Hair La Vie Review: Is It Worth It?

By Lydia Noyes
HighYa Staff
Updated on: Oct 17, 2019

What Is Hair La Vie?

The Hair La Vie product line is designed to naturally repair, protect, hydrate, and grow your hair from the inside out. In other words, to provide “longer, faster, fuller hair growth.” Hair La Vie products are manufactured by La Muse Beauty based out of Los Angeles.

Hair La Vie’s products claim to be free of sulfates, parabens, synthetic fillers, dyes and preservatives, and other harmful chemicals. They are also purportedly safe for color and chemically treated hair.

Whether or not they’re the right product for you in relation to what they do and how much you can spend is the key to making a smart buying decision.

We’ll help you make that decision by analyzing Hair La Vie’s products, main ingredients, side effects, pricing, and customer reviews.

Hair La Vie’s Products

There are 10 main products within the Hair La Vie Line:

Revitalizing Blend Hair Vitamins

As Hair La Vie’s flagship product, these daily vitamins infuse your hair with natural antioxidants and other nourishing ingredients to promote hair health. You’ll take one capsule twice a day, preferably in the morning and evening.

Key Ingredients: Saw palmetto, organic kelp, horsetail herb, collagen, bamboo, borage oil.

Clinical Formula Hair Growth Vitamins

These daily vitamins include a nutrient-rich formula that transforms your hair’s appearance. They contain a proprietary blend of 20 natural ingredients and 5,000 mcg of biotin.

Key Ingredients: Amla, reishi mushroom, flaxseed, bamboo, EVNol Max®, USPlus Saw Palmetto®.

Renewing Growth Treatment

This treatment provides your hair with a daily boost of clinically studied ingredients that add volume and repair hair strands to protect against loss. You’ll spray it onto your clean scalp and then comb it through your hair for balanced results.

Key Ingredients: Ecklonia cava, Capauxein™ G2, CAPIXYL™, fiberHance™ BM, Procataline Biofunctional, AquaCat™.

Nº 77 Leave-In Conditioner

This leave-in product hydrates hair during the day without leaving it heavy or greasy. You can apply it generously to damp hair and massage it directly onto the tips of your hair, working towards the scalp.

Key Ingredients: Keratin, horsetail extract, vitamin B5, silk amino acids, soy protein.

Hair La Vie Shampoo

Designed to gently clean the hair and scalp, this shampoo boasts a fresh spa scent and a low-lather formula.

Key Ingredients: Marula oil, saw palmetto, silk amino acids, coconut oil, keratin, peppermint oil.

Hair La Vie Conditioner

This conditioner claims to deliver salon-quality results to restore necessary hydration to hair strands. It’s designed to make unruly hair more manageable. Apply to the tips of your hair in the shower and let it sit for at least two minutes before rinsing it out.

Key Ingredients: Marula oil, coconut oil, horsetail extract, saw palmetto, keratin, peppermint oil.

Hair La Vie Serum

This serum works to naturally hydrate, smooth, and style all hair types without coating your strands with silicone ingredients. The result is soft, touchable hair. Just apply to the ends of your hair when damp and finger comb through.

Key Ingredients: Argan oil, fractionated coconut oil, silk amino acids, coconut oil, jojoba seed, vitamin E.

Hair La Vie Masque

This deep conditioning product will provide hydration while also strengthening your hair for results in just five minutes. Apply a small amount to your strands, focusing on the ends. Let it sit for at least five minutes before rinsing thoroughly.

Key Ingredients: Argan oil, keratin, coconut oil, avocado oil, bamboo extract, meadowfoam seed..

Organic Moroccan Oil

This 100% pure argan oil protects, softens, and de-frizzes hair. Pour a dime-sized amount on your fingers and rub onto the ends of your hair. You can apply as often as needed.

Key Ingredient: Argan oil.

PhytoCera

Not a haircare product, La Muse PhytoCera capsules contain phytoceramides (skin-benefiting antioxidants) that work to promote firmer, healthier skin under your eyes for a younger appearance. You’ll take one capsule a day, preferably with a meal.

Key Ingredients: Ceramide-PCD®, vitamin A, vitamin C, vitamin D, vitamin E.

How Well Do Hair La Vie’s Ingredients Work?

Though Hair La Vie’s products contain dozens of ingredients, the following four ingredients are an important factor in how well the company’s shampoos and conditions work.

To start, saw palmetto is a native North American shrub that grows about four feet tall. According to Consumer Lab, the plant’s berries have long been used to treat urinary infections and female breast disorders.

Today, it’s also used to address male pattern baldness, though the study results haven’t been impressive yet, and there’s little evidence it will do much for women.

Argan oil is another common ingredient within Hair La Vie products. Healthline told us this culinary oil comes from Morocco and has a high fat content that may improve hair health and reduce damage like split ends.

Both Hair La Vie’s shampoo and conditioner contain marula oil. According to Healthline, this African tree has a long history of use in traditional medicine.

You can extract oil from the tree’s nuts that is rich in protein and easily absorbed, which makes it a popular ingredient for hair and body products.

It’s considered especially beneficial for nourishing dry, frizzy hair that’s prone to breakage.

Finally, numerous products contain coconut oil. Consumer Lab shares that applying coconut oil to hair can prevent protein loss and cuticle damage.

The oil works to reduce the amount of water absorbed by the hair shaft, and it also adds lubrication that makes it less likely to tear during combing.

Are There Any Known Hair La Vie Side Effects?

Hair La Vie doesn’t list any side effects for using its products. However, we learned from customer reviews that many people thought this brand damaged their hair. Some reported that the products dried their hair out and caused breakage.

The shampoo seems to be a polarizing product, as customers mentioned repeatedly that it was too watery to use yet still dried out their hair.

Hair La Vie’s Pricing: Single Products, Subscriptions, and Bundles

Hair La Vie gives you three ways to buy their products, the first of which is buying products without signing up for a subscription or buying a bundle:

Clinical Formula Hair Growth Vitamins

  • One Bottle: $59.95
  • Three Bottles: $52/bottle
  • Six Bottles: $45.67/bottle

Revitalizing Blend Hair Vitamins

  • One Bottle: $48
  • Two Bottles: $41.33/bottle
  • Six Bottles: $36.50/bottle

Renewing Growth Treatment

  • One Bottle: $34.99
  • Two Bottles: $33.99/bottle
  • Four Bottles: $31.99 /bottle

Nº 77 Leave-In

  • One Bottle: $25
  • Two Bottles: $22.50/bottle
  • Four Bottles: $21.25/bottle

Hair La Vie Shampoo

  • One Bottle: $27.95
  • Two Bottles: $24.50/bottle
  • Four Bottles: $21.75/bottle

Hair La Vie Conditioner

  • One Bottle: $27.95
  • Two Bottles: $24.50/bottle
  • Four Bottles: $21.75/bottle

Shampoo and Conditioner Set

  • One Set: $49
  • Two Sets: $43.50/bottle
  • Four Sets: $41.75/bottle

Hair La Vie Serum

  • One Bottle: $35
  • Two Bottles: $29.50/bottle
  • Four Bottles: $27.25/bottle

Hair La Vie Masque

  • One Jar: $39
  • Two Jars: $33.50/bottle
  • Four Jars: $29.75/bottle

Organic Moroccan Oil

  • One Bottle: $42
  • Two Bottles: $37.50/bottle
  • Four Bottles: $35/bottle

PhytoCera

  • One Bottle: $39
  • Three Bottles: $36.33/bottle
  • Six Bottles: $33.17/bottle

Shipping for all orders under $59 is $5.95; otherwise, it’s free.

Each order is covered by a 90-day guarantee, which means that you can contact the company at any time within the first three months of delivery to send the product back for a refund, minus shipping and handling.

According to the company’s terms, only one return is permitted per year.

Hair La Vie Subscriptions

If you want to buy Hair La Vie’s products on a regular basis, you can join their Journey Box Subscription Program.

You’ll receive VIP discounts on all future purchases, automatic expedited shipping for vitamins, and four free gifts (vitamin travel case, smoothing hair wrap, damage-free hair ties, and vegan leather cosmetics clutch).

This subscription costs $59.95 per box for monthly delivery, or $169.85 for quarterly deliver (contains three bottles of vitamins).

The company FAQ states that you can cancel, reschedule, or customize your subscription at any time by phone at (888)588-0068.

You can also contact the company at support@hairlavie.com.

Hair La Vie Bundles

It’s also possible to purchase Hair La Vie products in Treatment Bundles. Each Bundle is designed to target specific hair health problems you might be facing.

  • Revitalizing Blend Travel Set ($75): Designed for hair care on the go (masque, conditioner, serum, shampoo, revitalizing vitamins, bonus vegan leather cosmetics pouch)

  • Clinical Strength Collection ($145): Provides hair with a boost of antioxidants and amino acids to build up protein (masque, conditioner, shampoo, clinical formula vitamins)

  • Clinical Nourishing Collection ($129): Designed to strengthen and repair damaged hair (clinical formula vitamins, conditioner, shampoo, leave-in, serum)

  • Clinical Restore Collection ($169): Clinical-strength hair restoration you can do at home (clinical formula vitamins, shampoo, conditioner, serum, masque)

  • Nourishing Collection ($124): Products designed to strengthen hair, make it more manageable, and promote growth (revitalizing vitamins, shampoo, conditioner, leave-in, serum)

  • Hydrating Collection ($69): Cleanses and restores dry, damaged hair to make it softer and more manageable (shampoo, conditioner, leave-in)

  • Restore Collection ($159): Spa-quality treatment for strengthening, hydrating, and restoring hair (revitalizing vitamins, shampoo, conditioner, masque, serum)

  • Strength Collection ($129.95): Gives hair a boost of protein-building antioxidants (masque, shampoo, conditioner, revitalizing vitamins)

  • Clean Collection ($119): Promotes a salon-clean look and feel for sleek, styled hair (shampoo, conditioner, masque, serum)

All bundle purchases over $80 come with free shipping, while the rest include $5.95 in shipping costs.

Analysis of Hair La Vie Customer Reviews

Between all 10 Hair La Vie products, the company website featured hundreds of customer reviews at the time of our research, with an average rating close to 5 stars.

There, frequent compliments centered around great results and ease of use.

At the time of publishing, HighYa reviewers gave Hair La View an average of 3.5 stars after 58 reviews.

Those who liked the products wrote that they solved their dry scalp and dandruff problems, and left their hair looking and feeling healthy.

A few wrote that customer service was quick to respond to any quality concern issues and send them replacement products.

Others had less positive experiences. Some reviewers reported that the products were too runny to use or that they left their hair brittle and unruly.

A few also said that they felt like the daily vitamins were ineffective and that the hair care products were causing hair loss.

The Bottom Line

Is Hair La Vie worth adding to your hair care routine? This company makes sense for some people, but others might be happier going a different route.

To start, these products are expensive. Buying a bundle or multiple products can quickly bring your costs above $100 a month.

While these products seem to have quality ingredients, most of them are common across haircare brands and don’t necessarily make Hair La Vie unique.

However, we like that the company’s only auto-ship program is for the Journey Box, which contains the Clinical Formula vitamins.

This means you only need to reorder haircare products when you want to and don’t need to worry that you might forget about your subscription and get unexpected charges.

We like the Bundle options that Hair La Vie offers because they permit you to customize the products you receive and take advantage of cost savings by qualifying for free shipping.

Hair La Vie’s products might be worth the relatively high price if you’re looking for healthier-looking hair.

Just don’t expect them to perform miracles, and consider trying out small amounts to start to see whether your hair reacts poorly to them.


Read 58 Hair La Vie Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 3.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 30 4 star: 3 3 star: 4 2 star: 2 1 star:  19
Bottom Line: 66% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 58
Sort reviews by:

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Two sites with TWO different PRICES!

    • Pinole, CA,
    • Oct 3, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was going to place an order for the hair vitamins when I realized they have TWO separate sites AND one each of the same vitamins are PRICED drastically different! $59.95 or one bottle and on their other site $48 for one bottle. As you leave the site you will get a POP-UP window that says they will reduce the price if you supply them with your email, however, the price(s) still end up drastically different. The more you buy the lower the price gets BUT these vitamins not long ago were $35 without having to buy multiple bottles as stated on many review sites. BECAUSE they have two sites with two drastically different prices for the same product - this ALERTS me that this company is not selling ethically to the public and are scamming people who don't google thoroughly.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Oct 4, 2019

      Company Response from La Muse Beauty

      Hi Sandee G,

      We apologize if there was any confusion, however, we only sell on our official website hairlavie.com. As we have two different hair vitamins, prices do vary. Our Revitalizing Hair Blend is $48 for one bottle while or Clinical Formula Hair Vitamins are $59.95 for one bottle. As we are always improving our formulas to ensure we use nothing but the best sourced, clinically researched ingredients prices will vary, however, we try and ensure we sell at the best and fair prices available for our customers. If you would like to contact us at support@hairlavie.com or at 888-588-0068 M-F 5am-6pm, Saturday 7am-4pm, or Sunday 7am-4pm PST with any questions or where you see the other prices at, we will be happy to assist you. We hope this helps and that you have a great day.


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Runny product so it ends up down the drain, not in your hair

    • Annapolis, MD,
    • Aug 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I tried to wash my hair with this shampoo and conditioner 3 times. My bottle is less than half full BECAUSE it's so runny and watery (they say it's oily) that it just runs off of my hand before I can even get it to my head. It doesn't lather (no surprise there since I only use sulfate-free shampoos), but in order to get enough product on my hair, I have to use soooo much shampoo to feel that my whole head is getting clean. My hair felt clumpy when I was done, yuck. I called and asked customer service if I got a defective bottle or if they are all runny and she said mine is not defective. I'm going to give it away since I hate throwing things away that someone else might want to try. What a waste of money. Don't do it. Not worth it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Oct 4, 2019

      Company Response from La Muse Beauty

      Hi Lisa,

      We are sorry to hear about your experience with us and thank you for your feedback as we are always looking to improve the quality of our products. We understand that everyone's hair is different and thank you for trying our products as well. We do have a 90-day guarantee for your money back if you wish to return it. Restrictions do apply. If you wish to see if you qualify or have any questions in regards to our return policy, please contact our support at 888-588-0068n M-F 5am-6pm, Saturday 7am-4pm, or Sunday 7am-11:30am PST and they will be happy to assist. We hope this helps and hope you have a great day.


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Hair La Vie RUINED my hair

    • Uniontown, PA,
    • Jul 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I usually have taken Viviscal to help with hair health and growth and have always had good outcomes. I thought I’d try Hair La Vie since it’s rated no 1...what a HUGE mistake! My hair is ruined! Within the first 2 weeks, I noticed my hair becoming more and more brittle, unruly and coarse! What I have left from this supply is going nowhere but the garbage! The pills are huge and horrible in the stomach but I pushed through all of that to get the results the company promised. Boy was I fooled! NEVER AGAIN.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jul 23, 2019

      Company Response from La Muse Beauty

      Hi Erica,

      We are sorry to hear about your experience and understand that everyone's hair and body is different. When switching to our system there is a bit of a "purge" time where your hair is being cleansed from all the build up of excess products and chemicals in your hair. As everyone's hair is different, it may take a few more washes for your hair to be completely cleansed. With our vitamins, we do recommend that they are taken with a meal as directed on the bottle and if you have any troubles with swallowing, the capsules can be opened and put into smoothies, juices, or anything else you prefer to drink. If you have any other questions or concerns with our products, please do reach out to our support at 888-588-0068 M-F 5am-6pm Saturday 7am-4pm or Sunday 7am-11: 30am PST and they will be happy to help. We thank you for trying our product and will take your feedback to our team. Have a great day!


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    So far so good

    • Long Island, NY,
    • Jun 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I’ve just started using Hair La Vie vitamins, shampoo, and conditioner. It’s been about 2 weeks. I take one supplement in the am and one in the pm. I highly recommend taking the vitamins with food. It’s such a powerful amount of vitamins that I was nauseous when I didn’t eat a complete meal with it. However, I do notice that my hair feels healthier and my scalp is starting to feel healthier as well. I like that the products are natural and that I’m not putting anything harmful on my hair. My hair is feeling softer and a little more manageable. I don’t see a difference in the thickness of my hair yet. But I will decide if the vitamins are working to help grow and thicken my hair after 90 days.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    So far, ok

    • Harrodsburg, KY,
    • Jun 3, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Packing was good, no spillage. Washed my hair...shampoo was a little runny but DID lather well. The mask seemed ok. I'm only rating a 3 star because I just used it once, but it seems fine.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jun 4, 2019

      Company Response from La Muse Beauty

      Hi Angle,

      Thank you for trying our products and your feedback. We look forward to hearing your future thoughts and if you ever have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact our support as they will be happy to assist you.

      Thank you and have a great day!


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Horrible

    • Massachusetts,
    • May 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I order the shampoo and conditioner, I just use it one day and it dries out my hair so bad that I returned the next day. I also buy the vitamins that I am still taking. But I don’t plan to buy from them ever.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • May 15, 2019

      Company Response from La Muse Beauty

      Hi Bianca,

      We are sorry to hear you did not like our shampoo and conditioner as others have. As it is a cleansing wash, it may take a wash or two to cleanse your hair of all the build-up from all the previous products you were using with your hair. When you start shedding all of the silicones from your hair, you begin to see the true nature of the damage that has been done over time with all the products you have used up until now. Besides following up with the conditioner, what may also help is brushing your hair gently on a routine to help spread your natural oils from your scalp. Brushing your natural oils through your hair not only helps spread your natural oils, but also stimulates your scalp which can assist in hair growth when paired with our vitamins that you are currently taking. If you ever have any questions or concerns during your hair journey with us or would like more information on the products, please contact our support and they will be happy to assist you. We hope this helps and thank you for trying our products, have a great day!


  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Had positive results at 7 days!

    • Albuquerque, NM,
    • Feb 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I’m a 48-year-old wife and mother and we have one child. I have always had thick healthy beautiful hair. At that time before I went to a salon my hair was long healthy and thick. My husband always said I had beautiful hair. I was complimented on my hair by strangers. I suffer from depression and lupus. My hair was my security blanket. Salon Helena burned my hair very badly. She brushed it out and took half the thickness. From that day on, July 7, 2017, it got worse. It fell out and I ended up with thin, short brittle hair.

    I have spent so much money on my hair since. Trying every kind of extensions, hate them all. Just not for me. Trying every kind of shampoo, creams, pills, and gimmicks. I started the Rx Hair Blend with 3 powerful ingredients on 1/24/19, it has been 18 days and my hair is coming back! It’s softer, stronger, and it’s grown over an inch! My skin, my nails, my energy, and my brain, oh my gosh! Because of these vitamins, I am getting myself back.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 11 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Loss of hair!

    • Phoenix, AZ,
    • Jan 8, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been using Hair La Vie for the past five months now, both the shampoo and conditioner. My first shipment was received with one bottle not too tightly sealed, so there was spillage - they do not package these bottles carefully, they just toss them into a box and ship them, no cushioning at all!

    When I first started using the shampoo, it was pure water. No suds, nothing. It finally dawned on me halfway through the bottle (I wasted a TON) that I should shake it. THEN it thickened. It still does not suds up a lot, but that may be due to no synthetic crap in it which is good. Regardless, between the two, my hair never felt smooth and untangled, ever. I use a pick after showering. My hair is very fine. I am gentle with my shoulder length hair when wet. I kid you not. I am literally losing my hair! It only started with this product. There has been nothing else in my retinue, life, etc. to explain the massive amount of hair loss, and the patches of hair gone. I am saddened, depressed, and now need to see my dermatologist get to the bottom of this. In the meantime, I am stopping this product, NOW!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 19 out 21 people found this review helpful

    Beware

    • Casselberry, FL,
    • Nov 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had high hopes for this product, but it did not work for me at all. I had no reservations in ordering from them, but after reading the other reviews on here, I guess I should have. I returned all six bottles, but they claim I only returned five, so they charged me for one. I most certainly returned all six, but according to the manager, I am "incorrect." Unfortunately, I have no recourse, as I have no proof. This just seems like a way for them to charge unsatisfied customers for returned products. Super sad that a company would set the bar so low for their morality.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 14 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Rip off...Still don't have my order or valid tracking number.

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Oct 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I placed an order on approximately 9/16/18. It took a few days to even get an email acknowledging the order. The email included a UPS Tracking number that said a shipping label had been created. Well, it's 10/4/18. The shipping label STILL says the say thing. I emailed these nitwits last week and they said they had been out of stock but that I should get my order on 10/3/18. I didn't. AND the tracking number is STILL not showing any information.

    First and last time I will ever spend $60 on shampoo. I will now try to get a refund. I am not holding out too much hope on that though. I'm reporting them to the Better Business Bureau as well. Sorry, sorry, sorry, way to conduct a business.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 32 out 32 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • Evansville, IN,
    • Sep 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    After seeing numerous articles identifying this line as chemical free and "voted #1," I decided to try it. I started with the shampoo and conditioner. Two bottles arrived in a small cardboard box with absolutely no packing. Also enclosed were two pumps. The lid on each bottle appeared as though you could press the top to squeeze out product. No way. Both products were very, very, thick and I had to dig out the product with my finger.

    After the first use, my hair was very dry, dull, and with no volume at all. But, I decided to give it a second try using the pumps. It took me 15 minutes to get the first pump to work. The second pump was not usable. Once again my hair was dull, flat and no volume. So I decided to return.

    I called the 800-number and immediately realized there was no option to connect for getting a return authorization (a MUST). So I pressed "1" to place an order and was told I would be transferred to the appropriate department. No one ever answered on the "transfer." The same thing happened on two more tries. I went to their website to see if there was a different number to use and a "chat available" prompt appeared with the name Joey. As soon as I mentioned wanting to return, he never appeared!

    So, I called the toll free number again and told the agent I was tired of playing games with them and proceeded to tell them I was going to dispute the charge with my credit card and then post my scathing review on Facebook. All of a sudden he didn't need to "transfer" me. He said he would email me all the necessary info to return the products.

    The email did arrive and I will be returning the products. I paid $8.99 S/H to get the order and will probably pay double that to return. This is not a high-end purchase for me. I was attracted by the lack of chemicals. But I will be warning Facebook friends to think twice before buying these products. I would give this company and their products no stars for terrible customer service AND products.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 58

Write a Review for Hair La Vie!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review