• 121 Customer Reviews
  • 75% Recommend This Company
3.9 out of 5
5 star: 63% 4 star: 11% 3 star: 0% 2 star: 2% 1 star: 21%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Finally received mine

    • By Magnus A.,
    • London, United Kingdom,
    • Nov 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I finally received my headphones after a long wait, and they are really cool. They fit well, the sound is really good, and so far the EEG sensors seem accurate. They are quite big and reasonably heavy, so not the most comfortable headphones to wear when running about town, but in bed they are great.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • May 20, 2019

      Company Response from Kokoon

      Thank you Magnus!


  • Finally got mine - it's actually great

    • By Dan T.,
    • London, United Kingdom,
    • Nov 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Thought I'd add my two cents as mine have (after a long wait) arrived.

    Pros:

    Initially, I was a little skeptical as they are quite big, but upon wearing them, I found them really very comfortable. I've had a quite few nights sleeping in them, and they've been great. I listened to some of the Kokoon content (which is pretty good) and used to listen to an audiobook I've been listening too.

    Cons:

    I don't quite think the ANC is as good as my Bose, but they certainly did a decent enough job for me of blocking out other noises

    Conclusion:

    Well worth the wait. I'm really happy I stuck it out in the end as these are much better than I was expecting. Really useful addition for any frequent listener to audio before bed or to relax.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • May 20, 2019

      Company Response from Kokoon

      Thanks Dan, great to hear you're enjoying Kokoon.


  • Now feels like a scam

    • By Wendy P.,
    • Ohio,
    • Sep 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I bought into these during their Kickstarter in the spring of 2015. I picked these because I wanted the newest thing that wasn't available anywhere else. More than three years have passed, and I still haven't received a pair. It's one thing to make model improvements and slow production a little bit, but what investor is willing to wait four years for the first model of a consumer tech good like headphones? The way technology changes, it seems ridiculous to wait for them to make a pair of 2015 headphones more comfortable and durable when other companies are making something new for 2019 already.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • May 20, 2019

      Company Response from Kokoon

      Hi Wendy, sorry for the delay in getting your product to you. Hopefully you've now received your order but please contact help@kokoon.io if not and we'll help. Best wishes.


  • After all this time...I’m happy

    • By Tony S.,
    • Bristol, United Kingdom,
    • Nov 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Probably my longest wait for a product ever, but now it’s here and all sins are forgiven for me. I brought the product as I travel a lot (often economy for me) and really wanted something that could help ease the pain of all those flights a bit.

    My first impression was positive. It comes in a nice green box with a little note from the team. You get an eye mask, audio cables, charger, and a decent case. The headphone itself is really impressive and feels quality. The first use you have a little animation, which was handy, then you get directed into a kind of onboarding audio coaching. My first home test went well and I managed to pair fine, then had a little explore around the audio tracks finding some good stuff within.

    What really prompted my review was when I used them to travel where they are superb! So much more comfortable with my Beats, and I slept for the first time on a flight in what feels like forever. I would highly recommend these for a frequent traveler; really comfortable and some good audio, which certainly put me out.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • May 20, 2019

      Company Response from Kokoon

      Thank you Tony, wishing you more happy travels with Kokoon!


  • Super tired of waiting

    • By Tammy R.,
    • Texas,
    • Aug 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I ordered in February 2018. I get updates that say shipping is always one month away, but that never happens. Their website says brand new buyers can get them within a month, but original buyers still haven’t gotten them. I haven’t gotten an update in two months. I’m starting to think this is a scam that I have invested $300 in. I love the idea of the product, but how patient are we supposed to be?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Starting to feel like a scam

    • By John F.,
    • Washington, DC,
    • Aug 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Even this write up says "Mass manufactured models now won’t be released until the end of 2016." Fast forward to August 2018 and still no word on when I will get them. I am about to cancel my order and reverse the charges off my credit card.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Poor customer service

    • By Matt G.,
    • London, United Kingdom,
    • Sep 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Poor customer service. I ordered this to be delivered around summer last year, but then the delivery date kept being pushed back. They didn't notify the paying customers about the delays directly; they buried the information in a monthly newsletter. When the delivery date was delayed for a fifth time, I complained and asked for a refund. While the complaint was not responded to, the refund was processed relatively quickly. I understand that they still have not fulfilled the orders for a single customer. Amazing that they relied on public support to start production, through Kickstarter, but are so disdainful of customers.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • May 20, 2019

      Company Response from Kokoon

      Hi Matt, thanks for your comments. Sorry for the delays to shipping, we do our best to keep all our customers up to date with progress. If you have any further issues please let us know at help@kokoon.io. Best wishes.


  • Yaaayyyy, it finally arrived

    • By Sarah N.,
    • Manchester, United Kingdom,
    • Nov 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Yaaaaaaaaaay. Mine finally arrived! I am loving it; it’s really comfortable.

    The app design could be a bit better, but the content and narrator’s voice are amazing. Does anyone know who the narrator is?

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • May 20, 2019

      Company Response from Kokoon

      Thank you Sarah! Great to hear you're enjoying the product. We'll have more content from our narrator soon!


  • Vaporware

    • By Daryl D.,
    • Penobscot, ME,
    • Aug 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I ordered these more than a year and a half ago. I get no updates and only a "we'll be happy to refund your money" responses. Some people have been waiting since 2015 for the promised product and they just keep delaying it. They advertise for more "buyers" but have not sent out a single piece as far as I can tell. I would not "invest" in these given the opportunity, and I hope other people are not fooled.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Still not shipped! Delayed by 5 months.

    • By Beau J.,
    • Western Australia,
    • Sep 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    After having read about this product, I was excited to treat myself to better sleep. Turns out that shipping in June meant nothing to the company with constant slippage to the schedule without any explanation or excuses. Firmly believing that this a scam now. Do not order!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Incredibly disappointing

    • By Rob G.,
    • San Francisco, CA,
    • Nov 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    1. Placed the kickstart order in July 2016 and over two years later, still no headphones.

    2. I emailed Kokoon in July 2018 and received a reply that shipping would occur September 2018. As of mid-November 2018 still no headphones or any communication from Kokoon.

    3. I sent another email November 7, 2018, requesting a refund in light of what has become a two-year interest-free $419 loan.

    4. Nearly a week later, still no reply.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • May 20, 2019

      Company Response from Kokoon

      Hi Rob, sorry to hear about the issues you've had with your order. If this has not be resolved please do let us know at help@kokoon.io.


  • Disappointing

    • By Dennis B.,
    • New South Wales, Australia,
    • Oct 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I paid in good faith with the promises of delivery. Every time I complain I get the same automated email with the same promises that they started shipping and yet nothing ever comes of it. They are quick to take peoples money and still advertise on their website for pre-orders with the promises of early delivery.

    I feel that I have been conned like many other people.

    They make promises of regular news updates, but I never get them.

    I was very excited by the thought of having a good night sleep, but if I ever get them it will still be disappointing and I would never recommend them to anyone else. So unprofessional.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Thank god I didn’t go for a refund

    • By Thierry C.,
    • Kingston, England,
    • Nov 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I was literally just about to cancel and ask for a refund when I got my email to tell me it was being delivered!

    I have been waiting for a loooong time, but it’s worth it. They are the most comfortable headphones I’ve ever had, and the sound is amazing.

    I love having them on the tube and just feel in my own little world (even on the Bakerloo line).

    I will update on sleep and the app soon!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • May 20, 2019

      Company Response from Kokoon

      Thank you Thierry, sorry to keep you waiting, but great to hear you like the product!


  • Still waiting...3 years later

    • By Braden R.,
    • Toronto, Ontario, Canada,
    • Dec 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    What a waste. To think of all the things I could have done with the money in the meantime, when you're effectively buying 2015 technology that arrives in 2019.

    If the company had been more honest about their knowledge of production and capabilities, it would not have been so shocking.

    This was the first and last time I ever use Kickstarter.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • May 20, 2019

      Company Response from Kokoon

      Hi Braden, sorry to hear you've had issues with your order and sorry for keeping you waiting. Could you please contact help@kokoon.io and we'll get this sorted for you. Best wishes.


  • Updated review

    UPDATE

    • By Rita D.,
    • Australia,
    • Mar 29, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Kokoon has relented and will now refund me on both sets and must have added more support staff because I'm getting replies from about 3-4 different people on the following day after I send them an email. It's a nightmare to try and work out what is going on though. Now I am waiting for a return voucher.

    Be aware that the following items need to be included in order to be refunded.

    - Headphones

    - Carry Case

    - Green Kokoon box

    - Eye Mask

    - Micro USB charging cable

    - Audio cable

    - Manual

    - Safety Instructions

    - Welcome Card

    Make sure you keep everything if you want a refund.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • May 20, 2019

      Company Response from Kokoon

      Hi Rita. Sorry to hear we let you down with your order. We have added a lot more support staff in recent weeks and resolved these issues. Please contact us at help@kokoon.io if you've had any further issues with your order and refund. Best wishes.

    • Previous review
    • Mar 23, 2019

    Less than stellar headphones

    I received my headphones early in February 2019 and I must say that I'm not happy. I was not part of the Kickstarter campaign but I purchased on preorder in December 2015.

    The Bluetooth connection skips and cuts out momentarily. It does this often enough to be annoying. This just should not be happening. Even cheap headphones perform better in this regard. I thought it might be a low battery issue, but it happens on full charge as well.

    The second problem I have is that if I tip my head back, look up or lie on my back while listening, the headphones fall off my head backwards. The company recommends that you lie on your back if you are wearing them in bed and again, none of my other headphones do this. The Kokoon Headphones are very heavy and a loose fit.

    The third issue I have is that I asked for two black headphones and I received one black and one grey. I can't prove what I asked for so they won't replace or take them back even though it was their mistake.

    Further, Kokoon is taking a week or so to reply to each email. This is just not good enough. We might as well be sending letters to each other via post, not email. The whole exchange of trying to claim a refund is taking months to resolve.

    Since my husband is overseas and was not at home to open and try his headphones, I opened the box later, once I found a problem with my pair and decided I needed to try them also. I have an issue with that pair also. The sound pops when transmission first starts and ends. In this case, they are saying that it's a known issue that will be fixed in the future. I'm just wondering how long that will take since I've had these headphones on preorder for over 3 years.

    Kokoon has refused a refund on this second fault because I notified them outside of the 14-day period, it was 20 days. It appears they are not honoring any warranty period on the headphones other than the 14 days. I was in an email exchange with them where they are taking a week to reply and they did not give me an opportunity to try the second pair of headphones.

    Interestingly, when I described my problems, they asked me if I was using the headphones with other Bluetooth devices. I was not, but if this is an issue, my husband uses an Apple Watch. I didn't receive a reply when I asked if this is going to be an issue.

    In addition, if you do fall asleep with them on, they override the alarm and you don't hear it to wake up. Also, if you have any phone calls coming through, voice won't come through the headphones. Luckily, the noise cancellation is poor so you can at least hear your phone ringing.

    There is no volume control on the set which means that you can't control the sound of appliances that don't have an app or app sound volume control.

    Battery life is not good either. The charge does not last through the night.

    The cords that were provided are too short.

    The presentation and boxing are great, but I don't listen to music with the box or case.

    Please don't buy these headphones. The sound is mediocre. The noise canceling is mediocre. The fit of the headphones is poor. The response to email is less than ideal. Save yourself some heartache, save a bit more money and buy from another brand. The Kokoon Headphones don't do anything that you can't do with a mindfulness app for free and your own headphones.

    (read moreread less...)

  • Breaking them in

    • By Tracey M.,
    • United Kingdom,
    • Nov 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I’m loving the quality of the product. I’ve been using them a week and finally wore them all night.

    Steve’s voice is very hypnotic as he takes you through relaxation techniques.

    The product works!

    I can’t wait to see how it develops to give me a personalized sleep experience.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • May 20, 2019

      Company Response from Kokoon

      Thanks for your comments Tracey, great to hear you're enjoying Kokoon!


  • Worth the wait

    • By James T.,
    • London, England,
    • Nov 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I backed Kokoon on Kickstarter many years ago and they finally arrived. The headphones seem high quality and very comfy. I've used them in bed a few times and they've been great. The app looks like it still needs more work, but I've been using some of the tracks with a voiceover and they are very relaxing.

    Thank you, Kokoon, for finally delivering.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • May 20, 2019

      Company Response from Kokoon

      Thanks James, sorry to keep you waiting but great to hear you like your headphones!


  • Kokoon Headphones

    • By Charlie O.,
    • Somerset, England,
    • Nov 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Nice looking product and well made. Very functional and really helped me sleep. I thought they would be itchy after a while, but actually, you hardly know you're wearing them. The app is not hard to work out, even for me! Recommended.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • May 20, 2019

      Company Response from Kokoon

      Thank you Charlie!


  • Fantastic

    • By Terry S.,
    • London, United Kingdom,
    • Nov 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I've been using them for a while now and I'm happy with them. Probably the most comfortable headphones I've used, and I like the fabric texture and weight of them. They took a painfully long time to arrive and the ANC is perhaps not as good as some, but I am happy I stuck with it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • May 20, 2019

      Company Response from Kokoon

      Thanks Terry, great to hear you find them so comfortable!


  • Excellent headphones

    • By Gerald T.,
    • London, United Kingdom,
    • Jan 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I backed this product on Kickstarter. Took forever. But they did finally arrive just in time for Christmas and I've been enjoying them since. Very comfortable. Definitely worth a go.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • May 20, 2019

      Company Response from Kokoon

      Thank you Gerald!


  • Beware of these scam artist!

    • By R.S. L.,
    • Fort Myers, FL,
    • Mar 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    It was with great anticipation that I received my headset, and once opened, I found a discount and decided to purchase two more sets as I never even questioned their performance from all the hype. The first night I used them I awoke and went for a walk and halfway into the walk the battery died and I had properly charged them for 12 hours on the initial charge. I wrote the company and they responded immediately stating that they were designed for 12 hours worth of performance (my Bose can go multiple days). I wrote back immediately and asked that they send a new set that they tested before shipping to make sure that once you fall asleep the headset turns off, which is one of their sales claims. Today, I have now written them three additional times asking for help, today I demanded a refund as stated in their sales policy!

    I believe this company, because they are offshore in England, believes that they can prey on Americans with substandard products and then ignore the request for refunds. I would avoid this company at all cost; they are unworthy of anyone's patronizing as they do not provide professional and honest customer service, they are a scam artist and all the world should now. The product is covered in a grey cloth as well as the case, and it is not leather as promised, and it will not take long before you have a dirty filthy headset in your bed and on your pillow. The speakers at higher volumes crack and cannot handle the music for your mobile phone.

    Simply this product is just plain crap! Do not buy unless you like throwing your money away and you should warn your bed mate that you will be transmitting a dirty filthy bacteria host to your bed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • May 20, 2019

      Company Response from Kokoon

      Hi R.S. Thanks for your comments about Kokoon and I'm sorry to hear you had issues with your order and our customer service. We have added a lot more customer support staff to ensure we can handle queries like this faster in the future. We have also updated our mobile app and headphones to include new features recently like audio power off. Please let us know at help@kokoon.io if you're still facing any issues with your order or refund. Best wishes.


  • Long time coming

    • By Alex A.,
    • Midlands, United Kingdom,
    • Dec 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    As others have said, this product was quite delayed, to say the least! I ordered from Kickstarter several years ago, and finally received my headphones in November.

    I've used them for a while, and in fairness, they are great, easily the most comfortable headphones I've used. They also come with an app, I've seen the app updated a couple of times, and it has some good content in there. They've been helping me relax quite effectively.

    I have to take one star off because no one should have to wait that long for a product.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • May 20, 2019

      Company Response from Kokoon

      Hi Alex. Thanks for your review, sorry we kept you waiting, but great to hear you're enjoying Kokoon.


  • Great for sleep

    • By Seb B.,
    • USA,
    • Jan 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    My headphones arrived just after the holidays and I've been using them to listen to audio books in bed. I have the black ones, they look great, I find them comfortable, and they don't get too hot.

    I bought mine from Kickstarter and had to wait a looooong time, but am enjoying them now that they're finally here.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • May 20, 2019

      Company Response from Kokoon

      Thank you Seb, sorry we made you wait but great to hear you're enjoying your product.


  • Questionable

    • By Helen M.,
    • Australia,
    • Mar 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I can’t review the earphones as I haven’t received them yet even though have been promised since January. On the site they are still advertising that they will be shipped if ordered now, yet I ordered mine in September! I really question the ethics and honesty of the company, which makes me question their claims. I wouldn’t recommend on the basis of extremely poor communication and reliability.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • May 20, 2019

      Company Response from Kokoon

      Hi Helen, sorry to hear about the issues you had with your order. Please contact us at help@kokoon.io if you're still having problems. Best wishes.


  • Completely incompetent company

    • By Daniel T.,
    • Scottsdale, AZ,
    • Apr 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I was one of the first seven hundred purchasers and I am still waiting for my delivery. I continue to get empty promises from the company on delivery and I always need to correct them or inform them of my address and order number. Horrible organization, and I have my doubts the product will be any better than the customer service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • May 20, 2019

      Company Response from Kokoon

      Hi Daniel, thank you for leaving your comments and I'm sorry to hear about the issues you faced. It looks like your order has been delivered now, please contact use at help@kokoon.io if you're having any further issues and we'll get them resolved. Best wishes.


  • Waited years but still not shipped

    • By Alex L.,
    • Melbourne, Australia,
    • Jun 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have waited years for these headphones and it still hasn't shipped. Contacted them but they never responded. Until earlier this year, they have still kept us updated but have since stopped informing us on status. Total scam. Do not purchase or trust.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Jun 7, 2019

      Company Response from Kokoon

      Hi Alex. We're sorry to hear you've not received your headphones yet. Can you please contact us at help@kokoon.io with your order details, so we can look into this for you? Best wishes.


  • Updated review

    Not what I was hoping for but customer service recently first rate

    • By Brenda F.,
    • Australia,
    • Jun 9, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 2+ years
    Overall Experience:

    Initially, I found these headphones impossible to sleep in and didn't get good support from the company. However, that has changed. After some months I found that I could sleep for a while in the headphones if I somehow angled my head and shoulders so that I was part on my back and part on my side. This way they didn't cut into my jaw the way they had originally. However, they still aren't comfortable enough for me to sleep through the night as I had hoped.

    Recently one of the sides broke and I sought a replacement. Apart from some confusion over how to contact the company they had contracted to transport the returned headset, I couldn't fault the customer service staff who assisted me. They were prompt in their responses and helped me when I wasn't sure where the parcel with my new headphones had got to (with the various delays caused by COVID-19). Top marks to the company for having stepped up in this area.

    One issue I still have is with the active noise cancellation. Unless I am playing music I can hear everything around me with the ANC activated. This was the case both with the original headset and with the new one.

    However, the sound is good. I am not an audiophile but I do know the difference between decent and poor sound quality.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Customer service is now top notch
    • Thought from their advertising that the headphones would be comfortable to sleep in through the night, on my side, otherwise I wouldn't have purchased a pair.
    • Took a lot longer to produce the goods after the crowdfunding was finalized than expected, however, I think the resulting quality was worth it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Previous review
    • May 23, 2019

    I waited years for headphones that don't do what they were supposed to!

    Impossible to sleep in. They cut into my jaw even though I have what they say is needed i.e. a deep soft pillow. Also they say the headphones have active noise cancellation but unless I am playing music I can hear everything around me. When I sought support from Kokoon I was told that "in quieter environments, it [the ANC] can produce a small hiss so we do not suggest using it in really quiet locations." I don't see how this explains why I can hear everything around when not playing music through the headphones. Re the discomfort, all I got from them were links to their website where they talk about what sort of pillow to get (when I had already told them I have a deep soft pillow). So a total waste of money and time from my perspective.

    • May 29, 2019

      Company Response from Kokoon

      Hi Brenda. Thanks for leaving your feedback. We're sorry to hear you're finding the headphones uncomfortable. It can take a little time to adjust to sleeping in the headphones. While a soft deep pillow is recommended, we've heard from a number of customers that they have actually found thinner pillows to be their personal preference when sleeping with the headphones, so if you have any other pillows, it may be worth trying.

      We're sorry to hear your ANC doesn't appear to be working for you, and for the misunderstanding from our customer service team. Please contact us at help@kokoon.io, we'd like to get this resolved for you as soon as possible. Thanks!

    (read moreread less...)

Showing 1-27 of 121

Write a Review for Kokoon Headphones!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Kokoon Headphones