might find Trunk Club’s in-person perks appealing, stopping in to see a personal stylist starts to blur the line between a subscription service and regular ol’ shopping—potentially making Trunk Club a less appealing option for men who’d rather have dapper selections delivered directly to their door.

There’s also Trunk Club’s high prices. Granted, what you’re willing to pay for personalized shopping is likely different from the next guy, so “expensive” is subjective. However, Trunk Club’s clothing picks don’t shy away from items that cost a pretty penny. For example, their averages are:

  • $170–$250 for denim
  • $100–$200 for casual shirts
  • $100–$300 for sweaters

Those prices are a far cry from Bombfell’s average of $89 per item. Additionally, a number of Trunk Club customers has stated that the clothing they received wasn’t representative of those high prices and that they quickly showed wear and tear.

Learn more: Trunk Club Reviews

A Quick Look at Five Four

Another men’s fashion subscription service, Five Four costs a flat $60 each month. Each month you will receive a package of apparel valued up to double its monthly fee, which is selected for you based on your style profile.

Because of its low price and ample items delivered, one blogger hailed it as the best value for men interested in curated clothing picks delivered to their door. In addition to monthly shipments, Five Four members can purchase additional outfits from the website at a 25% discount.

The potential drawback? Unlike Bombfell or Trunk Club, Five Four only sells its own brand of clothing. This allows them to offer clothing at a reduced cost but also limits subscribers style options to a single brand.

Is Bombfell a Good Fit to Amp Up Your Fashion?

While Bombfell members won’t benefit from the kind of clothing sales you can find at a standard retailer, the company does appear to offer items without a significant markup. (A co-founder commented on Reddit that clothes are purchased at wholesale cost, and that they consciously try to keep items competitively priced when deciding retail value.)

While items aren’t conspicuously over-priced, Bombfell is likely only appealing to male shoppers who don’t make a priority of hunting for bargains. Instead, the service will likely work best for men who are interested in dressing well, and are willing to pay for the convenience.

After completing Bombfell’s survey, we were left with one concern: While the questionnaire takes build and skin tone into consideration, there’s no opportunity to upload a picture or share other information that could influence which patterns and colors are selected, including eye or hair color. This makes the service feel slightly less custom than working with a personal shopper. If bringing out your baby blues is a top priority, you may be interested in contracting the services of a professional stylist instead.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

12 Consumer Reviews for Bombfell

Average Consumer Rating: 2.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 3 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 1 1 star:  8
Bottom Line: 25% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 12
Sort reviews by:

  • Way off target

    • Virginia,
    • Jul 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Ok, let's start this failed bombing run. I have shopped JCP for a few years now for my work attire of business formal to casual. I saw Bombfell's BS and gave them a shot. The first box was trash, but my lady says give it another chance. The second box was not bad, but why are you sending me winter gear in summer? I was due my next box in mid-June and I iget an email with this BS:

    "Hi Donte, Did you hear that joke about the Liberty Bell? Yeah, it cracked me up! Wishing you the best July 4th. Summer is all about being spontaneous and enjoying the weather so I'm here to make sure your outfit matches your good times. Let me know your thoughts and if you want me to make any changes. I'm always open to hearing your feedback :). Cheers, Jazmin"

    I'm not due a box until the 11th but they feel the need to send me one with nothing I would buy, well, I take that back, they had one shirt listed "FOUNDRY EASY CARE OXFORD SHIRT $60 $29.99." Now, remember I am an avid JCP shopper. So I go look up the same shirt on JCP's site "The Foundry Big & Tall Supply Co. Long Sleeve Plaid Button-Front Shirt-Big and Tall LIMITED TIME SPECIAL! $12.99sale was $46 | 71% off." You see that they listed the shirt for $60 on sale for $30 when in fact on JCP's site it's $46 on sale for $13, granted it's the 4th sale.

    To sum it up, Bombfell is like going shopping with your SO and letting them pick out stuff for you and you paying for it knowing you're not going to wear it. I got lazy and really didn't save any time or money by using this service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 11, 2018

      Bombfell , Bombfell Customer Service Team

      Hi Donte,

      Thanks for reviewing your Bombfell experience, I'm sorry to hear that some of the orders you received were not a home run for you!

      Bombfell is all about building a relationship with your stylist their goal is to work to make each shipment even more successful than the last. So we'll make sure we take your feedback and work even harder on sharpening this for current and future clients.

      Thanks for bringing this pricing discrepancy to our attention as well. It is never our intention to deceive on price/value and we will work with all partners to ensure our messaging is consistent.

      If you have any other feedback for us, let us know. I checked our system and saw you reached out about some of your concerns and we replied back. Please touch base at support@bombfell.com if you have any other feedback on how we can better convey the value and convenience of our service.

      Best,

      Team Bombfell

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Does the job I need

    • Cambridge, MA,
    • May 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have this, and I love it. Excellent clothes, the price is reasonable, and it's delivered and saves me time. The only problem I had was I ordered my size, and it came marked my size but was like a size smaller. So I returned it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 1, 2018

      Bombfell , Bombfell Customer Service Team

      Hi Andrew,

      We're so glad that you love Bombfell!

      Thanks for the feedback on the items you received--your stylist will use this to find clothes with a better fit next time. If you have any further feedback you'd like to share, let us know at support@bombfell.com and we can incorporate this into your future orders!

      Best, Team Bombfell

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Great company

    • Boston, MA,
    • Apr 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have ordered many times from Bombfell and have been extremely satisfied every time. Great customer service, fair prices, and very easy to order. The clothing is high-end and comfortable. The service makes it easy to get cool clothing without having to go into a store and style yourself.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • May 25, 2018

      Bombfell , Bombfell Customer Service Team

      Hi Jar,

      Thank you for the kind words, we're definitely happy to have you with us!

      Best, Team Bombfell

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 4 people found this review helpful

    This idea BOMBED and FELL far from the mark.

    We thought this would be a fun idea for a 45th birthday gift. IT. WAS. NOT.

    The "stylist" said that they were out of jeans (?!?!) and chose the dorkiest khaki shorts possible. What a waste of time, filling out the questionnaire and then having to cancel everything and get the money back. I bet a college student would be happy for $20 to pick out some stylish but appropriate clothes for a 45-year-old man. Even a clever kid from a 3rd world country with access to the internet would know to order some jeans from any other site and have them sent to a customer. I should have known, in fact, I did know, but I was trying to try something new.

    This is NOT the way to go. Save your precious time. This BOMBED and FELL far from the mark. It doesn't even deserve a star for wasting precious imaginary internet space.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 13, 2018

      Bombfell , Bombfell Customer Service Team

      Hi Melissa,

      Thanks for leaving feedback on your experience with Bombfell.

      We appreciate you highlighting this area of improvement. Our inventory in size 35x34 pants and jeans is very limited because it’s a hard size to come by. We’re always looking for more vendors to partner with and we strive to improve this in the future!

      We’re sorry to hear the styling didn’t work out for you in this case. It definitely seems like your stylist may have been thinking in a different direction than what you were hoping, but the positive is that we’re always open to feedback! We will make sure to review this order with the stylist so that she can improve in the future as well.

      We’re definitely sorry for any disappointment, so we made sure that your styling fee was refunded, as we mentioned in our reply to you on March 6th.

      We want to make sure that even in the rare case that things go wrong, we do our best to make them right again. Let us know if you have any further questions at support@bombfell.com and we can assist you further there!

      Thanks, Team Bombfell

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Not recommended...

    • Kansas City, KS,
    • Mar 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Everything started out just fine. The first shipment about nine months ago was full of exciting goodies that actually fit pretty well. The stylist did a fair job for a guy who is a tough fit.

    The honeymoon was over about a month ago, when I was traveling for three weeks straight and was struggling to get my return back. I contacted them, which is a bit of a problem since they don't have a contact phone, and they gave me an extension. Long story short, the return was in the mail, and they went ahead and charged me nearly $300 for the clothing that was in route to them. They received it, confirmed, and won't return the money.

    You mess with my money? We have a problem. With nobody to speak to directly, I'd proceed with extreme caution. I'd just stay far away. I'm out $300, and they won't return emails. There are plenty of other options out there. Make sure they have real contact information, and not just an email.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 13, 2018

      Bombfell , Bombfell Customer Service Team

      Hi John,

      Thanks for sharing your experience with our service.

      We're very sorry for any confusion here. We saw your note about not receiving any email responses from us and having your money withheld. Our records show that we responded to your messages on this issue, and our team made a special exception to our procedure by issuing you a refund before we processed your return. Please check your spam or junk folder for emails from support@bombfell.com in case they may have landed there.

      That email was sent on March 2nd, a couple days before this review was posted. Refunds generally take 1 to 3 business days to process. Please touch base with your bank if you still haven’t seen this post at this time.

      We do our best to respond to any client concerns within 24 hours of contact and at no point intended on withholding a refund for those returning items. If you have any other questions, please touch base with us at support@bombfell.com. We’d love to talk more about how we can make this right for you.

      Thanks,

      Team Bombfell

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Ugly clothes

    • Tioga, ND,
    • Oct 31, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I thought that it was going to be better clothes than Walmart or clothes that you don't see everywhere, but is not different from cheap stores and a lot more expensive. I was very disappointed to see just regular clothes. It looks like someone returns them over and over till they found the person to keep them by mistake.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 4 people found this review helpful

    My closet is now stuffed from these guys

    Bombfell has been a godsend. I love these guys. I’ve been using the service for 2.5(ish) years now and have been very happy with the service. I’ve always been treated more than fairly by Bombfell if I need to ask for an extension on the try-on period or return something late. They’ve never had a problem with it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Three tries to cancel, not worth the hassle

    After discovering that Bombfell sells widely available brands at a notable markup, I canceled and decided to buy clothes from other online retailers. Then I received a shipment of clothes from Bombfell, so I returned the clothes and canceled again. Then the cycle repeated itself, this time with clothes that don't even fit my profile sizes. The product selection doesn't appear to be done by an actual person, and I get stuff that clearly isn't what I asked for. That has the makings of a scam to me, and I'm still trying to figure out how to cancel the service. Now I happen to be trying to do that with $400 in clothes that aren't in my size that need to be returned.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Never buy Bombfell

    This is either a scam, or the most unprofessional unprepared attempt at a company I've ever seen. They charged me $400 without notice for a package I never received, then informed me it happens often! As of right now they won't even refund me. Do yourself a favor and don't give these people your card information.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 12, 2017

      Bombfell , Bombfell Customer Service Team

      Hi Skylar,

      It seems that this issue has been resolved on both ends and your refund was issued! We hope this was not too much of an inconvenience.

      Thank you for your patience and if you have any additional questions, you can always reach us at support@bombfell.com.

      Cheers, Team Bombfell

    • Sep 23, 2017

      Steve Hufford

      It's not worth the markup prices that you have to pay. Everything is available at a lower price from other online retailers.

    • Sep 27, 2017

      Bombfell , Bombfell Customer Service Team

      Hi Steve,

      Thanks for your review. We're sorry to hear of the negative experience you had while trying to cancel your subscription.

      We received your email about this concern on September 23rd, and a resolution was sent the following day. Your account has now been successfully unsubscribed, please be sure to check your spam or junk folder if you have not yet received our message.

      We appreciate you giving our service a try! We can confirm that all of the orders are made by real stylists, so we will take your feedback to improve the selections as we go forward. We also do our best to sell items at (or often at some discount to) their normal retail prices.

      If you have any additional questions, you can always reach us at support@bombfell.com.

      Best, Team Bombfell

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Don't use this service!

    • Arizona,
    • Sep 7, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I tried out this service, and I urge anyone to NOT use this company. It's been over one month, and I still don't have my refund back on my Visa card. Very frustrating experience to say the least!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 8, 2017

      Bombfell , Bombfell Customer Service Team

      Hi Bill,

      It seems that this issue has been resolved on both ends and your refund was issued! We hope this was not too much of an inconvenience.

      Thank you for your patience and if you have any additional questions, you can always reach us at support@bombfell.com.

      Cheers, Team Bombfell.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Unauthorized charges

    • Maryland,
    • Jul 7, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    They charged my card $430 without my consent and would not give me a refund right away. I marked my items for return, and they charged me an obscene amount. Stay away from them! They are not honest at all. There isn't even phone customer service to talk to anyone. Shady!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 14, 2017

      Bombfell , Bombfell Customer Service Team

      Hi CJ,

      We're very sorry to hear about your negative experience with Bombfell. The initial charge was made because tracking did not update on your return shipment and after a period of time, we charge for the items. We know you have been in communication with the client services. As of today, you have received a full refund back to your card.

      Hope that clears up any misunderstanding and thank you for your patience. If you have any additional questions, you can always reach us at [email protected]

      Cheers,

      Team Bombfell

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 12

Write a Review for Bombfell!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review