Dr. Marty Nature’s Blend Review: A Detailed Look

By HighYa Research Team
Updated on: Sep 10, 2020

Dr. Marty Nature’s Blend is a new dog food whose only ingredients are a variety of freeze-dried meat, poultry, and fish as well as fruits and vegetables.

What makes the food unique is that it uses natural, “raw” ingredients and does not contain any filler grains that you’d find with cheaper dog food.

The freeze-dried element is a rare trait, too, as most food is cooked in factories first or is wet food out of a can.

In a time when organic, non-GMO food is a big deal for human consumers, dog food that contains freeze-dried whole foods is certainly an appealing option for dog owners.

In this review, we take a detailed look at Nature’s Blend to help you decide if it is a good option for your dog.

Analysis of Ingredients and Their Benefits

Here’s the list of the ingredients contained in the dog food:

  • Turkey
  • Beef
  • Salmon
  • Duck
  • Flax
  • Beef liver
  • Turkey hearts
  • Turkey liver
  • Sweet potato
  • Eggs
  • Pea flour
  • Carrots
  • Apples
  • Blueberries
  • Cranberries
  • Pumpkin seeds
  • Spinach
  • Ginger
  • Salt
  • Mixed tocopherols

Note, that this list of natural ingredients is devoid of common fillers like cornmeal.

In addition to ingredients, the food’s balance of proteins, moisture, and other factors play an important role in order to provide your dog with a beneficial meal.

Here’s a breakdown of these factors:

  • Crude protein: 37%
  • Crude fat: 27%
  • Crude fiber: 4%
  • Moisture: 6%
  • Omega-3 fatty acids: 2.5%

Protein amounts should be between 18% and 25% and the fat content of dog food should be between 10% and 15%.

The fiber content of your dog food should be between 1.4% and 3.5% and the moisture content should be between 6% and 10%.

Based on these numbers, Dr. Marty Nature’s Blend is on the high side for protein and fat, right on the mark for fiber, and a little below the normal range for moisture, which is understandable because the food is freeze-dried.

The high fat is a bit of a concern because it can have negative effects on your dog’s health, but only if you aren’t giving your dog daily exercise.

Now, on the positive side, proteins contain amino acids that are the building blocks for your dog’s muscles and, since they only produce half what they need on their own, they need to get a good amount from their food.

Fats, PetMD points out, “provide energy, as well as taste or flavor, to foods, and encourage the absorption of certain vitamins,” and can help dogs “maintain healthy skin and a shiny, healthy, coat.”

The company has a very specific daily feeding schedule depending on the weight of your dog:

  • 5 lbs: ½ cup
  • 10 lbs.: ¾ cup
  • 20 lbs.: 1 ¼ cup
  • 25 lbs.: 1 ½ cup
  • 30 lbs.: 1 ¾ cups
  • 40 lbs.: 2 cups
  • 50 lbs.: 2 ½ cups
  • 60 lbs.: 2 ¾ cups
  • 70 lbs.: 3 ¼ cups
  • 80 lbs.: 3 ½ cups
  • 90 lbs.: 3 ¾ cups

Pricing and Return Policy

Dr. Marty bags contain 16 ounces of food and are available via the following pricing tiers:

  • 1 bag: $59.95
  • 3 bags: $170.85
  • 6 bags: $323.70

One pound of dog food has about four cups of food in it, which means one bag can last a 20 lb. dog for three days.

The bigger the dog you have, the fewer the days your food will last, with 90-pound dogs consuming nearly an entire bag in one day.

With this in mind, we think that Nature’s Blend pricing is considerably high, as a 20-pound dog will need about 10 bags of food to make it through a month.

You have 90 days to return your food if you don’t feel it’s a good fit. The company promises to refund 100% of your purchase price “if you don't’ see noticeable improvements in your dog’s health and happiness.”

The Bottom Line

This pet food is a very interesting option – you’re getting straight-up meats and vegetables along with additional vitamins.

If you’re a dog owner who has a desire to give your dog raw food, then Dr. Marty Nature’s Blend is a good match for you.

The second part of this, though, is whether or not you have the financial means to pay for the food.

The bigger the dog, the more expensive the endeavor when it comes to this food. However, if you’re willing to pay for Nature’s Blend, then your desire to provide your dog with raw, healthy food will most likely be fulfilled.

Keep in mind, though, that the fat content in this food is above the recommended amount, which means you’ll need to be diligent with providing your dog consistent exercise every day to ensure he or she doesn’t gain weight.

Also, keep in mind that you need to transition your dog slowly from his or her current food to this food if you choose to buy it. Dogs’ digestive system can be sensitive and a sudden change from one food to a new one may cause some digestive issues.


Customer Reviews

Start your review of Dr. Marty Nature’s Blend:
  • 635 Customer Reviews
  • 92% Recommend This Product
4.5 out of 5
5 star: 70% 4 star: 21% 3 star: 2% 2 star: 1% 1 star: 3%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • 5-star grade

    • By Hobie S.,
    • Montgomery, TX,
    • Sep 14, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    My dog is a senior. I wanted to give her a diet that would extend her life. She absolutely loves this stuff. Yeah, it's on the high side price-wise. But to watch her eat definitely is worth it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Much too expensive

    • By Susan O.,
    • Tucson, AZ,
    • Aug 24, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    I ordered the food online and was shocked when I received a ONE pound bag. The website buries that information and simply shows "bags." Never, in my imagination, could I have foreseen that I would pay more for one pound of dog food than I would for a lobster dinner in a nice restaurant.

    Pros and Cons:

    • The dog will eat it
    • The price is horrible
    • The website is deceptive
    • It smells awful

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Doggie crack

    • By Bill H.,
    • Alexandria, VA,
    • Aug 22, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    Got a large box of this because I was concerned about his eating grass and licking his paws. So we took about 1/2 dozen pellets out to see if he would eat it. Not only did he gulp it down, he started staring at me with the look of "Okay, where's the rest?" I mix about 1/4 of a cup with water (30 lb dog) and add it to his regular food to keep the cost reasonable. The bowl is quickly rendered clean, that has never happened before. Previously he would eat a small amount, multiple times a day.

    Pros and Cons:

    • I am sure the dog would prefer it over his treats
    • Doesn't require special handling
    • It is expensive but with mixing with regular food, I thing the cost can be kept within reason
    • Doesn't smell great to me, but then I don't have to eat it, he is of a different opinion
    • Going to have to keep the bags out of sight otherwise he starts following me around

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • "Real meat" is not free-range or grass-fed...

    • By Lauren L.,
    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Aug 1, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    His "real meat" is not free-range nor grass-fed. He does not care about every animal from farm to table! I will not be purchasing this anymore until he changes his meat.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Explosive diarrhea

    • By Andrew M.,
    • New York City, NY,
    • Jul 28, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    Hi all,

    I am feeling so worried about our dog, Morton. He’s our sweet, little, 3.5-year-old, 45lb Bassett/Dobbie mutt and we’ve never had any health issues in the past. He’s actually a bit of a tank, whom we loving joke is "our little trash goblin" due to his fondness for street finds (which we obviously then have to pry out of his mouth - yuck?). But never any health problems.

    We were so excited to start him on Dr. Marty’s Nature’s Blend because we love our little goblin and want him to live forever. We were so excited yesterday morning when we began to introduce the food to his diet and he LOVED it.

    We have only been giving him 3/4oz with each meal (roughly 50 pellets) in addition to his usual 1 cup of dry food (grain-free, etc).

    We did this yesterday morning and evening for each of his meals, and then this morning, for his 3rd Dr. Marty meal, we added a 1/2 a scoop of the ProPower Plus Digestive Supplement.

    After his breakfast, we took him for his morning walk and HORROR. Pitiful bouts of panting, trembling, and explosive liquid diarrhea. Sorry. It was too soon after his breakfast for it to be the ProPower Plus Digestive Supplement, so it must be the Nature’s Blend.

    He needed to go out 3 hours later for round 2 of more diarrhea. My poor puppy! He’s so pitiful. What should we do?

    Is it Salmonella? Listeria? Should we take him to the vet?

    We will obviously not give him any tonight or tomorrow morning, but should we stop altogether?

    I’m so disappointed - I was really excited about this food.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Few ingredients
    • My dog liked it
    • Diarrhea
    • So expensive

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Jul 29, 2020

      Company Response from Dr. Marty Pets

      Hello Andrew. My name is Kat and I am with Dr. Marty Pets. I am sorry to read about your experience with our Nature’s Blend and ProPower Plus. This is not a typical reaction, and I have forwarded your review to our Customer Relations department so that they may contact you for more information. Dr. Marty Pets always advises our customers to consult their veterinarian prior to making any changes to their pet’s daily feeding or supplement regimen, as results may vary. We are unable to provide any medical advice for Morton and urge you to seek veterinary care. We truly wish the best for Morton and our Customer Relations department will be in touch with you soon. Please feel free to reach out to me at kat@drmartypets.com if you have any additional questions. Have a safe and wonderful day.


  • My dog LOVES it!

    • By Anne D H.,
    • Fort Worth, TX,
    • Jul 22, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 1–2 years
    Overall Experience:

    My dog (Molly) is a 13-year-old Maltese mix, about 10lbs two years ago, I started to worry that she wouldn’t be around much longer. She slept all day, she ignored her toys, her coat was thin, etc. I had been feeding her one of the "Blues" and just happened to run across Dr. Marty’s ad.

    I never buy anything without checking the reviews, the BBB, the journal of veterinary medicine, my own vet, etc., everything seemed mostly good except the price.

    The food arrived (ordered for a discount price, it’s the same price every time order it). I read one review that said it looks like floating sawdust when you reconstitute it. I loosely crush it and make it into a paste and it’s fine. The bag says you don’t have to use Dr. Marty’s food exclusively, so I never have.

    Molly eats twice a day 1/3, cup each meal. I give her kibble, (2/3, of a 1/3 cup measure) and the other 1/3 is reconstituted Dr. M’s. She goes nuts wanting her food. I had to feed her for 2 days without Dr. M’s (I’d forgotten to order it) and she wouldn’t eat the kibble at all.

    Molly is a brand new dog. She sleeps only until someone moves then she’s up running through the house wanting to play. She loves to play "keep away" with her toys and loves to have them thrown! His coat is thick and shiny. She stands on her hind legs and walks across the room waiting for her food to be set down (she hasn’t done that in 5 years). We love this food.

    Pros and Cons:

    • You can add it to your dog’s kibble and still reap the benefits of a raw diet
    • It’s easy to store, light weight, it’s easy to reconstitute
    • My dog loves it
    • The price (I overcame that by mixing it with a good kibble)
    • If it was powder, I wouldn’t have to smash the little bits up before I added water
    • I wish the bags were larger

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • My dogs bark for Dr. Marty's

    • By Joy P.,
    • Punta Gorda, FL,
    • Jul 20, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    I have two 70 lb Goldendoodles, so feeding just Dr. Marty's is cost-prohibitive, BUT I use it as a topper. They dance and bark while I prepare their dinners and wolf it down and then lick each other's bowls. SCORE!

    Pros and Cons:

    • Smells yummy
    • Good ingredients
    • Price

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Inflammatory bowel disease

    • By Michelle C.,
    • Reno, NV,
    • Jul 4, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 1–2 years
    Overall Experience:

    My 3.5-year-old terrier mix was diagnosed with inflammatory bowel disease 2 years ago and cannot eat regular dog food. He vomits up all processed foods except the expensive veterinary prescribed food Z/D or H/P. He loves Dr. Marty's and never vomits after eating it.

    Pros and Cons:

    • My dog keeps it down
    • Loves the taste
    • Pricey

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Love at 1st bite!

    • By Debra Q.,
    • Cleveland Heights, OH,
    • Jun 30, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    I just received my first bag of dog food today. Ironically, I had received a message yesterday that shipping was delayed. About a month ago I watched Dr. Marty's video. I'm a librarian, so I had to do some homework before I was sold. Then I had to convince myself that the price was worth it. I liked that Dr. Marty is cognizant of that and suggested using his food as a "topper" in those instances.

    Well, my 10-year-old Boxer/Bulldog rescue started showing more signs of aging. This was particularly noticeable when she encountered stairs are wanted to jump in my bed at night. I tried lifting her, she's 60+ lbs. and even she didn't want that kind of help. So I remembered Dr. Marty. I ordered one bag and some treats. I mixed 1/4 cup with her dog food, she only ate 1/2 bowl, so her breakfast was still there. She was nearly ravenous and begging for more! She's slightly overweight, so I've mixed 1:4 cups in a container for the remainder of the week. I hope to see some improvement in her mobility soon, but I know it's better for her and it's obvious, she LOVES the taste!

    Pros and Cons:

    • Convenience - wet or dry
    • Packaging - easy seal bag and content labelling
    • Ingredients - wholesome and natural
    • Tasty - my dog loves it!
    • Cost - but I'll use it as a "topper"

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • From picky eater to bowl-licker!

    • By Edith H.,
    • Pittsburgh, PA,
    • Jun 20, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    We have had Angus, a rather small Cavapoo, for almost 8 months. Like many of his breed, he is a picky eater, and I have tried every natural and commercial topping available. Only liver has worked, and sometimes he has picked it off his food.

    I am using Dr. Marty for a topping, crushing the little pellets and mixing it 2-part high-quality kibble to 1-part Dr. Marty (just dry: he doesn't like gravy). He dances and barks while I am preparing it, and is now eating the daily recommended amount, licking the bowl clean every meal.

    I am delighted! His fur is glossy, he has great energy, and doesn't beg for our food because he is satisfied. I would feed him straight Dr. Marty, but it is expensive. Also, I think that some of the harder kibble is better for his teeth long-term. Thank you, Dr. Marty, for this great product!

    Pros and Cons:

    • Dog eats without coaxing
    • All natural
    • High amount of meat/fish, with innards!
    • Contains some good grain
    • Cost

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Diarrhea

    • By LaVelle P.,
    • San Diego, CA,
    • Jun 10, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    My golden doodle ate it up right away but had diarrhea all night and then this morning! So I will not be giving it to Bentley anymore!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Jun 12, 2020

      Company Response from Dr. Marty Pets

      Hello LaVelle. My name is Kat and I am with Dr. Marty Pets. I am sorry to read about Bentley's reaction to our Nature’s Blend. We would like more information about your pet’s experience. I would also like to refund your account immediately. Please email me at kat@drmartypets.com so that I may get started on this right away. Dr. Marty Pets is committed to making this right. I wish you and your pup a wonderful day and I look forward to hearing from you soon.


Showing 1-11 of 635

Write a Review for Dr. Marty Nature’s Blend!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Dr. Marty Nature’s Blend Review