Dr Marty Nature's Blend Review: Legit or Hype?

By HighYa Staff
Published on: Jan 15, 2019

Dr. Marty Nature’s Blend is a new dog food whose only ingredients are a variety of freeze-dried meat, poultry and fish as well as fruits and vegetables.

What makes the food unique is that it uses natural, “raw” ingredients and does not contain any filler grains that you’d find with cheaper dog food. The freeze-dried element is a rare trait, too, as most food is cooked in factories first or is wet food out of a can.

Dr. Marty is a brand named after veterinarian Dr. Martin Goldstein. According to the company’s website, Goldstein is lauded as “one of the world’s leading veterinarians” for more than 40 years. Goldstein is a graduate of Cornell University’s College of Veterinary Medicine and authored a book titled, “The Nature of Animal Healing: The Definitive Holistic Medicine Guide to Caring for Your Dog and Cat”.

In a time when organic, non-GMO food is a big deal for human consumers, a dog food that contains freeze-dried whole foods is certainly an appealing option for dog owners. In this review, we’ll analyze Nature’s Blend, talk about what its ingredients do, what it costs, and how it compares to other similar dog foods.

At the end of our review, we’ll include an opinion-based section that covers our thoughts about the general strengths and weaknesses of this product.

Nature’s Blend Feeding Plan

The food’s website has a very specific daily feeding schedule depending on the weight of your dog:

  • 5 lbs: ½ cup
  • 10 lbs.: ¾ cup
  • 20 lbs.: 1 ¼ cup
  • 25 lbs.: 1 ½ cup
  • 30 lbs.: 1 ¾ cups
  • 40 lbs.: 2 cups
  • 50 lbs.: 2 ½ cups
  • 60 lbs.: 2 ¾ cups
  • 70 lbs.: 3 ¼ cups
  • 80 lbs.: 3 ½ cups
  • 90 lbs.: 3 ¾ cups

Dr. Marty Nature’s Blend Ingredients: What They Are and Their Benefits

The defining characteristics of this dog food are its ingredients. As the food’s website says, “Nature’s Blend … is a nutrition-packed formula designed to give your dog a healthier, happier life. We blend a variety of (ingredients) for the balanced, complete nutrition your dog needs.”

Here’s the list of the ingredients contained in the dog food:

  • Turkey
  • Beef
  • Salmon
  • Duck
  • Flax
  • Beef liver
  • Turkey hearts
  • Turkey liver
  • Sweet potato
  • Eggs
  • Pea flour
  • Carrots
  • Apples
  • Blueberries
  • Cranberries
  • Pumpkin seeds
  • Spinach
  • Ginger
  • Salt
  • Mixed tocopherols

As you can see, this is a hefty list of natural ingredients devoid of the common fillers you see like cornmeal.

Now, ingredients play a big role in your dog’s nutrition, but so do the food’s balance of proteins, moisture and other ingredients. There needs to be a certain balance in order to provide your dog with a beneficial meal.

Here’s a breakdown of these factors:

  • Crude protein: 39%
  • Crude fat: 23%
  • Crude fiber: 2.5%
  • Moisture: 5%
  • Omega-3 fatty acids: 5%

We turned to PetMD’s page on balanced dog foods to get an idea of where these percentages fall in terms of the recommended allowances.

PetMD says that protein amounts should be between 18% and 25% and that the fat content of dog food should be between 10% and 15%.

And, according to pet food company IAMS, the fiber content of your dog food should be between 1.4% and 3.5%.

Also, dog website This Dog’s Life notes that moisture content should be between 6% and 10%.

Based on these numbers, we think that Dr. Marty Nature’s Blend is on the high side for protein and fat, right on the mark for fiber and a little below the normal range for moisture, which is understandable because the food is freeze dried.

The high fat is a bit of a concern because it can have negative effects on your dog’s health only if you aren’t giving your dog daily exercise.

“The problem comes in when animals are allowed to eat excessive amounts of calories (including table scraps and treats) without proportionate exercise,” the site notes.

Now, on the positive side, proteins contain amino acids that are the building blocks for your dog’s muscles and, since they only produce half what they need on their own, they need to get a good amount from their food.

Fats, PetMD points out, “provide energy, as well as taste or flavor, to foods, and encourage the absorption of certain vitamins.”

Their article goes on to say that fat can help dogs “maintain healthy skin and a shiny, healthy, coat.”

As a quick side note, This Dog’s Life notes that mixed tocopherols are a vitamin E supplement and are far healthier than the alternative, a preservative called “BHA”.

Dr. Marty Nature’s Blend Cost and Return Policy

With so many natural ingredients packed into a bag of Dr. Marty Nature’s Blend, it can, no doubt, be considered a premium dog food. As such, it demands premium prices compared to other dog food that we’ll talk about after we discuss pricing and returns.

Dr. Marty bags contain 16 ounces of food and, at the time of publishing, were available via the following pricing tiers:

  • 1 bag: $29.95
  • 3 bags: $83.95
  • 6 bags: $161.70

According to a 2012 article from the Washinton Post, one pound of dog food has about four cups of food in it, which means one bag can last a 20 lb. dog for three days. Basically, the bigger the dog you have, the fewer the days your food will last, with 90-pound dogs consuming nearly an entire bag in one day.

With this in mind, we think that Nature’s Blend pricing is considerably high, as a 20-pound dog will need about 9.5 bags of food to make it through a 30-day month or around $275 a month for 10 bags.

Open Farm is another company who provides free-dried raw dog food. Their 13.5 oz. bags are $29.99, which ends up being more expensive than Nature’s Blend because each Open Farm bag contains 2.5 fewer ounces of dog food.

As for non-freeze-dried food, Blue Wilderness, a well-known healthy dog food, costs $31.99 for an 11 lb. bag from Petco. While Blue Wilderness can’t match the meats-and-vegetables-only mix of Dr. Marty Nature’s blend, it does avoid grains and features a long list of fruits and vegetables along with deboned chicken as its first ingredient as opposed to fillers.

Now that we’ve given you a comparison of this food’s pricing, we want to do a quick overview of its return policy. You have 90 days to return your food if you don’t feel it’s a good fit. The product’s website goes as far as to say they’ll refund 100% of your purchase price “if you don't’ see noticeable improvements in your dog’s health and happiness.”

The food ships to you for free but you’ll have to pay return shipping.

The Final Word: Our Overall Thoughts About Dr. Marty Nature’s Blend

This pet food is a very interesting option if, for no other reason than the fact that you’re getting straight-up meats and vegetables along with a vitamin E supplement.

If you’re a dog owner who has a desire to give your dog raw food, then Dr. Marty Nature’s Blend is a good match for you. The second part of this, though, is whether or not you have the financial means to pay for the food. The cost of Nature’s Blend may be prohibitive, as monthly supplies of the food would be:

  • $275 for a 20-lb. dog
  • $407 for a 30-lb. dog
  • $407 for a 40-lb. dog
  • $515 for a 50-lb dog

The bigger the dog, the more expensive the endeavor when it comes to this food. However, if you’re willing to pay for Nature’s Blend, then your desire to provide your dog with raw, healthy food will most likely be fulfilled.

Keep in mind, though, that the fat content in this food is above the recommended amount, which means you’ll need to be diligent with providing your dog consistent exercise every day to ensure he or she doesn’t gain weight.

Also, keep in mind that you need to transition your dog slowly from his or her current food to this food if you choose to buy it. Dogs’ digestive system can be sensitive and a sudden change from one food to a new one may cause some digestive issues.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 14 Dr. Marty Nature's Blend Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 3.7
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 6 4 star: 4 3 star: 0 2 star: 2 1 star:  2
Bottom Line: 71% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 14
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Got a free sample and...

    • Illinois,
    • Apr 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Dogs seemed to like it very well, however, with two dogs, I can't see myself spending over $1000 monthly to feed them. I love my boys, but they're not eating better than me! I believe the grain free food I currently feed them will be fine.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Picky Puppy turned into a ChowHound

    • Florida,
    • Apr 3, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have finally hit on a food that my 14 lb senior pup, Gracie, will gobble down, "unadorned" by sprinkled treats, white meat chicken pieces, broth, and any other favorite temptation! I slowly eliminated both dry and wet food and delicacies over a period of two weeks and kept holding my breath to see when she would recognize the absence of additions and changes. It never happened! Now, feeding time takes 5 minutes of prep time instead of 20, and she licks the bowl clean and wants more! I LOVE this food!

    The only caveat, it's a BIG monthly expense increase for me. Hoping Dr. M will try to lower the price if the product takes off!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    It's dehydrated! Half price.

    • Portland, OR,
    • Apr 3, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I mix a half cup of Marty's with a half cup of water or broth, as suggested on my packages. That about halves the cost for my wife's small dog. Why do so many seem unaware of that?

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    FANTASTIC

    • Jacksonville, FL,
    • Mar 31, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Our dogs LOVE LOVE Dr. Marty Nature Blend. If I could I would put it on auto delivery, however, the cost is way too high. That's why I gave it a 4-star rating. However, our dogs start crying an hour before feed time. At first I thought it was a full moon. When I realized it was the food they wanted it made me feel great that I had finally found a dog food they loved. They just wanted to even eat it dry. If you can afford the cost then, by all means, buy it. Your dogs will love it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Ugh, the worst dog food

    • Naples, FL,
    • Mar 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have two doggies less than 10 lbs, and this dog food made both of them vomit after feeding a small amount. They did not like the dog food and it made them sick. This is a waste of money and I had to pay to send the food back.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)

    • Apr 17, 2019

      Dr. Marty Pets

      Hi Seán, I'm Kat from Dr. Marty Pets. I'm so sorry to hear that your dogs had this experience while trying Nature's Blend. This is not a typical side effect of Nature's Blend so I'd like to get more information from you so I can notify our Adverse Reactions Team. We always ask that our customers consult their pet's veterinarian prior to making a lifestyle change to ensure that it is right for them. In addition, our Terms & Conditions state that our customers will be responsible for any shipping charges incurred in returning any product. I'm so sorry for the miscommunication. Please e-mail me at Kat@drmartypets.com if you have any other questions or concerns in the future. Thank you for giving Nature's Blend a try.


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Excellent, but cost prohibitive

    • Mansfield, CT,
    • Mar 28, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The ingredients in this freeze-dried food are of the highest quality and arrived promptly. If we had one toy breed dog to feed, I would definitely use this diet. It is a convenient, nutritious, safe alternative to a raw diet. Given that we have an Alaskan Malamute, a West Highland Terrier, and a Manchester Terrier x Daschund x Chihuahua mix, the cost would be prohibitive. I think most dogs would love the flavor and would benefit from the quality ingredients. If you have one small dog, it is definitely a diet to consider. We used a bit of the food as a topping and all three loved it. The company responds quickly and politely to inquiries. I did not request a refund since my dogs liked the food and I used the three bags as toppers. When I called to say that while I was pleased with the quality of the product, I could not afford it for my dogs, they were quite understanding.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    My dogs love it!

    • Florida,
    • Mar 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I started my two dogs (Mini Schnauzer, 8 years old and Mini Goldendoodle, 5 years old) on the food and supplement. WAW! They just love it. The look trimmer, they are more lively, it really has improved there overall wellbeing. I'm happy to have found this food and so are my pets. Thank you Dr. Marty.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Momo does self-directed agility moves to earn one little chunk of dog food.

    • California,
    • Mar 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Magic Momo Superdog got her first chunk of Dr. Marty's dog food and almost immediately started performing self-directed indoor dog agility moves to earn more - without me cuing her to do so. She even growled softly to show her excitement - first doing backside jumps, then jump-turn-left moves. I was amazed.

    Momo has been trained to have high obstacle focus, so this was natural for her to do. But she has never shown so much speed and excitement to earn a single morsel of dog food!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 14 out 27 people found this review helpful

    Cost

    • California,
    • Mar 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This product is way too expensive for me, I have three little ones. I give my dogs a good grain-free food and I could buy a 40 lb bag for what he charges for one 16 oz bag, the size of a bag of treats. No thanks, I'm not even going to try it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)

    • Apr 18, 2019

      Dr. Marty Pets

      Hi Trish, Kat from Dr. Marty Pets here. Thank you for your review! I'm really sorry to hear that you feel this way about the pricing of Dr. Marty's Nature's Blend. Our products are priced this way to reflect the high-quality ingredients that we use in our formulas. Nature's Blend, specifically, is made up of only meats like fish, and ranch-raised beef (and more), and then there are other protein sources from fruits and vegetables. This is not your typical grain-free dog food! I wanted to mention that we have multiple sales that run throughout the year. Please give our Customer Service Team a call at (800)-670-1839 and they can fill you in on our current sales. Don't hesitate to reach out to me at Kat@drmartypets.com if you have any other questions or concerns.


  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Great Dane pup in heaven

    • Fort Worth, TX,
    • Mar 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have a European Great Dane, and I want him to have the best. After reviewing your video, I started ordering the dry food and he absolutely loves it, his hair is so soft it’s like a rabbit, his muscles, his bones, everything...is so beautiful. He’s just so healthy, and I thank you for that!

    I wish I could post a picture.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 13 people found this review helpful

    First day

    • Nanaimo, British Columbia, Canada,
    • Mar 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I just got my new dog's food delivered here. I put 1/4 cup of food in her glass bowl, and she immediately ate most of it. We both like the small rounded pieces. The Stella & Chewy food she had in the past either crumbled or had to be pulled apart and was much drier. This food she loves. My doggie is a 7-lb toy poodle.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 14

Write a Review for Dr. Marty Nature's Blend!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review