Thrive Experience Review: Does It Really Work?

By HighYa Research Team
Published on: Sep 18, 2018

Le-vel Brands describes Thrive Experience as an eight-week premium lifestyle system involving three premium products that, when used together, can help support benefits in the areas like weight and pain management, cognitive performance, anti-aging, digestion, immunity, and joint health, to name just a few.

This way, their website advertises the system can “help you experience peak physical and mental levels,” and “live, look, and feel Ultra Premium like never before,” regardless of your current health or physical fitness.

They claim that all you have to do is set a goal, commit to the experience for eight weeks, and start thriving in all areas of your life. This is whether you’re looking to lose weight, tone up, take your workouts to new heights, make better food choices, or increase your energy levels.

And for those who choose to promote the Thrive Experience, Le-vel advertises that they can also help you reach your financial goals.

According to the company’s website, Thrive Experience has changed millions of lives. But, whether you’re looking to become a customer or a promoter, will yours be next?

Before you hand over your hard-earned money, make a more empowered decision by quickly reading through everything we learned during our research.

Taking a Closer Look at Thrive Experience’s Products and Ingredients

In total, customers will take a combination of three Thrive products over their eight-week Experience regimen: Premium Lifestyle Capsules, Ultra Micronized Lifestyle Shake Mix, and Premium Lifestyle DFT (Derma Fusion Technology).

Together, Le-vel advertises their “premium naturopathic and synergistic formula of Vitamins, Minerals, Plant Extracts, Anti-Oxidants, Enzymes, Pro-Biotics, and Amino Acids is like nothing your body has ever experienced! What’s even better is that the experience is gender specific for Men & Women.” All you have to do is:

  1. Take two Thrive capsules in the AM on an empty stomach.
  2. Enjoy the Shake Mix 20-40 minutes later.
  3. Apply Derma Fusion Technology (DFT) to clean, dry skin.

Let’s zoom in and examine each one of these in detail.

Formulated for Men Supplement

According to the supplement facts label on their website, the men’s formula contains the following ingredients:

  • Vitamin A 1,500 IU
  • Vitamin B1 1.4 mg
  • Vitamin B2 1.7 mg
  • Vitamin B3 12 mg
  • Vitamin B5 10 mg
  • Vitamin B6 2 mg
  • Folic Acid 800 mcg
  • Vitamin B12 100 mcg
  • Vitamin D3 200 IU
  • Chromium 200 mcg
  • Selenium 90 mcg
  • Vanadium 25 mcg
  • Proprietary Blend 526 mg: B. Lactis, L. acidophilus, L. casei, L. helveticus, L. salivarius, L. plantarum, L. rhamnosus, Guarana Caffeine, Green Tea Caffeine, Glucosamine, White Willow Extract, Green Coffee Bean, PEA, Irvingia Extract, Theobromine, Ginger Extract, Citrus Aurantium Extract, Glutamine, L-Arginine, Grape Seed Extract, BCAA Blend, CoQ10, Kelp, White Tea Extract

When taken regularly, Le-vel Brands explains these ingredients can help support weight management, cognitive performance, healthy joint function, lean muscle, and optimal digestion.

And according to sites like the Natural Medicines Database, WebMD, and Examine.com, most of these vitamins and minerals play critical roles in different aspects of bodily function. Therefore, if a person is deficient, they could reasonably experience many of the problems Formulated for Men promises to address.

However, these same sites, as well as organizations like the National Institutes of Health and the American Academy of Family Physicians (to name just a couple), indicate that unless you’re deficient, adding these vitamins and minerals to your diet likely won’t deliver meaningful benefits.

» See Also: Do You Need to Take Vitamins or Dietary Supplements?

On the other hand, the bacteria species contained in Formulated for Men (B. Lactis, L. acidophilus, L. casei, L. helveticus, L. salivarius, L. plantarum, L. rhamnosus), collectively known as probiotics, have been used for decades to help improve digestion and reduce gassiness and bloating.

With these details in mind, WebMD and the Natural Medicines Database indicate there’s insufficient clinical evidence to support the manufacturer’s claims for the remaining ingredients found in Formulated for Men.

Formulated for Women Supplement

Although the Le-vel website emphasizes that “the experience is gender specific,” Formulated for Women’s label reflects the exact same ingredients, in the exact same dosages, as the men’s version.

The only difference is that Women features a 1 mg higher concentration of ingredients in its proprietary blend (527 mg vs. 526 mg).

Ultra Micronized Lifestyle Shake Mix

Described by Le-vel as a nutrient and mineral-dense formula that can help support lean muscle, weight management, and fitness with the following ingredients:

  • Vitamin A 2,500 IU
  • Vitamin C 24 mg
  • Vitamin D 200 IU
  • Vitamin E 10.5 IU
  • Thiamine 750 mcg
  • Riboflavin 850 mcg
  • Vitamin B6 1 mg
  • Folate 200 mcg
  • Biotin 135 mcg
  • Pantothenic Acid 4 mg
  • Calcium 400 mg
  • Iodine 60 mcg
  • Magnesium 100 mg
  • Zinc 6.75 mg
  • Selenium 14 mcg
  • Copper 1 mg
  • Manganese 600 mcg
  • Chromium 60 mcg
  • Molybdenum 38 mcg
  • Proprietary Blend 1,595 mg: Garcinia Fruit Extract, Oat Fiber, Natural Caffeine from Black Tea, Lactobacillus Acidophilus, Rice Bran, Amylase 5000, Bromelain 600GDU, Cardamom Seed Extract, Cellulase 1000, Ginger Root, Lipase 1000, Papain 6000, Protease 1000, Protease 5000, Cinnamon Bark Extract

As with the Men’s and Women’s supplements, most of these vitamins and minerals are essential for proper bodily function, and can lead to a lot of unwanted side effects if someone’s deficient.

However, sites like the Natural Medicines Database and WebMD indicate there’s insufficient clinical evidence that they can deliver on Le-vel’s weight loss or fitness-related claims.

Premium Lifestyle DFT (Derma Fusion Technology)

This small skin patch in the Thrive Experience system promises to use special Derma Fusion Technology (DFT) to “infuse the derma (skin) with [a] unique, premium grade formula, and to result in a delivery rate benefiting the individual over an extended period of time.”

Specifically, they claim the greater bioavailability, absorption, and nutritional support delivered by DFT will help with appetite and weight management, mental acuity, and energy and circulation.

No dosages or actual delivery rates are listed on the Le-vel website, although we’re told the patch will provide the following ingredients: ForsLean®, Green Coffee Bean Extract, Garcinia Cambogia, CoQ10, White Willow Bark, Cosmoperine®, Limonene, Aloe Vera, and L-Arginine.

Referencing the same sites noted in previous sections, CoQ10 has been shown to provide potential benefits like reduced blood pressure and an improvement in some heart-related conditions, and white willow bark contains salicin, a chemical that relieves mild pain similar to aspirin. L-arginine is also listed as possibly effective for addressing issues like chest pain, erectile dysfunction, and high blood pressure, to name just a few.

The problem, according to Monica Reinagel, MS, LD/N, CNS, a board-certified, licensed nutritionist and professionally trained chef, is that:

“In order to be absorbed through your skin and into your bloodstream, a compound needs to have at least two things going for it. It needs to be lipophilic, or fat-soluble. And it needs to be very, very small. A lot of the compounds found in commercially-marketed transdermal patches are neither.”

In other words, she explains, “I very highly doubt that much if any of the green tea extract or garcinia cambogia embedded in [a] weight loss patch is actually going to end up in your bloodstream. Then again, even if it did, it probably wouldn’t result in noticeable weight loss.”

She summarizes by saying, “Transdermal nutrition may indeed be the wave of the future! But I'm afraid the future is not yet here.”

Could Any Products in Thrive’s Experience Lineup Cause Side Effects?

Examine.com, WebMD, and the Natural Medicines Database report that most of these ingredients won’t cause side effects worse than mild nausea and digestive upset in most individuals.

However, with so many ingredients found in the Thrive Experience system, it’s always a wise idea to talk with your doctor about potential side effects and medication interactions before handing over your money.

With this said, it’s important to point out that Thrive’s Formulated supplements contain natural caffeine from black tea, while the Shake Mix also contains guarana caffeine and green tea caffeine. As such, if you’re especially sensitive to stimulants, make sure to bring this up when speaking with your physician.

Finally, Le-vel indicates that DFT is not suitable for those under 18 years of age, and you should consult with your doctor if you're pregnant or breastfeeding.

» Related: Can Dietary Supplements & Vitamins Cause Dangerous Side Effects?

How Much Do Thrive Experience Products Cost?

Thrive Experience system is available in a variety of packs, each of which includes enough product for four weeks:

  • Lifestyle Pack – 2 Lifestyle Capsules each day, 1 Lifestyle Shake each day Monday through Thursday: $100/mo
  • Tone Pack – 2 Lifestyle Capsules each day, 1–2 Lifestyle shakes each day in place of a breakfast or lunch: $140/mo
  • Couples Pack – 2 Lifestyle Capsules each day, 1 Lifestyle Shake each day Monday through Thursday for you and your significant other: $200/mo

Customers can add daily DFT patches to each of these packages for an additional $50.

According to their terms, “Le-Vel offers a thirty (30) day return policy on all products sold to Retail Customers through Le-Vel Authorized Brand Promoters. Refunds for unopened and undamaged products will be issued at the original purchase price less a 10% restocking fee. Refunds for open, partially used or otherwise damaged products will be issued at 50% of the original purchase price. Any costs associated with shipping & handling will not be refunded or reimbursed.”

Assistance can be reached at 888-557-0005 or Support@Le-Vel.com.

A Look at Thrive Experience Reviews

Although Frisco, TX-based Le-vel has been in business since 2012, and Thrive Experience is their cornerstone lineup, we found little-to-no direct online customer feedback at the time of our research.

However, after researching the system, dietitian Abby Langer emphasized “One thing I think you should know is that there has never been any research done to verify that THRIVE works. Search high and low, but you won’t find any.”

She was also confused by the exact purpose of Thrive’s Shake Mix, noting it’s “super low in calories and I can’t find anything in it of any value.”

In the end, she notes that customers should “leave it,” since she believes it’s “expensive multivitamins and useless other stuff packaged in a pretty way. And those patches…cute, but I’m not convinced they increase the efficacy of the product.”

Similarly, on the Diet vs. Disease blog, Registered Dietitian Nutritionist (RDN) Erin Peisach points out that the science behind the Thrive Experience system “doesn’t appear to hold up to marketing claims,” since “the individual ingredients included in the patch have only been shown to promote mild to no weight loss when used orally.”

Furthermore, she reports the “effect of these ingredients – used in combination and when absorbed through the skin – is not known. And it’s highly unlikely they do anything for you.”

And from an ‘opportunity' perspective, she points out that "getting your hands on this product requires locking in with an MLM called Le-Vel, which many report offer subpar customer service and expensive products."

“Honestly,” she concludes, “Thrive Patch is borderline a weight-loss scam.”

How Does the Thrive Experience Opportunity Work?

In addition to taking the Thrive Experience system, you can also earn money by becoming a Brand Promoter. The Le-vel website explains this opens up the opportunity to earn a percentage of all sales made by you and others on your team, and even earn $660.00 to $1,600.00 within your first week or two.

You can also earn an $800 monthly bonus to use toward a white or black BMW, Mercedes, Lexus, or Cadillac, and can even qualify to receive an iPad Mini for free to help build your business.

This type of sales structure is known as multi-level marketing, or MLM for short. There are a lot of things you need to be aware of before entering into an agreement like this, so we’d strongly recommend reading Crucial Things You Must Know About Multi-Level Marketing Before Joining.

For full details about what you might earn by promoting the Thrive Experience, make sure that you carefully read through the Rewards Plan listed on Le-vel’s website.

Our Bottom Line

Le-vel Brands has been in business since 2012 (which can be a decent length of time for a company in the MLM industry), and they held an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on more than 200 closed complaints, as of 8/13/18. Most related to no results and side from the Thrive Experience system, although a company representative responded in each instance.

On the other hand, we learned from sites like the Natural Medicines Database and WebMD that there’s insufficient clinical evidence supporting Le-vel’s claims for Thrive’s different products, which was also indicated by two of the nutritionists cited above.

On top of this, if you’re looking to improve your health while also earning money, there are perhaps dozens of MLM-based health and weight loss companies and systems available for you to choose from.

But considering the fact that many of these systems come with similarly slim clinical support for their products, it’s important to consult with your doctor before making a financial commitment.


Read 10 Thrive Experience Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 2.7
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 4 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 1 1 star:  5
Bottom Line: 40% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-10 of 10
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    They send expired food

    • Santa Fe, TX,
    • Nov 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered 15 boxes of ProBars (myself and 3 others). All 15 boxes were expired by 3 months. This is THRIVE response "We have done a viability study that has passed the testing ensuring the quality and ingredients are still 100% effective. Per this study, the expiration date of the ProBars has been extended a year". Nowhere on their website does it inform you that you are buying expired food and mention the "viability study". You have to pay shipping to return expired food and the shipping paid to purchase expired food is non-refundable.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Expensive waste

    • Ohio,
    • Jul 1, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    So I hate MLMs first off. If the product is so great it would be available to buy without giving out info and signing up for an autoship. A good friend kept asking me to try the 3-day "experience". Finally I did it just to see, since all the cult members say it changed their lives. I am mid-30's, so a little extra energy would be great. I took it like you're supposed to. It was so bad I had to wait to do the third day because I couldn't take it. It made me extremely tired...like napped for 4.5 hours...woke up to the sun going down...can't stop yawning exhausted. I was unable to focus at work because my eyes kept tearing up from yawning. I normally sleep about 7 hours a day, I'm super active until 4 pm then I sit and work the whole night. This ruined my week. I don't know if it's all the carbs in the morning.

    So...I say hey, I'm sorry this stuff doesn't work for me...to be met with a million reasons why I took it wring...it's not the product it's me...I'm "detoxing" (from a clean diet with no added sugar or fake crap...I call BS). Then it's...you need to take it longer. NO. This is over priced poor quality vitamins. It's a waste. If you want to feel good eat well and exercise. Stop asking your friends and family to buy into this crap. It's a pyramid scheme. The products are useless and possibly dangerous. Please don't take this stuff. If you react badly it's not you, it's the product. The only thing different I did is that these darn 3 steps of premium crap that synergistically killed my day. Don't fall for it. Wake up and get a normal job stop taking advantage of people. It's all placebo. Side note...I magically gained 3 lbs...probably of water weight. I ate normally I exercised normally...I was tired, fatter and pissed. So basically, the opposite of every claim they make.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 16 out 17 people found this review helpful

    You build up a tolerance

    • Midwest, USA,
    • Apr 1, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am thrilled to be able to write a review for this product in a neutral forum. The short version of my review is: It works - at first. Then, it doesn't.

    I did lose weight at first, but I was also consciously watching my intake and carbs. It did help me to stop drinking soda, so that's a huge win. It helped me wake up earlier and easier in the morning - another win. But I never had the "aha" moment many say they have. Those "wins" that I had at first - 3 to 4 weeks in I noticed them going away. The no soda stayed, but the rest was gone. Weight came back, I started feeling tired again during the day, sleeping late again on weekends and having a harder time getting up during the week.

    My promoter was of no help and eventually stopped asking how I was because SHE KNEW there was nothing that was going to get me on board. And by "on board," meaning to promote it. Because I challenge anyone to come forward saying that they are using this product long term, willingly paying out of their own pocket for it and say that it still works for them. Every single person I have come across that says they use it long term is a promoter. These promoters sign up in the first few days (which just really shocks me) of using Thrive because of how great they feel those first few days and they immediately sign up to sell it to get it for free, because it's EXPENSIVE. I really believe it stops working for them as well at some point, because a tolerance is built up, but by that point, they are already signed up to sell it, and they try very hard to find someone new to start using it and the cycle repeats itself. I just don't believe for one second these 80k, 200k promoters are still feeling the effects of Thrive. No way. By that point, they're in it for the trips, cars, etc.

    The way my promoter was toward me at the end - I know she knew I was right and there was nothing she could say or nothing she could do to help me, so she dropped me. I was even in a Facebook group of hers - because that's what they do, they put you in a Facebook group of other "newbies" to supposedly answer questions and to "encourage" you, but as soon as you ask a critical question or not post that Thrive is awesome, your post gets deleted. Because they don't want you to talk about how it may not be the greatest thing ever.

    Anyway, my takeaway is that yes, at first, it's great. But a tolerance is certainly built up and then it's useless. It's a lot of money. And before any promoter comes in to question me - I drank literally a gallon of water a day. I took the product exactly as directed, every single day. I used it for 9 weeks because everything said it was an 8-week experience "for a reason." Admittedly, I do miss the 3 steps in the morning because it became a habit. I feel like I did it all right - spent literally hundreds of dollars, even bought the "plus" line products to supposedly bump up the effectiveness of the 3 steps - nothing. Again, happy to be able to say how my experience really was.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 9 people found this review helpful

    What kind of voodoo crap is this!

    • Moore, OK,
    • Mar 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I saw that a colleague of mine was a promotor of Thrive and asked her for some information. She told me about her experience and I thought "why not?" She explained that on day 10 she felt so amazing, she got up, cleaned the house and did laundry, and when she finished it was still morning! These were/are things she had been unable to do for several years! She said I asked my husband "what kind of voodoo crap is in this?!" Well, that’s me, only two days in and feeling amazing! I can’t speak for anyone else, but this stuff is amazing!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 13 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Horrible customer service

    • Henderson, NV,
    • Mar 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Their autoship program does not provide an email prior to order processing as most auto-ship companies provide. It would give you a chance to review your order to make sure you were ordering what you need. When I tried to stop the order, they told me I had to wait until I received it, then return it and pay for shipping and pay restocking fees. They were very rude and made me wait 22 days to get a refund confirmation and then 14 more days to receive my money back. Because of the experience, I won’t reorder their product. I won’t help support a business that treats its clients so badly.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Thriving

    • Cocoa Beach, FL,
    • Feb 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I watched my neighbor lose over 50 lbs using Thrive. I jumped on board after she lost 30. I faithfully followed the instructions, cut back on carbs, and exercised in the pool five days a week. I lost 27 lbs in four months. I began to travel and then had to take care of an ill family member. I didn't exercise or eat right, but kept doing my Thrive 3-step program. I kept off 20 lbs. Now, a year later, I'm ready to begin exercising and eating healthy and Thriving. I'm looking forward to the lbs coming off, again!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 12 out 18 people found this review helpful

    If you don't have 8 weeks, don't try it!

    • Bay Area, CA,
    • Jan 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was given a four-day trial from a friend and two months later I gave it a shot by ordering a full month.

    That first week was brutal. I transitioned from an unsuccessful 12-week "weight loss" program that started my day with 200mg synthetic caffeine to Thrive that had 65mg plant derived caffeine. The headaches and body aches were almost unbearable. The shake gave me stomach aches, and I was calling up my friend complaining every day. "Just stick with it, you've got to trust me," she said.

    I was stubborn enough to just take the remainder of the product so I wouldn't waste money.

    By the middle of the second week, I realized that I had only been down-in-the-dumps two times. This was a new record for me. I had progressively been in a downward spiral for five years and was feeling like I was in a rut every other day.

    After two weeks the digestive issues were gone. I tripled my water intake and the patches stopped irritating my skin.

    Three weeks later, my good moods were consistent and I felt like a fog had lifted. I hadn't seen this side of me in years. I decided to order a second month and continue to see what it could do for me.

    12+ months later, my knees haven't ached all winter, my appetites have reduced, and I've dropped 29 lbs. My road rage and mood swings are totally gone.

    This isn't a one-all, cure-all...but my doctor told me to stick with it. All the ingredients are fulfilling my body's needs on a daily basis, and my overall mental and physical health has improved drastically.

    The only way to know if it's for you is to take it as directed for eight weeks. Then come back and write a review.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Great way to get more nutrients and energy!

    • North Carolina,
    • Jan 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased Thrive after hearing about it from a friend, with goals of increasing my energy and managing my weight. I loved the vitamins in the morning, gave me a boost of energy that lasted through the afternoon, and the shake was a great way to start my day. I added fruit and veggies into my vanilla shake mix to get some extra fiber - the shake helped me stay full until lunch, so I avoided eating fast food for breakfast or choosing an unhealthy lunch option. Overall energy was up while I was using it, and it helped me pick smarter/healthier meal options.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 34 out 35 people found this review helpful

    ...was sick every day.

    • Virginia,
    • Jan 3, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I loved the idea that Thrive apparently had everything I needed wrapped into three simple steps. However, almost immediately I noticed horrible stomach aches, which I brushed off as my body is trying to adjust to this new thing. Then the diarrhea set in. The person who was my upper line suggested I do half the shake and one capsule. I was fine for a little bit so I thought hmmm the adjustment worked. No, my cravings were coming back and the diarrhea started all over again. The patch also caused my arm to break out, and I even made sure I washed and dried the area properly not adding lotion to the spot the patch would be on.

    I also noticed that a lot of people in my groups didn’t look any different after being on this product for months or years. I would assume at some point your face or some part of your body would start to shaping up to the point of it being noticeable.

    Let’s just say I learned my lesson the hard way physically and financially. Plus, every rep in my group pressured and pressured you to buy more products to the point where you had no choice to but to block them. Only to find out that they would trash you in their group's posts and private message about you calling you a quitter and saying you didn’t even fully try.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 55 out 58 people found this review helpful

    Not happy...

    • Australia,
    • Dec 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    So when I started the THRIVE Plus capsules, I lost 3kgs in the first week! Yay, right?! No...I had diarrhea so bad, I was scared to leave the house! My rep asked me all kinds of questions and continually asking if I was drinking lots of water...yes I do, always have! I've always been pretty good with food, I try not to have a lot of bad foods, but I'm not strict with it. So, I have roughly two small meals a day and two snacks, sometimes no snacks...I've since gained back what I lost and feel crappy every day! I also noticed people in a group I was added to, that we should eat healthy and exercise...isn't that a diet? So my final question is, if a (strict) diet and exercise are needed to lose the weight, do we really need Thrive? Answer is...NO! If you go to the trouble of changing your diet completely and exercise more, you can do it without the added expense!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-10 of 10

Write a Review for Thrive Experience!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review