About FixMeStick

By Derek Lakin
HighYa Staff Updated on: Feb 27, 2018

The FixMeStick is a bootable USB device that can quickly scan your computer, identify any viruses or malware, and then effectively remove them. Despite its power, it‘s simple for any user to install, ready to go right out of the box, and works over four steps:

  1. Plug it into any USB port.
  2. FixMeStick will reboot your computer and scan it for viruses using three of the best anti-virus engines in the world.
  3. The software will then automatically connect to your Wi-Fi network, download information about all the latest threats, report back anything it finds, and automatically remove them (the entire process might take anywhere between 30 minutes and a couple of hours).
  4. Unplug FixMeStick from the USB port and you’re good to go!

Compared to other anti-virus solutions, FixMeStick contains its own Linux-based operating system and works while your computer’s sleeping, so viruses already on your PC can’t actively hide their presence or resist their removal, since they’re not actively running.

You’ve got to admit that FixMeStick sounds appealing, especially if you’re not exactly a computer whiz. But there are a lot of scams in this industry, so is FixMeStick among them, or is it the real deal?

Let’s answer all your most important questions by starting with some background information.

Antivirus Basics

We wrote an in-depth guide titled How To Get Free Anti-Virus Software & Surf Smarter, that we’d recommend reading when you have a few moments. If you’re pressed for time, though, Wikipedia provides a concise definition of a computer virus:

“A computer virus is a malware program that, when executed, replicates by inserting copies of itself (possibly modified) into other computer programs, data files, or the boot sector of the hard drive; when this replication succeeds, the affected areas are then said to be "infected”. Viruses often perform some type of harmful activity on infected hosts, such as stealing hard disk space or CPU time, accessing private information, corrupting data, displaying political or humorous messages on the user's screen, spamming their contacts, logging their keystrokes, or even rendering the computer useless.”

In layman’s terms, once your computer is infected by malicious software, it could run poorly and even hand your personal and financial information over to would-be scammers. But how can antivirus software help protect against viruses, and how does FixMeStick set itself apart from the competition?

How Anti-Virus Software Works: FixMeStick vs. the Competition

How Do Most Anti-Virus Software Works? Just like any other type of computer program, each piece of anti-virus software will work a little differently and implement a variety of features.

But according to How To Geek, in general, anti-virus software runs in the background (you’re usually not aware that it’s doing its thing) and scans every file you open. When you do this, it quickly compares the program to “known viruses, worms, and other types of malware,” and then alerts you as soon as a threat is detected.

In addition to comparing files individually, most anti-virus software can also perform full-system scans in order to detect threats that might otherwise remain for months (or even years, if it’s a program you rarely use).

Is FixMeStick Different?

Comparatively, the company advertises there are a couple of key distinctions with FixMeStick:

First, it leverages the power of 10 different antivirus programs at once: it’s built upon three leading antivirus programs (McAfee, Avira, and Sophos), and accesses seven other online programs when in use, to provide “the broadest and fastest response to the latest threats.”

Second, FixMeStick is a plug-in USB device that scans your computer before it boots, and before the infections start running, which they emphasize is the best approach, and one that the U.S. Computer Emergency Readiness Team recommends. Here’s another concise summary provided by Wikipedia:

“The best and most reliable method for operating-system-level rootkit detection is to shut down the computer suspected of infection, and then to check its storage by booting from an alternative trusted medium (e.g. a "rescue" CD-ROM or USB flash drive).[70] The technique is effective because a rootkit cannot actively hide its presence if it is not running.”

While we didn’t test any of these devices ourselves, the website reports that FixMeStick’s Pro version “connects to the McAfee GTI and OPSWAT Metadefender file reputation servers to achieve up-to-the-second threat detection.”

FixMeStick Spec SheetFixMeStick contains multiple scanners on the stick, and use more scanners in the cloud, which can help identify threats in advance. Credit: FixMeStick Technologies Inc

Is FixMeStick Just Another Registry Cleaner?

Whether you’ve been exploring different anti-virus solutions for a while, or just started researching all your options a couple weeks ago, you’ve probably encountered at least one scam disguised as a registry cleaner, which just ends up making your PC’s performance worse—or that installs more viruses and malware. In our opinion, TurboYourPC is a prime example of this.

However, FixMeStick is not a registry cleaner—and we definitely don’t think it’s a scam. Why? Let’s take a look at a sampling of industry and customer feedback.

Online Customer Reviews For FixMeStick

FixMeStick has thousands of professional and customer reviews available online, most of which appear to be positive.

For example, PC Mag gave FixMeStick a four-star (excellent) rating, and liked that the device is bootable, easy to use, features three different scanning engines, and gives you the ability to undo in case you run into any problems.

On Amazon, FixMeStick had more than 1,800 reviews customer reviews and a 3.7-star average rating. There, customers liked that it was easy to use, provided effective results, and that the product is backed up by great support. On the other hand, some found that FixMeStick didn’t work properly (whether it didn’t identify known viruses or malware, and/or didn’t effectively remove them), and didn’t improve PC performance.

FixMeStick also received high ratings on HSN.com (341 reviews, 4.3-star rating) and Walmart.com (139 reviews, 3.7-star rating), with many of the same compliments and complaints noted on Amazon.

The anti-virus software is manufactured by FixMeStick Technologies based out of Montreal, QC.

How much will FixMeStick’s software cost you?

How Much Does FixMeStick Cost & Where Can You Buy It?

FixMeStick is available in three different options:

  • A 30-day trial for $9.95 plus S&H, which allows you to install the software on up to three computers. Then, once 30 days have passed, you’ll be billed the remaining $44.99 for a 1-year subscription.
  • One- year subscription for $59.99.
  • FixMeStick PRO, which allows you to install the software on as many computers as you like, for $299.99 per year.

Note: FixMeStick can also be found at a wide variety third-party retailers, such as Amazon, Walmart, Best Buy, Office Depot, HSN.com, and Fry’s Electronics. To find one near you, visit the company’s Store Locator page.

If purchased directly through the company, FixMeStick comes with a 45-day refund policy. And you don’t even have to ship it back to the company. You’ll also receive a virus removal guarantee, which states: “If your FixMeStick didn't remove your virus, let us know and we'll remove it manually for free.”

If needed, FixMeStick also comes with unlimited free email, phone, and chat support, which you can initiate by contacting customer service at support@fixmestick.com, or calling 888-530-6125.

We’ve covered a whole lot of ground already, so let’s go ahead and wrap things up.

Is FixMeStick a Good Anti-Virus Solution?

Remember the anti-virus article we mentioned at the beginning? Comparing FixMeStick to any of the free programs we discussed in it isn’t really fair. Why?

Because FixMeStick is intended to work in tandem with them—or any other anti-virus program. Kind of like of like how a hammer and a nail are two separate things, but generally work better when used together.

So, if you haven’t already, we’d recommend reading through the article and starting with some quality anti-virus software. However, if you are having a hard time cleaning an infected PC, based on their competitive pricing, length of time in business, ease of use and mostly positive online customer—and professional—feedback, you might consider adding the FixMeStick to your arsenal.

But keep in mind that if you’re technically-minded, you can download each of the anti-virus programs the include yourself, create your own bootable device (this is actually the case with most anti-virus vendors) for free, and accomplish much of the same thing.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

20 Consumer Reviews for FixMeStick

Average Consumer Rating: 1.8
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 4 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 1 1 star:  15
Bottom Line: 20% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 20
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    No luck on my end

    • Searcy, AR,
    • May 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The FixMeStick would load up and only go so far, then it would lock up with a white page. I tried the tapping of the key, the second line to enter program. Good folks trying to help, but no luck. I'd have to turn off the computer and restart it just to get out of the stuck program. Also, after purchasing FixMeStick, I received call after call from Microsoft personnel wanting to have full access to my computer to "fix a problem?"

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • May 29, 2018

      Annie Sorich,

      Hi Jeff - Thanks for your interest in FixMeStick! You can always contact us for help at support@fixmestick.com or chat with us online to get help with your start-up issues. I can assure you that the calls you were receiving have nothing to do with FIxMeStick, we would never share your phone number with a third party, and we have no way of even collecting your phone number unless you call us.

      We look forward to hearing from you soon,

      Annie

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Best thing since sliced bread

    • Thornton-Cleveleys, Lancashire, United Kingdom,
    • May 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought this on the QVC shopping channel UK as a special deal for two, lifetime usage. It must be well over a year now, and my Dell laptop at times would not run properly, even with all the virus protection from Microsoft security downloads and anti-virus recommended software, of which it only detected small amounts of infections, then later eradicated. BUT, the problem was small time, but my poor 'ol Dell still ran badly, until the FixMeStick a savior! It was introduced into the machine, it had found a mass filed problems with Trojans plus others, so a signed death warrant was ordered, which had the words R.I.P for all time.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 8 people found this review helpful

    The FixMeStick ruined my computer

    After using it about half a dozen times it made it so my laptop will not turn on. Taking my battery out and putting it back in and still, my laptop will not turn on. I have called and emailed them, and they will not return my calls or my email. I would only recommend this product to your enemy.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 20, 2018

      Annie Sorich,

      Hi Edward - We reached out to you via HighYa and your email address to help you fix this issue. You can reply to our emails or contact us anytime at support@fixmestick.com and we can set up at time to chat. We look forward to hearing from you!

      Best Regards,

      Annie.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Zero, would not load up! Zip, nada! hHw about phone number to call and speak to a human?

    My review is negative! It would not do anything! How about give us a phone number. I need to speak to someone from customer service, please. I tried to load it into my computer as per instructions, but it would not do anything. I tried several times with no success. Please give me a phone number to call.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 17, 2018

      Annie Sorich,

      Hi Jesus, thanks for being a FixMeStick customer. Please email us at support@fixmestick.com requesting a call and we will call you asap! You can also chat with us on our website from 10 am - 6 pm EST. We look forward to hearing from you.

      Best Regards,

      FixMeStick Team

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 11 people found this review helpful

    FixeMeStick saved my computers

    I honestly have no idea why (other than people don't know what they're doing or are hired to do bad reviews), but I bought FixMeStick at Walmart for $59 and it's the best investment I've made recently. I used it to help a co-worker get his computer back from Ransomware, who were demanding $500 from him. And two of my other computers (one a tablet PC with Windows 10 and a 7-year-old laptop running Vista), they all work great now, and my coworker doesn't have to deal with Ransomware.

    Read the box of product description BEFORE buying! And read the instructions!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 20, 2018

      Annie Sorich,

      Glad to hear you're enjoying your FixMeStick Corben! Let us know if we can be of any help. You can reach the FixMeStick team at support@fixmestick.com anytime.

      Best,

      Annie

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Great purchase for me

    I don't know how one can't use this product, when for the past 2-3 years I found GREAT results when using my FixMeStick. The price a little steep, but the results are well worth the cost.

    Oh yes, I am NOT an employee of this company.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 20, 2018

      Annie Sorich,

      Thanks for being a long-time customer of FixMeStick Stan!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 17 out 22 people found this review helpful

    Will not run on Windows Surface 10

    I'm very sad to say that I was duped into buying this at Walmart for $59.00. My Tablet has been seriously compromised, and after many attempts to run it, they said I had to manually start in my bios. After several attempts following their directions, it still won't work and has messed my Surface 4 tablet. I contacted the company for help and still got no help. Now it will cost me just to get my computer back to where it was operating good. I'll keep trying to contact them, but I just want what I paid for to work.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 7, 2018

      Marlin Andrus

      John Wilkins mentioned that it wouldn't work on Windows 10. For the first week of trying to use it, I would agree with him. I couldn't get it to work either but it will. After much reading and way to much time working with it, I finally got past windows and it booted. I ended up going into the bios and changing the boot choice to the USB port with the FixMeStick. It can take up to three reboots for it to work. The first time mine failed again but on the second reboot, it bypassed windows and started. It is too much trouble to get some it to work. I would never recommend this to work.

    • Apr 17, 2018

      Annie Sorich,

      Hi Johnny, thanks for being a customer! The FixMeStick is fully compatible with the Surface Pro, Surface Pro 2, Surface Pro 3 and Surface Pro 4. If you're still having issues, please contact us at support@fixmestick.com or you can chat with an agent on our website (www.fixmestick.com) during our business hours, 10 am - 6 pm EST.

      Best Regards,

      Annie

    • Apr 17, 2018

      Annie Sorich,

      Hi Marlin, I'm sorry to hear that you were having issues booting your FixMeStick. The FixMeStick is fully compatible with Windows 10, and sometimes it can take more than once to boot. Once it figures out how to boot on your computer, it will remember and you won't have to go through this process again. You can always reach out to us at support@fixmestick.com and we can provide you with support in getting started.

      Thanks,

      Annie

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 20 out 25 people found this review helpful

    Review of product

    I purchased the item to speed up my computer and see if any viruses are present. After the three-hour screening, my computer shut off and will not start up again. This product destroyed my computer like a virus, and you’d be told that it doesn’t fix things as it claims. I am now trying to restore my computer to see if I can ever use it again. $49.99 destroyed my computer. This product is a piece of junk and is advertising false claims.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 17, 2018

      Annie Sorich,

      Hi Mike -

      I apologize for your negative experience with the FixMeStick. It looks like you had a correspondence with one of our agents, and we offered to remote connect, to take a look at your computer to try to solve your problem and do a manual cleaning free of charge, but we weren't able to coordinate that with you. If you would still like help, please reach out to us at support@fixmestick.com and we would be happy to help you.

      Best Regards,

      FixMeStick Team

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 28 out 34 people found this review helpful

    Destroyed one laptop

    • California,
    • Jan 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought the 30-day trial. It would not run on my desktop, said it must be started manually. That resulted in telling me it must be started manually, and yet again. I tried it on my laptop, and it removed Windows, Norton and everything else. If you value your computer, DO NOT use this junk. I called them and after waiting on hold 15 minutes got someone who was useless.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 17, 2018

      Annie Sorich,

      Hi Howard, I'm sorry to hear you had such a negative experience with your FixMeStick. Note that FixMeStick doesn't remove any of those programs, it quarentines them and you can always recover your files if you think FixMeStick removed the wrong item. I know it's been awhile, and we would still like to help you, so please email us at support@fixmestick.com so we can solve your issues. I look forward to hearing from you.

      Best Regards,

      Annie

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 29 out 34 people found this review helpful

    Professional eBay seller/PC user

    I purchased this FixMeStick PC program to protect my PC from outside system attacks within my personal network. I purchased it on 12/10/2017 and received it around 12/17 or 12/18/2017.

    I decided to install the FixMeStick USB port device on 12/23/2017. Since 12/23/2017, my computer has been going from excellent functionality to uncontrollable. Here are a few major malfunctions that have happened since the install:

    Lost the startup, lost the network availability, lost the battery function control, lot the wireless network controls, lost the mic, lost the speaker control and volume, lost the ability to recharge the onboard battery, lost the Wi-Fi range from 19.7 Mbps to 0.7 Mbps, and download and upload from 4.8 Mbps to 0.9 Mbps. My own PC is unaware of me now.

    Please stay away from this security program called FixMeStick. I will be contacting this system's creator if it's humanly possible. My computer was working perfectly fine prior to installing the FixMeStick USB program. It took overnight to allow a complete system cleaning disaster. This is very unfair that a company can sell a security program that can do so much damage in such a short period of time.

    This FixMeStick USB program was made available at HSN.com now, and FixMeStick or HSN needs to step up and replace this PC system destroyed by this program. I wish I could leave a negative 10 stars for this product, but 1 star will work for now.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 36 out 38 people found this review helpful

    Rip off

    My husband ordered two of these, one for my Mac and one for his PC. I had a virus, and it wouldn't work. I tried to get help through the company, and they were no help whatsoever. Their customer service is horrible. Do not waste your money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 20

Write a Review for FixMeStick!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review