About Hubble Contacts

By HighYa Research Team
Published on: May 16, 2017

By avoiding steep industry markups that can cause you to pay way more than you should, Hubble Contacts promises to deliver high-quality daily contact lenses right to your door, at half the prices of the other guys.

In fact, the company allows all patients with a valid prescription to receive 12 pairs of lenses for free upon signing up for a subscription. Then, you'll pay about $1 per day after that.

To sign up for a Hubble account, you’ll only need to enter your left and right eye power, your doctor’s state and name (you can also search by address and business name), and your name and email address, and then check out. If you need an eye exam, they’ll also help you schedule a doctor’s visit in your area.

For many of us, contact lenses are an essential part of everyday life. In other words, our quality of life could be severely impacted if we didn’t have them. They’re also expensive and not always convenient to pick up, which is where Hubble Contacts claims to help.

Are they necessarily your best, or least expensive, option? Are there any considerations to keep in mind before signing up for a subscription? Find some answers here by reading about what we learned during our research.

Looking For More About Hubble’s Contacts Lenses?

The Hubble website tells us their lenses are manufactured using state-of-the-art injection molding by Taipei-based St. Shine Optical Co., from a “high-grade methafilcon-A hydrogel material with 55% water content, UV protection, and a thin edge.”

We’re told they have been approved by the FDA for sale in the US for more than 14 years and are “designed for easy insertion, all-day comfort, and crystal clear vision.” Through an independent University of Houston College of Optometry double-masked study, they were even verified to be as comfortable and sharp and popular U.S. brands.

Powers range from -0.50 to -12.00, and +0.5 to +6.00, with a base curve of 8.6 and a diameter of 14.2.

As noted earlier, all Hubble Contacts orders require a valid prescription from a doctor, including:

  • Your name
  • Prescription expiration date
  • Prescriber's name
  • Power, base curve, manufacturer, diameter, and contact lens material

Important note: Hubble’s contact lenses are only designed for individuals with no or mild astigmatism (less than -1.00 cylinder). If you have a more significant diagnosis, the company’s site indicates they’re planning to offer toric lenses (those specially designed for astigmatism) soon.

Finally, while they currently only sell daily lenses, Hubble tells us that they’re also investigating bi-weekly and monthly lenses, although they’ll need to meet the same safety and comfort standards as their dailies.

For more detailed specifications, we’d strongly recommend reading through Hubble’s Wearers Guide.

Exactly what price will you pay?

How Much Does Hubble Contacts Cost & Are They Covered by Insurance?

Even with Hubble’ initial free offer, keep in mind that you’ll still pay $3 S&H, which will take about 5-10 business days to arrive in a 100% recyclable box. The service is currently only available to residents of the United States, certain U.S. territories, and U.S. Military locations.

14 days after your initial two-week free trial, you’ll pay $30 per month, plus $3 S&H, for 30 pairs of lenses. You can change how frequently you receive shipments and Hubble will always reach out to you before contacting your doctor to re-verify your prescription.

The contats provider doesn’t deal directly with insurance providers, although you can use your emailed receipt to apply for reimbursement through your carrier. You can pay using your FSA or HAS account, as long as it’s associated with a major credit card.

All orders come with a 30-refund policy, but this only applies to those where the outer shipping box remains unopened. If your prescription changes, you can ship your old strength back and they’ll re-send the correct pair.

If you have questions, Hubble’s support department can be reached at 844-334-1640 or help@hubblecontacts.com

What Can We Learn From Hubble Contacts Customer Reviews?

StarterNoise found Hubble’s sign up process super simple and the shipping much faster than it would have taken to get an appointment with their doctor, place the order, and drive to pick them up. Not to mention the much lower price.

Their first impression was that the lenses were incredibly comfortable. Although they found them a little difficult to take out, resulting in some red, irritated eyes for a couple of minutes afterward.

Similarly, Bre Payton at The Federalist writes that her Hubble Contacts were very soft and flexible, didn’t cause dry eye, and were very competitively priced. “The guys over at Hubble should really be paying me to be their spokesperson, because I have yet to shut up about them,” she concluded.

A handful of readers also left their firsthand feedback on a Reddit thread. As might be expected, some noted they were comfortable and didn’t feel the lenses at all, while another noted they weren’t as comfortable as their current Acuvue lenses.

One doctor chimed in noting that, in their experience, lenses that use the same methafilcon A material (55% water) and feature a DK value of 18 as Hubble’s lenses “are not very popular.”

From a company perspective, Hubble Contacts was co-founded in May 2016 by Ben Cogan and Jesse Horwitz.

Ben earned his degree in Philosophy from Princeton and previously worked as a Senior Customer Insights Associate for Harry’s Grooming and an Associate at The Boston Consulting Group. Jesse graduated from Harvard Law School and held positions as Founder of Gadfly Capital and Investment Analyst at Columbia Investment Management Company.

Vision Path Inc. (aka Hubble Contacts) wasn’t rated with the Better Business Bureau as of 5/16/17, although they did have four closed complaints. Only one of these provided details, which referenced difficulty obtaining proof of purchase.

Hubble vs. LensDirect, 1800Contacts, & Lens.com

Type the phrase “discount 1-day contact lenses" into any search engine, and you'll be met with hundreds of relevant results, including national brands like Acuvue from big hitters like 1800contacts, Lens.com, and LensDirect, to name just a few.

Many of these companies claim to offer 70% (or more) off name brand contact lenses, but how do their prices compare to Hubble? Here’s a quick sampling of some of the prices we encountered at the time of our research:

Company Lens Model Price/Quantity Details
Hubble Contacts 1-Day Contact Lenses $30, 60 lenses Methafilcon-A, 55% water content
LensDirect 1 Day Acuvue Moist 30 Pack $30.58, 30 lenses 42% etafilcon A, 58% water content
Lens.com 1 Day Acuvue TruEye $54.94, 90 lenses 54% narafilcon A, 46% water content
1800Contacts 1-Day Acuvue Define $94, 90 lenses Etafilcon A, 58% water content

According to Everyday Health, 90 percent of contact lens wearers use soft options, the same as Hubble. And while daily disposable lenses might offer the lowest maintenance, they also tend to cost more, but they might be ideal for those with allergies.

Pro tip: All About Vision emphasizes that, while daily disposables might cost more than their longer-term brethren, this could be offset by the money saved on care products.

The American Optometric Association also notes that daily disposable contact lenses can work great for those with active lifestyles and often involve a very short adaptation period, but they’re not available for all vision problems and may not offer the same level of crispness as longer-wear models.

The best way to decide? Talk with your doctor who can recommend options based on your specific diagnosis, needs, and preferences.

Our Final Thoughts About Hubble Contacts

As we can see from the table above, the cost of Hubble’s lenses comes in right at $1 per day, which is about half the cost of a similar daily from Acuvue through LensDirect and 1800Contacts.

Coming in a little closer, Lens.com’s 1 Day Acuvue TruEye was priced at about $1.22 per day, while the Acuvue Oasys 1-Day with Hydraluxe was slightly higher at $1.45 per day.

Bottom line? It seems that Hubble has found itself a niche in the marketplace by manufacturing their own high-quality contact lenses and shipping them directly, thereby providing prices that are anywhere from 20 to 50 percent less expensive.

In addition, the company appears to have mostly positive—although somewhat limited—online feedback from customers.

Perhaps the only downside is that, like any other contact lens retailer, you can’t return your Hubble Contacts if they don’t match your preferences. However, all new subscriptions come with a free two-week trial (less $3 S&H), which should be more than enough time to figure out if they work for you before receiving your next shipment.

Did Hubble’s contacts help you see better at a lower price, or did they not meet your needs? Whatever happened, tell us all about it by writing a review below.


Read 1352 Hubble Contacts Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 4.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 918 4 star: 168 3 star: 31 2 star: 44 1 star:  191
Bottom Line: 81% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 1352
Sort reviews by:

  • This company is actively collecting reviews from its customers. All reviews submitted are subject to moderation and approval to ensure they meet our Review Guidelines.
  • They take your money and contacts never come!

    • By Ryan D.,
    • Edmonton, Alberta, Canada,
    • Jan 15, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    Ordered contacts at the beginning of December, checked December 11th and said the order had been sent. By the end of December I still never received them so I reached out. Customer service said they would send it again. It’s been over 2 weeks again and still nothing. The updated order was never even added to my account and they never came.

    Paid for 3 months worth of contacts and have been forced to wear my glasses for a month and a half.

    Very unprofessional. No refund, no contacts.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jan 15, 2020

      Company Response from Hubble Contacts

      Hi, Ryan,

      Thanks for sharing your experience with us! So sorry to hear you have been experiencing delays or you never received your order. I have attempted to look into this for you. We do not have sufficient information to find your communication records with our team so I reached out privately to find out more about your interactions with our team and get to the bottom of this. Thank you!

      Best,

      Sophia


  • Crap

    • By Teri-Lynn M.,
    • British Columbia, Canada,
    • Jan 15, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    So I ordered from Hubble, paid for it, and never received a single pair of lenses. This place is a BS scam. I tried to reach out for resolution and was ghosted. Save your money. You’d have better luck lighting it on fire than getting any product from these people.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jan 15, 2020

      Company Response from Hubble Contacts

      Hi, Teri,

      Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. I'm so sorry to hear you did not receive your order. I've sent you a private message to find out more about what happened so that we can make this right.

      Best,

      Sophia


  • Horrible customer service

    • By Oliver L.,
    • Quebec, Canada,
    • Jan 14, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have canceled my subscription over a month ago and have been trying to get a refund for contacts I returned 3 weeks ago. I have emailed 3 times to get an update on my refund. There has been no response to any of my emails. Hubble was a big mistake. Any other contact distributor would be a better choice. As far as the contacts go, they weren't for me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jan 15, 2020

      Company Response from Hubble Contacts

      Hi, Oliver,

      Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. I am sorry to hear about your experience, and I have attempted to look into this for you. We do not have sufficient information to find your communication records with our team, so we've reached out privately to discuss your account details from there.

      Best,

      Sophia


  • Contact lenses

    • By Audrey M.,
    • Arviat, Nunavut, Canada,
    • Jan 14, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    I enjoyed the contact lenses I received last year. I am hoping to buy in the future to use Hubble again. They were very useful. I just hope the one I will order next will come with a solution and a case. Thank you.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jan 15, 2020

      Company Response from Hubble Contacts

      Hi, Audrey,

      Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. We are so happy that you've enjoyed your Hubble Contacts experience. We appreciate your suggestions, Audrey so we can continue to strive to make better. :)

      Thanks,

      Sophia


  • WORST contacts - eye problems

    • By Me D.,
    • Canada,
    • Jan 14, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've been using eye contacts for more than 15 years and I never had that many problems with my eyes. Had pain behind my eyes. Eyes were dry like the desert, they don't breathe.

    Even for a cheap price, the health of the eyes is more important.

    They charge even if you cancel your subscription.

    NIGHTMARE.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jan 15, 2020

      Company Response from Hubble Contacts

      Hi, Me,

      Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. I'm sorry to hear that the lenses feel dry on your eyes. You may find that over-the-counter rewetting drops may be a relief for dryness, if it doesn’t work, please visit your eye care professional to evaluate the cause and determine the best way to increase your contact lens wearing comfort.

      Also, we've reached out privately to find out more why your card has been charged and get to the bottom of this. Thank you!

      Best,

      Sophia


  • Not a good product

    • By Jonathan D.,
    • Quebec, Canada,
    • Jan 13, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    Wort trying it so you know why you don't like them!

    Just remember to set a few reminders in the week after so you won't forget to cancel your subscription because if you don't, they will charge you and ship some more!

    Down points:

    Service is a trap.

    Dry.

    Irritating.

    You will want to take them off 3 hours later.

    Up points:

    Nice little boxes.

    Branding well done.

    You will feel like it's a cool thing but it's not.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jan 14, 2020

      Company Response from Hubble Contacts

      Hi, Jonathan,

      Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. I am sorry to hear you have not had a great Hubble experience. With regards to your subscription, we try to be as transparent as possible that this is a subscription service by stating it on our webpage and providing customers with access to canceling orders on their account page. You will be billed and charged automatically each month. This was stated in our terms and service that you agreed upon signing up.

      Also, I'm sorry to hear that the lenses feel dry on your eyes. You may find that over-the-counter rewetting drops may be a relief for dryness, if it doesn’t work, please visit your eye care professional to evaluate the cause and determine the best way to increase your contact lens wearing comfort.

      If you have any further concerns or questions, please reach out to us at help@hubblecontacts.com with the subject line "Attn: Highya."

      Best,

      Sophia


  • Amazing

    • By Jasmin F.,
    • New York, NY,
    • Jan 4, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    The most convenient way to get great quality contact lenses. No running around, no hassle. I ship mine to the office. They are just as good as the big brands on 1800Contacts, but a lot cheaper. Wish they had colored ones though.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jan 7, 2020

      Company Response from Hubble Contacts

      Hi, Jasmin,

      Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. It's wonderful to hear that the subscription delivery system is working out so well for you, as picking up lenses from your optometrist can be a hassle! We're so glad to have you on board.

      Also, we hope to offer color lenses in the future and as soon as we do we will definitely reach out! Thanks!

      Best,

      Sophia


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Good idea and great customer service, but could be more flexible with returns

    I love the customer service from Hubble and the idea is great. The customer service reps are so speedy and helpful! The packaging is adorable. My packages always arrived on time and in excellent condition. That part gets five stars! Honestly, any complaints I have are mostly on me, but I just want others to get a full picture. This is a two-part complaint:

    One: If your eyes are prone to drying out, these might not be the best for you. I would definitely suggest doing the trial though, because if they work for you they're truly a great product. However, due to my job that requires a lot of screen time, I have to cancel my subscription because the contacts feel like they're stabbing my eyeballs after a few hours of wear.

    Second issue: My two-job work schedule really picked up last month and I kept forgetting to send back the box, and then before I knew it another box came. As per the 30-day return policy, I can't send back the previous box. Which I admit is my fault, should have briefed myself on the policy before hoarding. I just think Hubble should consider a bit more flexibility with this policy, as part of the product's appeal is its convenience! Life gets busy and now I have a pristine, unopened box of contacts that are not only dry and stabby after like five hours of wear, but are also the wrong prescription and will go to waste. I know I probably signed a contract with my subscription, etc., but I can't help but feel a little bit ripped off that Hubble now has $36 that I worked really hard for, in exchange for a product I didn't use that's only like three weeks older than the newest box. Contacts can stay fresh if they're stored properly and if Hubble's contacts don't after a few weeks that's another issue altogether.

    I suggest Hubble extends the return policy to 3 months for their busy customers. Or at least offers one-time exceptions to loyal customers. I work for a family-owned business and a retail store where customer appreciation is paramount, so it just really doesn't sit well. I would still recommend the product to a friend, but I'm saying I wouldn't so someone from Hubble looks at this and might take pity on my poor (literally) soul and let me mail back/refund the second box. That kind of customer flexibility and loyalty on top of the existing positive qualities of the company would really set Hubble apart and make it even better.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jan 8, 2020

      Company Response from Hubble Contacts

      Hi, Gabrielle,

      Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. Your feedback helps us get better. We are looking into this issue and hope to resolve it promptly and accurately. I'd like to find out more about what happened - so we've reached out privately to discuss your account details from there.

      Best,

      Sophia


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful
    Updated review

    Honestly...

    • By David A.,
    • Florida,
    • Dec 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Honestly like a t-shirt with your guys' logo or a hat would make a good customer feel appreciated and free advertisement for you.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Previous review
    • Nov 23, 2019

    I like free stuff

    It's been good but it could be better if I got anything free or any gifts. Oh and I have recommended to family and friends, will be sticking with your company for as long as I can afford to pay for it.

    • Nov 28, 2019

      Company Response from Hubble Contacts

      Hi, David,

      Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. So glad you've found us! The free gift idea is awesome and we'll share this to the team. We appreciate you recommending us to your family and friends!

      Best,

      Sophia

    (read moreread less...)

  • I asked for new contacts to be sent out.

    • By Nichole R.,
    • Utah,
    • Dec 3, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    On November 17th I asked if my order could be placed sooner. Haniriza Chio wrote me on the 18th saying she would put an order through sooner for me and I would get my order in 5 to 7 days. She asked if anything was different on my account. I told her everything was the same and please send out my order. I have written her 2 times asking if this order was placed with no response. It's the 26th and I still don't know if my order has been placed or shipped.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Dec 6, 2019

      Company Response from Hubble Contacts

      Hi, Nichole,

      Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. I am so sorry to hear about your experience. I would like the opportunity to investigate your feedback further so we've reached out privately to discuss your account details from there. Thank you!

      Best,

      Sophia


  • Not was I was hoping for...

    • By Shae W.,
    • Freeland, MI,
    • Dec 3, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had high expectations when I got my trial box since I had read many positive reviews, however, I wasn't impressed after trying the contacts out for a week. First impressions were good; the packaging was cute and brightly colored, and when the contacts would sit right in my eyes they were very comfortable. In good lighting, I could see perfectly. However, when it was dark, any lights would have a huge glare around them, making it very hard to see at night or in dim lighting. After noticing this, I tried to cancel my subscription before my first actual box got shipped out, but I was too late and customer service could not cancel it for me.

    Upon using the contacts from the paid box subscription, I began to notice that some of the contacts were flipped inside out (opposed to the proper way they are supposed to be put into the eye) in the packaging. Once I get the contacts in my eyes, they don't always fit right either, even if it is flipped the correct way, almost like there is an air bubble between the contact and my eye that I cannot get out. Overall, I was not impressed and do not plan on ordering from Hubble again. It was worth a shot though.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Dec 6, 2019

      Company Response from Hubble Contacts

      Hi, Shae,

      Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. I am so sorry to hear that our lenses don't always fit right and had some trouble getting your order refunded. I've reached out privately, here on HighYa, so that I can look into your account and look forward to hearing back from you! Thank you!

      Best,

      Sophia


Showing 1-11 of 1352

Write a Review for Hubble Contacts!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review