Jump To:
Our Editorial Review
Customer Reviews

Dr. Marty Nature’s Blend

  This company has claimed this profile, is getting alerted on any new customer reviews entering this page, and may engage in dialogue with its customers to address their matters.

Companies cannot pay money or provide goods in order to remove or alter customer reviews.
Dr. Marty Nature’s Blend

Overall Rating

4.5

665 Customer Reviews

Summary

Dr. Marty Nature’s Blend is a brand of dog food in which all ingredients are raw, freeze-dried, and packed with fats and proteins that can be beneficial to your dog. The ingredients are good but the price is high.

Write a Review

Dr. Marty Nature’s Blend Review: A Detailed Look

By HighYa Editorial Team

Updated on: Sep 10, 2020

Dr. Marty Nature’s Blend is a new dog food whose only ingredients are a variety of freeze-dried meat, poultry, and fish as well as fruits and vegetables.

What makes the food unique is that it uses natural, “raw” ingredients and does not contain any filler grains that you’d find with cheaper dog food.

The freeze-dried element is a rare trait, too, as most food is cooked in factories first or is wet food out of a can.

In a time when organic, non-GMO food is a big deal for human consumers, dog food that contains freeze-dried whole foods is certainly an appealing option for dog owners.

In this review, we take a detailed look at Nature’s Blend to help you decide if it is a good option for your dog.

Analysis of Ingredients and Their Benefits

Here’s the list of the ingredients contained in the dog food:

  • Turkey
  • Beef
  • Salmon
  • Duck
  • Flax
  • Beef liver
  • Turkey hearts
  • Turkey liver
  • Sweet potato
  • Eggs
  • Pea flour
  • Carrots
  • Apples
  • Blueberries
  • Cranberries
  • Pumpkin seeds
  • Spinach
  • Ginger
  • Salt
  • Mixed tocopherols

Note, that this list of natural ingredients is devoid of common fillers like cornmeal.

In addition to ingredients, the food’s balance of proteins, moisture, and other factors play an important role in order to provide your dog with a beneficial meal.

Here’s a breakdown of these factors:

  • Crude protein: 37%
  • Crude fat: 27%
  • Crude fiber: 4%
  • Moisture: 6%
  • Omega-3 fatty acids: 2.5%

Protein amounts should be between 18% and 25% and the fat content of dog food should be between 10% and 15%.

The fiber content of your dog food should be between 1.4% and 3.5% and the moisture content should be between 6% and 10%.

Based on these numbers, Dr. Marty Nature’s Blend is on the high side for protein and fat, right on the mark for fiber, and a little below the normal range for moisture, which is understandable because the food is freeze-dried.

The high fat is a bit of a concern because it can have negative effects on your dog’s health, but only if you aren’t giving your dog daily exercise.

Now, on the positive side, proteins contain amino acids that are the building blocks for your dog’s muscles and, since they only produce half what they need on their own, they need to get a good amount from their food.

Fats, PetMD points out, “provide energy, as well as taste or flavor, to foods, and encourage the absorption of certain vitamins,” and can help dogs “maintain healthy skin and a shiny, healthy, coat.”

The company has a very specific daily feeding schedule depending on the weight of your dog:

  • 5 lbs: ½ cup
  • 10 lbs.: ¾ cup
  • 20 lbs.: 1 ¼ cup
  • 25 lbs.: 1 ½ cup
  • 30 lbs.: 1 ¾ cups
  • 40 lbs.: 2 cups
  • 50 lbs.: 2 ½ cups
  • 60 lbs.: 2 ¾ cups
  • 70 lbs.: 3 ¼ cups
  • 80 lbs.: 3 ½ cups
  • 90 lbs.: 3 ¾ cups

Pricing and Return Policy

Dr. Marty bags contain 16 ounces of food and are available via the following pricing tiers:

  • 1 bag: $59.95
  • 3 bags: $170.85
  • 6 bags: $323.70

One pound of dog food has about four cups of food in it, which means one bag can last a 20 lb. dog for three days.

The bigger the dog you have, the fewer the days your food will last, with 90-pound dogs consuming nearly an entire bag in one day.

With this in mind, we think that Nature’s Blend pricing is considerably high, as a 20-pound dog will need about 10 bags of food to make it through a month.

You have 90 days to return your food if you don’t feel it’s a good fit. The company promises to refund 100% of your purchase price “if you don't’ see noticeable improvements in your dog’s health and happiness.”

The Bottom Line

This pet food is a very interesting option – you’re getting straight-up meats and vegetables along with additional vitamins.

If you’re a dog owner who has a desire to give your dog raw food, then Dr. Marty Nature’s Blend is a good match for you.

The second part of this, though, is whether or not you have the financial means to pay for the food.

The bigger the dog, the more expensive the endeavor when it comes to this food. However, if you’re willing to pay for Nature’s Blend, then your desire to provide your dog with raw, healthy food will most likely be fulfilled.

Keep in mind, though, that the fat content in this food is above the recommended amount, which means you’ll need to be diligent with providing your dog consistent exercise every day to ensure he or she doesn’t gain weight.

Also, keep in mind that you need to transition your dog slowly from his or her current food to this food if you choose to buy it. Dogs’ digestive system can be sensitive and a sudden change from one food to a new one may cause some digestive issues.

Customer Reviews

4.5 Stars out of 665 Reviews
5 Star:69% 4 Star:20% 3 Star:2% 2 Star:2% 1 Star:4%
91% Recommend This Product
Start your review of Dr. Marty Nature’s Blend:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Jun 28, 2022

$60 per pound — yes you are reading that correctly

By Paul P. , Memphis, TN

We have two doggies that average 100 lbs each. So following guidelines one would need a bag every two days the other a bag a day. That is around $90 per day. Frankly, this is just ridiculous and I know it's a free country and I don't have to buy it if I don't want to buy...

At the very least economies of scale would make it a no-brainer to package this food in 50 lbs bags to lower the cost or just come right and say if you're dog weighs more than 5 lbs this is not an option. $60 per pound — you have got to be kidding me!

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Great quality

Price

Why not market it in much larger bags?

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 21, 2022

It’s a miracle

By Libby C., Ontario, Canada, Verified Reviewer

My boxer is 9 years old and has suffered with a belly issue since she was a puppy. Every time she eats she was having a hard time digesting and the next day she would have diarrhea and a gurgling stomach, which caused her pain no matter what I fed her. Until I tried Dr. Marty's Nature Blend freeze-dried food. She has had the best belly since. It truly is a miracle. Thank you Dr. M.

Length of Use: 1–2 years

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Easy to feed

Easy to digest

My dogs love the taste

Can’t buy it locally

Bigger bags would be nice

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 23, 2022

Good and bad

By Daniel L., Smithton, IL, Verified Reviewer

I'm torn between giving more stars or less stars.

First, my two German Shepherds absolutely love the food. Secondly, I feel that I'm only teasing them with it, because I can't afford to give them more. Even as a topper to other high-quality food. With two Shepherds, you could only imagine how much they eat, and how much it costs to maintain a diet with Dr. Marty food. Too bad, because they love the food.

Also, sales rep was somewhat rude with insinuating I must not love my dogs enough if I'm not buying Dr. Marty's food. This happened when I was hesitant to buy at first, due to the extremely high cost.

They should cut the margins to sell more food. It's a shame to create something that could be so beneficial for your best friend and family member, but you can't afford it. Not everyone is Oprah Winfrey. Just a shame.

Length of Use: 1–2 years

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

My dogs love the food and treats

The absolute high cost of food and treats, even as a topper, it's prohibitive to continue usage

Company Response from Dr. Marty Pets

Jan 31, 2022

Hello Daniel. My name is Kat, I am with Dr. Marty Pets. I would like to apologize on behalf of Dr. Marty Pets for your customer service experience. We hold our agents to high standards and we regret that you did not receive the service you deserve. We also strive to keep our formulas as affordable as possible while using only the highest quality of ingredients to ensure the best food for your pet. When price reductions are possible, we are happy to pass those savings along to our customers. We recommend signing up for our email newsletters and/or text club. You will be instantly notified of offers and discounts. I have escalated your review to our Customer Relations Team, so that an agent may provide you with personalized care. If you have any questions or concerns that you would like to discuss, please do not hesitate to email me at kat@drmartypets.com. I would be happy to assist you.

Helpful Review? 15 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 5, 2021

Dancing duo

By Darlene J., Concord, CA, Verified Reviewer

I had 2 mini dachshunds. When they started eating Dr. Marty's they were apprehensive. It only took them 2 days to adjust after using it as a treat first. I only had to say Dr. Marty's and they danced. If I ran out unexpectedly they refused to eat dog food. When the delivery came they get super excited. I get new friends next week and I'm ordering it again. Yes. it's huge in comparison but my fur babies deserve the same quality of food as we do. Mine is not just a dog.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

My dogs raved

It's not messy

It can be used as a training treat or snack

Cost

Slow delivery

Helpful Review? 10 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 3, 2021

Be mindful if you have a larger dog

By Kathy C., Seattle, WA, Verified Reviewer

My sister recommended Dr. Marty's dog food. It was hard to determine on the site how long a bag of food would last. I impulsively ordered 3 bags and was quickly upsold to 12 bags with an enticing one-time savings offer. The bill was over $500.

After the purchase, I did some more digging and discovered that for my 70 lb shepherd, ONE BAG would last ONE DAY. That translates to about $42.00 per day/$21.00 per meal! I do love my dog, but that is extreme.

I tried to cancel the order within 5 minutes but the big box still arrived. I was able to return the food, but it cost me $57.00 in shipping.

I'm sure it's fantastic food - just be aware that it will cost over $1200 per month to feed a dog over 60 pounds!

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Dog's delight of the food

Raw and high quality

The idea of it

Cost

Company Response from Dr. Marty Pets

Oct 5, 2021

Hello Kathy. My name is Kat, I am with Dr. Marty Pets. I apologize for any inconvenience or confusion. A bag of Nature's Blend is 16 oz. There are approximately 7.5 cups of food in each bag. For a dog weighing 70 lbs, we recommend feeding them 3.5 cups per day. We do understand that with larger breeds they will need more food. In this case, we recommend using Nature's Blend as a topper to their normal food. This was they still benefit from our formula. If you ever have any questions in the future, my email is Kat@drmartypets.com. I hope you and your pup have a great day.

Helpful Review? 18 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 15, 2021

How is this affordable?

By Tabitha H. , Clarksville, TN

30 bucks for 16 oz? This is ridiculously high! They should be ashamed of themselves! I have a small dog, but he would finish one bag in 2 days. I can’t imagine if I had a big dog. This company claims it cuts out the middle man to keep the price down, yet is way more expensive than just about every dog food on the market. Even as a topper, it’s too much!

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

My dog liked it

Too expensive

16oz is not enough

Company Response from Dr. Marty Pets

Sep 16, 2021

Hello Tabitha. My name is Kat, I am with Dr. Marty Pets. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We strive to keep our formulas as affordable as possible while using only the highest quality of all-natural ingredients to ensure the best food for your pet. When price reductions are possible, we are happy to pass those savings along to our customers. A great way to receive the lowest available price is to start a recurring order for Nature’s Blend or by signing up for our email newsletters and/or text club. You will be instantly notified of offers and discounts. If this is something that interests you or if you have any questions, my email is Kat@drmartypets.com. Have a great day.

Helpful Review? 10 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 27, 2021

Dog lovers beware

By Jan A., Walla Walla, WA, Verified Reviewer

Consumer beware, be careful when you sign up to try this dog food. You will get on the hook for $80+ a month for 3lbs of food (your dog's food will become much more expensive than yours per pound, if you really love your pet, just buy them steak at $7 a pound or blueberries at $4 etc.) Companies that truly believe in their products do not need to force their clients to buy, their clients will do it willingly.

I gave them a 3 star because the dog liked the food. Of course he likes turkey, beef, salmon, sweet potatoes, egg, peas, etc., same food we eat, though our real food is much cheaper.

Suggestion, if you care about pets, for real, make food that real people (not just Beverly Hill people) can and should responsibly afford. Then those people will happily buy that food every month on their own, without needing to be coerced.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Dog liked it

Re-occurring charges on my credit card

Extremely expensive

Company Response from Dr. Marty Pets

Sep 1, 2021

Hello Jan. My name is Kat, I am with Dr. Marty Pets. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We strive to keep our formulas as affordable as possible while using only the highest quality of all-natural ingredients to ensure the best food for your pet. When price reductions are possible, we are happy to pass those savings along to our customers. A great way to receive the lowest available price is to start a recurring order for Nature’s Blend or by signing up for our email newsletters and/or text club. You will be instantly notified of offers and discounts. If this is something that interests you or if you have any questions, my email is Kat@drmartypets.com. Have a great day.

Helpful Review? 9 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 1, 2021

Too expensive

By Steve S., Tennessee, Verified Reviewer

Given to us by a friend whose dog hated it, we tried it. Sorry but I cannot justify a house payment per month in dog food. I love my pets but there is no reason this food needs to be so cost-prohibitive. Would love to use it but with 2 big dogs I can’t do $1000+ a month for dog food. My family doesn’t spend that on human food.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Dog liked it

Very expensive

Small packages

Smells strange

Company Response from Dr. Marty Pets

Jul 2, 2021

Hello Steve. My name is Kat, I am with Dr. Marty Pets. We appreciate your feedback. We strive to keep our formulas as affordable as possible, while maintaining very high standards of quality all-natural ingredients. We do understand that larger breed animals will need more food. In this case, we recommend adding Nature’s Blend as a topper to their regular food. This way your pup will still receive the great health benefits of Nature’s Blend. A great way to receive the lowest available price is to start a recurring order for Nature’s Blend or by signing up for our email newsletters. You will be instantly notified of offers and discounts. If this is something that interests you or if you have any questions, my email is Kat@drmartypets.com. Have a great day.

Helpful Review? 7 People Have Voted

Posted on May 17, 2021

Do not buy it, a trick

By Juie H., Waukesha, WI, Verified Reviewer

I was sent a whole box, almost $300.00 I never ordered, beware of fraudulent advertising. My German Shepherd and Shih Tzu won’t touch it. The money-back guarantees are a joke, it costs so much to send back, it’s not worth it. Extremely expensive to return and they tried to offer me 40% off instead of sending it back. Very poor advertising and do not buy. You can buy raw foods at many places, even start at the store, but the mixing with purified water and waiting is a joke, on top of the price. My suggestion is don’t buy, your dog will hate it. Dr. Marty says you can use it as a topper over food but there are no directions on making different amounts. All I can say is I feel I was lied to. And deliberately fraudulent advertising, no cheap way to return, you’ll be stuck with food your dog won’t eat. I tried for weeks to mix with food or as a topper as he says, gradually introduce the dry mix.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

All of it

Very expensive

Fraudulent guarantee

Company Response from Dr. Marty Pets

May 21, 2021

Hello Jule. My name is Kat, I am with Dr. Marty Pets. I am very sorry to hear about your experience. While many of our customers' pets enjoy our formula, we do understand that not every pet will love it. For this reason, we stand by our 90-day money-back guarantee. As it is industry standard, we do ask that you return the products if requesting a full refund, as to ensure that you gave the product a fair trial. As an extra convenience, we offer a 40% refund to customers who do not decide to send back the product containers. I am sorry for the confusion. I would like to escalate your review to our Customer Relations Team so that an agent may provide you with personalized care and ensure you are fully refunded for this order. Please email me at kat@dr.artypets.com, so we can get you fully refunded. Thank you.

Helpful Review? 9 People Have Voted

Posted on May 14, 2021

New user

By Lara C., Vermont, Verified Reviewer

My Aussie loves it...when I brought the box in and took a bag out she was very eager to have what was inside before the bag was open. She gobbles it up and gets excited now when I say, “Do you want your Dr. Marty’s now.” I feed her kibble in the morning and Dr. Marty’s for the evening meal.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

That my dog loves it

Smells good

Ingredients are excellent

Cost

Helpful Review? 7 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 10, 2021

Amazing

By Malika M., Ontario, Canada, Verified Reviewer

My dog absolutely devours this! She hates kibble and was so happy and obsessed with this food. She got used to cooked food because of how picky she was so I didn’t expect her to go crazy for this but she sure did.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Smells great

Healthy

Nutrition

Took long to arrive

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted
Showing 1-11 of 665

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.