Jump To:
Our Editorial Review
Customer Reviews

Dr. Marty ProPower Plus

  This company has claimed this profile, is getting alerted on any new customer reviews entering this page, and may engage in dialogue with its customers to address their matters.

Companies cannot pay money or provide goods in order to remove or alter customer reviews.
Dr. Marty ProPower Plus

Overall Rating

4.4

366 Customer Reviews

Summary

The formula found in Dr. Marty’s ProPower Plus combines two billion CFU of four beneficial bacteria strains with enzymes and other ingredients that could help improve your dog’s health.

Write a Review

Dr. Marty's ProPower Plus Review: A Detailed Look

By HighYa Editorial Team

Updated on: Sep 14, 2020

Dr. Marty’s ProPower Plus contains a blend of 14 health and digestive ingredients which allegedly delivers a long list of dog-friendly benefits, regardless of breed, age, or size.

The company states that this supplement may improve digestion, increased energy and alertness, boosted immune function, healthier teeth, less anxiety and nervousness, scratch-free skin, and a healthier, shinier coat.

To use, put one scoop of ProPower Plus’s powder over your dog’s food or a favorite snack, once per day. From there, the company promises that your pooch’s health will be supported from nose to tail.

Your dog is part of your family, so you want to ensure they’re as happy and healthy as possible. In this review, we will help you understand how ProPower Plus works and if it is the right option for your four-legged friend.

Analysis of Ingredients

The company indicates that ProPower Plus contains the following ingredients:

  • Super Pet probiotic-enzyme blend 1,000 mg or 2 billion CFU – Protease, Amylase, Cellulase, Hemicellulase, Lipase, Papain, Bromelain, Bacillus coagulans (SEBIOTIC®), Lactobacillus acidophilus, Bifidobacterium lactis/longum, Lactobacillus plantarum, and Fructooligosaccharides (DigebSEB®), Gum Acacia, Cellulose Plant Fiber
  • Champignon mushroom extract 80 mg
  • Kelp (Ascophyllum nodosum) thallus powder (Organic) 60 mg

The website also lists these nutrition details:

  • Crude Protein (min) 10.4%
  • Crude Fat (min) 0.31%
  • Crude Fiber (max) 28.1%
  • Moisture (max) 9%
  • Probiotics (min) 2 billion CFU/g

Using these numbers as a guide, Dr. Marty’s recommends the following serving sizes, based on your dog’s weight:

Dog Weight ProPower Daily Serving Size
1 - 10 lbs ½ scoop
11 - 35 lbs 1 scoop
36 - 55 lbs 1 ½ scoop
56 lbs+ 2 scoops

Outside of the ProPower Plus’s probiotic content, we’re left with two remaining ingredients: 80 mg of Champignon mushroom extract and 60 mg of kelp thallus powder.

We did not find any clinical support indicating that Champignon (“white button”) mushroom or kelp are specifically beneficial for humans or dogs.

However, mushrooms are high in fiber and protein, and they and kelp contain vitamins and minerals like selenium, potassium, copper, zinc, iodine, magnesium, iron, and calcium.

Safety

Like humans, dogs can take probiotics without the risk of serious side effects.

Mushrooms sold in large-chain grocery stores aren’t toxic to humans or dogs, which includes the mushrooms used to make this supplement.

It’s essential to talk with a veterinarian before giving your dog any supplements to help avoid potential side effects or interactions.

Pricing

ProPower Plus supplement is priced at:

  • 1 jar: $69.95
  • 3 jars: $188.85 ($62.95 per jar)
  • 6 jars: $356.70 ($59.45 per jar)

The company offers free shipping and a 90-day money-back guarantee, less the cost of return shipping.

Popular Alternatives to ProPower Plus

There are a lot of canine probiotic supplements competing with Dr. Marty’s ProPower Plus, many of which advertise the same general benefits.

They also share many of the same probiotic strains, prebiotics (food for the bacteria once they reach the gut), additional ingredients, and suitability for all ages, sizes, and breeds.

Their differences largely come down to pricing, formats, and specific formulations. Here how ProPower Plus compares to some of the top-rated options on Amazon:

Brand Price (Amazon) / Cost Per Serving Format # of Strains / CFU
Dr. Marty’s ProPower Plus $49.95 / $0.83–$3.33 Powder (scoop) 6 / 2 billion
Purina Pro Plan FortiFlora $27.99 / $0.93 Powder (sachets) 1 / 100 million
Zesty Paws Probiotic Bites $25.97 / $0.29–$0.87 Soft chews 5 / 3 billion
Nusentia Probiotic Miracle $39.99 / $0.11–$0.22 Powder (scoop) 6 / 360 billion
Advita Probiotic Supplement for Dogs $17.59 / $0.59 Powder (packets) 4 / 200 million
NutraPet Probiotics for Dogs $19.97 / $0.17–$0.67 Chewable tablets 3 / 200 million

Dogs can be picky eaters, so you might need to try more than one formula and format (powder, chewable, etc.) before landing on one that agrees with your pooch.

The Bottom Line

According to WebMD, the typical processed dog food delivers enough vitamins and minerals for your dog:

“Most dogs receive a complete and balanced diet – including necessary vitamins and minerals - from commercially processed dog food, according to the FDA. Dogs fed a homemade diet may need supplements.”

WebMD goes on to emphasize that if your dog already receives adequate nutrition, supplementing with additional vitamins or other ingredients can actually harm their health, rather than boost it.

What about from an effectiveness perspective? We talked with Dr. Dawn M. Booth, director of the clinical pharmacology lab at the Auburn University College of Veterinary Medicine, to get an answer.

“It’s hard finding quality evidence for the efficacy, much less the need, for these products,” Booth told us.

American Kennel Club (AKC) states that canine-oriented probiotic supplements are very popular with some veterinarians and that a great deal of anecdotal evidence exists to support their benefits.

Furthermore, the AKC advises there are also several one-off clinical trials indicating that probiotic supplementation could—like in humans—enhance immune response, reduce diarrhea, and eliminate the need for antibiotics in dogs.

To help you decide whether or not your dog requires supplementation, as well as assistance choosing the best product (if any at all) while avoiding side effects and medication interactions, it’s essential that you talk with your veterinarian beforehand.

Customer Reviews

4.4 Stars out of 366 Reviews
5 Star:61% 4 Star:28% 3 Star:2% 2 Star:1% 1 Star:5%
92% Recommend This Product
Start your review of Dr. Marty ProPower Plus:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Apr 28, 2021

Portion bad but the little product you get is good

By Patty G. , Millville, NJ

So so disappointed that my jar WAS MAYBE 1/4 full! Not a happy customer! Want to reorder but don't want to get ripped off again! Another lady here said 1/3 full. How horrible to not fill jars and charge for air!

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Stopped her breath from smelling bad

Jar only maybe 1/4 full...disappointed

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Jan 13, 2021

Energy boost and new vitality for 14-year-old

By Steve L., California, Verified Reviewer

Our neighbor initially gave us a jar of ProPower Plus citing how it keeps her 17-year-old pup active and healthy. We were amazed at how quickly and positively it worked on our 14-year-old Queensland Healer/American Bull mix. Where she used to be what you might expect from a 14-year-old dog, ProPower Plus gave her new energy and character after the first jar! She started playing with her toys again and even gave her new-found energy on her walks around the neighborhood and open space! We're sure it re-awakened the puppy in her and we're very amazed at how it has increased her quality of life, even at 14 years old! Thank you Dr. Marty for ProPower Plus!

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

New-found energy in our 14-year-old

Dogs love the added taste to their meals

Simple to add to existing food

Wish there was more in every jar

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Jan 13, 2021

High price but little product

By Celia M., Wharton, TX, Verified Reviewer

I just wanted to comment on the amount of product inside the container of ProPower Plus. After I removed the seal and opened the container I saw that only a third of the container was filled. How disappointing.

I am a first-time customer and I had high hopes that this probiotic would help my dog but, even if it does, I will not be buying it again due to the small amount inside the container.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Dr. Marty Pets

Jan 20, 2021

Hi Celia, this is Kat from Dr. Marty Pets here! I am sorry to hear about your negative experience with this product. Just a reminder that if you are not 100% satisfied with your experience using this product, we always stand by our 90 Day Money Back Guarantee! Please feel free to email me directly at kat@drmartypets.com for more information on this!

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Jan 6, 2021

Very disappointed

By Madelaine S., Washington, DC, Verified Reviewer

Ordered this for my daughter's 3-year-old Golden Retriever. Since starting it, he has had explosive diarrhea and watery poops. He seems quite ill from it. He also seems very anxious. I bought 3 jars and wished I hadn’t. Very, very disappointed!

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Dr. Marty Pets

Jan 8, 2021

Hello Madelaine, this is Kat from Dr. Marty Pets. I am very sorry to read about your dog’s reactions to our ProPower Plus. We understand that every pet is different and that our supplements are not fit for every furry friend, which is why we always recommend consulting your veterinarian to ensure that our supplements are the right fit for your pet. We always stand by our 90 Day Money Back Guarantee. Please email me directly at kat@drmartypets.com for more information on this!

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Sep 30, 2020

Need to reorder!

By Alice B., Aurora, CO, Verified Reviewer

I stopped ProPower Plus to try a different product by Dr. Marty. My dog did not do well on the new product and finally refused to eat it. Dr. Marty returned my money for that product and I need to reorder ProPower Plus to get my dog back to his healthy and energetic self.

Length of Use: 6–12 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Improved movements and general attitude of my dog

No “cons” were specified in this review

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Sep 30, 2020

Diarrhea

By Debbie L., Enid, OK, Verified Reviewer

We gave the ProPower Plus to two of our dogs. They ate it for 2 days and seemed to like it. Then on day 3 one started having diarrhea, ending up in the vet's office after hours. We got home with that dog to find the other dog having the same problem. We are still trying to stop the diarrhea today. I'm sure the additive is good but our dogs reacted negatively.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

The dogs like the flavor

Diarrhea

Company Response from Dr. Marty Pets

Oct 2, 2020

Hello Debbie. My name is Kat and I am with Dr. Marty Pets. I am very sorry to read about your dog’s reactions to our ProPower Plus. This is not a common issue and we would like more information on your situation. Please email me at kat@drmartypets.com so that our team may investigate this right away. We advise you to please follow the recommendations from your veterinarian. I wish you and your family a wonderful day and I will be awaiting your response.

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Sep 13, 2020

Worthless

By Sheryl S., Vero Beach, FL, Verified Reviewer

Doesn’t work after 2+ months used on a 17 lbs Boston Terrier. Absolutely no improvement in skin condition. Also no change in her breath. Would rate a zero if I could. Want a refund for the remaining products and the empty jar husband saved. Purchased 6 jars but he threw one empty jar away.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Didn’t work

No changes in coat

No change in breath

Company Response from Dr. Marty Pets

Sep 14, 2020

Hello Sheryl. I am sorry to read that our ProPower Plus was not the best choice for your Boston Terrier. We have many satisfied pups, but we understand that results may vary. Dr. Marty Pets advises our customers to consult their veterinarian prior to making any changes to their dog’s daily regimen, as the veterinarian will have the best advice for your particular pet. Please email me at kat@drmartypets.com so that I may provide a one-time full refund for your trouble. Dr. Marty Pets wishes you the best of luck in finding the appropriate routine for your pup’s needs. I wish you a wonderful day and I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 5, 2020

It really works!

By Michael H., Mebane, NC, Verified Reviewer

My dog is getting old and is slowing down, she developed an infection in her mouth, which we treated with antibiotics and Dr. Marty's ProPower, and I now have my dog back! She is perky and plays like she is much younger, and her appetite is back!

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

It works

Brought my dog back to being its normal self

Easy to use

Price is out of line

Too expensive

Reduce the cost

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 22, 2020

I'm grateful for this unbelievable product

By Paulette E., Sagle, ID, Verified Reviewer

I have a rescued 145 lb 9-year-old King German Shepherd who loves playing ball but after 4 months he started limping on his right front leg and I was told to stop letting him run freely. I have had two Veterinarians unable to diagnose any cause for this so he has been limping for 4 years even though on Deramaxx. Two months ago the limping got much worse, breaking my heart to watch him. My husband saw Dr. Marty's YouTube, I watched it but thought there was no way it would help my dog, BUT, what if it could? I started giving it to him on a Tuesday and by the following Wednesday he was no longer limping and after about 6 weeks he is still NOT limping even when he runs! He's more playful and has more energy as well.

But that's not all, I started giving it to my 13-year-old Chihuahua, not expecting any changes. She has Collapsed Trachea common among Chihuahuas causing her to cough in her sleep and just walking causes her to stop and cough several times like she is choking. I had her checked for heart problems and the tests were negative. She coughed one night and we realized she hadn't been coughing for some time. She rarely coughs now and I can only credit Dr. Marty's ProPower Plus Powder as it is the only change in her diet. My heartfelt thanks for this great product as well as the great customer service!

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

It helped give my dogs a better quality of life

Eliminated my dog's limping

Greatly helped my dog's coughing

They don't always eat all of it when mixed in dry dog food

I would like a better way to get my dog to eat, the powder is hard to mix

Posted on Jun 23, 2020

Dog refuses to eat it

By Ernesto M., Dallas, TX, Verified Reviewer

I bought this in hopes of helping my dog with his itching, bad breath, and digestion. All it did was give my dog diarrhea and he refuses to eat it anymore. It's only been a week. Also, when buying the products it offered me a deal to buy three more containers, apart from the one I planned to buy, and said I'll be paying $85 for four containers on a $200 deal. They lied. They ended up charging me $140, felt like a scam.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Easy instructions to follow

Fast delivery

Refuses to eat his food

Gave my dog diarrhea

Company Response from Dr. Marty Pets

Jun 23, 2020

Hi Ernesto. My name is Kat and I am with Dr. Marty Pets. I am sorry to read that your dog has experienced diarrhea after trying our ProPower Plus. This is not a typical reaction and we would like more information. Please email me at kat@drmartypets.com so that we may assist you as soon as possible. We will also look into this pricing issue so that we may determine what happened. We offer additional deals to our customers so that they may take advantage of the discounts. These deals are billed in addition to the original order, and do not replace the original order. Again, I apologize for your experience and Dr. Marty Pets is committed to making this right. I wish you and your pet a wonderful day, and I am looking forward to hearing from you soon.

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 16, 2020

What a disappointment

By Laurie C., Kalamazoo, MI, Verified Reviewer

Take heed to other reviews regarding the amount you receive. I wish I had looked into this product further. My dog eats lots of grass on our walks so I thought I should try this, not realizing eating grass was a symptom of digestion problems. So, I ordered this product for the $50 price tag. Shocked when I saw the amount. Very small container, not even half full. The amount needed daily for my size dog would make this product lasting less than a month. For that price, I'm thinking she will develop wings to fly! Won't buy again and wish I hadn't wasted my money. Because if it does work I would never continue on this for $50 plus per month.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Price for amount

Company Response from Dr. Marty Pets

Jun 17, 2020

Hello Laurie. My name is Kat and I am with Dr. Marty Pets. I am sorry to read your review of our ProPower Plus. All jars of ProPower Plus come with thirty scoops and are not filled to the top to prevent the powder from packing. We provide information on the recommended number of scoops by weight on our official website so that customers may make the best choice. As a courtesy, I would like to offer you a full refund on your purchase for your trouble. Please email me at kat@drmartypets.com so that I may get started on this right away. We understand that we may not be the best choice for every dog owner and we truly appreciate your feedback. I wish you a wonderful day and I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted
Showing 1-11 of 366

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.