Dr Marty Nature's Blend Review: Legit or Hype?

By HighYa Research Team
Published on: Jan 15, 2019

Dr. Marty Nature’s Blend is a new dog food whose only ingredients are a variety of freeze-dried meat, poultry, and fish as well as fruits and vegetables.

What makes the food unique is that it uses natural, “raw” ingredients and does not contain any filler grains that you’d find with cheaper dog food. The freeze-dried element is a rare trait, too, as most food is cooked in factories first or is wet food out of a can.

Dr. Marty is a brand named after veterinarian Dr. Martin Goldstein. According to the company’s website, Goldstein is lauded as “one of the world’s leading veterinarians” for more than 40 years. Goldstein is a graduate of Cornell University’s College of Veterinary Medicine and authored a book titled, “The Nature of Animal Healing: The Definitive Holistic Medicine Guide to Caring for Your Dog and Cat”.

In a time when organic, non-GMO food is a big deal for human consumers, dog food that contains freeze-dried whole foods is certainly an appealing option for dog owners. In this review, we’ll analyze Nature’s Blend, talk about what its ingredients do, what it costs, and how it compares to other similar dog foods.

At the end of our review, we’ll include an opinion-based section that covers our thoughts about the general strengths and weaknesses of this product.

Nature’s Blend Feeding Plan

The food’s website has a very specific daily feeding schedule depending on the weight of your dog:

  • 5 lbs: ½ cup
  • 10 lbs.: ¾ cup
  • 20 lbs.: 1 ¼ cup
  • 25 lbs.: 1 ½ cup
  • 30 lbs.: 1 ¾ cups
  • 40 lbs.: 2 cups
  • 50 lbs.: 2 ½ cups
  • 60 lbs.: 2 ¾ cups
  • 70 lbs.: 3 ¼ cups
  • 80 lbs.: 3 ½ cups
  • 90 lbs.: 3 ¾ cups

Dr. Marty Nature’s Blend Ingredients: What They Are and Their Benefits

The defining characteristics of this dog food are its ingredients. As the food’s website says, “Nature’s Blend … is a nutrition-packed formula designed to give your dog a healthier, happier life. We blend a variety of (ingredients) for the balanced, complete nutrition your dog needs.”

Here’s the list of the ingredients contained in the dog food:

  • Turkey
  • Beef
  • Salmon
  • Duck
  • Flax
  • Beef liver
  • Turkey hearts
  • Turkey liver
  • Sweet potato
  • Eggs
  • Pea flour
  • Carrots
  • Apples
  • Blueberries
  • Cranberries
  • Pumpkin seeds
  • Spinach
  • Ginger
  • Salt
  • Mixed tocopherols

As you can see, this is a hefty list of natural ingredients devoid of the common fillers you see like cornmeal.

Now, ingredients play a big role in your dog’s nutrition, but so do the food’s balance of proteins, moisture, and other ingredients. There needs to be a certain balance in order to provide your dog with a beneficial meal.

Here’s a breakdown of these factors:

  • Crude protein: 39%
  • Crude fat: 23%
  • Crude fiber: 2.5%
  • Moisture: 5%
  • Omega-3 fatty acids: 5%

We turned to PetMD’s page on balanced dog foods to get an idea of where these percentages fall in terms of the recommended allowances.

PetMD says that protein amounts should be between 18% and 25% and that the fat content of dog food should be between 10% and 15%.

And, according to pet food company IAMS, the fiber content of your dog food should be between 1.4% and 3.5%.

Also, dog website This Dog’s Life notes that moisture content should be between 6% and 10%.

Based on these numbers, we think that Dr. Marty Nature’s Blend is on the high side for protein and fat, right on the mark for fiber and a little below the normal range for moisture, which is understandable because the food is freeze-dried.

The high fat is a bit of a concern because it can have negative effects on your dog’s health only if you aren’t giving your dog daily exercise.

“The problem comes in when animals are allowed to eat excessive amounts of calories (including table scraps and treats) without proportionate exercise,” the site notes.

Now, on the positive side, proteins contain amino acids that are the building blocks for your dog’s muscles and, since they only produce half what they need on their own, they need to get a good amount from their food.

Fats, PetMD points out, “provide energy, as well as taste or flavor, to foods, and encourage the absorption of certain vitamins.”

Their article goes on to say that fat can help dogs “maintain healthy skin and a shiny, healthy, coat.”

As a quick side note, This Dog’s Life notes that mixed tocopherols are a vitamin E supplement and are far healthier than the alternative, a preservative called “BHA”.

Dr. Marty Nature’s Blend Cost and Return Policy

With so many natural ingredients packed into a bag of Dr. Marty Nature’s Blend, it can, no doubt, be considered a premium dog food. As such, it demands premium prices compared to other dog food that we’ll talk about after we discuss pricing and returns.

Dr. Marty bags contain 16 ounces of food and, at the time of publishing, were available via the following pricing tiers:

  • 1 bag: $29.95
  • 3 bags: $83.95
  • 6 bags: $161.70

According to a 2012 article from the Washinton Post, one pound of dog food has about four cups of food in it, which means one bag can last a 20 lb. dog for three days. Basically, the bigger the dog you have, the fewer the days your food will last, with 90-pound dogs consuming nearly an entire bag in one day.

With this in mind, we think that Nature’s Blend pricing is considerably high, as a 20-pound dog will need about 9.5 bags of food to make it through a 30-day month or around $275 a month for 10 bags.

Open Farm is another company who provides free-dried raw dog food. Their 13.5 oz. bags are $29.99, which ends up being more expensive than Nature’s Blend because each Open Farm bag contains 2.5 fewer ounces of dog food.

As for non-freeze-dried food, Blue Wilderness, a well-known healthy dog food, costs $31.99 for an 11 lb. bag from Petco. While Blue Wilderness can’t match the meats-and-vegetables-only mix of Dr. Marty Nature’s blend, it does avoid grains and features a long list of fruits and vegetables along with deboned chicken as its first ingredient as opposed to fillers.

Now that we’ve given you a comparison of this food’s pricing, we want to do a quick overview of its return policy. You have 90 days to return your food if you don’t feel it’s a good fit. The product’s website goes as far as to say they’ll refund 100% of your purchase price “if you don't’ see noticeable improvements in your dog’s health and happiness.”

The food ships to you for free but you’ll have to pay return shipping.

The Final Word: Our Overall Thoughts About Dr. Marty Nature’s Blend

This pet food is a very interesting option if, for no other reason than the fact that you’re getting straight-up meats and vegetables along with a vitamin E supplement.

If you’re a dog owner who has a desire to give your dog raw food, then Dr. Marty Nature’s Blend is a good match for you. The second part of this, though, is whether or not you have the financial means to pay for the food. The cost of Nature’s Blend may be prohibitive, as monthly supplies of the food would be:

  • $275 for a 20-lb. dog
  • $407 for a 30-lb. dog
  • $407 for a 40-lb. dog
  • $515 for a 50-lb dog

The bigger the dog, the more expensive the endeavor when it comes to this food. However, if you’re willing to pay for Nature’s Blend, then your desire to provide your dog with raw, healthy food will most likely be fulfilled.

Keep in mind, though, that the fat content in this food is above the recommended amount, which means you’ll need to be diligent with providing your dog consistent exercise every day to ensure he or she doesn’t gain weight.

Also, keep in mind that you need to transition your dog slowly from his or her current food to this food if you choose to buy it. Dogs’ digestive system can be sensitive and a sudden change from one food to a new one may cause some digestive issues.

» Recommended Reading: Dog Supplements 101: A Detailed Beginner’s Guide


Read 575 Dr. Marty Nature's Blend Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 4.6
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 421 4 star: 113 3 star: 15 2 star: 9 1 star:  17
Bottom Line: 94% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 575
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Your dog will die waiting

    • Toms River, NJ,
    • Dec 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Though my dog enjoyed Dr. Marty's, they have terrible customer service and delivery takes so long - your dog might die waiting for it to arrive. My first order was ok - a bit of a wait. My second order never came, they reordered it, half of it came and I am still waiting for the other half to arrive. My order was placed on November 3 and I am still waiting for the second half of my order. I am sure Dr. Marty already got his money (and yes it is costly) but my doggies are still waiting for their treats. Also, the second order of dog food did not seem similar to the first and my dog does not like it as much. I will not be ordering from Dr. Marty once the rest of my order arrives.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Dec 11, 2019

      Company Response from Dr. Marty Pets

      Hi Michele. My name is Kat and I am with Dr. Marty Pets. I am sorry to read your review of our customer service. Dr. Marty Pets prides itself on our exemplary customer service, however, in your case, we dropped the ball. As a courtesy for your trouble, I would like to offer a full refund on your order. Please email me at kat@drmartypets.com so that I may assist you right away. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate all our feedback and will look at this as a learning opportunity. I wish you a wonderful day and I look forward to hearing from you.


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    My dog is in heaven!

    • Georgia,
    • Dec 3, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I decided to try Dr. Marty's to see if it made a difference in my dog's vitality. It has! She is 10 years old and acts like she's a lot younger. I agree that it is expensive, however, I mix her old dog food with it so I am able to stretch it out. A 16 oz bag will last a week as opposed to 3 days. I feed her 1 full cup in the am and 1 full cup in the pm. She cannot wait to eat her food. She will often keep licking her bowl in hopes she might have missed something. She NEVER did that with her old dog food. Overall, I would like to find a more cost-effective freeze-dried food but have not found one that is as clean and simple as Dr. Marty's. Perhaps mixing with other dog food and not giving just Dr. Marty's might help with the cost for others. For my pooch, right now, I will keep doing what I am doing.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    TOOOOO expensive

    • Sneedville, TN,
    • Nov 28, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Yes, my fur baby, Abby, really loves your food. I have trouble keeping weight on her. I found Taste of Wild that she will eat ok, she always eats with your food. But I am a senior and I'm on a fixed budget. When I got my first shipment I was horrified that this would not feed my Abby for a month. So I supplemented her feeding with half and half and that was great. But then I started getting emails from you that were very condescending since I didn't reorder your food.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Dec 2, 2019

      Company Response from Dr. Marty Pets

      Hello Barbara. I am Kat with Dr. Marty Pets. While I am glad to read your fur baby loved the taste of Nature’s Blend, I am sorry to read about your experience. We have many pet owners who use Nature’s Blend as a topper in conjunction with their dog’s current diet and find that to be a great solution. I would like to apologize for the emails you have received. Please email me at kat@drmartypets.com if you would like to be removed from our mailing list. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We sincerely appreciate your feedback. I wish you a wonderful day.


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Happy days!

    • Grayslake, IL,
    • Nov 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    We had been feeding our dog LOUIE a preservative-free supplement...then altering different meats each week. He first loved it, then began to turn his nose up? We read about Dr. Marty’s and decided to give it a try. We ordered 3 bags without commitment. Our dog has chowed each and every bowl down to licking the bowl! His coat looks healthier, his arthritis (although still there) is better! He has a lot more energy, and seems happy! We are now on regular shipments! This is an awesome food, so easy to prepare!

    And we aren’t cooking for him anymore!

    Thanks Dr. Marty.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Dogs can’t wait for it

    • Tallahassee, FL,
    • Nov 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Literally our dogs can't wait the three minutes you are supposed to let it sit before feeding. They do a dance and hop around. Each of them love it and I feel good knowing they are not eating that slop the major brands push. Yes it is expensive but I feel it’s worth it! I had no idea what was allowed to go into standard dog food before I listened to Dr. Marty, I was stunned. FDA should be ashamed.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    I took a chance and all we got was success! Archibald loves all of Dr. Marty’s culinary creations!

    • Annapolis, MD,
    • Nov 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    We live in Annapolis, Maryland about 5 miles from the United States Naval Academy. A while ago, we lived inside the "Yard" and that’s why we named our new Cairn Terrier, Moorgreen’s Archibald of Bancroft by the Severn. A pretty fancy name for a devilish little dog.

    We believe that our pets are members of our family and should be treated (and fed) lovingly, healthily, carefully. Therefore, when I read about and researched Dr. Marty’s dog food and treats I decided to take a chance and buy his food.

    I followed the instructions for introducing the food to Archie. Not only did it work well but it worked fast. It only took a week and a half for Archie to live his "meal" food and his treats.

    I am very happy that I took the chance and spent the money to help Archibald, my little boy, live a long and healthy. The only thing that would make me happier is if Dr. Marty’s healthy culinary delights would make my little cairn devil behave a little better!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • His itching has stopped!

    • California,
    • Nov 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My sheltie, DJ, has always had sensitive skin. I had found a kibble that didn't make him itch and had fed it to DJ most of his life. Then, the dog food manufacturer decided to discontinue that particular item. I was in a panic, and DJ was back to non-stop scratching. He was miserable! And so was I. I tried him on a raw food diet, home-cooked diet, limited ingredient diet, etc. Nothing worked. And then I tried Dr. Marty Nature's Blend. I sprinkle a couple of tablespoons of pre-soaked Nature's Blend on his lamb and rice kibble (which did not stop the itching on its own) and within a couple of days he was more chipper and seemed happier, but still itching. I kept him on it and in about a month I suddenly noticed - he wasn't itching - at all! No more hair clumps all over the house and he was resting so much more comfortably. I was amazed and so thankful! Three cheers for Nature's Blend!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Love this product

    • Hampton, VA,
    • Nov 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My pups love this product, I was skeptical but they made a believer out of me. I slowly introduced it to their diet and they can’t get enough of it. I have not made this their entire diet yet but I will eventually.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Older dog with serious health issues

    • Idaho,
    • Nov 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Even though my dog, Annie, is suffering from debilitating health issues (cancer) and recently, blindness and inability to smell, I feel she is doing so much better since I started feeding her Dr. Marty Nature's Blend. Before starting her on the Dr. Marty food, she wouldn't eat and lost an extreme amount of weight. She now eats readily and has gained weight. Some people might think it's not fair to keep Annie alive, but she is so happy. She's on tramadol for her pain and since I don't see evidence of her suffering (which she was before I started her on the Dr. Marty food), I think she would want to stick around a while longer. Her vet had given up on her when she was losing so much weight. She's now even started to put on muscle weight.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Good but too expensive

    • Miami, FL,
    • Nov 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have two small dogs. The food is great if you can afford it. The dogs love the food and look forward to it every evening. I go through a bag every three days. Too expensive for dog food.

    I would recommend this if you can afford it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Great

    • New York,
    • Nov 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I first ordered this product because one of my dogs showed symptoms due to poor eating habits. Both of my dogs love it and my puppy won't eat anything else. I did my research prior to my purchase and all seems to have been running accordingly. Glad I found out about Dr. Marty's. I appreciate having the comfort of knowing that my puppy is eating the best food possible.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 575

Write a Review for Dr. Marty Nature's Blend!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review