About Hubble Contacts

By HighYa Research Team
Published on: May 16, 2017

By avoiding steep industry markups that can cause you to pay way more than you should, Hubble Contacts promises to deliver high-quality daily contact lenses right to your door, at half the prices of the other guys.

In fact, the company allows all patients with a valid prescription to receive 12 pairs of lenses for free upon signing up for a subscription. Then, you'll pay about $1 per day after that.

To sign up for a Hubble account, you’ll only need to enter your left and right eye power, your doctor’s state and name (you can also search by address and business name), and your name and email address, and then check out. If you need an eye exam, they’ll also help you schedule a doctor’s visit in your area.

For many of us, contact lenses are an essential part of everyday life. In other words, our quality of life could be severely impacted if we didn’t have them. They’re also expensive and not always convenient to pick up, which is where Hubble Contacts claims to help.

Are they necessarily your best, or least expensive, option? Are there any considerations to keep in mind before signing up for a subscription? Find some answers here by reading about what we learned during our research.

Looking For More About Hubble’s Contacts Lenses?

The Hubble website tells us their lenses are manufactured using state-of-the-art injection molding by Taipei-based St. Shine Optical Co., from a “high-grade methafilcon-A hydrogel material with 55% water content, UV protection, and a thin edge.”

We’re told they have been approved by the FDA for sale in the US for more than 14 years and are “designed for easy insertion, all-day comfort, and crystal clear vision.” Through an independent University of Houston College of Optometry double-masked study, they were even verified to be as comfortable and sharp and popular U.S. brands.

Powers range from -0.50 to -12.00, and +0.5 to +6.00, with a base curve of 8.6 and a diameter of 14.2.

As noted earlier, all Hubble Contacts orders require a valid prescription from a doctor, including:

  • Your name
  • Prescription expiration date
  • Prescriber's name
  • Power, base curve, manufacturer, diameter, and contact lens material

Important note: Hubble’s contact lenses are only designed for individuals with no or mild astigmatism (less than -1.00 cylinder). If you have a more significant diagnosis, the company’s site indicates they’re planning to offer toric lenses (those specially designed for astigmatism) soon.

Finally, while they currently only sell daily lenses, Hubble tells us that they’re also investigating bi-weekly and monthly lenses, although they’ll need to meet the same safety and comfort standards as their dailies.

For more detailed specifications, we’d strongly recommend reading through Hubble’s Wearers Guide.

Exactly what price will you pay?

How Much Does Hubble Contacts Cost & Are They Covered by Insurance?

Even with Hubble’ initial free offer, keep in mind that you’ll still pay $3 S&H, which will take about 5-10 business days to arrive in a 100% recyclable box. The service is currently only available to residents of the United States, certain U.S. territories, and U.S. Military locations.

14 days after your initial two-week free trial, you’ll pay $30 per month, plus $3 S&H, for 30 pairs of lenses. You can change how frequently you receive shipments and Hubble will always reach out to you before contacting your doctor to re-verify your prescription.

The contats provider doesn’t deal directly with insurance providers, although you can use your emailed receipt to apply for reimbursement through your carrier. You can pay using your FSA or HAS account, as long as it’s associated with a major credit card.

All orders come with a 30-refund policy, but this only applies to those where the outer shipping box remains unopened. If your prescription changes, you can ship your old strength back and they’ll re-send the correct pair.

If you have questions, Hubble’s support department can be reached at 844-334-1640 or help@hubblecontacts.com

What Can We Learn From Hubble Contacts Customer Reviews?

StarterNoise found Hubble’s sign up process super simple and the shipping much faster than it would have taken to get an appointment with their doctor, place the order, and drive to pick them up. Not to mention the much lower price.

Their first impression was that the lenses were incredibly comfortable. Although they found them a little difficult to take out, resulting in some red, irritated eyes for a couple of minutes afterward.

Similarly, Bre Payton at The Federalist writes that her Hubble Contacts were very soft and flexible, didn’t cause dry eye, and were very competitively priced. “The guys over at Hubble should really be paying me to be their spokesperson, because I have yet to shut up about them,” she concluded.

A handful of readers also left their firsthand feedback on a Reddit thread. As might be expected, some noted they were comfortable and didn’t feel the lenses at all, while another noted they weren’t as comfortable as their current Acuvue lenses.

One doctor chimed in noting that, in their experience, lenses that use the same methafilcon A material (55% water) and feature a DK value of 18 as Hubble’s lenses “are not very popular.”

From a company perspective, Hubble Contacts was co-founded in May 2016 by Ben Cogan and Jesse Horwitz.

Ben earned his degree in Philosophy from Princeton and previously worked as a Senior Customer Insights Associate for Harry’s Grooming and an Associate at The Boston Consulting Group. Jesse graduated from Harvard Law School and held positions as Founder of Gadfly Capital and Investment Analyst at Columbia Investment Management Company.

Vision Path Inc. (aka Hubble Contacts) wasn’t rated with the Better Business Bureau as of 5/16/17, although they did have four closed complaints. Only one of these provided details, which referenced difficulty obtaining proof of purchase.

Hubble vs. LensDirect, 1800Contacts, & Lens.com

Type the phrase “discount 1-day contact lenses" into any search engine, and you'll be met with hundreds of relevant results, including national brands like Acuvue from big hitters like 1800contacts, Lens.com, and LensDirect, to name just a few.

Many of these companies claim to offer 70% (or more) off name brand contact lenses, but how do their prices compare to Hubble? Here’s a quick sampling of some of the prices we encountered at the time of our research:

Company Lens Model Price/Quantity Details
Hubble Contacts 1-Day Contact Lenses $30, 60 lenses Methafilcon-A, 55% water content
LensDirect 1 Day Acuvue Moist 30 Pack $30.58, 30 lenses 42% etafilcon A, 58% water content
Lens.com 1 Day Acuvue TruEye $54.94, 90 lenses 54% narafilcon A, 46% water content
1800Contacts 1-Day Acuvue Define $94, 90 lenses Etafilcon A, 58% water content

According to Everyday Health, 90 percent of contact lens wearers use soft options, the same as Hubble. And while daily disposable lenses might offer the lowest maintenance, they also tend to cost more, but they might be ideal for those with allergies.

Pro tip: All About Vision emphasizes that, while daily disposables might cost more than their longer-term brethren, this could be offset by the money saved on care products.

The American Optometric Association also notes that daily disposable contact lenses can work great for those with active lifestyles and often involve a very short adaptation period, but they’re not available for all vision problems and may not offer the same level of crispness as longer-wear models.

The best way to decide? Talk with your doctor who can recommend options based on your specific diagnosis, needs, and preferences.

Our Final Thoughts About Hubble Contacts

As we can see from the table above, the cost of Hubble’s lenses comes in right at $1 per day, which is about half the cost of a similar daily from Acuvue through LensDirect and 1800Contacts.

Coming in a little closer, Lens.com’s 1 Day Acuvue TruEye was priced at about $1.22 per day, while the Acuvue Oasys 1-Day with Hydraluxe was slightly higher at $1.45 per day.

Bottom line? It seems that Hubble has found itself a niche in the marketplace by manufacturing their own high-quality contact lenses and shipping them directly, thereby providing prices that are anywhere from 20 to 50 percent less expensive.

In addition, the company appears to have mostly positive—although somewhat limited—online feedback from customers.

Perhaps the only downside is that, like any other contact lens retailer, you can’t return your Hubble Contacts if they don’t match your preferences. However, all new subscriptions come with a free two-week trial (less $3 S&H), which should be more than enough time to figure out if they work for you before receiving your next shipment.

Did Hubble’s contacts help you see better at a lower price, or did they not meet your needs? Whatever happened, tell us all about it by writing a review below.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 1304 Hubble Contacts Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 4.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 901 4 star: 167 3 star: 30 2 star: 38 1 star:  168
Bottom Line: 83% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 1304
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • Not worth it

    • Manassas, VA,
    • Jun 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered the free contacts and before they even arrived for me to test, they sent and charged me for another full box of contacts. When I requested a refund as I had not yet received the test box, they said they cannot refund. They then said they would cancel my subscription (all through email because they don’t have to communicate over the telephone). Here I am 3 months later and I am still getting charged. I emailed them again asking for a refund because they promised me a cancellation, and they said hey can’t and that they looked through my previous emails in which I never asked for a cancellation. I provided them proof of my email in which I had asked for a cancellation and they affirmed the cancellation. They never responded to the email. The low quality of these contacts is not worth the money and hassle in any way.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Stole my money

    • Scotland,
    • Jun 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I moved houses last week and haven't updated Hubble yet. They took £27 from my card so I called to inform and ask for the order to be canceled. I was told despite the order just being created they cannot cancel or change it. I was told to post the item back for a refund. I had to point out to the uninterested agent that this wouldn't be possible as I don't live near the property. She told me to hope the new tenants return it, then I'll get a refund. They refuse to help or return my money despite the fact that I only have £3 for food and bills for the next three weeks. I've never met a company that doesn't care so much!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Easy, convenient, affordable, great contacts!

    • Ottumwa, IA,
    • Jun 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    After wearing these fresh daily contacts for over a year, I am very pleased with the comfort and fit. At my eye exam, my Doctor gave me the seal of approval and liked the way they fit.

    The boxes are cute with simple instructions, plus the contacts are so easy to remove from the case/receptacle. What's nice is that Hubble gives you a free box so you can try them out to make sure they are right for you. Hubble also gives you different delivery options and if you need to skip a delivery they give that option as well. Customer Service is very knowledgeable and friendly. I would highly recommend these contacts!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Terrible company

    • Mansfield, TX,
    • May 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I tried on my first contact lenses when they arrived but they were the wrong size. When I called Hubble to cancel 60 days ago, they tried to encourage me to try the thicker lenses and I told them it was too uncomfortable. Despite this, I received contacts for two months and billed for both months for contacts I could not use.

    Calling today, their call center told me there was no record of my calling 60 days ago and therefore they could not refund my money. This is simply not the case.

    To send a contact lens that was different from the one that requested, then trying to convince me to accept it was unprofessional. To take two months of payments for the same incorrect lenses is theft.

    Stay away from this company!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 0 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Skeptic at heart

    • Panama City, FL,
    • May 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am a very skeptical person by nature and it was no different when I heard about Hubble Contacts. I mean, ordering contacts online? Who does that? THIS GUY! That's who. I was worried that the quality of the contacts would be sub-par but they are quite the opposite. In fact, with my very busy schedule, I have frequently left them in for days on end and they remain just as comfortable as the first day and the clarity remains as well. I couldn't be more pleased with this product. KUDOS to Hubble!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Very happy!

    • Boston, MA,
    • May 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have always wanted to make the switch to dailies, but thought it was too cost-prohibitive. Hubble Contacts are even more affordable than my previous monthlies, and I couldn’t be happier!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • I really love these contacts

    • Wisconsin,
    • May 8, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I think these are pretty great contacts. I've always had issues with contacts in the past, like random faulty ones or them drying out to fast. But these I don't have any issue with. And any time I need to contact the company, I usually hear back the same day. They are easy to contact and very helpful.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Skeptical at first but loved it

    • Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada,
    • May 1, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I decided to try Hubble because, let’s be real, $1 is not that much to pay for a try. I’ve always had very sensitive eyes and wasn’t able to wear many brands of contacts because of that. Because of that, I was very sceptical at first and actually didn’t even open my box for a while. After I put them on, I was SO surprised! They didn’t irritate my eyes at all and it didn’t even really feel like I was wearing contacts.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Horrible service...

    • Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada,
    • Apr 29, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    It's too bad because these contacts are comfortable, but they really need to pick up the slack when it comes to SHIPPING and CUSTOMER SERVICE. Do not expect to get your contact lenses every month. There will always be an excuse, a delay, and poor customer service from someone in Asia. They charged me 3 weeks ago and I'm still waiting for my contacts...

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Great and convenient

    • Kentucky,
    • Apr 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Hubble Contacts were recommended to me by a friend and co-worker. So I gave them a chance and have not been disappointed. You just put in your prescription and your eye doctor's info and they do the rest. Every month I get my lenses, no hassle of remembering to order them or stop at the doctor's office to pick them up. They withdraw the money from your account and ship them directly to your mailbox! These contacts are thin, breathable and comfortable to wear every day. No need for using solution throughout the day like I did with my ones from my doctor's office. I highly recommend Hubble Contacts.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • Minnesota,
    • Apr 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    WARNING! There is fine print saying that even if you change your delivery schedule, it will not be valid until you get charged full price 15 days after your original order.

    I made my first order and immediately changed my delivery schedule to 56 days because I don't wear contacts that often. Turns out, these contacts do not work for me. Absolutely unwearable. I go to cancel (you have to call) and find they charged me for another order already! I contact customer service and I'm told there is nothing they can do because of their fine print. Scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 1304

Write a Review for Hubble Contacts!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review