Jump To:
Our Editorial Review
Customer Reviews

Dr. Marty Nature’s Blend

  This company has claimed this profile, is getting alerted on any new customer reviews entering this page, and may engage in dialogue with its customers to address their matters.

Companies cannot pay money or provide goods in order to remove or alter customer reviews.
Dr. Marty Nature’s Blend

Overall Rating

4.5

660 Customer Reviews

Summary

Dr. Marty Nature’s Blend is a brand of dog food in which all ingredients are raw, freeze-dried, and packed with fats and proteins that can be beneficial to your dog. The ingredients are good but the price is high.

Write a Review

Dr. Marty Nature’s Blend Review: A Detailed Look

By HighYa Editorial Team

Updated on: Sep 10, 2020

Dr. Marty Nature’s Blend is a new dog food whose only ingredients are a variety of freeze-dried meat, poultry, and fish as well as fruits and vegetables.

What makes the food unique is that it uses natural, “raw” ingredients and does not contain any filler grains that you’d find with cheaper dog food.

The freeze-dried element is a rare trait, too, as most food is cooked in factories first or is wet food out of a can.

In a time when organic, non-GMO food is a big deal for human consumers, dog food that contains freeze-dried whole foods is certainly an appealing option for dog owners.

In this review, we take a detailed look at Nature’s Blend to help you decide if it is a good option for your dog.

Analysis of Ingredients and Their Benefits

Here’s the list of the ingredients contained in the dog food:

  • Turkey
  • Beef
  • Salmon
  • Duck
  • Flax
  • Beef liver
  • Turkey hearts
  • Turkey liver
  • Sweet potato
  • Eggs
  • Pea flour
  • Carrots
  • Apples
  • Blueberries
  • Cranberries
  • Pumpkin seeds
  • Spinach
  • Ginger
  • Salt
  • Mixed tocopherols

Note, that this list of natural ingredients is devoid of common fillers like cornmeal.

In addition to ingredients, the food’s balance of proteins, moisture, and other factors play an important role in order to provide your dog with a beneficial meal.

Here’s a breakdown of these factors:

  • Crude protein: 37%
  • Crude fat: 27%
  • Crude fiber: 4%
  • Moisture: 6%
  • Omega-3 fatty acids: 2.5%

Protein amounts should be between 18% and 25% and the fat content of dog food should be between 10% and 15%.

The fiber content of your dog food should be between 1.4% and 3.5% and the moisture content should be between 6% and 10%.

Based on these numbers, Dr. Marty Nature’s Blend is on the high side for protein and fat, right on the mark for fiber, and a little below the normal range for moisture, which is understandable because the food is freeze-dried.

The high fat is a bit of a concern because it can have negative effects on your dog’s health, but only if you aren’t giving your dog daily exercise.

Now, on the positive side, proteins contain amino acids that are the building blocks for your dog’s muscles and, since they only produce half what they need on their own, they need to get a good amount from their food.

Fats, PetMD points out, “provide energy, as well as taste or flavor, to foods, and encourage the absorption of certain vitamins,” and can help dogs “maintain healthy skin and a shiny, healthy, coat.”

The company has a very specific daily feeding schedule depending on the weight of your dog:

  • 5 lbs: ½ cup
  • 10 lbs.: ¾ cup
  • 20 lbs.: 1 ¼ cup
  • 25 lbs.: 1 ½ cup
  • 30 lbs.: 1 ¾ cups
  • 40 lbs.: 2 cups
  • 50 lbs.: 2 ½ cups
  • 60 lbs.: 2 ¾ cups
  • 70 lbs.: 3 ¼ cups
  • 80 lbs.: 3 ½ cups
  • 90 lbs.: 3 ¾ cups

Pricing and Return Policy

Dr. Marty bags contain 16 ounces of food and are available via the following pricing tiers:

  • 1 bag: $59.95
  • 3 bags: $170.85
  • 6 bags: $323.70

One pound of dog food has about four cups of food in it, which means one bag can last a 20 lb. dog for three days.

The bigger the dog you have, the fewer the days your food will last, with 90-pound dogs consuming nearly an entire bag in one day.

With this in mind, we think that Nature’s Blend pricing is considerably high, as a 20-pound dog will need about 10 bags of food to make it through a month.

You have 90 days to return your food if you don’t feel it’s a good fit. The company promises to refund 100% of your purchase price “if you don't’ see noticeable improvements in your dog’s health and happiness.”

The Bottom Line

This pet food is a very interesting option – you’re getting straight-up meats and vegetables along with additional vitamins.

If you’re a dog owner who has a desire to give your dog raw food, then Dr. Marty Nature’s Blend is a good match for you.

The second part of this, though, is whether or not you have the financial means to pay for the food.

The bigger the dog, the more expensive the endeavor when it comes to this food. However, if you’re willing to pay for Nature’s Blend, then your desire to provide your dog with raw, healthy food will most likely be fulfilled.

Keep in mind, though, that the fat content in this food is above the recommended amount, which means you’ll need to be diligent with providing your dog consistent exercise every day to ensure he or she doesn’t gain weight.

Also, keep in mind that you need to transition your dog slowly from his or her current food to this food if you choose to buy it. Dogs’ digestive system can be sensitive and a sudden change from one food to a new one may cause some digestive issues.

Customer Reviews

4.5 Stars out of 660 Reviews
5 Star:70% 4 Star:20% 3 Star:2% 2 Star:1% 1 Star:4%
92% Recommend This Product
Start your review of Dr. Marty Nature’s Blend:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Sep 15, 2021

How is this affordable?

By Tabitha H. , Clarksville, TN

30 bucks for 16 oz? This is ridiculously high! They should be ashamed of themselves! I have a small dog, but he would finish one bag in 2 days. I can’t imagine if I had a big dog. This company claims it cuts out the middle man to keep the price down, yet is way more expensive than just about every dog food on the market. Even as a topper, it’s too much!

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

My dog liked it

Too expensive

16oz is not enough

Company Response from Dr. Marty Pets

Sep 16, 2021

Hello Tabitha. My name is Kat, I am with Dr. Marty Pets. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We strive to keep our formulas as affordable as possible while using only the highest quality of all-natural ingredients to ensure the best food for your pet. When price reductions are possible, we are happy to pass those savings along to our customers. A great way to receive the lowest available price is to start a recurring order for Nature’s Blend or by signing up for our email newsletters and/or text club. You will be instantly notified of offers and discounts. If this is something that interests you or if you have any questions, my email is Kat@drmartypets.com. Have a great day.

Posted on Aug 27, 2021

Dog lovers beware

By Jan A., Walla Walla, WA, Verified Reviewer

Consumer beware, be careful when you sign up to try this dog food. You will get on the hook for $80+ a month for 3lbs of food (your dog's food will become much more expensive than yours per pound, if you really love your pet, just buy them steak at $7 a pound or blueberries at $4 etc.) Companies that truly believe in their products do not need to force their clients to buy, their clients will do it willingly.

I gave them a 3 star because the dog liked the food. Of course he likes turkey, beef, salmon, sweet potatoes, egg, peas, etc., same food we eat, though our real food is much cheaper.

Suggestion, if you care about pets, for real, make food that real people (not just Beverly Hill people) can and should responsibly afford. Then those people will happily buy that food every month on their own, without needing to be coerced.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Dog liked it

Re-occurring charges on my credit card

Extremely expensive

Company Response from Dr. Marty Pets

Sep 1, 2021

Hello Jan. My name is Kat, I am with Dr. Marty Pets. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We strive to keep our formulas as affordable as possible while using only the highest quality of all-natural ingredients to ensure the best food for your pet. When price reductions are possible, we are happy to pass those savings along to our customers. A great way to receive the lowest available price is to start a recurring order for Nature’s Blend or by signing up for our email newsletters and/or text club. You will be instantly notified of offers and discounts. If this is something that interests you or if you have any questions, my email is Kat@drmartypets.com. Have a great day.

Posted on Jul 1, 2021

Too expensive

By Steve S., Tennessee, Verified Reviewer

Given to us by a friend whose dog hated it, we tried it. Sorry but I cannot justify a house payment per month in dog food. I love my pets but there is no reason this food needs to be so cost-prohibitive. Would love to use it but with 2 big dogs I can’t do $1000+ a month for dog food. My family doesn’t spend that on human food.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Dog liked it

Very expensive

Small packages

Smells strange

Company Response from Dr. Marty Pets

Jul 2, 2021

Hello Steve. My name is Kat, I am with Dr. Marty Pets. We appreciate your feedback. We strive to keep our formulas as affordable as possible, while maintaining very high standards of quality all-natural ingredients. We do understand that larger breed animals will need more food. In this case, we recommend adding Nature’s Blend as a topper to their regular food. This way your pup will still receive the great health benefits of Nature’s Blend. A great way to receive the lowest available price is to start a recurring order for Nature’s Blend or by signing up for our email newsletters. You will be instantly notified of offers and discounts. If this is something that interests you or if you have any questions, my email is Kat@drmartypets.com. Have a great day.

Posted on May 17, 2021

Do not buy it, a trick

By Juie H., Waukesha, WI, Verified Reviewer

I was sent a whole box, almost $300.00 I never ordered, beware of fraudulent advertising. My German Shepherd and Shih Tzu won’t touch it. The money-back guarantees are a joke, it costs so much to send back, it’s not worth it. Extremely expensive to return and they tried to offer me 40% off instead of sending it back. Very poor advertising and do not buy. You can buy raw foods at many places, even start at the store, but the mixing with purified water and waiting is a joke, on top of the price. My suggestion is don’t buy, your dog will hate it. Dr. Marty says you can use it as a topper over food but there are no directions on making different amounts. All I can say is I feel I was lied to. And deliberately fraudulent advertising, no cheap way to return, you’ll be stuck with food your dog won’t eat. I tried for weeks to mix with food or as a topper as he says, gradually introduce the dry mix.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

All of it

Very expensive

Fraudulent guarantee

Company Response from Dr. Marty Pets

May 21, 2021

Hello Jule. My name is Kat, I am with Dr. Marty Pets. I am very sorry to hear about your experience. While many of our customers' pets enjoy our formula, we do understand that not every pet will love it. For this reason, we stand by our 90-day money-back guarantee. As it is industry standard, we do ask that you return the products if requesting a full refund, as to ensure that you gave the product a fair trial. As an extra convenience, we offer a 40% refund to customers who do not decide to send back the product containers. I am sorry for the confusion. I would like to escalate your review to our Customer Relations Team so that an agent may provide you with personalized care and ensure you are fully refunded for this order. Please email me at kat@dr.artypets.com, so we can get you fully refunded. Thank you.

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on May 14, 2021

New user

By Lara C., Vermont, Verified Reviewer

My Aussie loves it...when I brought the box in and took a bag out she was very eager to have what was inside before the bag was open. She gobbles it up and gets excited now when I say, “Do you want your Dr. Marty’s now.” I feed her kibble in the morning and Dr. Marty’s for the evening meal.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

That my dog loves it

Smells good

Ingredients are excellent

Cost

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 10, 2021

Amazing

By Malika M., Ontario, Canada, Verified Reviewer

My dog absolutely devours this! She hates kibble and was so happy and obsessed with this food. She got used to cooked food because of how picky she was so I didn’t expect her to go crazy for this but she sure did.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Smells great

Healthy

Nutrition

Took long to arrive

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 19, 2021

Wouldn't believe it if I didn't see it

By Ronald J., Hubert, NC, Verified Reviewer

Great dog food, the best I have ever found. My Australian Kelpie is more alert, more in tune, and his coat has a beautiful shine. We don't use only Dr. Marty's but we cut it with other dog food otherwise we want to go broke, lol.

Length of Use: 6–12 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Overall happiness in our dog

Sleeps better

Less anxiety

Cost

Only available online

Awesome dog food Monopoly

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 8, 2020

Problems for older dog

By Steve K., Tennessee, Verified Reviewer

We got this 3 days ago and have introduced slowly as a '"topping" on regular food for our 3 mini schnauzers. They loved it, even my picky eater. However, my 14-year-old dog had very soft bowel movements and then diarrhea within an hour. This is a dog who has never had an accident in the house in her life and had 3 in one night. Tried it again and the same result. I will be returning. I'm sure it is a quality product but my senior dog cannot tolerate it.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Dogs love it

Diarrhea

Too expensive

Company Response from Dr. Marty Pets

Dec 18, 2020

Hi Steve, this is Kat from Dr. Marty Pets here. We sincerely apologize for your negative experience with this product. We understand that every pet is different and that our supplements are not fit for every furry friend, which is why we always recommend consulting your veterinarian to ensure that our supplements are the right fit for your pet. We always stand by our 90 Day Money Back Guarantee. Please feel free to email me at kat@drmartypets.com for more information on this!

Helpful Review? 10 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 19, 2020

Best ingredients ever!

By William P., Palmetto, FL, Verified Reviewer

I bought this product for my senior dog, he was beginning to put on some weight and was turning his nose up to his usual food so I began adding it as a topper. I mix it with a powdered raw food to mimic chunks and wet and he gobbled it up. I started using more Dr. Marty's and less dry kibble and now he is exclusively eating a raw/dehydrated/freeze-dried diet and thriving!

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Raw

Multi sourced protein

Convenience

Price

Helpful Review? 9 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 16, 2020

My dogs love it, I've tried many

By Sunshine J., Modesto, CA, Verified Reviewer

My 2 Yorkies simply love it. I've tried numerous brands with no luck. It smells good, easy to serve, and they are both in the best of health. If you can afford it, it's the way to go, you won't be disappointed!

Length of Use: 6–12 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

The packaging

The smell

The cost

Helpful Review? 7 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 14, 2020

Amazing improvement in old dog

By Jerry F., Knoxville, TN, Verified Reviewer

We have an older Labrador Retriever who was having trouble moving about or crawling up on the couch to sit with my grandkids. My son-in-law kept referring to how we will bury her when she goes and if we might want to put her down one day. When I took the time to listen to Dr. Marty's presentation about nutrition it made sense that most dog food starts out as that which is unfit to feed a human. Then fillers bulk it up, and the whole mixture is cooked to death and dried into brown kibble. So, I thought I would at least try it to see if I might give her improved health.

To my surprise, only a few days into using ProPower Plus sprinkled on her regular food and offering the Nature's Blend food as a treat (a couple of handfuls) each day, she changed from lying down while she ate to excitedly running to her bowl and eating with enthusiasm. She also went from barely able to crawl onto the couch to jumping on the couch to happily interact with family members again. I truly believe these two products have improved and hopefully extended her life.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

It has brought back her excited nature to be with the family

It's too expensive to feed a Labrador just the Nature's Blend

Helpful Review? 9 People Have Voted
Showing 1-11 of 660

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.