Nutra Thrive Review: A Detailed Look

By HighYa Research Team
Updated on: Sep 14, 2020

Nutra Thrive from Ultimate Pet Nutrition is an all-natural pet supplement that you add to your dog’s food that is claimed to provide a balance between good and bad bacteria to promote healthy digestions.

It comes in a powdered form and is intended to be used at every meal. It’s flavored like bacon and includes a variety of vitamins, minerals, antioxidants, and digestive enzymes.

You simply add the proper dosage to your dog’s bowl of food, pour in a bit of water, and then mix the food and supplement around until you can’t see the powder anymore and it’s evenly coating the food.

The dosage suggestions that Nutra Thrive provides are:

  • 0–30 lbs: 1 scoop per meal
  • 30–50 lbs: 1 ½ scoop per meal
  • 50+ lbs: 2 scoops per meal

If your dog eats twice a day, then you give half the recommended dosage at each feeding.

The company notes that it’s best-suited for any dogs that are suffering from conditions that “could be caused by insufficient nutrition.” An example of these conditions include:

  • Bad smells
  • Flatulence
  • Tiredness
  • Abnormal stools
  • Achy joints
  • Anxiety
  • “Lackluster coat”

Ingredients: Benefits and Safety

Nutra Thrive has three main groups of ingredients that the company calls the Superfoods Blend, Super Canine Blend, and Probiotic and Enzyme Blend.

The product’s label reveals the following list of key ingredients:

  • Superfoods Blend: Carrot; reishi, shiitake and maitake mushroom blend; Methyl-sulfonylmethane; Spirulina; Chlorella
  • Super Canine Blend: Glutathione inactive yeast; beef liver
  • Probiotic and Enzyme Blend: Lactobacillus casei; Lactobacillus plantarum
  • Vitamin and Mineral Blend: Kelp, Biotin, Riboflavin, Folic acid

Detailing each of the ingredients would be tedious, so we’ve researched key ingredients in each blend.

The American Kennel Club (AKC) notes that mushrooms aren’t necessary for a dog’s diet but that carrots are a great alternative.

“Dogs do not need mushrooms in their diet, so play it safe and give them a different reward, like a carrot stick or slice of apple, instead,” the AKC states.

If you are going to give your dog mushrooms, the AKC recommends giving them to your dog plain and without spices or oils, which Nutra Thrive does.

Glutathione is an antioxidant that earns high praise from Dr. Deva Khalsa, a homeopathic vet who wrote an article in Animal Wellness magazine about the ingredient’s benefits.

“Though small, glutathione is the uncontested king of antioxidants. Without it, all your dog’s cells would disintegrate and die from unrestrained oxidation,” Khalsa writes.

However, she goes on to say that the antioxidant is useless when ingested orally because the body digests it and excretes it before it can provide health benefits.

“Since this antioxidant is made up of three amino acids, the oral route of administration simply does not work because the glutathione is digested,” she wrote. “For example, asparagus contains more available glutathione than any other food, but the GI tract digests most of it.”

Probiotics are a booming industry for humans and they’re becoming a big deal in the pet world, too. The AKC says that probiotics can be helpful for your dog’s gastrointestinal tract, especially if they’re prone to getting diarrhea when they’re nervous or stressed.

However, the evidence the AKC presented about the anti-diarrheal powers of probiotics related to Bifidobacterium animalis and not the two bacteria in Nutra Thrive. They do point out, however, that Lactobacillus casei, which Nutra Thrive includes, is naturally present in your dog’s gut.

The final group of ingredients is the vitamin and mineral blend and it’s here where we find a few ingredients proven to be beneficial for your pup. Biotin is well-known for helping create a shiny, lustrous coat and strengthen tendons and ligaments.

We read a few sources that noted riboflavin can help with your dog’s coat, too.

As for folic acid, Dr. Barbara Forney, a veterinary practitioner in Pennsylvania, said that the ingredient has some very specific uses and that its effectiveness could be altered if your dog is taking certain drugs.

“Before administering supplemental folic acid … folate levels should be established,” she further noted.

To summarize, some of the ingredients in Nutra Thrive will benefit your dog (biotin, for example) and some will pass through your pup’s digestive system without much effect on their health (glutathione).

The above ingredients are considered generally safe.

Pricing

Nutra Thrive is priced at:

  • 1 jar: $69.99
  • 3 jars: $188.97
  • 6 jars: $356.95

The 114-gram jar has 30 scoops, which means dogs of 0–30 pounds will need one jar a month. Dogs weighing 31–50 pounds can get 20 days out of the jar, and dogs weighing more than 50 pounds will get 15 days out of the jar.

So, if you have a big dog that requires two scoops per serving, you’ll need two jars to make it through the month. Over the course of one year, here’s how much Nutra Thrive would cost you based on their weight, assuming you buy six jars at a time:

  • Small dog (0–30 lbs.): $713.90
  • Medium dog (30–50 lbs.): $1,070.85
  • Large dogs (50+ lbs.): $1,427.80

The company states that it will take 10–15 days for the supplement to arrive after you order it.

If you aren’t happy with the supplement, you have 90 days from the day the product was shipped to start a return in order to get a refund.

The Bottom Line

Nutra Thrive has ingredients that can help your dog. For example, biotin is known to improve your dog’s coat and help with dry skin. Lactobacillus casei is a probiotic that may be able to help your dog with digestive issues like diarrhea.

However, there are other ingredients that experts say may not have a big effect – if any – on your dog’s health. For example, a vet noted that glutathione will pass through your dog’s body with little effect on your dog’s health. Folic acid could help your dog but you’d need to have your vet check your dog’s folic acid levels before taking Nutra Thrive, another vet pointed out.

And, there’s the issue of dog supplements in general. The AKC concludes that dog supplements can be helpful but there’s sparse research about the long-term effects.

“Whether herbal or lab-formulated, there is some evidence to suggest that supplements can be helpful. There has been little-to-no research on long-term effects, but some studies and anecdotal evidence have shown successful results, whether in the form of a shinier coat, peppier step, better digestion, or improved cognitive function.”


Customer Reviews

Start your review of Nutra Thrive:
  • 1084 Customer Reviews
  • 94% Recommend This Product
4.5 out of 5
5 star: 72% 4 star: 19% 3 star: 2% 2 star: 0% 1 star: 4%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Very impressed

    • By Mary R.,
    • Highland Falls, NY,
    • Sep 14, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    I was afraid I was being sucked into an infomercial but I was equally impressed with the message the vet was promoting on the holistic benefits of supplemental feeding that could enhance my dog’s overall well being. I decided to give it a try. Still feeling kind of foolish at the extravagant expense, I began adding small amounts to my large Goldendoodles’ diet, gradually building up to the two-scoop per feeding. I thought I was seeing things. Was my dog responding quicker to commands? Was my dog getting up and off the sofa easier? Was my dog walking faster? Was my dog acting happier? I had stopped playing with my 11-year-old dog poolside because it left him so sore, almost crippled, the next day. How he loved playing volleyball with a bouncing ball. He’d chase that ball around the pool for hours as a pup. Well, guess what? This 11-year-old dog is back to his younger days, enjoying life, tiring himself out doing the things he has always enjoyed doing. He has 100% benefited from Nutra Thrive and I will share this supplement with any dog owner who wants to see their dog live a happier, fuller life.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Ease
    • Taste
    • Convenient
    • Price
    • Size
    • Should say scoop is enclosed

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Happy with results

    • By Rhonda M.,
    • Shannon Hills, AR,
    • Sep 5, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    Our poor dog was lethargic, had terrible allergies and stunk so bad we couldn't let her in her the house. She itched so bad, she would chew her hair off and make her skin bleed. After a couple of weeks, she's eating much better, is peppy, smell is much better, and itching has decreased a lot. She looks healthier and happier overall. She likes the taste also.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Positive results on dog
    • Price

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Sep 10, 2020

      Company Response from Ultimate Pet Nutrition

      Hi Rhonda, Shayne from Ultimate Pet Nutrition here! Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear that our products are serving your pup well! Have a great day!


  • Great, you should try it

    • By Donna F.,
    • Cheboygan, MI,
    • Aug 26, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 1–2 years
    Overall Experience:

    I have a 14-year-old pom that was suffering with leg issues and was low on energy. Well, I can honestly tell you this, there are days when I swear that I am going to take it away, as she is so full of the devil I get tired. But best of all, her legs are doing great. My vet wanted to know what I was giving her because he told me she has the heart and lungs of an 8-year-old. I tell everyone about it, especially if they have an aging pet.

    Pros and Cons:

    • New way of life
    • Her energy and she seems happier
    • And my vet's happiness with her aging
    • No “cons” were specified in this review

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Sep 10, 2020

      Company Response from Ultimate Pet Nutrition

      That is so great to hear, Donna! Thank you for sharing. Have a great day!


  • Why not just feed a raw diet

    • By Shona S.,
    • London, Ontario, Canada,
    • Aug 18, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Why not feed a raw diet with added Kelp, Omega 3 fish oil, and no Omega 6 as everyone gets too much Omega 6 and glucosamine/chondroitin. Maybe some golden turmeric paste as well. My dogs are thriving and one is 16.5, 13, and 8 years old with no health conditions.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Some of the minerals and vitamins
    • Too much money for veggies

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Sep 2, 2020

      Company Response from Ultimate Pet Nutrition

      Hi Shona, we always ask that our customers and other pet parents consult their pet's primary veterinarian prior to starting their dog on any new diet. We also understand that all dogs are different and might require different diets! Don't hesitate to reach out to me at shayne@ultimatepetnutrition.com if you have any other questions.


  • Buster looks, sounds, and acts like a healthy cat...finally.

    • By Heidi H.,
    • Tyngsboro, MA,
    • Jul 29, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 3–6 months
    Overall Experience:

    Because of Nutra Thrive my cat eats serving sizes for the first time in his life. He has no trace of the itchy scabs that covered over 90% of his bony hair-patched body. Muscle tone replaced the wheezy sound his lungs made with every breath. Fat now cushions his bones. He no longer strays from attention and affection. This product transformed his mental and physical health completely!

    Pros and Cons:

    • Price
    • Shipping cost
    • Effectiveness
    • Can only feed with tuna because of taste
    • Ingredients on label too small to read
    • Needs expiration date not just date made

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Causes diarrhea in senior dog

    • By Sheila K.,
    • Copeville, TX,
    • Jul 28, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 3–6 months
    Overall Experience:

    We have a 19-year-old yellow lab and an 11-year-old mini Aussie. I’ve bought four jars and haven’t seen any positive effects. It gave our lab diarrhea so we cut him back to half the recommended amount and he still has it intermittently. It also hasn’t helped his coat or mobility. Both were reasons that I purchased it in the first place. It seems to have the opposite effect on our Aussie. She’s so constipated she can hardly go at all. I’m outside the 90-day return window so I’ll have to take the loss and just throw it away and try something else. I wouldn’t recommend giving this to senior dogs, at all. They can’t afford the loss of electrolytes, especially in the summer.

    Pros and Cons:

    • No “pros” were specified in this review
    • Caused diarrhea in senior yellow lab
    • Caused constipation in senior mini Aussie
    • Haven’t seen any positive effects on coats or mobility

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Jul 30, 2020

      Company Response from Ultimate Pet Nutrition

      Hi Sheila, we sincerely apologize for your dogs' negative experience using our products. We understand that while the majority of our customers are happy with our products, everyone is different. We always recommend that pet parents consult their dog’s primary veterinarian before starting any new supplement, as we do understand that supplements may work well for some dogs and not for others. We always stand by our 90 Day Money Back Guarantee! Please email me at shayne@ultimatepetnutrition.com and I would be happy to help you in resolving your issue.


  • Beware

    • By Frank P.,
    • Florida,
    • Jul 21, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    Gave it to my 2 Yorkies...after 2 days both were vomiting (violently) and had bad diarrhea. I stopped until stools were normal, then tried again. Same result. Sending it back.

    Pros and Cons:

    • No “pros” were specified in this review
    • Made my dogs very sick

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Jul 30, 2020

      Company Response from Ultimate Pet Nutrition

      Hi Frank, thank you for reaching out. We sincerely apologize for the negative experience your dog had! We always recommend consulting your dog’s primary veterinarian prior to starting any new supplement, as we do understand that supplements may work well for some dogs and not for others. We always stand by our 90 Day Money Back Guarantee. Please email me at shayne@ultimatepetnutrition.com and I would be happy to help you in resolving this issue.


  • Up in the air

    • By Maleah P.,
    • Pennsylvania,
    • Jul 21, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    My girl hasn’t been on it long enough to tell if it is going to help her. It is easy to give and she seems to like the flavor.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Easy to give
    • She likes the flavor
    • The jar I got was outdated in 2018
    • Did not get what I paid for
    • Can’t be beneficial if the nutritional value is decreased

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Sep 2, 2020

      Company Response from Ultimate Pet Nutrition

      Hi Maleah, I'm happy to hear that your pup is liking the flavor of Nutra Thrive! Don't hesitate to reach out to me at Shayne@ultimatepetnutrition.com if you have any questions along the way.


  • Waste of money!

    • By Melissa M.,
    • Battle Creek, MI,
    • Jul 15, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    Both jars are expired and I bought 3 and only received 2 of them. Jars are almost empty. I will not give this to my cats.

    Pros and Cons:

    • No “pros” were specified in this review
    • Almost empty jars
    • Expired

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Jul 16, 2020

      Company Response from Ultimate Pet Nutrition

      Hi Melissa, we sincerely apologize for your negative experience with our products! The date on the bottom of our jars is the date the product was manufactured, and our products do not expire until 18 months after this listed date. Because our products do not list the expiration date, people often confuse the manufactured date for the expiration date. We apologize for this confusion. Just a reminder that if you are not 100% satisfied with our products, we do have a 90 Day Money Back Guarantee. Please feel free to email me at shayne@ultimatepetnutrition for more information!


  • False warranty - can't get a refund from the company

    • By Susan R.,
    • California,
    • Jul 7, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    Other one-star responses on your website got a response from the Nutra Thrive Company from someone named Shayne, promising to make good on the refund. I tried emailing Shayne to get my refund and this is what I received:

    Your message did not reach some or all of the intended recipients.

    Subject: FW: Ultimate Pet Nutrition CASE4651417

    Sent: 7/4/2020 8:48 AM

    The following recipient(s) cannot be reached:

    'Shayne@ultimatepetnutrition.com.' on 7/4/2020 8:48 AM

    Server error: 'Invalid recipient'

    Just wanted you to know this company is fraudulent in promising to honor their refund policy.

    Pros and Cons:

    • No “pros” were specified in this review
    • Does not honor their refund policy

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Sep 2, 2020

      Company Response from Ultimate Pet Nutrition

      Hi Susan, I'm Shayne. I am deeply sorry to hear about this upsetting experience and I would like to look into this right away. This is the first I'm hearing of a customer receiving a bounce-back e-mail from my inbox, and I'm still actively receiving e-mails. Could it be because there is a period at the end of my e-mail address, where there shouldn't be? I'll get with my I.T. team to ensure that this does not happen again. I'll be messaging you privately through this platform to get your e-mail address so I can make sure you indeed received a full refund. Please keep a lookout for a message from me through HighYa.


  • Updated review

    Update

    • By Kathy L.,
    • Arden, NC,
    • Jun 15, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    I exchanged several emails with this company explaining the problem my dog had while taking Nutra Thrive. He had loose stools to diarrhea while on the supplement. Ultimate Pet customer service says a dog having a diarrhea response for 60 days from taking Ultra Thrive supplements is considered a NORMAL response for a dog beginning their supplement. That is not normal. Then causing the customer to spend out of pocket money, more than the return cost, to correct a problem caused by your product. My only request of Ultimate Pets was to waive the return of empty jars considering I spent that much to correct the problem the supplement caused. I rarely have the need to write a negative review, but when given the benefit of a doubt to do the right thing, this company has no sympathy for your pet's health. Three empty jars with no lids. Good grief.

    Pros and Cons:

    • No “pros” were specified in this review
    • Uncompromising
    • Failed to understand severity of the issue
    • Customer bares to cost to correct issues the supplement caused

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Jun 18, 2020

      Company Response from Ultimate Pet Nutrition

      We are so sorry for the frustration. Our customer service team did issue you a full refund in the amount of $144.29 on 6/6. Please allow 5-10 business days for the refund to reflect on your bank account. I hope this helps. Feel free to email me directly at Shayne@ultimatepetnutrition.com if you have any further questions, comments, or concerns.

    • Previous review
    • Jun 9, 2020

    Bad breath didn't go away and poops stayed the same

    This product seems like it can be beneficial for some aspects of a dog's health. My dog is very healthy anyway. Except for his bad breath. He has excellent oral health so I know the odor isn't coming from his gums or teeth being the problem. So I was thinking this product could settle his tummy and resolve the bad breath. It did not. As for his stools, they're fine anyway but was hoping that with a settled tummy the ingredients it would really firm them up. Again, it did not. Unfortunately, the opposite occurred, the stools were less firm than before and he seemed to be having more trouble pottying. I had to discontinue the product at 60 days because the stools became soft and just didn't firm back up like they were before starting the product. He was "moving" in the wrong direction. Nutra Thrive just wasn't the right product for my dog.

    • Jun 10, 2020

      Company Response from Ultimate Pet Nutrition

      Hi Kathy, Shayne here from UPN. I'm really sorry to hear that you did not see the results you were hoping to see in your pup. We understand that NutraThrive may not work for everyone's pets but this is why we offer a 90-Day Money-Back Guarantee. I've taken a look into your account and see that you've connected with one of our agents and were issued a refund and provided a return slip. If there are any other questions, please don't hesitate to reach out to me at Shayne@ultimatepetnutrition.com. Thank you.

    (read moreread less...)

Showing 1-11 of 1084

Write a Review for Nutra Thrive!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Nutra Thrive Review