About Hubble Contacts

Published on: May 16, 2017

By avoiding steep industry markups that can cause you to pay way more than you should, Hubble Contacts promises to deliver high-quality daily contact lenses right to your door, at half the prices of the other guys.

In fact, the company allows all patients with a valid prescription to receive 12 pairs of lenses for free upon signing up for a subscription. Then, you'll pay about $1 per day after that.

To sign up for a Hubble account, you’ll only need to enter your left and right eye power, your doctor’s state and name (you can also search by address and business name), and your name and email address, and then check out. If you need an eye exam, they’ll also help you schedule a doctor’s visit in your area.

For many of us, contact lenses are an essential part of everyday life. In other words, our quality of life could be severely impacted if we didn’t have them. They’re also expensive and not always convenient to pick up, which is where Hubble Contacts claims to help.

Are they necessarily your best, or least expensive, option? Are there any considerations to keep in mind before signing up for a subscription? Find some answers here by reading about what we learned during our research.

Looking For More About Hubble’s Contacts Lenses?

The Hubble website tells us their lenses are manufactured using state-of-the-art injection molding by Taipei-based St. Shine Optical Co., from a “high-grade methafilcon-A hydrogel material with 55% water content, UV protection, and a thin edge.”

We’re told they have been approved by the FDA for sale in the US for more than 14 years and are “designed for easy insertion, all-day comfort, and crystal clear vision.” Through an independent University of Houston College of Optometry double-masked study, they were even verified to be as comfortable and sharp and popular U.S. brands.

Powers range from -0.50 to -12.00, and +0.5 to +6.00, with a base curve of 8.6 and a diameter of 14.2.

As noted earlier, all Hubble Contacts orders require a valid prescription from a doctor, including:

  • Your name
  • Prescription expiration date
  • Prescriber's name
  • Power, base curve, manufacturer, diameter, and contact lens material

Important note: Hubble’s contact lenses are only designed for individuals with no or mild astigmatism (less than -1.00 cylinder). If you have a more significant diagnosis, the company’s site indicates they’re planning to offer toric lenses (those specially designed for astigmatism) soon.

Finally, while they currently only sell daily lenses, Hubble tells us that they’re also investigating bi-weekly and monthly lenses, although they’ll need to meet the same safety and comfort standards as their dailies.

For more detailed specifications, we’d strongly recommend reading through Hubble’s Wearers Guide.

Exactly what price will you pay?

How Much Does Hubble Contacts Cost & Are They Covered by Insurance?

Even with Hubble’ initial free offer, keep in mind that you’ll still pay $3 S&H, which will take about 5-10 business days to arrive in a 100% recyclable box. The service is currently only available to residents of the United States, certain U.S. territories, and U.S. Military locations.

14 days after your initial two-week free trial, you’ll pay $30 per month, plus $3 S&H, for 30 pairs of lenses. You can change how frequently you receive shipments and Hubble will always reach out to you before contacting your doctor to re-verify your prescription.

The contats provider doesn’t deal directly with insurance providers, although you can use your emailed receipt to apply for reimbursement through your carrier. You can pay using your FSA or HAS account, as long as it’s associated with a major credit card.

All orders come with a 30-refund policy, but this only applies to those where the outer shipping box remains unopened. If your prescription changes, you can ship your old strength back and they’ll re-send the correct pair.

If you have questions, Hubble’s support department can be reached at 844-334-1640 or help@hubblecontacts.com

What Can We Learn From Hubble Contacts Customer Reviews?

StarterNoise found Hubble’s sign up process super simple and the shipping much faster than it would have taken to get an appointment with their doctor, place the order, and drive to pick them up. Not to mention the much lower price.

Their first impression was that the lenses were incredibly comfortable. Although they found them a little difficult to take out, resulting in some red, irritated eyes for a couple of minutes afterward.

Similarly, Bre Payton at The Federalist writes that her Hubble Contacts were very soft and flexible, didn’t cause dry eye, and were very competitively priced. “The guys over at Hubble should really be paying me to be their spokesperson, because I have yet to shut up about them,” she concluded.

A handful of readers also left their firsthand feedback on a Reddit thread. As might be expected, some noted they were comfortable and didn’t feel the lenses at all, while another noted they weren’t as comfortable as their current Acuvue lenses.

One doctor chimed in noting that, in their experience, lenses that use the same methafilcon A material (55% water) and feature a DK value of 18 as Hubble’s lenses “are not very popular.”

From a company perspective, Hubble Contacts was co-founded in May 2016 by Ben Cogan and Jesse Horwitz.

Ben earned his degree in Philosophy from Princeton and previously worked as a Senior Customer Insights Associate for Harry’s Grooming and an Associate at The Boston Consulting Group. Jesse graduated from Harvard Law School and held positions as Founder of Gadfly Capital and Investment Analyst at Columbia Investment Management Company.

Vision Path Inc. (aka Hubble Contacts) wasn’t rated with the Better Business Bureau as of 5/16/17, although they did have four closed complaints. Only one of these provided details, which referenced difficulty obtaining proof of purchase.

Hubble vs. LensDirect, 1800Contacts, & Lens.com

Type the phrase “discount 1-day contact lenses" into any search engine, and you'll be met with hundreds of relevant results, including national brands like Acuvue from big hitters like 1800contacts, Lens.com, and LensDirect, to name just a few.

Many of these companies claim to offer 70% (or more) off name brand contact lenses, but how do their prices compare to Hubble? Here’s a quick sampling of some of the prices we encountered at the time of our research:

Company Lens Model Price/Quantity Details
Hubble Contacts 1-Day Contact Lenses $30, 60 lenses Methafilcon-A, 55% water content
LensDirect 1 Day Acuvue Moist 30 Pack $30.58, 30 lenses 42% etafilcon A, 58% water content
Lens.com 1 Day Acuvue TruEye $54.94, 90 lenses 54% narafilcon A, 46% water content
1800Contacts 1-Day Acuvue Define $94, 90 lenses Etafilcon A, 58% water content

According to Everyday Health, 90 percent of contact lens wearers use soft options, the same as Hubble. And while daily disposable lenses might offer the lowest maintenance, they also tend to cost more, but they might be ideal for those with allergies.

Pro tip: All About Vision emphasizes that, while daily disposables might cost more than their longer-term brethren, this could be offset by the money saved on care products.

The American Optometric Association also notes that daily disposable contact lenses can work great for those with active lifestyles and often involve a very short adaptation period, but they’re not available for all vision problems and may not offer the same level of crispness as longer-wear models.

The best way to decide? Talk with your doctor who can recommend options based on your specific diagnosis, needs, and preferences.

Our Final Thoughts About Hubble Contacts

As we can see from the table above, the cost of Hubble’s lenses comes in right at $1 per day, which is about half the cost of a similar daily from Acuvue through LensDirect and 1800Contacts.

Coming in a little closer, Lens.com’s 1 Day Acuvue TruEye was priced at about $1.22 per day, while the Acuvue Oasys 1-Day with Hydraluxe was slightly higher at $1.45 per day.

Bottom line? It seems that Hubble has found itself a niche in the marketplace by manufacturing their own high-quality contact lenses and shipping them directly, thereby providing prices that are anywhere from 20 to 50 percent less expensive.

In addition, the company appears to have mostly positive—although somewhat limited—online feedback from customers.

Perhaps the only downside is that, like any other contact lens retailer, you can’t return your Hubble Contacts if they don’t match your preferences. However, all new subscriptions come with a free two-week trial (less $3 S&H), which should be more than enough time to figure out if they work for you before receiving your next shipment.

Did Hubble’s contacts help you see better at a lower price, or did they not meet your needs? Whatever happened, tell us all about it by writing a review below.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

1157 Consumer Reviews for Hubble Contacts

Average Consumer Rating: 4.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 799 4 star: 153 3 star: 25 2 star: 37 1 star:  143
Bottom Line: 83% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 1157
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Horrible contacts, even worse customer service!

    • USA,
    • Nov 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Don't waste your money. This company has awful customer service, appears to be a bunch of dummies that can't comprehend simple English, and they give you the runaround about the crappy quality of their product and make it difficult to cancel service. Get them anywhere but here. A terrible company to deal with and horrible customer service!

    I would give them zero stars if I could!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Convenience

    • Denver, CO,
    • Nov 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I love the convenience of Hubble! As a person who is on the road for work a ton, I love that I don't have to worry about picking up orders and I can come home to my contacts waiting in my mailbox. They did take a couple of weeks for my eyes to get used to - they're a little drier than the brand that I was using before. After a week or two, my eyes got used to them, and it's been great ever since!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    The worst contacts ever

    • Arizona,
    • Nov 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I decided to give these contact lenses a try. What a mistake. I was extremely upset with their customer service. They are hard to get ahold of. It is hard to cancel, and even after you cancel they ignore you and send more boxes. When you return, they charge you processing fee and shipping.

    I returned two boxes and did not see any refund and had to call them back to issue me a refund. They are very fast in getting you on board, but after that, it is a nightmare to get out.

    The contacts are horrible, and it was really bordering my eyes. After wearing for a while, I switch back to my Acuvue and what a difference.

    Don’t waste your time money on these, it is not worth it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Glad I made the switch

    • Martinsburg, WV,
    • Oct 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I don't have insurance for my eyes, so I would try and buy contacts whenever I could. It usually ended up being every tax time and buying a month supply and trying to make that last a year! I was skeptical about Hubble at first, but I decided to give it a chance. I am so glad I did. This has been the best thing I have ever done! They always have my prescription in stock and ship my contacts supper fast, in fact, I have two boxes of overstock!

    You only pay 40 bucks a month for fresh daily contacts. They fit perfect I don't feel them at all, except at the end of the day when my eyes start to dry out. I will say I have slept with them in before, a couple of times by accident, and I could wear the same pair again, I just use some contact solution to water my eyes back up and go about my day. I have recommended them to family members and anyone that doesn't have insurance either. So I highly recommend getting your free trial now.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Convenient!

    • Houston, TX,
    • Oct 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I love how easy and convenient using Hubble is! Once a month I check my mail and boom, a brand new box of contacts is sitting there waiting for me! I don't have to think about anything; Hubble does all the work for me!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Reasonable daily contact lenses

    • Glasgow, Scotland,
    • Oct 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've been using Hubble contact lenses for about 10 months now, and I really like it. It is a subscription service and they send you two boxes of contacts every month. Their contact lense quality is good and I feel very comfortable with it in my eyes every day. Plus they are daily contact lenses, so I don't need to buy any lenses solution and are much cleaner than monthly contact lenses in my opinion. Overall, I would say it is a very good contact lenses brand and very affordable.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Love!

    • Columbus, IN,
    • Oct 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had so many issues with multiple-use contacts. Switching to daily use has solved all my problems! I love that Hubble Contacts come in the mail automatically. One more thing I don’t need to worry about. They fit great and feel great in my eyes.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Life changing!

    • North Carolina,
    • Oct 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Using Hubble Contacts has been life-changing for me. I've been using them for about a year now, and I no longer have to think about purchasing new contacts, they just show up in the mail and it makes my life so much easier. I'm so glad I signed up!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Better than most!

    • York, United Kingdom,
    • Oct 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I’ve been with Hubble for nearly two years.

    Out of the two years, I’ve only ever had the one delivery issue where it was a few days late. The customer service was great, who explained and apologized.

    The price is cheaper than your average opticians too.

    So a very happy experience from myself.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Great contacts service

    • Arlington, VA,
    • Oct 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've been using Hubble for about a year now, and have no complaints. I originally tried out their free two-week supply deal because I went to my doctor and explained I work ten-hour shifts, which means I'm out of the house for at least 12 hours a day. My doctor told me contacts were only meant to be worn 6-8 hours at a time so there's not much he can do. I was frustrated and wanted to switch to daily's but they're so expensive.

    I found Hubble and have been using them ever since. I don't wear contacts every day so I get a 30-day pack every two months and it works out great for me. When I switched apartments, my Hubble order got lost in the mail and they sent me another box, no charge. I have had quick responses from them whenever I've emailed and will continue to use these contacts in the future. I find that they last throughout my 10-hour shifts and don't get dry like my other contacts.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Great service

    • Clarksville, TN,
    • Oct 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I love the convenience of Hubble. Every month like clockwork my contacts are sent to me. I like being able to afford daily contacts. The customer service is outstanding. They help any way they can and do it as fast as possible. I recommend them to anyone I know who wears contacts.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 1157

Write a Review for Hubble Contacts!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review