About Dr. Marty ProPower Plus

By Derek Lakin
Published on: Feb 21, 2019

Each dose of Dr. Marty’s ProPower Plus contains a blend of 14 health and digestive ingredients they advertise will deliver a long list of dog-friendly benefits, regardless of breed, age, or size.

Like what? Potential results advertised on their website include improved digestion, increased energy and alertness, boosted immune function, healthier teeth, less anxiety and nervousness, scratch-free skin, and a healthier, shinier coat.

All you have to do is sprinkle one scoop of ProPower Plus’s easy-to-serve powder over your dog’s food or a favorite snack, once per day. From there, Dr. Marty tells us your pooch’s health will be supported from nose to tail.

Your dog is part of your family, so you want to ensure they’re as happy and healthy as possible. But, does your four-legged friend need a dietary supplement and is Dr. Marty’s ProPower Plus necessarily the best option for maximizing value?

We’ll answer those questions by telling you what’s in this supplement, what science says about dog supplements and, specifically, probiotics, as well as how much the supplement costs and how it compares to similar products.

Dr. Marty’s ProPower Plus Ingredients and Nutrition Details

The supplement facts label listed on Dr. Marty’s website indicates that ProPower Plus contains the following ingredients:

  • Super Pet probiotic-enzyme blend 1,000 mg or 2 billion CFU – Protease, Amylase, Cellulase, Hemicellulase, Lipase, Papain, Bromelain, Bacillus coagulans (SEBIOTIC®), Lactobacillus acidophilus, Bifidobacterium lactis/longum, Lactobacillus plantarum, and Fructooligosaccharides (DigebSEB®), Gum Acacia, Cellulose Plant Fiber
  • Champignon mushroom extract 80 mg
  • Kelp (Ascophyllum nodosum) thallus powder (Organic) 60 mg

The website also lists these nutrition details:

  • Crude Protein (min) 10.4%
  • Crude Fat (min) 0.31%
  • Crude Fiber (max) 28.1%
  • Moisture (max) 9%
  • Probiotics (min) 2 billion CFU/g

Using these numbers as a guide, Dr. Marty’s recommends the following serving sizes, based on your dog’s weight:

Dog Weight ProPower Daily Serving Size
1 - 10 lbs ½ scoop
11 - 35 lbs 1 scoop
36 - 55 lbs 1 ½ scoop
56 lbs+ 2 scoops

Outside of the ProPower Plus’s probiotic content, we’re left with two remaining ingredients: 80 mg of Champignon mushroom extract and 60 mg of kelp thallus powder.

We didn’t encounter any third-party online articles or clinical support on sites like WebMD and the Natural Medicines Database during our research indicating that Champignon (“white button”) mushroom or kelp are specifically beneficial for humans or dogs.

However, mushrooms are high in fiber and protein, while both it and kelp contain vitamins and minerals like selenium, potassium, copper, zinc, iodine, magnesium, iron, and calcium.

Can Dogs Benefit from Taking Dietary Supplements?

According to WebMD, the typical processed dog food requires enough vitamins and minerals for your dog:

“Most dogs receive a complete and balanced diet - including necessary vitamins and minerals - from commercially processed dog food, according to the FDA. Dogs fed a homemade diet may need supplements.”

WebMD goes on to emphasize that if your dog already receives adequate nutrition, supplementing with additional vitamins or other ingredients can actually harm their health, rather than boost it.

What about from an effectiveness perspective? We talked with Dr. Dawn M. Booth, director of the clinical pharmacology lab at the Auburn University College of Veterinary Medicine, to get an answer.

“It’s hard finding quality evidence for the efficacy, much less the need, for these products,” Booth told us.

To help you decide whether or not your dog requires supplementation, as well as assistance choosing the best product (if any at all) while avoiding side effects and medication interactions, it’s essential that you talk with your veterinarian beforehand.

Can Dogs Benefit from Taking Probiotics?

In a nutshell, the American Kennel Club tells us that canine-oriented probiotic supplements are very popular with some veterinarians and that a great deal of anecdotal evidence exists to support their benefits.

Furthermore, the AKC advises there are also several one-off clinical trials indicating that probiotic supplementation could—like in humans—enhance immune response, reduce diarrhea, and eliminate the need for antibiotics in dogs.

Potential Side Effects Related to Dr. Marty’s ProPower Plus

Like humans, dogs can take probiotics without the risk of series side effects.

“We want to use things that are safe long-term. Probiotics fit that bill,” WebMD points out.

The Pet Health Network reports that mushrooms sold in large-chain grocery stores aren’t toxic to humans or dogs, which includes the mushrooms used to make this supplement.

Again, it’s essential to talk with a veterinarian before giving your dog any supplements to help avoid potential side effects or interactions.

How Much Does Dr. Marty’s ProPower Plus Cost?

How much you pay for ProPower Plus supplement depends on which Dr. Marty’s site you order from. For example, if purchased from TheCanineCode.com, customers will pay:

  • 1 jar: $49.95
  • 3 jars: $134.85 ($44.95 per jar)
  • 6 jars: $239.70 ($39.95 per jar)

If ordered from Dr.MartyPets.com, though, prices increase to:

  • 1 jar: $64.95
  • 3 jars: $173.85 ($57.95 per jar)
  • 6 jars: $329.70 ($54.95 per jar)

Both sites offer free shipping and 90-day money-back guarantees, less the cost of return shipping. Customers can request one by calling 800-670-1839 or sending an email to support@drmartypets.com.

Are There Other Dog Supplements Like Dr. Marty’s ProPower Plus?

There are a lot of canine probiotic supplements competing with Dr. Marty’s ProPower Plus, many of which advertise the same general benefits.

They also share many of the same probiotic strains, prebiotics (food for the bacteria once they reach your gut), additional ingredients, and suitability for all ages, sizes, and breeds.

Their differences largely come down to pricing, formats, and specific formulations. Here were some of the top-rated options on Amazon at the time of our research:

Brand Price (Amazon) / Cost Per Serving Format # of Strains / CFU
Dr. Marty’s ProPower Plus $49.95 / $0.83–$3.33 Powder (scoop) 6 / 2 billion
Purina Pro Plan FortiFlora $27.99 / $0.93 Powder (sachets) 1 / 100 million
Zesty Paws Probiotic Bites $25.97 / $0.29–$0.87 Soft chews 5 / 3 billion
Nusentia Probiotic Miracle $39.99 / $0.11–$0.22 Powder (scoop) 6 / 360 billion
Advita Probiotic Supplement for Dogs $17.59 / $0.59 Powder (packets) 4 / 200 million
NutraPet Probiotics for Dogs $19.97 / $0.17–$0.67 Chewable tablets 3 / 200 million

Like with humans, some formulas might work fantastically for one dog, but not at all for another.

Also, dogs can be picky eaters, too, so you might need to try more than one formula and format (powder, chewable, etc.) before landing on one that agrees with your pooch.

So, looking at these options through a price-per-dose lens, if you own a dog that weighs more than 56 lbs., Dr. Marty’s ProPower Plus costs more than three times the next highest competitor, FortiFlora.

Dr. Marty’s is cheaper than FortiFlora for dogs who weigh less than 10 lbs., but, even at this end of the spectrum, ProPower Plus is priced nearly eight times higher than the lowest-cost option, Nusentia.

» Recommended Reading: Dog Supplements 101: A Detailed Beginner’s Guide

Coming to a Final Conclusion About Dr. Marty’s ProPower Plus

Based on our thorough research of probiotics, and taking into account the commonalities between probiotics for humans and probiotics for dogs, we think there are four important reminders as you consider buying this dog supplement:

  • Making sure the manufacturer lists all bacteria strains and ingredients, including their CFU counts and concentrations
  • Checking online customer reviews, along with organizations like the Better Business Bureau, to ensure the company has mostly positive feedback
  • Browsing sites like ConsumLab.com and the Natural Medicines Database to learn if the specific formula has undergone testing, and if so, what the results were
  • Verifying the company offers a reasonable return policy (at least 30 days), with no restocking fees

Looking at ProPower Plus with these guidelines in mind, the company clearly lists all ingredients and concentrations on the supplement’s label, and the formula comes with wholly positive customer reviews on Dr. Marty’s website.

It hadn’t undergone testing at the time of publishing, but the company stands behind its product with a three-month return policy, which should be more than enough time to figure out if it delivers maximum value for your dog.

» See Also: CBD Oil for Dogs: Benefits, Potential Side Effects and Research Studies


Read 350 Dr. Marty ProPower Plus Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 4.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 221 4 star: 103 3 star: 9 2 star: 4 1 star:  13
Bottom Line: 94% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 350
Sort reviews by:

  • A question

    • By Dawn H.,
    • Tyler, TX,
    • Apr 3, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    A question - We just started giving our 11-year-old Maltipoo the ProPower Plus in hopes it will help her not eat grass and not itch or lick her paws. Can we split the dose and give 2 times a day instead of once? She loves the flavor and eats all her food when it is on it. Will it work the same? Hoping to give a 5-star review if this works. Also, how long does it take to see a difference?

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Dog won’t go near her food

    • By Paul S.,
    • Rhode Island,
    • Apr 2, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    I just received my order today and my dog will not even go near her food, never mind eat it. I spent a lot of money and I can’t believe she won’t go near it. I had hoped that this would work for her as she is our family. I don’t think it’s a bad product, maybe it has a smell that she picks up on, she is 4 years old, and been in the same food since we took her off puppy food. I hope that I will be able to return the product since she won’t touch it, had really hope it would work.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Apr 3, 2020

      Company Response from Dr. Marty Pets

      Hello Paul. I am Kat with Dr. Marty Pets. I am sorry to read that your dog is not interested in our ProPower Plus. We have many customers whose canines have seen great results, but we understand that we may not be the best choice for everyone. Dr. Marty Pets advises our customers to consult their pet’s veterinarian prior to introducing any new supplements into their pet’s daily regimen, as results may vary. Dr. Marty Pets is proud to stand by our 90-day money-back guarantee. Please email me at kat@drmartypets.com for assistance with the return process. Thank you for sharing your review. I wish you and your pup a wonderful day, and I look forward to receiving your email.


  • Amount per

    • By John B.,
    • Illinois,
    • Mar 11, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased 3 jars of the ProPower Plus for my son's dog. The amount of each jar was VERY disappointing to say the least. He is a 57-pound Pit Bull Mt. Cur mix. Two scoops a day won't last long. The jars were not even quite a third full. I could have put all three jars into one. I took a picture of the jar but no way to post on here. Have not had the product long enough, but can't afford to give to him every day. So I don't know the effects yet. Why waste plastic when all three jars could have been put into one. You think you are getting a lot. I opened the first one and thinking it must have been a mistake. So I opened the second and third. No mistake, all three had less than a third to a third of the product in each. So I cannot return any. That is on me. Just wanted to warn people that if you buy 6 or 9 jars they probably could have been put into a third of the jars you buy. Like I stated before, I have not had the product long enough to see any results, just disappointed in the amount I received. I wish I could have posted a picture of the jar.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Mar 11, 2020

      Company Response from Dr. Marty Pets

      Hello John. My name is Kat and I am with Dr. Marty Pets. All ProPower Plus containers are filled with 2.2 ounces of product. This product may settle during the packaging and shipment process. As each jar comes with thirty scoops, how long each jar lasts is dependent on the weight of your dog. We have posted our feeding recommendation for ProPower Plus on our official website. Dr. Marty Pets always advises our customers to consult their pet’s veterinarian prior to making any changes in their daily regimen, as results may vary. Dr. Marty Pets’ money-back guarantee honors all jars returned, even if they are opened and empty. If you have any questions or are dissatisfied with your purchase, I would be happy to help you. Please feel free to email me at kat@drmartypets.com. I want to thank you for your feedback. I wish you a wonderful day.


  • ProPower Plus

    • By Becky H.,
    • Cartersville, GA,
    • Dec 28, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I found Dr. Marty's presentation online one day totally by accident. After watching it, everything he spoke about resonated with the issues I had with my two small dogs. They're both old-timers, they both had bad breath and one has had surgery to remove two teeth and a loose third one was pulled. If you've ever had to have surgery to remove your pup's teeth, then you know how painful that is for them. The energy I thought they had lost due to age was another thing. One stayed bloated and the other has skin issues caused by yeast or fungus type sores. The medicine Terbinafine is dangerous to any dog's liver but was all that would help get rid of his sores along with Ketohex shampoo. Well, I immediately decided to try the ProPower Plus. It hasn't even been a month yet and already I can tell the difference.

    I now have two happy, healthier dogs with energy I haven't seen in years. No more bad breath, no more listlessness, and no more bloating. I recommend this to anyone who has noticed the symptoms that Dr. Marty talks about in his presentation. ProPower Plus really works! Who knew that having gut problems would be the cause of so many things? I didn't so thank you, Dr. Marty, I'll be a customer for life!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Can't use this product on my dogs

    • By Lynn B.,
    • Tennessee,
    • Dec 24, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered this product thinking that it would help my senior Weimaraner and my Yorkies. It gave my Weimaraner diarrhea, and gave the Yorkies bloody poop. I stopped giving this to them immediately. Once I stopped the Yorkies' bloody poop went away, but I had to take the Weimaraner to the vet. It might work for some dogs, but not mine. I ordered three bottles. I have one partially used bottle, and the other two are unopened. I need to return these. Please give me information on returning, and getting my refund.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Dec 24, 2019

      Company Response from Dr. Marty Pets

      Hello Lynn. My name is Kat and I am with Dr. Marty Pets. I am sorry to read about your experience with ProPower Plus. Your dogs’ reaction to ProPower Plus is not typical and I would like more information on your situation. Please email me at kat@drmartypets.com so that we may investigate further. I would also like to offer you a full refund for your purchase without any need for return. Dr. Marty Pets always advises our customers to consult their pet’s veterinarian prior to making any changes to their daily regimen, as results may vary. I would like to apologize again for your experience and I look forward to hearing from you.


  • ProPower Plus

    • By Gene W.,
    • Beaver, PA,
    • Dec 23, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Luxie is a ten-year-old Pit Bull. She is halfway through her second jar and her alertness, playfulness, and overall interest in other dogs and people is amazing. Luxie should be the poster child for any Pit Bull doubters. She is a happy and healthy girl with no elimination problems. We credit ProPower Plus for her positive attitude and her love of life! Thank you, Dr. Marty.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • ProPower digestive supplement

    • By Lori G.,
    • Rhode Island,
    • Nov 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My 12-year-old shepherd lab mix, although healthy, was experiencing gas, bad breath and belly bloating. He has been on ProPower for three weeks and so far, the bloating and gas have significantly improved and his breath is also getting better.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Did absolutely nothing for my dog

    • By Paula K.,
    • Connecticut,
    • Nov 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Ordered 3 bottles. Used one completely, as was told it takes time. After 2 months of "takes time" there was no improvement to be seen by me in coat, energy, pain control or enjoyment of eating...In fact, the first week he often refused the food, though I noticed no scent change in the product being added, but then, that's why I am a human and he is a dog. Customer support sends out "boilerplate" answers, but, if you keep on them, a real person answers. Bottom line here. It did not work for us, and I had such high hopes for him.

    I am sending back in the hopes of them honoring their guarantee of a full refund minus any shipping charges.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Nov 22, 2019

      Company Response from Dr. Marty Pets

      Hello Paula. I am sorry to read about your experience with ProPower Plus. We have many satisfied customers, but we understand that we may not be the right choice for everyone. We always advise our customers to consult their pet’s veterinarian prior to making any changes to their daily supplement regimen, as results may vary. Please email me at kat@drmartypets.com if you would like any assistance with the returns process. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. We genuinely appreciate your feedback. I wish you and your pup a wonderful day.


  • The probiotic powder

    • By Cyndy S.,
    • Sparks, NV,
    • Nov 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I tried the powder because my beagle was eating grass all the time. I saw the video and wanted to try it.

    She has been eating it now for three weeks and, I notice she doesn’t run to eat grass now at all.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Stomach issues are a thing of the past

    • By Judy C.,
    • Tracy, CA,
    • Nov 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Our Border Collie just turned 8 years old and has been bothered with a sensitive stomach since we adopted him at 9 months old. Stomach issues were problematic from the start. He would frequently wake us up in the middle of the night retching his dinner. Sometimes he would have red vomit, like blood. We would take him to the vet and nothing was found to be a medical issue. Many times he was eating berries from the neighbor's tree or plums that had fallen from our trees. Regardless of the cause, he was miserable. Once his stomach was emptied, he was back to his loving, playful self. We decided to try Dr. Marty's ProPower Plus. It has been almost two months since we started using ProPower Plus and there has not been one nighttime or daytime throw up. No more visits to the vet for his stomach issues. It has been a god-send. We comfortably recommend ProPower Plus to try.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Awesome food

    • By Wendy F.,
    • North Carolina,
    • Nov 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My dog was diagnosed with pancreatitis and we almost lost her. Dr. Marty's food has done wonders for her and my whole pack loves it. Thank you Dr. Marty, and my 3 dogs thank you as well.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-11 of 350

Write a Review for Dr. Marty ProPower Plus!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review
Dr. Marty ProPower Plus