PillPack

PillPack

Overall Rating

1.9

104 Customer Reviews

Summary

PillPack is a full-service pharmacy that claims to sort your medication by date and time and deliver them directly to your door. There are some strengths but also some drawbacks pertaining to customer service.

Write a Review

Customer Reviews

1.9 Stars out of 104 Reviews
5 Star:16% 4 Star:3% 3 Star:2% 2 Star:8% 1 Star:68%
22% Recommend This Company
Start your review of PillPack:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Aug 18, 2021

Lies! Amazon PillPack just lies and lies and lies.

By Brad A., Salt Lake City, UT, Verified Reviewer

It's amazing just how bad Amazon PillPack is. From their pharmacy, to their customer service. I haven't had a single good interaction with them.

PillPack literally doesn't care if they get my mom's medications right, and couldn't care less if she were to die. They even doubled one of her prescriptions!

Every single PillPack employee I spoke/chatted with (7 in total) told me my issues were resolved. But every time I checked, they had just added more problems to my order. They ship whatever they feel like, and bill you for it, even though it's wrong and potentially deadly.

One star is entirely too generous for PillPack.

PillPack is AWFUL. Never use this "service"!

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

It sounded like a good idea

Got medications wrong multiple times

Customer service people lie and tell you they fixed things for you

When you point out and prove they're lying to you, they just hang-up/quit the chat

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 11, 2021

Took out meds twice, second time he could of killed him

By Amy C., North Carolina, Verified Reviewer

During Covid they took out one of my husband‘s meds and when I asked why it wasn’t in the pack they said "does he still needed it," my answer was "did the doctor take it off?"

And now just this past month because my husband has been on hospice and the nurse had called in to tell them that there was only one doctor to contact they were still contacting all other doctors, and when they didn’t have those doctors prescribing to them because that wasn’t where they were supposed to go, my husband on hospice, who shouldn’t be losing any weight at this point, couldn’t eat because his heart meds and two others weren’t in the pill pack.

We didn’t know until a PA that comes every six months, thank God, caught it that his heart was racing sitting. He is on oxygen and he has a hard enough time eating but without his heart meds he couldn’t eat at all and now has lost more weight. Very sad.

And they tried to tell me that I never called it, in meanwhile the nurse from hospice called it in and if they’re texting me instead of calling me when meds are being taken out of my pill pack. There’s something wrong, mostly after just dropping other meds in the past because they were having a hard time getting them without letting me know.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Not having to organize meds

That when there’s a real problem they don’t just call you and not getting our exes is a big problem

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Jan 16, 2021

Awesome except for price

By Staci I., Raleigh, NC, Verified Reviewer

I'm an RN, I take several meds. I LOVED this service because of the convenient packaging. I travel a lot and could just grab what I needed and go. But, you have to decide if you want to pay a slightly higher co-pay for your meds if you do have a co-payment. Unfortunately, I am paying $30 a month for a 30-day supply when I can pay $55 a month for a 90-day supply through my insurance's mail-order program. The difference is only $140 a year or so, but that's money that can go elsewhere for now. I do love the convenience of not having to open bottles, though. IF I were taking 10 or more prescription meds a day, or if I were older, I would probably use PillPack. I think it's GREAT for older folks for several reasons:

1. Not having to struggle opening bottles. Older people and people who have trouble opening bottles in general would benefit from using this service.

2. Keeping track of what to take and when to take it - you don't have to do anything except choose the right time on the package, tear the easy to open package open, and take your meds! Great for anyone with memory problems, also.

3. Grab and go without having to carry bottles everywhere.

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Convenient

Great customer service, chat option is great

Not having to open bottles

Price compared to mail-order

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Jan 9, 2021

Don't use PillPack

By Lewis M., Setauket, NY, Verified Reviewer

I've used PillPack for about a year and was generally pleased with delivery, customer service, etc. I did have this nagging feeling that something was amiss with my copays. And there was! If your doctor, like mine, writes a prescription for 90 days, you go to your local pharmacy and pick up your order and pay one copay. PillPack accepts your 90-day prescription but ONLY sends out meds on a 30-day supply charging you a copay for every 30 days! So your 90-day supply of meds costs you 2 additional copays. That makes PillPack a dishonest supplier of meds. I'm returning to my local pharmacy.

Length of Use: 6–12 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Delivery

Deceptive price practice

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Dec 3, 2020

Prescription gets held for no reason

By Thao C., Wichita, KS, Verified Reviewer

Not sure if they have enough pharmacists working or what. If I had not called my prescription would not have been pulled and worked on. Once they found it I was told it would take 24 days. When I got upset I was told, "sorry, sorry, we can put in a ticket to overnight it." What the heck?!

Length of Use: 1–2 years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Just comes to your house

Customer service

Posted on Aug 12, 2020

Timing is everything

By Bill W., Boston, MA, Verified Reviewer

I ended up having to open several different little packets every day because not all prescriptions begin and end at the same time. Plus, changing pharmacies creates a lot of confusion. Also, when your pills don’t arrive on time, you can’t run to your local pharmacy for a refill. PillPack will go under because people want to communicate directly with their pharmacy and be able to talk to the pharmacist when needed. The idea of PillPack sounds good but in its practical application, it just doesn’t work.

Length of Use: 6–12 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Apr 28, 2020

So disappointing

By Tom M., Florida, Verified Reviewer

What a terrible experience! I reached out to the CEO - no reply. I reached out to Geoff, Chief Business Officer - no reply. I’ve canceled my account and returned to Walgreens. Never again!

Dear TJ,

I switched to Pill Pack just over a month ago. I thought I would love your service. I really wanted to.

Signing up was so easy but I have experienced a lot of challenges since. Month one did not include one of my prescriptions and there were two daily blister packs instead of one. Okay, I thought we’d work out the kinks. I was looking forward to getting everything straightened on the next run.

Now, we're in month two and another drug is not available. I received a call today from someone asking me to volunteer/verify my DOB and address (mind you, he called me). That didn't go well.

I also asked to stop today’s shipment to no avail. As it hasn’t shipped yet, I’m not sure I understand why this request was denied. Or why I wasn't contacted before a partial shipment was made.

Now, I have a situation where some medicines are on the way from Pill Pack. I apparently have no choice but to accept because you’ve drawn down on my insurance and prescription. And, I must go to Walgreens to get the rest of my medicines. I must also make sure that Walgreens can take care of my needs next month and beyond and that all insurance is in order. All unnecessary work for me.

This is not the service I expected from your company. I am most especially surprised by the set of poor customer experiences I've endured while trying to on board as a long-term customer. I want you to know that I am very disappointed.

Sincerely,

Thomas M

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 16, 2020

Rip off

By Michael L., Tampa, FL, Verified Reviewer

They advertise little or no co-pay, yet I can get my Rx for $3.60 for a 90-day supply at a reg pharmacy and they want $3.60 for a 30-day supply and claim its what the insurance sets. Through my insurance pharmacy, I pay $0.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 14, 2020

Extreme risk to health!

By James G., Washington, Verified Reviewer

Do NOT use this service under ANY circumstances. Had them less than one year and they left me without my heart medications TWICE! The worst part is they don't contact you in time for you to do something about the "problems" only they have! I have never had my pharmacy wait until 3 days before my prescriptions ran out before telling me! Wouldn't recommend them to my worst enemy!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Apr 13, 2020

Total nightmare

By Shawna M., Salt Lake City, UT, Verified Reviewer

PillPack was great before Amazon bought them, now it's a nightmare. They have charged me $326.00 for a medication which they never billed to my insurance. My insurance told me they never billed them and my co-pay was supposed to be $14.80. Not only that, but as soon as I was notified what the charge would be I called to ask them not to send it. Sorry, they already sent it and refused to allow me to send the box back. I have complained by phone and email, and they blame my Insurance, saying they refuse to pay, yet I just got it filled at Walgreens for a $4.80 co-pay. Not only that, when I TRANSFERRED my prescription to Walgreens, they tried calling my doctor to get ANOTHER prescription. I requested my account closed, but it's still online and I cannot remove my card information. This is very scary. I am filing complaints against them. Please beware.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Mar 2, 2020

DON’T

By Tanya S., Virginia, Verified Reviewer

They are the most incompetent group of liars I’ve ever seen in my life and to see Amazon's name is behind it? I’m baffled! These people claimed they would overnight my medicine on three occasions, here it is Friday night, no medicine, and I'm COMPLETELY OUT OF MEDS! In order for me to get medicine, I have to have my doctor rewrite the scripts and PAY FULL price! And there is nothing anyone can do; so I was told. Additionally, I was told they LOCK you in a CONTRACT that’s HELL getting out of. DO NOT, I repeat, DO NOT DEAL WITH THESE PEOPLE! I cannot believe this company is LEGAL! I will be making a complaint with the BBB ASAP and calling the media to put these people on BLAST! I really feel as though they discriminated against me and I’m not done with them yet. Run, people, RUN!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted
Showing 12-22 of 104

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.