Dr. Marty's ProPower Plus Review: A Detailed Look

By HighYa Research Team
Updated on: Sep 14, 2020

Dr. Marty’s ProPower Plus contains a blend of 14 health and digestive ingredients which allegedly delivers a long list of dog-friendly benefits, regardless of breed, age, or size.

The company states that this supplement may improve digestion, increased energy and alertness, boosted immune function, healthier teeth, less anxiety and nervousness, scratch-free skin, and a healthier, shinier coat.

To use, put one scoop of ProPower Plus’s powder over your dog’s food or a favorite snack, once per day. From there, the company promises that your pooch’s health will be supported from nose to tail.

Your dog is part of your family, so you want to ensure they’re as happy and healthy as possible. In this review, we will help you understand how ProPower Plus works and if it is the right option for your four-legged friend.

Analysis of Ingredients

The company indicates that ProPower Plus contains the following ingredients:

  • Super Pet probiotic-enzyme blend 1,000 mg or 2 billion CFU – Protease, Amylase, Cellulase, Hemicellulase, Lipase, Papain, Bromelain, Bacillus coagulans (SEBIOTIC®), Lactobacillus acidophilus, Bifidobacterium lactis/longum, Lactobacillus plantarum, and Fructooligosaccharides (DigebSEB®), Gum Acacia, Cellulose Plant Fiber
  • Champignon mushroom extract 80 mg
  • Kelp (Ascophyllum nodosum) thallus powder (Organic) 60 mg

The website also lists these nutrition details:

  • Crude Protein (min) 10.4%
  • Crude Fat (min) 0.31%
  • Crude Fiber (max) 28.1%
  • Moisture (max) 9%
  • Probiotics (min) 2 billion CFU/g

Using these numbers as a guide, Dr. Marty’s recommends the following serving sizes, based on your dog’s weight:

Dog Weight ProPower Daily Serving Size
1 - 10 lbs ½ scoop
11 - 35 lbs 1 scoop
36 - 55 lbs 1 ½ scoop
56 lbs+ 2 scoops

Outside of the ProPower Plus’s probiotic content, we’re left with two remaining ingredients: 80 mg of Champignon mushroom extract and 60 mg of kelp thallus powder.

We did not find any clinical support indicating that Champignon (“white button”) mushroom or kelp are specifically beneficial for humans or dogs.

However, mushrooms are high in fiber and protein, and they and kelp contain vitamins and minerals like selenium, potassium, copper, zinc, iodine, magnesium, iron, and calcium.

Safety

Like humans, dogs can take probiotics without the risk of serious side effects.

Mushrooms sold in large-chain grocery stores aren’t toxic to humans or dogs, which includes the mushrooms used to make this supplement.

It’s essential to talk with a veterinarian before giving your dog any supplements to help avoid potential side effects or interactions.

Pricing

ProPower Plus supplement is priced at:

  • 1 jar: $69.95
  • 3 jars: $188.85 ($62.95 per jar)
  • 6 jars: $356.70 ($59.45 per jar)

The company offers free shipping and a 90-day money-back guarantee, less the cost of return shipping.

Popular Alternatives to ProPower Plus

There are a lot of canine probiotic supplements competing with Dr. Marty’s ProPower Plus, many of which advertise the same general benefits.

They also share many of the same probiotic strains, prebiotics (food for the bacteria once they reach the gut), additional ingredients, and suitability for all ages, sizes, and breeds.

Their differences largely come down to pricing, formats, and specific formulations. Here how ProPower Plus compares to some of the top-rated options on Amazon:

Brand Price (Amazon) / Cost Per Serving Format # of Strains / CFU
Dr. Marty’s ProPower Plus $49.95 / $0.83–$3.33 Powder (scoop) 6 / 2 billion
Purina Pro Plan FortiFlora $27.99 / $0.93 Powder (sachets) 1 / 100 million
Zesty Paws Probiotic Bites $25.97 / $0.29–$0.87 Soft chews 5 / 3 billion
Nusentia Probiotic Miracle $39.99 / $0.11–$0.22 Powder (scoop) 6 / 360 billion
Advita Probiotic Supplement for Dogs $17.59 / $0.59 Powder (packets) 4 / 200 million
NutraPet Probiotics for Dogs $19.97 / $0.17–$0.67 Chewable tablets 3 / 200 million

Dogs can be picky eaters, so you might need to try more than one formula and format (powder, chewable, etc.) before landing on one that agrees with your pooch.

The Bottom Line

According to WebMD, the typical processed dog food delivers enough vitamins and minerals for your dog:

“Most dogs receive a complete and balanced diet – including necessary vitamins and minerals - from commercially processed dog food, according to the FDA. Dogs fed a homemade diet may need supplements.”

WebMD goes on to emphasize that if your dog already receives adequate nutrition, supplementing with additional vitamins or other ingredients can actually harm their health, rather than boost it.

What about from an effectiveness perspective? We talked with Dr. Dawn M. Booth, director of the clinical pharmacology lab at the Auburn University College of Veterinary Medicine, to get an answer.

“It’s hard finding quality evidence for the efficacy, much less the need, for these products,” Booth told us.

American Kennel Club (AKC) states that canine-oriented probiotic supplements are very popular with some veterinarians and that a great deal of anecdotal evidence exists to support their benefits.

Furthermore, the AKC advises there are also several one-off clinical trials indicating that probiotic supplementation could—like in humans—enhance immune response, reduce diarrhea, and eliminate the need for antibiotics in dogs.

To help you decide whether or not your dog requires supplementation, as well as assistance choosing the best product (if any at all) while avoiding side effects and medication interactions, it’s essential that you talk with your veterinarian beforehand.


Customer Reviews

Start your review of Dr. Marty ProPower Plus:
  • 360 Customer Reviews
  • 92% Recommend This Product
4.4 out of 5
5 star: 61% 4 star: 29% 3 star: 2% 2 star: 1% 1 star: 4%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Worthless

    • By Sheryl S.,
    • Vero Beach, FL,
    • Sep 13, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    Doesn’t work after 2+ months used on a 17 lbs Boston Terrier. Absolutely no improvement in skin condition. Also no change in her breath. Would rate a zero if I could. Want a refund for the remaining products and the empty jar husband saved. Purchased 6 jars but he threw one empty jar away.

    Pros and Cons:

    • No “pros” were specified in this review
    • Didn’t work
    • No changes in coat
    • No change in breath

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Sep 14, 2020

      Company Response from Dr. Marty Pets

      Hello Sheryl. I am sorry to read that our ProPower Plus was not the best choice for your Boston Terrier. We have many satisfied pups, but we understand that results may vary. Dr. Marty Pets advises our customers to consult their veterinarian prior to making any changes to their dog’s daily regimen, as the veterinarian will have the best advice for your particular pet. Please email me at kat@drmartypets.com so that I may provide a one-time full refund for your trouble. Dr. Marty Pets wishes you the best of luck in finding the appropriate routine for your pup’s needs. I wish you a wonderful day and I look forward to hearing from you soon.


  • It really works!

    • By Michael H.,
    • Mebane, NC,
    • Sep 5, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 2+ years
    Overall Experience:

    My dog is getting old and is slowing down, she developed an infection in her mouth, which we treated with antibiotics and Dr. Marty's ProPower, and I now have my dog back! She is perky and plays like she is much younger, and her appetite is back!

    Pros and Cons:

    • It works
    • Brought my dog back to being its normal self
    • Easy to use
    • Price is out of line
    • Too expensive
    • Reduce the cost

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • I'm grateful for this unbelievable product

    • By Paulette E.,
    • Sagle, ID,
    • Jul 22, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    I have a rescued 145 lb 9-year-old King German Shepherd who loves playing ball but after 4 months he started limping on his right front leg and I was told to stop letting him run freely. I have had two Veterinarians unable to diagnose any cause for this so he has been limping for 4 years even though on Deramaxx. Two months ago the limping got much worse, breaking my heart to watch him. My husband saw Dr. Marty's YouTube, I watched it but thought there was no way it would help my dog, BUT, what if it could? I started giving it to him on a Tuesday and by the following Wednesday he was no longer limping and after about 6 weeks he is still NOT limping even when he runs! He's more playful and has more energy as well.

    But that's not all, I started giving it to my 13-year-old Chihuahua, not expecting any changes. She has Collapsed Trachea common among Chihuahuas causing her to cough in her sleep and just walking causes her to stop and cough several times like she is choking. I had her checked for heart problems and the tests were negative. She coughed one night and we realized she hadn't been coughing for some time. She rarely coughs now and I can only credit Dr. Marty's ProPower Plus Powder as it is the only change in her diet. My heartfelt thanks for this great product as well as the great customer service!

    Pros and Cons:

    • It helped give my dogs a better quality of life
    • Eliminated my dog's limping
    • Greatly helped my dog's coughing
    • They don't always eat all of it when mixed in dry dog food
    • I would like a better way to get my dog to eat, the powder is hard to mix

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Dog refuses to eat it

    • By Ernesto M.,
    • Dallas, TX,
    • Jun 23, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    I bought this in hopes of helping my dog with his itching, bad breath, and digestion. All it did was give my dog diarrhea and he refuses to eat it anymore. It's only been a week. Also, when buying the products it offered me a deal to buy three more containers, apart from the one I planned to buy, and said I'll be paying $85 for four containers on a $200 deal. They lied. They ended up charging me $140, felt like a scam.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Easy instructions to follow
    • Fast delivery
    • Refuses to eat his food
    • Gave my dog diarrhea

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Jun 23, 2020

      Company Response from Dr. Marty Pets

      Hi Ernesto. My name is Kat and I am with Dr. Marty Pets. I am sorry to read that your dog has experienced diarrhea after trying our ProPower Plus. This is not a typical reaction and we would like more information. Please email me at kat@drmartypets.com so that we may assist you as soon as possible. We will also look into this pricing issue so that we may determine what happened. We offer additional deals to our customers so that they may take advantage of the discounts. These deals are billed in addition to the original order, and do not replace the original order. Again, I apologize for your experience and Dr. Marty Pets is committed to making this right. I wish you and your pet a wonderful day, and I am looking forward to hearing from you soon.


  • What a disappointment

    • By Laurie C.,
    • Kalamazoo, MI,
    • Jun 16, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    Take heed to other reviews regarding the amount you receive. I wish I had looked into this product further. My dog eats lots of grass on our walks so I thought I should try this, not realizing eating grass was a symptom of digestion problems. So, I ordered this product for the $50 price tag. Shocked when I saw the amount. Very small container, not even half full. The amount needed daily for my size dog would make this product lasting less than a month. For that price, I'm thinking she will develop wings to fly! Won't buy again and wish I hadn't wasted my money. Because if it does work I would never continue on this for $50 plus per month.

    Pros and Cons:

    • No “pros” were specified in this review
    • Price for amount

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Jun 17, 2020

      Company Response from Dr. Marty Pets

      Hello Laurie. My name is Kat and I am with Dr. Marty Pets. I am sorry to read your review of our ProPower Plus. All jars of ProPower Plus come with thirty scoops and are not filled to the top to prevent the powder from packing. We provide information on the recommended number of scoops by weight on our official website so that customers may make the best choice. As a courtesy, I would like to offer you a full refund on your purchase for your trouble. Please email me at kat@drmartypets.com so that I may get started on this right away. We understand that we may not be the best choice for every dog owner and we truly appreciate your feedback. I wish you a wonderful day and I look forward to hearing from you soon.


  • Pros and Cons of ProPower Plus powder

    • By Doreen K.,
    • Graham, WA,
    • Jun 9, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 3–6 months
    Overall Experience:

    I've been using the ProPower Plus Powder for about 3-4 months now for my two 12-year-old lab/Shepard mix rescues. I have seen a difference in the playfulness and more engagement of interest, though not much of a difference in the gas, and oh boy, it can clear a room. The bad breath that we were hoping the powder would address, it did not. Also the price, well, I hate to say that with two dogs I cannot afford Dr. Marty's price, I am not Oprah Winfrey or the other wealthy celebrities that Dr. Marty is so proud to say that he has serviced their dog's needs, so I am now in search of one that will be reasonably priced. It's not that I don't love my furry babies, I'm just not a rich person.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Some health improvement
    • Overpriced, unaffordable to help multiple dogs

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • I would not tell a friend to buy this

    • By Bonnie L.,
    • Iowa,
    • May 21, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I received my jar of ProPower Plus today and I couldn't believe my eyes at how small that jar is for the exorbitant price. It all looks like it could fit into a one-cup measure! I don't believe anyone can say they love animals, put out a gloom and doom video about pets not living long lives without this miracle powder, charging an arm and a leg for this stuff, and then sending this miniature jar of it to unsuspecting victims who just love their pets. Many of us are on a fixed income and can not afford this added expense per month no matter how much we love our pets...You should be ashamed, Dr. Marty.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • May 26, 2020

      Company Response from Dr. Marty Pets

      Hello Bonnie. My name is Kat and I am with Dr. Marty Pets. Every jar of ProPower Plus comes with thirty servings. Jars are not filled to the top to prevent overpacking and to allow for settling during the shipping process. As a one-time courtesy, I would like to offer you a full refund on your order. Please email me at kat@drmartypets.com so that I may get started on this right away. I wish you and your pup a wonderful day, I look forward to hearing from you soon.


  • Mixed review

    • By Betsy K.,
    • Alabama,
    • May 13, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Our Goldendoodle, Buster, has been taking ProPower Plus for about a month. He's finished the first jar and started on the second. He seems to really like it; however, I'm wondering if he may be allergic to some of the ingredients. He has started scratching quite often and he doesn't have fleas. The only thing that has changed in his diet is the addition of ProPower Plus.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • May 15, 2020

      Company Response from Dr. Marty Pets

      Hello Betsy. My name is Kat and I am with Dr. Marty Pets. While I am happy to read that your dog likes our ProPower Plus, I would like more information about your dog’s current reaction. We always advise our customers to consult their veterinarian prior to making any changes to their dog’s daily regimen, as results may vary. Please email me at kat@drmartypets.com so that we may have more information to assist you. I wish you and Buster a wonderful day and I look forward to hearing from you.


  • So disappointed

    Overall Experience:

    My senior dog often has soft/loose bowel movements, bad hips, coat is dull. I watched Dr. Marty's video all the way through and decided to buy the three jars of the ProPower. My dog would not eat her food when I put the two scoops in it, I tried it for days using the two scoops, I stuck with it until one of the jars was gone which actually was not very long, but now I have given up. I gave her food without the powder and she would eat that food. I am sad as I really hoped my doggo would be one of the ones that benefitted from this product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • May 15, 2020

      Company Response from Dr. Marty Pets

      Hi Jacqueline. I am Kat with Dr. Marty Pets. I am sorry to read about your experience with our ProPower Plus. We have many satisfied customers who have seen great results, but we understand we may not be the best choice for every dog. Dr. Marty Pets always advises our customers to consult their veterinarian prior to making any changes to their dog’s daily regimen, as results may vary. Dr. Marty Pets is proud to stand by our ninety-day money-back guarantee for all returns. Please email me at kat@drmartypets.com for more information and assistance with the return process. We genuinely appreciate your feedback. I wish you and your pup a wonderful day.


  • Response to supplement

    • By Gina C.,
    • Orlando, FL,
    • Apr 10, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have a 17-month-old American Staffordshire and Doberman mix. I have had him since he was about 4 months old. He was a stray I found that I believe was dumped. I also have a 14-year-old mix breed. I started both of them on the ProPower Plus 2 days ago. My 14-year-old seems to be tolerating it so far although she did eat grass tonight and her stool was a little loose. She has very bad hip dysplasia and bad knees and her coat is very dull. My 17-month-old has vomited twice so far. The first time was undigested food that he vomited about 4 hours after he ate. Tonight he vomited on me, it was liquid with some specks of undigested food in it, again about 4-5 hours after eating. He was on a homemade raw food diet that I do cook. But as he has gotten bigger it became too expensive. So he is now on half Blue Wilderness Basics and half homemade raw food cooked. He was on FortiFlora and seemed to do well with it. I felt like he needed a supplement due to the raw food diet. He doesn't wretch when he vomits, it just seems to come out of him. He is getting 2 scoops a day split between his 2 meals. He's a very active dog. I'm a little concerned about the involuntary vomiting. My 14-year-old so far seems ok. Is this something to be concerned about? Order# DP1156453. Will this correct itself and continue with the same dose? Not sure what to do? Please help.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Apr 23, 2020

      Company Response from Dr. Marty Pets

      Hi Gina. My name is Kat and I am with Dr. Marty Pets. I am sorry to read about your dog’s reaction to our ProPower Plus. Dr. Marty Pets always advises our customers to consult their pet’s veterinarian prior to making any changes to their dog’s daily routine, as results may vary. I see that you have been issued a full refund for your order. I apologize for your experience and I wish you the best of luck in the future when searching for the proper product for your dogs. I wish you and your family a wonderful day.


  • A question

    • By Dawn H.,
    • Tyler, TX,
    • Apr 3, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    A question - We just started giving our 11-year-old Maltipoo the ProPower Plus in hopes it will help her not eat grass and not itch or lick her paws. Can we split the dose and give 2 times a day instead of once? She loves the flavor and eats all her food when it is on it. Will it work the same? Hoping to give a 5-star review if this works. Also, how long does it take to see a difference?

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-11 of 360

Write a Review for Dr. Marty ProPower Plus!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Dr. Marty ProPower Plus Review