About Lectin Shield

Using a combination of nine “dynamically effective,” all-natural ingredients, Gundry MD’s Lectin Shield supplement claims to protect your body from lectin overload, which can lead to digestion problems and inflammation-related diseases.

Instead, by taking two capsules of Lectin Shield twice daily, the company claims you’ll experience:

  • Improved digestion,
  • Reduced gassiness and bloating,
  • Improved regularity,
  • Boosted immune strength,
  • Healthier circulation,
  • Reduced food cravings,
  • Extra protection for your thyroid, skin, & joints, and
  • “Full body wellness,”

… all within just a few days! Even better, they promise you’ll notice more “dramatic” results over the course of two to three weeks.

Despite all these benefits, Gundry MD claims Lectin Shield is completely safe and effective for daily use.

Coming from a highly trained and well-respected surgeon, along with all the scientific terms frequently used on the Gundry MD website, it might be easy to believe that Lectin Shield is a no-brainer. But before handing over your hard-earned money, let’s fully explore this supplement and help you decide if it’s really right for you.

What Are Lectins? Do They Really Cause Disease?

Lectins are a type of protein that acts as a “glue,” binding certain carbohydrate molecules together, without involving the immune system. Although lectins were first discovered in plants (which is also the main focus on the Lectin Shield website), they’re now thought to be widely distributed throughout nature.

Now, it’s important to point out that there are many different lectin families, each of which performs a specific set of functions. For example, in animals, lectins “facilitate cell-to-cell contact”; e.g., they act almost like Velcro by building binding sites on the surface of cells.

This means that animal lectins can be responsible for everything from very specific functions (glycoprotein synthesis) to very broad ones (they play an important role in immune system function). However, the scientific community isn’t quite sure what role lectins play in plants, although they’re thought to act as a deterrent against insects and other threats.

But Wait … Aren’t Lectins Bad For You?

After watching Lectin Shield’s lengthy video, a lot of what you read in the previous section might have come as a surprise. After all, the video certainly didn’t cast a positive light on lectins.

The truth of the matter is that not all lectins are created equal; many can provide us with health benefits (and are even required by the body for proper functioning), while others can do a great deal of harm. For example, ricin is an extremely toxic lectin that can lead to death in very small doses, while raw red kidney beans contain another type of lectin that can lead to side effects similar to food poisoning.

Pro tip: Lectins are found in almost all foods, although legumes (including kidney beans) and grains often contain some of the highest concentrations in nature.

However, not all lectins cause immediate, severe harm to our body. Instead, they may cause much less damage that can accumulate over time into something more serious. Like what?

  • Lectins are though to slow cellular regeneration in the lining of the gut, leading to a potentially severe condition known as leaky gut (keep in mind that there is a lot of controversy surrounding this condition in general, as well as its causes).
  • Since much of our immune system originates in our gut, this slowed regeneration can also cause our body to view these lectins as outside invaders and attack them, leading to inflammation-related symptoms like skin rashes and joint pain.

Is it Possible to Avoid Lectins?

As we mentioned above, lectins are found in most foods. So, unless you’re willing to make drastic changes to your diet, then it’s probably not feasible to avoid them altogether. But why would you, anyway? Remember, the right lectins in the right amounts play key roles in health, and most experts agree that normal lectin consumption poses no serious health risks to humans.

The key here is to monitor how much lectin you consume by properly preparing high-lectin foods in advance. To achieve the biggest bang for your buck, you’ll want to avoid eating raw legumes altogether, and to soak, ferment, sprout, and/or cook them prior to consumption.

Pro tip: Remember the story at the beginning of the Lectin Shield video? The one where everyone became ill after eating a healthy lunch? About the only way this could have occurred so quickly is if they had eating raw legumes, or a variety that’s high in lectins, so it’s more of a marketing tactic than a real-world scenario.

Even if you follow this guideline, what about all the lectin you’re ingesting from other foods? Again, these are necessary for proper bodily functioning, and aren’t thought to cause a great deal of health concerns (if any). Nonetheless, can anything contained in Gundry MD’s Lectin Shield supplement help regulate lectin?

What Ingredients Are Found in Lectin Shield?

According to the product label found on the Lectin Shield website, here’s what the supplement contains:

Will any of these work to counteract the potential side effects associated with lectins?

Although N Acetyl D-Glucosamine and glucosamine sound similar (and are generally derived from the outer shells of shellfish), they have different effects on the body. For example, glucosamine is often used to help treat osteoarthritis, while N Acetyl D-Glucosamine is used to help protect stomach and intestinal lining. However, there isn’t enough clinical evidence available showing that N Acetyl D-Glucosamine is effective for this.

There is mounting evidence showing that sialic acid may help prevent certain types of viruses (specifically, the influenza virus) from attaching to cells and reproducing. However, there isn’t enough clinical evidence to consider it “proven.”

Finally, alginic acid may help inhibit acid reflux, a common symptom of excess lectin intake, although it may not work any better than other bicarbonate-based products you’d find at your local pharmacy.

Outside of these, there appears to be insufficient clinical evidence showing that any of Lectin Shield’s other ingredients will affect lectins (or their side effects).

Potential Lectin Shield Side Effects

In general, most of Lectin Shield’s ingredients should be well tolerated by most users, with the most common side effects being digestive upset and gassiness/bloating.

However, according to WebMD, bladderwrack is listed as “possibly unsafe” when taken by mouth: “It may contain high concentrations of iodine, which could cause or worsen some thyroid problems. Prolonged, high intake of dietary iodine is linked with goiter and increased risk of thyroid cancer.”

Also, due to the N Acetyl D-Glucosamine content, you should not take Lectin Shield if you’re allergic to shellfish.

Despite the somewhat fuzzy clinical evidence supporting the efficacy of these ingredients, how much will Gundry MD’s Lectin Shield cost you?

How Much Does Gundry MD Lectin Shield Cost?

Lectin Shield is available in the following quantities:

  • 1 Bottle: $49.95
  • 3 Bottles: $131.85
  • 6 Bottles: $239.70

All U.S. orders come with free shipping, while all Gundry MD supplements (more about this next) come with a 90-day money back guarantee, less S&H charges.

In order to request a refund, you’ll need to call Gundry MD customer service at (800) 852-0477.

Who Is Dr. Steven Gundry? Does His Company Make Other Supplements?

Dr. Steven Gundry is a board certified general surgeon and thoracic cardiovascular surgeon based out of Palm Springs, CA, where he runs the International Heart and Lung Institute. There, he delivers “advanced heart and lung care” for patients looking to “avoid the chronic diseases such as high blood pressure, coronary artery disease, diabetes, cancer and obesity.”

Dr. Gundry is also the founder and director of The Center for Restorative Medicine, with locations in Palm Springs and Santa Barbara, CA. This concierge program is focused on “health and wellness by diet, supplementation, and living well.”

Dr. Gundry’s focus on diet-based health also lead him to write Dr. Gundry’s Diet Revolution: Turn Off the Genes That Are Killing You and Your Waistline, a three-phase plan that aims to help readers overcome obesity-related diseases.

Although Gundry MD is a fairly new company, they have two other products already on the market: Correct + Calm Redness Relief and Vital Reds. We mentioned in our Correct + Calm review that, based on the available clinical evidence, we felt many of the cream’s ingredients might not work as well as the company claimed. However, one HighYa reader has already chimed in and rated it five stars, claiming it gave them “glowing, radiant” skin.

Let’s carry this thought over to the next section as we wrap everything up.

Will Lectin Shield Provide “Comprehensive Anti-Lectin Health Support”?

Despite everything we’ve learned here, when it comes to Lectin Shield, we’re left with an important unanswered question:

Exactly how does Lectin Shield “shield” you against lectins? Does it target and destroy lectins already in your body? Does it help maintain a healthy lectin balance? Or, does the supplement work to counteract some of the negative side effects associated with excess lectin levels?

Regardless of how it works though, there seems to be limited clinical evidence showing that most of Lectin Shield’s ingredients will provide the specific benefits promoted by Gundry MD. And even if they do provide any benefits, it appears they might not be as noticeable as the manufacturer makes it seem.

Despite this, Gundry MD appears to be a completely legitimate company who stands behind their products with a 90-day refund policy. As such, you might not be out more than a few dollars in S&H for giving Lectin Shield a try.

Just remember that, unless you have a habit of eating raw legumes, causing lectin overload—and all the nasty side effects that can come along with it—Lectin Shield might represent a solution to a problem you don’t have.

Did you decide to roll the dice on Gundry MD Lectin Shield? Tell us all about it by writing your review below!

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

78 Consumer Reviews for Lectin Shield

Average Consumer Rating: 4.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 54 4 star: 17 3 star: 3 2 star: 0 1 star:  4
Bottom Line: 92% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 78
Sort reviews by:

  • 16 out 19 people found this review helpful

    Don't buy or trust this company!

    • Indianapolis, IN,
    • Jan 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    After a high-pressure internet "educational" video, I purchased THREE bottles of this product.

    I got it home and realized that I am allergic to the ingredients in the product! Do you think that the company will stand behind their product video and admit that they failed to mention not to buy if you are allergic to SHELLFISH?

    I can now mail it back at MY EXPENSE. I question the reputation of this allegedly "renowned" physician.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 11, 2018

      k

      I don't think that the algae, a seaweed, is the same thing as a shellfish but it would be worth looking into it.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Use it when out

    I don't use this product regularly. Instead, I use when I am invited out to a meal or traveling, as protection against unexpected lectins. Sometimes it is just not possible to avoid all lectins when you are traveling or invited out to a meal.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 14, 2017

      Gundry MD Customer Support, Customer Advocate, Gundry MD

      Hi Mark! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. You are so right! In an ideal world, we would be able to avoid all lectins all of the time but we do understand that this may not be possible for everybody. Although we do strongly encourage it, and that is the exact reason Lectin Shield was created. We are so glad to hear that you are using it when you can to avoid lectins as much as possible! If you ever have any questions along the way, please feel free to reach out to me at Aria@Gundrymd.com. Take care!

    • Jan 18, 2018

      Carol

      I really appreciate this information. I am allergic to shellfish. Thank you so much.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Great product

    Lectin Shield by Dr. Gundry is an amazing product to help in bloating belly, and it's made me feel satisfied. Thank you, Dr. Gundry, keep up the great work in your scientific contribution to great health. God bless.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 14, 2017

      Gundry MD Customer Support, Customer Advocate, Gundry MD

      Hi Francisco! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review about your experience with Lectin Shield! We are so glad to hear that Lectin Shield has been able to keep the bloating down and has left you feeling satisfied! This is great news. Feel free to shoot me an email at Aria@Gundrymd.com if you ever need anything!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Lectin Shield

    I was suffering from a stomach bug for six months. Bloating as soon as I ate, gas and indigestion when I started taking Lectin Shield. After 3 or 4 days all of my problems vanished. I still take Lectin Shield and have not had any more of those problems. It's GREAT!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 14, 2017

      Gundry MD Customer Support, Customer Advocate, Gundry MD

      Hi Bill! Wow! We are so happy to hear that Lectin Shield has helped with your gas and indigestion while you were eating. It is also great to hear that you have been able to avoid these problems while continuing Lectin Shield! If you ever have any questions along the way, please feel free to email me at Aria@Gundrymd.com. Thank you for the kind words!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Lectin Shield

    • Fairport, NY,
    • Sep 22, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    While I cannot definitively attribute the complete absence of GI issues since starting the Plant Paradox Program supplements including Lectin Shield, I can say that I am feeling so much better than I had for several years before starting the program and the supplements. Lectin Shield seems to be doing its job, especially when I am out and unable to cook and prepare lectin free foods for myself. It looks like this is becoming one of my "go to" helpers as I pursue the Plant Paradox eating lifestyle. I think Lectin Shield helps me to continue to engage in opportunities to eat with other people who are not following this program without causing me to suffer the unwanted GI consequences that often accompany a lectin loaded diet.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 14, 2017

      Gundry MD Customer Support, Customer Advocate, Gundry MD

      Hi Caro! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a detailed and thoughtful review! It is so great to hear that you are feeling better on the Plant Paradox Program and Lectin Shield is helping you achieve your goals! If you ever have any questions along the way, feel free to reach out to me directly at Aria@Gundrymd.com. Thank you!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Good

    I am feeling great, but I can't tell which of the three products works best. I am taking the Vital Reds in the morning, the Primal Plants at night and the Lectin Shields at two meals every day. I can't really make out the difference between them yet, but I just know that all together, I am doing fine. And it has only been two weeks.

    In the meantime, I find the products to be well-made and very healthy, so I am confident and trust that by taking them, I am taking good care of my health.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 14, 2017

      Gundry MD Customer Support, Customer Advocate, Gundry MD

      Hi Nicole! Thank you so much for being such a loyal customer. I am so happy to hear that you are experiencing improvement while using our products even after just two weeks! Thank you for trusting Gundry MD, and thank you for choosing us to help you along the journey to health! Feel free to shoot me an email at Aria@Gundrymd.com if you ever have any questions. Thank you!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Seems effective

    Taken before every meal, this combination of mainly plant and animal extracts seem to reduce 70 to 100% the abdominal pain and tenderness I have experienced most of my life. I dearly hope that means that the inflammatory processes described by Dr. Gundry are being prevented.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 14, 2017

      Gundry MD Customer Support, Customer Advocate, Gundry MD

      Hi Jerry! I'm Aria from Gundry MD. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review! It is awesome to hear that Lectin Shield has helped relieve most of your abdominal pain and tenderness that you have experienced most of your life. We are so honored that we could help you with this. If you ever need to reach me, you can email me at Aria@Gundrymd.com. Thank you!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Lectin Shield

    My daughter and I have a Lectin Shield Pill handy in our purses just in case we give in and have a meal outside. It's hard only eating at home with busy schedules, so it's nice to have this option. I don't know if it's working when we take it, but we have faith in Dr. Gundry.

    Since we have been gluten free, my daughter does get a stomach ache if she eats anything with gluten but taking Lectin Shield does not alleviate the pain. We just hope the contents bind the lectins ingested and prevent absorption from the intestines.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 14, 2017

      Gundry MD Customer Support, Customer Advocate, Gundry MD

      Hi Nosheen! Aria from Gundry MD here. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We are so happy to hear that you and your daughter have been enjoying Lectin Shield! We completely understand that it is difficult to completely avoid all lectins, and that is exactly why we created this product. Lectin Shield does not alleviate the pain caused by the consumption of gluten but it does block dietary lectins if they are consumed. If you ever have any questions, please feel free to reach out to me at Aria@Gundrymd.com. Thank you!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    IBS relief

    • New York, NY,
    • Sep 15, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    It took about a week before I noticed consistent results, but Lectin Shield has made a huge difference in my IBS-D. No longer am I running to the bathroom multiple times a day or right after meals. I don't see other changes in my energy level, but what it's done for my IBS I wouldn't trade!

    I just wish it wasn't so expensive, more so than a months supply of the IBS-D medication my gastroenterologist prescribed.

    I also wish it was more clear whether this is safe to use while pregnant. My doctor couldn't confirm.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 14, 2017

      Gundry MD Customer Support, Customer Advocate, Gundry MD

      Hi Erin! I'm Aria from Gundry MD. Thank you so much for reaching out! We are so glad to hear Lectin Shield has made such an important impact on your life! Regarding the price, Lectin Shield contains nothing but the highest quality of ingredients so it is priced this way to reflect this. We are so sorry for the inconvenience. Also, we do not recommend consuming this product while pregnant. If you have any other questions, please feel free to reach me at Aria@Gundrymd.com. Thank you!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Almost pain free

    • Gadsden, AL,
    • Sep 11, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I started on the non-lectin way on of eating eight weeks ago last Thursday after hearing Dr. Gundry on Bulletproofradio.com and I believed him. I have had hip problems since my adult children were really young. I remember having to sit every few hundreds of yards when we were hiking. It sucked. All I know is my hip pain is 90% less after not eating night shades, grains, and white potatoes. I have got the book now and am excited about what else I'll learn that will help.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 14, 2017

      Gundry MD Customer Support, Customer Advocate, Gundry MD

      Hi Rod! Wow! Thank you so much for letting us know about your lectin-free experience so far. I am so glad to hear that this way of living has helped reduce most of your pain. This is great news! If you ever have any questions along the way, please feel free to reach out to me directly at Aria@Gundrymd.com. Thank you!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Really helped in Europe

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Sep 11, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was in Europe for a couple of weeks without access to organic foods or even my best Gundry protocol foods, and the Lectin Shield really helped to protect me from the ill effects of what I was eating! Thank you so much!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 14, 2017

      Gundry MD Customer Support, Customer Advocate, Gundry MD

      Hi Mimi! It is so great to hear that Lectin Shield was able to keep you feeling good while you were traveling! We do understand that it can be very difficult to completely avoid lectins at all cost, especially while in a different country, that is exactly why Dr. Gundry created Lectin Shield! If you ever need anything, feel free to email me directly at Aria@gundrymd.com. Thank you!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 78

Write a Review for Lectin Shield!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review