About Hubble Contacts

Published on: May 16, 2017

By avoiding steep industry markups that can cause you to pay way more than you should, Hubble Contacts promises to deliver high-quality daily contact lenses right to your door, at half the prices of the other guys.

In fact, the company allows all patients with a valid prescription to receive 12 pairs of lenses for free upon signing up for a subscription. Then, you'll pay about $1 per day after that.

To sign up for a Hubble account, you’ll only need to enter your left and right eye power, your doctor’s state and name (you can also search by address and business name), and your name and email address, and then check out. If you need an eye exam, they’ll also help you schedule a doctor’s visit in your area.

For many of us, contact lenses are an essential part of everyday life. In other words, our quality of life could be severely impacted if we didn’t have them. They’re also expensive and not always convenient to pick up, which is where Hubble Contacts claims to help.

Are they necessarily your best, or least expensive, option? Are there any considerations to keep in mind before signing up for a subscription? Find some answers here by reading about what we learned during our research.

Looking For More About Hubble’s Contacts Lenses?

The Hubble website tells us their lenses are manufactured using state-of-the-art injection molding by Taipei-based St. Shine Optical Co., from a “high-grade methafilcon-A hydrogel material with 55% water content, UV protection, and a thin edge.”

We’re told they have been approved by the FDA for sale in the US for more than 14 years and are “designed for easy insertion, all-day comfort, and crystal clear vision.” Through an independent University of Houston College of Optometry double-masked study, they were even verified to be as comfortable and sharp and popular U.S. brands.

Powers range from -0.50 to -12.00, and +0.5 to +6.00, with a base curve of 8.6 and a diameter of 14.2.

As noted earlier, all Hubble Contacts orders require a valid prescription from a doctor, including:

  • Your name
  • Prescription expiration date
  • Prescriber's name
  • Power, base curve, manufacturer, diameter, and contact lens material

Important note: Hubble’s contact lenses are only designed for individuals with no or mild astigmatism (less than -1.00 cylinder). If you have a more significant diagnosis, the company’s site indicates they’re planning to offer toric lenses (those specially designed for astigmatism) soon.

Finally, while they currently only sell daily lenses, Hubble tells us that they’re also investigating bi-weekly and monthly lenses, although they’ll need to meet the same safety and comfort standards as their dailies.

For more detailed specifications, we’d strongly recommend reading through Hubble’s Wearers Guide.

Exactly what price will you pay?

How Much Does Hubble Contacts Cost & Are They Covered by Insurance?

Even with Hubble’ initial free offer, keep in mind that you’ll still pay $3 S&H, which will take about 5-10 business days to arrive in a 100% recyclable box. The service is currently only available to residents of the United States, certain U.S. territories, and U.S. Military locations.

14 days after your initial two-week free trial, you’ll pay $30 per month, plus $3 S&H, for 30 pairs of lenses. You can change how frequently you receive shipments and Hubble will always reach out to you before contacting your doctor to re-verify your prescription.

The contats provider doesn’t deal directly with insurance providers, although you can use your emailed receipt to apply for reimbursement through your carrier. You can pay using your FSA or HAS account, as long as it’s associated with a major credit card.

All orders come with a 30-refund policy, but this only applies to those where the outer shipping box remains unopened. If your prescription changes, you can ship your old strength back and they’ll re-send the correct pair.

If you have questions, Hubble’s support department can be reached at 844-334-1640 or help@hubblecontacts.com

What Can We Learn From Hubble Contacts Customer Reviews?

StarterNoise found Hubble’s sign up process super simple and the shipping much faster than it would have taken to get an appointment with their doctor, place the order, and drive to pick them up. Not to mention the much lower price.

Their first impression was that the lenses were incredibly comfortable. Although they found them a little difficult to take out, resulting in some red, irritated eyes for a couple of minutes afterward.

Similarly, Bre Payton at The Federalist writes that her Hubble Contacts were very soft and flexible, didn’t cause dry eye, and were very competitively priced. “The guys over at Hubble should really be paying me to be their spokesperson, because I have yet to shut up about them,” she concluded.

A handful of readers also left their firsthand feedback on a Reddit thread. As might be expected, some noted they were comfortable and didn’t feel the lenses at all, while another noted they weren’t as comfortable as their current Acuvue lenses.

One doctor chimed in noting that, in their experience, lenses that use the same methafilcon A material (55% water) and feature a DK value of 18 as Hubble’s lenses “are not very popular.”

From a company perspective, Hubble Contacts was co-founded in May 2016 by Ben Cogan and Jesse Horwitz.

Ben earned his degree in Philosophy from Princeton and previously worked as a Senior Customer Insights Associate for Harry’s Grooming and an Associate at The Boston Consulting Group. Jesse graduated from Harvard Law School and held positions as Founder of Gadfly Capital and Investment Analyst at Columbia Investment Management Company.

Vision Path Inc. (aka Hubble Contacts) wasn’t rated with the Better Business Bureau as of 5/16/17, although they did have four closed complaints. Only one of these provided details, which referenced difficulty obtaining proof of purchase.

Hubble vs. LensDirect, 1800Contacts, & Lens.com

Type the phrase “discount 1-day contact lenses" into any search engine, and you'll be met with hundreds of relevant results, including national brands like Acuvue from big hitters like 1800contacts, Lens.com, and LensDirect, to name just a few.

Many of these companies claim to offer 70% (or more) off name brand contact lenses, but how do their prices compare to Hubble? Here’s a quick sampling of some of the prices we encountered at the time of our research:

Company Lens Model Price/Quantity Details
Hubble Contacts 1-Day Contact Lenses $30, 60 lenses Methafilcon-A, 55% water content
LensDirect 1 Day Acuvue Moist 30 Pack $30.58, 30 lenses 42% etafilcon A, 58% water content
Lens.com 1 Day Acuvue TruEye $54.94, 90 lenses 54% narafilcon A, 46% water content
1800Contacts 1-Day Acuvue Define $94, 90 lenses Etafilcon A, 58% water content

According to Everyday Health, 90 percent of contact lens wearers use soft options, the same as Hubble. And while daily disposable lenses might offer the lowest maintenance, they also tend to cost more, but they might be ideal for those with allergies.

Pro tip: All About Vision emphasizes that, while daily disposables might cost more than their longer-term brethren, this could be offset by the money saved on care products.

The American Optometric Association also notes that daily disposable contact lenses can work great for those with active lifestyles and often involve a very short adaptation period, but they’re not available for all vision problems and may not offer the same level of crispness as longer-wear models.

The best way to decide? Talk with your doctor who can recommend options based on your specific diagnosis, needs, and preferences.

Our Final Thoughts About Hubble Contacts

As we can see from the table above, the cost of Hubble’s lenses comes in right at $1 per day, which is about half the cost of a similar daily from Acuvue through LensDirect and 1800Contacts.

Coming in a little closer, Lens.com’s 1 Day Acuvue TruEye was priced at about $1.22 per day, while the Acuvue Oasys 1-Day with Hydraluxe was slightly higher at $1.45 per day.

Bottom line? It seems that Hubble has found itself a niche in the marketplace by manufacturing their own high-quality contact lenses and shipping them directly, thereby providing prices that are anywhere from 20 to 50 percent less expensive.

In addition, the company appears to have mostly positive—although somewhat limited—online feedback from customers.

Perhaps the only downside is that, like any other contact lens retailer, you can’t return your Hubble Contacts if they don’t match your preferences. However, all new subscriptions come with a free two-week trial (less $3 S&H), which should be more than enough time to figure out if they work for you before receiving your next shipment.

Did Hubble’s contacts help you see better at a lower price, or did they not meet your needs? Whatever happened, tell us all about it by writing a review below.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

1251 Consumer Reviews for Hubble Contacts

Average Consumer Rating: 4.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 866 4 star: 165 3 star: 30 2 star: 37 1 star:  153
Bottom Line: 83% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 1251
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • 14 out 19 people found this review helpful

    Terrible service

    • Seattle, WA,
    • Jun 27, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Terrible customer service. I asked to cancel my subscription. They never did, and never refunded me when they made a mistake. Slow customer service.

    When I emailed their support line, they told me it was the wrong department and gave me a number to call in to cancel. What kind of company actually does that?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (4)
    View all 4 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 28, 2017

      Claire, Customer Service Representative

      Tom - we're so sorry to read about this experience. Were your issues ultimately resolved? If not, please let me know, so I can take care of this personally.

    • Jun 28, 2017

      Grace Harris

      I also canceled my subscription. I was told on numerous occasions that I was sent a refund, when in fact I have not been. I would stand clear of this non-customer satisfying company!

    • Jun 29, 2017

      Claire, Customer Service Representative

      Hi Grace, I'm sorry you had a bad experience with Hubble. We did refund your payment. I've just emailed the confirmation of the refund from our payment gateway to you. It can take several days for the refund to be processed. Please let me know if I can help in any other way.

    • Jan 8, 2019

      Ashley L.

      The same thing happened to me. My accounts apparently "never existed" on the site but they charged me TWICE. Ridiculous trash company.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Can't see clearly

    • Santaquin, UT,
    • Jul 3, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I can't see clearly with these lenses. When I'm trying to read I have to blink several times and squint to try and focus to get things clear. Then, if I blink again, things are out of focus again. I've worn dailies for years and love them, but I can't see well with these.

    It is disappointing because I love the ease of having to order and then it being delivered!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 9, 2017

      Ivan Lopez

      I had the same problem! I use them for distance but they always seem out of focus to me. I had to take them out after just an hour. I've been using Dailies contacts forever and never had this problem.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Subpar materials

    Buyer beware.

    These contacts are made of an old subpar material. They have a low Transmissibility rating, which means your eyes get less oxygen than what quality lenses give. These are complete junk.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 20 out 23 people found this review helpful

    Terrible experience

    • Wilmington, DE,
    • Jul 10, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Before I went through Hubble, I read all the reviews, read the facts, and read every article on it I could. I set up an appt with my eye doctor as my prescription had expired and I was almost out of contacts. I had mentioned Hubble to them, and they all said they hadn't heard of it (not surprising as it is a new company).

    Right after my appt, I ordered Hubble contacts. Two days later, I got an email from Hubble stating my doctor canceled my order. I called my doctor, and they sounded confused as they had sent in my prescription to Hubble when requested. I looked for a phone number to contact Hubble directly, and there is only an email. We emailed back and forth over a span of three days. They emailed me back stating I should have been fitted with Hubble brand contacts while at my appt. They also said that it is mentioned in the FAQs:

    Yes, we can give you the name of a doctor in your area with whom you can make an appointment for a fitting and to obtain your prescription should you not currently have a valid Hubble contact lens prescription.

    This is mentioned if click on "Need an Exam?" which picks out doctors for you. If you do NOT need a doctor, as I didn't, then you would never find this, as it is not mentioned in "Prescriptions" or "Contact Lenses." Case in point:

    Do I need a contact lens prescription to place an order?

    Yes, all orders require a valid prescription from a doctor, including your name; the date of prescription expiration; the prescriber's name; and, for the lenses themselves, power, base curve, manufacturer, diameter, and material.

    Also:

    Can teenagers wear Hubble lenses?

    Yes, all patients with a valid prescription can wear Hubble daily lenses.

    It wouldn't have been a big deal, but I am out of contact lenses as I thought I was going through this company and I am heading out on vacation. I wasted a week, and they expect me to make another appt, pay money for a fitting with Hubble lenses, AND have my doctor order lenses for fitting from Hubble? Or I can pay to go through a doctor they recommend to pay for another exam?! All of this is ridiculous and going back and forth through email is crazy.

    No thanks.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 17 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Ouch!

    • Boston, MA,
    • Jul 10, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was so excited for these; great marketing and packaging. Super convenient. But man, is the quality awful! I tried multiple times, multiple pairs. They all hurt so bad. They are thick, and you can FEEL them in your eyes. They made mine itchy and watery and SO dry. I usually wear a monthly brand so I thought that these dailies would be a step up, but wow, so much worse.

    Let's hope canceling isn't as bad of an experience. I have to wait until 9 am on a workday to make the attempt since I can only cancel by phone. Ugh. Of course, this was too good to be true!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 18 out 19 people found this review helpful

    Be Cautious

    • Georgia,
    • Jul 23, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am so tired of not getting the same rep when I send emails. Each rep gives me a different excuse as to where my package is and when I will receive my refund. I had one rep even tell me my package was received back and that my refund was being processed. Then 3 days later, my package disappeared again. What is going on?

    Are they just that unwilling to give me back my 33 dollars? This is a horrible first impression of a company. This is a horrible encounter that I have been having for three weeks now.

    It took 3 days to receive the damn contacts. Why is it taking longer than three weeks to receive it back? I'm honestly about to report this company to my bank as fraudulent. It's very suspicious what they're doing and I am not okay with getting ripped off.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Horrible customer service

    • San Antonio, TX,
    • Jul 26, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Hubble is the only place I know of that doesn't provide an invoice with their shipment. You have to contact them EACH month to get your receipt. In this day and age when many are using their flexible health spending account, this takes away the convenience of automatic shipments. I canceled last month and received another shipment. I had to call again to unsubscribe. Customer service hours are limited and obviously being transferred to local homes as I could barely hear the representative with the screaming toddler in the background.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 16 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Poor quality, poor customer service

    • Mount Olive, NJ,
    • Jul 28, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I tried Hubble after a free trial became available and was happy with the prompt delivery service. However, once I started wearing the lenses, I found that they became dry after 8-10 hours of wear. If I waited even longer, it was like chiseling the contact away from my cornea. Nevertheless, I wasn't all that upset since it was a free trial after all.

    A few weeks later, I automatically received a second shipment and charged $33. Unsatisfied with the initial trial, I opened the shipping box to find a return label, to which there was none, which then prompted me to contact customer service.

    Being a self-sufficient adult, I've done a lot of online shopping before, even for glasses. I expected an online company to have a return policy that's reasonably flexible. This is where I was wrong.

    A customer service agent notified me that I could not return the contacts because the box had been opened. When I argued that anytime I've ever received an online order the return slip was located inside the shipping box, she refused me. She said company policy is that they do not return opened boxes. I said that the contact boxes weren't open, just the shipping box. She still said no and refused my refund/return request.

    I asked to speak with a supervisor if for no other reason to tell them their return policy is terrible and worse, unclear. The customer service agent said I would receive a call within the next business day. I never received a call.

    I received an email asking the usual "how did we do?" to which I replied my dissatisfaction in having never received a callback. Still no callback. And I still have my contacts in their unopened box.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Sent wrong Rx

    I received my free two-week trial of contacts. Too bad I can't wear them because they are the incorrect Rx! I provided them with my eye doctor's phone number as they require so that they can verify my Rx. Well, this is not the Rx I typed in, nor is it a Rx that I've EVER had. So there's no way my doctor's office would've verified this Rx. Both boxes were the same exact Rx (for both left and right!) and incorrect.

    I called customer service number, and it was a recording telling me to not leave a message and to email them because they do not take customer calls anymore! Seriously? So much for the customer service they brag about on their website. I'm canceling. Should've known I'd have trouble with this company because I see on the box they are made in Taiwan.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Absolute headache!

    I loved the idea of Hubble Contacts and looked forward to using their service and product. Unfortunately, their contacts weren't as comfortable based on a slight size discrepancy, so I called and canceled my subscription. This process was made slightly difficult because you can only call to cancel during normal business hours, which can be complicated if you are typically busy during these hours like I am. I did ask that if they ended up carrying my preferred size lens, I would be interested in reactivating.

    The real issues started a couple of weeks later when I was charged $33 for a fresh shipment but then quickly received an email stating this was done by mistake and that I would be refunded the full amount and if any contacts arrived I was free to keep them (none did). I'd hoped that was the end of this bad experience but one month after they've now charged me again and are claiming that I never canceled. So far they are refusing to honor my earlier cancellation and keep inviting me to call during their limited hours to cancel again.

    This has been so disappointing as I was super hopeful and wanted things to work with this company but now I can no longer even trust them for the future.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Should have known it sounded too good to be true

    I ordered my first pair of Hubble contact lenses in July, and I received a notice saying that my lenses had been shipped on July 14th.

    I am writing this review on August 2nd, and my lenses have yet to arrive. In the meantime, I have multiple assurances that my lenses are indeed "on their way." To their credit, Hubble did refund my initial charge, but that didn't make me feel any better when my last pair of contacts ran out yesterday. I had to drive to work and work all day with blurry vision.

    I had a similar experience with Blue Apron. It doesn't matter how good or cheap a company's products are if they can't, literally, deliver. Even though the cost is astronomically higher, 1-800-Contacts has always been incredible about delivering my contacts on time, and they even rushed my order at no charge a few times when I forgot to place an order on time.

    I will continue to shop around for a good deal, but it's clear to me that Hubble's deal was all splash and zero substance.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 1251

Write a Review for Hubble Contacts!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review