Dr Marty Nature's Blend Review: Legit or Hype?

By HighYa Research Team
Published on: Jan 15, 2019

Dr. Marty Nature’s Blend is a new dog food whose only ingredients are a variety of freeze-dried meat, poultry and fish as well as fruits and vegetables.

What makes the food unique is that it uses natural, “raw” ingredients and does not contain any filler grains that you’d find with cheaper dog food. The freeze-dried element is a rare trait, too, as most food is cooked in factories first or is wet food out of a can.

Dr. Marty is a brand named after veterinarian Dr. Martin Goldstein. According to the company’s website, Goldstein is lauded as “one of the world’s leading veterinarians” for more than 40 years. Goldstein is a graduate of Cornell University’s College of Veterinary Medicine and authored a book titled, “The Nature of Animal Healing: The Definitive Holistic Medicine Guide to Caring for Your Dog and Cat”.

In a time when organic, non-GMO food is a big deal for human consumers, a dog food that contains freeze-dried whole foods is certainly an appealing option for dog owners. In this review, we’ll analyze Nature’s Blend, talk about what its ingredients do, what it costs, and how it compares to other similar dog foods.

At the end of our review, we’ll include an opinion-based section that covers our thoughts about the general strengths and weaknesses of this product.

Nature’s Blend Feeding Plan

The food’s website has a very specific daily feeding schedule depending on the weight of your dog:

  • 5 lbs: ½ cup
  • 10 lbs.: ¾ cup
  • 20 lbs.: 1 ¼ cup
  • 25 lbs.: 1 ½ cup
  • 30 lbs.: 1 ¾ cups
  • 40 lbs.: 2 cups
  • 50 lbs.: 2 ½ cups
  • 60 lbs.: 2 ¾ cups
  • 70 lbs.: 3 ¼ cups
  • 80 lbs.: 3 ½ cups
  • 90 lbs.: 3 ¾ cups

Dr. Marty Nature’s Blend Ingredients: What They Are and Their Benefits

The defining characteristics of this dog food are its ingredients. As the food’s website says, “Nature’s Blend … is a nutrition-packed formula designed to give your dog a healthier, happier life. We blend a variety of (ingredients) for the balanced, complete nutrition your dog needs.”

Here’s the list of the ingredients contained in the dog food:

  • Turkey
  • Beef
  • Salmon
  • Duck
  • Flax
  • Beef liver
  • Turkey hearts
  • Turkey liver
  • Sweet potato
  • Eggs
  • Pea flour
  • Carrots
  • Apples
  • Blueberries
  • Cranberries
  • Pumpkin seeds
  • Spinach
  • Ginger
  • Salt
  • Mixed tocopherols

As you can see, this is a hefty list of natural ingredients devoid of the common fillers you see like cornmeal.

Now, ingredients play a big role in your dog’s nutrition, but so do the food’s balance of proteins, moisture and other ingredients. There needs to be a certain balance in order to provide your dog with a beneficial meal.

Here’s a breakdown of these factors:

  • Crude protein: 39%
  • Crude fat: 23%
  • Crude fiber: 2.5%
  • Moisture: 5%
  • Omega-3 fatty acids: 5%

We turned to PetMD’s page on balanced dog foods to get an idea of where these percentages fall in terms of the recommended allowances.

PetMD says that protein amounts should be between 18% and 25% and that the fat content of dog food should be between 10% and 15%.

And, according to pet food company IAMS, the fiber content of your dog food should be between 1.4% and 3.5%.

Also, dog website This Dog’s Life notes that moisture content should be between 6% and 10%.

Based on these numbers, we think that Dr. Marty Nature’s Blend is on the high side for protein and fat, right on the mark for fiber and a little below the normal range for moisture, which is understandable because the food is freeze dried.

The high fat is a bit of a concern because it can have negative effects on your dog’s health only if you aren’t giving your dog daily exercise.

“The problem comes in when animals are allowed to eat excessive amounts of calories (including table scraps and treats) without proportionate exercise,” the site notes.

Now, on the positive side, proteins contain amino acids that are the building blocks for your dog’s muscles and, since they only produce half what they need on their own, they need to get a good amount from their food.

Fats, PetMD points out, “provide energy, as well as taste or flavor, to foods, and encourage the absorption of certain vitamins.”

Their article goes on to say that fat can help dogs “maintain healthy skin and a shiny, healthy, coat.”

As a quick side note, This Dog’s Life notes that mixed tocopherols are a vitamin E supplement and are far healthier than the alternative, a preservative called “BHA”.

Dr. Marty Nature’s Blend Cost and Return Policy

With so many natural ingredients packed into a bag of Dr. Marty Nature’s Blend, it can, no doubt, be considered a premium dog food. As such, it demands premium prices compared to other dog food that we’ll talk about after we discuss pricing and returns.

Dr. Marty bags contain 16 ounces of food and, at the time of publishing, were available via the following pricing tiers:

  • 1 bag: $29.95
  • 3 bags: $83.95
  • 6 bags: $161.70

According to a 2012 article from the Washinton Post, one pound of dog food has about four cups of food in it, which means one bag can last a 20 lb. dog for three days. Basically, the bigger the dog you have, the fewer the days your food will last, with 90-pound dogs consuming nearly an entire bag in one day.

With this in mind, we think that Nature’s Blend pricing is considerably high, as a 20-pound dog will need about 9.5 bags of food to make it through a 30-day month or around $275 a month for 10 bags.

Open Farm is another company who provides free-dried raw dog food. Their 13.5 oz. bags are $29.99, which ends up being more expensive than Nature’s Blend because each Open Farm bag contains 2.5 fewer ounces of dog food.

As for non-freeze-dried food, Blue Wilderness, a well-known healthy dog food, costs $31.99 for an 11 lb. bag from Petco. While Blue Wilderness can’t match the meats-and-vegetables-only mix of Dr. Marty Nature’s blend, it does avoid grains and features a long list of fruits and vegetables along with deboned chicken as its first ingredient as opposed to fillers.

Now that we’ve given you a comparison of this food’s pricing, we want to do a quick overview of its return policy. You have 90 days to return your food if you don’t feel it’s a good fit. The product’s website goes as far as to say they’ll refund 100% of your purchase price “if you don't’ see noticeable improvements in your dog’s health and happiness.”

The food ships to you for free but you’ll have to pay return shipping.

The Final Word: Our Overall Thoughts About Dr. Marty Nature’s Blend

This pet food is a very interesting option if, for no other reason than the fact that you’re getting straight-up meats and vegetables along with a vitamin E supplement.

If you’re a dog owner who has a desire to give your dog raw food, then Dr. Marty Nature’s Blend is a good match for you. The second part of this, though, is whether or not you have the financial means to pay for the food. The cost of Nature’s Blend may be prohibitive, as monthly supplies of the food would be:

  • $275 for a 20-lb. dog
  • $407 for a 30-lb. dog
  • $407 for a 40-lb. dog
  • $515 for a 50-lb dog

The bigger the dog, the more expensive the endeavor when it comes to this food. However, if you’re willing to pay for Nature’s Blend, then your desire to provide your dog with raw, healthy food will most likely be fulfilled.

Keep in mind, though, that the fat content in this food is above the recommended amount, which means you’ll need to be diligent with providing your dog consistent exercise every day to ensure he or she doesn’t gain weight.

Also, keep in mind that you need to transition your dog slowly from his or her current food to this food if you choose to buy it. Dogs’ digestive system can be sensitive and a sudden change from one food to a new one may cause some digestive issues.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 75 Dr. Marty Nature's Blend Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 4.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 37 4 star: 22 3 star: 4 2 star: 4 1 star:  8
Bottom Line: 80% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 75
Sort reviews by:

  • Super food!

    • Southbury, CT,
    • Jun 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My 14-year-old terrier mix, Skippy, was slipping into a sad state which was attributed to old age. He was listless, had dry scaly skin in spots that resulted in hair loss, and oozing growths over his body.

    After trying numerous creams, special shampoos, and diet changes to no avail, I came across an advertisement about Dr. Marty and his freeze-dried raw food. I gave it a try, and Skippy is a new dog!

    Skippy loved the food at first bite! He stands by the counter when it is time to eat, and happily twirls around when I am bringing his dish to his feeding area! Now about 2 months of using the food, Skippy happily has no skin problems. His hair has grown back, the growths are gone, and he now has more energy! He participated in a mile walk just recently for the benefit of a local shelter! Many of the dog owners there were amazed when they heard my little guy was 14; they were sure he was a puppy! I attribute this all to Dr. Marty's Food!

    Thank you!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Symon says "yummmmmmmmm!"

    • Arizona,
    • Jun 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My friend Symon took right to it. I use it as treats and a topper to make it last longer. Now here's the catch, I also have two cats, my oldest, Lexus, also likes it. So my question is, is it good or bad for cats? She gets about one nugget crushed up with her food. Boy has this 18-year-old perked up.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Very good but pricey

    • New York,
    • Jun 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have a Golden Lab and he weighs around 117lbs, he loves this dog food and licks the bowl so clean that I don't need to clean it, HA HA! The only thing that prevents me from feeding this as his strict meal is the price, one 16oz bag would last me two days the most, so I mix it with his other dog food so it would last longer.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Still not sure

    • Independence, MO,
    • Jun 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I think I see a little improvement in my girl, but nothing like what was promoted in the video. I will order 3 more bags to give the product a fair chance.

    I need better results before making a recommendation.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jun 14, 2019

      Company Response from Dr. Marty Pets

      Hi Jane. Kat from Dr. Marty Pets here. I want to thank you for taking the time to review us. Dr. Marty Pets works hard to create delicious and nutritious formulas using only high-quality ingredients to benefit your dog. Many of our most satisfied customers report seeing optimal results in their pups following three months of a consistent daily feeding regimen. We always advise our customers to consult their pet’s veterinarian prior to introducing Nature’s Blend, as results may vary. Please feel free to update this review in the future. I would love to know more about your dog’s journey to a healthier lifestyle. If you have any questions or concerns, feel free to email me at kat@drmartypets.com. I hope you and your dog have a wonderful day.


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Still evaluating

    • Jun 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been through 1 and 1/2 bags of the dog food and mixing with previously used dog food. I know he loves the food the way it is now. I will be feeding him just your food soon. I have questions about the way I feed him at that point. I am so satisfied as of today and will reorder.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    A meal is not just a meal

    • Virginia,
    • Jun 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    We were skeptical that our gold lab "Sam" would take to Dr. Marty's food. Sam is picky about his dog food and has terrible allergies. When we prepared it for his first dinner about 1/2 and 1/2 with his usual food. He gobbled it right up. We were shocked!

    Sam loves Dr. Marty's food and his allergies seem to do great with it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    My dog loves Nature’s Blend.

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Jun 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My dog, a 19-pound Terrier mix, has loved her new food from the start. She always wants more. I feed her a little over a cup per day and she is thriving on it. My 7-year-old pooch has always been energetic and lively, but now I’ve noticed that she sleeps better, scratches less (she has environmental allergies), and has more regular bowel movements. The only negative change is a tendency to have very smelly faults. This began soon after she started eating Nature’s Blend.

    Overall, a great product, however...

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Sophie has only been eating all the new blend for about a week. I slowly introduced the new food.

    • Twin Falls, ID,
    • Jun 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Sophie is a 26-pound Cavachon. She gets allergy shots once a month. She bites at her feet and sometimes scratches her ears. She seems to be biting at her feet a bit less than she has been. I have high hopes that the new food and liver treats will eventually completely take the place of the monthly allergy shots. She loves the food and also the treats.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jun 13, 2019

      Company Response from Dr. Marty Pets

      Hello Mary. I am Kat with Dr. Marty Pets. Thank you for taking the time to review our Nature’s Blend. Nature’s Blend is formulated using high-quality ingredients to increase the absorption of as many nutrients and minerals as possible while still tasting delicious. Many of our most satisfied pups see optimal results following a consistent daily feeding regimen over three months. We always advise our customers to consult their pet’s veterinarian prior to introducing Nature’s Blend into their dog’s daily feeding regimen, as the veterinarian will take a complete medical history into account when assessing which diet is best. I would love an update on how your dog is doing in the future. Please do not hesitate to email any questions or concerns to kat@drmartypets.com. I would be happy to help. I wish you and Sophie a wonderful day.


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Amazing food

    • Haverhill, MA,
    • Jun 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was searching for new food for my 10-year-old Jack Russel. She really didn't like any food I gave her and she was starting to lose spunk.

    Stumbled across Dr. Marty and his brand. I bought three bags to try. Wow, Lilly loves the stuff. Can't wait to eat, always wants more and has her energy back. It's been a great feeling to really be able to take care of my pet. Amazing product.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Customer service has been great!

    • Washington,
    • Jun 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    "Jodi" loved her new food right away. She didn't mind the old food so much during the change over because the new food was there too. Jodi should weigh 50 lbs, not the 59 she started out at. Don't have a current weight but you can see her becoming more fit. She is much calmer and yet really has the energy when she needs it. Jodi is a 6-year-old coonhound mix that we rescued when she was about 8 months old. She didn't have any digestive problems either!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jun 13, 2019

      Company Response from Dr. Marty Pets

      Hello Mary. I am happy to read that Jodi has experienced such great benefits since beginning Nature’s Blend, such as increased fitness and energy levels. We always advise our customers to gradually switch their pet from their previous diet to Nature’s Blend, in order to reduce digestive problems and address taste preferences. Thank you for taking the time to review Dr. Marty Pets. We appreciate your feedback and the chance to hear your story. If you ever have any more comments or questions about our other products, feel free to email me at kat@drmartypets.com. I wish you and Jodi a fantastic day.


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Coats improved

    • Colorado Springs, CO,
    • Jun 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My three rescue dogs all get top dressing with Dr. Marty's dry food and they love it. I like the improvement in their coats and energy. My only problem is cost, and being on a limited income, I'm afraid I won't be able to splurge again, much as I would like to.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jun 13, 2019

      Company Response from Dr. Marty Pets

      Hello Helen. My name is Kat and I am with Dr. Marty Pets. I am happy to read that your rescue dogs love our Nature’s Blend and are experiencing great improvements. Many of our satisfied customers use Nature’s Blend as a topper in conjunction with their dog’s established daily feeding regimen. Your dogs will still experience nutritional benefits with this reduced serving size. Our Customer Service Agents via phone, chat, or email are always happy to find any specials that are available to you. We also always let our customers know of any sales first through our newsletters, so be sure to check those for deals and pet care tips. Thank you for taking the time to review Dr. Marty Pets. We appreciate your feedback. Please feel free to email me at kat@drmartypets.com if you have any further comments or concerns. I wish you and your pups a great day.


Showing 1-11 of 75

Write a Review for Dr. Marty Nature's Blend!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review