About LifeVantage

As a self-proclaimed leader in Nrf2 science, LifeVantage is a nutraceutical company that claims to manufacture scientifically-validated products focused on healthy living and the reduction of oxidative stress. As such, LifeVantage’s products and network marketing business structure are claimed to help people achieve healthy living.

But when it comes down to it, is the LifeVantage opportunity really an “opportunity,” and are their supplements really “deeply rooted in science?” Keep reading to find out.

How LifeVantage Works

At its most basic, LifeVantage a manufacturer of nutraceutical products who provides compensation to independent Distributors who sell them. The company has been around for several years, and you may have watched a clip about the company on ABC’s PrimeTime show, or you may have been approached by a friend or family member who is already a Distributor. As a result, you’re probably interested in learning more about the company.

As such, let’s take a closer look at LifeVantage’s products, as well as their business model.

LifeVantage Products

LifeVantage claims that science is the foundation behind all of their products, and that their flagship supplement Prodantim was developed by Dr. Joe McCord, co-discoverer of superoxide dismutase (SOD), an enzyme claimed to eliminate free radicals. As such, the company claims to hold an active patent on Protandim and several of their other products.

With this in mind, LifeVantage claims that all of their products are formulated around Nrf2 technology, which is a “a powerful protein that is latent within each cell in the body, unable to move or operate until it is released by an Nrf2 activator.” In layman’s terms, Nrf2 is claimed to signal your DNA to produce antioxidants, which may provide a wide variety of benefits, including protection from free radicals.

As such, here are LifeVantage’s Nrf2-based products:

  • Protandim – Using natural plant ingredients, this is a daily “NRF2 synergizer” dietary supplement that is claimed to help reduce oxidative stress by an average of 40% in 30 days, which is accomplished by increasing the amount of antioxidant enzymes produced by your body.
  • TrueScience – An anti-aging beauty system that uses Nrf2 technology to provide instant and cumulative anti-aging benefits, including increased hydration, smoother, brighter, and luminous skin, and more. Included in the system are an Ultra Gentle Facial Cleanser, Perfecting Lotion, Eye Corrector Serum, and Anti-Aging Cream.
  • Canine Health – May help reduce oxidative stress in dogs, in addition to supporting brain, eye, and skin function, supporting joint health and mobility, and supporting cognitive function.

The LifeVantage Opportunity

LifeVantage also provides individuals with the opportunity to sell their supplements as an independent Distributor, which the company claims have more than 67,000 of as of the end of the 2013 fiscal year.

When compared to other network marketing/MLM companies, LifeVantage claims to offer a real opportunity for real people that can help them feel good and lead a healthy life, while moving them toward financial independence. In addition, LifeVantage claims to have a compensation plan like no other, which includes a variety of bonuses and pools, as well as royalty commissions.

On top of this, LifeVantage claims to have created a proven system that can help you improve your chances for success, which they’ve named the Master Track program. This system is claimed to include a training manual, weekly training programs, training calls, conference calls, personal mentoring, monthly training meetings, quarterly events and annual conventions, in addition to incentives and promotions.

LifeVantage Pricing & Refund Policy

LifeVantage products are priced as follows:

  • Protandim: $50 ($40 for Preferred Customers)
  • TrueScience: $211 for the complete set ($160 for Preferred Customers). Note: Each product in the set is also available for individual purchase.
  • Canine Health: $30 ($25 for Preferred Customers)

The LifeVantage Preferred Customer program is basically an autoship program, where you’ll receive a reduced price for agreeing to receive automatic monthly shipments of your chosen product(s).

All unopened LifeVantage products come with a 30-day refund policy, less S&H charges. This means that in order to be eligible for a refund they must be in original condition with all safety seals in tact and in saleable condition.

If you’re looking to become a LifeVantage Distributor, you’ll be required to fill out an application and pay $50 for a Start Kit, which includes 1 (30-pack) Presentation Tear Off Pad, 1 (25-pack) Newspapers, 1 (10-pack) LifeVantage Opportunity DVDs, 1 LifeVantage Decal, a 2 disc set Pro Audio series, plus an additional four weeks of discs. On top of this, you can purchase single LifeVantage products or entire packages that range from $25 to $630 each.

In order to ask additional questions about the Distributor program, to request a refund, or to cancel your Preferred Customer enrollment, you’ll need to contact LifeVantage customer service at 866-460-7241.

Note: Protandim is also sold through Amazon.com if you’d rather avoid having to go through a Distributor to purchase.

What Do Other Consumers Have to Say About LifeVantage?

From a Distributorship perspective, it appears that LifeVantage has a positive reputation for paying on time and according to their commission structure. On the other hand, many Distributors have claimed that the company’s high prices can make their products difficult to sell. In addition, several Distributors have voiced their concern about the lack of clinical evidence showing that their products work, which is something we’ll discuss in more detail in the final section. For now though, this website provides a very in-depth series of articles about LifeVantage and their products, including Dr. Joe McCord’s role at the company.

From a consumer standpoint, it appears that LifeVantage’s products have an evenly mixed online reputation, with some of the most common complaints referencing failure to work (as advertised or at all), high price, nausea/upset stomach/diarrhea, skin reactions (redness, welts, etc.), and bad taste.

Can LifeVantage Improve Your Health & Your Financial Position?

With all of this information in mind (and there’s a lot of it!), can LifeVantage’s supplements improve your health, and can their Distributorship program provide all the financial benefits it claims? Perhaps, although it’s important that you keep the following in mind:

Network Marketing/MLM Opportunities

First, keep in mind that when it comes to multi-level marketing (MLM) opportunities, including popular options such as Amway and Herbalife, it’s often the case that earning a solid income takes much more time, effort, and money than the companies may initially lead you to believe. And while it’s positive that LifeVantage seems to offer a fairly robust support system, the reality is that the vast majority of independent representatives end up losing money on the venture.

Note: Even among those who do make money, according to LifeVantage’s Earnings Claims Statement, the vast majority of Distributors make $570 or less per month in commissions, while the bulk of those actually earned $120 or less per month.

With this said, if you’re thinking about becoming a LifeVantage Distributor, be sure to thoroughly understand what you’re getting yourself into, including watching the company’s Basic and Detailed compensation plan videos.

Product Ingredients

It’s important to note that none of the company’s supplements include a product label or ingredients list on the LifeVantage website. This is a bit disconcerting, as this is something you’ll be putting in your (or your dog’s) body, and you deserve to know exactly what’s in it.

Fortunately, we were able to locate an ingredients list for Protandim on a third-party website, which includes the following:

  • Milk thistle extract (225 mg - 80% silymarin)
  • Bacopa extract (150 mg - 45% bacosides)
  • Ashwagandha root powder (150 mg)
  • Green tea extract (75 mg - 98% polyphenols)
  • Turmeric extract (75 mg -95% curcumin)

Clinical Studies & Efficacy

Now that we know more about some of the ingredients contained in LifeVantage products, let’s see what science has to say about their efficacy.

Regarding Protandim, ConsumerLab.com notes: “A daily serving of one caplet provides, with the exception of milk thistle extract, amounts of each ingredient far below those used in clinical trials,” and that “Protandim may have antioxidant activity, but there is little evidence that it provides any therapeutic benefit in humans.” In other words, between the only 2 clinical studies performed on humans, Protandim was only shown to be effective in one of them. All other studies have been conducted on mice and/or in vitro.

For additional in-depth scientific looks at Protandim and other LifeVantage products, we’d highly recommend this SupplementGeek.com review as well.

Note: There was a Protandim recall in December 2012 due to “the potential for contamination with small metal fragments.” However, it appears the issue has since been addressed.

Bottom line

Regardless of whether you’re thinking about joining LifeVantage as a Distributor or are simply interested in buying their supplements, keep in mind that unless you have a great deal of time to commit, you may end up losing money, and that there is only the slightest clinical evidence showing that their products work as advertised.

Tired of Wasting Money? Want to Learn to Shop Smarter?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

17 Consumer Reviews for LifeVantage

Average Consumer Rating: 3.6
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 11 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 0 1 star:  6
Bottom Line: 65% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 17
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    It works!

    All I know is my son-in-law had chronic high blood pressure and was on blood pressure meds for years. After 2 months of taking Protandim, he cut his meds in half and in 3 months, he is off medication with normal blood pressure.

    It also cured a rare skin disease that the doctor said there was no cure. With Protandim, it is gone!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Keeps my Chihuahua alive

    • New York,
    • Aug 28, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    My small Chihuahua has been on medications for epilepsy for 15 years. When she was close to ten years old, her liver functions started going bad. The first product call given to her "Marin" helped for a while, and then we needed to try something a little more potent. Canine LifeVantage has given her better liver function, energy and runs like a puppy. This is how lucky I am to still have her. Without this supplement, she would be dead.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    This stuff is great!

    • Missouri,
    • Aug 28, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    My husband had very bad asthmatic issues and we agreed to try it because nothing else had helped. He had been in and out of the hospital about ten times each year over the last two years. Doctors had told him he would die soon if something did not change. The last time he was in the hospital they ran lots of tests and found scarring on his lungs. He is in his twenties, not a 70-year-old chain smoker.

    He started taking Protandim right after the hospital, and they ran the same tests on him. The tests showed his lung scars were fading away. He has not been hospitalized since. The doctors are amazed by it. This was the only thing different he did. It has been a relief to not constantly worry about his health.

    P.S. I took it and have had more energy with a rambunctious 11-month-old than before I had her. I can't promise a certain result, but it does help your body go back to how it should be.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 14 people found this review helpful

    You can never cancel!

    They trick you into buying their pills, then they actually are extremely expensive! And you can NOT cancel your own orders without contacting the salesperson who will just try to guilt trip you into keeping them. It's $100+ per month!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 14 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Cancer survivor - Protandim works!

    I want to say first, no, I do not sell Protandim, but a friend does and suggested Protandim when I was diagnosed with cancer (Stage 4 I might add, with tumor markers over 400, yup!). When I started taking Protandim along with my chemo my tumor markers dropped anywhere from 10-20 points. When I stopped taking it (only because I ran out), my tumor markers barely moved (3-5pts).

    I have full blood work every month because of chemo and other meds. I will say my experience has been a blessing because it's a one and a half year later and my tumor markers are about 33 points, and I feel great!

    So it doesn't matter what the FDA says or what some skeptical person says, when you're sick, especially with something like cancer, I promise you will try anything to live one more day. I was lucky enough to have a friend who cared enough for me to tell me about Protandim and the faith to believe that it would help me get better. It did!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 19 out 24 people found this review helpful

    Best health products ever!

    I have been taking Protandim for six years. When I started, I was 61 and am now 67 years of age. Many of my health problems like osteopenia, acid reflux disease, arthritis inflammation and much more have disappeared.

    I attribute Protandim to keeping away my gray hair. In fact, my hair has gone dark again! It helped me sleep better, got rid of my restless leg syndrome and I would thoroughly recommend it to everyone looking for optimal health. I am a healthcare professional and will continue taking this forever!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 26, 2017

      John Dozier

      Well, I find this article very informative. I also do not trust any of the five-star reviews written about the product because they are most likely written by people invested in some way on the success of Protandim. Also, I find it sad that they sued the lazy man writer at the link you provided, so we now I can't read that article.

      With all of that said, I hope the author of this article does not get sued by the makers of Protandim. In conclusion, I will never buy this product because I'm convinced it is snake oil.

      Disclaimer: I could be making it all up, please don't sue me Protandim. I am poor enough as it is.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 24 out 27 people found this review helpful

    Best pill I've ever tried!

    After taking the Nrf2 by LifeVantage, by day three I had a better attitude and by day six, no more back spasms (lower back pain because I had surgery). After day 15, my kidney stopped hurting, and by day 30, my A.D.D. focus was amazing on Axio. Unbelievable!

    It's a miracle pill, and the Axio drink brought back my recall ability. I am 55 years old. If you're suffering, it's worth a try. Live healthily!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 18 out 21 people found this review helpful

    The only pill I will ever take

    • Feb 9, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'm not one who likes medication, and I would always refuse to take anything. When Protandim was introduced to my family I liked the information about it, so I started taking it (my mother was shocked haha), and I have been taking it for four years now.

    Some people complain that it makes them sick or that it isn't working. If you get sick from taking it, it means you are being detoxed, and you have a lot of oxidated stress. I would not recommend it to old people. It helps my depression and anxiety, and if I don't take it, my emotions are off the wall.

    Also, the AXIO has helped my mood, and whenever I start getting upset at work, and I'm getting frustrated at everyone, I will drink an AXIO. It takes awhile to kick in, but once it does, I'm on top of the world. I'm so happy that my co-workers say I'm on drugs, but that's just how I act when I'm in a good mood. I let one of my co-workers try it because he was tired, and he said it helped a little bit.

    love the products, and I will be taking them for the rest of my life!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 21, 2017

      Angelo Vergara

      Do you have an anxiety disorder or depression? Have you recovered from it using Protandim? I have generalized anxiety disorder, and I'm interested in Protandim. I just want to know if it has helped people with my issue. Thank you.

    • May 13, 2017

      Eileen Lee

      Hi there,

      I took Protandim finally, after blowing off my good friend for a year and a half. I was getting ready to cancel on my second month because I didn't feel anything. I went to dial the phone and realized, oh I have fingernails! I never had them. I bit them to the quick since the age of three. That was my key, you see?

      I didn't feel the depression, anxiety or tension that drove me to bite them. I love this stuff. I took it for nine months, and then finally became a distributor as I could not stop talking about it. Angelo, you have nothing to lose. Good luck. Remember this, it works differently for each person according to their need, and you should take it for at least six months and take note of the changes that take place.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 19 out 25 people found this review helpful

    These are incredible products

    The products are incredible. It's an incredible company and I'm so thankful I was introduced to LV 2 years ago. It's really one of the best I've found.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 36 out 41 people found this review helpful

    Protandim

    • los angeles,ca,
    • Oct 12, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    My wife and I have been taking Protandim for 6 months. My wife suffers from Hypo Thyroidism and had been through the ringer with her Endocrinologist. She had tried generic medicine and name brands. Increased the dosage and then decrease the dosage. She was all over the map and still feeling miserable and her levels being way off. It wasn't until she started taking Protandim that she started feeling better. She now has the energy to get through the day and has been doing a boot camp every morning for the past 3 months. She feels that she's got her life back, and the only thing she did differently was she started taking the Protandim.

    For myself, I've battled inflammation and lower back issues and restricted flexibility. What I've noticed after being on Protandim is that my flexibility has increased and I no longer have a feeling of "man my muscles are so tight". I also noticed that my recovery from intense gym workouts is quicker than before.

    I think that the Protandim being part of MLM gets a bad rap. There is a lot of research out there and a lot of stuff to dig through. So everyone has to come to their own conclusion. No one's body is made the same so everyone is going to have a different experience. I'm sure a lot of people take Vitamin C every day assuming they helping their immune system, but do they feel the effects? No, but they assume it's working.

    Same with green tea or many other things. So in my opinion, Protandim has worked for me and my wife and we have referred it to other people to try. I read the articles, both good and bad and have come to my own conclusion. The biggest thing for me is that wife feels like she has her life back and that's what is most important and we both feel great.

    I don't believe that there is one magic pill that cures everything. You have to choose a healthy lifestyle and take the necessary actions of eating healthy, exercising, and just plain and simple taking care of yourself as you get older. So that's my 2 cents. If you're thinking about trying Protandim you should. Avoid the noise of the MLM or if the person is trying to get you to be a distributor. Think about your health first and see what kind of results you get. Good luck.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 65 out 109 people found this review helpful

    Run from Pretendium!

    • Seattle, WA,
    • Apr 2, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    After really high sales pressure, I agreed and gave money to LifeVantage, and signed up for monthly checking account deductions. I went to a couple of sales meetings, where I was promised a silver BMW if I was successful.

    But then I did research on these human clinical studies, only to find out it was a joke, and I had been scammed really bad!

    It's a placebo vitamin MLM group, just like Amway. Run from it, as they want you to burn your friends and family, and really milk them for money. It caused a family hardship, because my little brother is naive and under educated. Run from these idiots!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 4, 2017

      Chaylee

      You spelled Protandim wrong and whoever told you that you'd get a BMW is wrong. It's the people who scammed you, not the company.

    • Apr 26, 2017

      John Dozier

      The people are the company. He probably misspelled it on purpose so he wouldn't get sued. By the way, he is spot on! I completely believe everything he said. I also hope that potential customers read his comments to prevent it from happening to them.

    • Oct 3, 2017

      Mike

      LOL. I know a 19-year-old making $20K a month selling this product, I use it myself. NBC scam busters did a show and said that it's a real deal. Wayne obviously was misinformed or lacked the comprehension of how MLM works or Protandium. Anyone who thinks this is a joke product still believes leaches cure-all.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 17

Write a Review for LifeVantage!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review