Dinovite Review: Is It Worth It?

By J.R. Duren
HighYa Staff
Updated on: Dec 5, 2019

Dinovite is a pet company that sells a variety of products, the most notable of which is its flagship line of pet foods and supplements.

The company’s food and supplements focus on providing complete health for your pet. Because of this, these pet-health products contain ingredients Dinovite claims can boost your pet’s overall health.

If you’re a pet owner looking for a comprehensive diet solution, then Dinovite’s ingredients mix could provide a solution that addresses your pet’s digestive system and overall health.

In our review, we’ll give you an overview of the company's products, focus on its supplement’s ingredients and their efficacy, then talk about the Dinovite’s pricing.

Dinovite’s Products

Dinovite sells hundreds of products on its website that you can classify in three groups: nutrition, pet care, and play.

The company’s nutrition products include its Dinovite dog, cat, and horse powdered supplements, “Lickochops” liquid omega fatty acids, “Supromega” fish oil pills and liquid, “Fidocal” calcium supplements for dogs, and “Nubonubs” freeze-dried dog treats.

Dinovite’s pet care products include “Dogosuds” essential oil shampoos, “Gentoclean” pet shampoo, iodine pet shampoo and “Nomoflea” flea spray.

Dinovite sells a variety of pet toys, too: balls, chew toys and cat feathers.

If you’re someone who wants to get all your pet products from a health-conscious company, then there’s a good chance Dinovite’s supplements and essential-oil shampoos will appeal to you.

Dinovite Supplement Ingredients, Efficacy, and Side Effects

Dinovite’s most popular product is its supplement powder. The powder is available for dogs, cats, and horses.

The supplement’s ingredients are slightly different for each animal but all three blends (dogs, cats, horses) contain the same mix of seven probiotics. Dinovite’s cat and dog supplements contain the same three enzymes, too.

Because Dinovite’s dog and cat supplements are more popular than the horse supplement, we’ll examine the scientific evidence for probiotics and enzymes.

The first thing to understand about Dintovite’s probiotics and enzymes is that the Association of American Feed Control Officials (pet food regulators) doesn’t consider probiotics and enzymes as essential nutrients in your dog or cat’s food.

What this means is that giving Dinovite to your pet isn’t essential to their daily health; it’s an added boost. Your dog or cat will most likely get all the nutrients it needs from the food you feed him or her.

That being said, it’s important to understand what effect (if any) Dinovite supplement ingredients can have on your pet.

Probiotic Blend

Dinovite’s dog, horse and cat supplement contain a mix of seven probiotics, which are good bacteria and yeast that help regulate your pet’s digestive health:

  • E. faecium
  • B. subtilis
  • B. licheniformis
  • L. acidophilus
  • B. pumilus
  • L. casei
  • B. thermophilum

The research into dog probiotics isn’t nearly as extensive as the research for probiotics use in humans. Therefore, there are only a few studies backing up Dinovite’s ingredients.

E. faecium may have the ability to improve your dog’s immune system if you feed it to your puppy from the time he or she is born up until one year of age.

L. acidophilus has the ability to strengthen your dog’s immune health, including boosting red and white blood cells and reducing the number of bad bacteria that can cause diarrhea.

B. subtilis and B. licheniformis might be able to reduce your dog’s bouts of diarrhea from about two days to one day.

If you don’t want to give your pet a prescription medication to stop diarrhea, it would be worth trying Dinovite because the research backing its diarrhea benefits used a relatively large sample size of dogs and used sound research techniques.

In general, the probiotics in Dinovite supplement powder can be of help at the right time. Your dog’s immune system can get a boost from E. faecium and L. acidophilus, especially if you start your pup on E. faecium after he or she is born.

Once your dog matures into adulthood, using this supplement can contribute to a stronger immune system and, in some cases, shorten a bout of diarrhea.

Beyond that, there isn’t specific evidence that this supplement’s probiotics can produce consistent, beneficial results for your healthy cats or horses.

For cats and horses dealing with diarrhea and gut issues resulting from stress, you may be able to help them with probiotics but there is no general veterinary consensus about dosages and the specific strains that can ease the symptoms.

Enzymes: Amylase, Protease, Lipase

The three enzymes in Dinovite’s dog and cat supplements are meant to help with digestion. However, there isn’t much research that indicates giving your pet enzymes is going to give them clear benefits in the short- or long-term.

Both PetMd and Tufts University’s veterinary department are straightforward in their conclusion that supplemental enzymes aren’t helpful for dogs with otherwise normal digestion.

“While many of these products may be advertised as if they are critical to your pet’s health and would provide many benefits, they are very unlikely to live up to the hype. Unfortunately, like many nutritional supplements, enzyme supplements for healthy pets are often a case where the science doesn’t support the marketing,” veterinarian Dr. Cailin Heinze wrote for Tufts University’s Cummings Veterinary Medical Center.

Dinovite’s enzymes could be helpful if your pet has a rare pancreatic disorder called exocrine pancreatic insufficiency. However, an otherwise healthy dog or cat probably won’t see any benefits.

Side Effects

The most common side effects your dog or cat will experience will be related to the probiotics in Dinovite. Symptoms tend to be gut-related: bloating, gas, diarrhea, and constipation.

Overall, they’re considered safe for dogs, cats, and horses.

Pricing and Return Policy

Dinovite’s health products range in price from $2.99 for a bag of Nubonubs dog treats to $349.99 for a 90-day supply of Dinovite horse food supplement.

The company’s pet care products range in price from $8.49 for Dogosuds and Gentoclean shampoos to $39.98 for a two-bottle bundle of Nomoflea flea spray.

Dinovite’s pet toys cost between $3.99 to $10.99.

All products sold on the website have a 90-day trial period, which means you can try them for 90 days to see if you like them. If you don’t, you can call Dinovite at (859) 428-1000 to start a return.

The phone rep will give you a return authorization number you’ll include in your return. Dinovite will not pay for your return shipping and you must include any unused or used products and packaging in your return.

This 90-day guarantee is only good on your first purchase. The guarantee is void for subsequent purchases.

Subsequent purchases are covered by a 30-day return period that applies to new, unopened items.

Key Takeaways from Customer Reviews

Customers who have used Dinovite’s various products give the company average ratings on HighYa and other review platforms.

Top Compliment: Dogs Stopped Itching

Many of the positive reviews we read talked about how effective Dinovite’s supplements, treats, and shampoos were in alleviating itching. While the reviewers didn’t specify why their dogs were itching in the first place, they emphasized how their dogs stopped itching.

Top Complaint: Dogs Experienced Side Effects

Many of the negative reviews we read indicated that the pet who took Dinovite products became sick after taking Dinovite’s supplements and treats.

There were multiple reports of dogs vomiting and having intestinal issues. While these may sound scary, they are within the realm of side effects for dogs taking probiotics.

The Bottom Line: Will Dinovite Products Benefit Your Pet?

For Dogs

As a supplement brand, we think that they’ve chosen ingredients (probiotics, enzymes) that have some scientific backing to suggest they'll help your dog boost his or her immune system at an early age.

We also think your dog will benefit from the supplement if he or she has occasional bouts of diarrhea that last a couple of days.

But because Dinovite is more than just a supplement company, it’s important to look at its entire lineup of products to understand if they can be a comprehensive resource for your pet.

If you prefer to use dog shampoos infused with essential oils, Dinovite is a good resource, as they provide three different types of oil-infused shampoos.

For Cats

If you’re a cat owner looking for a single brand selling a variety of options for cat care, you’ll find Dinovite pretty limiting. They offer one option for cat shampoo, a flea spray, a couple of cat toys and a hair remover.

When you consider that Dinovite’s supplement powder shows the best results for dogs, you may want to look for a bigger online pet marketplace like Chewy if you need a comprehensive solution for your cat’s health and care.

For Horses

Dinovite’s supplement is the only product they sell for horses. Therefore, we believe shopping on a horse-specific online marketplace is your best bet for finding a wide variety of food, health and horse-care options.


Read 46 Dinovite Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 2.9
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 19 4 star: 1 3 star: 1 2 star: 6 1 star:  19
Bottom Line: 46% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 46
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    We are delighted we found Dinovite

    • By Michael E.,
    • Washington,
    • Dec 31, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Our Lhasa Apso had terrible itching problems for years and was chewing her paws, tail, and everywhere else. We went to the vet numerous times with no help and she even had to wear a cone most of the time. I heard the Dinovite ads and within a week we were amazed. She is much better and her fur coat looks terrific. I can't say how much we appreciate this and have zero doubt it was the product.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Returning Dinovite and Like o Chops

    • By Karen T.,
    • Bloomington, IN,
    • Oct 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My dog won't go near his food with these supplements on it.

    However, I do like the shampoo. I will be returning the other products. I had high hopes as I couldn't spell any smell with this product but he must have as he sniffed it and walked away.

    If my dog had liked I would have given a 5.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 19 out 23 people found this review helpful

    Using Dinovite

    • By Sally F.,
    • Bay City, TX,
    • Oct 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Old English Sheepdog, in perfect health, except for itchy skin. 9 years old. Dog had current CBC and chemical panel done in April. Because of itchy skin, I ordered Dinovite in July 2019. Started giving it August 1, 2019. She declined rapidly, went into renal failure September 27, 2019, and humanely euthanized September 30, 2019. I feel certain her renal failure was due to Dinovite, as I’d read reviews of this happening to other dogs. Our second dog was also on it. He quit eating October 3, so we took him in immediately to have CBC and chem panel run. Both dogs did not want to eat any food that had been contaminated with Dinovite! Wish we had "listened" to them...DO NOT USE THIS PRODUCT! It will kill your beloved sweet dog! I didn’t want to give it even one star, but couldn’t post without a rating.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 12 out 13 people found this review helpful

    My pets won't touch their food with Dinovite in it.

    • By Dotty H.,
    • Napa, CA,
    • Oct 1, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    It may be terrific stuff, but I have thrown out every bowl of food that contains Dinovite as both the dog and the cat won't touch it. It's expensive and with the food waste, it's even more expensive. I followed the directions introducing a bit at a time, but they won't be fooled. I feel misled as none of the ads mentioned how horrible it must smell to a sensitive pet nose. There is a 90-day return policy and I'm going to send it back.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 13 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Dinovite caused pancreatitis and diabetes in my Miniature Schnauzer

    • By Doug H.,
    • Lebanon, OR,
    • Sep 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Please do research on the High Chicken Fat supplement. Within 2 weeks of using the lick chops supplement my Schnauzer lost 5 pounds, was weak and sickly, drinking excess water and urinating many times during the night. Turns out the high fat triggered Pancreatitis, which led to Diabetes. Needless to say, I quit using the supplement and my Oskar is now in two insulin shots daily.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Dinovite has helped to restore my dog's fur coat and improved his smell

    • By Kenneth H.,
    • Alabama,
    • Aug 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased Dinovite and tried the egg hamburger diet and none of my dogs liked it. I then started putting it in their food and they gobbled it up. I know it is responsible for both my older dogs improved fur coat and less itching. Their smell has been reduced and is noticeably not as strong. They show more energy and their eyes are brighter. I am buying my second boxes and added the Lickochops and Omega 3 & 6 supplement! Looking for even more improvement and hopefully happier dogs! will Keep you updated!!!!

    P.S. Two of my dogs are 14 years old and 3 of them are 3 or less! Two medium sized and 3 small!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 9 people found this review helpful

    It works...

    • By Bob L.,
    • Tuscaloosa, AL,
    • May 24, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am a big time sceptic...of anything - TV ads, radio, internet, Facebook. I only tried Dinovite as an almost last resort for my 9-year-old Lab. Multiple allergy issues, skin problems. On hydroxyzine 100 mgm twice a day, thyroid, pain meds, etc. multiple “hot spots”, rough fur, falling out all over, ears inflamed, worst gas EVER! Could clear a room of your best friends. We are now 7 weeks into this stuff. Fur is great...even the Vet said he was going to have to look in this product. Gas is gone. Ears are great. Still itching, some chewing, but lots better. Have all my 5 dogs on it. Highly recommend.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Unexpected

    • By Billy H.,
    • Denver, CO,
    • Apr 29, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have two English Mastiffs - a fawn and a brindle. The brindle’s coat was dull and full of dandruff. The fawn is an older puppy and already had a good coat. I started giving them Dinovite a couple of months ago. It has made a very noticeable difference in the brindle. His coat is very shiny and so beautiful in the sunlight. I haven’t noticed much difference in the fawn, but since she is so young, her coat was already very pretty.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Dinovite made our Katie's last years WONDERFUL!

    • By Sandra M.,
    • Coal Valley, IL,
    • Apr 3, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    We had a German Short Hair Pointer. We loved our Katie so very much! She was like a third child - LOL. When she started scratching, we felt so bad for her. We tried EVERYTHING! Then my husband heard about Dinovite on the radio on CH 890, WLS out of Chicago and thought that with the nice things being said we would try it.

    In about a week we noticed an improvement. It wasn't immediate but her hair all came back and she stopped itching/biting. Our little girl was comfortable again! After a while, we decided she must not need it anymore so we stopped giving it to her. After a week, maybe two, the itching and biting came back! Well, we put her right back on it and, again, she was comfortable!

    We tell everyone about Dinovite. Thank you so VERY MUCH for making her last 5 or 6 years comfortable! She made it to 15 years old and, if not for Dinovite, would've had to suffer those last few years. We only wish we'd found out about Dinovite sooner. THANK YOU!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 32 out 33 people found this review helpful

    Old dog, new life

    • By Becky M.,
    • Arkansas,
    • Mar 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    DESCRIPTION OF SYMPTOMS:

    Our old coondog/chow mix, MataHairy, has developed a number of health issues in her later years (she is 12), so when she began scratching inconsolably, we weren't sure which issue to blame. Mata has hypothyroidism, Cushing's disease from a tumor on her adrenals or pituitary, and bilateral prosthetic knees with severe arthritis around the R one. Her fur had fallen out in splotches, and the fur she did have looked dull and greasy.

    She was shedding profusely. I mean, the chow in her made her especially fluffy and she always shed, but I can't describe how bad it had gotten. Like a llama losing its winter coat, Mata's fur would come out in great plugs when we would pet her.

    Her fur has always been thick and long like the chow chow; it's white with the hallmark black spots of the coondog. Her beautiful white fur had become stained from excessive licking and gnawing because of whatever is in a dog's saliva. She looked like she was very ill.

    Our vet agreed and said all her symptoms presented like an endocrine syndrome. Because of the cocktail of meds she has to take for thyroid, Cushing's, and arthritis, we couldn't give her steroids. We agonized over our options. Mata's itching had become so severe that we feared she would tear open her skin. She couldn't go even a half an hour - including through the night - without violently "attacking" herself with teeth and claws to try to find relief. It was as if something was eating her from the inside out.

    THINGS WE TRIED BEFORE DINOVITE:

    Because of Mata's old age, we made the painful decision not to run expensive tests beyond basic current lab work. It really had gotten to the point where we were considering having to put her down as a final act of kindness to put her out of her misery. We researched and made a list of everything we could try first.

    (1) We used five different kinds of shampoo.

    (2) We tried three different topical treatments.

    (3) We made sure we bought dog food that was only grain-free.

    (4) We had basic lab work done to rule out anything new - like possible diabetes.

    (5) As a last ditch effort to give our Mata girl relief, we ordered a 90-day supply of Dinovite. We were going to give it the full 90 days; at the end of 90 days, we decided that if it didn't give Mata back her quality of life, then was going to be time to say goodbye.

    WHAT HAPPENED:

    The longer your dog has had allergy symptoms, the longer it will take for Dinovite to reverse the problem. It took about 10 weeks, or 70 days, for us to see our old girl start to improve. She did go through a time when she would turn up her nose at her food dish if we put Dinovite in her kibble. The Dinovite coaches gave me several ideas over the phone, and it worked. They were wonderful.

    I've read several negative testimonies here saying nothing worked; I'm not a vet, and I don't profess to understand complex endocrine or dermatological pathologies to be able to explain why this product works for some and not others. I can tell you that being patient, consistent, staying in contact with the Dinovite coaches, and waiting the full 90 days helps. In our case it was easy to be patient because our dog's life hung in the balance. If this product didn't help, when 90 days would come to an end so would her life. By this I mean we weren't in any hurry.

    HOW MataHairy PRESENTS NOW:

    We are now on our second box of large dog Dinovite. Mata's fur is white again, has completely grown back in - as thick and luxurious as when she was young - and she only sheds minimally. Best of all, Mata no longer scratches or gnaws herself.

    I had purchased a special sling-harness with an integrated leash from GingerLead to walk Mata because her arthritis around the rear R leg knee was so bad that she couldn't put any weight on it. I can't prove that it's the Dinovite that fixed the arthritis - she's also on excellent med management by the vet (2x weekly shots plus 5 pills a day). But because she was also on those meds prior to Dinovite and still limped and required the GingerLead, I do wonder legitimately if the deciding factor in her improved gait isn't the Dinovite.

    A SECOND DOG'S EXPERIENCE WITH DINOVITE:

    Someone abandoned an older Shih Tzu at my husband's office in a busy commercial business park. He is now ours, we named him Mr. Buck. He is blind in one eye and had scaly, bumpy skin under one front armpit and all along that leg to the paw.

    We started him on grain-free food and Dinovite. We've only had Mr. Buck about five weeks - his skin allergy has completely cleared up. The skin is soft and pink just like a healthy dog's skin should be.

    Finally, Mr. Buck's fur is changing! I don't know the Shih Tzu breed. Maybe curly hair is common? I know that when we found Me. Buck, his fur was long, straight, and stringy. We had a groomer give him a "puppy cut," and now as it is growing out we are seeing it coming in curly like a labradoodle coat. I have no idea if this can be attributed to the Dinovite or not. But it's an interesting correlation.

    SUMMARY:

    Both dogs appear happier and healthier.

    No more insane scratching and gnawing (MataHairy).

    Less shedding (MataHairy).

    Visually healthier skin (MataHairy, Mr. Buck).

    Miraculous fur regrowth (MataHairy).

    This was a long review. If you've made it to the end, you're a real trooper! I wanted to make the time to write so much because I am now a fierce advocate for this product and hope that my story may help someone else. Had it not been for Dynovite, we would not today have our beautiful MataHairy.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 20 out 21 people found this review helpful

    Amazing

    • By Tracy G.,
    • Danville, VA,
    • Nov 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My dog has suffered all of his life from allergies. We have spent a fortune at the vet only to get mild relief for him.

    He scratches constantly, has bald spots everywhere and the smell he has had was sour and yeasty and pungent, and I had to bathe him every other day to keep the smell down...and he would destroy my carpets digging because he was miserable. We have been feeding him grain free for years too.

    A friend told me that her dog had the exact same issues and she tried the Dinovite and within a week her dog’s symptoms had vanished.

    My order arrived a week earlier than expected, which is awesome...and the dog loved it, and by the end of the first day, his scratching was already practically stopped! I purchased the liquid supplement because I felt like he would like it better. I may try the box next.

    This is on the first days and I am excited about the future and having my boy happy and healthy!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 46

Write a Review for Dinovite!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review