Noom Reviews

  This company has claimed this profile, is getting alerted on any new customer reviews entering this page, and may engage in dialogue with its customers to address their matters.

Companies cannot pay money or provide goods in order to remove or alter customer reviews.
Noom

Overall Rating

4.0

1315 Customer Reviews

Write a Review

Summary

Noom is an app-based personalized weight loss program that wants to permanently change your relationship to food. Thousands have used Noom to successfully lose weight, but the level of support you’ll get from the Noom online community can vary considerably.

Pros

  • Proven effective as a weightloss program for thousands of users
  • Makes it possible to track your daily food and fitness choices
  • Provides community support in a virtual setting

Cons

  • Included eating guide doesn’t suit all diet strategies
  • Online coaches and goal specialists can vary in quality
  • More expensive than many app-based weight loss plans

Customer Reviews

4.0 Stars out of 1315 Reviews
5 Star:56% 4 Star:18% 3 Star:5% 2 Star:4% 1 Star:15%
77% Recommend This Company
Start your review of Noom:
Sort Reviews By
This company is actively collecting reviews from its customers. All reviews submitted are subject to moderation and approval to ensure they meet our Review Guidelines.

Posted on Jan 13, 2021

Underwhelming and bordering on scam

By Joanna K., Sydney, New South Wales, Australia, Verified Reviewer

Their marketing approach has certainly served them well...

Because this app was nothing but a list of cutesie articles consisting of very basic information on weight loss and calorie input and output (which you can find with a basic google search and most people know about already).

Their supposed “psychological approach” is the biggest overstatement and probably the biggest deception in their marketing approach as it’s what lures people in with all their wonderful tv commercials, but does not deliver. The self coaches appear to be bots, and if they’re not, that really is testament to how little knowledge they actually have about what their supposedly guiding people on. My few coaches were short in response, provided no insight, or didn’t respond at all. There is no doubt that at least some of the responses were automated.

The whole function of the program is based upon calories in vs calories out, which is the premise of ALL weight loss programs. It’s based on a points system (like Weight Watchers), except they use colours instead of points. Red: high cal (eat the least of), yellow: mid cal (eat less of), green: low cal (eat most of). Basically...eat more low calorie vegetables than other higher cal foods (which everybody knows). So nothing ground breaking there at all. And it can be an anxiety inducing system (particularly for people with former eating disorders or people who have anxiety around food from years of dieting, as I’d imagine many people using this app would be). The reason I say this is the labelling of foods and the lack of consideration for nutrient quality over quantity. The colour system places value on foods whether that’s what Noom developers are trying to do or not, and you end up opting for a lower nutrient food item over a higher fat, whole food item, just because that whole food item falls in the red category which had a much smaller allotment.

The food database is terrible, and given this is basically all the app is (a glorified calorie tracker), I have to encourage you to use other calorie counting apps. MyFitnessPal or Lose It! have very extensive databases and are far more economical. They’re the ones I’ve tried. I’m sure there are many others. Some are more personalised and offer more info and handy tips for weight loss as well as the calorie counting component. Essentially, what you’re paying for with Noom.

Based on everything I’ve said, I gotta say...the price for what you get is exorbitant.

I can’t drive home enough how appalling the supposed support from the coaches is and hard "psychology". As this is their hugest selling point and why I say it borders on being a scam because it’s such deceptive advertising. Many customers have reported being greeted by and responded to by bot instead of a human coach...the absolute biggest let down of the service.

Noom are currently facing a class action lawsuit because they have illegally charged thousands of people for membership costs, who have not agreed to doing so beyond the trial period. They’ve also continued to charge thousands of people after they’ve seemingly successfully cancelled or turned off auto pay, and they make it incredibly difficult for you to cancel your membership in the first place.

Please, if you are considering using this application, don’t. You won’t find anything on here that you can’t find by doing a quick Google search and using a number of other free or minimal cost calorie counting apps.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Deceptive advertising

Not an original idea

Expensive

Posted on Dec 1, 2020

Check your credit card statements

By Francesco P., White Plains, NY, Verified Reviewer

I thought I was subscribing to a free trial!

In fact, all I received were 4 lines on my credit card statement from Noom for a total of $256.32. I had problems on the Noom website trying to finish the subscription, so I assumed that I did not successfully subscribe.

I never received anything from Noom. Fortunately, I check my credit card statements.

Noom has no customer service contact by telephone, so I contacted them by chat. The customer services assistant was very efficient in canceling the subscription and initiating my refund.

This incident makes me seriously doubt the reliability of Noom.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Customer Cancelation Assistant

Website

Subscription procedure

No telephone contact availability

Posted on Sep 28, 2020

Lost 60 lbs and counting

By Athena S., Durant, OK, Verified Reviewer

Noom has helped me to see food and dieting in a new light. The psychological aspects work. I have learned a lot and I will reach my goal of at least 90 lbs lost. Because of what I have learned I will be able to keep it off. I feel so much better about myself.

Length of Use: 6–12 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

The easiness of use

The tutorials help me to rethink my relationship with food

The system is also helping me to understand myself better

In the beginning it was hard to limit my calorie intake, but that is what I needed

It is not always easy to find a food on the list

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Jul 1, 2020

Noom is dishonest with YOUR money, buyer beware

By Ce C., Seattle, WA, Verified Reviewer

Noom intrudes on people, billing without a warning notice. Higher money than they offered at first. Within 20 minutes of their billing coming in, I tried to cancel their worthless subscription.

They said, oh, we won't bill you again, but you have a whole year subscription now. BS. I don't want their "subscription" with their robotic "counselors" who are shills, their ever-changing upsell charges.

When I tried to cancel they offered me the same program at HALF the price. That's just not honest in my opinion. Inflating or suddenly deflating money prices on the backs of heavy people who are wanting merely to lose some weight, is, in my opinion, an old "upsell at any cost" door-to-door broom sales model.

Noom is not a health org. It is first and foremost a money mongering sales org. It IS a diet they offer, nothing new. Eat less, exercise more.

They charge a load extra for diabetics. They do not work with Keto, or other special diets.

And some questionable pop psychology you can get on internet for free. Increasing laziness in putting their articles together, in my opinion. At first a little hip, but within days, dry and boring.

I'd suggest WW (much less expensive, essentially the same model as Noom), or Spark (free), where there are real people who actually are personable and non-robotic.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Initially, their idea

Their dishonesty about money, upselling

Not giving prior notice for billing, their refusal to refund money even within minutes of their sudden billing

Their diet is same old diet with new/old lipstick, it's up to the indiv as always but/and Noom's "science," in my opinion, is questionable

Expensive and has flat robot-like "counselors"

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on May 14, 2020

Frustrating website and interface

By Katherine K., Spring, TX, Verified Reviewer

Definitely not a friendly interface and in my opinion, they do not disclose the price. Immediately billed $49 and a week or two later $129.00. I never logged in once and when I tried to cancel I could not get into the app to get it done. No place on the desktop to cancel. My Fitness Pal is just as effective and so much less. Never again...

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 24, 2020

Terrible experience

By Brenda H., Houston, TX, Verified Reviewer

I signed up for the $10 trial. I never used it, next thing I know I have a $99 charge pending on my credit card. I contacted Noom, which was not easy. No phone number to call where you can talk to a person, recording only. I had my credit card company dispute the charge, but Noom will not let it go. So, now I'm in a wrangle with them over this going back and forth. I have to submit documents, etc. to my credit card company to try and get reimbursed. A huge hassle. Beware of Noom!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 7 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 20, 2020

Vicious automatic charges

By Richard W., Norwich, CT, Verified Reviewer

My complaint is that I told my "coach" at New Years I was stopping and yet they BILLED me $150 again in March. I did not lose weight on Noom but the real complaint is taken great care to KNOW how to stop them from billing.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 16, 2020

Take money without authorization!

By Stefan G., Spain, Verified Reviewer

WATCH OUT! I was stupid enough to give my bank details to pay 1€ for the trial.

After 1 hour I saw that this app didn't suit me so left it there because it was only 1€.

Now they charged me 79€ WITHOUT MY AUTHORIZATION and it is not possible to claim my money back! Please don't make the same mistake! SCAM COMPANY, WATCH OUT.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 8 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 12, 2020

Join Noom - GAIN 50 LBS.

By Larry R., San Diego, CA, Verified Reviewer

I joined Noom in July on their "free trial" - as it sounded like an interesting way to change your habits. They promised an online coach/specialist - it never happened!

Instead of losing weight; I gained 50 lbs since the Noom Trial.

Instead, I was charged $99 per month! I tried to cancel several times - my credit card company refuse to cancel - you MUST cancel through Noom - but no one to contact. I send emails to Noom since November 1st to no avail.

Never sign up for a service that makes it impossible to cancel!

You must have the app installed to cancel and you need to cancel through iTunes!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 11 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 11, 2020

Noom will not warn you when the trial period is over

By Maaret S., Australia, Verified Reviewer

Shame Noom has a good product just dishonest in subscribing me after trial period WITHOUT my authority. So when I signed up for the trial, I did not sign up for a year's subscription but unfortunately, I didn’t realize I was gonna get ripped off, and have been automatically signed up for a year's subscription for $219. I have canceled my app on the phone because I just feel sick to the stomach. I feel like I have been stolen from. It’s such a shame that they cannot rely on the quality of the product, instead they have to sweep to such extent to extract money. Has left a bad taste in my mouth. You would do better to shop around.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 8 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 7, 2020

Smart, no-nonsense, helpful program

By Madi W., Bozeman, MT, Verified Reviewer

I've been doing Noom since March 2019 and am really impressed with both my weight loss and the healthier habits I have developed. I've always been a pretty healthy person - I eat lots of whole foods, exercise almost every day, am careful with portions, etc. Like many others, I still have areas where I could make healthier choices and that reflected in my weight and struggles to lose the weight I wanted to lose. I'm 35 pounds down and have 15 more to go. I'm taking it slowly but surely and enjoy the benefits every day. I especially love having a coach and a support group to rely on. Noom will give you what you put into it and doesn't make any extreme promises or prescriptions. I strongly recommend giving it a shot.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Posted on Dec 28, 2019

Yep, I had a bad experience with billing too

By Alina G., Australia, Verified Reviewer

Ugh. I wish I'd looked at this site before. I was enjoying a quiet evening, when I checked my email and saw they'd charged me for four months' subscription at once, with no refund for unused months. First you pay for a trial of 14 days, and then they take out four months' without alerting you first?

Yes - once I searched through my email it was in one I had only scanned, and wasn't aware in any other way that there would be the 4-month payment. When I thought I was signing up for a trial, I wasn't alerted in any other way of this cost - so it is very easily missed.

Be very aware of subscriptions. This is, unfortunately, not the first experience I've had with details being hidden in the scroll down.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 10 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 16, 2019

Did you know about the recurring billing?

By Greg H., Oregon, Verified Reviewer

I feel I was deceived. I bought a 10-month program. I was charged for a second 10-month plan. I want a refund. So far they are saying no.

Their "system" did not work for me. I do not have a problem with the system, I have a problem with their shady billing practices.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 13, 2019

Save your money

By Charles M., Pflugerville, TX, Verified Reviewer

Please save your time and money by not joining this diet program as you can find many free apps on the internet that will do the same things as this company makes you pay for. Also, their fraudulent refund program policies make this a company that you want to avoid. There is a class action lawsuit being initiated against them for their company policies.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 7 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 26, 2019

App is not available

By James B., Bigfork, MN, Verified Reviewer

The billing was fast but no phone number is available...slow to respond to things...need to have an iPad to get it. I would not recommend based on billing practice and customer service.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 8, 2019

Scam

By Karen S., Ohio, Verified Reviewer

I’ve read all of the reviews NOW. I wish I had read them before. I never would have joined. I am being charger $105.68. There is no person to talk to in order to inquire WHY I am being charged that amount. Thankfully, my credit card is now handling the matter.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 5, 2019

Warning! Rip-off!

By Shawna C., Eugene, OR, Verified Reviewer

I signed up for Noom in hopes of losing the last 40 pounds of my needed weight loss. It was the "14-day free trial" so I figured I had nothing to lose except the weight.

WRONG!

I immediately lost $18.47 from my account less than 24 hours into my "free" trial!

After searching and clicking and going around and endless rabbit trail online, I finally was able to contact a real person via email. I requested a refund and was told they cannot refund the trial period charge.

What happened to FREE?!

Now, after having read several reviews of hefty additional charges, I will contact my financial institution to block any additional UNAUTHORIZED charges!

Caution: Do NOT sign up for Noom, no matter how desperately you need to lose weight.

Weight Watchers, people. WW!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 10 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 16, 2019

30 pounds in 73 days!

By Tina J., California, Verified Reviewer

I started Noom when I was feeling overweight, out of shape, and out of control of my physical health. Now 73 days and 30 pounds lighter and I feel great!

If you are ready to lose the weight and take care of yourself then this app can be very helpful. I think it helps with accountability. I still have about 40 more to go and when this first 16 weeks is up I'm pretty sure I will do it for the second 16 weeks.

My coach checks in with me weekly, my group is there daily, and I like logging my food and exercise, it just really helps me think about what I'm going to eat and log before I do.

I should mention I am also taking Contrave, a weight loss medication that reduces cravings. The combo of Noom and Contrave have helped me feel great again.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 15, 2019

Surprise cost

By Daniel P., New York, Verified Reviewer

I signed up and gave Noom my PayPal information for a suggested $10 fee. A couple of weeks later my PayPal account gets debited $172.32 by Noom. I had no clue. I complained to PayPal and Noom. PayPal said as far as they were concerned it wasn't unauthorized. But who can read all the fine print? Noom is suddenly silent.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 11 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 9, 2019

DO NOT DOWNLOAD

By Kelsie T., Utah, Verified Reviewer

Did not work for me during the trial period, so I decided to cancel. When I went to check my statement it charged me $212. When I tried contacting the company they wouldn’t respond to my emails. There is also not a phone number to reach any customer support just an answering machine. I have been trying to reach them with no success. This program probably works, but because of the poor customer service, I would never recommend this program.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 11 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 5, 2019

Noom worked for me!

By Betsy A., California, Verified Reviewer

By accident, I paid for a full six months of Noom. I wasn’t too happy about my mistake but went ahead and joined. I have no regrets. It was around the holidays so I knew I was going to struggle. The app counts your daily calories as you log your food, counts your daily steps and records your daily/weekly weight on a scale to see your progress. My personal coach was amazing - very professional, supportive and encouraging! I loved reading the daily articles that were very informative as well as humorous. I also had a support group with another encouraging coach who reached out to my group with some fun ideas to get us sharing our ups and downs. There was never any judgment. Let me say that again - there was never any judgment, just support and encouragement! His weekly sayings were always encouraging and most welcomed.

What I got most out of Noom was not to give up when you overdo it and to get moving! I wasn’t going for a quick weight loss. I wanted to get healthy and get more energy with strength. I had two knee replacements so I had no strength. After the six months mark, I was so sad to leave my group and coaches - I didn’t have the money to keep going. But I kept the app recording my meals...counting my steps and recorded my weight weekly.

Again, let me stress, I wasn’t in this for the quick weight loss - I learned so much more about why I eat and how to control and why moving is important. I am riding my stationary bike a half daily. I am able to now keep up with my daughters as we take walks. I have so much more energy and strength. Now for weight...I started at 198 and I’m now at 177. My clothes are huge on me - gone from 16 to a size 12.

Am I happy? You bet I am! I wish I had the vocabulary to share more of what I learned and applied. I’m truly truly satisfied. Thank you Noom!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 2, 2019

Cancel before the trial is up

By Kim S., New Jersey, Verified Reviewer

Unless you are 100% satisfied during your 14-day trial, CANCEL BY DAY 12. On the advice of an acquaintance I waited to get a coach and a support group. HUGE MISTAKE as now I'm paying $80 (it was a podcast code/discount) for something that just isn't for me.

I'm old school. I like paper and pens, the ability to take notes, the ability to review where I've been, make updates, etc. There are so many acronyms for too many different goals, and they make it really difficult to go back and review what you've answered previously. There is no way to print out what you've done, except to take screencaps and print them out. And since most pages require you to scroll it's a total waste.

My first goal "specialist" felt like I was conversing with a bot. That should have been my first clue that this is not worth it, not even at the deep discount. I struggled with my first goal, but rather than walk me through it, she was randomly high-fiving my daily weigh-ins.

The app doesn't care if you're Keto, NSNG, Whole 30, or any other program that is low-carb. The foods you like to eat will be in the "red zone" and I don't care what they say, we all know red = stop/bad.

If you want to log your food and weigh yourself every day, there are plenty of free apps out there. Don't bother with this past the 14-day free trial.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 13 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 2, 2019

Do NOT purchase.

By Aimee K., North Carolina, Verified Reviewer

I signed up for a trial period and in addition, paid $59.00 for a meal and exercise plan. After almost two weeks of back and forth about the fact that I had never received my meal and exercise plan, I messaged my coach saying that I was probably just going to ask for a refund and it almost made me want to quit the program if everything was going to be that hard. Next thing I knew, my program had been canceled and $29.50 had been refunded to me. I made repeated attempts, first of all, to see exactly why it had been canceled without someone talking to me and second, why I was not being refunded the total of $59.00 when I never received any portion of the exercise or meal plan. Support is like talking to a computer, basically like my computer-generated "coach" that never truly responds to my questions.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 13 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 2, 2019

Lack of ongoing access (1 year paid membership)

By Kate D., Ontario, Canada, Verified Reviewer

During the trial, I was incredibly impressed with the support from my goal specialist and the information in the daily learnings. However, as soon as I joined (paying in full for a one-year membership), my goal specialist sent little more than "Hey! Just checking in!" messages. I was initially connected to a group. I did inform my goal specialist that I would be on holiday. However, during that time my group access was revoked and not reinstated for almost six months. This app is not designed for travelers or anybody with an irregular schedule. The app works on a punishment system of sorts - the removal of benefits and failure to resolve issues professionally and within a reasonable time limit (almost six months, in my case, connecting with multiple people on the app itself and via email).

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 11 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 30, 2019

What happens with my data?

By Jeannette V., Nieuwpoort, Belgium, Verified Reviewer

I tried to subscribe to a 14-day trial period for only 1€. They asked me my credit card numbers and also the code on the back of my credit card. When I tried to pay 1€ suddenly I get the message that something went wrong with the payment. I receive an email that I can get the 14-day trial for free. But I have to redo the whole questionnaire. When I get to the payment page, although it is for free, I have to give my credit card data, which I have already entered the time before. There it is stated that I have to pay 109€ for the first 4 months. So the free trial is just a scam. I just closed the internet page, but I have already given them all my credit card data when I tried to pay the 1€, so I don't know if they can deduct the money anyway.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 9 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 28, 2019

Do not sign up for the free trial!

By Kelly V., Florida, Verified Reviewer

I decided to check it out and do the 14-day FREE trial. Then I canceled after a week and took a screenshot of the cancellation confirmation. Guess what? It's not free. Then next thing I know they charged $1.00 to my credit card. I know that isn't much but it's the principal. I called my bank and told them this was fraud. After reading all of the horror stories about all of the people who were taken for much more I called the bank back right away and told then I needed a new credit card with different numbers so they could not charge my card in the future. I suggest everyone do this as I see that they charged people many months later when they were not expecting it. I hope one day that a class action suit is brought against this terrible Noom company. Obviously they are just out to take peoples money. DO NOT SIGN UP FOR THE FREE TRIAL!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 12 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 27, 2019

Lots o’ bots

By Penny G., Colorado, Verified Reviewer

Noom promises coaching help. It’s their thing. I signed up for a two-month run. First, I will say I have lost weight. The accountability of the daily logging definitely helps me succeed. I also like the color coded system.

But here’s the thing: there are lots of free food logging apps. There are no other apps that will give you real, meaningful person to person coaching. Noom dyes you up with a goal specialist and a group coach. The first goal specialist they assigned to me introduced herself; after a week of automated messages, the app spits at you by telling me it’s her last day and she’s off to have a baby. IDK why they assigned a new person to an employee who would be leaving in a week. I’m going to assume it wasn’t a surprise that the baby was coming.

The second was a male. I had requested a female as a replacement before the boy was assigned, so they didn’t listen to that. After almost a week of waiting I was finally assigned to a girl goal specialist who wasn’t about to go on maternity leave. Yay! Except she takes at least 24 hours to respond to anything, follows a canned script and doesn’t even attempt to help with anything that doesn’t have a script. Honestly, a bot would likely be more helpful. Example: I’m building off grid and my challenge is eating enough food to keep up with the calorie demands but trying to keep it all healthy without power or refrigeration. She kept sending me links to "quick on the go meals" and such from the Noom library, zero of which were actually useful. Everything she sent required refrigerated items. Or a blender. Or something from the freezer. Seriously, every article she sent. At least artificial intelligence will follow some sort of algorithm and eventually get it (somewhat) right.

If you are thinking about this app for the coaching, don’t get it. If you like the support of a group, that will all depend on the group. My group has 40 members. No one ever posts things and the coach-bot just generates the articles and topics Noom requires her to generate, without any effort to go beyond that. There is very little in the way of encouragement or an effort to bring members in for conversation. Maybe other groups are more active, but again, if the group is what attracts you to this l app you might want to look elsewhere.

So, big thumbs down on the coaching aspect, big thumbs down on the goal-setting. I haven’t set a single goal with my specialist. Not one. I actually sent a long, almost begging, message: Please help me set a goal! I’m interesting! I’m funny! You won’t regret helping me! I’m motivated and I will work hard for you! The response? None.

If, however, you like things like little quizzes and links to psychology based research you may find this app helpful. But in that case, there are cheaper options.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 9 People Have Voted
Showing 1-27 of 1315

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.