Jump To:
Our Editorial Review
Customer Reviews

Dr. Marty ProPower Plus

  This company has claimed this profile, is getting alerted on any new customer reviews entering this page, and may engage in dialogue with its customers to address their matters.

Companies cannot pay money or provide goods in order to remove or alter customer reviews.
Dr. Marty ProPower Plus

Overall Rating

4.4

365 Customer Reviews

Summary

The formula found in Dr. Marty’s ProPower Plus combines two billion CFU of four beneficial bacteria strains with enzymes and other ingredients that could help improve your dog’s health.

Write a Review

Dr. Marty's ProPower Plus Review: A Detailed Look

By HighYa Editorial Team

Updated on: Sep 14, 2020

Dr. Marty’s ProPower Plus contains a blend of 14 health and digestive ingredients which allegedly delivers a long list of dog-friendly benefits, regardless of breed, age, or size.

The company states that this supplement may improve digestion, increased energy and alertness, boosted immune function, healthier teeth, less anxiety and nervousness, scratch-free skin, and a healthier, shinier coat.

To use, put one scoop of ProPower Plus’s powder over your dog’s food or a favorite snack, once per day. From there, the company promises that your pooch’s health will be supported from nose to tail.

Your dog is part of your family, so you want to ensure they’re as happy and healthy as possible. In this review, we will help you understand how ProPower Plus works and if it is the right option for your four-legged friend.

Analysis of Ingredients

The company indicates that ProPower Plus contains the following ingredients:

  • Super Pet probiotic-enzyme blend 1,000 mg or 2 billion CFU – Protease, Amylase, Cellulase, Hemicellulase, Lipase, Papain, Bromelain, Bacillus coagulans (SEBIOTIC®), Lactobacillus acidophilus, Bifidobacterium lactis/longum, Lactobacillus plantarum, and Fructooligosaccharides (DigebSEB®), Gum Acacia, Cellulose Plant Fiber
  • Champignon mushroom extract 80 mg
  • Kelp (Ascophyllum nodosum) thallus powder (Organic) 60 mg

The website also lists these nutrition details:

  • Crude Protein (min) 10.4%
  • Crude Fat (min) 0.31%
  • Crude Fiber (max) 28.1%
  • Moisture (max) 9%
  • Probiotics (min) 2 billion CFU/g

Using these numbers as a guide, Dr. Marty’s recommends the following serving sizes, based on your dog’s weight:

Dog Weight ProPower Daily Serving Size
1 - 10 lbs ½ scoop
11 - 35 lbs 1 scoop
36 - 55 lbs 1 ½ scoop
56 lbs+ 2 scoops

Outside of the ProPower Plus’s probiotic content, we’re left with two remaining ingredients: 80 mg of Champignon mushroom extract and 60 mg of kelp thallus powder.

We did not find any clinical support indicating that Champignon (“white button”) mushroom or kelp are specifically beneficial for humans or dogs.

However, mushrooms are high in fiber and protein, and they and kelp contain vitamins and minerals like selenium, potassium, copper, zinc, iodine, magnesium, iron, and calcium.

Safety

Like humans, dogs can take probiotics without the risk of serious side effects.

Mushrooms sold in large-chain grocery stores aren’t toxic to humans or dogs, which includes the mushrooms used to make this supplement.

It’s essential to talk with a veterinarian before giving your dog any supplements to help avoid potential side effects or interactions.

Pricing

ProPower Plus supplement is priced at:

  • 1 jar: $69.95
  • 3 jars: $188.85 ($62.95 per jar)
  • 6 jars: $356.70 ($59.45 per jar)

The company offers free shipping and a 90-day money-back guarantee, less the cost of return shipping.

Popular Alternatives to ProPower Plus

There are a lot of canine probiotic supplements competing with Dr. Marty’s ProPower Plus, many of which advertise the same general benefits.

They also share many of the same probiotic strains, prebiotics (food for the bacteria once they reach the gut), additional ingredients, and suitability for all ages, sizes, and breeds.

Their differences largely come down to pricing, formats, and specific formulations. Here how ProPower Plus compares to some of the top-rated options on Amazon:

Brand Price (Amazon) / Cost Per Serving Format # of Strains / CFU
Dr. Marty’s ProPower Plus $49.95 / $0.83–$3.33 Powder (scoop) 6 / 2 billion
Purina Pro Plan FortiFlora $27.99 / $0.93 Powder (sachets) 1 / 100 million
Zesty Paws Probiotic Bites $25.97 / $0.29–$0.87 Soft chews 5 / 3 billion
Nusentia Probiotic Miracle $39.99 / $0.11–$0.22 Powder (scoop) 6 / 360 billion
Advita Probiotic Supplement for Dogs $17.59 / $0.59 Powder (packets) 4 / 200 million
NutraPet Probiotics for Dogs $19.97 / $0.17–$0.67 Chewable tablets 3 / 200 million

Dogs can be picky eaters, so you might need to try more than one formula and format (powder, chewable, etc.) before landing on one that agrees with your pooch.

The Bottom Line

According to WebMD, the typical processed dog food delivers enough vitamins and minerals for your dog:

“Most dogs receive a complete and balanced diet – including necessary vitamins and minerals - from commercially processed dog food, according to the FDA. Dogs fed a homemade diet may need supplements.”

WebMD goes on to emphasize that if your dog already receives adequate nutrition, supplementing with additional vitamins or other ingredients can actually harm their health, rather than boost it.

What about from an effectiveness perspective? We talked with Dr. Dawn M. Booth, director of the clinical pharmacology lab at the Auburn University College of Veterinary Medicine, to get an answer.

“It’s hard finding quality evidence for the efficacy, much less the need, for these products,” Booth told us.

American Kennel Club (AKC) states that canine-oriented probiotic supplements are very popular with some veterinarians and that a great deal of anecdotal evidence exists to support their benefits.

Furthermore, the AKC advises there are also several one-off clinical trials indicating that probiotic supplementation could—like in humans—enhance immune response, reduce diarrhea, and eliminate the need for antibiotics in dogs.

To help you decide whether or not your dog requires supplementation, as well as assistance choosing the best product (if any at all) while avoiding side effects and medication interactions, it’s essential that you talk with your veterinarian beforehand.

Customer Reviews

4.4 Stars out of 365 Reviews
5 Star:61% 4 Star:28% 3 Star:2% 2 Star:1% 1 Star:5%
92% Recommend This Product
Start your review of Dr. Marty ProPower Plus:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on May 2, 2019

Happy dogs, happy owners?!

By Hilary G., Kent, WA, Verified Reviewer

We have a 6-year-old English Setter, who has been depressed, less active and gaining weight since her life-long older buddy, Gus passed. To make things worse, a month later we got a 5-month-old rescue dog of a different breeding, more aggressive and needing to dominate.

Things have mellowed a bit over a year as the puppy matured, but we thought we’d never see the energetic Ruby we used to know ever again. When I heard of your digestive product and testimonials, I wanted to give it a try.

The difference was noticeable in a week, and now, due to cost, I just give both dogs 2/3 the recommended amount every 2-3 days with still a noticeably happier, more active dog. Even Rocky, our rescue Visla/pit bull mix, seems more content, not needing to dominate or overtake Ruby as they run through our property.

So wonderful to have happier, healthier companions!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on May 6, 2019

ProPower Plus

By Sandra S., California, Verified Reviewer

I started giving ProPower Plus to my 3 dogs on 9/24/18 and have continued daily since then. Prior to reading your Infomercial, I was particularly concerned about my beagle, Bailey, as he seemed lacking in energy and his tri-color coat was pale with more and more white hair (he is approx 13 years old). He's been on a prescription diet for several years, so I was convinced that he was lacking some necessary nutrients. Within 1-2 weeks, I was pleasantly surprised to notice that his coat was getting its coloring back and it continues to become richer. He's also happier, more playful.

I've also noticed changes in Tiny, my toy poodle's demeanor. Also, approx 13 years old, he's become very much more playful, animated and happy.

My foster/rescue, Mia, chihuahua mix, guesstimated 8 years of age, I took in 12 days before beginning Pro Power Plus, so don't have a history with her. Having been abandoned at my Vet's office, during her dental, 29 teeth were removed, was spayed and had 5 masses removed near her nipples (2 surgeries). I believe that ProPower Plus boosted her recuperation.

Thanks, again, for a truly remarkable product.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on May 6, 2019

Seems to be helping

By Nicolette C., Southern California, Verified Reviewer

I have two 12-year-old epi dogs, they take drugs to help control their seizures, which often upset their tummies. I was giving them Pepcid with every meal. Stopping the Pepcid and giving them each a scoop of ProPower Plus with their dinner has made such a difference! No more urpy-burpees after they eat...really noticing a difference!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on May 6, 2019

Great

By Judy F., New Jersey, Verified Reviewer

Freddy, a Cavashon, has been taking this since February. His bowls were always good and regular. After taking the ProPower, he continues to go each day and sometimes two times. He is healthy, active, sleeps well and an all around happy dog. His hair is smooth, soft and everyone loves to pet him.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on May 7, 2019

One of the best purchases I’ve ever made for my dog

By Camille T., Queens, NY, Verified Reviewer

I have a 17-year-old toy Pom. As expected at her age, her health has been slowly declining, including how often she would defecate, which would be every 4-5 days or even as long as 6-7 days. As per our vet, he recommended mixing a small amount of canola oil in her food but the results were not as consistent. Since purchasing Dr. Marty’s ProPower, we saw results immediately! She started to defecate every 1-2 days and her stool looks even healthier! Her overall health has improved too! She’s more alert and playful! I love Dr. Marty’s products! Wish we discovered them sooner! Thank you for giving us hope for our senior dog!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on May 7, 2019

Hip surgery

By Joann W., Texas, Verified Reviewer

At age 5, my dog had to have a hip replacement. She had struggled with a limp and stiffness ever since. She will be 13 in October. Since starting her in the ProPower Plus supplement she bounces around the house and yard like a young puppy. Thank you for helping her pain and stiffness.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on May 7, 2019

ProPower Plus lives up to its name

By Joanne Y., The Villages, FL, Verified Reviewer

Eight and a half years ago we adopted a long-haired dachshund from a friend who was extremely active with animal rescue. Rascal was outgoing and so easy to train. Of all the dogs we have owned, she has been the very best. We knew about back problems and weight control but had not experienced IVDD until September 2017.

Rascal had surgery and we opted for integrative care. We are overly protective of her and do not want her to be in pain or to take medicines every day for the rest of her life. She is basically a vegetarian now - to keep her weight in check. But with your freeze dried food and ProPower Plus - she is trim and for the first time in a while, she is prancing like a young puppy and seemed to be smiling and laughing while running down a mild incline over and over again. I am sharing our experience with other dog owners we know. Thank you.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on May 8, 2019

Excellent progress!

By Deborah F., Colorado, Verified Reviewer

My dog, Sherlock, is between 8 - 10 years old. I adopted him from a rescue on February 14, 2019. He weighs 44 lbs and is a Bassett Hound/Border Collie mix. I started out feeding him Chicken Whole Grain Honest Kitchen freeze dried food with chicken or beef broth. He was supposed to be fed 2 cups per day, but he would only eat 1 cup per day.

I have been giving him Dr. Marty's ProPower Plus for about 4 weeks, the Dr. Marty's Dog Food about 6 weeks, and the joint supplement for 4 weeks. His coat is shiny and soft and less itching. His endurance, energy level, alertness, engagement, obedience, playfulness, and flexibility have increased significantly. His breath has gone from horrible to tolerable. Anxiety has decreased. We walk briskly 2 - 4 miles per day. He is now eating 2 cups of food, 1 cup broth, and 1/4 pound of grass-fed raw ground beef per day. He loves his food! Appetite is definitely improved!

Very pleased with all of Dr. Marty's products, including the liver treats. I will be adding the skin supplement upon its arrival.

Sherlock and I are very happy customers!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on May 7, 2019

ProPower Plus review

By Susan G., Houston, TX, Verified Reviewer

I started Frankie on ProPower Plus in January and she has been on it daily since. I mix it in her breakfast food with a little water and she loves it!

A little background. Frankie is a Blue Standard Poodle that I got from the Poodle Rescue of Houston in May 2015. At the time she had been found on the street, matted from head to toe and about 10 lbs underweight. She had a chip which had never been registered and was not spayed. They did spay her before I took her home. They guessed that her age was 2-3 years old based on her teeth. She was shy at first but liked people so I know she had not been abused. After a lot of love, socialization, and play she came out of her shell. She is an amazing dog, beautiful, smart, very well behaved, gentle, and a clown at play.

I started ProPower Plus after seeing Dr. Marty online. It took me quite a while to find food she would eat consistently but settled on a high quality dry with freeze-dried raw mixed in and a little water. That started about two and a half years ago. At times she could be a little constipated so when I heard about ProPower Plus I wanted to try it. She was also having her teeth cleaned for the second time since I got her this last February. Since starting PPP in January she has a daily formed stool never has stomach issues and has been extremely playful. She will run laps in an open grassy area and has been playing with a new 3-4-month-old puppy in our group like she is one too. She just had her annual checkup with labs and she was the picture of health. I will be curious to see in a year how her teeth are doing.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on May 8, 2019

No more stinky dog!

By Karen M., Colorado, Verified Reviewer

After trying several shampoos on my dog (even a couple Rx shampoos) for her smelly skin, I had given up. Then I tried this product. Even the vet commented on her lack of smell, and her skin and coat appearance! She asked me what I was using and I told her. She said her mother is using the same product for her dog!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on May 9, 2019

Like a puppy

By Michael F., Philadelphia, PA, Verified Reviewer

Before ProPower Plus, Gizmo was always looking into space as if he didn't notice or hear a thing. He would hide in the corner to avoid the other 2 dogs and my 2 cays. With him approaching 12 years old and being a Pekingnese having breathing problems, I knew my time with him would be limited. I saw Dr. Marty's article and thought why not give it a try, so I did. After adding just 1/2 scoop to both his meals he began to show signs of virality once again. He is up and running and the other dogs are so happy to have their buddy back. However, the cats aren't as happy, they want to sit and relax but Gizmo wants to relive the old days when it was he and the 2 of them and just wants to play. He is like a puppy all over again.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted
Showing 1-11 of 365

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.