Nutra Thrive Review: A Detailed Look

By HighYa Editorial Team
Updated on: Sep 14, 2020

Nutra Thrive from Ultimate Pet Nutrition is an all-natural pet supplement that you add to your dog’s food that is claimed to provide a balance between good and bad bacteria to promote healthy digestions.

It comes in a powdered form and is intended to be used at every meal. It’s flavored like bacon and includes a variety of vitamins, minerals, antioxidants, and digestive enzymes.

You simply add the proper dosage to your dog’s bowl of food, pour in a bit of water, and then mix the food and supplement around until you can’t see the powder anymore and it’s evenly coating the food.

The dosage suggestions that Nutra Thrive provides are:

  • 0–30 lbs: 1 scoop per meal
  • 30–50 lbs: 1 ½ scoop per meal
  • 50+ lbs: 2 scoops per meal

If your dog eats twice a day, then you give half the recommended dosage at each feeding.

The company notes that it’s best-suited for any dogs that are suffering from conditions that “could be caused by insufficient nutrition.” An example of these conditions include:

  • Bad smells
  • Flatulence
  • Tiredness
  • Abnormal stools
  • Achy joints
  • Anxiety
  • “Lackluster coat”

Ingredients: Benefits and Safety

Nutra Thrive has three main groups of ingredients that the company calls the Superfoods Blend, Super Canine Blend, and Probiotic and Enzyme Blend.

The product’s label reveals the following list of key ingredients:

  • Superfoods Blend: Carrot; reishi, shiitake and maitake mushroom blend; Methyl-sulfonylmethane; Spirulina; Chlorella
  • Super Canine Blend: Glutathione inactive yeast; beef liver
  • Probiotic and Enzyme Blend: Lactobacillus casei; Lactobacillus plantarum
  • Vitamin and Mineral Blend: Kelp, Biotin, Riboflavin, Folic acid

Detailing each of the ingredients would be tedious, so we’ve researched key ingredients in each blend.

The American Kennel Club (AKC) notes that mushrooms aren’t necessary for a dog’s diet but that carrots are a great alternative.

“Dogs do not need mushrooms in their diet, so play it safe and give them a different reward, like a carrot stick or slice of apple, instead,” the AKC states.

If you are going to give your dog mushrooms, the AKC recommends giving them to your dog plain and without spices or oils, which Nutra Thrive does.

Glutathione is an antioxidant that earns high praise from Dr. Deva Khalsa, a homeopathic vet who wrote an article in Animal Wellness magazine about the ingredient’s benefits.

“Though small, glutathione is the uncontested king of antioxidants. Without it, all your dog’s cells would disintegrate and die from unrestrained oxidation,” Khalsa writes.

However, she goes on to say that the antioxidant is useless when ingested orally because the body digests it and excretes it before it can provide health benefits.

“Since this antioxidant is made up of three amino acids, the oral route of administration simply does not work because the glutathione is digested,” she wrote. “For example, asparagus contains more available glutathione than any other food, but the GI tract digests most of it.”

Probiotics are a booming industry for humans and they’re becoming a big deal in the pet world, too. The AKC says that probiotics can be helpful for your dog’s gastrointestinal tract, especially if they’re prone to getting diarrhea when they’re nervous or stressed.

However, the evidence the AKC presented about the anti-diarrheal powers of probiotics related to Bifidobacterium animalis and not the two bacteria in Nutra Thrive. They do point out, however, that Lactobacillus casei, which Nutra Thrive includes, is naturally present in your dog’s gut.

The final group of ingredients is the vitamin and mineral blend and it’s here where we find a few ingredients proven to be beneficial for your pup. Biotin is well-known for helping create a shiny, lustrous coat and strengthen tendons and ligaments.

We read a few sources that noted riboflavin can help with your dog’s coat, too.

As for folic acid, Dr. Barbara Forney, a veterinary practitioner in Pennsylvania, said that the ingredient has some very specific uses and that its effectiveness could be altered if your dog is taking certain drugs.

“Before administering supplemental folic acid … folate levels should be established,” she further noted.

To summarize, some of the ingredients in Nutra Thrive will benefit your dog (biotin, for example) and some will pass through your pup’s digestive system without much effect on their health (glutathione).

The above ingredients are considered generally safe.

Pricing

Nutra Thrive is priced at:

  • 1 jar: $69.99
  • 3 jars: $188.97
  • 6 jars: $356.95

The 114-gram jar has 30 scoops, which means dogs of 0–30 pounds will need one jar a month. Dogs weighing 31–50 pounds can get 20 days out of the jar, and dogs weighing more than 50 pounds will get 15 days out of the jar.

So, if you have a big dog that requires two scoops per serving, you’ll need two jars to make it through the month. Over the course of one year, here’s how much Nutra Thrive would cost you based on their weight, assuming you buy six jars at a time:

  • Small dog (0–30 lbs.): $713.90
  • Medium dog (30–50 lbs.): $1,070.85
  • Large dogs (50+ lbs.): $1,427.80

The company states that it will take 10–15 days for the supplement to arrive after you order it.

If you aren’t happy with the supplement, you have 90 days from the day the product was shipped to start a return in order to get a refund.

The Bottom Line

Nutra Thrive has ingredients that can help your dog. For example, biotin is known to improve your dog’s coat and help with dry skin. Lactobacillus casei is a probiotic that may be able to help your dog with digestive issues like diarrhea.

However, there are other ingredients that experts say may not have a big effect – if any – on your dog’s health. For example, a vet noted that glutathione will pass through your dog’s body with little effect on your dog’s health. Folic acid could help your dog but you’d need to have your vet check your dog’s folic acid levels before taking Nutra Thrive, another vet pointed out.

And, there’s the issue of dog supplements in general. The AKC concludes that dog supplements can be helpful but there’s sparse research about the long-term effects.

“Whether herbal or lab-formulated, there is some evidence to suggest that supplements can be helpful. There has been little-to-no research on long-term effects, but some studies and anecdotal evidence have shown successful results, whether in the form of a shinier coat, peppier step, better digestion, or improved cognitive function.”


Customer Reviews

Start your review of Nutra Thrive:
  • 1090 Customer Reviews
  • 93% Recommend This Product
4.5 out of 5
5 star: 72% 4 star: 19% 3 star: 2% 2 star: 0% 1 star: 4%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Healthy dog suddenly ill

    • By Nicole V.,
    • Fort Lauderdale, FL,
    • Nov 23, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    I started giving this to my dog because he is getting older and his breath smelled horrible. He's never had any health issues. Suddenly I'm rushing him to the ER on a Saturday afternoon because he's falling down and his eyes are darting back and forth. The doctor says vestibular disease (similar to vertigo) but can't rule out the reaction to Nutra Thrive. How scary that my healthy dog went from 100% to 0% in a matter of seconds. He is showing signs of improvement and has been completely off the stuff since Saturday.

    Pros and Cons:

    • No “pros” were specified in this review
    • My dog fell very ill

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Nov 25, 2020

      Company Response from Ultimate Pet Nutrition

      Hi Nicole, this is Shayne from Ultimate Pet Nutrition. First, I would like to say that I am so sorry to hear about the experience your dog had. This is definitely not a common side effect of Nutra Thrive, so I would like to get more information from you regarding your dog’s experience so I can fill out an Adverse Reactions Form. Please e-mail me at Shayne@ultimatepetnutrition.com so I can fill out the form, as well as issue you a full refund. Again, I’m so sorry to hear about your dog’s experience and am happy to hear that he’s doing better.


  • Jars are 80% empty when delivered! YIKES.

    • By Lori E.,
    • St. Louis, MO,
    • Nov 14, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    We received our 3 jars several days ago. When we opened the jar it is less than 1/4 of powder in it. It's more like 80% empty and 20% powder in it, maybe half an inch of powder is in the jar. For the price of what we paid, this is an absolute ripoff. We don't even know if it works yet because we're all angry about the amount in the jar.

    I wrote to the company earlier and they said they needed "room" for the scoop. The scoop is the same half-inch in size! With that said, there are still 2 inches or more of room left, for air, I guess.

    I'm still upset over the tiny amount of powder in this huge jar. When the box was delivered I seriously thought they forgot to put the jars inside, it didn't weigh any more than just the box itself.

    Very disappointed!

    Pros and Cons:

    • No “pros” were specified in this review
    • The smell
    • The amount in each jar
    • The price

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Nov 16, 2020

      Company Response from Ultimate Pet Nutrition

      Hi Lori, this is Shayne from Ultimate Pet Nutrition here. I’m so sorry to hear about your frustrating experience. Each jar of Nutra Thrive should contain 30 scoops per container. If this is not the case for you, please contact me at shayne@ultimatepetnutrition.com and we can begin the refund process. Many of our products settle during transportation, which could also account for this. Again, I’m so sorry for the frustrating experience but we appreciate you taking the time to give us this feedback.


  • Our puppy's back!

    • Length of Use: 6–12 months
    Overall Experience:

    We have been so pleased with our 14-year-old Shih Tzu's response to Nutra Thrive. She licks her plate clean and licks some more to get all the powder. Some days we also cut up pieces of the Nutra Bites to top her meal.

    Our once-picky eater seems to thrive with this. She zooms through the house again and truly seems more bright-eyed and alert.

    Pros and Cons:

    • She likes it
    • It is easy to use on her regular dry dog food
    • Both my husband and I have noticed a great difference in her overall health and energy
    • It is expensive
    • I can't just go to our Upco store and buy it

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • A very good product

    • By Kalyn K.,
    • Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada,
    • Oct 6, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    This product made a huge difference in my dog’s health. I have an 8-year-old golden lab who was going on 12+ when I bought him his first tub of Nutra Thrive. He’s a hypothyroid patient as well so life’s a lot more difficult for him than the average dog his age, to begin with. Ever since the onset of his thyroid disorder, he gained weight drastically. I spent thousands on food for him, trying multiple diets and different food for him but nothing seemed to work. My heart was genuinely breaking because I thought I foreseen an early end to his life at the rate things were going. The weight gain started to affect his shoulder, which he’d hurt when he was younger when he jumped out of my truck before I could lift him out. When he landed, he slipped on some ice and did a lot of internal soft tissue damage that’s always left him stiff and limping when he got up from laying down by this got to the point where he could hardly weight bare. The old injury created a lot of pain for him. Then, the weight and inability to exercise properly because of the lack of energy started to take its toll on his hips and slowly, as it got worse and worse, I felt my hope for him to get better, get worse and worse.

    I first read about Nutra Thrive while desperately searching the net for anything that might be able to help him and although it seemed a bit pricey, I was willing to try anything at that point, even if it didn’t work, I had to try. (It’s especially steep if you're a Canadian like me who has to convert the final price to Canadian dollars from US dollars.) Like pet food isn’t already expensive enough...but no price is too high for my gentle ol best buddy. So I tried it. And low and behold, you get what you pay for apparently! He’s been on Nutra Thrive for a little under two months and he’s acting like he did 3-4 years ago before the on slot of his thyroid disorder that took all his energy away and when his health started to head south. And he’s losing weight in a healthy way as he’s becoming more and more active all the time. He’s still on his thyroid medication, I don’t think he’ll ever be able to go without it. But now he has energy, asks to go for walks again, and all the pain and stiffness is limited to a couple of steps after he’s been laying down for a long time. I’m pretty sure it’s safe to say that this product added significant years to my dog’s life that wouldn’t have gone on much longer if I hadn’t found something to turn things around for him.

    I can’t say enough how thankful I am that this product exists! It’s given me priceless time with my dog who means more to me than I can begin to say. All I can say is thank you for a wonderful product. You can’t put a price on results like I’ve seen from it.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Its effectiveness
    • Extended my dog’s life
    • Improved the quality of my dog’s life
    • It’s a little costly, but you can’t put a price on results

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Unbelievable change

    • By Vesna N.,
    • Cookstown, Ontario, Canada,
    • Sep 28, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 1–2 years
    Overall Experience:

    Had my two dogs into a veterinarian multiple times, all kinds of tests. Lots of steroids and other medications, which did not work. Dogs had bad skin rashes and ear infection. After 3 weeks all was gone. It’s been 1 year since I have given this to my dogs and everything is fine. Thank you Nutra Thrive. You saved me money and worries. My dogs are good.

    Pros and Cons:

    • It works
    • Price

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Hard to believe the difference!

    • By Lorena J.,
    • Enid, OK,
    • Sep 27, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 6–12 months
    Overall Experience:

    My 15-year-old dachshund make and his 13-year-old daughter were both moving slower and having bowel regularity problems. His hair was falling out to almost bald on his back. I spent the money on Nutra Thrive hoping it would help, and within a week they improved. I only give 1/4 teaspoon to each once a day at breakfast, and my male is moving more easily, his hair has grown back, and they both are more active and playful. Their irregularity vanished. I've been using it now for about 9 months and I highly recommend it. I started giving it to my Mom's 15-year-old dog, and he quit having the stomach problems she had spent lots of money on for the vet. He also is more playful and puppy-like. So, THANKS for Nutra Thrive!

    Pros and Cons:

    • Made the dogs healthier
    • Easy to administer
    • Overall paid for itself by saving on vet bills
    • Recommended dosage seems to be way more than needed for my miniature dogs
    • Over time, the product clumped up in the container so I have to smash clumps to put in food

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Very impressed

    • By Mary R.,
    • Highland Falls, NY,
    • Sep 14, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    I was afraid I was being sucked into an infomercial but I was equally impressed with the message the vet was promoting on the holistic benefits of supplemental feeding that could enhance my dog’s overall well being. I decided to give it a try. Still feeling kind of foolish at the extravagant expense, I began adding small amounts to my large Goldendoodles’ diet, gradually building up to the two-scoop per feeding. I thought I was seeing things. Was my dog responding quicker to commands? Was my dog getting up and off the sofa easier? Was my dog walking faster? Was my dog acting happier? I had stopped playing with my 11-year-old dog poolside because it left him so sore, almost crippled, the next day. How he loved playing volleyball with a bouncing ball. He’d chase that ball around the pool for hours as a pup. Well, guess what? This 11-year-old dog is back to his younger days, enjoying life, tiring himself out doing the things he has always enjoyed doing. He has 100% benefited from Nutra Thrive and I will share this supplement with any dog owner who wants to see their dog live a happier, fuller life.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Ease
    • Taste
    • Convenient
    • Price
    • Size
    • Should say scoop is enclosed

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Sep 24, 2020

      Company Response from Ultimate Pet Nutrition

      Thank you for sharing this with us, Mary! We are happy to hear that our products are serving your pup well. Have a great day!


  • Happy with results

    • By Rhonda M.,
    • Shannon Hills, AR,
    • Sep 5, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    Our poor dog was lethargic, had terrible allergies and stunk so bad we couldn't let her in her the house. She itched so bad, she would chew her hair off and make her skin bleed. After a couple of weeks, she's eating much better, is peppy, smell is much better, and itching has decreased a lot. She looks healthier and happier overall. She likes the taste also.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Positive results on dog
    • Price

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Sep 10, 2020

      Company Response from Ultimate Pet Nutrition

      Hi Rhonda, Shayne from Ultimate Pet Nutrition here! Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear that our products are serving your pup well! Have a great day!


  • Great, you should try it

    • By Donna F.,
    • Cheboygan, MI,
    • Aug 26, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 1–2 years
    Overall Experience:

    I have a 14-year-old pom that was suffering with leg issues and was low on energy. Well, I can honestly tell you this, there are days when I swear that I am going to take it away, as she is so full of the devil I get tired. But best of all, her legs are doing great. My vet wanted to know what I was giving her because he told me she has the heart and lungs of an 8-year-old. I tell everyone about it, especially if they have an aging pet.

    Pros and Cons:

    • New way of life
    • Her energy and she seems happier
    • And my vet's happiness with her aging
    • No “cons” were specified in this review

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Sep 10, 2020

      Company Response from Ultimate Pet Nutrition

      That is so great to hear, Donna! Thank you for sharing. Have a great day!


  • Why not just feed a raw diet

    • By Shona S.,
    • London, Ontario, Canada,
    • Aug 18, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Why not feed a raw diet with added Kelp, Omega 3 fish oil, and no Omega 6 as everyone gets too much Omega 6 and glucosamine/chondroitin. Maybe some golden turmeric paste as well. My dogs are thriving and one is 16.5, 13, and 8 years old with no health conditions.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Some of the minerals and vitamins
    • Too much money for veggies

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Sep 2, 2020

      Company Response from Ultimate Pet Nutrition

      Hi Shona, we always ask that our customers and other pet parents consult their pet's primary veterinarian prior to starting their dog on any new diet. We also understand that all dogs are different and might require different diets! Don't hesitate to reach out to me at shayne@ultimatepetnutrition.com if you have any other questions.


  • Buster looks, sounds, and acts like a healthy cat...finally.

    • By Heidi H.,
    • Tyngsboro, MA,
    • Jul 29, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 3–6 months
    Overall Experience:

    Because of Nutra Thrive my cat eats serving sizes for the first time in his life. He has no trace of the itchy scabs that covered over 90% of his bony hair-patched body. Muscle tone replaced the wheezy sound his lungs made with every breath. Fat now cushions his bones. He no longer strays from attention and affection. This product transformed his mental and physical health completely!

    Pros and Cons:

    • Price
    • Shipping cost
    • Effectiveness
    • Can only feed with tuna because of taste
    • Ingredients on label too small to read
    • Needs expiration date not just date made

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-11 of 1090

Write a Review for Nutra Thrive!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Nutra Thrive Review