Read 1309 Noom Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 2)

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 4.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 743 4 star: 242 3 star: 66 2 star: 60 1 star:  198
Bottom Line: 77% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 12-22 of 1309
Sort reviews by:

  • This company is actively collecting reviews from its customers. All reviews submitted are subject to moderation and approval to ensure they meet our Review Guidelines.
  • 9 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Surprise cost

    • By Daniel P.,
    • New York,
    • Oct 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I signed up and gave Noom my PayPal information for a suggested $10 fee. A couple of weeks later my PayPal account gets debited $172.32 by Noom. I had no clue. I complained to PayPal and Noom. PayPal said as far as they were concerned it wasn't unauthorized. But who can read all the fine print? Noom is suddenly silent.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    DO NOT DOWNLOAD

    • By Kelsie T.,
    • Utah,
    • Oct 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Did not work for me during the trial period, so I decided to cancel. When I went to check my statement it charged me $212. When I tried contacting the company they wouldn’t respond to my emails. There is also not a phone number to reach any customer support just an answering machine. I have been trying to reach them with no success. This program probably works, but because of the poor customer service, I would never recommend this program.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Noom worked for me!

    • By Betsy A.,
    • California,
    • Oct 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    By accident, I paid for a full six months of Noom. I wasn’t too happy about my mistake but went ahead and joined. I have no regrets. It was around the holidays so I knew I was going to struggle. The app counts your daily calories as you log your food, counts your daily steps and records your daily/weekly weight on a scale to see your progress. My personal coach was amazing - very professional, supportive and encouraging! I loved reading the daily articles that were very informative as well as humorous. I also had a support group with another encouraging coach who reached out to my group with some fun ideas to get us sharing our ups and downs. There was never any judgment. Let me say that again - there was never any judgment, just support and encouragement! His weekly sayings were always encouraging and most welcomed.

    What I got most out of Noom was not to give up when you overdo it and to get moving! I wasn’t going for a quick weight loss. I wanted to get healthy and get more energy with strength. I had two knee replacements so I had no strength. After the six months mark, I was so sad to leave my group and coaches - I didn’t have the money to keep going. But I kept the app recording my meals...counting my steps and recorded my weight weekly.

    Again, let me stress, I wasn’t in this for the quick weight loss - I learned so much more about why I eat and how to control and why moving is important. I am riding my stationary bike a half daily. I am able to now keep up with my daughters as we take walks. I have so much more energy and strength. Now for weight...I started at 198 and I’m now at 177. My clothes are huge on me - gone from 16 to a size 12.

    Am I happy? You bet I am! I wish I had the vocabulary to share more of what I learned and applied. I’m truly truly satisfied. Thank you Noom!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Cancel before the trial is up

    • By Kim S.,
    • New Jersey,
    • Oct 2, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Unless you are 100% satisfied during your 14-day trial, CANCEL BY DAY 12. On the advice of an acquaintance I waited to get a coach and a support group. HUGE MISTAKE as now I'm paying $80 (it was a podcast code/discount) for something that just isn't for me.

    I'm old school. I like paper and pens, the ability to take notes, the ability to review where I've been, make updates, etc. There are so many acronyms for too many different goals, and they make it really difficult to go back and review what you've answered previously. There is no way to print out what you've done, except to take screencaps and print them out. And since most pages require you to scroll it's a total waste.

    My first goal "specialist" felt like I was conversing with a bot. That should have been my first clue that this is not worth it, not even at the deep discount. I struggled with my first goal, but rather than walk me through it, she was randomly high-fiving my daily weigh-ins.

    The app doesn't care if you're Keto, NSNG, Whole 30, or any other program that is low-carb. The foods you like to eat will be in the "red zone" and I don't care what they say, we all know red = stop/bad.

    If you want to log your food and weigh yourself every day, there are plenty of free apps out there. Don't bother with this past the 14-day free trial.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 11 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Do NOT purchase.

    • By Aimee K.,
    • North Carolina,
    • Oct 2, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I signed up for a trial period and in addition, paid $59.00 for a meal and exercise plan. After almost two weeks of back and forth about the fact that I had never received my meal and exercise plan, I messaged my coach saying that I was probably just going to ask for a refund and it almost made me want to quit the program if everything was going to be that hard. Next thing I knew, my program had been canceled and $29.50 had been refunded to me. I made repeated attempts, first of all, to see exactly why it had been canceled without someone talking to me and second, why I was not being refunded the total of $59.00 when I never received any portion of the exercise or meal plan. Support is like talking to a computer, basically like my computer-generated "coach" that never truly responds to my questions.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Lack of ongoing access (1 year paid membership)

    • By Kate D.,
    • Ontario, Canada,
    • Oct 2, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    During the trial, I was incredibly impressed with the support from my goal specialist and the information in the daily learnings. However, as soon as I joined (paying in full for a one-year membership), my goal specialist sent little more than "Hey! Just checking in!" messages. I was initially connected to a group. I did inform my goal specialist that I would be on holiday. However, during that time my group access was revoked and not reinstated for almost six months. This app is not designed for travelers or anybody with an irregular schedule. The app works on a punishment system of sorts - the removal of benefits and failure to resolve issues professionally and within a reasonable time limit (almost six months, in my case, connecting with multiple people on the app itself and via email).

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 10 people found this review helpful

    What happens with my data?

    • By Jeannette V.,
    • Nieuwpoort, Belgium,
    • Sep 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I tried to subscribe to a 14-day trial period for only 1€. They asked me my credit card numbers and also the code on the back of my credit card. When I tried to pay 1€ suddenly I get the message that something went wrong with the payment. I receive an email that I can get the 14-day trial for free. But I have to redo the whole questionnaire. When I get to the payment page, although it is for free, I have to give my credit card data, which I have already entered the time before. There it is stated that I have to pay 109€ for the first 4 months. So the free trial is just a scam. I just closed the internet page, but I have already given them all my credit card data when I tried to pay the 1€, so I don't know if they can deduct the money anyway.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 10 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Do not sign up for the free trial!

    • By Kelly V.,
    • Florida,
    • Sep 28, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I decided to check it out and do the 14-day FREE trial. Then I canceled after a week and took a screenshot of the cancellation confirmation. Guess what? It's not free. Then next thing I know they charged $1.00 to my credit card. I know that isn't much but it's the principal. I called my bank and told them this was fraud. After reading all of the horror stories about all of the people who were taken for much more I called the bank back right away and told then I needed a new credit card with different numbers so they could not charge my card in the future. I suggest everyone do this as I see that they charged people many months later when they were not expecting it. I hope one day that a class action suit is brought against this terrible Noom company. Obviously they are just out to take peoples money. DO NOT SIGN UP FOR THE FREE TRIAL!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Lots o’ bots

    • By Penny G.,
    • Colorado,
    • Sep 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Noom promises coaching help. It’s their thing. I signed up for a two-month run. First, I will say I have lost weight. The accountability of the daily logging definitely helps me succeed. I also like the color coded system.

    But here’s the thing: there are lots of free food logging apps. There are no other apps that will give you real, meaningful person to person coaching. Noom dyes you up with a goal specialist and a group coach. The first goal specialist they assigned to me introduced herself; after a week of automated messages, the app spits at you by telling me it’s her last day and she’s off to have a baby. IDK why they assigned a new person to an employee who would be leaving in a week. I’m going to assume it wasn’t a surprise that the baby was coming.

    The second was a male. I had requested a female as a replacement before the boy was assigned, so they didn’t listen to that. After almost a week of waiting I was finally assigned to a girl goal specialist who wasn’t about to go on maternity leave. Yay! Except she takes at least 24 hours to respond to anything, follows a canned script and doesn’t even attempt to help with anything that doesn’t have a script. Honestly, a bot would likely be more helpful. Example: I’m building off grid and my challenge is eating enough food to keep up with the calorie demands but trying to keep it all healthy without power or refrigeration. She kept sending me links to "quick on the go meals" and such from the Noom library, zero of which were actually useful. Everything she sent required refrigerated items. Or a blender. Or something from the freezer. Seriously, every article she sent. At least artificial intelligence will follow some sort of algorithm and eventually get it (somewhat) right.

    If you are thinking about this app for the coaching, don’t get it. If you like the support of a group, that will all depend on the group. My group has 40 members. No one ever posts things and the coach-bot just generates the articles and topics Noom requires her to generate, without any effort to go beyond that. There is very little in the way of encouragement or an effort to bring members in for conversation. Maybe other groups are more active, but again, if the group is what attracts you to this l app you might want to look elsewhere.

    So, big thumbs down on the coaching aspect, big thumbs down on the goal-setting. I haven’t set a single goal with my specialist. Not one. I actually sent a long, almost begging, message: Please help me set a goal! I’m interesting! I’m funny! You won’t regret helping me! I’m motivated and I will work hard for you! The response? None.

    If, however, you like things like little quizzes and links to psychology based research you may find this app helpful. But in that case, there are cheaper options.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Overpriced junk!

    • By Helena V.,
    • Hoboken, NJ,
    • Sep 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    DO NOT USE THIS APP. If you don't believe me, PLEASE save yourself some trouble and look at Noom's BBB Reviews. They are nothing more quick scam artists pretending to be "helpful".

    Firstly, PLEASE protect your finances - THERE ARE NO REFUNDS. NONE. They make that VERY clear in their user agreement but no one seems to notice. These scam artists will charge you for the entire year's subscription days before your trial ends (so if your trial ends on the 20th, they'll try charging you for the entire year's price by the 17th or 16th). I always use a prepaid credit card for these types of subscriptions, and with less than $10 on the balance, I knew there would be no way to be charged for the full amount, and I didn't intend on loading the credit card until the 19th at the earliest. Sure enough, they tried charging me by the 16th to get the full year's amount even though the "trial period" had not ended.

    When I went to cancel (because I was not impressed by their product at all) on the day before my trial period ended - it took over 3 days for them to get back to me confirming my cancellation. And it was only because I REPEATEDLY slammed them in the messenger that I received any confirmation of cancellation. There is no real customer service. There's no "Cancel Subscription" button in the App. You either have to e-mail their service OR go through iTunes IF you subscribed via iTunes and not the web.

    Secondly, if you need to lose weight/need help - please get yourself either the MyFitnessPal App (and pay for the premium features, significantly less than Noom and way more helpful). If you must have group support, sign up for the Weight Watchers App - not cheap but those people know what they're doing. Another website I've found helpful for exercise help is The Body Project.

    Noom would have most people on a starvation diet (hahaha good-bye weight loss) and has you weighing yourself every day (that alone can make anyone go crazy). I signed up for Noom to help me with habits - I have my diet and exercise plan and it's been working wonders for me, but I have a problem with other habits that hurt my weight loss.

    This is nothing more than cheap pop-science weight loss tips repackaged in a very expensive and very stupid app. You're not going to gain anything new here other than a hefty charge on your credit card.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Yes, they took my money too...

    • By Lynn D.,
    • Florida,
    • Sep 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I should have remembered, if it sounds too good to be true, it probably is. Only $1 for a 14-day trial period I never used. Then I thought they would either allow it to run out or ask me to sign out for the full program. Nope, they billed me for $129 for 4 months of the program. When I saw then payment in my PayPal account, I immediately tried to contact Noom to tell them they made a mistake. Well, you just can't get through to them. It's impossible. Download this, click the bubble, use the code in your email, phone number with a recorded message. Impossible! My advice - don't get involved with Noom. It's one big SCAM...

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 12-22 of 1309

Write a Review for Noom!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review