About Hubble Contacts

Published on: May 16, 2017

By avoiding steep industry markups that can cause you to pay way more than you should, Hubble Contacts promises to deliver high-quality daily contact lenses right to your door, at half the prices of the other guys.

In fact, the company allows all patients with a valid prescription to receive 12 pairs of lenses for free upon signing up for a subscription. Then, you'll pay about $1 per day after that.

To sign up for a Hubble account, you’ll only need to enter your left and right eye power, your doctor’s state and name (you can also search by address and business name), and your name and email address, and then check out. If you need an eye exam, they’ll also help you schedule a doctor’s visit in your area.

For many of us, contact lenses are an essential part of everyday life. In other words, our quality of life could be severely impacted if we didn’t have them. They’re also expensive and not always convenient to pick up, which is where Hubble Contacts claims to help.

Are they necessarily your best, or least expensive, option? Are there any considerations to keep in mind before signing up for a subscription? Find some answers here by reading about what we learned during our research.

Looking For More About Hubble’s Contacts Lenses?

The Hubble website tells us their lenses are manufactured using state-of-the-art injection molding by Taipei-based St. Shine Optical Co., from a “high-grade methafilcon-A hydrogel material with 55% water content, UV protection, and a thin edge.”

We’re told they have been approved by the FDA for sale in the US for more than 14 years and are “designed for easy insertion, all-day comfort, and crystal clear vision.” Through an independent University of Houston College of Optometry double-masked study, they were even verified to be as comfortable and sharp and popular U.S. brands.

Powers range from -0.50 to -12.00, and +0.5 to +6.00, with a base curve of 8.6 and a diameter of 14.2.

As noted earlier, all Hubble Contacts orders require a valid prescription from a doctor, including:

  • Your name
  • Prescription expiration date
  • Prescriber's name
  • Power, base curve, manufacturer, diameter, and contact lens material

Important note: Hubble’s contact lenses are only designed for individuals with no or mild astigmatism (less than -1.00 cylinder). If you have a more significant diagnosis, the company’s site indicates they’re planning to offer toric lenses (those specially designed for astigmatism) soon.

Finally, while they currently only sell daily lenses, Hubble tells us that they’re also investigating bi-weekly and monthly lenses, although they’ll need to meet the same safety and comfort standards as their dailies.

For more detailed specifications, we’d strongly recommend reading through Hubble’s Wearers Guide.

Exactly what price will you pay?

How Much Does Hubble Contacts Cost & Are They Covered by Insurance?

Even with Hubble’ initial free offer, keep in mind that you’ll still pay $3 S&H, which will take about 5-10 business days to arrive in a 100% recyclable box. The service is currently only available to residents of the United States, certain U.S. territories, and U.S. Military locations.

14 days after your initial two-week free trial, you’ll pay $30 per month, plus $3 S&H, for 30 pairs of lenses. You can change how frequently you receive shipments and Hubble will always reach out to you before contacting your doctor to re-verify your prescription.

The contats provider doesn’t deal directly with insurance providers, although you can use your emailed receipt to apply for reimbursement through your carrier. You can pay using your FSA or HAS account, as long as it’s associated with a major credit card.

All orders come with a 30-refund policy, but this only applies to those where the outer shipping box remains unopened. If your prescription changes, you can ship your old strength back and they’ll re-send the correct pair.

If you have questions, Hubble’s support department can be reached at 844-334-1640 or help@hubblecontacts.com

What Can We Learn From Hubble Contacts Customer Reviews?

StarterNoise found Hubble’s sign up process super simple and the shipping much faster than it would have taken to get an appointment with their doctor, place the order, and drive to pick them up. Not to mention the much lower price.

Their first impression was that the lenses were incredibly comfortable. Although they found them a little difficult to take out, resulting in some red, irritated eyes for a couple of minutes afterward.

Similarly, Bre Payton at The Federalist writes that her Hubble Contacts were very soft and flexible, didn’t cause dry eye, and were very competitively priced. “The guys over at Hubble should really be paying me to be their spokesperson, because I have yet to shut up about them,” she concluded.

A handful of readers also left their firsthand feedback on a Reddit thread. As might be expected, some noted they were comfortable and didn’t feel the lenses at all, while another noted they weren’t as comfortable as their current Acuvue lenses.

One doctor chimed in noting that, in their experience, lenses that use the same methafilcon A material (55% water) and feature a DK value of 18 as Hubble’s lenses “are not very popular.”

From a company perspective, Hubble Contacts was co-founded in May 2016 by Ben Cogan and Jesse Horwitz.

Ben earned his degree in Philosophy from Princeton and previously worked as a Senior Customer Insights Associate for Harry’s Grooming and an Associate at The Boston Consulting Group. Jesse graduated from Harvard Law School and held positions as Founder of Gadfly Capital and Investment Analyst at Columbia Investment Management Company.

Vision Path Inc. (aka Hubble Contacts) wasn’t rated with the Better Business Bureau as of 5/16/17, although they did have four closed complaints. Only one of these provided details, which referenced difficulty obtaining proof of purchase.

Hubble vs. LensDirect, 1800Contacts, & Lens.com

Type the phrase “discount 1-day contact lenses" into any search engine, and you'll be met with hundreds of relevant results, including national brands like Acuvue from big hitters like 1800contacts, Lens.com, and LensDirect, to name just a few.

Many of these companies claim to offer 70% (or more) off name brand contact lenses, but how do their prices compare to Hubble? Here’s a quick sampling of some of the prices we encountered at the time of our research:

Company Lens Model Price/Quantity Details
Hubble Contacts 1-Day Contact Lenses $30, 60 lenses Methafilcon-A, 55% water content
LensDirect 1 Day Acuvue Moist 30 Pack $30.58, 30 lenses 42% etafilcon A, 58% water content
Lens.com 1 Day Acuvue TruEye $54.94, 90 lenses 54% narafilcon A, 46% water content
1800Contacts 1-Day Acuvue Define $94, 90 lenses Etafilcon A, 58% water content

According to Everyday Health, 90 percent of contact lens wearers use soft options, the same as Hubble. And while daily disposable lenses might offer the lowest maintenance, they also tend to cost more, but they might be ideal for those with allergies.

Pro tip: All About Vision emphasizes that, while daily disposables might cost more than their longer-term brethren, this could be offset by the money saved on care products.

The American Optometric Association also notes that daily disposable contact lenses can work great for those with active lifestyles and often involve a very short adaptation period, but they’re not available for all vision problems and may not offer the same level of crispness as longer-wear models.

The best way to decide? Talk with your doctor who can recommend options based on your specific diagnosis, needs, and preferences.

Our Final Thoughts About Hubble Contacts

As we can see from the table above, the cost of Hubble’s lenses comes in right at $1 per day, which is about half the cost of a similar daily from Acuvue through LensDirect and 1800Contacts.

Coming in a little closer, Lens.com’s 1 Day Acuvue TruEye was priced at about $1.22 per day, while the Acuvue Oasys 1-Day with Hydraluxe was slightly higher at $1.45 per day.

Bottom line? It seems that Hubble has found itself a niche in the marketplace by manufacturing their own high-quality contact lenses and shipping them directly, thereby providing prices that are anywhere from 20 to 50 percent less expensive.

In addition, the company appears to have mostly positive—although somewhat limited—online feedback from customers.

Perhaps the only downside is that, like any other contact lens retailer, you can’t return your Hubble Contacts if they don’t match your preferences. However, all new subscriptions come with a free two-week trial (less $3 S&H), which should be more than enough time to figure out if they work for you before receiving your next shipment.

Did Hubble’s contacts help you see better at a lower price, or did they not meet your needs? Whatever happened, tell us all about it by writing a review below.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

1087 Consumer Reviews for Hubble Contacts

Average Consumer Rating: 4.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 757 4 star: 144 3 star: 22 2 star: 35 1 star:  129
Bottom Line: 83% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 1087
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • Comfortable and perfect for sensitive eyes!

    • Boston, MA,
    • Aug 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have had issues with contacts in the past - I have very sensitive eyes and would have bad reactions to any contacts that aren't daily-use. Hubble Contacts are WAY more comfortable than the "leading brand" daily contact lens I had been using before. If I wear one of each brand in either eye, I can tell which is the Hubble contact based on how comfortable it feels (like nothing is there!)

    I would highly recommend these to anyone, especially if you have sensitive eyes.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Easiest way to get contacts

    • Mountainair, NM,
    • Aug 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I love Hubble's service! They make it so easy. I don't have to think about it, I just always have contacts when I need them and I never run out! I have never had any problem at all with this service, and that's what I need in my life!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • So convenient

    • Crane, TX,
    • Aug 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Hubble makes getting contacts convenient and stress-free. It takes away the hassle of typical online ordering and in-store purchases. I highly recommend to individuals leading an active and on the go life.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Super comfortable!

    • Hamden, CT,
    • Aug 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    As a regular contact user, I am glad to say that I have found reliable and affordable contacts! Hubble always delivers on time and gives me that relief of having disposable contacts for everyday use. Definitely worth every penny!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Life made easy

    • New Castle, PA,
    • Aug 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Hubble has made my everyday life easier. I don’t have to worry about running out of contacts, or getting low and rewearing my contacts! I would definitely recommend Hubble Contacts.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Contact lenses

    • Ohio,
    • Aug 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I really like my Hubble contact lenses. They always arrive on time and are comfortable to wear. I'm glad I get them sent to my house every month. I've never had any issues and would recommend Hubble to anyone looking for contacts.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    This is a scam, you get what you pay for

    • Knoxville, TN,
    • Aug 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    While Hubble's website says that they work for those that have mild astigmatism, this is in fact false advertisement, and extremely misleading. My astigmatism is so mild that my optometrist has prescribed me the same prescription for both eyes. However, with Hubble contact, there is an obvious difference in spite of their false claims that people with mild astigmatism don't see a difference.

    They also claim that their contacts are of high quality. However, mine was the most uncomfortable pair of lenses I have worn in over 20 years of wearing contact lenses. There were numerous times that I had to throw out a lens that was irritating my eye because of the odd fit. Although their lenses are daily wear, further research shows that the material they use isn't the best for the eyes and reduces the level of oxygen to the eyes. So for people who actually care about the wellness of their eyes, it's not the best option. It's cheap because it's a sub-par product.

    When I called to cancel my subscription, I was told that I already had a box on the way and that all I had to do was write, "return to sender" on the box to receive a full refund. This is also a false statement. More than three months passed, I had to contact the company in order to inquire about where my refund was. They promptly refunded me, but deducted the $3 shipping fee, which seemed reasonable, as well as a $5 fee to take the unused boxes of contacts out of the shipped box I paid for in order to put it back on a shelf. They call this $5 fee a "restocking charge" which was not mentioned to me by the rep that canceled my subscription.

    I consider it highly superstitious that they claim to have contacts that people with mild astigmatism can use, but then fine people for not being able to wear the contact they claimed were suitable for people with astigmatism. A customer shouldn't be fined because the product wasn't good. They are falsely advertising in order to maximize profits from the market and will get a profit out of you, even if you can't use their contacts. It's a scam.

    I don't recommend this company at all. I was extremely disappointed in them. They are not appropriate for people with even mild astigmatism. I found it difficult and annoying to drive, work, and do normal everyday tasks because of how poor quality these contacts are. It's better to see if your optometrist has a contract with a vendor that sells high-quality contacts and also offer low monthly charges for contacts that are shipped to you monthly.

    My doctor didn't recommend these contacts at all, which says a lot about the quality of the product. The only good thing that came out of this company was that my doctor was able to work with me in getting a monthly program to get my Acuvue contacts for cheaper than what Hubble sells their including the shipping costs. So if anything, this company has provided some good competition and enabled other legitimate companies to provide monthly services. I would not recommend these contacts to anyone. You only get two eyes, don't waste your money on cheap medical devices that actual doctors would never sell you because they are under the Hippocratic oath to first to do no harm.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Quality delivered!

    • Aug 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have used glasses or contacts since childhood, and this product/service seemed too good to be true for price and quality. However, I was proved entirely wrong. Even with astigmatism and usually dry eyes, the contacts from Hubble were comfortable, inexpensive, and arrived on time (or early) every month. Great price point, great comfort, and I’m never out of stock.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Fast shipping, good quality contact lens

    • Ontario, Canada,
    • Aug 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    They have fast shipping with fancy packaging. I am using the one-day contact lens and I feel comfortable wearing them to school and work. Hubble makes it's easy to update my power every time it changes. The customer service staff are really nice and helpful.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Good stuff

    • Hampton, VA,
    • Aug 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'm very pleased with Hubble Contacts. It's very convenient and makes my life a lot easier. What I like most is that the contacts come to you and that you can also customize how often you receive your contacts, which is also great.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Amazing!

    • Illinois,
    • Aug 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I absolutely love Hubble! I occasionally wear contacts and I hated having to buy an entire years supply from my eye doctor. I love that Hubble offers weekly supply and much more affordable. I also like that if I want to skip a weeks shipment, I can! I can change how often they ship, I just love that they let me control it all. The contacts are super comfy and I have never had any issues with them.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 1087

Write a Review for Hubble Contacts!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review