About Hubble Contacts

By HighYa Research Team
Published on: May 16, 2017

By avoiding steep industry markups that can cause you to pay way more than you should, Hubble Contacts promises to deliver high-quality daily contact lenses right to your door, at half the prices of the other guys.

In fact, the company allows all patients with a valid prescription to receive 12 pairs of lenses for free upon signing up for a subscription. Then, you'll pay about $1 per day after that.

To sign up for a Hubble account, you’ll only need to enter your left and right eye power, your doctor’s state and name (you can also search by address and business name), and your name and email address, and then check out. If you need an eye exam, they’ll also help you schedule a doctor’s visit in your area.

For many of us, contact lenses are an essential part of everyday life. In other words, our quality of life could be severely impacted if we didn’t have them. They’re also expensive and not always convenient to pick up, which is where Hubble Contacts claims to help.

Are they necessarily your best, or least expensive, option? Are there any considerations to keep in mind before signing up for a subscription? Find some answers here by reading about what we learned during our research.

Looking For More About Hubble’s Contacts Lenses?

The Hubble website tells us their lenses are manufactured using state-of-the-art injection molding by Taipei-based St. Shine Optical Co., from a “high-grade methafilcon-A hydrogel material with 55% water content, UV protection, and a thin edge.”

We’re told they have been approved by the FDA for sale in the US for more than 14 years and are “designed for easy insertion, all-day comfort, and crystal clear vision.” Through an independent University of Houston College of Optometry double-masked study, they were even verified to be as comfortable and sharp and popular U.S. brands.

Powers range from -0.50 to -12.00, and +0.5 to +6.00, with a base curve of 8.6 and a diameter of 14.2.

As noted earlier, all Hubble Contacts orders require a valid prescription from a doctor, including:

  • Your name
  • Prescription expiration date
  • Prescriber's name
  • Power, base curve, manufacturer, diameter, and contact lens material

Important note: Hubble’s contact lenses are only designed for individuals with no or mild astigmatism (less than -1.00 cylinder). If you have a more significant diagnosis, the company’s site indicates they’re planning to offer toric lenses (those specially designed for astigmatism) soon.

Finally, while they currently only sell daily lenses, Hubble tells us that they’re also investigating bi-weekly and monthly lenses, although they’ll need to meet the same safety and comfort standards as their dailies.

For more detailed specifications, we’d strongly recommend reading through Hubble’s Wearers Guide.

Exactly what price will you pay?

How Much Does Hubble Contacts Cost & Are They Covered by Insurance?

Even with Hubble’ initial free offer, keep in mind that you’ll still pay $3 S&H, which will take about 5-10 business days to arrive in a 100% recyclable box. The service is currently only available to residents of the United States, certain U.S. territories, and U.S. Military locations.

14 days after your initial two-week free trial, you’ll pay $30 per month, plus $3 S&H, for 30 pairs of lenses. You can change how frequently you receive shipments and Hubble will always reach out to you before contacting your doctor to re-verify your prescription.

The contats provider doesn’t deal directly with insurance providers, although you can use your emailed receipt to apply for reimbursement through your carrier. You can pay using your FSA or HAS account, as long as it’s associated with a major credit card.

All orders come with a 30-refund policy, but this only applies to those where the outer shipping box remains unopened. If your prescription changes, you can ship your old strength back and they’ll re-send the correct pair.

If you have questions, Hubble’s support department can be reached at 844-334-1640 or help@hubblecontacts.com

What Can We Learn From Hubble Contacts Customer Reviews?

StarterNoise found Hubble’s sign up process super simple and the shipping much faster than it would have taken to get an appointment with their doctor, place the order, and drive to pick them up. Not to mention the much lower price.

Their first impression was that the lenses were incredibly comfortable. Although they found them a little difficult to take out, resulting in some red, irritated eyes for a couple of minutes afterward.

Similarly, Bre Payton at The Federalist writes that her Hubble Contacts were very soft and flexible, didn’t cause dry eye, and were very competitively priced. “The guys over at Hubble should really be paying me to be their spokesperson, because I have yet to shut up about them,” she concluded.

A handful of readers also left their firsthand feedback on a Reddit thread. As might be expected, some noted they were comfortable and didn’t feel the lenses at all, while another noted they weren’t as comfortable as their current Acuvue lenses.

One doctor chimed in noting that, in their experience, lenses that use the same methafilcon A material (55% water) and feature a DK value of 18 as Hubble’s lenses “are not very popular.”

From a company perspective, Hubble Contacts was co-founded in May 2016 by Ben Cogan and Jesse Horwitz.

Ben earned his degree in Philosophy from Princeton and previously worked as a Senior Customer Insights Associate for Harry’s Grooming and an Associate at The Boston Consulting Group. Jesse graduated from Harvard Law School and held positions as Founder of Gadfly Capital and Investment Analyst at Columbia Investment Management Company.

Vision Path Inc. (aka Hubble Contacts) wasn’t rated with the Better Business Bureau as of 5/16/17, although they did have four closed complaints. Only one of these provided details, which referenced difficulty obtaining proof of purchase.

Hubble vs. LensDirect, 1800Contacts, & Lens.com

Type the phrase “discount 1-day contact lenses" into any search engine, and you'll be met with hundreds of relevant results, including national brands like Acuvue from big hitters like 1800contacts, Lens.com, and LensDirect, to name just a few.

Many of these companies claim to offer 70% (or more) off name brand contact lenses, but how do their prices compare to Hubble? Here’s a quick sampling of some of the prices we encountered at the time of our research:

Company Lens Model Price/Quantity Details
Hubble Contacts 1-Day Contact Lenses $30, 60 lenses Methafilcon-A, 55% water content
LensDirect 1 Day Acuvue Moist 30 Pack $30.58, 30 lenses 42% etafilcon A, 58% water content
Lens.com 1 Day Acuvue TruEye $54.94, 90 lenses 54% narafilcon A, 46% water content
1800Contacts 1-Day Acuvue Define $94, 90 lenses Etafilcon A, 58% water content

According to Everyday Health, 90 percent of contact lens wearers use soft options, the same as Hubble. And while daily disposable lenses might offer the lowest maintenance, they also tend to cost more, but they might be ideal for those with allergies.

Pro tip: All About Vision emphasizes that, while daily disposables might cost more than their longer-term brethren, this could be offset by the money saved on care products.

The American Optometric Association also notes that daily disposable contact lenses can work great for those with active lifestyles and often involve a very short adaptation period, but they’re not available for all vision problems and may not offer the same level of crispness as longer-wear models.

The best way to decide? Talk with your doctor who can recommend options based on your specific diagnosis, needs, and preferences.

Our Final Thoughts About Hubble Contacts

As we can see from the table above, the cost of Hubble’s lenses comes in right at $1 per day, which is about half the cost of a similar daily from Acuvue through LensDirect and 1800Contacts.

Coming in a little closer, Lens.com’s 1 Day Acuvue TruEye was priced at about $1.22 per day, while the Acuvue Oasys 1-Day with Hydraluxe was slightly higher at $1.45 per day.

Bottom line? It seems that Hubble has found itself a niche in the marketplace by manufacturing their own high-quality contact lenses and shipping them directly, thereby providing prices that are anywhere from 20 to 50 percent less expensive.

In addition, the company appears to have mostly positive—although somewhat limited—online feedback from customers.

Perhaps the only downside is that, like any other contact lens retailer, you can’t return your Hubble Contacts if they don’t match your preferences. However, all new subscriptions come with a free two-week trial (less $3 S&H), which should be more than enough time to figure out if they work for you before receiving your next shipment.

Did Hubble’s contacts help you see better at a lower price, or did they not meet your needs? Whatever happened, tell us all about it by writing a review below.


Read 1344 Hubble Contacts Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 4.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 916 4 star: 168 3 star: 31 2 star: 43 1 star:  186
Bottom Line: 81% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 1344
Sort reviews by:

  • This company is actively collecting reviews from its customers. All reviews submitted are subject to moderation and approval to ensure they meet our Review Guidelines.
  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful
    Updated review

    Honestly...

    • Florida,
    • Dec 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Honestly like a t-shirt with your guys' logo or a hat would make a good customer feel appreciated and free advertisement for you.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Previous review
    • Nov 23, 2019

    I like free stuff

    It's been good but it could be better if I got anything free or any gifts. Oh and I have recommended to family and friends, will be sticking with your company for as long as I can afford to pay for it.

    • Nov 28, 2019

      Company Response from Hubble Contacts

      Hi, David,

      Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. So glad you've found us! The free gift idea is awesome and we'll share this to the team. We appreciate you recommending us to your family and friends!

      Best,

      Sophia

    (read moreread less...)

  • I asked for new contacts to be sent out.

    • Utah,
    • Dec 3, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    On November 17th I asked if my order could be placed sooner. Haniriza Chio wrote me on the 18th saying she would put an order through sooner for me and I would get my order in 5 to 7 days. She asked if anything was different on my account. I told her everything was the same and please send out my order. I have written her 2 times asking if this order was placed with no response. It's the 26th and I still don't know if my order has been placed or shipped.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Dec 6, 2019

      Company Response from Hubble Contacts

      Hi, Nichole,

      Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. I am so sorry to hear about your experience. I would like the opportunity to investigate your feedback further so we've reached out privately to discuss your account details from there. Thank you!

      Best,

      Sophia


  • Not was I was hoping for...

    • Freeland, MI,
    • Dec 3, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had high expectations when I got my trial box since I had read many positive reviews, however, I wasn't impressed after trying the contacts out for a week. First impressions were good; the packaging was cute and brightly colored, and when the contacts would sit right in my eyes they were very comfortable. In good lighting, I could see perfectly. However, when it was dark, any lights would have a huge glare around them, making it very hard to see at night or in dim lighting. After noticing this, I tried to cancel my subscription before my first actual box got shipped out, but I was too late and customer service could not cancel it for me.

    Upon using the contacts from the paid box subscription, I began to notice that some of the contacts were flipped inside out (opposed to the proper way they are supposed to be put into the eye) in the packaging. Once I get the contacts in my eyes, they don't always fit right either, even if it is flipped the correct way, almost like there is an air bubble between the contact and my eye that I cannot get out. Overall, I was not impressed and do not plan on ordering from Hubble again. It was worth a shot though.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Dec 6, 2019

      Company Response from Hubble Contacts

      Hi, Shae,

      Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. I am so sorry to hear that our lenses don't always fit right and had some trouble getting your order refunded. I've reached out privately, here on HighYa, so that I can look into your account and look forward to hearing back from you! Thank you!

      Best,

      Sophia


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    HUBBLE CONTACTS

    • West Palm Beach, FL,
    • Nov 23, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Good price at first. Contacts aren’t worth it as they are extremely dry and make your eyes hurt. Also, I still couldn’t see with them correctly. They’re good if you need them for occasions or events, but I wouldn’t recommend for every day.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Nov 28, 2019

      Company Response from Hubble Contacts

      Hi, Omaylis,

      Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. I am glad to hear that our pricing works well for you, although we are sad that the lenses were not comfortable enough. If you continue to experience discomfort with our lenses, please remove them and refer to your eye care professional, who will be able to observe the lenses on you again! If you have any questions, please email my team at help@hubblecontacts.com with the subject line "ATTN: Highya" and we'll get back to you ASAP!

      Best,

      Sophia


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    They somehow hack your bank account and steal your money

    • South Carolina,
    • Nov 23, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Crazy story...I canceled my membership because the contacts did not work for me at all. Almost a year later they helped themselves to my money - here's the weird part...the card they had on file was no longer valid BUT they somehow managed to get my replacement card info since according to them "their system allows them to". So I get more contacts in the mail on a prescription that had expired and had to fight to get my money back MINUS the restocking fee to return the crap they sent me in error...AND this happened TWICE in a row (after I talked to them about it). Filed a fraud complaint with my bank and they were astonished that they could get and use my card number without my permission.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Nov 25, 2019

      Company Response from Hubble Contacts

      Hi, Amy,

      Thank you for posting a review and we’re sorry to hear that your experience was not of the quality you expected. We've reached out privately as we would like to investigate your feedback further. Thank you!

      Best,

      Sophia


  • Great company and great product

    • Pennsylvania,
    • Nov 23, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    As a daily contact wearer, these contacts are amazing! I don't have to worry about them drying out an hour after I put them in. They are comfortable and wear wonderfully all day. Customer service is amazing and quick to respond.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Nov 23, 2019

      Company Response from Hubble Contacts

      Hi Brandy,

      Thank you for taking the time to leave us such an incredible review today. It's wonderful to hear that you're loving the experience with our lenses as well with our customer service. We are always here if you have any questions. Thanks again for sharing your review with us and the community.

      Best,

      Sophia


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Hubble ripped me off

    • Utah,
    • Nov 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered Hubble because a friend told me about them and I don't always like to wear my glasses. My trial came and I wore them one day then had an eye appointment and my vision changed yet again due to health issues so my eye doctor told me contacts were not a good option due to frequent vision loss due to my health issues. So I called to cancel my subscription and the person I talked to said instead of canceling let's just put it on hold. I kept telling her no, cancel it. Finally I got frustrated that we put it on hold and I went on my profile and did skips until 2020. Well, someone unskipped me for November and they charged my card. I'm overdrawn and I am angry they won't refund me, won't cancel my subscription, and I don't want the contacts.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Nov 18, 2019

      Company Response from Hubble Contacts

      Hi Melonie,

      Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. I’m sorry to hear that you have had some trouble canceling your subscription and getting your order refunded. We've reached out privately to find out more about your interactions with our team and get to the bottom of this. Thank you!

      Best, Sophia


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Horrible company! They are a scam.

    • Alberta, Canada,
    • Oct 31, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This company is a complete joke. Horrible customer service. I ordered a first box free for my husband and he hadn't even had a chance to try them and all of the sudden $130.00 was taken out of my account! I called and told them that he hadn't even had a chance to try them and they said they would send a label to return them so that I could get my money refunded. They never even sent the label and trying to get hold of them is hell. The contacts are uncomfortable and only good for maybe 5 hours, then your eyes start hurting. NEVER AGAIN WILL I OR ANYONE I KNOW GET THESE SO-CALLED "FREE" CONTACTS. Do not get sucked in by the first box is free, it's not. This Hubble company needs to go. Absolutely horrific experience. Save yourself the hassle and don't bother with this shit company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Nov 18, 2019

      Company Response from Hubble Contacts

      Hi Pam,

      Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. I’m sorry to hear about your frustrating experience with our lenses and our CS team. Kindly check your inbox for the message we sent you. Thank you so much for your patience - we’re on it!

      Best,

      Sophia


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Very poor

    • Lincoln, NE,
    • Oct 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    A couple of days ago I tried calling to cancel my subscription but no one picked up, nor did I get a call back. Therefore I submitted an email asking to cancel my account and a refund. They told me they can’t do a refund because the contacts have already been shipped. It is not my fault that you guys don’t know how to pick up the phone. Your contacts don’t work for me plus they irritate my eyes and I would like to request a refund. This is very bad customer service and attentiveness.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Nov 20, 2019

      Company Response from Hubble Contacts

      Hi Diana,

      Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. I'm sorry to hear that you've had some issues with canceling your subscription and with getting your order refunded. We appreciate the feedback and have had a chance to look into your conversations with our team, in which they provided you with all of the necessary information regarding your subscription. If there's anything we can do to make your Hubble experience even better, just email help@hubblecontacts.com with the subject line "ATTN: Highya" and my team will get back to you ASAP.

      Best,

      Sophia


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Horrible!

    • Florida,
    • Oct 23, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Not the contacts, the customer service (or lack there of) and the website. I've been trying for literally a month to get an order started. The website takes my order, and then someone cancels it and refunds my money. All I get is a "canned" email response that tells me NOTHING about the actual reason.

    I have a prescription that specifically states it's for Hubble Contacts with all the correct info. And of course there is no phone number to talk to a real human. I got one email response when I emailed help. Said they would help me, ask for the prescription and then nothing.

    I've never seen a business that makes it so hard to give them my money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Nov 18, 2019

      Company Response from Hubble Contacts

      Hi James,

      Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. I’m sorry you had such an unpleasant encounter with one of our associates and our site. We try to make our customers’ ordering experience easy and enjoyable, and we hold our stores to a very high standard. In this case, we clearly fell short. I’ve made our corporate customer experience team aware of this issue so they can address any underlying problems and to make sure this doesn’t happen again.

      Meanwhile, the new free box was delivered to you on November 4th. Please feel free to reach out to help@hubblecontacts.com with the subject line "ATTN: Highya" with any additional questions or concerns that you have.

      Best,

      Sophia


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Dissatisfied

    • California,
    • Oct 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was very disappointed. They do not carry my strength so I had to choose a step higher which gave me headaches, or a step lower which left me squinting. I was able to wear my name brand contact for 10-12 hours comfortably. Hubble Contacts I was only able to get 5 hours. After wearing the Hubble brand my eyes were tired and sore to the point I was unable to put a new pair in. I am a nurse and I need my contacts to work as long as I do. I have also contacted Hubble 2 times to cancel and I am still being billed. I now have 5 boxes of unopened contacts I will never use. Very frustrating.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Nov 18, 2019

      Company Response from Hubble Contacts

      Hi Michelle,

      Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. I’m sorry to hear that you are dissatisfied with our lenses and cancellation process. I'd like to find out more about what happened - so we've reached out privately to discuss your account details from there.

      Best,

      Sophia


Showing 1-11 of 1344

Write a Review for Hubble Contacts!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review