About Flaviar

By Derek Lakin
HighYa Staff
Updated on: Mar 6, 2018

Dubbing themselves as a club for spirit enthusiasts, Flaviar is a US and EU based spirits discovery commerce company that claims to help you taste craft and premium spirits, discover your favorites, and build a home bar. On top of this, Flaviar claims to be a cultural hub and community dedicated to democratizing access, exploration, education, and discovery in the world of fine spirits.

If you’re tired of the usual choices at your local liquor store and are looking to expand your palate and your knowledge, Flaviar can seem like a solid option for addressing all these issues. But when it comes down to it, how does their service stack up?

How Flaviar Works

Flaviar is a membership-based club that claims to help each and every member develop their own tastes as they build their dream home bar. And more importantly, as they curate their bar to make it more exotic--and more personal--than the world’s best speakeasy.

In order to accomplish this, Flaviar claims to helps its members navigate a vast landscape of spirits through members-only tasting boxes, live events, insider knowledge, private bottlings, access to rare products, unbiased commentary and reviews, and a database of over 20,000 spirits from all over the world.

According to the Flaviar website, membership offers nine main benefits:

  1. Tasting Boxes - ‘Try Before You Buy' themed boxes that allow members to taste products side-by-side and discover personal flavor preferences. Members receive one free box each quarter.
  2. Live Experiences - Flaviar works with distillers, bars, and brands to organize live Members-only events throughout the year.
  3. Home Bar - A digital platform on the Flaviar website allowing Members to record spirits preferences, log favorites, and map out their very own home bar.
  4. Exclusive Bottlings - Flaviar works directly with distillers to create unique products exclusively for Members.
  5. Member Community - A vast and interactive network of connoisseurs and casual consumers alike sharing knowledge and opinions on over 20,000 products.
  6. Online Shop - Flaviar offers members a curated online liquor store featuring a rotating selection of exclusive spirits, craft and big brand alike.
  7. The Flavor Spiral - An innovative visualization of spirits tasting notes.
  8. The Vault - An exclusive selection of extremely rare and hard-to-find spirits.
  9. Free Shipping - Flaviar club members get free shipping on any full size bottle order once per month, while tasting boxes always ship for free.

Because discovering new liquors can be a learning experience, Flaviar also offers a series of seven-day email courses that can help make you a more informed consumer, which is called the School of Spirits. Here, the company claims that you’ll be able to discover fine spirits, learn tips and tricks on tasting, and earn a Flaviar certificate.

Flaviar Pricing & Refund Policy

A Flaviar membership is priced at $60 per quarter, or $210 per year.

Keep in mind that your Flaviar membership will auto-renew, so if you’d prefer to end your it membership, you'll need to request cancellation before your next renewal.

If you cancel your Flaviar membership within three days and before using any benefits, you’ll receive a full refund. Outside of this, refunds are at the sole discretion of the company.

Is Flaviar a Good Choice for Discovering New Spirits?

If you are interested in learning more about liquors from around the world, does Flaviar represent a good option? Maybe, but keep the following in mind:

What You’ll Receive

While most Flaviar members appear to agree that the company gives you the opportunity to try out a wide variety of spirits that you might not otherwise have access to—without having to make a big financial commitment and purchase an entire bottle—keep in mind that:

  1. Although you can choose a complimentary Tasting Box, the samples in the box are curated by Flaviar.
  2. It appears that Flaviar tends to favor whiskies, so if you don’t care much for this type of liquor, you may not enjoy your membership as much.

With this said, you’ll definitely want to browse through their previous tasting boxes to get a better idea of what they offer.

Customer Reviews

Overall, it appears that Flaviar has almost wholly positive online customer reviews, with the most common complaint citing lack of customizability. Another complaint that we encountered more than once during our research is that tasting boxes don’t necessarily include enough liquor for three people. While this is definitely open to personal preference, it’s something to consider, especially if you’d like to sample each one more than once in order to discern whether or not you’d like to purchase a full-size bottle.

On the other hand, some of the most common compliments cited customer service that is quick to respond to any problems (lost packages, etc.), bottles that are packaged attractively, and pour indicators on each bottle to let you know how large of a serving you’re pouring.

Since writing our original article, more than 270 Flaviar customers have provided feedback about their experiences, giving the company an average rating of 4.3 stars. Common compliments revolve around solid selection of high-quality spirits, lots of helpful information, and the availability of sample packs.

Most of the complaints (what relatively few there were) referenced high prices, with a handful relating to less-than-stellar customer support experiences.

Bottom line – Is Flaviar Right For You?

Although it’s not necessarily inexpensive, Flaviar appears to have a reputation for providing customers with the ability to try a variety of liquors from around the world, and should definitely be on your radar if you’re looking to expand your knowledge (and your tastebuds).

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 405 Flaviar Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 4.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 315 4 star: 13 3 star: 5 2 star: 14 1 star:  58
Bottom Line: 81% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 405
Sort reviews by:

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Best customer service experience in years

    • United Kingdom,
    • Jul 30, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was given a referral by a friend which gives a £10 credit on your first order. However, it did not register on my account when I ordered. A quick email to their customer service and the order was canceled and the credit was applied to my account. Upon re-ordering one of the offers for, a free bottle had expired. A quick reply to customer service and the rep had taken care of the situation to my extreme satisfaction.

    Despite this minor hiccup on my first order, I will be giving Flaviar more of my business for their services as they did what no company has done for me in years which is delighted the customer.

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Best customer service I've had in years

    • United Kingdom,
    • Jul 31, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    A friend gave me a referral to this site which in turn gave both myself and him some credit on our accounts. After making my first purchase, I realized that my account had not been credited with the sign up bonus. After a quick email to the customer service team, the order was canceled. The account was credited with the referral bonus and I could complete the order again. But oh no! The offer of the free bottle of Ron-De-Jeremy Rum had expired! Another customer service rep told me not to worry and that everything would be taken care of.

    So enough gushing and lets get down some hard facts. These guys are a start up, and they're plastering themselves on every trendy social media network I have seen. So you have to expect that they're going to go from very few customer to a lot in a short period of time. Like any business, this can cause problems, which is why their customer service team is on the ball. Secondly, They're shipping out of Slovenia from what I can tell. Now shipping to the UK from Slovenia doesn't take very long, about a week at most, maybe two if there are some national holidays getting in the way.

    As for the people in the USA and further abroad, you have to expect a long wait. Standard delivery isn't going to be UPS or DHL. It will be sent through national postal services. A couple of things they can do better (in my opinion): They can Invoice upon ordering. Currently, they don't seem to be doing invoices from the people I have talked to who have placed orders through their website. The order history and order tracking through the website is lacking. We're used to well polished e-commerce sites these days with eBay and Amazon and they like showing us how it's done. So maybe these guys have that in the works.

    I know they're hiring a front end and back end developer at time of writing. Why 5 stars? Well like the title says, they've hooked me up so far, and the order shipped in less than 24 hours from payment. So now it's in the hands of the postal services. Have faith (and a little patience), They're a startup after all.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Excellent service and Customer Service

    • Buckinghamshire, UK,
    • Jul 20, 2015

    Rarely in this country do we have such choice, excellent service, and the best after sales service that Flaviar excel at. I cannot praise them highly enough and would recommend them to all our friends and family. Thank you, Flaviar.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Excellent Service. If you haven't tried these guys in the last 3 months, do it now.

    • Atlanta, Georgia, USA,
    • Apr 23, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    Fantastic service! I have placed many orders with them over the last 6 months (18 bottles and counting). Delivery was slow during the Christmas rush, but they have really improved their shipping and delivery. The last several orders have all arrived in less than three weeks, and every single order has been well packed and arrived in perfect condition. Their email communication is excellent and they even located a special bottle for me. They guarantee delivery and stand behind their service. I had one issue which they stood behind and immediately issued a refund. Highly recommended and I will continue to purchase more from them. These guys are serious about what they do.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Don't understand the negative feedback.

    I have been ordering tasting packs and individual bottles from Flaviar for about six months now and have nothing but praise for the company. I am highly impressed with the variety they offer. Of all the orders I have placed, I only had one that required a three week wait. I have noticed that some come to my post office, and I have to go and sign for it, while some are delivered to my home. I'm not sure why this is, but may explain some of the issues with delivery I have noticed on some of the previous negative posts.

    I'm not sure how they do it, but they make me feel like a VIP, while keeping cost reasonable. I think that is the key to the niche they fill. Educate and personalize, if they keep working on that, they will continue to have happy customers like me.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Excellent Experience

    • St. Anthony, Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada,
    • Jul 21, 2015

    Well it's things like the personal replies that make Flaviar so great. When I asked a question a month or so ago I received a prompt and personalized reply that completely answered my question. Also, all shipments have arrived (and come on guys, of course it takes a while to get from Europe to North America), and I've loved tasting different Whiskeys (and Whiskys) from around the world that I would probably never taste or even hear of had Flaviar not sent them to me. It's like going to a tasting at the best Whiskey bar in town once a month, except that I live in a town of 2,000 people in the Canadian tundra and such things do not exist up here. The website is great, I like the interactive "my bar" feature and Flaviar has done nothing but impress so far.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Excellent service!

    I started my Flaviar experience first with a tasting pack. It arrived quickly. Then I ordered the first bottle and it took quite some time but arrived finally. After that, I have ordered two times more, totaling six bottles and the delivery has been really quick and products really good.

    Communication is good for me and selection is good, from a suitable level up to a top quality products.

    I can highly recommend!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Quality Liquor for the Masses

    • Knoxville, TN,
    • Jul 21, 2015

    As an avid scotch and whiskey fan living in a somewhat small town in Tennessee with antiquated liquor laws, I face the unhappy situation of having few options when it comes to high-quality or hard-to-find distillations. However, because of Flaviar I have been able to experiment with many kinds of whiskey and therefore have expanded my palate and experience. I appreciate all of Flaviar's hard work and I look forward to ordering another bottle soon.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Great Experience

    • Nashville, TN,
    • Jul 21, 2015

    I've purchased 10 plus bottles of liquor from Flaviar and have been happy with every single one, never had any issues with shipping, although it does take a few weeks. I've never had a damaged bottle at all. I really enjoy the site as I'm able to discover new bottles and flavors that I would not normally find anywhere in my area and wouldn't even have known to ask for a special order. I've recommended this site to my friends and will continue to purchase from them.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    GREAT bang for your buck!

    • Burr Ridge, IL,
    • Jun 7, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been a customer of Flaviar's for almost two years now. I will admit that in the company's infancy they DID have shipping issues - I am happy to say that those issues have been remedied and now they ship my purchases to me in about a week from time of purchasing on-line. I find this to be in keeping with the finer liquor stores from across the pond.

    I do extensive research before making a purchase spanning the globe for uncommon to rare (read: shuttered distilleries) bottles and have amassed a collection of over three hundred bottles with an approximate current market value of $40,000 U.S.D. - so I take my liquor VERY seriously. Flaviar does an EXCELLENT job of providing a myriad of spirits for the consumer. Their pricing is consistently competitive and often far less expensive than even the most aggressive stores here in the states, three bottles immediately come to mind:

    • Glendronach 15 year - Flaviar $70, here in the U.S. $100 + tax
    • Glenfarclas 105 - Flaviar $60, here in the U.S. $80 + tax
    • Laphroaig Quarter Cask - Falviar $45, in the U.S. $60 + tax

    All three of these bottles are mainstays in my bar for entertaining friends and all are well-received.

    When you couple this outstanding pricing with free shipping (when you buy ANY three bottles) the savings are HUGE!!!

    Whenever they have the Glendronach 15 yr on special (I'd say every four months) I pick up 3-4 bottles. Folks, single malt scotch on average goes up 15% a year (especially fro over marketed products like Macallan).

    My personal recommendation is for you to pick up three bottles of Glendronach 15 yr (if you're into sherried single malt) next time they advertise it and compare it to a bottle of Macallan 18 yr. I find the Glendronach to be more complex and you're basically paying the SAME amount for THREE bottles of Glendronach 15 yr vs. ONE bottle of Macallan 18 yr.

    It is my hope that eventually they add an auction house to services to accommodate my sweet tooth for Brora, Caperdonich Dallas Dhu and Port Ellen - until then though I will happily sip on dram after dram of fine single malt from operational distilleries and laugh all the way to the bank with the money I've saved.

    If you tried Flaviar in the past and were unhappy with the shipping time do yourself a favor and try them again, you WON'T be disappointed!

    Prost!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Great Company.

    • Savannah, GA,
    • Jul 22, 2015

    I've been impressed with the selection of Scotch Flaviar offers. I'm relatively new to Scotch drinking and enjoy reading about what they offer and trying select bottles. They always manage to find and offer selections which aren't readily available in most liquor stores. I also like the ability to shop from home online. The free shipping and no sales tax are also great. So what if shipping takes a little while, it's a great deal and experience when it arrives.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 405

Write a Review for Flaviar!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review