PillPack Review and Details

By HighYa Staff
Published on: Oct 29, 2015

Founded by TJ Parker, PillPack is a full-service pharmacy that “delivers a better, simpler experience.” How?

By pre-sorting all your medication into personalized packets (one pack for each dose), which are organized by time and date, and clearly labeled with medication names. Each convenient recyclable dispenser is delivered straight to your door every two weeks, making it simple to take all of your medications, whether at home or on the go.

And PillPack will even coordinate with your insurance company and all your doctors to actively manage your refills, so you’ll always be able to take the right medication at the right time!

Are you among the 80% of Americans who regularly forgets to take your medication? If so, you could be putting your health in jeopardy.

Can PillPack help, or will they just complicate an already complicated process? Let’s start by taking a look at exactly how the company claims to help.

How the PillPack Process Works

Signing Up

You can sign up for a PillPack account in less than 5 minutes by entering your first and last name, email address, and phone number, and then creating a password. From there, you’ll also need to enter your address, the last four digits of your SS#, your DOB, and indicate which conditions you’re treating.

Once this is complete, you’ll be able to enter medication individually by name, strength, and the pharmacy where they’re currently filled. Finally, you can enter your credit card number and insurance information.

From there, PillPack claims they’ll handle all your transfers and confirm your start date. Once everything’s set, the company will send you a message before each shipment is sent, in order to confirm medications and shipping address.

Receiving Your Prescriptions

According to PillPack, they use a highly precise, automated dispensing system to sort and fill personalized PillPacks separately for each customer. The system checks for errors using multiple barcodes and an image recognition system, while a pharmacist physically double checks for potential errors and interactions prior to shipment.

While your daily medications and vitamins will be contained in PillPacks, “as needed” medication will arrive separately in standard bottles, as will any inhalers or creams.

Important note: PillPack cannot fill schedule II prescriptions (e.g. painkillers, ADHD medication, etc.).

Proactive Refill Management

Before each refill, PillPack contacts your doctor four weeks in advance and continues following up until they have a new prescription in hand. This is something they call “proactive refill management.”

In the mean time, you can always check your personalized dashboard for “your current list of medications, where you are in your roll of PillPacks, and other helpful information.”

If you’re taking a lot of medications, this can certainly seem like a godsend. But how much will the convenience provided by PillPack cost you?

PillPack’s Pricing Model

PillPack claims there is no extra cost for their services, beyond standard 30-day co-pays. However, if you’re currently receiving your medication in 90-day supplies, your co-pay might be “slightly higher.”

PillPack accepts most major insurance plans, including most forms of Medicare Part D, although they’re not “compatible with Humana, Optum, coverage provided by the United States Veterans Administration, or state Medicaid plans.”

Unsure if your insurance will cover PillPack’s services? Be sure to call your provider in advance.

All PillPacks are shipped overnight via UPS in temperature-controlled packaging, and come with a 100% on-time guarantee. If you don’t receive the right medications, on time, every time, you’ll be eligible to receive a full refund for the cost of the medications in the shipment.

If you need assistance, PillPack’s 24/7 support can be reached at 855-745-5725.

Pricing aside, what are customers saying about PillPack?

Customer Feedback for PillPack

As a fairly unique startup (more about this next), PillPack has received a lot of media attention, having been featured in Wired, TechCrunch, Forbes, and more. Most of these were high-level overviews though, and didn’t provide a whole lot of insight into the customer experience.

PC Magazine

PC Magazine reviewed PillPack in December 2014, and gave the company a 4.5-star (excellent) rating and named them an Editors’ Choice health service.

Overall, they found PillPack to be a simple, efficient, and convenient way to refill prescriptions, although they didn’t appreciate having to enter a credit card to browse medications and prices, or the fact that you couldn’t compare these prices with other pharmacies.

Blogger Sarah Doody

Sarah Doody claimed to have really enjoyed her experience with PillPack, and could foresee it bringing “great change for both physicians, pharmacists, and patients.”

While she liked how PillPack seemed to be thinking about every little detail, she recommended that they offer a printable checklist with each medication shipment, as well as whether or not any OTC medications might interact with prescriptions.

Chronically Ridiculous

On the other hand, the author of Chronically Ridiculous was disappointed with their PillPack experience, as the company only sent one of the prescriptions they requested. And PillPack also failed to cancel their enrollment after sending an email request.

Granted, the author didn’t mention that they reached out to the company to fix the problem, or to get an explanation for what occurred.

Better Business Bureau

Finally, PillPack, based out of Manchester, NH, had an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau at the time of our research, with just two closed complaints (as of 10/27/15). One of these referenced over-billing an insurance company, and the other referenced difficulty obtaining refills.

Although PillPack seems to have a mostly positive online customer reputation, how do they compare to the competition? Does the company even have any competition?

PillPack Alternatives

Type the phrase “online pharmacy” into your favorite search engine, and you’ll encounter thousands of results. In other words, if you’re simply looking for an online pharmacy company to fill your prescriptions, you’ve got a lot of choices.

However, where PillPack really distances themselves from the competition is their pre-filled medication packets, which seems to be completely unique. Yes, robots like the one implemented by PillPack have been used for years to deliver medication to hospitals and assisted living centers, but nothing (until now) for consumer mail-order use.

Just because it’s unique, does this necessarily mean you should choose PillPack?

Should PillPack be Your New Pharmacy?

If you’re taking a lot of medications, there’s no doubt that PillPack’s pre-filled medication packets can simplify your life. To boot, the company even claims that you’ll pay about the same as your local pharmacy, so there’s no extra cost for this added convenience.

On top of this, even with limited online customer reviews, PillPack seems to have a solid customer reputation.

Perhaps the biggest hassle you’ll experience with PillPack is signing up for an account and then listing all your medications in your dashboard. And while the company claims they’ll handle all the transfers and insurance paperwork, insurance companies (and even many brick-and-mortar pharmacies) can be notoriously difficult to deal with so this might require your involvement as well.

Overall? If you’re looking for convenience with your medications, it seems you can’t go wrong with PillPack.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 61 PillPack Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 2.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 11 4 star: 3 3 star: 3 2 star: 4 1 star:  40
Bottom Line: 26% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 61
Sort reviews by:

  • Awesome!

    • Tennessee,
    • May 8, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Nine different meds, including one OTC, got my first shipment and it was perfect. They informed me because I had just refilled 2 of my meds, including a 90-day supply of one of them, there would be a transition time before all meds were in the pack. Totally understandable and professional. Highly recommend the service!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Not worth the headache!

    • Maryland,
    • Apr 24, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I signed up for this service a couple of weeks ago. Over a week ago, I got emails from the company, telling me that they were working on my first shipment. The email also said to reply to the message if I had less than a three week supply, and they'd expedite it and send an "interim supply." I immediately replied, saying that I had a little over one week of meds left, and asked to have the shipment expedited.

    I called today to check up on things because I have not heard anything back from PillPack. First I was told that the email didn't exist, then I was told that they never received a reply from me (while I'm looking at the original email and reply). I'm now being told that they are not ACTUALLY working on a shipment - they are still trying to get the prescriptions transferred over from my local pharmacy. They corrected that to say that they were getting them from my doctor instead, and had not yet gotten a response from her office. They also said that they've gone ahead and billed my insurance - for the prescriptions that they don't yet have, but that I should go ahead and get one more refill locally. I canceled the account.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 13 out 15 people found this review helpful
    Updated review

    Update

    • Boise, ID,
    • Apr 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    4/13/19 I just received a call from a rep before 1, who couldn't pronounce Glucophage, even after I said it 4 times. She says they can't get it and suggests the drug I'm allergic to! These people are going to kill someone. A pharmacist named Amy came on the phone and talked to me, saying that they saw my review and wonders if I want to find a different pharmacy. She repeatedly excuses the rep for suggesting they fill a drug I'm allergic to because "they aren't trained." They aren't trained to read notes? They aren't trained to see "Drug allergy?" I told her I don't care if it's the janitor. If they are dealing with customers and initiating anything dealing with a person's drugs - THEY NEED TO READ NOTES! I'm shocked and horrified.

    If you have had a bad experience with this pharmacy, as so many have, please Google the Board of Pharmacy in your state and file an online complaint to have this investigated. You should also file a complaint with the BBB. Make sure you write reviews on all available sites reviewing this company. You may be saving someone's life! I have multiple learning disabilities and I thank God that I'm able to function enough to confront these things and say what is wrong. There are many disabled and elderly people who are not cognizant enough to catch these things, or speak for themselves. You have got to be their voice. Your terrible experience with this company needs to be investigated by the proper regulatory agencies.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Previous review
    • Apr 12, 2019

    Endless mistakes, carelessness - DANGEROUS pharmacy!

    What a terrible company. Every single month there is a new error with my meds, and this could be life-threatening for some people! Some times pills are missing from the packets. Other times they've sent me for drugs I've informed them I'm no longer taking. But they won't read the notes to see that I'm no longer taking it. Worse, they are in the packs and I accidentally take them, which could be harmful. The notes tell the representatives not to call me until 1 because I suffer from migraines in the mornings. Of course they never bother to read the notes! I recently received a shipment with the name brand drug that I have to take replaced with a generic. I am allergic to the generic and have severe symptoms when taking it. I was outraged. The notes specify at least a dozen times that I cannot take the generic and to never give me anything but the name brand. THEY NEVER READ THE NOTES! And that is very, very dangerous. After working with a pharmacist over the course of a couple of days, she guaranteed it would never happen again, as she was listing it as a drug allergy. And then what happens? The very next day I'm getting a call from a representative (at 10 am) and being told they can't get that drug but will be happy to give me the generic. HE DIDN'T READ THE NOTES! Today I get another call at 10 am and I said, "The notes say not to call me until after 1. Please read the notes before you call me" and hung up.

    Do not use this pharmacy if you have life-threatening illnesses. I am absolutely certain they are eventually going to kill someone by making these brainless, careless and senseless mistakes. As bad as Walgreens was - they never endangered my health or safety in all the decades I've been with them. The only positives are the convenience of the pill packs (if you can ever get just one order correct). And the very professional, courteous, and helpful manner that every, single person I've dealt with has shown me. They take your ranting in stride. Believe me, they probably have a LOT of experience with angry customers.

    (read moreread less...)

  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Be advised!

    • Sterling Heights, MI,
    • Apr 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Be advised - although PillPack told me many, many times that their services do not cost more, they do! PillPack is a standard pharmacy, not preferred, so all medications cost more! It's hidden by the fact that they fill and bill monthly instead of every 90 days. The theory is terrific and helped me a lot, but I can't afford to pay even $1 more for my medicines.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 12 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Terrible PillPack experience

    • Sugar Hill, GA,
    • Apr 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My mom is 83 and taking her medicine has become confusing. I loved the idea of PillPack, so I switched all of her prescriptions over. It has been an absolute nightmare. They are unqualified non-medical representatives which resulted in three errors in my mom's first order. I spoke with a very nice kid one evening who asked me if it mattered if my mom had Tylenol or Tylenol PM as he didn't realize the PM meant "to sleep." That should have been my first flag. I then had to call 5 or 6 times to try and re-order them correctly only asking them to remove the incorrect meds and replace with the correct meds. They agreed to send the missing meds so I then could add them to her current pack and they would fix next time. I didn't want to confuse her more so I just canceled the whole thing after getting nowhere and now I am being charged for meds that I had to return.

    Stay away! Not what I would expect from an Amazon company. Huge liability in my opinion. Had I not checked my mom's order she would have been short three very important meds and also taken an incorrect one, which could have killed her.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Incompetent handling of a vacation supply request

    • Pennsylvania,
    • Apr 3, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was very pleased with PillPack in the beginning. I had no problems receiving the correct medication in a timely fashion. However, in preparation for an upcoming vacation, I notified PillPack that I would need a vacation override in order to receive my supply of pills prior to the usual date. I was placed on hold while the customer service rep made an inquiry. She came back and told me that this was approved. In an attempt to confirm that my pills would be delivered sooner than usual because of a vacation override, I called them one month prior to the anticipated delivery date. When I called, I was assured that this was noted and that it was approved.

    Approximately two weeks before the anticipated arrival date of my medications, I received an email stating that they would be delivered on Friday, March 8th, two weeks ahead of schedule per the vacation override request. When I did not receive the medication on Friday, I called the company, as I was leaving the county on March 10th for three weeks. I was told that my medication had in fact not gone out, and had not been approved by Express Scripts my Medicare Part D provider. During lengthy conversations with several customer service reps at PillPack, someone told me that Express Scripts had just approved my request that evening, March 8th. I was told they would fill the order and overnight it to me so that I would get it the following day, Saturday, March 9th.

    When nothing came that afternoon, I called them to find out that it had not been filled. At that point, I figured I would need to reschedule my flight for the following Monday or Tuesday at a great expense to me. The representative suggested that he fax my prescriptions to my local pharmacy with the hope that they would be able to fill them. Fortunately, my local pharmacy worked with me to get all of my prescriptions filled by the end of Sunday evening, the evening prior to my planned departure.

    I received an email from PillPack the other day, letting me know that I would be receiving my next delivery April 19th. The problem is only one prescription was listed. I called them today to ask why all of my scripts were not listed. I was told that if I want my prescriptions to be filled, I needed to call my pharmacy and have them send the scripts to PillPack.

    I spoke with a supervisor today to cancel my plan with them. There was no interest in making this situation right and furthermore, no understanding of their culpability with regard to this situation.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Once you get all your prescriptions with them, works well

    • Galloway Township, NJ,
    • Mar 24, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I’ve been using PillPack for almost two years, and once I got all my prescriptions switched to them, it has worked very well for me. My only complaint is that they recently changed the packaging to something much thinner and not easy to tear evenly. I hope they change back to what they were using. Otherwise, it’s much easier than figuring out what to take and when.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Wasted too much time

    • Florida,
    • Mar 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I spent way too much time on the website and at least four long phone calls and they still could not get my pack correct, and no returns. I ended up having to open all the packs to reorganize and multiple calls to get the prescriptions not included. They promised the next order would be correct, and when I got the email about the order coming, they left off two prescriptions. Once shipped you cannot return. Walgreens here I come again!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Absolutely horrible service! Lied to and charged 3 times my Rx amount.

    • Mount Juliet, TN,
    • Mar 8, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This service while seeming like a grand idea was HORRIBLE! I contacted them to gather information and was told that there was no additional charge for this service and that whatever I’m paying at my current pharmacy is how much I’ll be paying with them. I was also told all my pills could be placed into one "easy, convenient" package. When I spent over an hour getting set up, not till it was all over did they give me an "estimate" of how much it would cost. I went from paying $30 at my current pharmacy to $96 with PillPack. I hesitated when the price was so much more even after I was just told how it would be the same price. The representative told me the prices will be lower as it’s just an estimate. I decided to go forward even though my price was 3 times the amount I’m currently paying for the "ease and convenience."

    When my pills arrived they were still $96 and in 4 separate packages so every day I would have to open 4 different pouches to take my pills. Where is the ease? Where is the convenience? I called immediately the day they arrived and explained my confusion and frustration. I was told they can only fit 5 pills per package due to the size of the font printed on the package. I explained how I was told it would be in one package and it seemed very wasteful and not so convenient for me to have to open 4 packages per day and I’d like to send my unopened pills back for a refund as this is not what I was promised. They refused and after two separate conversations with 2 different management team members both said they would get this resolved and send me an email letting me know. Each sent me an email saying they will not refund me.

    This service is a lie and a very inconvenient service. I would NOT recommend them to anyone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    No bueno

    • Washington,
    • Feb 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have given up. You need to fill your prescription before setting up an account with PillPack. If you don't, you'll be without your medications. You cannot navigate the website easily to be able to change your prescriptions. Good luck on getting that fixed. I've given it a couple of months and I just transferred my stuff back to my old pharmacy. It is not easier or convenient.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Guess we all have different experiences

    • Kansas,
    • Jan 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been using this for a month or so, and my experience has been different from a lot of reviews on here. The medicine was correct and arrived on time. And the staff was very polite!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 61

Write a Review for PillPack!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review