Dr. Marty Nature’s Blend Review: A Detailed Look

By HighYa Editorial Team
Updated on: Sep 10, 2020

Dr. Marty Nature’s Blend is a new dog food whose only ingredients are a variety of freeze-dried meat, poultry, and fish as well as fruits and vegetables.

What makes the food unique is that it uses natural, “raw” ingredients and does not contain any filler grains that you’d find with cheaper dog food.

The freeze-dried element is a rare trait, too, as most food is cooked in factories first or is wet food out of a can.

In a time when organic, non-GMO food is a big deal for human consumers, dog food that contains freeze-dried whole foods is certainly an appealing option for dog owners.

In this review, we take a detailed look at Nature’s Blend to help you decide if it is a good option for your dog.

Analysis of Ingredients and Their Benefits

Here’s the list of the ingredients contained in the dog food:

  • Turkey
  • Beef
  • Salmon
  • Duck
  • Flax
  • Beef liver
  • Turkey hearts
  • Turkey liver
  • Sweet potato
  • Eggs
  • Pea flour
  • Carrots
  • Apples
  • Blueberries
  • Cranberries
  • Pumpkin seeds
  • Spinach
  • Ginger
  • Salt
  • Mixed tocopherols

Note, that this list of natural ingredients is devoid of common fillers like cornmeal.

In addition to ingredients, the food’s balance of proteins, moisture, and other factors play an important role in order to provide your dog with a beneficial meal.

Here’s a breakdown of these factors:

  • Crude protein: 37%
  • Crude fat: 27%
  • Crude fiber: 4%
  • Moisture: 6%
  • Omega-3 fatty acids: 2.5%

Protein amounts should be between 18% and 25% and the fat content of dog food should be between 10% and 15%.

The fiber content of your dog food should be between 1.4% and 3.5% and the moisture content should be between 6% and 10%.

Based on these numbers, Dr. Marty Nature’s Blend is on the high side for protein and fat, right on the mark for fiber, and a little below the normal range for moisture, which is understandable because the food is freeze-dried.

The high fat is a bit of a concern because it can have negative effects on your dog’s health, but only if you aren’t giving your dog daily exercise.

Now, on the positive side, proteins contain amino acids that are the building blocks for your dog’s muscles and, since they only produce half what they need on their own, they need to get a good amount from their food.

Fats, PetMD points out, “provide energy, as well as taste or flavor, to foods, and encourage the absorption of certain vitamins,” and can help dogs “maintain healthy skin and a shiny, healthy, coat.”

The company has a very specific daily feeding schedule depending on the weight of your dog:

  • 5 lbs: ½ cup
  • 10 lbs.: ¾ cup
  • 20 lbs.: 1 ¼ cup
  • 25 lbs.: 1 ½ cup
  • 30 lbs.: 1 ¾ cups
  • 40 lbs.: 2 cups
  • 50 lbs.: 2 ½ cups
  • 60 lbs.: 2 ¾ cups
  • 70 lbs.: 3 ¼ cups
  • 80 lbs.: 3 ½ cups
  • 90 lbs.: 3 ¾ cups

Pricing and Return Policy

Dr. Marty bags contain 16 ounces of food and are available via the following pricing tiers:

  • 1 bag: $59.95
  • 3 bags: $170.85
  • 6 bags: $323.70

One pound of dog food has about four cups of food in it, which means one bag can last a 20 lb. dog for three days.

The bigger the dog you have, the fewer the days your food will last, with 90-pound dogs consuming nearly an entire bag in one day.

With this in mind, we think that Nature’s Blend pricing is considerably high, as a 20-pound dog will need about 10 bags of food to make it through a month.

You have 90 days to return your food if you don’t feel it’s a good fit. The company promises to refund 100% of your purchase price “if you don't’ see noticeable improvements in your dog’s health and happiness.”

The Bottom Line

This pet food is a very interesting option – you’re getting straight-up meats and vegetables along with additional vitamins.

If you’re a dog owner who has a desire to give your dog raw food, then Dr. Marty Nature’s Blend is a good match for you.

The second part of this, though, is whether or not you have the financial means to pay for the food.

The bigger the dog, the more expensive the endeavor when it comes to this food. However, if you’re willing to pay for Nature’s Blend, then your desire to provide your dog with raw, healthy food will most likely be fulfilled.

Keep in mind, though, that the fat content in this food is above the recommended amount, which means you’ll need to be diligent with providing your dog consistent exercise every day to ensure he or she doesn’t gain weight.

Also, keep in mind that you need to transition your dog slowly from his or her current food to this food if you choose to buy it. Dogs’ digestive system can be sensitive and a sudden change from one food to a new one may cause some digestive issues.


Customer Reviews

Start your review of Dr. Marty Nature’s Blend:
  • 652 Customer Reviews
  • 92% Recommend This Product
4.5 out of 5
5 star: 70% 4 star: 20% 3 star: 2% 2 star: 1% 1 star: 4%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Best ingredients ever!

    • By William P.,
    • Palmetto, FL,
    • Oct 19, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    I bought this product for my senior dog, he was beginning to put on some weight and was turning his nose up to his usual food so I began adding it as a topper. I mix it with a powdered raw food to mimic chunks and wet and he gobbled it up. I started using more Dr. Marty's and less dry kibble and now he is exclusively eating a raw/dehydrated/freeze-dried diet and thriving!

    Pros and Cons:

    • Raw
    • Multi sourced protein
    • Convenience
    • Price

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • My dogs love it, I've tried many

    • By Sunshine J.,
    • Modesto, CA,
    • Oct 16, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 6–12 months
    Overall Experience:

    My 2 Yorkies simply love it. I've tried numerous brands with no luck. It smells good, easy to serve, and they are both in the best of health. If you can afford it, it's the way to go, you won't be disappointed!

    Pros and Cons:

    • The packaging
    • The smell
    • The cost

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Amazing improvement in old dog

    • By Jerry F.,
    • Knoxville, TN,
    • Oct 14, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    We have an older Labrador Retriever who was having trouble moving about or crawling up on the couch to sit with my grandkids. My son-in-law kept referring to how we will bury her when she goes and if we might want to put her down one day. When I took the time to listen to Dr. Marty's presentation about nutrition it made sense that most dog food starts out as that which is unfit to feed a human. Then fillers bulk it up, and the whole mixture is cooked to death and dried into brown kibble. So, I thought I would at least try it to see if I might give her improved health.

    To my surprise, only a few days into using ProPower Plus sprinkled on her regular food and offering the Nature's Blend food as a treat (a couple of handfuls) each day, she changed from lying down while she ate to excitedly running to her bowl and eating with enthusiasm. She also went from barely able to crawl onto the couch to jumping on the couch to happily interact with family members again. I truly believe these two products have improved and hopefully extended her life.

    Pros and Cons:

    • It has brought back her excited nature to be with the family
    • It's too expensive to feed a Labrador just the Nature's Blend

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Coco’s Gourmet (Doc Marty) Seasoning

    • By Jill M.,
    • Ripon, WI,
    • Oct 14, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    Coco (my 10-month-old Yo-Chon), has honestly re-discovered her daily food. At supper time, I grab a small handful, mix it with a bit of warm water, and then mix in a bit of her regular, grain-free dry food, and she seems to thoroughly enjoy her meals again. I hope it lasts! And, since I’m a widow who can’t presently work, I hope I’m able to continue to buy it. Thank you for her yummy, healthy food!

    Pros and Cons:

    • I like that I can use it as a sprinkle add-on
    • I like that it’s easy and seems to smell good
    • Mostly, I love that my doggy-baby loves it
    • The bag that I purchased is smaller than I expected
    • Maybe make a variety with smaller pieces?
    • Make it available in pet stores!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Gracie Joy absolutely loves this food!

    • By Linda C.,
    • Madison, OH,
    • Oct 14, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    Gracie is a rescued two-year-old Havanese little girl. She's always been really picky about what she eats. Often she would wait to see what she could beg from me, didn't work by the way. When she couldn't get what I was eating she would eventually eat her food. But never eagerly or as soon as I put it down. She loves her new food! She asks me for her breakfast and her dinner, which is amazing because before she only ate her dinner, never her breakfast. We will be customers for life! Oh, and Gracie says to say thanks!

    Pros and Cons:

    • Easy to feed
    • My dog really loves it
    • Cost

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Ginger loves Nature's Blend

    • By Finita S.,
    • Old Bridge, NJ,
    • Oct 14, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    My dog usually doesn't eat dog food. I feed her chicken only. I wanted to try something different, so I can have a food that can travel with us.

    I liked the fact that all the ingredients are natural. When I first gave it to her, she ate the whole handful. When I gave her more she ate that too. As long as I sit and put the food in front of her she gobbles it down. I am giving it to her right from the bag. I am not adding any water to it. She loves it right from the bag. Why change anything!

    I have found that she has more energy and wants to play more. I am very glad I found this product.

    I have already bought three more bags.

    Pros and Cons:

    • It is all natural, no fillers
    • My dog will eat it and enjoys it
    • It is easy to carry when traveling
    • You do not have the normal dog food look or smell
    • I liked that it is made of real chicken, turkey, beef and vegetables, these are things I was regularity feeding her
    • The price is a little high for a 16 oz bag

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Ittles loves it, but I can’t afford it.

    • By Paula G.,
    • Alabama,
    • Oct 14, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    I feed him one complete meal a day, every afternoon, and he looks forward to it every day! He knows where it’s stored and believe me, he knows it’s time for supper when I grab the bag! It’s the best food I’ve ever tried for Him.

    I am 60 and disabled, my income is very limited, I really would love to continue with one bag a month, but $56.00 is really just too much for my very limited budget, makes me sad and I’m sure it will make Ittles much sadder. Like I said, I think it’s the best food out there for our furry loved ones! He’s on his last serving today, I know he will enjoy it! Thank you, Dr. Marty, for loving our fur family! Much love to you and yours.

    Pros and Cons:

    • His love for it
    • He’s more active
    • His eyes are brighter
    • The price

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Dog won't touch it

    • By Stephanie S.,
    • Long Beach, CA,
    • Oct 14, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    I have a Rot/Pit/Boxer mix, she has a bladder tumor so we thought this would be great to add to her food. She will NOT touch it but if we give her just her food she eats like nobody's business, so we know it's not something health-wise that's curving her apatite. Sadly she just hates this food and due to her having a tumor it's beyond important that she's eating and drinking regularly. We will have to send this all back. Very disappointing.

    Pros and Cons:

    • No “pros” were specified in this review
    • Smells
    • Dog hates it

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Oct 14, 2020

      Company Response from Dr. Marty Pets

      Hi Stephanie, I'm Kat from Dr. Marty Pets. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your pup's experience with Nature's Blend. First off, I'm very sorry to hear about your dog's tumor. On behalf of everyone here at Dr. Marty Pets, we're sending you and your pup lots of love and comfort. I'm very sorry to hear that your dog did not like the taste of our food. While we have thousands of happy customers, we do understand that it may not appeal to all dogs. Because of this, we offer a 90-Day Money Back Guarantee. Just e-mail me at Kat@drmartypets.com and I can begin the refund process right away. I look forward to hearing from you!


  • Renaming dog Lazarus

    • By Keith A.,
    • Phoenix, AZ,
    • Oct 13, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    Blizzard, my 16-year-old Westie, appeared to be on his last legs about a month ago. He was suffering from arthritis, an enlarged heart, and a failing liver and kidneys. He spent three days on an IV at the vet's, but they were never able to return his organs to a normal operating range. He came home, lethargic and seemingly ready to give up the ghost. Out of desperation, I scoured the internet for some panacea, found your product, and ordered 3 bags of your Nature's Blend dog food, as well as some canisters to support his digestive system and liver. I must admit, I was extremely skeptical, because so many products prove to be overblown scams on the internet. I'm happy to report, though, my distrust was unfounded. Blizzard has largely recovered, if not to his youthful self, at least his self before the onset of his organ failures. He is alert and watchful again and looks forward to his daily walk. His eyes are piercing and focused, and he's gone back to barking at the mailman and the occasional feral cat with the temerity to get on his front lawn. I realize, at 16 years of age, my furriest family member is living on borrowed time, but thank you for bringing back his quality of life, even if it's short-lived. I didn't want to see him suffer and, based on the vet's prognosis, was bracing myself for the worst. I can at least kick the can of that difficult decision farther down the road. I wasn't ready to say good-bye. "Stay boy. Stay, at least a while longer."

    Pros and Cons:

    • Though finicky his entire life, Blizzard took to the Nature Blend quickly, he liked the taste and looked forward to eating again
    • Didn't have any digestive issues, but he always walked around whining after eating, the whining has stopped
    • I crush the pellets up individually between my fingers, when I go to wash my hands off, there is no oily residue, so it's a very clean product
    • Slight period of adjustment at the beginning, the food is so rich that it caused a few days of constipation

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • The new Dusty Wayne

    • By Carolyn C.,
    • Deltona, FL,
    • Oct 13, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    The box came to the door. My husband opened and accepted it and went right into the kitchen to open it. Well, Dusty (Pom) was right behind him and continued to stay with him going from side to side smelling and smelling. Well, while putting the 2 bags into the cabinet and sitting down reading the instructions, etc., poor Dusty now was jumping for it. Well, Dusty is 1 year old almost to the day we received this food and never has he even liked the food we have given him, never finished it, and we would change, maybe he would like this kind. Well, I said I bought a new kind of food and yes, this is it and we will try him on this food. Well, followed your directions (lol) and we don't even have to clean the dish. It is eaten and licked clean, believe me. He just loves this doggy food of yours, Dr. Marty, and we are now on our 2nd bag. We had to call your efficient staff because they had shipped us more and we thought wow, are we doing things right, and yes, we were, and they have us on a new schedule for shipping. Thank you again, Dr. Marty, our Dusty is one happy dog, and then my son came with his Pom and lo and behold, he loved Dusty's food so we gave him about a cup full to make sure, and lo and behold, Scott ordered from you all as well. We have active and healthy Poms for sure. Thank you again.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Dusty never leaves a drop
    • His dish is licked clean
    • Prep is so easy
    • No “cons” were specified in this review

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • A return to puppyhood

    • By Sid K.,
    • Saint Paul, MN,
    • Oct 13, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    I have two senior Westies (ages 13 and 15) and one 4-year-old Doberman. I’ve been feeding them raw foods their whole lives and they’ve been remarkably healthy that whole time. Still, when I augmented their diets with Dr. Marty’s Nature’s Blend, their energy went through the roof. One of my Westies, who always played with the Doberman rather sedately, has begun jumping in the air and spinning around! The Doberman runs around the house like a puppy now, too. The change took place within weeks of the dietary change. It’s astounding!

    Pros and Cons:

    • The health and energy benefits to my dogs
    • The easy preparation
    • The dogs’ delight in eating it
    • Cost, I can’t afford to do more than top their regular food with it

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-11 of 652

Write a Review for Dr. Marty Nature’s Blend!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Dr. Marty Nature’s Blend Review