Hair La Vie

  This company has claimed this profile, is getting alerted on any new customer reviews entering this page, and may engage in dialogue with its customers to address their matters.

Companies cannot pay money or provide goods in order to remove or alter customer reviews.
Hair La Vie

Overall Rating

3.3

62 Customer Reviews

Summary

Hair La Vie is a line of natural hair care products and daily vitamins designed to address issues like frizz, dryness, thinning hair, and more.

Write a Review

Customer Reviews

3.3 Stars out of 62 Reviews
5 Star:50% 4 Star:4% 3 Star:6% 2 Star:3% 1 Star:35%
63% Recommend This Company
Start your review of Hair La Vie:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Jan 8, 2019

Loss of hair!

By Joan C., Phoenix, AZ, Verified Reviewer

I have been using Hair La Vie for the past five months now, both the shampoo and conditioner. My first shipment was received with one bottle not too tightly sealed, so there was spillage - they do not package these bottles carefully, they just toss them into a box and ship them, no cushioning at all!

When I first started using the shampoo, it was pure water. No suds, nothing. It finally dawned on me halfway through the bottle (I wasted a TON) that I should shake it. THEN it thickened. It still does not suds up a lot, but that may be due to no synthetic crap in it which is good. Regardless, between the two, my hair never felt smooth and untangled, ever. I use a pick after showering. My hair is very fine. I am gentle with my shoulder length hair when wet. I kid you not. I am literally losing my hair! It only started with this product. There has been nothing else in my retinue, life, etc. to explain the massive amount of hair loss, and the patches of hair gone. I am saddened, depressed, and now need to see my dermatologist get to the bottom of this. In the meantime, I am stopping this product, NOW!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 14 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 2, 2018

Beware

By Kim C., Casselberry, FL, Verified Reviewer

I had high hopes for this product, but it did not work for me at all. I had no reservations in ordering from them, but after reading the other reviews on here, I guess I should have. I returned all six bottles, but they claim I only returned five, so they charged me for one. I most certainly returned all six, but according to the manager, I am "incorrect." Unfortunately, I have no recourse, as I have no proof. This just seems like a way for them to charge unsatisfied customers for returned products. Super sad that a company would set the bar so low for their morality.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 21 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 5, 2018

Rip off...Still don't have my order or valid tracking number.

By Leslie M., Los Angeles, CA, Verified Reviewer

I placed an order on approximately 9/16/18. It took a few days to even get an email acknowledging the order. The email included a UPS Tracking number that said a shipping label had been created. Well, it's 10/4/18. The shipping label STILL says the say thing. I emailed these nitwits last week and they said they had been out of stock but that I should get my order on 10/3/18. I didn't. AND the tracking number is STILL not showing any information.

First and last time I will ever spend $60 on shampoo. I will now try to get a refund. I am not holding out too much hope on that though. I'm reporting them to the Better Business Bureau as well. Sorry, sorry, sorry, way to conduct a business.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 16 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 22, 2018

Scam

By Linda L., Evansville, IN, Verified Reviewer

After seeing numerous articles identifying this line as chemical free and "voted #1," I decided to try it. I started with the shampoo and conditioner. Two bottles arrived in a small cardboard box with absolutely no packing. Also enclosed were two pumps. The lid on each bottle appeared as though you could press the top to squeeze out product. No way. Both products were very, very, thick and I had to dig out the product with my finger.

After the first use, my hair was very dry, dull, and with no volume at all. But, I decided to give it a second try using the pumps. It took me 15 minutes to get the first pump to work. The second pump was not usable. Once again my hair was dull, flat and no volume. So I decided to return.

I called the 800-number and immediately realized there was no option to connect for getting a return authorization (a MUST). So I pressed "1" to place an order and was told I would be transferred to the appropriate department. No one ever answered on the "transfer." The same thing happened on two more tries. I went to their website to see if there was a different number to use and a "chat available" prompt appeared with the name Joey. As soon as I mentioned wanting to return, he never appeared!

So, I called the toll free number again and told the agent I was tired of playing games with them and proceeded to tell them I was going to dispute the charge with my credit card and then post my scathing review on Facebook. All of a sudden he didn't need to "transfer" me. He said he would email me all the necessary info to return the products.

The email did arrive and I will be returning the products. I paid $8.99 S/H to get the order and will probably pay double that to return. This is not a high-end purchase for me. I was attracted by the lack of chemicals. But I will be warning Facebook friends to think twice before buying these products. I would give this company and their products no stars for terrible customer service AND products.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 32 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 21, 2018

Terrible experience - I think this is a scam

By Beatrice K., Bellevue, WA, Verified Reviewer

I ordered through their website. The order process was annoying, to say the least. They desperately try to upsell, to the point where I was ready to abandon the ordering process. I should have done so. When I received the order confirmation, I saw that a product, which I was sure I had deselected (travel kit), was added.

I called customer service, was assured it had been removed, and I would receive an email. I never got the mail, called again, after the second call I got the email, which clearly listed the items I ordered, and a refund for the item I wanted removed.

Finally, I received the shipment, and it was the item I wanted removed. I called customer service again and was told I had canceled the shampoo and conditioner, and I "had it backward." It didn't matter that I told the lady that is not what I cancelled, and I have their confirmation that confirms that. I checked my bank account, and I was charged for the items that I ordered, but never received.

I wonder if I will ever get my money back, or get the products I paid for. They also charged long before I received the shipment (charged on 9/13, received shipment 9/21).

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 19 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 10, 2018

Love their products

By Sherree S., Defiance, OH, Verified Reviewer

I wanted to let everyone know I've ordered 12 bottles of shampoo and conditioner from this company, and I did have a slight problem with the shampoo being runny, but they were nice enough to send me replacements two times. Since I'm alone, there is no way I can use this much product that fast, so even though I found a few more bottles of watery shampoo, they were extremely nice enough to replace it the second time. I really think they take pride in what they sell and yes, it's a very good product.

Thank you, customer service, for all your concern and help.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 30, 2018

Worked in a way I wasn't expecting

By Kelsey F., Denver, CO, Verified Reviewer

I purchased the Revitalizing Blend Hair Vitamins for my hair, not expecting much but definitely wanted to give it a try. Honestly, I didn't notice much of a difference regarding my hair. However, I have been dealing with a bit of dandruff for years and it is completely gone after taking these vitamins for a few weeks. I stopped taking the vitamins and it came back. I purchased them again and the dandruff is gone once more. Surprising, but it works in that aspect!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 23, 2018

Dried hair, not as good customer service as they claim

By Biljana M., New York, Verified Reviewer

I almost never leave reviews unless it’s an amazing or very terrible experience. I’ve been using Hair La Vie products for over a year now believing all the reviews for great customer service on their website. Each shampoo bottle I’ve opened so far has had different density, but it worked ok. It did dry my hair a lot though, which I think increased my hair fall rather than help it.

My last order placed in January, I ordered three bottles of shampoo and two bottles of conditioner and last night I just opened the third shampoo bottle. The shampoo seemed to be 90% water! It was clear!

I decided that I no longer want to use a product that is different between each order, so I called customer service to return the items that I haven’t used. They told me that their policy is 90 days. I understand this to be the rule if it was just me disliking their product, but not when it comes to them sending me a faulty bottle! I will not be ordering again, and I am very disappointed. It also seems like no hair salon carries their line, which makes me doubt the validity of the brand altogether.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 17 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 13, 2018

Shampoo & Conditioner duo

By Brooke R., Verified Reviewer

I don’t understand when people write this shampoo didn’t lather, as it lathered a lot for me.

I seldom blow dry my hair and never use styling products.

I have fine hair and was looking for a great shampoo that would help strengthen it.

I tried this shampoo and conditioner to help me keep my hair healthy as I haven’t cut my hair in 2yrs.

I finally got a trim and the hairdresser was so impressed with how healthy my hair was due to the fact I was not regularly trimming it. I had no split ends and the hairdresser kept commenting on how great my hair felt.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on May 23, 2018

Causes breakage close to scalp!

By Maris G., Santa Barbara, CA, Verified Reviewer

I have been using for about a month, shampoo and conditioner. I have no problem that it does not lather up. My problem is it leaves the hair tangled. I have never had so much breakage close to the roots of my hair. Now I have breakage all over. I was using Wen for many years and decided to give this a try. So sorry I did! It cleans well, but it has damaged my hair, a lot! Not pleased at all. It’s going to take a long time to get my hair back to normal. Extremely disappointed!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 19 People Have Voted

Posted on May 9, 2018

Positive results

By Angela Hessick, Bakersfield, CA, Verified Reviewer

I am a 48-year-old causation woman with fine, loosely curly hair. A few years ago I suffered significant hair loss due to Thyroid issues, but despite medical treatment and using WEN SixThirteen, I continued to show no improvement with the genetically uncharacteristic balding pattern above each of my temples. The simplicity and fragrance of SixThirteen’s single-product-system continued to seduce me until I learned of several lawsuits against WEN regarding hair loss. That news prompted immediate discontinuation of the product and a thorough web search for hair products that did not have ingredients that were potentially hazardous to my health; and thus, my experience with Hair La Vie’s shampoo and conditioner began. I’m thrilled to report that I no longer have any balding issues and my hair is healthier, softer, and smoother than it has ever been - EVER!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 11 People Have Voted
Showing 12-22 of 62

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.