Kokoon Headphones Reviews

  This company has claimed this profile, is getting alerted on any new customer reviews entering this page, and may engage in dialogue with its customers to address their matters.

Companies cannot pay money or provide goods in order to remove or alter customer reviews.
Kokoon Headphones

Overall Rating

3.9

121 Customer Reviews

Summary

Kokoon Headphones feature three layers of noise protection, proprietary FlexMould Technology, and app connectivity to help you relax and sleep better. Learn what customers are saying about this product.

Write a Review

Customer Reviews

3.9 Stars out of 121 Reviews
5 Star:63% 4 Star:11% 3 Star:0% 2 Star:2% 1 Star:21%
75% Recommend This Company
Start your review of Kokoon Headphones:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Nov 1, 2018

Finally received mine

By Magnus A., London, United Kingdom, Verified Reviewer

I finally received my headphones after a long wait, and they are really cool. They fit well, the sound is really good, and so far the EEG sensors seem accurate. They are quite big and reasonably heavy, so not the most comfortable headphones to wear when running about town, but in bed they are great.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Kokoon

May 20, 2019

Thank you Magnus!

Helpful Review? 17 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 7, 2018

Finally got mine - it's actually great

By Dan T., London, United Kingdom, Verified Reviewer

Thought I'd add my two cents as mine have (after a long wait) arrived.

Pros:

Initially, I was a little skeptical as they are quite big, but upon wearing them, I found them really very comfortable. I've had a quite few nights sleeping in them, and they've been great. I listened to some of the Kokoon content (which is pretty good) and used to listen to an audiobook I've been listening too.

Cons:

I don't quite think the ANC is as good as my Bose, but they certainly did a decent enough job for me of blocking out other noises

Conclusion:

Well worth the wait. I'm really happy I stuck it out in the end as these are much better than I was expecting. Really useful addition for any frequent listener to audio before bed or to relax.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Kokoon

May 20, 2019

Thanks Dan, great to hear you're enjoying Kokoon.

Helpful Review? 13 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 11, 2018

Now feels like a scam

By Wendy P., Ohio, Verified Reviewer

I bought into these during their Kickstarter in the spring of 2015. I picked these because I wanted the newest thing that wasn't available anywhere else. More than three years have passed, and I still haven't received a pair. It's one thing to make model improvements and slow production a little bit, but what investor is willing to wait four years for the first model of a consumer tech good like headphones? The way technology changes, it seems ridiculous to wait for them to make a pair of 2015 headphones more comfortable and durable when other companies are making something new for 2019 already.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Kokoon

May 20, 2019

Hi Wendy, sorry for the delay in getting your product to you. Hopefully you've now received your order but please contact help@kokoon.io if not and we'll help. Best wishes.

Helpful Review? 12 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 14, 2018

After all this time...I’m happy

By Tony S., Bristol, United Kingdom, Verified Reviewer

Probably my longest wait for a product ever, but now it’s here and all sins are forgiven for me. I brought the product as I travel a lot (often economy for me) and really wanted something that could help ease the pain of all those flights a bit.

My first impression was positive. It comes in a nice green box with a little note from the team. You get an eye mask, audio cables, charger, and a decent case. The headphone itself is really impressive and feels quality. The first use you have a little animation, which was handy, then you get directed into a kind of onboarding audio coaching. My first home test went well and I managed to pair fine, then had a little explore around the audio tracks finding some good stuff within.

What really prompted my review was when I used them to travel where they are superb! So much more comfortable with my Beats, and I slept for the first time on a flight in what feels like forever. I would highly recommend these for a frequent traveler; really comfortable and some good audio, which certainly put me out.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Kokoon

May 20, 2019

Thank you Tony, wishing you more happy travels with Kokoon!

Helpful Review? 12 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 24, 2018

Super tired of waiting

By Tammy R., Texas, Verified Reviewer

I ordered in February 2018. I get updates that say shipping is always one month away, but that never happens. Their website says brand new buyers can get them within a month, but original buyers still haven’t gotten them. I haven’t gotten an update in two months. I’m starting to think this is a scam that I have invested $300 in. I love the idea of the product, but how patient are we supposed to be?

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 11 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 27, 2018

Starting to feel like a scam

By John F., Washington, DC, Verified Reviewer

Even this write up says "Mass manufactured models now won’t be released until the end of 2016." Fast forward to August 2018 and still no word on when I will get them. I am about to cancel my order and reverse the charges off my credit card.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 11 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 24, 2018

Poor customer service

By Matt G., London, United Kingdom, Verified Reviewer

Poor customer service. I ordered this to be delivered around summer last year, but then the delivery date kept being pushed back. They didn't notify the paying customers about the delays directly; they buried the information in a monthly newsletter. When the delivery date was delayed for a fifth time, I complained and asked for a refund. While the complaint was not responded to, the refund was processed relatively quickly. I understand that they still have not fulfilled the orders for a single customer. Amazing that they relied on public support to start production, through Kickstarter, but are so disdainful of customers.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Kokoon

May 20, 2019

Hi Matt, thanks for your comments. Sorry for the delays to shipping, we do our best to keep all our customers up to date with progress. If you have any further issues please let us know at help@kokoon.io. Best wishes.

Helpful Review? 10 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 7, 2018

Yaaayyyy, it finally arrived

By Sarah N., Manchester, United Kingdom, Verified Reviewer

Yaaaaaaaaaay. Mine finally arrived! I am loving it; it’s really comfortable.

The app design could be a bit better, but the content and narrator’s voice are amazing. Does anyone know who the narrator is?

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Kokoon

May 20, 2019

Thank you Sarah! Great to hear you're enjoying the product. We'll have more content from our narrator soon!

Helpful Review? 10 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 29, 2018

Vaporware

By Daryl D., Penobscot, ME, Verified Reviewer

I ordered these more than a year and a half ago. I get no updates and only a "we'll be happy to refund your money" responses. Some people have been waiting since 2015 for the promised product and they just keep delaying it. They advertise for more "buyers" but have not sent out a single piece as far as I can tell. I would not "invest" in these given the opportunity, and I hope other people are not fooled.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 9 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 6, 2018

Still not shipped! Delayed by 5 months.

By Beau J., Western Australia, Verified Reviewer

After having read about this product, I was excited to treat myself to better sleep. Turns out that shipping in June meant nothing to the company with constant slippage to the schedule without any explanation or excuses. Firmly believing that this a scam now. Do not order!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 9 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 13, 2018

Incredibly disappointing

By Rob G., San Francisco, CA, Verified Reviewer

1. Placed the kickstart order in July 2016 and over two years later, still no headphones.

2. I emailed Kokoon in July 2018 and received a reply that shipping would occur September 2018. As of mid-November 2018 still no headphones or any communication from Kokoon.

3. I sent another email November 7, 2018, requesting a refund in light of what has become a two-year interest-free $419 loan.

4. Nearly a week later, still no reply.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Kokoon

May 20, 2019

Hi Rob, sorry to hear about the issues you've had with your order. If this has not be resolved please do let us know at help@kokoon.io.

Helpful Review? 9 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 7, 2018

Disappointing

By Dennis B., New South Wales, Australia, Verified Reviewer

I paid in good faith with the promises of delivery. Every time I complain I get the same automated email with the same promises that they started shipping and yet nothing ever comes of it. They are quick to take peoples money and still advertise on their website for pre-orders with the promises of early delivery.

I feel that I have been conned like many other people.

They make promises of regular news updates, but I never get them.

I was very excited by the thought of having a good night sleep, but if I ever get them it will still be disappointing and I would never recommend them to anyone else. So unprofessional.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 7 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 13, 2018

Thank god I didn’t go for a refund

By Thierry C., Kingston, England, Verified Reviewer

I was literally just about to cancel and ask for a refund when I got my email to tell me it was being delivered!

I have been waiting for a loooong time, but it’s worth it. They are the most comfortable headphones I’ve ever had, and the sound is amazing.

I love having them on the tube and just feel in my own little world (even on the Bakerloo line).

I will update on sleep and the app soon!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Kokoon

May 20, 2019

Thank you Thierry, sorry to keep you waiting, but great to hear you like the product!

Helpful Review? 7 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 18, 2018

Still waiting...3 years later

By Braden R., Toronto, Ontario, Canada, Verified Reviewer

What a waste. To think of all the things I could have done with the money in the meantime, when you're effectively buying 2015 technology that arrives in 2019.

If the company had been more honest about their knowledge of production and capabilities, it would not have been so shocking.

This was the first and last time I ever use Kickstarter.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Kokoon

May 20, 2019

Hi Braden, sorry to hear you've had issues with your order and sorry for keeping you waiting. Could you please contact help@kokoon.io and we'll get this sorted for you. Best wishes.

Helpful Review? 7 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 29, 2019

UPDATE

By Rita D., Australia, Verified Reviewer

Kokoon has relented and will now refund me on both sets and must have added more support staff because I'm getting replies from about 3-4 different people on the following day after I send them an email. It's a nightmare to try and work out what is going on though. Now I am waiting for a return voucher.

Be aware that the following items need to be included in order to be refunded.

- Headphones

- Carry Case

- Green Kokoon box

- Eye Mask

- Micro USB charging cable

- Audio cable

- Manual

- Safety Instructions

- Welcome Card

Make sure you keep everything if you want a refund.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Kokoon

May 20, 2019

Hi Rita. Sorry to hear we let you down with your order. We have added a lot more support staff in recent weeks and resolved these issues. Please contact us at help@kokoon.io if you've had any further issues with your order and refund. Best wishes.

Helpful Review? 7 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 15, 2018

Breaking them in

By Tracey M., United Kingdom, Verified Reviewer

I’m loving the quality of the product. I’ve been using them a week and finally wore them all night.

Steve’s voice is very hypnotic as he takes you through relaxation techniques.

The product works!

I can’t wait to see how it develops to give me a personalized sleep experience.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Kokoon

May 20, 2019

Thanks for your comments Tracey, great to hear you're enjoying Kokoon!

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 9, 2018

Worth the wait

By James T., London, England, Verified Reviewer

I backed Kokoon on Kickstarter many years ago and they finally arrived. The headphones seem high quality and very comfy. I've used them in bed a few times and they've been great. The app looks like it still needs more work, but I've been using some of the tracks with a voiceover and they are very relaxing.

Thank you, Kokoon, for finally delivering.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Kokoon

May 20, 2019

Thanks James, sorry to keep you waiting but great to hear you like your headphones!

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 12, 2018

Kokoon Headphones

By Charlie O., Somerset, England, Verified Reviewer

Nice looking product and well made. Very functional and really helped me sleep. I thought they would be itchy after a while, but actually, you hardly know you're wearing them. The app is not hard to work out, even for me! Recommended.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Kokoon

May 20, 2019

Thank you Charlie!

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 28, 2018

Fantastic

By Terry S., London, United Kingdom, Verified Reviewer

I've been using them for a while now and I'm happy with them. Probably the most comfortable headphones I've used, and I like the fabric texture and weight of them. They took a painfully long time to arrive and the ANC is perhaps not as good as some, but I am happy I stuck with it.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Kokoon

May 20, 2019

Thanks Terry, great to hear you find them so comfortable!

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 4, 2019

Excellent headphones

By Gerald T., London, United Kingdom, Verified Reviewer

I backed this product on Kickstarter. Took forever. But they did finally arrive just in time for Christmas and I've been enjoying them since. Very comfortable. Definitely worth a go.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Kokoon

May 20, 2019

Thank you Gerald!

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 20, 2019

Beware of these scam artist!

By R.S. L., Fort Myers, FL, Verified Reviewer

It was with great anticipation that I received my headset, and once opened, I found a discount and decided to purchase two more sets as I never even questioned their performance from all the hype. The first night I used them I awoke and went for a walk and halfway into the walk the battery died and I had properly charged them for 12 hours on the initial charge. I wrote the company and they responded immediately stating that they were designed for 12 hours worth of performance (my Bose can go multiple days). I wrote back immediately and asked that they send a new set that they tested before shipping to make sure that once you fall asleep the headset turns off, which is one of their sales claims. Today, I have now written them three additional times asking for help, today I demanded a refund as stated in their sales policy!

I believe this company, because they are offshore in England, believes that they can prey on Americans with substandard products and then ignore the request for refunds. I would avoid this company at all cost; they are unworthy of anyone's patronizing as they do not provide professional and honest customer service, they are a scam artist and all the world should now. The product is covered in a grey cloth as well as the case, and it is not leather as promised, and it will not take long before you have a dirty filthy headset in your bed and on your pillow. The speakers at higher volumes crack and cannot handle the music for your mobile phone.

Simply this product is just plain crap! Do not buy unless you like throwing your money away and you should warn your bed mate that you will be transmitting a dirty filthy bacteria host to your bed.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Kokoon

May 20, 2019

Hi R.S. Thanks for your comments about Kokoon and I'm sorry to hear you had issues with your order and our customer service. We have added a lot more customer support staff to ensure we can handle queries like this faster in the future. We have also updated our mobile app and headphones to include new features recently like audio power off. Please let us know at help@kokoon.io if you're still facing any issues with your order or refund. Best wishes.

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 28, 2018

Long time coming

By Alex A., Midlands, United Kingdom, Verified Reviewer

As others have said, this product was quite delayed, to say the least! I ordered from Kickstarter several years ago, and finally received my headphones in November.

I've used them for a while, and in fairness, they are great, easily the most comfortable headphones I've used. They also come with an app, I've seen the app updated a couple of times, and it has some good content in there. They've been helping me relax quite effectively.

I have to take one star off because no one should have to wait that long for a product.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Kokoon

May 20, 2019

Hi Alex. Thanks for your review, sorry we kept you waiting, but great to hear you're enjoying Kokoon.

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 12, 2019

Great for sleep

By Seb B., USA, Verified Reviewer

My headphones arrived just after the holidays and I've been using them to listen to audio books in bed. I have the black ones, they look great, I find them comfortable, and they don't get too hot.

I bought mine from Kickstarter and had to wait a looooong time, but am enjoying them now that they're finally here.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Kokoon

May 20, 2019

Thank you Seb, sorry we made you wait but great to hear you're enjoying your product.

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 27, 2019

Questionable

By Helen M., Australia, Verified Reviewer

I can’t review the earphones as I haven’t received them yet even though have been promised since January. On the site they are still advertising that they will be shipped if ordered now, yet I ordered mine in September! I really question the ethics and honesty of the company, which makes me question their claims. I wouldn’t recommend on the basis of extremely poor communication and reliability.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Kokoon

May 20, 2019

Hi Helen, sorry to hear about the issues you had with your order. Please contact us at help@kokoon.io if you're still having problems. Best wishes.

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 10, 2019

Completely incompetent company

By Daniel T., Scottsdale, AZ, Verified Reviewer

I was one of the first seven hundred purchasers and I am still waiting for my delivery. I continue to get empty promises from the company on delivery and I always need to correct them or inform them of my address and order number. Horrible organization, and I have my doubts the product will be any better than the customer service.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Kokoon

May 20, 2019

Hi Daniel, thank you for leaving your comments and I'm sorry to hear about the issues you faced. It looks like your order has been delivered now, please contact use at help@kokoon.io if you're having any further issues and we'll get them resolved. Best wishes.

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 6, 2019

Waited years but still not shipped

By Alex L., Melbourne, Australia, Verified Reviewer

I have waited years for these headphones and it still hasn't shipped. Contacted them but they never responded. Until earlier this year, they have still kept us updated but have since stopped informing us on status. Total scam. Do not purchase or trust.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Kokoon

Jun 7, 2019

Hi Alex. We're sorry to hear you've not received your headphones yet. Can you please contact us at help@kokoon.io with your order details, so we can look into this for you? Best wishes.

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 9, 2020

Not what I was hoping for but customer service recently first rate

By Brenda F., Australia, Verified Reviewer

Initially, I found these headphones impossible to sleep in and didn't get good support from the company. However, that has changed. After some months I found that I could sleep for a while in the headphones if I somehow angled my head and shoulders so that I was part on my back and part on my side. This way they didn't cut into my jaw the way they had originally. However, they still aren't comfortable enough for me to sleep through the night as I had hoped.

Recently one of the sides broke and I sought a replacement. Apart from some confusion over how to contact the company they had contracted to transport the returned headset, I couldn't fault the customer service staff who assisted me. They were prompt in their responses and helped me when I wasn't sure where the parcel with my new headphones had got to (with the various delays caused by COVID-19). Top marks to the company for having stepped up in this area.

One issue I still have is with the active noise cancellation. Unless I am playing music I can hear everything around me with the ANC activated. This was the case both with the original headset and with the new one.

However, the sound is good. I am not an audiophile but I do know the difference between decent and poor sound quality.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Customer service is now top notch

Thought from their advertising that the headphones would be comfortable to sleep in through the night, on my side, otherwise I wouldn't have purchased a pair.

Took a lot longer to produce the goods after the crowdfunding was finalized than expected, however, I think the resulting quality was worth it.

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted
Showing 1-27 of 121

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.