About Hubble Contacts

By HighYa Research Team
Published on: May 16, 2017

By avoiding steep industry markups that can cause you to pay way more than you should, Hubble Contacts promises to deliver high-quality daily contact lenses right to your door, at half the prices of the other guys.

In fact, the company allows all patients with a valid prescription to receive 12 pairs of lenses for free upon signing up for a subscription. Then, you'll pay about $1 per day after that.

To sign up for a Hubble account, you’ll only need to enter your left and right eye power, your doctor’s state and name (you can also search by address and business name), and your name and email address, and then check out. If you need an eye exam, they’ll also help you schedule a doctor’s visit in your area.

For many of us, contact lenses are an essential part of everyday life. In other words, our quality of life could be severely impacted if we didn’t have them. They’re also expensive and not always convenient to pick up, which is where Hubble Contacts claims to help.

Are they necessarily your best, or least expensive, option? Are there any considerations to keep in mind before signing up for a subscription? Find some answers here by reading about what we learned during our research.

Looking For More About Hubble’s Contacts Lenses?

The Hubble website tells us their lenses are manufactured using state-of-the-art injection molding by Taipei-based St. Shine Optical Co., from a “high-grade methafilcon-A hydrogel material with 55% water content, UV protection, and a thin edge.”

We’re told they have been approved by the FDA for sale in the US for more than 14 years and are “designed for easy insertion, all-day comfort, and crystal clear vision.” Through an independent University of Houston College of Optometry double-masked study, they were even verified to be as comfortable and sharp and popular U.S. brands.

Powers range from -0.50 to -12.00, and +0.5 to +6.00, with a base curve of 8.6 and a diameter of 14.2.

As noted earlier, all Hubble Contacts orders require a valid prescription from a doctor, including:

  • Your name
  • Prescription expiration date
  • Prescriber's name
  • Power, base curve, manufacturer, diameter, and contact lens material

Important note: Hubble’s contact lenses are only designed for individuals with no or mild astigmatism (less than -1.00 cylinder). If you have a more significant diagnosis, the company’s site indicates they’re planning to offer toric lenses (those specially designed for astigmatism) soon.

Finally, while they currently only sell daily lenses, Hubble tells us that they’re also investigating bi-weekly and monthly lenses, although they’ll need to meet the same safety and comfort standards as their dailies.

For more detailed specifications, we’d strongly recommend reading through Hubble’s Wearers Guide.

Exactly what price will you pay?

How Much Does Hubble Contacts Cost & Are They Covered by Insurance?

Even with Hubble’ initial free offer, keep in mind that you’ll still pay $3 S&H, which will take about 5-10 business days to arrive in a 100% recyclable box. The service is currently only available to residents of the United States, certain U.S. territories, and U.S. Military locations.

14 days after your initial two-week free trial, you’ll pay $30 per month, plus $3 S&H, for 30 pairs of lenses. You can change how frequently you receive shipments and Hubble will always reach out to you before contacting your doctor to re-verify your prescription.

The contats provider doesn’t deal directly with insurance providers, although you can use your emailed receipt to apply for reimbursement through your carrier. You can pay using your FSA or HAS account, as long as it’s associated with a major credit card.

All orders come with a 30-refund policy, but this only applies to those where the outer shipping box remains unopened. If your prescription changes, you can ship your old strength back and they’ll re-send the correct pair.

If you have questions, Hubble’s support department can be reached at 844-334-1640 or help@hubblecontacts.com

What Can We Learn From Hubble Contacts Customer Reviews?

StarterNoise found Hubble’s sign up process super simple and the shipping much faster than it would have taken to get an appointment with their doctor, place the order, and drive to pick them up. Not to mention the much lower price.

Their first impression was that the lenses were incredibly comfortable. Although they found them a little difficult to take out, resulting in some red, irritated eyes for a couple of minutes afterward.

Similarly, Bre Payton at The Federalist writes that her Hubble Contacts were very soft and flexible, didn’t cause dry eye, and were very competitively priced. “The guys over at Hubble should really be paying me to be their spokesperson, because I have yet to shut up about them,” she concluded.

A handful of readers also left their firsthand feedback on a Reddit thread. As might be expected, some noted they were comfortable and didn’t feel the lenses at all, while another noted they weren’t as comfortable as their current Acuvue lenses.

One doctor chimed in noting that, in their experience, lenses that use the same methafilcon A material (55% water) and feature a DK value of 18 as Hubble’s lenses “are not very popular.”

From a company perspective, Hubble Contacts was co-founded in May 2016 by Ben Cogan and Jesse Horwitz.

Ben earned his degree in Philosophy from Princeton and previously worked as a Senior Customer Insights Associate for Harry’s Grooming and an Associate at The Boston Consulting Group. Jesse graduated from Harvard Law School and held positions as Founder of Gadfly Capital and Investment Analyst at Columbia Investment Management Company.

Vision Path Inc. (aka Hubble Contacts) wasn’t rated with the Better Business Bureau as of 5/16/17, although they did have four closed complaints. Only one of these provided details, which referenced difficulty obtaining proof of purchase.

Hubble vs. LensDirect, 1800Contacts, & Lens.com

Type the phrase “discount 1-day contact lenses" into any search engine, and you'll be met with hundreds of relevant results, including national brands like Acuvue from big hitters like 1800contacts, Lens.com, and LensDirect, to name just a few.

Many of these companies claim to offer 70% (or more) off name brand contact lenses, but how do their prices compare to Hubble? Here’s a quick sampling of some of the prices we encountered at the time of our research:

Company Lens Model Price/Quantity Details
Hubble Contacts 1-Day Contact Lenses $30, 60 lenses Methafilcon-A, 55% water content
LensDirect 1 Day Acuvue Moist 30 Pack $30.58, 30 lenses 42% etafilcon A, 58% water content
Lens.com 1 Day Acuvue TruEye $54.94, 90 lenses 54% narafilcon A, 46% water content
1800Contacts 1-Day Acuvue Define $94, 90 lenses Etafilcon A, 58% water content

According to Everyday Health, 90 percent of contact lens wearers use soft options, the same as Hubble. And while daily disposable lenses might offer the lowest maintenance, they also tend to cost more, but they might be ideal for those with allergies.

Pro tip: All About Vision emphasizes that, while daily disposables might cost more than their longer-term brethren, this could be offset by the money saved on care products.

The American Optometric Association also notes that daily disposable contact lenses can work great for those with active lifestyles and often involve a very short adaptation period, but they’re not available for all vision problems and may not offer the same level of crispness as longer-wear models.

The best way to decide? Talk with your doctor who can recommend options based on your specific diagnosis, needs, and preferences.

Our Final Thoughts About Hubble Contacts

As we can see from the table above, the cost of Hubble’s lenses comes in right at $1 per day, which is about half the cost of a similar daily from Acuvue through LensDirect and 1800Contacts.

Coming in a little closer, Lens.com’s 1 Day Acuvue TruEye was priced at about $1.22 per day, while the Acuvue Oasys 1-Day with Hydraluxe was slightly higher at $1.45 per day.

Bottom line? It seems that Hubble has found itself a niche in the marketplace by manufacturing their own high-quality contact lenses and shipping them directly, thereby providing prices that are anywhere from 20 to 50 percent less expensive.

In addition, the company appears to have mostly positive—although somewhat limited—online feedback from customers.

Perhaps the only downside is that, like any other contact lens retailer, you can’t return your Hubble Contacts if they don’t match your preferences. However, all new subscriptions come with a free two-week trial (less $3 S&H), which should be more than enough time to figure out if they work for you before receiving your next shipment.

Did Hubble’s contacts help you see better at a lower price, or did they not meet your needs? Whatever happened, tell us all about it by writing a review below.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 1314 Hubble Contacts Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 4.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 906 4 star: 167 3 star: 30 2 star: 40 1 star:  171
Bottom Line: 82% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 1314
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Contacts decent, not good customer experience

    • Seattle, WA,
    • Aug 8, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Calling to cancel is a terrible experience. Combined with an account error that charged and sent me boxes I didn't want, I definitely would not recommend this company. The contacts themselves were fine but not worth the hassle.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 15, 2019

      Company Response from Hubble Contacts

      Hi Jonathan,

      Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. I am so sorry to hear about your experience, and I'd like you to know that I was able to look into your tickets with our team. I do have some additional information for you, which I've sent here on Highya, in a private message. If you have any questions, feel free to respond there!

      Thank you!


  • I love Hubble Contacts

    • Oklahoma,
    • Aug 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Easy to wear and even easier to order. They come to my house in a very timely manner. I am so glad I found Hubble on Facebook. This has changed my life and how I see everything.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 15, 2019

      Company Response from Hubble Contacts

      Hi Kim,

      Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. I'm so happy to hear that you're loving the Hubble Contacts experience! We love to have you on board :)

      Thank you!


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Horrible customer service

    • Sevierville, TN,
    • Aug 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I asked several times to cancel my subscription and they continued to charge me but I haven't gotten any contacts since February, but they have charged me three times in the last two months.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Fresh lenses daily and very convenient

    • Bellevue, WA,
    • Aug 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Extremely convenient service. Lenses are shipped monthly like clockwork. My eyes enjoy fresh lenses every day without the expense of a disinfecting rinse solution. I used to wear 30-day lenses but they would become mucked up after 2 weeks. Losing one while riding also became expensive. Both issues resolved by Hubble. I love Hubble!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 15, 2019

      Company Response from Hubble Contacts

      Hi Michael,

      Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. It's so great to hear that you're loving the lenses, and that your deliveries are working out so well! We love to hear feedback like this!

      Thanks!


  • A dream come true

    • Townsend, TN,
    • Aug 2, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I live and work in Great Smoky Mountains National Park, and getting out to an optometrist's office is nearly impossible with my commute. Hubble has made my life SO MUCH EASIER! The contacts are so comfortable, and they never dry out in my eyes! (That was a huge issue for me with other lens brands.) Not to mention, the blister packs and boxes are all recyclable! I can do good for my eyes and for Mother Earth at the same time!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 15, 2019

      Company Response from Hubble Contacts

      Hi Rebekah,

      Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. It's wonderful to hear that the subscription delivery system is working out so well for you, as picking up lenses from your optometrist can be a hassle! We're so glad to have you on board :)

      Thank you!


  • Best fit with great service

    • Oklahoma,
    • Aug 2, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Shortly after trying Hubble, my prescription changed. I supplied my new prescription and received my new contacts immediately. The customer service I received was exceptional; it was very fast and polite. Along with the excellent customer service received, the lenses are a fantastic fit; the comfort and wearability are amazing. I have tried many of the top contact brands available, but never have my eyes get so good; it is almost like I am not even wearing any lenses. I have never had a more comfortable contact fit. I tell all of my friends and people I meet about Hubble.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 15, 2019

      Company Response from Hubble Contacts

      Hi there!

      We appreciate you taking the time to leave this review. It's so great that you're loving the lenses and the Hubble experience as a whole! We're so happy to have you onboard :)

      Thank you!


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    So disappointed

    • Toronto, Canada,
    • Aug 1, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The contacts were painful and hurt my eyes. I went to my optometrist who suggested I immediately stop using them. I went to cancel my subscription and it took months to get it done. They sent me more boxes and even though I followed their return protocol I am yet 5 months later to receive my refund. You get what you pay for look elsewhere. Give your eyes and wallets a break from this terrible brand.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 15, 2019

      Company Response from Hubble Contacts

      Hi Kristina,

      Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. I am so sorry to hear about your frustrating experience. I've had a chance to look into your account, and would like to chat more about the orders you returned. I've reached out privately, here on HighYa, and look forward to hearing back from you!


  • Hassle-free

    • Cleveland, OH,
    • Aug 1, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Hubble is super easy and hassle-free. Switching to daily contacts was something I always wanted to try but thought it would be too expensive. Hubble was the perfect solution to my problem.

    The daily contacts are affordable and the subscription keeps them coming without me even having to worry if I’m ever going to run out. I would definitely recommend Hubble to anyone who asks!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 15, 2019

      Company Response from Hubble Contacts

      Hi Coleen,

      Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. I'm so happy to hear that you're loving the Hubble Contacts service, and that the subscription is working out perfectly for you! It's great to have you on board :)

      Thank you!


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Be wary of Hubble!

    • San Francisco, CA,
    • Jul 29, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've been subscribed to Hubble Contacts for over a year. At first, the service was great and convenient, being able to have my contacts delivered to me. However, I kept receiving boxes (this happened for at least 3-4 orders) where the contacts were damaged (either the lens was missing or dried out).

    I contacted their customer service and they said that they could not refund me for the damaged contacts, since I had opened them. However, I wouldn't have known the contacts were damaged if I didn't open them, which is frustrating. They said only that they could send me a new box, which would have been a waste as these contacts started to dry my eyes out consistently.

    When I visited my optometrist for a check-up, I told her I was wearing Hubble lenses and she advised me to stop. She told me that they actually use old lens technology from the 80s and that their lenses aren't as effective or breathable and had me switch to Dailies Total One.

    I have noticed a huge difference in comfort in wear. She told me Hubble contacts have a DK of 18 (DK values measures oxygen permeability). That is incredibly low, as compared to my current contacts brand of Dailies Total One which has a DK of 140. Here is an article with more info: https://newgradoptometry.com/hubble-contact-lenses/.

    I feel that Hubble Contacts has been dishonest with their service. They are convenient, but they are also hiding the fact that they are reusing old lens technology which I think is misleading as it can seriously cause people to damage their eyesight.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Horrible!

    • Massachusetts,
    • Jul 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Worse customer service I am have experienced. Supposedly verified my prescription yet sent me the wrong one. People on the phone were completely rude. People via email gave robotic automatic responses.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Not worth it

    • Manassas, VA,
    • Jun 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered the free contacts and before they even arrived for me to test, they sent and charged me for another full box of contacts. When I requested a refund as I had not yet received the test box, they said they cannot refund. They then said they would cancel my subscription (all through email because they don’t have to communicate over the telephone). Here I am 3 months later and I am still getting charged. I emailed them again asking for a refund because they promised me a cancellation, and they said hey can’t and that they looked through my previous emails in which I never asked for a cancellation. I provided them proof of my email in which I had asked for a cancellation and they affirmed the cancellation. They never responded to the email. The low quality of these contacts is not worth the money and hassle in any way.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 1314

Write a Review for Hubble Contacts!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review