About Hubble Contacts

Published on: May 16, 2017

By avoiding steep industry markups that can cause you to pay way more than you should, Hubble Contacts promises to deliver high-quality daily contact lenses right to your door, at half the prices of the other guys.

In fact, the company allows all patients with a valid prescription to receive 12 pairs of lenses for free upon signing up for a subscription. Then, you'll pay about $1 per day after that.

To sign up for a Hubble account, you’ll only need to enter your left and right eye power, your doctor’s state and name (you can also search by address and business name), and your name and email address, and then check out. If you need an eye exam, they’ll also help you schedule a doctor’s visit in your area.

For many of us, contact lenses are an essential part of everyday life. In other words, our quality of life could be severely impacted if we didn’t have them. They’re also expensive and not always convenient to pick up, which is where Hubble Contacts claims to help.

Are they necessarily your best, or least expensive, option? Are there any considerations to keep in mind before signing up for a subscription? Find some answers here by reading about what we learned during our research.

Looking For More About Hubble’s Contacts Lenses?

The Hubble website tells us their lenses are manufactured using state-of-the-art injection molding by Taipei-based St. Shine Optical Co., from a “high-grade methafilcon-A hydrogel material with 55% water content, UV protection, and a thin edge.”

We’re told they have been approved by the FDA for sale in the US for more than 14 years and are “designed for easy insertion, all-day comfort, and crystal clear vision.” Through an independent University of Houston College of Optometry double-masked study, they were even verified to be as comfortable and sharp and popular U.S. brands.

Powers range from -0.50 to -12.00, and +0.5 to +6.00, with a base curve of 8.6 and a diameter of 14.2.

As noted earlier, all Hubble Contacts orders require a valid prescription from a doctor, including:

  • Your name
  • Prescription expiration date
  • Prescriber's name
  • Power, base curve, manufacturer, diameter, and contact lens material

Important note: Hubble’s contact lenses are only designed for individuals with no or mild astigmatism (less than -1.00 cylinder). If you have a more significant diagnosis, the company’s site indicates they’re planning to offer toric lenses (those specially designed for astigmatism) soon.

Finally, while they currently only sell daily lenses, Hubble tells us that they’re also investigating bi-weekly and monthly lenses, although they’ll need to meet the same safety and comfort standards as their dailies.

For more detailed specifications, we’d strongly recommend reading through Hubble’s Wearers Guide.

Exactly what price will you pay?

How Much Does Hubble Contacts Cost & Are They Covered by Insurance?

Even with Hubble’ initial free offer, keep in mind that you’ll still pay $3 S&H, which will take about 5-10 business days to arrive in a 100% recyclable box. The service is currently only available to residents of the United States, certain U.S. territories, and U.S. Military locations.

14 days after your initial two-week free trial, you’ll pay $30 per month, plus $3 S&H, for 30 pairs of lenses. You can change how frequently you receive shipments and Hubble will always reach out to you before contacting your doctor to re-verify your prescription.

The contats provider doesn’t deal directly with insurance providers, although you can use your emailed receipt to apply for reimbursement through your carrier. You can pay using your FSA or HAS account, as long as it’s associated with a major credit card.

All orders come with a 30-refund policy, but this only applies to those where the outer shipping box remains unopened. If your prescription changes, you can ship your old strength back and they’ll re-send the correct pair.

If you have questions, Hubble’s support department can be reached at 844-334-1640 or help@hubblecontacts.com

What Can We Learn From Hubble Contacts Customer Reviews?

StarterNoise found Hubble’s sign up process super simple and the shipping much faster than it would have taken to get an appointment with their doctor, place the order, and drive to pick them up. Not to mention the much lower price.

Their first impression was that the lenses were incredibly comfortable. Although they found them a little difficult to take out, resulting in some red, irritated eyes for a couple of minutes afterward.

Similarly, Bre Payton at The Federalist writes that her Hubble Contacts were very soft and flexible, didn’t cause dry eye, and were very competitively priced. “The guys over at Hubble should really be paying me to be their spokesperson, because I have yet to shut up about them,” she concluded.

A handful of readers also left their firsthand feedback on a Reddit thread. As might be expected, some noted they were comfortable and didn’t feel the lenses at all, while another noted they weren’t as comfortable as their current Acuvue lenses.

One doctor chimed in noting that, in their experience, lenses that use the same methafilcon A material (55% water) and feature a DK value of 18 as Hubble’s lenses “are not very popular.”

From a company perspective, Hubble Contacts was co-founded in May 2016 by Ben Cogan and Jesse Horwitz.

Ben earned his degree in Philosophy from Princeton and previously worked as a Senior Customer Insights Associate for Harry’s Grooming and an Associate at The Boston Consulting Group. Jesse graduated from Harvard Law School and held positions as Founder of Gadfly Capital and Investment Analyst at Columbia Investment Management Company.

Vision Path Inc. (aka Hubble Contacts) wasn’t rated with the Better Business Bureau as of 5/16/17, although they did have four closed complaints. Only one of these provided details, which referenced difficulty obtaining proof of purchase.

Hubble vs. LensDirect, 1800Contacts, & Lens.com

Type the phrase “discount 1-day contact lenses" into any search engine, and you'll be met with hundreds of relevant results, including national brands like Acuvue from big hitters like 1800contacts, Lens.com, and LensDirect, to name just a few.

Many of these companies claim to offer 70% (or more) off name brand contact lenses, but how do their prices compare to Hubble? Here’s a quick sampling of some of the prices we encountered at the time of our research:

Company Lens Model Price/Quantity Details
Hubble Contacts 1-Day Contact Lenses $30, 60 lenses Methafilcon-A, 55% water content
LensDirect 1 Day Acuvue Moist 30 Pack $30.58, 30 lenses 42% etafilcon A, 58% water content
Lens.com 1 Day Acuvue TruEye $54.94, 90 lenses 54% narafilcon A, 46% water content
1800Contacts 1-Day Acuvue Define $94, 90 lenses Etafilcon A, 58% water content

According to Everyday Health, 90 percent of contact lens wearers use soft options, the same as Hubble. And while daily disposable lenses might offer the lowest maintenance, they also tend to cost more, but they might be ideal for those with allergies.

Pro tip: All About Vision emphasizes that, while daily disposables might cost more than their longer-term brethren, this could be offset by the money saved on care products.

The American Optometric Association also notes that daily disposable contact lenses can work great for those with active lifestyles and often involve a very short adaptation period, but they’re not available for all vision problems and may not offer the same level of crispness as longer-wear models.

The best way to decide? Talk with your doctor who can recommend options based on your specific diagnosis, needs, and preferences.

Our Final Thoughts About Hubble Contacts

As we can see from the table above, the cost of Hubble’s lenses comes in right at $1 per day, which is about half the cost of a similar daily from Acuvue through LensDirect and 1800Contacts.

Coming in a little closer, Lens.com’s 1 Day Acuvue TruEye was priced at about $1.22 per day, while the Acuvue Oasys 1-Day with Hydraluxe was slightly higher at $1.45 per day.

Bottom line? It seems that Hubble has found itself a niche in the marketplace by manufacturing their own high-quality contact lenses and shipping them directly, thereby providing prices that are anywhere from 20 to 50 percent less expensive.

In addition, the company appears to have mostly positive—although somewhat limited—online feedback from customers.

Perhaps the only downside is that, like any other contact lens retailer, you can’t return your Hubble Contacts if they don’t match your preferences. However, all new subscriptions come with a free two-week trial (less $3 S&H), which should be more than enough time to figure out if they work for you before receiving your next shipment.

Did Hubble’s contacts help you see better at a lower price, or did they not meet your needs? Whatever happened, tell us all about it by writing a review below.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

1141 Consumer Reviews for Hubble Contacts

Average Consumer Rating: 4.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 787 4 star: 151 3 star: 25 2 star: 37 1 star:  141
Bottom Line: 83% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 1141
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • Waste of time and money

    • North Bay, Ontario, Canada,
    • Oct 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I placed my order for the 15 pairs of contacts they had on special for $4 shipping only. That went well, and the product got to me quickly. Then after I had canceled, they continued billing me. I canceled again on September 6, 2018, and they apologized and promised me a refund. It is now October 14th, and I had to email the company several more times. I finally got my refund, but they excluded shipping fees and little odds and ends, and it worked out that I received a $30 refund. Considering the company charged me after I canceled, and I got slapped with a massive bank fee for insufficient funds, this company is not worth dealing with. The whole ordeal ate up two months of my life and almost $95, but hey, I got $30 back.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Avoid.

    • Toronto, Ontario, Canada,
    • Oct 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Contacts are meh. They are cheap, but I found cheaper ones that I like better (clearer, more comfortable).

    One star because their subscription has very limited flexibility and is frustratingly difficult to cancel. If I sign up on a webpage, it should be dead simple to cancel via the same site. You can't do it online. You can't do it via email. You have to call during the week, 9-5. Why!? People have jobs and work...I can only assume this is their lame/tired attempt at having you forget to cancel even if you don't want to be a customer.

    Too bad. I wanted to like them, but this feels like a cheap attempt to make as much money as possible...in the wrong way.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Horrible cancellation system

    • New Hampshire,
    • Oct 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I wanted to try the contacts, but after 20 minutes of wearing these contacts, my eyes itched and watered. I emailed stating I wanted to cancel the subscription and they REFUSE to accept an email. Unfortunately, I work Monday through Friday 8:30am - 5pm and they are only open Monday through Friday 9am - 5pm for PHONE ONLY cancellations.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 18, 2018

      Peter C.

      Yup. I just wait until you'd call and hear "this number can't be reached from your calling area." Are you kidding me? That's what happened to me.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Avoid by all cost

    • London, England,
    • Oct 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The company doesn't respond to emails. They will ignore the request to cancel subscription, charge and then take months to process a refund. Literally months! Contact lenses are very low quality and rather uncomfortable. In the UK, you will be better off buying daysoft contact lenses, which I have used for years and never had any problems with. Once again, please spare yourself all the trouble and never give them your credit card details. They are most definitely not a genuine company, and they don't do what's right for the customer.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Convenient and always reliable

    • Oct 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Before I subscribed to Hubble, it was making an appointment at the eye doctor, missing work to go to that appointment and paying to see the eye doctor just to get the permission to get expensive contacts every month! Talk about expensive! Missing work, the cost of the appointment, and paying $80 for each eye's lenses was way too much to be able to see! So I found Hubble and BAM. Saving money was in my future! No more missing work, no more paying $160 a month and no more of my time. I get my contacts mailed to me every month, and I don't have to do anything! It comes right out of my bank account and my lenses come right to my house. It's definitely the way to go if you work full time and on a budget.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Great contacts

    • Maryland,
    • Oct 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I couldn't be happier with my contacts from Hubble. Before I used monthly contact lenses but my eyes would get too dry. I've been using Hubble for over a year now and the dryness from my eyes has improved significantly. Thank you for making a great product.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Amazing service

    • Houston,
    • Sep 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have to admit I was a little hesitant to order from Hubble at first, but I'm so glad I did. They make sure to send me my contacts on time and always before I run out of my current box each month. They are comfortable and affordable, and I will definitely continue ordering from them.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Review

    • Coppell, TX,
    • Sep 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Hubble Contacts are probably the cheapest brand of contacts out there when you compare them to every other brand per 30-day supply. I have to admit they aren't quite as comfortable as my other "name brand" lenses. I probably can't wear them for as long as my others either, they tend to dry out a little quicker. They are good for putting in for a few hours to run errands.

    I think the biggest problem is that they aren't fitted to your eye. When you go to see an optometrist, they have you wear the lenses for a week and come back for a fitting. This ensures that the lens isn't falling or moving out of place if it is too big/ misfitted. If Hubble could find a way to allow the optometrist to do a fitting and make adjustments accordingly that would make a big difference. So would finding a way to prevent them from drying so quickly.

    I do like the idea of getting a box of lenses at a lower cost every month, instead of stockpiling a big case of lenses, or worse, running out because I have been too busy to order more.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Does what it says on the box!

    • Sep 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My experience with Hubble has been nothing but positive and easy. The website is user-friendly, and it's easy to make changes to your order if you need to. As for the contacts themselves, they hold up to long hours in a commercial kitchen over lots of hot equipment. I also find they run a little smaller than other comparable lenses, which is great for me because my eyes are a little small also. I don't even need a mirror to put them in anymore!

    They always come on time with no issues, and the packaging is cute. Thanks, Hubble!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Great product for the price

    • Pennsylvania,
    • Sep 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of these contacts. I have bad dry eyes and need to wear dailies, but they can be very expensive. These work great with my dry eye. I love that they are monthly and ship each month on their own!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Never run out of contacts again!

    • New York,
    • Sep 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been using Hubble for over six months now, and it has been such a great experience. I was able to schedule my delivery frequency based on how often I wear contacts, instead of having to get the delivery every thirty days. Also, since it's automatic, I have never been short on contacts since I started using the service. The contacts themselves are comfortable as well.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 1141

Write a Review for Hubble Contacts!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review