PillPack Review and Details

By HighYa Research Team
Published on: Oct 29, 2015

Founded by TJ Parker, PillPack is a full-service pharmacy that “delivers a better, simpler experience.” How?

By pre-sorting all your medication into personalized packets (one pack for each dose), which are organized by time and date, and clearly labeled with medication names. Each convenient recyclable dispenser is delivered straight to your door every two weeks, making it simple to take all of your medications, whether at home or on the go.

And PillPack will even coordinate with your insurance company and all your doctors to actively manage your refills, so you’ll always be able to take the right medication at the right time!

Are you among the 80% of Americans who regularly forgets to take your medication? If so, you could be putting your health in jeopardy.

Can PillPack help, or will they just complicate an already complicated process? Let’s start by taking a look at exactly how the company claims to help.

How the PillPack Process Works

Signing Up

You can sign up for a PillPack account in less than 5 minutes by entering your first and last name, email address, and phone number, and then creating a password. From there, you’ll also need to enter your address, the last four digits of your SS#, your DOB, and indicate which conditions you’re treating.

Once this is complete, you’ll be able to enter medication individually by name, strength, and the pharmacy where they’re currently filled. Finally, you can enter your credit card number and insurance information.

From there, PillPack claims they’ll handle all your transfers and confirm your start date. Once everything’s set, the company will send you a message before each shipment is sent, in order to confirm medications and shipping address.

Receiving Your Prescriptions

According to PillPack, they use a highly precise, automated dispensing system to sort and fill personalized PillPacks separately for each customer. The system checks for errors using multiple barcodes and an image recognition system, while a pharmacist physically double checks for potential errors and interactions prior to shipment.

While your daily medications and vitamins will be contained in PillPacks, “as needed” medication will arrive separately in standard bottles, as will any inhalers or creams.

Important note: PillPack cannot fill schedule II prescriptions (e.g. painkillers, ADHD medication, etc.).

Proactive Refill Management

Before each refill, PillPack contacts your doctor four weeks in advance and continues following up until they have a new prescription in hand. This is something they call “proactive refill management.”

In the mean time, you can always check your personalized dashboard for “your current list of medications, where you are in your roll of PillPacks, and other helpful information.”

If you’re taking a lot of medications, this can certainly seem like a godsend. But how much will the convenience provided by PillPack cost you?

PillPack’s Pricing Model

PillPack claims there is no extra cost for their services, beyond standard 30-day co-pays. However, if you’re currently receiving your medication in 90-day supplies, your co-pay might be “slightly higher.”

PillPack accepts most major insurance plans, including most forms of Medicare Part D, although they’re not “compatible with Humana, Optum, coverage provided by the United States Veterans Administration, or state Medicaid plans.”

Unsure if your insurance will cover PillPack’s services? Be sure to call your provider in advance.

All PillPacks are shipped overnight via UPS in temperature-controlled packaging, and come with a 100% on-time guarantee. If you don’t receive the right medications, on time, every time, you’ll be eligible to receive a full refund for the cost of the medications in the shipment.

If you need assistance, PillPack’s 24/7 support can be reached at 855-745-5725.

Pricing aside, what are customers saying about PillPack?

Customer Feedback for PillPack

As a fairly unique startup (more about this next), PillPack has received a lot of media attention, having been featured in Wired, TechCrunch, Forbes, and more. Most of these were high-level overviews though, and didn’t provide a whole lot of insight into the customer experience.

PC Magazine

PC Magazine reviewed PillPack in December 2014, and gave the company a 4.5-star (excellent) rating and named them an Editors’ Choice health service.

Overall, they found PillPack to be a simple, efficient, and convenient way to refill prescriptions, although they didn’t appreciate having to enter a credit card to browse medications and prices, or the fact that you couldn’t compare these prices with other pharmacies.

Blogger Sarah Doody

Sarah Doody claimed to have really enjoyed her experience with PillPack, and could foresee it bringing “great change for both physicians, pharmacists, and patients.”

While she liked how PillPack seemed to be thinking about every little detail, she recommended that they offer a printable checklist with each medication shipment, as well as whether or not any OTC medications might interact with prescriptions.

Chronically Ridiculous

On the other hand, the author of Chronically Ridiculous was disappointed with their PillPack experience, as the company only sent one of the prescriptions they requested. And PillPack also failed to cancel their enrollment after sending an email request.

Granted, the author didn’t mention that they reached out to the company to fix the problem, or to get an explanation for what occurred.

Better Business Bureau

Finally, PillPack, based out of Manchester, NH, had an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau at the time of our research, with just two closed complaints (as of 10/27/15). One of these referenced over-billing an insurance company, and the other referenced difficulty obtaining refills.

Although PillPack seems to have a mostly positive online customer reputation, how do they compare to the competition? Does the company even have any competition?

PillPack Alternatives

Type the phrase “online pharmacy” into your favorite search engine, and you’ll encounter thousands of results. In other words, if you’re simply looking for an online pharmacy company to fill your prescriptions, you’ve got a lot of choices.

However, where PillPack really distances themselves from the competition is their pre-filled medication packets, which seems to be completely unique. Yes, robots like the one implemented by PillPack have been used for years to deliver medication to hospitals and assisted living centers, but nothing (until now) for consumer mail-order use.

Just because it’s unique, does this necessarily mean you should choose PillPack?

Should PillPack be Your New Pharmacy?

If you’re taking a lot of medications, there’s no doubt that PillPack’s pre-filled medication packets can simplify your life. To boot, the company even claims that you’ll pay about the same as your local pharmacy, so there’s no extra cost for this added convenience.

On top of this, even with limited online customer reviews, PillPack seems to have a solid customer reputation.

Perhaps the biggest hassle you’ll experience with PillPack is signing up for an account and then listing all your medications in your dashboard. And while the company claims they’ll handle all the transfers and insurance paperwork, insurance companies (and even many brick-and-mortar pharmacies) can be notoriously difficult to deal with so this might require your involvement as well.

Overall? If you’re looking for convenience with your medications, it seems you can’t go wrong with PillPack.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 68 PillPack Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 2.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 12 4 star: 3 3 star: 3 2 star: 5 1 star:  45
Bottom Line: 25% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 68
Sort reviews by:

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Wait a month for new prescription

    • Plainfield, IL,
    • Jul 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I loved PillPack - even reviewed as such - until I got a new prescription. When PillPack sold me, they had assured that a doctor could call in, and PillPack would send the new prescription in a pill bottle until the next shipment. After three days waiting, and literally 4 and 1/2 hours on the phone, turns out they will only do this if a doctor calls it in as "urgent" - otherwise, you have to wait until your next shipment. So if a doctor calls in a new prescription on June 23rd, but your next shipment is scheduled for the July 21st, you either have to wait the 3 or more weeks for it, or spend hours on the phone to get it a week later. I have no idea what doctor on the planet would prescribe something that you wouldn’t take for another month - ANY prescription - but PillPack seems to think that is "normal". Good luck.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Missing Rx's

    • New Jersey,
    • Jun 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    First order, just realized two life protecting Rx not in the packages after two weeks thinking this was something great.

    Make sure you double check these people, they are incompetent and offer no help when I call.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Great pharmacy, even greater experience

    • Canton, NY,
    • Jun 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I switched to PillPack pharmacy for two reasons

    1. My current pharmacy (Walgreen's) was consistently not able to fill my prescriptions in a timely manner (the medication was out of stock, it didn't arrive on the truck, etc). Obviously, this meant multiple trips to a pharmacy in a weeks time for the 10+ meds I have to take! Also, the meds I take are not meds I can be without - going without means my medical condition becomes worse and I have further issues to deal with. I stayed with them for over a year (they bought out the Rite Aid Pharmacy in our community that I had been using for 20 years).

    2. Because I take so many medications I was fearful that I was going to have a mix-up when I put them in my medication dispenser every week. PillPack had individual packets, it accommodated the need for an additional time that I was not doing for one of my meds. It was everything I was looking for. AND it was delivered to my door, I didn't have to make arrangements for someone to go to the pharmacy for me to get my meds.

    I signed up and got all my meds transferred over to PillPack, the process itself was VERY easy, I contacted customer service by e-mail with a few questions and received answers quickly and completely from them. When I was getting ready to start a new injectable medication I did run into a bit of an issue - it required me to make many calls back and forth with PillPack and my doctor's office. While it took almost a week to get straightened out, I still got the medication SEVERAL days before I was due to inject it. Their customer service reps are helpful and knowledgeable - the pharmacists are easily reached.

    My insurance (MCD) paid ALL costs and my co-pays (some were even less than what they were at the brick and mortar store) were the same. It does require you to have an account (credit/bank) on file to pay for the co-pays. I am about to get my second delivery of meds and I have to say this is a Pharmacy I would recommend to EVERYONE!

    And finally, the small pouches that house your medication are Day, Date and Time stamped (i.e. Thursday, June 13, 8:00 PM), then below that each medication is listed (how many pills, strength). They come off the roll easily at the perforation marks and the individual pouches are super easy to open (even easier than opening a childproof cap, NOTE: THE POUCHES ARE NOT CHILDPROOF).

    I could write so much more about the benefits of switching to PillPack and why I think it is so beneficial. Give it a try, you won't be sorry. Just remember, as with any pharmacy change it takes a month or so to get everything situated and for both sides to understand the process and needs of the other. I won't be changing back to a local Pharmacy unless PillPack forces me to.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Don't use them unless you don't want to get the right medications as prescribed

    • Massachusetts,
    • Jun 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've spent 5 months with PillPack, and not a single time have they gotten my medications right. Eight have had to spend HOURS on the phone with both PillPack and my doctors trying to get them right. I'm going back to CVS because even though updated scripts had been sent to PillPack they still filled outdated ones, and have been missing two of my medications entirely, me having to instead call each month to get more. I have not gotten one of my meds in two months now. Their response on the phone "Oh, I'm sorry, are you sure we have updated scripts from your doctor." "Yes, they sent them to you two weeks ago, you added the med they added to my pill list, yet didn't update the other two scripts even though they were sent at the same damn time." "Oh, well, I'm sorry I can make a note in here to put them on auto delivery to ship alongside your pack." For crap's sake, they are regular medications taken on a regular schedule, just like all my other pills, prescribed the same way as my other pills, why can't you put them in the darn packs.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Sent wrong dose, and that was just for starters

    • New York,
    • Jun 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    1) PillPack sent a higher dose than ordered for one medication.

    2) Could not accept a prescription from two doctors.

    3) Couldn't obtain one of the prescribed medications.

    4) Substituted requested single ingredient supplement for another one which combined two things, without asking if this was okay.

    5) Claimed not to be able to provide two separate boxes, one for morning and one for the evening.

    6) Claimed to fax the doctor for the prescription (10 times!) while the doctor says they received no faxes. PillPack never tried to contact the doctor another way, and never let me know they weren't hearing back from the doctor.

    It was MONTHS from when I began my order to when I finally received a pill pack - and then that whole month of medication was useless because of the incorrect dosage. (Medication is for a patient with memory impairment, so, someone who could not open a packet each day and replace the wrong pill with a correct pill from another source.)

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Should be called "HackPack"

    • East Grand Forks, MN,
    • Jun 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    A bunch of hacks who will say anything to get you to switch. If you think this will help you get your meds synced (as they will promise), think again. Wish I would have read off-site reviews before getting scammed in. If you're frustrated with trying to get all your meds at the same time each month after your doc has changed something mid-month, DO NOT get hoodwinked into believing this service will do that. When your first pack arrives missing meds, good luck. Once they’ve got your credit card info and they have reassigned all your prescriptions to themselves, you’ll really understand what frustration is. Mr. or Mrs. super helpful nice person you spoke to when signing up is no longer accessible to you. Now you get to deal with Mr. or Mrs. jaded customer service rep whose job now is to make it as difficult as possible for you to switch back to your local Pharmacy.

    If you still believe after reading this and the thousands of other hoar story reviews your experience will match the commercials at least do yourself a favor and don’t purchase the piece of junk "Deluxe dispenser." They will not take it back. I truly believe this overpriced piece of garbage plastic is pushed solely to offset the costs of cancellations. What more in your life are willing to turn over Amazon?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    I really wanted this to work...

    • Syracuse, NY,
    • Jun 3, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Okay, here we go. I had an account back in 2015 with PillPack, which I eventually canceled because I decided that I wanted a local pharmacy for my meds. Now it's 2019, I saw an ad for PillPack and thought I'd like to try it again. I work a lot and having my meds pre-packaged and delivered would be a big help. I called PillPack and spoke with a young man who took my demographic, medication, and billing info, and VOILA! I'm back with PillPack! Nope. The next time I logged in to take a look at my dashboard, etc, I saw all of my meds, billing info, etc, from my old 2015 account. So I called and spoke to a young lady who alternately read my file and sniffed (needed to blow her nose badly). She eventually said that she saw the problem and it would be fixed. Great! Next day I logged on and my 2015 info was still there. Called PillPack back and spoke with a different young lady, who almost immediately fixed (?) the problem, so when I logged out/logged back in, I saw my 2019 info. All fixed! Nope. Today, I logged into my account, and all of my 2015 stuff was back. I called PillPack back and happened to get the same young lady from my last call. She looked at my account, saw the same thing I was seeing, and said that although the old 2015 account was marked DO NOT USE in their computer, it was being used anyway for some unknown reason. I asked why they couldn't just DELETE the old 2015 account and solve this problem, but they can't. She totally understood when I told her to cancel my account immediately. All I can say is NEVER EVER again...

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Awesome!

    • Tennessee,
    • May 8, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Nine different meds, including one OTC, got my first shipment and it was perfect. They informed me because I had just refilled 2 of my meds, including a 90-day supply of one of them, there would be a transition time before all meds were in the pack. Totally understandable and professional. Highly recommend the service!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 12 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Not worth the headache!

    • Maryland,
    • Apr 24, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I signed up for this service a couple of weeks ago. Over a week ago, I got emails from the company, telling me that they were working on my first shipment. The email also said to reply to the message if I had less than a three week supply, and they'd expedite it and send an "interim supply." I immediately replied, saying that I had a little over one week of meds left, and asked to have the shipment expedited.

    I called today to check up on things because I have not heard anything back from PillPack. First I was told that the email didn't exist, then I was told that they never received a reply from me (while I'm looking at the original email and reply). I'm now being told that they are not ACTUALLY working on a shipment - they are still trying to get the prescriptions transferred over from my local pharmacy. They corrected that to say that they were getting them from my doctor instead, and had not yet gotten a response from her office. They also said that they've gone ahead and billed my insurance - for the prescriptions that they don't yet have, but that I should go ahead and get one more refill locally. I canceled the account.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 17 out 20 people found this review helpful
    Updated review

    Update

    • Boise, ID,
    • Apr 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    4/13/19 I just received a call from a rep before 1, who couldn't pronounce Glucophage, even after I said it 4 times. She says they can't get it and suggests the drug I'm allergic to! These people are going to kill someone. A pharmacist named Amy came on the phone and talked to me, saying that they saw my review and wonders if I want to find a different pharmacy. She repeatedly excuses the rep for suggesting they fill a drug I'm allergic to because "they aren't trained." They aren't trained to read notes? They aren't trained to see "Drug allergy?" I told her I don't care if it's the janitor. If they are dealing with customers and initiating anything dealing with a person's drugs - THEY NEED TO READ NOTES! I'm shocked and horrified.

    If you have had a bad experience with this pharmacy, as so many have, please Google the Board of Pharmacy in your state and file an online complaint to have this investigated. You should also file a complaint with the BBB. Make sure you write reviews on all available sites reviewing this company. You may be saving someone's life! I have multiple learning disabilities and I thank God that I'm able to function enough to confront these things and say what is wrong. There are many disabled and elderly people who are not cognizant enough to catch these things, or speak for themselves. You have got to be their voice. Your terrible experience with this company needs to be investigated by the proper regulatory agencies.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Previous review
    • Apr 12, 2019

    Endless mistakes, carelessness - DANGEROUS pharmacy!

    What a terrible company. Every single month there is a new error with my meds, and this could be life-threatening for some people! Some times pills are missing from the packets. Other times they've sent me for drugs I've informed them I'm no longer taking. But they won't read the notes to see that I'm no longer taking it. Worse, they are in the packs and I accidentally take them, which could be harmful. The notes tell the representatives not to call me until 1 because I suffer from migraines in the mornings. Of course they never bother to read the notes! I recently received a shipment with the name brand drug that I have to take replaced with a generic. I am allergic to the generic and have severe symptoms when taking it. I was outraged. The notes specify at least a dozen times that I cannot take the generic and to never give me anything but the name brand. THEY NEVER READ THE NOTES! And that is very, very dangerous. After working with a pharmacist over the course of a couple of days, she guaranteed it would never happen again, as she was listing it as a drug allergy. And then what happens? The very next day I'm getting a call from a representative (at 10 am) and being told they can't get that drug but will be happy to give me the generic. HE DIDN'T READ THE NOTES! Today I get another call at 10 am and I said, "The notes say not to call me until after 1. Please read the notes before you call me" and hung up.

    Do not use this pharmacy if you have life-threatening illnesses. I am absolutely certain they are eventually going to kill someone by making these brainless, careless and senseless mistakes. As bad as Walgreens was - they never endangered my health or safety in all the decades I've been with them. The only positives are the convenience of the pill packs (if you can ever get just one order correct). And the very professional, courteous, and helpful manner that every, single person I've dealt with has shown me. They take your ranting in stride. Believe me, they probably have a LOT of experience with angry customers.

    (read moreread less...)

  • 15 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Be advised!

    • Sterling Heights, MI,
    • Apr 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Be advised - although PillPack told me many, many times that their services do not cost more, they do! PillPack is a standard pharmacy, not preferred, so all medications cost more! It's hidden by the fact that they fill and bill monthly instead of every 90 days. The theory is terrific and helped me a lot, but I can't afford to pay even $1 more for my medicines.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 68

Write a Review for PillPack!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review