About PillPack

Founded by TJ Parker, PillPack is a full-service pharmacy that “delivers a better, simpler experience.” How?

By pre-sorting all your medication into personalized packets (one pack for each dose), which are organized by time and date, and clearly labeled with medication names. Each convenient recyclable dispenser is delivered straight to your door every two weeks, making it simple to take all of your medications, whether at home or on the go.

And PillPack will even coordinate with your insurance company and all your doctors to actively manage your refills, so you’ll always be able to take the right medication at the right time!

Are you among the 80% of Americans who regularly forgets to take your medication? If so, you could be putting your health in jeopardy.

Can PillPack help, or will they just complicate an already complicated process? Let’s start by taking a look at exactly how the company claims to help.

How the PillPack Process Works

Signing Up

You can sign up for a PillPack account in less than 5 minutes by entering your first and last name, email address, and phone number, and then creating a password. From there, you’ll also need to enter your address, the last four digits of your SS#, your DOB, and indicate which conditions you’re treating.

Once this is complete, you’ll be able to enter medication individually by name, strength, and the pharmacy where they’re currently filled. Finally, you can enter your credit card number and insurance information.

From there, PillPack claims they’ll handle all your transfers and confirm your start date. Once everything’s set, the company will send you a message before each shipment is sent, in order to confirm medications and shipping address.

Receiving Your Prescriptions

According to PillPack, they use a highly precise, automated dispensing system to sort and fill personalized PillPacks separately for each customer. The system checks for errors using multiple barcodes and an image recognition system, while a pharmacist physically double checks for potential errors and interactions prior to shipment.

While your daily medications and vitamins will be contained in PillPacks, “as needed” medication will arrive separately in standard bottles, as will any inhalers or creams.

Important note: PillPack cannot fill schedule II prescriptions (e.g. painkillers, ADHD medication, etc.).

Proactive Refill Management

Before each refill, PillPack contacts your doctor four weeks in advance, and continues following up until they have a new prescription in hand. This is something they call “proactive refill management.”

In the mean time, you can always check your personalized dashboard for “your current list of medications, where you are in your roll of PillPacks, and other helpful information.”

If you’re taking a lot of medications, this can certainly seem like a godsend. But how much will the convenience provided by PillPack cost you?

PillPack’s Pricing Model

PillPack claims there is no extra cost for their services, beyond standard 30-day co-pays. However, if you’re currently receiving your medication in 90-day supplies, your co-pay might be “slightly higher.”

PillPack accepts most major insurance plans, including most forms of Medicare Part D, although they’re not “compatible with Humana, Optum, coverage provided by the United States Veterans Administration, or state Medicaid plans.”

Unsure if your insurance will cover PillPack’s services? Be sure to call your provider in advance.

All PillPacks are shipped overnight via UPS in temperature-controlled packaging, and come with a 100% on time guarantee. If you don’t receive the right medications, on time, every time, you’ll be eligible to receive a full refund for the cost of the medications in the shipment.

If you need assistance, PillPack’s 24/7 support can be reached at 855-745-5725.

Pricing aside, what are customers saying about PillPack?

Customer Feedback for PillPack

As a fairly unique startup (more about this next), PillPack has received a lot of media attention, having been featured in Wired, TechCrunch, Forbes, and more. Most of these were high-level overviews though, and didn’t provide a whole lot of insight into the customer experience.

PC Magazine

PC Magazine reviewed PillPack in December 2014, and gave the company a 4.5-star (excellent) rating and named them an Editors’ Choice health service.

Overall, they found PillPack to be a simple, efficient, and convenient way to refill prescriptions, although they didn’t appreciate having to enter a credit card to browse medications and prices, or the fact that you couldn’t compare these prices with other pharmacies.

Blogger Sarah Doody

Sarah Doody claimed to have really enjoyed her experience with PillPack, and could foresee it bringing “great change for both physicians, pharmacists, and patients.”

While she liked how PillPack seemed to be thinking about every little detail, she recommended that they offer a printable checklist with each medication shipment, as well as whether or not any OTC medications might interact with prescriptions.

Chronically Ridiculous

On the other hand, the author of Chronically Ridiculous was disappointed with their PillPack experience, as the company only sent one of the prescriptions they requested. And PillPack also failed to cancel their enrollment after sending an email request.

Granted, the author didn’t mention that they reached out to the company to fix the problem, or to get an explanation for what occurred.

Better Business Bureau

Finally, PillPack, based out of Manchester, NH, had an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau at the time of our research, with just two closed complaints (as of 10/27/15). One of these referenced over-billing an insurance company, and the other referenced difficulty obtaining refills.

Although PillPack seems to have a mostly positive online customer reputation, how do they compare to the competition? Does the company even have any competition?

Similar Pharmacy Services To PillPack

Type the phrase “online pharmacy” into your favorite search engine, and you’ll encounter thousands of results. In other words, if you’re simply looking for an online pharmacy company to fill your prescriptions, you’ve got a lot of choices.

However, where PillPack really distances themselves from the competition is their pre-filled medication packets, which seems to be completely unique. Yes, robots like the one implemented by PillPack have been used for years to deliver medication to hospitals and assisted living centers, but nothing (until now) for consumer mail-order use.

Just because it’s unique, does this necessarily mean you should choose PillPack?

Should PillPack be Your New Pharmacy?

If you’re taking a lot of medications, there’s no doubt that PillPack’s pre-filled medication packets can simplify your life. To boot, the company even claims that you’ll pay about the same as your local pharmacy, so there’s no extra cost for this added convenience.

On top of this, even with limited online customer reviews, PillPack seems to have a solid customer reputation.

Perhaps the biggest hassle you’ll experience with PillPack is signing up for an account and then listing all your medications in your dashboard. And while the company claims they’ll handle all the transfers and insurance paperwork, insurance companies (and even many brick-and-mortar pharmacies) can be notoriously difficult to deal with, so this might require your involvement as well.

Overall? If you’re looking for convenience with your medications, it seems you can’t go wrong with PillPack.

Have you used PillPack? Did it make your life easier, or just give you a headache from all the complications? Whatever it is, tell us about it by writing a review below!

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

26 Consumer Reviews for PillPack

Average Consumer Rating: 2.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 8 4 star: 0 3 star: 2 2 star: 2 1 star:  14
Bottom Line: 35% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 26
Sort reviews by:

  • 9 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Won't give price quotes; rude on phone

    • Baltimore, MD,
    • Jun 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I called on behalf of my elderly mother to try to get price quotes and find out if they could provide her with two meds that come from a specialty pharmacy. They refused to give price quotes, kept saying copays would stay the same, and couldn't understand that under her insurance she pays a percentage, not a flat price copay. It got to the point where every time I started to speak the man interrupted me. It is quite obvious that they train their employees to avoid giving out prices. I figure if it's this difficult to deal with them on what should be simple inquiries, I don't want to have to deal with them on anything else.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 19 out 20 people found this review helpful

    Awful service, don’t be fooled

    • Lexington, SC,
    • May 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I changed my pharmacy to PillPack over a year ago. At first, they were great. But then things started going downhill. They would send my meds with a handwritten note in the box saying certain meds were not included in the shipment because they needed a refill and couldn’t get in touch with my doctor. They didn’t email or call me beforehand saying they needed my intervention to get the prescription refilled either.

    Then, after several emails complaining, they did start calling me. However, it was an every month occurrence of them calling me to call and get the refill. My doctor office said they get calls all the time from pharmacies but has never received a call or fax from PillPack asking for a refill. I also kept sending messages via their smartphone app with questions or issues, but would never get a response back. When I first came on board with them, they would answer me within minutes no matter what time of day or night it was. Then I find out months later that their app doesn’t work anymore, but no one sent an email letting anyone know!

    I switched to Simple Meds and love them so far. Oh, and they got in touch with my doctors on the first try.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 17 out 21 people found this review helpful

    Terrible, incompetent, and unethical

    This service is painful to manage. Trust me, go to your local pharmacy, sort meds yourself, and save yourself a ton of time and hassle dealings with the idiots at PillPack.

    Three weeks of calls to their customer service line (approximately 20 calls) and not a single issue resolved satisfactorily. In fact, each call seemed to come with its own issue. They never reply to emails with anything other than automated responses, and never make follow up calls regarding issues you raise with them via phone.

    I had unauthorized shipments, was overcharged, they called the wrong physician multiple times, it took me three calls to get a simple Rx transferred from CVS, was not consulted about anything (start date, calling doctors, sending supplemental shipments, etc., etc.), and I still never receive a single PillPack from them! No communication at all. They took it upon themselves to make decisions that I never authorized them to make. It's unethical. Terrible service. Stay away!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 12 people found this review helpful

    I am very happy with PillPack

    Really, I have only one minor complaint and some helpful information. I was told by an employee that they can only charge a 30-day co-pay. Supposedly their system can't calculate 90-day prescriptions which are a lot cheaper than paying every 30 days. I'll have to look into that more if this is the case. I can't believe their sophisticated system isn't able to do 90-day co-pays. They should be able to set-up their computers to do so.

    But, if this is true, it's still worth it for me. I'm on so much medication. I have put my trust in PillPack, and they came through for me. They have saved me a lot of time and aggravation. It would take me what seemed like forever to sort my meds into little pill boxes (you know, Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, and so on) then I had to make sure I counted them out properly, which wasn't always the case. I would double check and double check.

    Oh, here's the helpful part: The hardest thing about getting started with PillPack is that you have to make sure you coordinate your prescriptions from the start. You should make sure you have at least one month left of your prescription. It may be a shorter time depending on when your doctor gets with the program and sends new prescriptions to PillPack.

    So, trust me, it's all worthwhile, and don't forget PillPack has a phone and computer app. You can't go wrong. You can make sure they have everything right!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 17 people found this review helpful

    6 of 1, half a dozen of the other

    I have just signed up. I am hoping that they have gotten all the bugs out of their system. The reviews above have more negatives than positives. Signing up was a pain. The person who helped me seems to be in deft or in another world. I am going to try them for myself and see if things work out. If not, I will cancel.

    Wish me luck.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 30, 2018

      Al B.

      It's easy enough to sign up online.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Excellent

    I started using PillPack on January 1, 2018, and I absolutely love it! Your pills come pre-packaged for am, noon, afternoon, and pm, and it's so convenient. I don't have to worry about remembering to take all my pills! I was recently diagnosed with Alzheimer's and was forgetting some of my meds, but I don't worry about that with PillPack! I feel so much better!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 18 out 21 people found this review helpful

    Beware before you try!

    I tried them out, and they screwed up everything the first month. They promised it would not happen again, but they did again the second month. Then halfway through the third, they tell me they don't take my insurance anymore and I can pay cash for them and they will gladly continue serving me!

    This was a horrible inconvenience. I would not recommend them to anyone! The biggest waste of time and energy switching everything to them, then getting treated like crap, only to just have to switch back!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 16, 2018

      Lee G.

      I had a very similar experience. The package wasn't going to arrive until the second week of the month (long after my meds ran out), they promised to send some pills to hold me over until the pack got here, of the three that I needed, they got two wrong. They lost their first shipment, it took another week for them to get another one here, and it only had four of my six scripts. So, after MANY calls and hours on hold (never talking to the same person twice), I canceled their service and went back to the local drugstore.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 25 out 29 people found this review helpful

    The. Worst. Pharmacy. Ever.

    • Connecticut,
    • Dec 20, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I’ve lost track of the number of times these clowns have failed to get refills or notify me of a problem with a refill. They routinely ship packages that do not have full and complete medications.

    Their “customer service” is entirely made up of “we’re sorry,” and “that shouldn’t happen.” Nothing but words, no improvement after multiple issues.

    Worst. Pharmacy. Ever.

    Avoid.

    I have switched to CVS who offers a similar service.

    P.S. I am certain that someone from PillPack will post the usual “we’re sorry” and “this is not the service that we mean to deliver.” Don't be fooled. Like others here, I have been told that the doctors don’t return calls and faxes. Like others, I have spoken with close to a dozen “supervisors” and “managers.” It’s all a shell game and a joke. Nothing ever gets better. They are NOT sorry, and this IS the level of service you should expect. Don’t be fooled. Take these 1-star ratings to heart.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 11 people found this review helpful

    I just ordered from them

    This is my first order with them. Very good customer service. I pay less for my medication with them than at my local pharmacy. Plus it is winter time now and this convenient for me because I have a disability and I have trouble getting around in the winter time, and this will help me. Thank you PillPack!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 20, 2017

      Rob

      One order is hardly enough to base a recommendation. Good luck.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 17 out 20 people found this review helpful

    If there were fewer stars they would deserve it

    • Oregon,
    • Dec 9, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    This pharmacy is dangerous. Do not use them! This was the most horrific experience I have ever had. To the point that I had to use expired medication since it was more than a month to get them to even promise to mail the package (I was told that it had already been mailed several times), at which time it was easier to go to my local pharmacy.

    I have probably 15 emails back and forth. During the calls that I did receive, I never talked to the same person twice, even after being told that they would take personal care and follow my order themselves. I had to repeat myself over and over. When I tried to call I was never on hold less than 45 minutes. Please, please beware. DO NOT use these people!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 17 out 19 people found this review helpful

    Horrible service

    • Apple Valley, CA,
    • Nov 22, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have issues with this pharmacy almost every single month. When I was on chemotherapy, they told me 4 separate times that my medication would arrive on time and it never did. I had to go without my medication for a week and fight just to get my medication. Then when I stopped taking the chemotherapy, they wouldn’t stop shipping my medication after asking them multiple times.

    They’re always shipping out my PillPacks without medications because they fail to refill my prescriptions with my doctor, or they add too many medications causing me to throw away perfectly fine pills.

    Every single month something happens. Wheather it be issues like them accidentally putting my medications in 4 separate PillPacks a day, or issues like them leaving out medications I need to stay healthy. I’m constantly having to fight between them and my doctor’s office, and it’s exhausting.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 26

Write a Review for PillPack!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review