About Flaviar

By Derek Lakin
HighYa Staff Updated on: Mar 6, 2018

Dubbing themselves as a club for spirit enthusiasts, Flaviar is a US and EU based spirits discovery commerce company that claims to help you taste craft and premium spirits, discover your favorites, and build a home bar. On top of this, Flaviar claims to be a cultural hub and community dedicated to democratizing access, exploration, education, and discovery in the world of fine spirits.

If you’re tired of the usual choices at your local liquor store and are looking to expand your palate and your knowledge, Flaviar can seem like a solid option for addressing all these issues. But when it comes down to it, how does their service stack up?

How Flaviar Works

Flaviar is a membership-based club that claims to help each and every member develop their own tastes as they build their dream home bar. And more importantly, as they curate their bar to make it more exotic--and more personal--than the world’s best speakeasy.

In order to accomplish this, Flaviar claims to helps its members navigate a vast landscape of spirits through members-only tasting boxes, live events, insider knowledge, private bottlings, access to rare products, unbiased commentary and reviews, and a database of over 20,000 spirits from all over the world.

According to the Flaviar website, membership offers nine main benefits:

  1. Tasting Boxes - ‘Try Before You Buy' themed boxes that allow members to taste products side-by-side and discover personal flavor preferences. Members receive one free box each quarter.
  2. Live Experiences - Flaviar works with distillers, bars, and brands to organize live Members-only events throughout the year.
  3. Home Bar - A digital platform on the Flaviar website allowing Members to record spirits preferences, log favorites, and map out their very own home bar.
  4. Exclusive Bottlings - Flaviar works directly with distillers to create unique products exclusively for Members.
  5. Member Community - A vast and interactive network of connoisseurs and casual consumers alike sharing knowledge and opinions on over 20,000 products.
  6. Online Shop - Flaviar offers members a curated online liquor store featuring a rotating selection of exclusive spirits, craft and big brand alike.
  7. The Flavor Spiral - An innovative visualization of spirits tasting notes.
  8. The Vault - An exclusive selection of extremely rare and hard-to-find spirits.
  9. Free Shipping - Flaviar club members get free shipping on any full size bottle order once per month, while tasting boxes always ship for free.

Because discovering new liquors can be a learning experience, Flaviar also offers a series of seven-day email courses that can help make you a more informed consumer, which is called the School of Spirits. Here, the company claims that you’ll be able to discover fine spirits, learn tips and tricks on tasting, and earn a Flaviar certificate.

Flaviar Pricing & Refund Policy

A Flaviar membership is priced at $60 per quarter, or $210 per year.

Keep in mind that your Flaviar membership will auto-renew, so if you’d prefer to end your it membership, you'll need to request cancellation before your next renewal.

If you cancel your Flaviar membership within three days and before using any benefits, you’ll receive a full refund. Outside of this, refunds are at the sole discretion of the company.

Is Flaviar a Good Choice for Discovering New Spirits?

If you are interested in learning more about liquors from around the world, does Flaviar represent a good option? Maybe, but keep the following in mind:

What You’ll Receive

While most Flaviar members appear to agree that the company gives you the opportunity to try out a wide variety of spirits that you might not otherwise have access to—without having to make a big financial commitment and purchase an entire bottle—keep in mind that:

  1. Although you can choose a complimentary Tasting Box, the samples in the box are curated by Flaviar.
  2. It appears that Flaviar tends to favor whiskies, so if you don’t care much for this type of liquor, you may not enjoy your membership as much.

With this said, you’ll definitely want to browse through their previous tasting boxes to get a better idea of what they offer.

Customer Reviews

Overall, it appears that Flaviar has almost wholly positive online customer reviews, with the most common complaint citing lack of customizability. Another complaint that we encountered more than once during our research is that tasting boxes don’t necessarily include enough liquor for three people. While this is definitely open to personal preference, it’s something to consider, especially if you’d like to sample each one more than once in order to discern whether or not you’d like to purchase a full-size bottle.

On the other hand, some of the most common compliments cited customer service that is quick to respond to any problems (lost packages, etc.), bottles that are packaged attractively, and pour indicators on each bottle to let you know how large of a serving you’re pouring.

Since writing our original article, more than 270 Flaviar customers have provided feedback about their experiences, giving the company an average rating of 4.3 stars. Common compliments revolve around solid selection of high-quality spirits, lots of helpful information, and the availability of sample packs.

Most of the complaints (what relatively few there were) referenced high prices, with a handful relating to less-than-stellar customer support experiences.

Bottom line – Is Flaviar Right For You?

Although it’s not necessarily inexpensive, Flaviar appears to have a reputation for providing customers with the ability to try a variety of liquors from around the world, and should definitely be on your radar if you’re looking to expand your knowledge (and your tastebuds).

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

391 Consumer Reviews for Flaviar

Average Consumer Rating: 4.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 302 4 star: 12 3 star: 4 2 star: 14 1 star:  59
Bottom Line: 80% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 391
Sort reviews by:

  • 12 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Over priced

    • Georgia,
    • Sep 1, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Although I enjoyed the quarterly samples, I did not like the pricing for it. $60 a quarter for the membership and you only get one free sampler of three small bottles. That works out to $20 a tiny sample. VERY expensive! There is no free sample every month like this summary states above. Quarterly is all I find.

    They suggested a dark rum, Kraken. Very good tasting. Local store price was less than $18. Flaviar is $30. Again, the concept is good, but the actual pricing is high.

    I've been a member for a year, but am going to cancel to save money to buy MORE of the ones I really like.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Best idea EVER

    • Klamath Falls, OR,
    • Apr 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    It is great to see the stories and people behind the bottles and contents! The website is easy to use and has a ton of information. Shipping was very fast, everything was packaged safely, and the coasters were a nice touch.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Flaviar shmaviar

    • Wisconsin,
    • Aug 19, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    If you are really into expensive liquor and want to try tiny little samples before investing in a bottle I guess this is good. The promotions however are confusing as to exactly what you will receive for your $60 'membership'. I saw an article about this in a magazine that sounded like you got 3 months of samples - 3 small vials of whiskey the first time and then you get to choose the next 2 months of samples - rum, vodka, gin, whatever. In actuality we got 3 samples of whiskey for $60 and that was it. Oh but this membership 'allows' us to buy more expensive booze to impress our friends, detailed information about the booze, distiller, etc. So what. I can read all that stuff online and buy quality booze at Costco or locally. What a disappointing Fathers Day gift this was! There isn't any way to get your money back either. So with my membership cancelled I get nothing but a bad whiskey taste in my mouth.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 7, 2016

      Petra, Head of Customer Care

      Dear Kate,

      Thank you for reviewing our service and for giving me the opportunity to address your concerns. I'm terribly sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the Flaviar Father's Day Gift.

      You have contacted our customer care on July 15 and forwarded the link to the website that promoted our Father's Day Gift (3, 6 and 12 months of Flaviar Membership). We got back to you immediately with the full explanation of what the membership entails: one tasting box per quarter, monthly free shipping, access to exclusive content, online tasting course, exclusive deals, live events etc.

      I'm sorry to hear you don't find enough value in what we offer as the tasting boxes are only one of the major club's benefits.

      I've looked through our correspondence and haven't been able to find your request for a refund, I'm sorry. Saying that there is no way to get your money back is simply not correct, though. Here is our cancellation policy that can be found in our terms and conditions:

      You may cancel your Membership any time by contacting our Membership team. Any refunds are calculated based on the 90-day Membership period as follows. If you cancel within 3 days of signing up to a paid Membership, we will refund your full Membership fee. We may charge you (or withhold from your refund) the value of benefits used by you and your account during this 3-day period. If you cancel at any other time, we will refund your Membership fee pro-rata, based on the remaining duration of the Membership, but only if you and your account did not make any eligible purchases or take advantage of Membership benefits since your latest Membership charge.

      I really hope I've managed to address your concerns sufficiently but don't hesitate to contact us at hello@flaviar.com if you need further assistance. Thank you!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Totally Dishonest/Misleading Advertising & Merchandising

    • Sep 16, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Paid $60 for 3 small tasting vials. Fine, whatever. I paid an additional $41 for what I thought was going to be an order of 750ml bottles (given the product page and description) and only received 3 more small tasting vials. So, with Flaviar, you are given the opportunity to spend obscene amounts of money on single servings of whiskey.

    I do not recommend anyone waste their money with this scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    What a wonderful opportunity

    • Newberg, OR,
    • May 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    We tried it and loved it. I went from a trial run to joining the membership. So satisfying to see my husband and sons enjoying a drink together on the porch, talking about life and great whiskeys. Thank you for creating such a unique opportunity that I know we will love!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Still waiting.

    • Maine,
    • Nov 21, 2014

    So I placed an order on 10/30/2014. The email response to the order said it would be here in 12-18 days.

    At day 1, I sent a note asking if I would receive shipping information. No answer.

    Several days later, I responded to one of their sales email with the same question and still no answer.

    Several days later again, I finally got a response at day 15 saying it would ship next week. That was last week. No email, no package. But my American Express Card was charged on 10/30/14 --

    Legit or Scam? I don't know but I'm out 300 bucks and still no package. Never again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Broadening horizons

    Flaviar provides a unique opportunity to sample a realm of spirit one would not normally consider due to the strata in which it resides. We would not consider purchasing a bottle of this quality just to try it out but, once having sampled the quality, we can easily see the value in the investment as well as the enjoyment in the experience.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Disappointed and discouraged, cannot even begin to define how I feel about Flaviar

    Nowhere on the website, when I ordered a one-year gift subscription and a few cool looking bottles of tequila, rum, and such, did it state that the images on the site were not representative of what I might actually receive in my hands. So, when I ordered the Apocalypto Tequila Reposado in the ceramic jaguar/human head bottle, I expected to actually receive the Apocalypto Tequila Reposado in the ceramic jaguar/human head bottle. Instead, I received a poor imitation of that cool ceramic bottle rendered in clear glass with the back label showing through the front jaguar/human face.

    When I sent an email complaining and asking for the bottle that was pictured, I was told that their supplier did not have that bottle and that there are no guarantees that what I order will actually look in person as they do on the website. I called this bait and switch. And, I received an email back telling me about the regulations they have to adhere to and how hard it is for them to do what they do while trying to change things up in the liquor industry. To say I don't care one twit about that is a gross overstatement.

    Finally, one of the happiness fairies or whatever ridiculous title they call themselves told me they would reach out to their supplier and see if they could locate the bottle I actually thought I was purchasing. I had also sent them a picture from Caskers with the ceramic model and they said they would reach out to them, as well. Now, keep in mind, I had given this company almost four hundred and fifty dollars for the gift subscription and four bottles of liquor to go with it on Christmas morning. And, I heard crickets until two weeks later when I again emailed asking about the bottle of tequila I had actually believed I had purchased. At that time, I was told that they had credited me ten dollars for the inconvenience, but that was all they could do, their supplier did not have the ceramic bottle.

    I have repeatedly told them in email and on their Facebook page that what they need to do is put it in FAQs that not all images on their site are representative of what the consumer will actually receive. So far, I haven't seen that done. As far as I am concerned, they are a disappointing and discouraging business to deal with. And, I am disgusted that this is what I thought was so cool that I should purchase it for my son. When I give him his gift, unfortunately, the joy he might have gotten will be tempered by the warning that things are not always as they seem on the Flaviar website.

    Oh, and about that ten dollar credit to make me shut up and go away? You guessed it, I still haven't seen it. SMH.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 19, 2019

      Petra, Head of Customer Care

      Hey Rosemarie,

      Thank you for sharing your concerns. Constructive feedback is always appreciated and helps us improve further.

      Wrong orders aren't uncommon in the e-commerce business, but what sets us apart is the way we handle such hiccups. It doesn’t happen often, but we’re very adept at handling wrong orders and always offer appropriate compensation for any inconvenience caused to a reasonable extent.

      At the time you wrote this review you were still in contact with our customer support. Your issue has since been resolved in a timely manner and, we believe, to your satisfaction. We extended and executed a refund of 25% of the bottle price since our vendor was unable to provide the pictured bottle. We were also willing to take the product back for a full refund. Moreover, all products now feature a disclaimer in case there might be a discrepancy between the pictured and the actual product.

      We’re easy to reach at hello@flaviar.com if you need help with anything else

      Wish you all the best!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Regret ordering from Flaviar

    • Madison, WI, USA,
    • Jul 7, 2015

    Terrible delay in shipping - it's been 20 days since I placed my order and 18 days since Flaviar took my payment (via PayPal). They keep telling me that my order will ship soon, but there's always some excuse why it doesn't. I've asked twice for them to cancel my order and refund my money, but they have completely ignored these requests. I've opened up a claim with PayPal.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 30, 2014

      Scott L.,

      I wanted to post an update -- PayPal ruled in my favor and refunded the cost of my purchase. I don't have details, but the refund came 11 days after I submitted my claim, and since they give the company 10 days to respond, I conclude that Flaviar never responded to the claim even to PayPal.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Hmm, I think Columbus would've gotten me my booze quicker.

    • Orange County, CA,
    • Jul 8, 2015

    Look, the little five whiskey sampler came relatively quickly within a week or two. But the shipment of a single bottle, is something I'm still waiting on. It's a week short of a month, now. And I think they shipped it earlier this week with a 7 to 10 day shipment time. So I'll get it after a month, we're talking 1800's shipping speeds. And yes, the same tracking options from that era, as well.

    The good news? If I want a finely aged whiskey, I can just order a step lower. No need to worry about 15 year old scotch or older, just get a 12-year, by the time you receive it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    No communication

    • North Carolina,
    • Nov 25, 2014

    I'm not as bothered by the waiting as I am with no communication from them. My card has been charged but I'm still waiting and waiting and no response to my email queries. Not sure if I'll use them again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 391

Write a Review for Flaviar!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review