Read 1301 Noom Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 2)

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 4.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 742 4 star: 242 3 star: 66 2 star: 59 1 star:  192
Bottom Line: 78% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 12-22 of 1301
Sort reviews by:

  • This company is actively collecting reviews from its customers. All reviews submitted are subject to moderation and approval to ensure they meet our Review Guidelines.
  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Lots o’ bots

    • Colorado,
    • Sep 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Noom promises coaching help. It’s their thing. I signed up for a two-month run. First, I will say I have lost weight. The accountability of the daily logging definitely helps me succeed. I also like the color coded system.

    But here’s the thing: there are lots of free food logging apps. There are no other apps that will give you real, meaningful person to person coaching. Noom dyes you up with a goal specialist and a group coach. The first goal specialist they assigned to me introduced herself; after a week of automated messages, the app spits at you by telling me it’s her last day and she’s off to have a baby. IDK why they assigned a new person to an employee who would be leaving in a week. I’m going to assume it wasn’t a surprise that the baby was coming.

    The second was a male. I had requested a female as a replacement before the boy was assigned, so they didn’t listen to that. After almost a week of waiting I was finally assigned to a girl goal specialist who wasn’t about to go on maternity leave. Yay! Except she takes at least 24 hours to respond to anything, follows a canned script and doesn’t even attempt to help with anything that doesn’t have a script. Honestly, a bot would likely be more helpful. Example: I’m building off grid and my challenge is eating enough food to keep up with the calorie demands but trying to keep it all healthy without power or refrigeration. She kept sending me links to "quick on the go meals" and such from the Noom library, zero of which were actually useful. Everything she sent required refrigerated items. Or a blender. Or something from the freezer. Seriously, every article she sent. At least artificial intelligence will follow some sort of algorithm and eventually get it (somewhat) right.

    If you are thinking about this app for the coaching, don’t get it. If you like the support of a group, that will all depend on the group. My group has 40 members. No one ever posts things and the coach-bot just generates the articles and topics Noom requires her to generate, without any effort to go beyond that. There is very little in the way of encouragement or an effort to bring members in for conversation. Maybe other groups are more active, but again, if the group is what attracts you to this l app you might want to look elsewhere.

    So, big thumbs down on the coaching aspect, big thumbs down on the goal-setting. I haven’t set a single goal with my specialist. Not one. I actually sent a long, almost begging, message: Please help me set a goal! I’m interesting! I’m funny! You won’t regret helping me! I’m motivated and I will work hard for you! The response? None.

    If, however, you like things like little quizzes and links to psychology based research you may find this app helpful. But in that case, there are cheaper options.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Overpriced junk!

    • Hoboken, NJ,
    • Sep 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    DO NOT USE THIS APP. If you don't believe me, PLEASE save yourself some trouble and look at Noom's BBB Reviews. They are nothing more quick scam artists pretending to be "helpful".

    Firstly, PLEASE protect your finances - THERE ARE NO REFUNDS. NONE. They make that VERY clear in their user agreement but no one seems to notice. These scam artists will charge you for the entire year's subscription days before your trial ends (so if your trial ends on the 20th, they'll try charging you for the entire year's price by the 17th or 16th). I always use a prepaid credit card for these types of subscriptions, and with less than $10 on the balance, I knew there would be no way to be charged for the full amount, and I didn't intend on loading the credit card until the 19th at the earliest. Sure enough, they tried charging me by the 16th to get the full year's amount even though the "trial period" had not ended.

    When I went to cancel (because I was not impressed by their product at all) on the day before my trial period ended - it took over 3 days for them to get back to me confirming my cancellation. And it was only because I REPEATEDLY slammed them in the messenger that I received any confirmation of cancellation. There is no real customer service. There's no "Cancel Subscription" button in the App. You either have to e-mail their service OR go through iTunes IF you subscribed via iTunes and not the web.

    Secondly, if you need to lose weight/need help - please get yourself either the MyFitnessPal App (and pay for the premium features, significantly less than Noom and way more helpful). If you must have group support, sign up for the Weight Watchers App - not cheap but those people know what they're doing. Another website I've found helpful for exercise help is The Body Project.

    Noom would have most people on a starvation diet (hahaha good-bye weight loss) and has you weighing yourself every day (that alone can make anyone go crazy). I signed up for Noom to help me with habits - I have my diet and exercise plan and it's been working wonders for me, but I have a problem with other habits that hurt my weight loss.

    This is nothing more than cheap pop-science weight loss tips repackaged in a very expensive and very stupid app. You're not going to gain anything new here other than a hefty charge on your credit card.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Yes, they took my money too...

    • Florida,
    • Sep 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I should have remembered, if it sounds too good to be true, it probably is. Only $1 for a 14-day trial period I never used. Then I thought they would either allow it to run out or ask me to sign out for the full program. Nope, they billed me for $129 for 4 months of the program. When I saw then payment in my PayPal account, I immediately tried to contact Noom to tell them they made a mistake. Well, you just can't get through to them. It's impossible. Download this, click the bubble, use the code in your email, phone number with a recorded message. Impossible! My advice - don't get involved with Noom. It's one big SCAM...

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 10 people found this review helpful

    No stars

    • Polk City, IA,
    • Sep 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My only experience with Noom is taking my money. I found it difficult with their website and the e-mails I received they were only trying to sell me more stuff. This AM I found they had deducted 8 more months of nothing. I have tried to cancel and it would have been easier to jump through hoops with a Lion.

    Noom is a total ripoff and you receive no stars.

    I will continue to try to get my money back, but I have little hope that will happen. By the way, I am 75 years old on a fixed income and very little extra funds for nothing.

    Can not even find an order number - GRRR.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Noom success

    • Gatlinburg, TN,
    • Sep 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I went into the hospital at the end of December due to chest palpitations. It was determined that I had significant esophageal spasms. They gave me a walking stress test and the cardiologist asked whether or not I walked. My answer was, "No, but I will." The next day, I joined Noom. Since then I have completely changed my attitude about food. It is now fuel, not to be eaten wantonly as I have most of my life. The weight has steadily declined. Since January 3rd, 2019, I have lost 75 lbs. Amazing! I am finally under 200 lbs! (Today is September 1, 2019 when I am writing this review.). I am a Noomer for life! Even though I will eventually no longer be on the program, I will continue following their guidelines to keep my weight off forever. I am finally confident of this. I have been on so many weight loss programs but I've never felt this way before. Nothing is off limits. Portion control is very important. Now I eat all I need, rather than all I want. This is a huge change for me. I have an awesome coach who is very encouraging. (Thank you Verna!). I highly recommend this program. It has been life-changing for me and I could not be happier!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 11 people found this review helpful

    UNSATISFIED CUSTOMER

    • Louisiana,
    • Sep 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I stumbled across Noom playing on social media one day. They allowed me to choose what I would like to pay for the trial, and since I figure this absolutely can't be easy to offer this guidance without charging people, I CHOSE to pay $10 for the trial. I never got around to even opening the app, because let's be honest, LIFE. I check my account today, to find a charge of $141.84. I never read on the trial page that an automatic renewal was mandatory nor did I receive any email stating that my trial was coming up for "AUTOMATIC RENEWAL". People are busy in life, with work, kids, etc. This should not be another thing on the list of to do's that we have to worry about canceling if we did NOT actually sign up for this kind of subscription. I believed I was signing up for a trial run at the app, not selling my soul for 141 bucks. While I received information that I should be expecting a refund, please up your game, NOOM; it's not fair that you didn't notify that this was taking place until after the fact.

    Lesson learned.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 12 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Does not work for everyone.

    • Portland, OR,
    • Aug 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Hey!

    So as it turns out the reason for my low energy, gaining weight, and inability to eat healthy had nothing to do with "motivation" - and turns out that's the same for a LOT of women as they reach their thirties and up. After getting blood work back - turns out I got the dreaded thyroid issue that runs in my family AND had reactive hypoglycemia! So, in fact, limiting my calories could be detrimental - the key is listening to my body and getting on the right medications for my thyroid to increase energy. Noom essentially uses Cognitive Behavioral Therapy via an app to motivate the masses and ties in some theory about HOW you should eat (which I also highly disagree with, because as a vegan you may eat more carbs than others but you're supposed to - I saw others complaining about the food entry part and most reverted back to MyFitnessPal for food tracking as I did). It wasn't for me by a LONG shot. I think the app has a long way to go!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 18 out 20 people found this review helpful

    Bad business model when there is no one to address simple billing

    • New York,
    • Aug 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I did not want a 6 months subscription and the phony coach automated responses were not able to handle the inquiry. I requested the stop of subscription and sure enough, 6 months later they billed me again.

    Now I have blocked them but it is really awful to deal with these internet companies that can't handle simply a problem.

    Before you give them your credit card, be sure what you are getting.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 17 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Good lessons, but not everything promised was

    • Orcas Island, WA,
    • Aug 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I just completed my four-month enrollment with Noom. I liked the little daily lessons, the food log, and I thought the graph to track your weight was very well done.

    However, even though it was advertised that we would be included in a group - and the daily lessons at times referred to our group - I was never given the opportunity to join one. Never came up. Maybe I am in a unique demographic and they didn't know what to do with me (I'm a male in my late 60's). Definitely felt like a "bait-and-switch" though.

    My goal specialist and I corresponded only occasionally. I didn't know what to do with that feature, actually.

    I lost weight during these four months, although I don't know if it was Noom or the cardiac emergency that occurred just before I enrolled - scared the heck out of me, enough to motivate me to restrict my diet and get more exercise.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Noom works for me

    • Arizona,
    • Aug 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I started on January 1, 2019. I have learned so much and I have lost 60 lbs so far. I recommend Noom to anyone that has tried everything and needs to learn and grow. I have learned so much about the foods I can eat as having diabetes type 2. My diabetes is controlled now and I thank Noom for that.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 6 people found this review helpful

    A weight loss app that really works

    • London, England,
    • Aug 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is the only app that really worked with me and I lost 14kg in one year! It is informative, fun with tools that keep you motivated. Plus, members get a personal coach who checks in every week. I love it!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 12-22 of 1301

Write a Review for Noom!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review