About FixMeStick

By Derek Lakin
HighYa Staff Updated on: Feb 27, 2018

The FixMeStick is a bootable USB device that can quickly scan your computer, identify any viruses or malware, and then effectively remove them. Despite its power, it‘s simple for any user to install, ready to go right out of the box, and works over four steps:

  1. Plug it into any USB port.
  2. FixMeStick will reboot your computer and scan it for viruses using three of the best anti-virus engines in the world.
  3. The software will then automatically connect to your Wi-Fi network, download information about all the latest threats, report back anything it finds, and automatically remove them (the entire process might take anywhere between 30 minutes and a couple of hours).
  4. Unplug FixMeStick from the USB port and you’re good to go!

Compared to other anti-virus solutions, FixMeStick contains its own Linux-based operating system and works while your computer’s sleeping, so viruses already on your PC can’t actively hide their presence or resist their removal, since they’re not actively running.

You’ve got to admit that FixMeStick sounds appealing, especially if you’re not exactly a computer whiz. But there are a lot of scams in this industry, so is FixMeStick among them, or is it the real deal?

Let’s answer all your most important questions by starting with some background information.

Antivirus Basics

We wrote an in-depth guide titled How To Get Free Anti-Virus Software & Surf Smarter, that we’d recommend reading when you have a few moments. If you’re pressed for time, though, Wikipedia provides a concise definition of a computer virus:

“A computer virus is a malware program that, when executed, replicates by inserting copies of itself (possibly modified) into other computer programs, data files, or the boot sector of the hard drive; when this replication succeeds, the affected areas are then said to be "infected”. Viruses often perform some type of harmful activity on infected hosts, such as stealing hard disk space or CPU time, accessing private information, corrupting data, displaying political or humorous messages on the user's screen, spamming their contacts, logging their keystrokes, or even rendering the computer useless.”

In layman’s terms, once your computer is infected by malicious software, it could run poorly and even hand your personal and financial information over to would-be scammers. But how can antivirus software help protect against viruses, and how does FixMeStick set itself apart from the competition?

How Anti-Virus Software Works: FixMeStick vs. the Competition

How Do Most Anti-Virus Software Works? Just like any other type of computer program, each piece of anti-virus software will work a little differently and implement a variety of features.

But according to How To Geek, in general, anti-virus software runs in the background (you’re usually not aware that it’s doing its thing) and scans every file you open. When you do this, it quickly compares the program to “known viruses, worms, and other types of malware,” and then alerts you as soon as a threat is detected.

In addition to comparing files individually, most anti-virus software can also perform full-system scans in order to detect threats that might otherwise remain for months (or even years, if it’s a program you rarely use).

Is FixMeStick Different?

Comparatively, the company advertises there are a couple of key distinctions with FixMeStick:

First, it leverages the power of 10 different antivirus programs at once: it’s built upon three leading antivirus programs (McAfee, Avira, and Sophos), and accesses seven other online programs when in use, to provide “the broadest and fastest response to the latest threats.”

Second, FixMeStick is a plug-in USB device that scans your computer before it boots, and before the infections start running, which they emphasize is the best approach, and one that the U.S. Computer Emergency Readiness Team recommends. Here’s another concise summary provided by Wikipedia:

“The best and most reliable method for operating-system-level rootkit detection is to shut down the computer suspected of infection, and then to check its storage by booting from an alternative trusted medium (e.g. a "rescue" CD-ROM or USB flash drive).[70] The technique is effective because a rootkit cannot actively hide its presence if it is not running.”

While we didn’t test any of these devices ourselves, the website reports that FixMeStick’s Pro version “connects to the McAfee GTI and OPSWAT Metadefender file reputation servers to achieve up-to-the-second threat detection.”

FixMeStick Spec SheetFixMeStick contains multiple scanners on the stick, and use more scanners in the cloud, which can help identify threats in advance. Credit: FixMeStick Technologies Inc

Is FixMeStick Just Another Registry Cleaner?

Whether you’ve been exploring different anti-virus solutions for a while, or just started researching all your options a couple weeks ago, you’ve probably encountered at least one scam disguised as a registry cleaner, which just ends up making your PC’s performance worse—or that installs more viruses and malware. In our opinion, TurboYourPC is a prime example of this.

However, FixMeStick is not a registry cleaner—and we definitely don’t think it’s a scam. Why? Let’s take a look at a sampling of industry and customer feedback.

Online Customer Reviews For FixMeStick

FixMeStick has thousands of professional and customer reviews available online, most of which appear to be positive.

For example, PC Mag gave FixMeStick a four-star (excellent) rating, and liked that the device is bootable, easy to use, features three different scanning engines, and gives you the ability to undo in case you run into any problems.

On Amazon, FixMeStick had more than 1,800 reviews customer reviews and a 3.7-star average rating. There, customers liked that it was easy to use, provided effective results, and that the product is backed up by great support. On the other hand, some found that FixMeStick didn’t work properly (whether it didn’t identify known viruses or malware, and/or didn’t effectively remove them), and didn’t improve PC performance.

FixMeStick also received high ratings on HSN.com (341 reviews, 4.3-star rating) and Walmart.com (139 reviews, 3.7-star rating), with many of the same compliments and complaints noted on Amazon.

The anti-virus software is manufactured by FixMeStick Technologies based out of Montreal, QC.

How much will FixMeStick’s software cost you?

How Much Does FixMeStick Cost & Where Can You Buy It?

FixMeStick is available in three different options:

  • A 30-day trial for $9.95 plus S&H, which allows you to install the software on up to three computers. Then, once 30 days have passed, you’ll be billed the remaining $44.99 for a 1-year subscription.
  • One- year subscription for $59.99.
  • FixMeStick PRO, which allows you to install the software on as many computers as you like, for $299.99 per year.

Note: FixMeStick can also be found at a wide variety third-party retailers, such as Amazon, Walmart, Best Buy, Office Depot, HSN.com, and Fry’s Electronics. To find one near you, visit the company’s Store Locator page.

If purchased directly through the company, FixMeStick comes with a 45-day refund policy. And you don’t even have to ship it back to the company. You’ll also receive a virus removal guarantee, which states: “If your FixMeStick didn't remove your virus, let us know and we'll remove it manually for free.”

If needed, FixMeStick also comes with unlimited free email, phone, and chat support, which you can initiate by contacting customer service at support@fixmestick.com, or calling 888-530-6125.

We’ve covered a whole lot of ground already, so let’s go ahead and wrap things up.

Is FixMeStick a Good Anti-Virus Solution?

Remember the anti-virus article we mentioned at the beginning? Comparing FixMeStick to any of the free programs we discussed in it isn’t really fair. Why?

Because FixMeStick is intended to work in tandem with them—or any other anti-virus program. Kind of like of like how a hammer and a nail are two separate things, but generally work better when used together.

So, if you haven’t already, we’d recommend reading through the article and starting with some quality anti-virus software. However, if you are having a hard time cleaning an infected PC, based on their competitive pricing, length of time in business, ease of use and mostly positive online customer—and professional—feedback, you might consider adding the FixMeStick to your arsenal.

But keep in mind that if you’re technically-minded, you can download each of the anti-virus programs the include yourself, create your own bootable device (this is actually the case with most anti-virus vendors) for free, and accomplish much of the same thing.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

132 Consumer Reviews for FixMeStick

Average Consumer Rating: 3.6
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 72 4 star: 12 3 star: 5 2 star: 11 1 star:  32
Bottom Line: 66% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 132
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • Very thorough

    • Dallas, TX,
    • Dec 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The FixMeStick thoroughly cleaned our laptops of harmful items.

    I recommend that people try it! The literal toxins that were on our computers were slowing the computers down. It reminded me of an old fable we are all too familiar with. Give the FixMeStick the opportunity to liberate your computer.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Easy to use and excellent product

    • Ontario, Canada,
    • Dec 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was able to clean my laptop of its 23 threats. As suggested, I used the overnight method and the next day I started the clean process and in no time my laptop was ready.

    Follow the instructions included and off you go.

    I had one concern and requested help, and the next day I had a reply and was able to solve my problem

    This is what I call excellent SERVICE SUPPORT.

    Thank you.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Not satisfied

    • Staatsburg, NY,
    • Dec 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I put the FixMeStick in the PC and it did its thing and then told me I had a lot of malware on my PC. Why didn't it clean that out of my PC when it was doing everything else? I am sending it back as I don't think it did what it was supposed to do. Thank you.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Not worth the money

    • Grand Prairie, TX,
    • Dec 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered the Stick from HSN. I ran FixMeStick when it arrived. The run took almost 1.5 hours on a high-speed gaming computer that contained no gaming software files. It came back with two minor errors. I then ran Malwarebytes free version and it found one major problem that FixMeStick missed and it took less than 10 minutes to find it. For this reason, I am returning my FixMeStick to HSN for a refund. After 1.5 hours it did not detect a major problem that a free software found in less than 10 minutes. This is not all it is stated to be.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 17, 2018

      Claire M.,

      Hi Ken,

      I'm sorry to hear the FixMeStick missed a virus on your computer! If you can recall what the threat was that Malwarebytes found that we did not, please report it to support@fixmestick.com. We're always on the hunt for ways to improve the product! Further, if you're worried the FixMeStick may have missed anything, please email us at the same email and we'd be happy to remotely connect to take a look.

      Best,

      Claire

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Good for viruses only

    • Burke, VA,
    • Dec 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The TV ads and HSN miss lead me thinking the FixMeStick would speed up my PC. I have two virus protection products I run so the FixMeStick did find anything or speed up my PC. My family has three Dell laptops that run slowly, especially when booting or installing any application. For example, installing TurboTax takes 30. When I check the resources, the hard drive is running at 100 percent. I have tried many suggestions I found on the internet. Will your other product fix this problem?

    I have recommended FixMeStick to a few friends who PC was completely locked. I have not heard if it helped.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 17, 2018

      Claire M.,

      Hi Dan,

      Thanks for reaching out. We appreciate your review. The FixMeStick certainly is a virus-removal tool, so if your computer is slow due to reasons that are not virus-related, then it likely is not the solution you're looking for! As you are a FixMeStick owner, you can get a discount on System Mechanic (you can check it out here: www.fixmestick.com/system-mechanic/) which may help the issues you're having. However, if you are concerned you may have viruses on your computer, please email us at support@fixmestick.com or chat with us directly on our website www.fixmestick.com and we'd be more than happy to remotely connect to your computer and have a look.

      Looking forward to hearing from you.

      Best,

      Claire

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Not worth it

    • Alberta, Canada,
    • Dec 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    None, and I mean NONE of the instructions were correct, nor did they work on my ASUS. I wound up having to go into the BIOS and change the method of booting, but I wound up changing so many factors that I had to take notes so I can reset after I got the thing to actually run.

    And when it finished the scan, it was SUPPOSED to "clean" my computer. It neither did nor did it offer to do so. Instructions clearly indicate that it will.

    Keep your money, take your system into a reputable computer tech.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 17, 2018

      Claire M.,

      Hi Brian,

      I'm sorry you had trouble with the FixMeStick. I can assure you that once the scan is complete, it will alert you to any viruses and instruct you to clean them. If you're concerned you may still have viruses on your computer, please send us an email at support@fixmestick.com and we'd be more than happy to take a look for you.

      Best,

      Claire

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Better than any tech I have ever paid

    • Snohomish, WA,
    • Dec 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have three PCs and the one I'm using now was the better of the three with only 58 virus/malware, etc. that the FixMeStick removed and now it works great, and it only took about two hours and 45 minutes to complete. The second one was in really bad shape, still barely worked, but too slow to bother, and the FixMeStick brought that PC back to like new performance and it took about three and half hours I think. Now, the third PC was so bad that you barely could even get it to turn on, and once you did, that's about as far as you could go, and the FixMeStick took just under four hours to completely fix that PC, and when it finished, it had four pages of malware viruses and who knows, but when the FixMeStick finished, that third PC is now back to even better than when I bought it refurbished online two years ago. I will never hire a tech again to try his luck at fixing my PC's, FixMeStick is the only way to go, I promise.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Arrived just in time!

    • Lindenwold, NJ,
    • Dec 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My husband is good for being on the computer hours at a time and is all over the internet. Two days after I received my FixMeStick, his desktop was hit by a virus where it froze up the computer and it wanted us to call a "1-800" for repair - been down that road before where they want to get into your computer and charge you hundreds of dollars for repair and protection.

    I tried the FixMeStick and put it to its ultimate test. The virus was detected, cleaned it out and had our desktop back up and running. I was happy that the instructions for the stick included a way to get into our computer since we couldn't get back into Windows for the scan without taking it out for service. This alone was worth the purchase. Thanks for a great product.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Not impressed

    • New York,
    • Dec 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I followed all directions and was notified scan and virus removal was complete. But I still have many problems with all sorts of "stuff" getting in the way, especially during boot up, which takes up to 20 minutes! Also, after the scan, I no longer have access to programs such as MS Access and others.

    Needless to say, I'm returning the item.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 13, 2018

      Claire M.,

      Hi Debra,

      Thanks for your review! I'm sorry to hear you aren't impressed with the FixMeStick. While it is super effective at removing viruses, it's possible it may have missed something or the problems you're having with your computer are not virus related! Please send us an email at support@fixmestick.com or chat with an agent directly on our website www.fixmestick.com, and we'd be more than happy to see what's going on and get your computer working properly!

      Looking forward to hearing from you.

      Best,

      Claire

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • The FixMeStick review

    • New York,
    • Dec 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I use FixMeStick on all the computers in my household and it works great and is easy to use. I even use it on an old computer that was slow and wasn't use, and now it runs like new. Great product, I recommend it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Great product!

    • South Carolina,
    • Dec 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've had my FixMeStick for about two years. In that time I've used it to solve many problems that might have cost a great deal of money, had I needed to call HP or Microsoft for tech support. I love my FixMeStick. I highly recommend it, especially for those that are not very techno-savvy. Running the scan is easy, and when you need help, tech support is always helpful and available. Updates are automatic and free.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 132

Write a Review for FixMeStick!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review