About Gundry MD Primal Plants

By HighYa Research Team
Published on: Aug 9, 2016

Gundry MD Primal Plants is an apple-flavored supplement that promises to deliver an “authentic solution” to your facial redness. Not just this, but Gundry MD claims Primal Plants is also effective for addressing discoloration, age spots, blackheads, whiteheads, pimples, ingrown hairs, dry patches, and—in some cases—premature aging.

How? Using only 100% natural ingredients, this “revolutionary, cutting-edge” formula is designed to target your skin problems from the inside out. Packed with polyphenol-rich superfruits and other ingredients, Primal Plants also claims to provide improved digestive health, faster metabolism, younger-looking skin, boosted energy, healthier cholesterol levels, and more.

According to Gundry MD, all you have to do is mix one scoop of Primal Plants into the beverage of your choice, and drink one glass per day on a consistent basis. Doing this, you might feel a “distinctive and noticeable charge of energy” as soon as the first day, although maximum results will manifest over the course of 2-3 weeks.

Despite Primal Plants’ ability to solve your “frustrating skin issues,” it comes with no reported side effects.

Facial redness or other chronic skin issues can be devastating to your self-esteem, so you’re here to find out if Primal Plants is the real deal. In other words, have you finally found something that works, or is the company only targeting your emotions? We’ll help you find out.

What Causes Facial Redness?

While millions of people suffer from facial redness, not everyone’s symptoms are triggered by the same underlying cause.

In other words, similar to asking “what causes a headache,” there can be dozens (or even hundreds) of different causes of facial redness, also known as flushed complexion, including rosacea, acne, hormone fluctuations as a result of menopause, certain diseases like lupus, medical conditions like hyperthyroidism and anxiety, and much more. And as you might imagine, each of these conditions likely involves a different treatment approach.

However, Gundry MD claims their Primal Plants supplement can address your facial redness, apparently regardless of the cause. In fact, Primal Plants’ promo video indicates that the supplement has been proven to reduce facial redness by up to 77% in one month, regardless of your skin type.

Does the clinical evidence for Primal Plants’ ingredients support these claims?

Are Primal Plants’ Ingredients Clinically Proven?

Based on Primal Plants’ label, here’s what we’re told it contains:

Of these ingredients, taking thiamin by mouth may help “correct metabolic disorders associated with genetic diseases,” although there’s no evidence it can boost metabolism.

Niacin (1,200 to 3,000mg per day), selenium, citrus pectin, and berberine (when taking 500mg twice daily for three months) may be effective for reducing some measure of cholesterol. However, for selenium, the data appears to be of questionable quality.

Vitamin B6 and folate might help reduce high blood pressure, biotin may address a specific type of rash (seborrheic dermatitis) in infants, and bitter melon may help reduce blood sugar and ease some gastrointestinal problems.

Capros is a proprietary ingredient manufactured by Natreon that’s claimed to provide cardiovascular support. The company provides a handful of studies to back up their claims, although it’s important to keep in mind that a few studies doesn’t mean something is clinically proven.

Finally, as we’ve discussed on many occasions, probiotics are well understood to help balance digestion, reduce bloating and gassiness, and even boost immune function. For more, be sure to read Probiotics 101.

Outside of these, there doesn’t appear to be sufficient evidence that any of Primal Plants’ ingredients can provide any other reliable benefits. Gundry MD also doesn’t provide any evidence to support their “proven to reduce facial redness by up to 77%” claim.

Are There Any Potential Primal Plants Side Effects?

While they might not provide the “revolutionary” benefits claimed by the company, the positive news is that you likely won’t experience anything worse than mild digestive upset from Primal Plants’ ingredients. Assuming you experience anything at all, that is.

However, flushing (the very thing you’re trying to get rid of) is a common side effect related to niacin. Probiotics can also temporarily cause gassiness, which should balance out within a few days of regular use.

Lastly, selenium might not be safe for long-term use. Here’s how WebMD puts it: “Poisoning from long-term use is similar to arsenic poisoning, with symptoms including hair loss, white horizontal streaking on fingernails, nail inflammation, fatigue, irritability, nausea, vomiting, garlic breath odor, and a metallic taste.”

Hold on a second, though. What about the polyphenols mentioned repeatedly in the Primal Plants video?

Are Polyphenols Good for You?

Technically, polyphenols are “secondary metabolites of plants [that] are generally involved in defense against ultraviolet radiation or aggression by pathogens.” Some fruits, like grapes, apple, pear, cherries, and berries are especially high in polyphenols, which are thought to contribute to their “bitterness, astringency, color, flavor, [and] odor.”

Over the past several years, polyphenols have been studied for their ability to deliver antioxidants to humans, which could help fight free radicals, thought to cause diseases like cancer. Other common antioxidants you likely consume regularly include vitamins A, C, E, folic acid, beta-carotene, and more.

Now, the important thing to remember here is that, while consuming antioxidants (whether derived from polyphenols or other substances) can certainly be beneficial to your health, eating more doesn’t necessarily translate into better health. This is because, as WebMD puts it, “Benefits depend on how the food's antioxidants are absorbed and utilized in the body.”

How Much Does Primal Plants Cost?

Gundry MD’s Primal Plants supplement is available in the following quantities:

  • 1 Jar: $59.99
  • 3 Jars: $161.97
  • 6 Jars: $299.94

Important note: These prices were pulled from InnerSkinFix.com. However, another Gundry URL indicated the price was $99, although both images referenced a 5.2oz jar.

Regardless, all Gundry MD orders come with free U.S. shipping and a 90-day satisfaction guarantee, less S&H. In order to request a refund, customer support can be reached at (800) 852-0477.

The reality is that you’d probably pay just about any price to end your facial redness or other skin problems. Is this what Primal Plants’ customers are experiencing?

Are Primal Plants Customers Leaving Positive Online Reviews?

As is the case for many of the nutritional supplements we review, Primal Plants was a brand new product without any customer feedback at the time of writing.

Fortunately, we’ve reviewed several of Gundry MD’s other products, including Vital Reds, Correct + Calm Redness Relief, and Lectin Shield. Overall, HighYa readers seem pleased with their purchases, with common compliments referencing effective results (increased energy, reduced redness and cholesterol, etc.) and great taste.

On the other hand, what few complaints there were seemed to cite failure to experience results and billing concerns. The company appeared to respond directly to many of these complaints.

We’ve already given you a lot to think about when it comes to Primal Plants, but let’s provide a few more key points as we wrap things up.

Should Gundry MD Primal Plants Be Your First Choice for Skin Problems?

As someone who’s suffered from eczema as long as I can remember (not to mention ultra-sensitive skin and frequent flushing), I can empathize with much of the pain and embarrassment that led you here today. But have you found a solution to this very real problem with Primal Plants?

On one hand, like many of Gundry MD’s other products, it seems that the available clinical evidence doesn’t directly support many of the company’s claims for Primal Plants. And for those that are supported, it seems like the supplement’s ingredients might be most effective for reducing cholesterol—not for reducing facial flushing or addressing any other skin concerns.

On the other hand, it seems like most customers (at least among those who took the time to leave a review) are highly pleased with their results, clinical substantiation aside.

Where does this leave you? If you feel like giving Primal Plants a try, you can always take advantage of the company’s 90-day refund policy, although you’ll lose a few bucks in S&H in the process. Before you do, there are a couple more things we think it’s important to address:

Are Primal Plants’ Marketing Messages Mixed Up?

We made it about 30 minutes of the way through the Primal Plants promo video before moving on, but we noticed in several places that the narrator referenced topical probiotics (specifically, Bonicel and “eight additional ingredients”). However, Primal Plants doesn’t contain Bonicel or any other topical probiotics, so it seems the video was referencing their Correct + Calm cream instead.

Given this, we can’t be sure which marketing claims are supposed to apply to Correct + Calm, and which are intended for Primal Plants. After all, outside of this video, neither Primal Plants websites referenced anything other than boosting “skin health”—no facial flushing or other types of skin problems.

Is Primal Plants Meaningfully Different Than Vital Reds?

If you compare the Primal Plants and Vital Reds formulations side-by-side, you’ll find that the only differences are:

  1. Their superfood blends (different food-based antioxidants, which, as we discussed previously, might not provide any better benefits), as well as
  2. Primal Plants’ addition of a Heart Health blend, which only involves a single proprietary ingredient.

Despite these relatively minor differences, they’re advertised as addressing vastly different conditions.

Can You Trust Dr. Steven Gundry?

Prior to developing his line of skincare products and supplements, Dr. Steven Gundry worked within the medical field for more than three decades, including as a heart surgeon, inventor, and most recently, founder of The Center for Restorative Medicine.

Dr. Gundry also authored the best-selling book titled Dr. Gundry's Diet Evolution: Turn Off the Genes That Are Killing You and Your Waistline, and he appears to have positive online patient feedback.

Did you use Gundry MD’s Primal Plants supplement? Did it deliver any benefits—skin-related or otherwise? Whatever happened, give us the inside scoop by writing a review below!


Read 454 Gundry MD Primal Plants Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 4.6
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 320 4 star: 109 3 star: 13 2 star: 5 1 star:  7
Bottom Line: 97% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 454
Sort reviews by:

  • This company is actively collecting reviews from its customers. All reviews submitted are subject to moderation and approval to ensure they meet our Review Guidelines.
  • 40 out 45 people found this review helpful

    Doesn't work for everyone

    • Edmonton, Alberta, Canada,
    • Apr 7, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been taking Primal Plants for five weeks. It was promoted as a product for improving digestion and heart health, boosting energy, losing weight and improving the appearance of your skin.

    I did experience some initial boost in my energy level, but it did not last past the first week. The appearance of my skin did improve. It had been dry and scaly for years, and the dryness has almost completely disappeared.

    It did not improve digestion but caused such severe constipation that even laxatives do not allow me to completely empty my bowel. Rather than loosing weight, I gained five pounds.

    As for heart health, my blood pressure has gone from 123/75 to 180/94. I do not know if my cholesterol has improved, but the rise in blood pressure suggests it's doing more harm than good.

    I have discontinued use and will not be trying any other products from Gundy MD. It may work as advertised for others, but it does not work for me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Apr 20, 2017

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Hello Connie, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review of your experience with Primal Plants. I am sorry to hear that the product did not give you the benefits that you had anticipated. While most of our customers love this product and see great results from it, we realize that it is not for everyone. I would be more than happy to issue you a full refund for giving our products a fair trial. Please email me personally at aria@gundrymd.com, so that I can assist you with this. Thank you Connie, I look forward to hearing from you.


  • 22 out 24 people found this review helpful

    Disappointed in the product

    • California,
    • May 15, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was really looking forward to trying Primal Plants. I watched the videos, listened to Dr. Gundry's philosophy and was a true optimistic believer. However, I am sadly disappointed in the product. My skin has not improved and has, in fact, formed a few new cystic bumps.

    I actually really like the taste of the product and was so hoping that it would work. I would try it again for a full cycle, but due to the expense of the product, I'm not willing to risk it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • May 30, 2017

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Hello Heidi, thank you for leaving us a review of your experience with Primal Plants. I am sorry to hear that you did not get the results you were expecting. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the taste of Primal Plants. Everyone is different, so it may take a bit longer for some to see all of the results.

      If you would like to continue taking the product, please be assured that we do honor our 90-day money back guarantee. If you do not wish to continue using Primal Plants, I would be more than happy to issue you a full refund for the product you have purchased so far. Please email me at aria@gundrymd.com, so that I can either help you order more product or assist you in a refund. Thank you Heidi.


  • 44 out 45 people found this review helpful

    Won't buy again

    I was very excited to get my Primal Plants and told everyone at work about it. Once I started, they kept asking how I was feeling and if I noticed any benefits, but I kept answering "not yet." I knew there was a satisfaction guarantee, so I kept going even though it wasn't helping me. Thinking that maybe I needed to give it more time, I finished all three containers. Not knowing I had to call before 90 days to take advantage of the satisfaction guarantee, I'm too late to get my refund (10 days past).

    I was so hopeful that I would experience the benefits promised in the video, but did not see any positive results. Very expensive and very disappointed!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • May 30, 2017

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Hello Danette, Aria here with Gundry MD. Thank you for taking the time to review Primal Plants. I am sorry to hear that you did not receive the results you expected while taking our product. While a majority of our customers see incredible results while using Primal Plants, we realize that everyone is different. This is why we always honor our 90-day money back guarantee. I would be more than happy to issue your refund for giving us a fair trial. Please email me at aria@gundrymd.com, so that I can process your refund for you as quickly as possible. Thank you Danette, I look forward to hearing from you.


  • 0 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Primal Plants has made a big difference.

    I have a lot more energy, which pleasantly surprised me! I had a doctor's visit, and my vitals had all improved. I even had the nurse check my blood pressure again because I was astonished how quickly the changes had occurred.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Don't know

    Honestly, I haven't noticed anything, same pain with arthritis, and no weight loss, although I don't need too much excess weight. Hoping I will see some improvement by the time I finish the first portion, otherwise, don't see any reason to continue with it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    No refund

    • England,
    • May 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought some products mid-February. It arrived on the 10th of March, but I refused to pick it up as there was some custom charge which never was stated on the website.

    I emailed the company and asked what to do. I was told I can send it back and get my money back. So I did.

    My money is still not in my account, and it is mid-May now. I spent £125 and haven't even gotten the product, so basically, I spent it on nothing.

    Each time I email, someone replies and says they will look into it, but nothing happens. I am very disappointed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • May 18, 2018

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Hi Eva, my name is Aria from Gundry MD. I am so sorry to hear that you had this frustrating experience. I am also so sorry to hear that your order acquired custom charges. Unfortunately, we have no control over a countries custom charges, as only about 10% of incoming packages are selected for customs.

      Typically, Gundry MD is not responsible for custom charges as we have no idea when or how much will be charged. I’m also really sorry to hear that you haven’t received your refund. I will look into this right away and I will personally ensure you get a full refund. Please email at Aria@gundrymd.com and I will begin the refund process right away. I look forward to making this right!


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Has done nothing

    • Gladstone, MO,
    • Sep 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been drinking this for three weeks, have seen NO results with anything. In fact, I have been more tired and feeling bad more since I started. I have fibromyalgia, sleep apnea, IBS, and very dry skin. I bought this because of the email about having skin problems. It has done nothing.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Sep 25, 2018

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Hello Jill,

      My name is Aria, thank you so much for leaving us a review. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience with Primal Plants. We take these reviews very seriously and I want to personally make sure that we resolve this. While many of our customers experience the amazing benefits of Primal Plants, we understand that it may not work for everybody. In addition, we always recommend that you speak to your primary physician prior to beginning any new product to ensure that it is right for your specific needs. We also wholeheartedly stand by our money back guarantee. While the timeline is for 90-days, we always want to make sure that our customers are having the best experience possible so we do everything we can to make sure that we achieve this. I would be more than happy to assist you with a full refund, regardless of how long it has been. Please email me at aria@gundrymd.com to get this process started. I look forward to making this right!


  • 53 out 55 people found this review helpful

    May be good for some and not others, do your research

    I rarely leave negative reviews because some products work for some people and not for others. I get that, and that's fine.

    In this case, however, I am pretty disappointed to have watched a one hour long video that was sent to me by Mike Geary about Primal Plants, only to discover that although the Primal Plants video claims that the product does NOT contain either lactose or gluten, when in fact, it DOES contain milk, and it is NOT gluten free.

    For someone who has celiac disease (I cannot tolerate even small doses of gluten), this was both disappointing and potentially dangerous and sickness-inducing for me. I am glad that I did my due diligence by calling the 1-800 number to double check.

    Please consider making a new video with the correct details because the one I watched for an entire hour claimed to be both dairy and gluten free, which are apparently false claims (please check the 43:33 mark of the video).

    I am sure that this product will help many people, but if I had simply gone from the video to the next page and purchased the product without double checking, I would have had an allergic reaction.

    Based on my experience, I might mention the product to a friend, but I would include my experience since I believe trust in a product and company is a relevant factor in deciding to purchase it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Mar 17, 2017

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Hello Esther, Aria here with Gundry MD. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy our product. Primal Plants is a gluten free product and while there may be traces of dairy in Primal Plants, there are no milk allergens. Regardless, we recommend that you always consult your primary physician prior to beginning any new supplements to make sure you will not have any sort of reaction to any ingredient being used in the product. If you have any other questions or comments, please feel free to reach out to me personally at aria@gundrymd.com so that I can assist you. Thank you again for your review Esther.


  • 30 out 33 people found this review helpful

    Thanks but no thanks

    • Queens, New York,
    • Apr 1, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased the Prebiothrive and the Primal Plants Green Superfruit Blend combo back in February of 2017 (three containers of each), so my son and I could experience all the wonderful health benefits Dr. Gundy said we would.

    We are on the last bottle and took it religiously daily, but I'm in a quandary as I haven't experienced any weight loss or had any pre-existing digestion issues to compare the lack of results to. It wasn't the worst experience, but I felt like if I did my usual green juice and general vitamins/mineral supplements, I would have been no better or worse off, but have saved some bucks.

    I'm indifferent and definitely not re-ordering, especially after reading your spot on review of the contents vs. Gundry's claims. Thanks for creating a safe space to be candid.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Apr 11, 2017

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Hello Avery, Aria here with Gundry MD. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am sorry to hear that you did not see the benefits you had hoped for with our product. While a majority of our customers love the products, we realize that they are not for everyone. I would like to thank you for giving our product a fair trial, and I would be more than happy to issue you a full refund. Please email me directly at aria@gundrymd.com, so that I can personally assist you with your refund.

      Thank you Avery, I look forward to hearing from you.


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Diet

    • Wilmington, NC,
    • Sep 6, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I felt better and have more energy than I have had in a long time. I am losing weight in a healthy way, and I am eating better, and when I eat something that I shouldn't, then my body lets me know that I shouldn't, so I am learning better ways to eat.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Sep 6, 2017

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Hi Cheri, I'm Aria from Gundry MD. Thank you so much for leaving such a valuable review on your experience with Primal Plants so far. I am so happy to hear that you are experiencing all of the many amazing benefits of Primal Plants! If you ever have any questions or concerns in the future, please feel free to reach out to me directly at aria@gundrymd.com, and I'll be more than happy to help. Thank you!


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Primal Green

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Sep 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased three jars at first for my daughter. It worked really good with her skin allergies. I purchased another five jars through my colleagues, but this time, it didn't work anymore for my daughter's skin allergies. It didn't do any good at all. I asked her to stop using it maybe because her system got immune to it. Then after a month or two, she tried again but still didn't work on her skin allergies.

    I tried to return the remaining two sealed jar and half of a used jar, but it passed the 90-day money back guarantee. So, overall rating not good and I won't recommend it. If and only if they will refund at least the sealed jar then I will be happy and be convinced that perhaps it doesn't work with my daughter but to others, it might since they have a good refund policy to show that they stand to their products and a good company policy that cares.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Nov 20, 2018

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Hi Catherine, my name is Aria with Gundry MD. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I'm sorry to hear that this was your daughter's experience. Please email me at aria@gundrymd.com, and I will be more than happy to begin the refund process for your remaining jars.


Showing 1-11 of 454

Write a Review for Gundry MD Primal Plants!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review