Lectin Shield by Gundry MD Review - Legit or Hype?

By Anthony Dugarte, M.D., C.S.C.S
Updated on: Jan 22, 2020

What is Lectin Shield?

Gundry MD’s claims that their dietary supplement, Lectin Shield, will protect your body from lectin overload.

Lectins are proteins found in both animal and plant products, though they’re most abundant in legumes, fruits, vegetables, and grains. They play a role in many vital biological processes related to cell development and signaling, as well as your immune system.

So why limit their function?

Despite their importance, plant lectins may play a role in the development of conditions like food allergy, inflammatory bowel disease, insulin-dependent diabetes, and rheumatoid arthritis.

There has been discussion regarding meal plans that limit lectin intake, though these diets exclude many common foods and lack strong scientific support. Is there another option for those that wish to avoid the potential harm caused by lectins?

According to Gundry MD, taking two capsules of Lectin Shield twice daily should result in:

  • Reduced appetite and food cravings
  • Increased energy
  • Better digestion and less “Leaky Gut”
  • Cardiovascular support
  • Improved immune system function
  • Reduced Joint Pain
  • Less Brain Fog

They claim that you’ll notice many of these results “within just a few days,” though the most “dramatic” results are likely to become apparent over the course of two to three weeks.

Can one supplement really offer so many benefits?

In this review, we’ll highlight the scientific support for the safety and efficacy of Lectin Shield to help you determine if this is the supplement you’ve been missing.

Who Is Dr. Steven Gundry? Does His Company Make Other Supplements?

Dr. Steven Gundry is a board-certified general surgeon and thoracic cardiovascular surgeon based out of Palm Springs, CA, where he founded The Center for Restorative Medicine Institute.

Here, Dr. Gundry promotes health through diet and lifestyle choices in hopes of helping his patients avoid the surgeries he has performed for over three decades. As he can only see so many patients on a daily basis, he founded Gundry MD to reach as many people as possible.

Dr. Gundry’s focus on diet-based health also lead him to write Dr. Gundry’s Diet Revolution: Turn Off the Genes That Are Killing You and Your Waistline, a three-phase plan that aims to help readers overcome obesity-related diseases.

Gundry MD currently offers over 30 dietary supplements, many of which have been previously reviewed on HighYa.

What Ingredients Are Found in Lectin Shield, and Do They Work?

Lectin Shield’s proposed benefits are thought to be related to its active ingredients. According to the product label, here’s what the supplement contains:

N Acetyl D-Glucosamine (NAG) - 300m

NAG is obtained from shellfish and thought to offer protection from the harmful effects of gluten, though there is minimal support for this, particularly in human subjects.

In a laboratory model, NAG offered protection from the toxic effects of rye, barley, and oat glutens in small intestinal cells obtained from 26 children with gluten intolerance.

Outside of this data, the literature is supporting the use of NAG in this setting is lacking.

Bladderwrack - 200mg

Bladderwrack is a fucose sugar-rich seaweed, also thought to offer protection from gluten.

In a rat study, 575 mg/kg/day of Bladderwrack over 2-weeks was not found to be beneficial as a dietary supplement for weight loss.

Its ability to bind lectins and limit their unwanted effects is unclear.

D-Mannose - 100mg

D-Mannose is a plant sugar that may block lectins, though this benefit has not been demonstrated in substantial scientific investigations with human subjects.

Mannose supplementation in mice on a high-fat diet improved endurance and glucose tolerance, while reducing body weight and body fat.

Okra Fruit - 100mg

Okra is thought to form a gel that can block lectins from attaching to your cells.

In a laboratory study, 0.2 to 2 mg/mL doses of okra extract inhibited the binding of bacteria to stomach cells. Okra may also offer heart health benefits through cholesterol-lowering actions, though this was demonstrated in mice.

Sialic Acid (Mucin) - 100mg

This protein is thought to reduce lectins’ ability to bind to the surface of your digestive tract through its ability to work on cell membranes.

Rats that were injected with 1mg of sialic acid per 50 g body weight for 7-days learned a maze quicker when compared to those treated with glucose.

The brain boosting effects, as well as the other proposed benefits of sialic acid supplementation, have not been demonstrated in human subjects.

Sodium Alginate (Alginic acid) - 100mg

Sodium alginate is thought to bind and remove lectins from your body.

Sodium alginate system formed a gel in the stomachs of rats that served to reduce food intake, body weight and peak blood glucose when compared to control. These findings highlight a potential benefit for supplementation in overweight and obese humans, though research is needed to investigate this possibility.

Vegetable Peptase - 50mg

This enzyme works to break down large protein molecules into smaller ones called peptides.

As this enzyme supports the digestion of the food we consume, supplementation should help avoid symptoms related to undigested food such as bloating, gas, heartburn, and lack of energy.

However, support for the use of vegetable peptidase in this regard is lacking.

Methylsulfonylmethane (MSM) - 50mg

MSM is a naturally occurring sulfur compound thought to offer anti-inflammatory and antioxidant benefits.

Treatment with 3g/day of MSM over 4-weeks in subjects completing resistance training improved blood tests that indicate antioxidant capacity, as well as exercise recovery.

When supplemented along with glucosamine, chondroitin sulfate, guava leaf extract, and vitamin D, 300 mg of MSM improved pain in patients with knee arthritis, though these results were not conclusive.

Larch Arabinogalactan - 50mg

Larch arabinogalactan is a complex carbohydrate from the larch tree (Larix occidentalis) thought to offer anti-microbial and immune boosting benefits.

Those randomized to 4.5g of an larch arabinogalactan had fewer colds over a 3-month span when compared to placebo.

With respect to anti-lectin activity, larch arabinogalactan did not limit lectin activity I a laboratory model.

Is Lectin Shield Safe?

In general, most of Lectin Shield’s ingredients should be well tolerated by most users, with the most common side effects being digestive upset and gassiness/bloating.

These ingredients lack substantial, long-term human studies that investigate various doses in different populations. As most of the available literature is in laboratory or animal models, it is challenging to confidently determine the safety of this product.

Of the ingredients included in Lectin Shield, MSM and larch arabinogalactan have been tested the most in humans. The Food and Drug Administration (FDA) consider MSM to be safe at dosages less than 4845.6 mg/day, while doses up to 4500 mg/day were safe in humans.

Additionally, due to the N Acetyl D-Glucosamine content, you should not take Lectin Shield if you’re allergic to shellfish.

It is safest to speak with your physician before use. Identifying the underlying source for any symptoms you may be experiencing is a good place to start on your road to management.

How Much Does Gundry MD Lectin Shield Cost?

Lectin Shield is available at Gundry MD’s site in the following quantities:

  • 1 Bottle: $49.95 + $4.95 Shipping
  • 3 Bottles: $131.85 + Free Shipping
  • 6 Bottles: $239.70 + Free Shipping

All Gundry MD supplements (more about this next) come with a 90-day money back guarantee, less S&H charges.

In order to request a refund, you’ll need to call Gundry MD customer service at (800) 852-0477.

Lectin Shield is also available through Amazon at $54.25 per bottle. Shipping is currently free, though this supplement is not prime eligible.

Are There Any Alternatives to Lectin Shield?

There are a number of “Lectin Blockers” currently available from different vendors.

Lectin Guard from KaraMD offers a 30-day supply of their formulation for at $29.95 on Amazon. It has bladderwrack, okra fruit, and sodium alginate in common with Lectin Shield, and at comparable doses.

Lectin Lock from Stop Aging Now is yet another option that has an ingredient list almost identical to Lectin Shield, though they offer 400mg of N-Acetyl Glucosamine. They offer multi-bottle savings; 1 bottle/$29.95, 3 bottles/$80.85, and 6 bottles/$149.70.

Another option would be adopting a meal plan that limits lectin intake. Again, it can be challenging to hit daily nutrient requirements by omitting so many foods.

What Are Users Saying About Lectin Shield?

At 4.4 out of 5-stars on over 240 reviews, users seem to report favorable experiences with Lectin Shield.

Over 65% of reviewers rate this supplement at 5-stars. The most satisfied customers cited reduced gas, bloating, diarrhea, and constipation.

Those that rated Lectin Shield 3-stars or less made up about 8% of all reviewers. Unsatisfied customers mainly cited lack of results and expensive pricing for their negative experience, though others mentioned side effects such as diarrhea, constipation, and heartburn.

Gundry MD did seem responsive to those with negative experiences though representatives could do little more than offer a money-back guarantee or suggest seeing a physician.

Will Lectin Shield Provide “Comprehensive Anti-Lectin Health Support”?

Of the many reported benefits from the ingredients included in Lectin Shield, the proposed anti-lectin actions remain unclear. There simply isn’t much support for this action, and most of what the available research is laboratory or animal studies.

This makes determining efficacy challenging as results obtained from animal studies or laboratory models are not necessarily relatable to humans. Promising results in these investigations may highlight the need for more research, however, some of the studies we have reviewed here do not hint at the potential for some of the ingredients.

Also, the doses tested in animals and in the laboratory likely differ from what may be safe and effective in humans. It is therefore hard to draw conclusions from the available research regarding the safety of this supplement.

Though most ingredients are likely safe even at higher doses, be sure to speak to your physician first.

As this is a relatively expensive supplement, particularly if you plan to take it consistently, you may want to look elsewhere in light of the currently available scientific support.


Customer Reviews

Start your review of Lectin Shield:
  • 241 Customer Reviews
  • 90% Recommend This Company
4.4 out of 5
5 star: 65% 4 star: 21% 3 star: 6% 2 star: 2% 1 star: 4%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • This company is actively collecting reviews from its customers. All reviews submitted are subject to moderation and approval to ensure they meet our Review Guidelines.
  • Don't buy or trust this company!

    • By Victor Holton,
    • Indianapolis, IN,
    • Jan 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    After a high-pressure internet "educational" video, I purchased THREE bottles of this product.

    I got it home and realized that I am allergic to the ingredients in the product! Do you think that the company will stand behind their product video and admit that they failed to mention not to buy if you are allergic to SHELLFISH?

    I can now mail it back at MY EXPENSE. I question the reputation of this allegedly "renowned" physician.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Feb 6, 2018

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Hi Victor. My name is Aria and I work at Gundry MD. Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your situation. I am so sorry for the confusion that we caused. The ingredients of Lectin Shield are clearly stated on our website www.gundrymd.com, under the "Supplement Facts" section. On this image, you will see the text saying, "Allergy Warning: Contains Crustacean Shellfish." Also, we always suggest that our customers consult their primary physician before starting any new product to ensure that it is right for them. Again, I am so sorry for the miscommunication that we have caused. I would love to issue you a full refund, no need to send anything back! Please email me directly at Aria@Gundrymd.com. I look forward to hearing from you and making this right!


  • System glitch

    Overall Experience:

    I logged in searching for Lectin Shield, looking for the best deal. It was a single bottle for $79.95, but I clicked the button at the top for deals for new customers, chose the 6-bottle price at what appeared to be $37.45 each. I had just listened to the video and wanted to try it. I went through the process and made the purchase.

    I had to tell the system "NO" to 4-5 additional products, including Vital Reds as I already take a 'Feds' product I like. I discovered at the end of the order that I actually purchased Vital Reds. Had I not scrolled down and looked at the receipt, I would have received Vital Reds in a few days, and probably would have had to pay to ship them back.

    I called immediately and they canceled the order. I decided not to try the product after all!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Feb 7, 2018

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Hi Sharalyn, I'm Aria from Gundry MD. Thank you so much for taking the time to reach out to me regarding your ordering experience. I am so sorry about the glitch that occurred while you were ordering Lectin Shield. Thank you for bringing this to my attention as I take these comments seriously, so I will do my best to make any changes necessary to avoid this issue in the future. I am happy to hear that our customer service department was able to assist you with canceling the order. If you have any other questions or concerns at all, please feel free to email me directly at Aria@gundrymd.com. Again, I am so sorry for the frustration and inconvenience that occurred.


  • Beware, unless you want to lose your money.

    Overall Experience:

    I am not commenting on the product, I don't know if it works, but about their billing practices. I bought a 6 months supply by Visa. I was shocked that they sent and used my Visa details to fund another order also of 12 months supply. I immediately contacted them, but they won't refund my money as they say it has been shipped despite the fact I placed the order at 1 am Eastern Standard Time. Do US workers even work then? Surely there must be laws in the US to protect consumers. They exist in our country.

    So beware, don't trust this company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • May 18, 2018

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Hi Julia, my name is Aria with Gundry MD. I’m very sorry to hear that this was your experience. Firstly, I want to thank you for trying Lectin Shield. Customer experience is our number one priority, and I want to apologize that your experience was not a reflection of this. It sounds like you accidentally enrolled in our monthly subscription service, but I would like to emphasize that this is a completely optional feature, and I would be more than happy to opt you out of. With that said, I would love to issue you a full refund for the product that you did not intend to order, and no need to send anything back. Please email me at Aria@GundryMD.com to begin the refund process. Thank you!


  • Refund

    Overall Experience:

    I listened to the entire video about Lectin Shield and felt convinced that this product could give me digestive strength, which I have always felt I struggled with. When I ordered Lectin Shield, I wasn't feeling sick, but then I started feeling bad pain in my stomach just before receiving my bottle of the Lectin Shield. I started taking it in the hopes that it will aide in me feeling better. I went to see my doctor for the pain, it has been so bad, and he wants to do tests and procedures to find what is going on and told me to stop taking Lectin Shield. He wasn't saying that Lectin Shield caused my problem and neither am I, but at this time, something is wrong and I need to stop all meds, etc.

    When I am diagnosed and feeling better, I will consider ordering again, if this refund goes smoothly, which so far it hasn't. I have written twice asking for instructions to send my bottle back and receive my refund and have gotten NO response, which really concerns me for any future order with this company! It shouldn't be this difficult!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Buyer beware, you will lose your money!

    • By Kiki D.,
    • Sydney, Australia,
    • Jul 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I bought a six month supply by using my Visa, as I thought the 90-day return would be ok if the product were a scam, but I was so shocked to see after checkout they used my Visa details to fund another order of 12 months supply! I immediately contacted them, but they won't refund my money as they say it had been shipped, despite the fact I placed the order at 1:00 am Eastern Standard Time. I contacted them as soon as I saw the additional amount on the receipt!

    I pointed this out to them and they took numerous days to reply to further messages that I sent expressing serious concerns, about what they did. And I mentioned a couple of other issues that made the transaction appear completely dodgy, as the information they said in emails contradicted information in the lengthy video. Each email avoided my request to cancel the order and gave pre-rehearsed marketing type answers. This is ambush marketing and theft.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Stomach pain

    • By Kris M.,
    • Florida,
    • Jul 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have been taking Lectin Shield for a couple of weeks. I primarily decided to take it to help with digestive issues. One of my primary concerns is bloating and some irregularity. My experience has been that my stomach hurts and is bloated each time I take a dose. One benefit is that my regularity has improved. However, I think I'm going to stop taking it. I'm sitting here with a heating pad on my stomach because I'm experiencing so much discomfort. It's not worth it to me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Aug 20, 2018

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Hi Kris, my name is Aria with Gundry MD. I’m very sorry to hear that this was your experience with Lectin Shield. I’m happy to hear that your regularity has improved, but abdominal pain is not a typical side effect of taking Lectin Shield. Please stop taking the product until you consult your physician to ensure that it is right for you. If you are unable to take Lectin Shield or would like to return your product, please email me at aria@gundrymd.com, and I will be more than happy to issue you a full refund just for giving the product a try.


  • Use it when out

    Overall Experience:

    I don't use this product regularly. Instead, I use when I am invited out to a meal or traveling, as protection against unexpected lectins. Sometimes it is just not possible to avoid all lectins when you are traveling or invited out to a meal.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Dec 14, 2017

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Hi Mark! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. You are so right! In an ideal world, we would be able to avoid all lectins all of the time but we do understand that this may not be possible for everybody. Although we do strongly encourage it, and that is the exact reason Lectin Shield was created. We are so glad to hear that you are using it when you can to avoid lectins as much as possible! If you ever have any questions along the way, please feel free to reach out to me at Aria@Gundrymd.com. Take care!


  • Effectively ripped

    • By Eileen P.,
    • Jul 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    If you want to get effectively ripped in less than an hour all it takes is to listen to the Lectin Shield video. Dr. Gundry has a clever way of pushing you into a nine bottle purchase without even requesting one. Beware of such hackers! I heard the whole video to learn in the end they just want to push products and volume.

    I decided a 3-bottle trial but realized inadvertly they sold me into 9 bottles. I called immediately to cancel the order but they said the order had been shipped! How efficient! I called my bank to stop the order.

    In less than I week I had the order in my house and a charge of $168.00. I tried 2 pills and got diarrhea immediately. I do not suffer constipation but bought the story of preventing glue in my bloodstream. I will follow his advise and try for 30 days and decide to return the other 8 or continue as another guinea pig and confirm if I was effectively ripped off.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Aug 20, 2018

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Hi Eileen, my name is Aria with Gundry MD. I’m very sorry to hear that this was your experience. It is never our intention to confused or trick our customers into purchasing unwanted products. Thank you for giving Lectin Shield a try, but as always, we ask that you consult your physician to ensure that Lectin Shield is right for you. If at any time you are unable to take the product, please email me at aria@gundrymd.com and I will be more than happy to issue you a full refund.


  • Initial thoughts

    • By Joe H.,
    • Indiana,
    • Jul 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Why the supplement if you follow The Plant Paradox diet? The whole online order process reeks of snake oil with offer after offer presented to you before placing the final original order. I am trying one bottle and carefully monitoring digestive, energy, weight loss results. I'm currently following a whole food plant based diet and going to incorporate a few diet changes based on The Plant Paradox book. Thirty days should show, according to the program.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Aug 20, 2018

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Hi there. My name is Aria with Gundry MD. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! I’m sorry to hear that your perception of us is negative. We in no way are trying to deceive our customers. As you can see, many of our customers have tried and loved Lectin Shield. I want to thank you for giving our product a try but if at any time you are unimproved or unable to take Lectin Shield, please email me at aria@gundrymd.com, and I will be more than happy to provide you with a full refund.


  • Great product

    Overall Experience:

    Lectin Shield by Dr. Gundry is an amazing product to help in bloating belly, and it's made me feel satisfied. Thank you, Dr. Gundry, keep up the great work in your scientific contribution to great health. God bless.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Dec 14, 2017

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Hi Francisco! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review about your experience with Lectin Shield! We are so glad to hear that Lectin Shield has been able to keep the bloating down and has left you feeling satisfied! This is great news. Feel free to shoot me an email at Aria@Gundrymd.com if you ever need anything!


  • Canadian buyers beware

    • By Sandy,
    • Victoria, British Columbia, Canada,
    • Apr 18, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I received my bottle of Lectin Shield today and understood the cost for shipping and handling to be minimal (which turned out to be $9.95, not bad). The Canadian government converted the original cost to Canadian money and charged me PST and GST on the above, which was over $58.15. I had to pay the taxes at the post office before I could get these goods.

    Note: on the bottle, it says to just take two tablets a day just before your biggest meal. It doesn't say to take two twice a day like in the above article.

    I am hoping for small miracles with this and will keep in touch.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Jul 21, 2017

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Hello Sandy, thank you for reaching out about your experience with Lectin Shield. I sincerely apologize for any extra fees you were charged by customs. Unfortunately, only 10% of international products are flagged when they go through customs and we have absolutely no control over what your country of residence chooses to charge you.

      In addition, the frequency in which you take the pills varies for each customer. We recommend starting with two per day, which can be increased on an as needed basis. I would love to hear about your continued progress with Lectin Shield. Please feel free to email me with any updates at aria@gundrymd.com. Thank you Sandy.


Showing 1-11 of 241

Write a Review for Lectin Shield!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Lectin Shield