PillPack

PillPack

Overall Rating

1.9

101 Customer Reviews

Summary

PillPack is a full-service pharmacy that claims to sort your medication by date and time and deliver them directly to your door. There are some strengths but also some drawbacks pertaining to customer service.

Write a Review

Customer Reviews

1.9 Stars out of 101 Reviews
5 Star:15% 4 Star:3% 3 Star:2% 2 Star:8% 1 Star:68%
22% Recommend This Company
Start your review of PillPack:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Jan 9, 2021

Don't use PillPack

By Lewis M., Setauket, NY, Verified Reviewer

I've used PillPack for about a year and was generally pleased with delivery, customer service, etc. I did have this nagging feeling that something was amiss with my copays. And there was! If your doctor, like mine, writes a prescription for 90 days, you go to your local pharmacy and pick up your order and pay one copay. PillPack accepts your 90-day prescription but ONLY sends out meds on a 30-day supply charging you a copay for every 30 days! So your 90-day supply of meds costs you 2 additional copays. That makes PillPack a dishonest supplier of meds. I'm returning to my local pharmacy.

Length of Use: 6–12 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Delivery

Deceptive price practice

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Dec 3, 2020

Prescription gets held for no reason

By Thao C., Wichita, KS, Verified Reviewer

Not sure if they have enough pharmacists working or what. If I had not called my prescription would not have been pulled and worked on. Once they found it I was told it would take 24 days. When I got upset I was told, "sorry, sorry, we can put in a ticket to overnight it." What the heck?!

Length of Use: 1–2 years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Just comes to your house

Customer service

Posted on Aug 12, 2020

Timing is everything

By Bill W., Boston, MA, Verified Reviewer

I ended up having to open several different little packets every day because not all prescriptions begin and end at the same time. Plus, changing pharmacies creates a lot of confusion. Also, when your pills don’t arrive on time, you can’t run to your local pharmacy for a refill. PillPack will go under because people want to communicate directly with their pharmacy and be able to talk to the pharmacist when needed. The idea of PillPack sounds good but in its practical application, it just doesn’t work.

Length of Use: 6–12 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Apr 28, 2020

So disappointing

By Tom M., Florida, Verified Reviewer

What a terrible experience! I reached out to the CEO - no reply. I reached out to Geoff, Chief Business Officer - no reply. I’ve canceled my account and returned to Walgreens. Never again!

Dear TJ,

I switched to Pill Pack just over a month ago. I thought I would love your service. I really wanted to.

Signing up was so easy but I have experienced a lot of challenges since. Month one did not include one of my prescriptions and there were two daily blister packs instead of one. Okay, I thought we’d work out the kinks. I was looking forward to getting everything straightened on the next run.

Now, we're in month two and another drug is not available. I received a call today from someone asking me to volunteer/verify my DOB and address (mind you, he called me). That didn't go well.

I also asked to stop today’s shipment to no avail. As it hasn’t shipped yet, I’m not sure I understand why this request was denied. Or why I wasn't contacted before a partial shipment was made.

Now, I have a situation where some medicines are on the way from Pill Pack. I apparently have no choice but to accept because you’ve drawn down on my insurance and prescription. And, I must go to Walgreens to get the rest of my medicines. I must also make sure that Walgreens can take care of my needs next month and beyond and that all insurance is in order. All unnecessary work for me.

This is not the service I expected from your company. I am most especially surprised by the set of poor customer experiences I've endured while trying to on board as a long-term customer. I want you to know that I am very disappointed.

Sincerely,

Thomas M

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 16, 2020

Rip off

By Michael L., Tampa, FL, Verified Reviewer

They advertise little or no co-pay, yet I can get my Rx for $3.60 for a 90-day supply at a reg pharmacy and they want $3.60 for a 30-day supply and claim its what the insurance sets. Through my insurance pharmacy, I pay $0.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 14, 2020

Extreme risk to health!

By James G., Washington, Verified Reviewer

Do NOT use this service under ANY circumstances. Had them less than one year and they left me without my heart medications TWICE! The worst part is they don't contact you in time for you to do something about the "problems" only they have! I have never had my pharmacy wait until 3 days before my prescriptions ran out before telling me! Wouldn't recommend them to my worst enemy!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Apr 13, 2020

Total nightmare

By Shawna M., Salt Lake City, UT, Verified Reviewer

PillPack was great before Amazon bought them, now it's a nightmare. They have charged me $326.00 for a medication which they never billed to my insurance. My insurance told me they never billed them and my co-pay was supposed to be $14.80. Not only that, but as soon as I was notified what the charge would be I called to ask them not to send it. Sorry, they already sent it and refused to allow me to send the box back. I have complained by phone and email, and they blame my Insurance, saying they refuse to pay, yet I just got it filled at Walgreens for a $4.80 co-pay. Not only that, when I TRANSFERRED my prescription to Walgreens, they tried calling my doctor to get ANOTHER prescription. I requested my account closed, but it's still online and I cannot remove my card information. This is very scary. I am filing complaints against them. Please beware.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Mar 2, 2020

DON’T

By Tanya S., Virginia, Verified Reviewer

They are the most incompetent group of liars I’ve ever seen in my life and to see Amazon's name is behind it? I’m baffled! These people claimed they would overnight my medicine on three occasions, here it is Friday night, no medicine, and I'm COMPLETELY OUT OF MEDS! In order for me to get medicine, I have to have my doctor rewrite the scripts and PAY FULL price! And there is nothing anyone can do; so I was told. Additionally, I was told they LOCK you in a CONTRACT that’s HELL getting out of. DO NOT, I repeat, DO NOT DEAL WITH THESE PEOPLE! I cannot believe this company is LEGAL! I will be making a complaint with the BBB ASAP and calling the media to put these people on BLAST! I really feel as though they discriminated against me and I’m not done with them yet. Run, people, RUN!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 27, 2020

They have gotten it right 1 out of 4 months

By Michael D., Massachusetts, Verified Reviewer

Once they've screwed up they, 1) don't take ownership of it, 2) never get back to you to say what they are doing to fix it, 3) make the same, or subtly different, mistakes again, and 4) seem to have no urgency to fix the problems.

I should not have to call to check up constantly, yet I need to.

If you are on medicine for a life-threatening condition, do not use.

Specifics:

December, even though I spoke to them almost daily for the last 10 days of the month, and they said I was all set, they got my pills to me late and without two vitamin supplements.

January, the same thing and without 1 vitamin.

February, they said it was being built and would ship on the 21st. Called on 24th to find out status - good thing because they apparently had a problem in billing.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 30, 2020

They suck

By Jesse P., Maine, Verified Reviewer

If you enjoy being lied to multiple times about them having your medication in stock, almost ready for shipment, and being delivered tomorrow, this might be the pharmacy for you. They will also lie to your doctors about having a supply of the medications when asked about sending in a prescription for it. There seems to be a lot of deception and also serious confusion of the customer service members about anything that goes on behind the scenes. What a nightmare!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 13, 2020

RUN AWAY

By Maria D., Long Beach, CA, Verified Reviewer

I've never written a negative review in my life, but my experience was so bad that I want to warn others. Please do not sign up with this company if you want a positive experience. I used their service for 9 months. Every single month without fail, they scheduled my medication to arrive late, and every month I had to call or email multiple times to get them to ship on the correct date. This past month, they shipped it late and it never arrived. Tracking number proves that. Customer service was no help. They did not comp me, and instead sent out replacement medication and charged me double. I canceled my account today. Save yourself the trouble and go with a competitor - literally anyone else but them.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted
Showing 12-22 of 101

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.