About Hubble Contacts

Published on: May 16, 2017

By avoiding steep industry markups that can cause you to pay way more than you should, Hubble Contacts promises to deliver high-quality daily contact lenses right to your door, at half the prices of the other guys.

In fact, the company allows all patients with a valid prescription to receive 12 pairs of lenses for free upon signing up for a subscription. Then, you'll pay about $1 per day after that.

To sign up for a Hubble account, you’ll only need to enter your left and right eye power, your doctor’s state and name (you can also search by address and business name), and your name and email address, and then check out. If you need an eye exam, they’ll also help you schedule a doctor’s visit in your area.

For many of us, contact lenses are an essential part of everyday life. In other words, our quality of life could be severely impacted if we didn’t have them. They’re also expensive and not always convenient to pick up, which is where Hubble Contacts claims to help.

Are they necessarily your best, or least expensive, option? Are there any considerations to keep in mind before signing up for a subscription? Find some answers here by reading about what we learned during our research.

Looking For More About Hubble’s Contacts Lenses?

The Hubble website tells us their lenses are manufactured using state-of-the-art injection molding by Taipei-based St. Shine Optical Co., from a “high-grade methafilcon-A hydrogel material with 55% water content, UV protection, and a thin edge.”

We’re told they have been approved by the FDA for sale in the US for more than 14 years and are “designed for easy insertion, all-day comfort, and crystal clear vision.” Through an independent University of Houston College of Optometry double-masked study, they were even verified to be as comfortable and sharp and popular U.S. brands.

Powers range from -0.50 to -12.00, and +0.5 to +6.00, with a base curve of 8.6 and a diameter of 14.2.

As noted earlier, all Hubble Contacts orders require a valid prescription from a doctor, including:

  • Your name
  • Prescription expiration date
  • Prescriber's name
  • Power, base curve, manufacturer, diameter, and contact lens material

Important note: Hubble’s contact lenses are only designed for individuals with no or mild astigmatism (less than -1.00 cylinder). If you have a more significant diagnosis, the company’s site indicates they’re planning to offer toric lenses (those specially designed for astigmatism) soon.

Finally, while they currently only sell daily lenses, Hubble tells us that they’re also investigating bi-weekly and monthly lenses, although they’ll need to meet the same safety and comfort standards as their dailies.

For more detailed specifications, we’d strongly recommend reading through Hubble’s Wearers Guide.

Exactly what price will you pay?

How Much Does Hubble Contacts Cost & Are They Covered by Insurance?

Even with Hubble’ initial free offer, keep in mind that you’ll still pay $3 S&H, which will take about 5-10 business days to arrive in a 100% recyclable box. The service is currently only available to residents of the United States, certain U.S. territories, and U.S. Military locations.

14 days after your initial two-week free trial, you’ll pay $30 per month, plus $3 S&H, for 30 pairs of lenses. You can change how frequently you receive shipments and Hubble will always reach out to you before contacting your doctor to re-verify your prescription.

The contats provider doesn’t deal directly with insurance providers, although you can use your emailed receipt to apply for reimbursement through your carrier. You can pay using your FSA or HAS account, as long as it’s associated with a major credit card.

All orders come with a 30-refund policy, but this only applies to those where the outer shipping box remains unopened. If your prescription changes, you can ship your old strength back and they’ll re-send the correct pair.

If you have questions, Hubble’s support department can be reached at 844-334-1640 or help@hubblecontacts.com

What Can We Learn From Hubble Contacts Customer Reviews?

StarterNoise found Hubble’s sign up process super simple and the shipping much faster than it would have taken to get an appointment with their doctor, place the order, and drive to pick them up. Not to mention the much lower price.

Their first impression was that the lenses were incredibly comfortable. Although they found them a little difficult to take out, resulting in some red, irritated eyes for a couple of minutes afterward.

Similarly, Bre Payton at The Federalist writes that her Hubble Contacts were very soft and flexible, didn’t cause dry eye, and were very competitively priced. “The guys over at Hubble should really be paying me to be their spokesperson, because I have yet to shut up about them,” she concluded.

A handful of readers also left their firsthand feedback on a Reddit thread. As might be expected, some noted they were comfortable and didn’t feel the lenses at all, while another noted they weren’t as comfortable as their current Acuvue lenses.

One doctor chimed in noting that, in their experience, lenses that use the same methafilcon A material (55% water) and feature a DK value of 18 as Hubble’s lenses “are not very popular.”

From a company perspective, Hubble Contacts was co-founded in May 2016 by Ben Cogan and Jesse Horwitz.

Ben earned his degree in Philosophy from Princeton and previously worked as a Senior Customer Insights Associate for Harry’s Grooming and an Associate at The Boston Consulting Group. Jesse graduated from Harvard Law School and held positions as Founder of Gadfly Capital and Investment Analyst at Columbia Investment Management Company.

Vision Path Inc. (aka Hubble Contacts) wasn’t rated with the Better Business Bureau as of 5/16/17, although they did have four closed complaints. Only one of these provided details, which referenced difficulty obtaining proof of purchase.

Hubble vs. LensDirect, 1800Contacts, & Lens.com

Type the phrase “discount 1-day contact lenses" into any search engine, and you'll be met with hundreds of relevant results, including national brands like Acuvue from big hitters like 1800contacts, Lens.com, and LensDirect, to name just a few.

Many of these companies claim to offer 70% (or more) off name brand contact lenses, but how do their prices compare to Hubble? Here’s a quick sampling of some of the prices we encountered at the time of our research:

Company Lens Model Price/Quantity Details
Hubble Contacts 1-Day Contact Lenses $30, 60 lenses Methafilcon-A, 55% water content
LensDirect 1 Day Acuvue Moist 30 Pack $30.58, 30 lenses 42% etafilcon A, 58% water content
Lens.com 1 Day Acuvue TruEye $54.94, 90 lenses 54% narafilcon A, 46% water content
1800Contacts 1-Day Acuvue Define $94, 90 lenses Etafilcon A, 58% water content

According to Everyday Health, 90 percent of contact lens wearers use soft options, the same as Hubble. And while daily disposable lenses might offer the lowest maintenance, they also tend to cost more, but they might be ideal for those with allergies.

Pro tip: All About Vision emphasizes that, while daily disposables might cost more than their longer-term brethren, this could be offset by the money saved on care products.

The American Optometric Association also notes that daily disposable contact lenses can work great for those with active lifestyles and often involve a very short adaptation period, but they’re not available for all vision problems and may not offer the same level of crispness as longer-wear models.

The best way to decide? Talk with your doctor who can recommend options based on your specific diagnosis, needs, and preferences.

Our Final Thoughts About Hubble Contacts

As we can see from the table above, the cost of Hubble’s lenses comes in right at $1 per day, which is about half the cost of a similar daily from Acuvue through LensDirect and 1800Contacts.

Coming in a little closer, Lens.com’s 1 Day Acuvue TruEye was priced at about $1.22 per day, while the Acuvue Oasys 1-Day with Hydraluxe was slightly higher at $1.45 per day.

Bottom line? It seems that Hubble has found itself a niche in the marketplace by manufacturing their own high-quality contact lenses and shipping them directly, thereby providing prices that are anywhere from 20 to 50 percent less expensive.

In addition, the company appears to have mostly positive—although somewhat limited—online feedback from customers.

Perhaps the only downside is that, like any other contact lens retailer, you can’t return your Hubble Contacts if they don’t match your preferences. However, all new subscriptions come with a free two-week trial (less $3 S&H), which should be more than enough time to figure out if they work for you before receiving your next shipment.

Did Hubble’s contacts help you see better at a lower price, or did they not meet your needs? Whatever happened, tell us all about it by writing a review below.

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

371 Consumer Reviews for Hubble Contacts

Average Consumer Rating: 4.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 264 4 star: 56 3 star: 5 2 star: 14 1 star:  32
Bottom Line: 87% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 371
Sort reviews by:

  • Contact lenses for those on a budget!

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Oct 19, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've been using Hubble for a few months now. I exclusively used Acuvue Oasys Weeklies, and it would cost me more than $60 per month! When I saw an ad for Hubble on Instagram, I said, why not? Truthfully, I do not see or feel a difference between Acuvue and Hubble. I REFUSE to even go back to that brand now. I'm a Hubble user all the way!

    Best part is, I don't have to spend any time in the bathroom putting my contacts away in a case and soak. Acuvue Dailies would have cost me around $80-$90. Hubble are daily lenses. You are paying $1 per day. How can you beat that?

    I definitely recommend Hubble to all. You won't regret it. And, if you don't like it? Well, they offer a free trial.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Good deal, good contacts.

    I really wanted to support this startup company after seeing it advertised on my social media accounts and reading up about it.

    The contacts are affordable and comfortable. I love that they are shipped to me automatically monthly, so I don't have to worry about buying more contacts every month or so. You can also edit your monthly delivery schedule at any time on their website. Signing up is also pretty quick and easy compared to other contact companies.

    I wish there was a way to edit your prescription on the website under your account (instead of having to email them). I also wish there was a way to track your package of contacts on the website too. Those 2 things would be very helpful and make Hubble even better.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Such a waste of money

    • Iowa,
    • Oct 19, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've worn contacts for about 10 years and have previously always gone for the month-long lenses. However, as a college student, dropping $150-$250 at a time at my vision center for a year supply (not including the yearly eye exam costs for a valid prescription) doesn't always seem very practical for my budget. So, I was in need of a "cheaper" alternative and recognized Hubble as "that one company that always has those TV ads for cheap daily contacts." I really liked the concept of a subscription-based contact lens service because presumably, you spend way less at one time than you would have to spend with other options, so I decided to give it a shot.

    First of all, Hubble Contacts are NOT cheaper than regular contact lenses, assuming you want the cheapest option available for lenses. Hubble will cost you around $35 per month (including shipping fees). 35 x 12 = $420 per year. After I did more research, I have definitely managed to find sites that sell some month-long contact lenses for the SAME price as Hubble even on a monthly basis, and that's for 2 boxes of 6 (for left and right eye). That means if you use Hubble you are spending roughly the same amount on lenses for a ONE-month supply that you could be spending for a SIX-month supply if you chose monthly lenses (depending on the brand of course). That fact alone should repel you from paying for this total scam of a subscription service, especially since the whole concept is centered around "contacts are too expensive and we are the solution." But wait! There's more!

    These are SO uncomfortable. When they came in the mail and I put them in my eyes for the first time, I literally couldn't tell if they were inside-out or if I had received the wrong prescription or something because they were so dry and blurry right after putting them in. They feel exactly like what 2-week lenses feel like if you were to use the same pair every day for 3 months. If you rub your eye, they fall right out. If you keep your eyes open without blinking for 5 seconds, they go blurry. There's no way I can wear these lenses for more than 4 hours max.

    Honestly, save your money and look for month-long lens options on 1-800 Contacts or Lens.com. The concept of Hubble is great, but the price and garbage quality almost couldn't be worse. The only reason I'm giving Hubble 2 stars instead of 1 is because they give you the free trial period of 15 days of lenses, you just pay the $3 for shipping. However, I want my $3 back.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Not bad

    • Ridgecrest, CA,
    • Oct 19, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is a very convenient way to get your contacts without having to pay $200 plus out of pocket up front, once you get past the billing issues (what days they bill).

    The only other issues I’ve found is the ripping of the package next to the one you are using. If you don’t watch, you will waste a contact. Also, I found one completely empty.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Easy and affordable!

    Hubble Contacts was a game changer for me because my insurance has no coverage for contacts. It was super easy to sign up and very affordable. The boxes always arrive on time and having daily lenses feels great on my eyes.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • They're okay...

    • New York,
    • Oct 19, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Hubble Contacts are just okay. If you're someone who sits in front of a computer all day for work, these are not the contacts for you. They dry up very quickly.

    I use them for very short term, maybe 5 hours max when I'm working out or playing any sports.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • So convenient!

    I love the concept behind Hubble Contacts. Everyone who wears contacts shares the same feeling when they are close to their last lense. With Hubble, they've got you covered, and that is never an issue!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Overall good

    • California,
    • Oct 19, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Overall, pretty good contacts and I will continue ordering from them. The convenience is unbeatable.

    Pros: Convenient, decent price.

    Cons: A little less comfortable than Acuvue Oasys.

    I will continue my monthly subscription with Hubble.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Convenient, simple and great!

    • Washington DC,
    • Oct 19, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Out of 5 stars, I would give Hubble a 4.

    I've worn glasses for 10 years and finally decided to give contacts a try, and Hubble has made the process of ordering contacts so much easier. The concept of daily wears really makes the entire routine of contacts so much more convenient, both in the morning and at night.

    Hubble also gives you the option to schedule your delivery based on days, and for someone who doesn't wear contacts every day, I can set my schedule to 45 or 50 days so that I'm not getting a fresh 30 pairs each month on the dot.

    The only reason I am giving 4 stars out of 5 is that Hubble does not customize its contacts fully to satisfy the needs of different eye shapes or conditions. Once in a while, I do run into a pair that does not fit my eyes perfectly, with a slight bubble of air feeling in my eyes.

    However, for the price, convenience, and control, I will continue to use Hubble for my contacts! Also, it comes in cute packaging. Just a bonus!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Great daily contacts

    • Brooklyn, NY,
    • Oct 19, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am fully satisfied with Hubble's product, transparency, customer service, and ease of use. I moved from Acuvue moist daily contact lenses to Hubble Contacts and have not had any problems, just saved a lot of money and hassle with ordering.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Great deal

    • Washington DC,
    • Oct 19, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Delivered on time, are of high-quality, and makes wearing dailies as easy as possible. These contacts feel great on the eye and wear great for a long day at the office or during the weekend when you're out and about.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 371

Write a Review for Hubble Contacts!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review