About Hubble Contacts

By HighYa Research Team
Published on: May 16, 2017

By avoiding steep industry markups that can cause you to pay way more than you should, Hubble Contacts promises to deliver high-quality daily contact lenses right to your door, at half the prices of the other guys.

In fact, the company allows all patients with a valid prescription to receive 12 pairs of lenses for free upon signing up for a subscription. Then, you'll pay about $1 per day after that.

To sign up for a Hubble account, you’ll only need to enter your left and right eye power, your doctor’s state and name (you can also search by address and business name), and your name and email address, and then check out. If you need an eye exam, they’ll also help you schedule a doctor’s visit in your area.

For many of us, contact lenses are an essential part of everyday life. In other words, our quality of life could be severely impacted if we didn’t have them. They’re also expensive and not always convenient to pick up, which is where Hubble Contacts claims to help.

Are they necessarily your best, or least expensive, option? Are there any considerations to keep in mind before signing up for a subscription? Find some answers here by reading about what we learned during our research.

Looking For More About Hubble’s Contacts Lenses?

The Hubble website tells us their lenses are manufactured using state-of-the-art injection molding by Taipei-based St. Shine Optical Co., from a “high-grade methafilcon-A hydrogel material with 55% water content, UV protection, and a thin edge.”

We’re told they have been approved by the FDA for sale in the US for more than 14 years and are “designed for easy insertion, all-day comfort, and crystal clear vision.” Through an independent University of Houston College of Optometry double-masked study, they were even verified to be as comfortable and sharp and popular U.S. brands.

Powers range from -0.50 to -12.00, and +0.5 to +6.00, with a base curve of 8.6 and a diameter of 14.2.

As noted earlier, all Hubble Contacts orders require a valid prescription from a doctor, including:

  • Your name
  • Prescription expiration date
  • Prescriber's name
  • Power, base curve, manufacturer, diameter, and contact lens material

Important note: Hubble’s contact lenses are only designed for individuals with no or mild astigmatism (less than -1.00 cylinder). If you have a more significant diagnosis, the company’s site indicates they’re planning to offer toric lenses (those specially designed for astigmatism) soon.

Finally, while they currently only sell daily lenses, Hubble tells us that they’re also investigating bi-weekly and monthly lenses, although they’ll need to meet the same safety and comfort standards as their dailies.

For more detailed specifications, we’d strongly recommend reading through Hubble’s Wearers Guide.

Exactly what price will you pay?

How Much Does Hubble Contacts Cost & Are They Covered by Insurance?

Even with Hubble’ initial free offer, keep in mind that you’ll still pay $3 S&H, which will take about 5-10 business days to arrive in a 100% recyclable box. The service is currently only available to residents of the United States, certain U.S. territories, and U.S. Military locations.

14 days after your initial two-week free trial, you’ll pay $30 per month, plus $3 S&H, for 30 pairs of lenses. You can change how frequently you receive shipments and Hubble will always reach out to you before contacting your doctor to re-verify your prescription.

The contats provider doesn’t deal directly with insurance providers, although you can use your emailed receipt to apply for reimbursement through your carrier. You can pay using your FSA or HAS account, as long as it’s associated with a major credit card.

All orders come with a 30-refund policy, but this only applies to those where the outer shipping box remains unopened. If your prescription changes, you can ship your old strength back and they’ll re-send the correct pair.

If you have questions, Hubble’s support department can be reached at 844-334-1640 or help@hubblecontacts.com

What Can We Learn From Hubble Contacts Customer Reviews?

StarterNoise found Hubble’s sign up process super simple and the shipping much faster than it would have taken to get an appointment with their doctor, place the order, and drive to pick them up. Not to mention the much lower price.

Their first impression was that the lenses were incredibly comfortable. Although they found them a little difficult to take out, resulting in some red, irritated eyes for a couple of minutes afterward.

Similarly, Bre Payton at The Federalist writes that her Hubble Contacts were very soft and flexible, didn’t cause dry eye, and were very competitively priced. “The guys over at Hubble should really be paying me to be their spokesperson, because I have yet to shut up about them,” she concluded.

A handful of readers also left their firsthand feedback on a Reddit thread. As might be expected, some noted they were comfortable and didn’t feel the lenses at all, while another noted they weren’t as comfortable as their current Acuvue lenses.

One doctor chimed in noting that, in their experience, lenses that use the same methafilcon A material (55% water) and feature a DK value of 18 as Hubble’s lenses “are not very popular.”

From a company perspective, Hubble Contacts was co-founded in May 2016 by Ben Cogan and Jesse Horwitz.

Ben earned his degree in Philosophy from Princeton and previously worked as a Senior Customer Insights Associate for Harry’s Grooming and an Associate at The Boston Consulting Group. Jesse graduated from Harvard Law School and held positions as Founder of Gadfly Capital and Investment Analyst at Columbia Investment Management Company.

Vision Path Inc. (aka Hubble Contacts) wasn’t rated with the Better Business Bureau as of 5/16/17, although they did have four closed complaints. Only one of these provided details, which referenced difficulty obtaining proof of purchase.

Hubble vs. LensDirect, 1800Contacts, & Lens.com

Type the phrase “discount 1-day contact lenses" into any search engine, and you'll be met with hundreds of relevant results, including national brands like Acuvue from big hitters like 1800contacts, Lens.com, and LensDirect, to name just a few.

Many of these companies claim to offer 70% (or more) off name brand contact lenses, but how do their prices compare to Hubble? Here’s a quick sampling of some of the prices we encountered at the time of our research:

Company Lens Model Price/Quantity Details
Hubble Contacts 1-Day Contact Lenses $30, 60 lenses Methafilcon-A, 55% water content
LensDirect 1 Day Acuvue Moist 30 Pack $30.58, 30 lenses 42% etafilcon A, 58% water content
Lens.com 1 Day Acuvue TruEye $54.94, 90 lenses 54% narafilcon A, 46% water content
1800Contacts 1-Day Acuvue Define $94, 90 lenses Etafilcon A, 58% water content

According to Everyday Health, 90 percent of contact lens wearers use soft options, the same as Hubble. And while daily disposable lenses might offer the lowest maintenance, they also tend to cost more, but they might be ideal for those with allergies.

Pro tip: All About Vision emphasizes that, while daily disposables might cost more than their longer-term brethren, this could be offset by the money saved on care products.

The American Optometric Association also notes that daily disposable contact lenses can work great for those with active lifestyles and often involve a very short adaptation period, but they’re not available for all vision problems and may not offer the same level of crispness as longer-wear models.

The best way to decide? Talk with your doctor who can recommend options based on your specific diagnosis, needs, and preferences.

Our Final Thoughts About Hubble Contacts

As we can see from the table above, the cost of Hubble’s lenses comes in right at $1 per day, which is about half the cost of a similar daily from Acuvue through LensDirect and 1800Contacts.

Coming in a little closer, Lens.com’s 1 Day Acuvue TruEye was priced at about $1.22 per day, while the Acuvue Oasys 1-Day with Hydraluxe was slightly higher at $1.45 per day.

Bottom line? It seems that Hubble has found itself a niche in the marketplace by manufacturing their own high-quality contact lenses and shipping them directly, thereby providing prices that are anywhere from 20 to 50 percent less expensive.

In addition, the company appears to have mostly positive—although somewhat limited—online feedback from customers.

Perhaps the only downside is that, like any other contact lens retailer, you can’t return your Hubble Contacts if they don’t match your preferences. However, all new subscriptions come with a free two-week trial (less $3 S&H), which should be more than enough time to figure out if they work for you before receiving your next shipment.

Did Hubble’s contacts help you see better at a lower price, or did they not meet your needs? Whatever happened, tell us all about it by writing a review below.


Read 1332 Hubble Contacts Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 4.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 914 4 star: 167 3 star: 31 2 star: 40 1 star:  180
Bottom Line: 82% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 1332
Sort reviews by:

  • This company is actively collecting reviews from its customers. All reviews submitted are subject to moderation and approval to ensure they meet our Review Guidelines.
  • Poor service

    • Berlin, Germany,
    • Oct 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Hubble has charged the contact lenses subscription's amount from my credit card on the 29th of September. Today is the 8th of October and I still didn't receive the package. I called Hubbles and spoke to Bastian and Walentina from the customer service in Germany, they were incapable of providing me with a tracking number. The package now seems to be lost and no one from Hubble has a clue of where it can be. Unfortunately, this is not the first time that it happened, so a service that should be making my life easier is instead only bringing me trouble. It would be intelligent and polite to send an e-mail to your clients after charging their credit cards, where you provide them with the tracking number of the package. Shame!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • SCAM! They will steal from your credit card!

    • Toronto, Canada,
    • Oct 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    They never sent me a sample, then assumes that I need a large box worth nearly $200.

    I called them and they refused to refund me.

    Literally stealing your money and force you to buy what you never even realize you bought.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    BEWARE. Glitches in account management and poor customer service.

    • Anaheim, CA,
    • Oct 2, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    SEEMS LIKE A POORLY RUN SUBSCRIPTION COMPANY: Please be careful and watch your subscription status to avoid getting charged boxes/subscriptions. I called in to return and get a refund. They will issue you a "partial refund, as shipping charges are not covered".

    CONTACT LENSES NOT COMFORTABLE: I ordered the trial to try their contacts out, and unfortunately, the product itself was disappointing (contact lense quality). I wear my other branded contacts from about 7 am - 9 pm, and Hubble lenses, I could NOT wear this long and had to take out right when I got home from work.

    SIGNS TO BEWARE OF: They make you call in to cancel, so you cannot just cancel easily online. They do not send you emails to remind you of any upcoming shipment. I am a customer of other subscription-based companies, and their policies and customer service are incredible. Hubble, unfortunately, is a poor example of a subscription-based company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Oct 11, 2019

      Company Response from Hubble Contacts

      Hello Yvonne, thank you so much for taking the time to write out your review. We truly appreciate your valuable feedback. If you have any further concerns or questions, please reach out to us at help@hubblecontacts.com with the subject line "Attn: Highya."

      - Maya


  • First time contact user

    • Williamsport, PA,
    • Sep 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I started using Hubble Contacts over a year and a half ago.

    I received glasses for the first time in my life. I wore them for two weeks when I realized I did not like it. So I saw an ad on Facebook for Hubble. I really had no idea what I was doing with the lenses, but they were great with instructions and assistance. They have always been comfortable and have shown up on time. If you have to wear contacts, I recommend this company. Admittedly, I’ve never used any other companies but in a way that’s a good thing. It shows that I’m a satisfied customer.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Oct 11, 2019

      Company Response from Hubble Contacts

      Hi Brad! Thanks so much for your review and for sharing your honest experience with us. We're so happy we could be a comfortable alternative for you.

      - Maya


  • Try before you buy

    • Rock Springs, WY,
    • Sep 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I’ve not had the best experience with these contacts, they are VERY uncomfortable and I cannot ever wear these contacts for more than a few hours at a time! As a result, I have boxes of contacts that are too painful to wear and have to wear my glasses for the majority of the time!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Just wish

    • King of Prussia, PA,
    • Sep 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I love these contacts, just wish they came in multifocal. These are the most comfortable contacts I’ve ever worn and the vision is great for distance, for me. Just wish I could see to read.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    My vision went very bad when using these contacts

    • Fayetteville, AR,
    • Sep 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    These contacts are made from a discontinued material. I used them for one year until I visited another ophthalmologist who informed me that my vision went from -5.25 to -7.00 in a year. She told me that if I continued use I would go blind from apoptosis in my lense. They won’t do anything but offer to cancel your subscription. I simply want to tell people that these aren’t worth your time, money or vision.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Tried canceling my subscription

    • Little Rock, AR,
    • Sep 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I tried canceling my subscription 3 months ago. Sent email but contacts keep coming, contacts are the wrong strength. There is no phone number to customer service. If at all possible please cancel my subscription and stop sending me the contacts. I would not suggest them to a friend or anyone else. Please send me a phone number to call to discuss my concerns.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Great

    • Glendale, CA,
    • Sep 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Ever since I subscribed I never had to worry about running out of contacts! It’s the best feeling! I used to wear the monthly contacts but those started to irritate my eyes. When I started wearing these daily contacts I noticed a huge difference! My eyes weren’t dry, irritated, or itchy. Plus, they were super nice and fast to respond when my monthly package didn’t arrive! Overall great and I am happy with it!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Average. But cheap.

    • Graham, TX,
    • Sep 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    They are alright, nothing special. Over half the time they burn the crap out of my eyes. And I have to waste half of them. They are always on time with my delivery, they’re cheap. The only reason I use them honestly. That and they automatically send them to me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Great quality and convenience

    • Pennsylvania,
    • Sep 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I literally hated dealing my contact lenses before I discovered Hubble. Just the ordering them annually or semi-annually and waiting for them to come in and running out of my last pair or waiting for the order to arrive at my eye doctor's office than having to pick them up on a Wednesday after work. All of that hassle is over. Once per month, my contacts arrive from Hubble and they are great quality daily disposable contact lenses. I had a bad habit of sleeping in my contacts but not anymore. I take them out every night and have new contacts in the morning. All for a reasonable monthly charge. I really appreciate the quality and convenience.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 1332

Write a Review for Hubble Contacts!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review