About Dr. Marty's ProPower Plus

By Derek Lakin
HighYa Staff
Published on: Feb 21, 2019

Each dose of Dr. Marty’s ProPower Plus contains a blend of 14 health and digestive ingredients they advertise will deliver a long list of dog-friendly benefits, regardless of breed, age, or size.

Like what? Potential results advertised on their website include improved digestion, increased energy and alertness, boosted immune function, healthier teeth, less anxiety and nervousness, scratch-free skin, and a healthier, shinier coat.

All you have to do is sprinkle one scoop of ProPower Plus’s easy-to-serve powder over your dog’s food or a favorite snack, once per day. From there, Dr. Marty tells us your pooch’s health will be supported from nose to tail.

Your dog is part of your family, so you want to ensure they’re as happy and healthy as possible. But, does your four-legged friend need a dietary supplement and is Dr. Marty’s ProPower Plus necessarily the best option for maximizing value?

We’ll answer those questions by telling you what’s in this supplement, what science says about dog supplements and, specifically, probiotics, as well as how much the supplement costs and how it compares to similar products.

Dr. Marty’s ProPower Plus Ingredients & Nutrition Details

The supplement facts label listed on the Dr. Marty’s website indicates that ProPower Plus contains the following ingredients:

  • Super Pet probiotic-enzyme blend 1,000 mg or 2 billion CFU – Protease, Amylase, Cellulase, Hemicellulase, Lipase, Papain, Bromelain,Bacillus coagulans (SEBIOTIC®),Lactobacillus acidophilus,Bifidobacterium lactis/longum,Lactobacillus plantarum, and Fructooligosaccharides (DigebSEB®), Gum Acacia, Cellulose Plant Fiber
  • Champignon mushroom extract 80 mg
  • Kelp (Ascophyllum nodosum) thallus powder (Organic) 60 mg

The website also lists these nutrition details:

  • Crude Protein (min) 10.4%
  • Crude Fat (min) 0.31%
  • Crude Fiber (max) 28.1%
  • Moisture (max) 9%
  • Probiotics (min) 2 billion CFU/g

Using these numbers as a guide, Dr. Marty’s recommends the following serving sizes, based on your dog’s weight:

Dog Weight ProPower Daily Serving Size
1 - 10 lbs ½ scoop
11 - 35 lbs 1 scoop
36 - 55 lbs 1 ½ scoop
56 lbs+ 2 scoops

Outside of the ProPower Plus’s probiotic content, we’re left with two remaining ingredients: 80 mg of Champignon mushroom extract and 60 mg of kelp thallus powder.

We didn’t encounter any third-party online articles or clinical support on sites like WebMD and the Natural Medicines Database during our research indicating that Champignon (“white button”) mushroom or kelp are specifically beneficial for humans or dogs.

However, mushrooms are high in fiber and protein, while both it and kelp contain vitamins and minerals like selenium, potassium, copper, zinc, iodine, magnesium, iron, and calcium.

Can Dogs Benefit from Taking Dietary Supplements?

According to WebMD, the typical processed dog food requires enough vitamins and minerals for your dog:

“Most dogs receive a complete and balanced diet - including necessary vitamins and minerals - from commercially processed dog food, according to the FDA. Dogs fed a homemade diet may need supplements.”

WebMD goes on to emphasize that if your dog already receives adequate nutrition, supplementing with additional vitamins or other ingredients can actually harm their health, rather than boost it.

What about from an effectiveness perspective? We talked with Dr. Dawn M. Booth, director of the clinical pharmacology lab at the Auburn University College of Veterinary Medicine, to get an answer.

“It’s hard finding quality evidence for the efficacy, much less the need, for these products,” Booth told us.

To help you decide whether or not your dog requires supplementation, as well as assistance choosing the best product (if any at all) while avoiding side effects and medication interactions, it’s essential that you talk with your veterinarian beforehand.

Can Dogs Benefit from Taking Probiotics?

In a nutshell, the American Kennel Club tells us that canine-oriented probiotic supplements are very popular with some veterinarians and that a great deal of anecdotal evidence exists to support their benefits.

Furthermore, the AKC advises there are also several one-off clinical trials indicating that probiotic supplementation could—like in humans—enhance immune response, reduce diarrhea, and eliminate the need for antibiotics in dogs.

Potential Side Effects Related to Dr. Marty’s ProPower Plus

Like humans, dogs can take probiotics without the risk of series side effects.

“We want to use things that are safe long-term. Probiotics fit that bill,” WebMD points out.

The Pet Health Network reports that mushrooms sold in large-chain grocery stores aren’t toxic to humans or dogs, which includes the mushrooms used to make this supplement.

Again, it’s essential to talk with a veterinarian before giving your dog any supplements to help avoid potential side effects or interactions.

How Much Does Dr. Marty’s ProPower Plus Cost?

How much you pay for ProPower Plus supplement depends on which Dr. Marty’s site you order from. For example, if purchased from TheCanineCode.com, customers will pay:

  • 1 jar: $49.95
  • 3 jars: $134.85 ($44.95 per jar)
  • 6 jars: $239.70 ($39.95 per jar)

If ordered from Dr.MartyPets.com, though, prices increase to:

  • 1 jar: $64.95
  • 3 jars: $173.85 ($57.95 per jar)
  • 6 jars: $329.70 ($54.95 per jar)

Both sites offer free shipping and 90-day money back guarantees, less the cost of return shipping. Customers can request one by calling 800-670-1839 or sending an email to support@drmartypets.com.

Are There Other Dog Supplements Like Dr. Marty’s ProPower Plus?

There are a lot of canine probiotic supplements competing with Dr. Marty’s ProPower Plus, many of which advertise the same general benefits.

They also share many of the same probiotic strains, prebiotics (food for the bacteria once they reach your gut), additional ingredients, and suitability for all ages, sizes, and breeds.

Their differences largely come down to pricing, formats, and specific formulations. Here were some of the top-rated options on Amazon at the time of our research:

Brand Price (Amazon) / Cost Per Serving Format # of Strains / CFU
Dr. Marty’s ProPower Plus $49.95 / $0.83–$3.33 Powder (scoop) 6 / 2 billion
Purina Pro Plan FortiFlora $27.99 / $0.93 Powder (sachets) 1 / 100 million
Zesty Paws Probiotic Bites $25.97 / $0.29–$0.87 Soft chews 5 / 3 billion
Nusentia Probiotic Miracle $39.99 / $0.11–$0.22 Powder (scoop) 6 / 360 billion
Advita Probiotic Supplement for Dogs $17.59 / $0.59 Powder (packets) 4 / 200 million
NutraPet Probiotics for Dogs $19.97 / $0.17–$0.67 Chewable tablets 3 / 200 million

We didn’t test any of these formulas firsthand, so we can’t provide feedback regarding the effectiveness of their ingredients. And like with humans, some formulas might work fantastically for one dog, but not at all for another.

Also, dogs can be picky eaters, too, so you might need to try more than one formula and format (powder, chewables, etc.) before landing on one that agrees with your pooch.

So, looking at these options through a price-per-dose lens, if you own a dog that weighs more than 56 lbs., Dr. Marty’s ProPower Plus costs more than three times the next highest competitor, FortiFlora.

Dr. Marty’s is cheaper than FortiFlora for dogs who weigh less than 10 lbs., but, even at this end of the spectrum, ProPower Plus is priced nearly eight times higher than the lowest-cost option, Nusentia.

» Recommended Reading: Dog Supplements 101: A Detailed Beginner’s Guide

Coming to a Final Conclusion About Dr. Marty’s ProPower Plus

Based on our thorough research of probiotics, and taking into account the commonalities between probiotics for humans and probiotics for dogs, we think there are four important reminders as you consider buying this dog supplement:

  • Making sure the manufacturer lists all bacteria strains and ingredients, including their CFU counts and concentrations
  • Checking online customer reviews, along with organizations like the Better Business Bureau, to ensure the company has mostly positive feedback
  • Browsing sites like ConsumLab.com and the Natural Medicines Database to learn if the specific formula has undergone testing, and if so, what the results were
  • Verifying the company offers a reasonable return policy (at least 30 days), with no restocking fees

Looking at ProPower Plus with these guidelines in mind, the company clearly lists all ingredients and concentrations on the supplement’s label, and the formula comes with wholly positive customer reviews on Dr. Marty’s website.

It hadn’t undergone testing at the time of publishing, but the company stands behind its product with a three-month return policy, which should be more than enough time to figure out if it delivers maximum value for your dog.

» See Also: CBD Oil for Dogs: Benefits, Potential Side Effects and Research Studies

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 102 Dr. Marty's ProPower Plus Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 4.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 55 4 star: 42 3 star: 2 2 star: 0 1 star:  3
Bottom Line: 94% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 102
Sort reviews by:

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    My Mable is back

    • Umatilla, FL,
    • Jun 28, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My 5 lbs toy poodle Mable has had diarrhea and vomiting since she was a young pup, she’s 2 and 1/2 now more than not. We have spent thousands of dollars on tests and our veterinarian is talking about her T cells turning over too fast and is now testing her for cancer. What was once a 4-month-old playful happy puppy had turned into a 14-year-old dog dragging around sick all the time. I finally discovered Dr. Marty’s probiotic and food so I put her on both and we cannot believe the difference in her, she is back to her little puppy self running around in circles, playing and wagging her tail. Thank you, Dr. Marty, for putting out such wonderful, nutritious, healthy and tasty food. She loves it. While I'm fixing it she is bumping me on the back of the leg with her nose like hurry mom, I can't wait!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    ProPower Plus

    • Little Egg Harbor, NJ,
    • Jun 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Hard to judge since this is the first time I’ve used any product like this. Rusty is a happy, healthy dog - active with good eating habits. He still scratches quite a bit. This was the reason I decided to try your product. Our vet thinks it may be allergies and recommended Benadryl which I have not used yet. Still hoping your natural formula will provide relief. I will continue to use it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    ProPower Plus

    • Irving, TX,
    • Jun 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I started giving the ProPower Plus as suggested by the chart for my dog's weight and noticed changes within a few days. I think the combination of the raw diet has made a great difference in my dog's overall health. She seems more playful, eager to eat, coat sheen is nice, and her eyes just seem more clear and shiny. My hope is that when she does her next checkup with the vet that the vet will ask what is going on or how different she seems. I know the vet will notice her drop in weight and little waist! Maybe, for once I won't get the reminder to watch her diet but the suggestion to keep up whatever I am doing!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jun 28, 2019

      Company Response from Dr. Marty Pets

      Hello Rick. I am Kat with Dr. Marty Pets. I am happy to read that you are noticing such great benefits in your dog since beginning ProPower Plus. It must be a relief to see improvements in her mood and health. We always advise our customers to consult their pet’s veterinarian prior to introducing any new supplements into their dog’s feeding regimen, as results may vary. If you ever have any questions or concerns, please email me at kat@drmartypets.com. Thank you for taking the time to review ProPower Plus. I wish you and your dog a great day.


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Normal bowel functions now!

    • Virginia,
    • Jun 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have a 7-year-old Chihuahua and an 8-year-old YorkiePoo. Their coats were fine but my Chia suffers from constipation and irritated anal glands, my poodle from runny stools. It has only been two weeks of using the Probiotic Powder and I would say their stools are normal. They also seem to have more energy and are both playing more. I want my girls around many years to come so this is a worthwhile investment for me. Thank you Dr. Marty!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Excellent product

    • Monroe, WA,
    • Jun 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Started using the ProPower Plus the first of June and I have noticed drastic improvement on my black Labrador's coat condition, stool consistency, and eye clarity. My lab is a working and competition dog. He is at it hard every day. Seems to have more energy and stamina.

    Thank you!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Dr. Marty's PowerPro Plus

    • Florida,
    • Jun 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am so pleased with Ginger girls improvement since beginning ProPower Plus. I have already received my second jar of the PPPlus (I didn't want her to run out). I use to fear feeding her as her health has declined since January of this year. Pancreatitis with serious rectal bleeding. Then I saw your ad and knew that this was probably my only hope. Now she has normal feces every day and no vomiting. She loves the 1/2 scoop of powder every a.m. and her appetite is so improved.

    Thank you, Dr. Marty, for such a fine product. I was initially afraid this product was too good to be true.

    Ginger is 9 years old and only weighs 5 lbs. She is acting like my puppy again. I highly recommend this to all pet lovers for their piece of mind and a happier pet. Thank you.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jun 28, 2019

      Company Response from Dr. Marty Pets

      Hello Teresa. Kat from Dr. Marty Pets here. I am so pleased to read that your dog is experiencing such great benefits from our ProPower Plus. We always advise our customers to consult their pet’s veterinarian prior to introducing any new supplements into their dog’s daily feeding regimen, as results may vary. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. We appreciate your feedback and the chance to read your story. I hope you and Ginger have a fantastic day.


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Definitely making a difference

    • New Jersey,
    • Jun 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have a senior German Shepherd who has been eating a lot of grass, has been excessively gaseous to the point he drives us out of the room and would eat dog poop. After being on the powder for 2 weeks we've noticed a marked improvement. He is not gaseous, he is not eating grass and most importantly he's lost his interest in dog poop. I can't wait to get my next order so we can continue this treatment.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    ProPower Plus is great!

    • Ewing, NJ,
    • Jun 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Our senior wire fox terrier, Moe, is 14 and beginning to have digestive odor issues, and has always had a skin/itch problem.

    After 2 weeks on Dr. Marty’s ProPower Plus, we have seen him become way more alert and animated! He hops around for his food now in happy anticipation and the odors are much less.

    We were skeptical at first but are true believers now in this great diet supplement. Now we all look forward to Moe’s mealtime!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    My doggy has good energy.

    • Los Banos, CA,
    • Jun 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My doggy seems to be the same but he has always been an upbeat, I want to hang out with your kind of dog. He has good energy. He only eats grass when I’m talking to the neighbor. Like a child, he needs the attention. His coat looks shiny. He’s always up for a walk outside. He’s a regular eat, poop, sleep kind of pup. He’s eight years old.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    I think it’s helping!

    • Fenton, MI,
    • Jun 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have two Bullies and a Chorkie. My bullies have been having skin issues. My 10-year-old bully Lou doesn’t have much energy anymore. He just lays around chewing on his paws and has a lot of trouble walking and can barely make it up the stairs. My other 5-year-old bully Walter has major skin issues, and our Chorkie Rosie is 3 and just has horrible breath. Since I’ve been giving them the powder Rosie no longer has bad breath and Lou is definitely getting around better and starting to prance again. Wally’s skin is definitely improving also. I’m going to purchase the treats and the food as well. A little on the pricey side but after all the vet bills there will be no comparison. Thank you!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jun 28, 2019

      Company Response from Dr. Marty Pets

      Hello Emily. I am Kat from Dr. Marty Pets. I am happy to read that your dogs are experiencing such great benefits since beginning our ProPower Plus. Dr. Marty Pets works hard to create products packed with powerful ingredients so your dogs can become the best canines they can be. Our Customer Service Agents are always happy to help find any specials available to you via phone, email, or chat on our official website. If you have any questions about Nature’s Blend or Tilly’s Treasures, please do not hesitate to reach out to me at kat@drmartypets.com. I would love to hear from you. I wish you, Lou, Rosie, and Wally a wonderful day.


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    I have two completely different dogs (better than I could’ve imagined!)

    • Port Neches, TX,
    • Jun 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    A couple of years ago our family rescued two pets from our local Humane Society - one who’s name is Ned, is a 4-year-old lab basset mix; and the other, who’s name is Jake, is a 2-year-old Great Dane/Blackmouth Cur mix. Both of our pups as you can imagine were not great eaters when we first brought them home and we struggled with what dog food or supplement to give them or if we should make them homemade dog food, and after a lot of research, we decided to go the homemade dog food route. But due to time consumption making the food and our hectic schedules, as well as the cost of making our dogs the best food possible, we continued our search. Not only was I looking for a food or supplement that was not so outrageously priced that we could easily afford it, but I was looking for all natural whole food ingredients, because, after all, we do want the best for our two furry family members. Our dogs were not only struggling with less than great appetites and not eating well, but they always seem to be itchy not because of fleas, because we certainly checked them for that, and have been giving them flea and heartworm medication.

    I honestly was at a loss for what to do...when one day I was thumbing through Facebook and I saw the doctor and Marty’s Pets page and decided I would click on it. After I had the opportunity to listen to the video that was posted and read about the ingredients and all of the wonderful testimonials we decided to order the Dr. Marty ProPower Plus digestive supplement. Within just a few days I began to see them have not only heartier appetites, but they are much calmer and don’t seem to get into as much mischief...and I know how crazy that sounds that a supplement could affect the way that they act, but it really is true. We would come home to socks torn up and strewed all over the house and the garbage would be knocked over and gone through - you just can’t imagine the mess. But not anymore, believe it or not, if they do pick up a sock they bring it to us with no holes in it thankfully...and they no longer raid the garage when we are away. They also clean their bowls when we feed them and always seem to want more. And their skin condition or itching constantly has gotten so much better. Of course, they still scratch on occasion but it’s nothing like what it was like before when I thought we were going to have to take them to multiple vet appointments or put them on some sort of medication for a skin condition.

    Our family is truly much happier since our fur babies began the Dr. Marty’s ProPower Plus supplement because our pups seem healthier, happier, and so much more satisfied, and for us that’s a great feeling because we feel like we’re finally giving them something that’s great for them but also something they love at the same time. Thank you so much for this product, and your thoughtfulness and attention to detail where the ingredients are concerned.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jun 28, 2019

      Company Response from Dr. Marty Pets

      Hi Heather. My name is Kat and I am with Dr. Marty Pets. I am so happy to read your review of our ProPower Plus. We understand that making homemade dog food is costly and time-consuming, so I completely sympathize. I am sure it must have been a relief to see their appetites improve and be able to come home to a clean house. Dr. Marty Pets is committed to creating high-quality formulas packed with powerful probiotics and prebiotics, as well as digestive enzymes. Thank you so much for taking the time to review our ProPower Plus. We genuinely appreciate your feedback and the chance to read your story. If you ever have any questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to email me at kat@drmartypets.com. I would love to hear from you. I wish you, Ned, and Jake a wonderful day.


Showing 1-11 of 102

Write a Review for Dr. Marty's ProPower Plus!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review