PillPack Review and Details

By HighYa Research Team
Published on: Oct 29, 2015

Founded by TJ Parker, PillPack is a full-service pharmacy that “delivers a better, simpler experience.” How?

By pre-sorting all your medication into personalized packets (one pack for each dose), which are organized by time and date, and clearly labeled with medication names. Each convenient recyclable dispenser is delivered straight to your door every two weeks, making it simple to take all of your medications, whether at home or on the go.

And PillPack will even coordinate with your insurance company and all your doctors to actively manage your refills, so you’ll always be able to take the right medication at the right time!

Are you among the 80% of Americans who regularly forgets to take your medication? If so, you could be putting your health in jeopardy.

Can PillPack help, or will they just complicate an already complicated process? Let’s start by taking a look at exactly how the company claims to help.

How the PillPack Process Works

Signing Up

You can sign up for a PillPack account in less than 5 minutes by entering your first and last name, email address, and phone number, and then creating a password. From there, you’ll also need to enter your address, the last four digits of your SS#, your DOB, and indicate which conditions you’re treating.

Once this is complete, you’ll be able to enter medication individually by name, strength, and the pharmacy where they’re currently filled. Finally, you can enter your credit card number and insurance information.

From there, PillPack claims they’ll handle all your transfers and confirm your start date. Once everything’s set, the company will send you a message before each shipment is sent, in order to confirm medications and shipping address.

Receiving Your Prescriptions

According to PillPack, they use a highly precise, automated dispensing system to sort and fill personalized PillPacks separately for each customer. The system checks for errors using multiple barcodes and an image recognition system, while a pharmacist physically double checks for potential errors and interactions prior to shipment.

While your daily medications and vitamins will be contained in PillPacks, “as needed” medication will arrive separately in standard bottles, as will any inhalers or creams.

Important note: PillPack cannot fill schedule II prescriptions (e.g. painkillers, ADHD medication, etc.).

Proactive Refill Management

Before each refill, PillPack contacts your doctor four weeks in advance and continues following up until they have a new prescription in hand. This is something they call “proactive refill management.”

In the mean time, you can always check your personalized dashboard for “your current list of medications, where you are in your roll of PillPacks, and other helpful information.”

If you’re taking a lot of medications, this can certainly seem like a godsend. But how much will the convenience provided by PillPack cost you?

PillPack’s Pricing Model

PillPack claims there is no extra cost for their services, beyond standard 30-day co-pays. However, if you’re currently receiving your medication in 90-day supplies, your co-pay might be “slightly higher.”

PillPack accepts most major insurance plans, including most forms of Medicare Part D, although they’re not “compatible with Humana, Optum, coverage provided by the United States Veterans Administration, or state Medicaid plans.”

Unsure if your insurance will cover PillPack’s services? Be sure to call your provider in advance.

All PillPacks are shipped overnight via UPS in temperature-controlled packaging, and come with a 100% on-time guarantee. If you don’t receive the right medications, on time, every time, you’ll be eligible to receive a full refund for the cost of the medications in the shipment.

If you need assistance, PillPack’s 24/7 support can be reached at 855-745-5725.

Pricing aside, what are customers saying about PillPack?

Customer Feedback for PillPack

As a fairly unique startup (more about this next), PillPack has received a lot of media attention, having been featured in Wired, TechCrunch, Forbes, and more. Most of these were high-level overviews though, and didn’t provide a whole lot of insight into the customer experience.

PC Magazine

PC Magazine reviewed PillPack in December 2014, and gave the company a 4.5-star (excellent) rating and named them an Editors’ Choice health service.

Overall, they found PillPack to be a simple, efficient, and convenient way to refill prescriptions, although they didn’t appreciate having to enter a credit card to browse medications and prices, or the fact that you couldn’t compare these prices with other pharmacies.

Blogger Sarah Doody

Sarah Doody claimed to have really enjoyed her experience with PillPack, and could foresee it bringing “great change for both physicians, pharmacists, and patients.”

While she liked how PillPack seemed to be thinking about every little detail, she recommended that they offer a printable checklist with each medication shipment, as well as whether or not any OTC medications might interact with prescriptions.

Chronically Ridiculous

On the other hand, the author of Chronically Ridiculous was disappointed with their PillPack experience, as the company only sent one of the prescriptions they requested. And PillPack also failed to cancel their enrollment after sending an email request.

Granted, the author didn’t mention that they reached out to the company to fix the problem, or to get an explanation for what occurred.

Better Business Bureau

Finally, PillPack, based out of Manchester, NH, had an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau at the time of our research, with just two closed complaints (as of 10/27/15). One of these referenced over-billing an insurance company, and the other referenced difficulty obtaining refills.

Although PillPack seems to have a mostly positive online customer reputation, how do they compare to the competition? Does the company even have any competition?

PillPack Alternatives

Type the phrase “online pharmacy” into your favorite search engine, and you’ll encounter thousands of results. In other words, if you’re simply looking for an online pharmacy company to fill your prescriptions, you’ve got a lot of choices.

However, where PillPack really distances themselves from the competition is their pre-filled medication packets, which seems to be completely unique. Yes, robots like the one implemented by PillPack have been used for years to deliver medication to hospitals and assisted living centers, but nothing (until now) for consumer mail-order use.

Just because it’s unique, does this necessarily mean you should choose PillPack?

Should PillPack be Your New Pharmacy?

If you’re taking a lot of medications, there’s no doubt that PillPack’s pre-filled medication packets can simplify your life. To boot, the company even claims that you’ll pay about the same as your local pharmacy, so there’s no extra cost for this added convenience.

On top of this, even with limited online customer reviews, PillPack seems to have a solid customer reputation.

Perhaps the biggest hassle you’ll experience with PillPack is signing up for an account and then listing all your medications in your dashboard. And while the company claims they’ll handle all the transfers and insurance paperwork, insurance companies (and even many brick-and-mortar pharmacies) can be notoriously difficult to deal with so this might require your involvement as well.

Overall? If you’re looking for convenience with your medications, it seems you can’t go wrong with PillPack.


Read 77 PillPack Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 2.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 14 4 star: 3 3 star: 3 2 star: 7 1 star:  50
Bottom Line: 25% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 77
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    No human oversight!

    • Illinois,
    • Oct 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This company was good until Amazon got involved. There is no human overseeing the medication process. Two months in a row they did not ship vital medication (heart, blood pressure, multiple sclerosis) holding up the shipment for ulcer medication. Seriously! The first time it happened they assured me it would not happen again. This time they said they want to ship all meds at once and they contact the customer to let them know. I asked who they spoke to or emailed and oops! They failed to contact anyone. I asked the logic in holding a shipment of 20+ medications for 1 pill and she said so it is all in the PillPack. I asked her who makes this decision - it is computer generated.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Great idea, horrible execution

    • USA,
    • Oct 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I should have known it wasn't great when I was without meds for a week because they never bothered to contact my insurance. But no, I just gave them another chance. They used those chances to ignore my request to change my doctor, fail to obtain a refill for me in a decent time frame, and just generally be inept. The customer service is awful. If you decide to take a chance with them, make sure you have some meds stashed so that you can get by while they take forever to do the simplest task.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 7 people found this review helpful

    PillPack, great idea, but...

    • Yorba Linda, CA,
    • Sep 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    In this HighYa article PillPack is defined as:

    Founded by TJ Parker, PillPack is a full-service pharmacy that "delivers a better, simpler experience." How?

    By pre-sorting all your medication into personalized packets (one pack for each dose), nothing could be further from the truth. If you take several Meds they come in more than one package per dose. This is because of the font size on the package, let me repeat that, it is because of the FONT SIZE ON THE PACKAGE. Pathetic, back to Costco Pharmacy I go...I can help with programming variable size font based on content. These guys don't get it, the whole idea is "one pack for each dose", their idea not mine.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Works very well for me

    • Charleston, SC,
    • Sep 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    To start with, my situation is unique. I have a PCP in California and pain management in South Carolina. My problem was I spend about three months in South Carolina then the next three months in California. So my pain meds became a huge problem. I am one of the chronic pain people that is caught in the opioid problem. All the script crackdown made my life a nightmare. Add to that most pharmacies do not stock my med because it is expensive. Then add that the dosing is for 28 days and can not be refilled until day 27. PillPack was the dream solution. I no longer had to have the pharmacy in California question a script from South Carolina. Or deal with when I traveled to my other home, much less if I ever wanted to take a vacation...

    PillPack has fulfilled all of their promises it has been about a year. Count me as a happy customer.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    If cost is a concern, this is not the best option.

    • Illinois,
    • Aug 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    There's a reason they don't provide pricing until you are a subscriber. The cost of my prescription through PillPack is triple what I pay at Sam's Club. FYI - EVERYONE offers mail-order delivery these days. So convenience isn't an advantage. Plus there are several dangers with mail order. What if your package is lost or stolen? How are your drugs packed? (Are they packed in ice, if refrigeration is needed?) How will they hold up if left sitting in the sun? Are they okay if left out in the rain? What's the expiration date on the medication you receive? Where was it packaged and shipped from - within the USA? On the plus side, their customer service is here in the USA. So call and get pricing before subscribing.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Can't seem to get it right after 5 months

    • North Carolina,
    • Aug 8, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Very bad communication. First month, April, was ok and I got all 5 meds in the pack. Next month arrived with only 2 meds. I called and they said it was a mixup with Walmart pharmacy and that they would straighten it out the next month. Next month arrived with only the same 2 meds.

    I called and they said they would send me another pack with the missing 3 meds and that I would use two PillPacks for a month and they would straighten it out the next month. I then received a bottle with only 1 med, not in a pack. I called again and they tried to again blame Walmart and my doctor.

    Today I received another bottle of pills and it's now the first of August. So I now have a PillPack with 2 meds, bottles with 2 more meds, and still missing 1 med.

    TLDR; Customer service does not take responsibility and doesn't bother to notify the customer when they are going to ship out a changed number of meds. Even the Walmart calls to tell me when my meds change or when a transfer order is received. PillPack should do the same thing or send a text message at a minimum.

    I spoke with a manager named "Chris" who would not give me his full name, even though they have my SS number, Credit Card info, and birth date.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Warning: PillPack might not send your medication

    • California,
    • Aug 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Be aware PillPack will not send your medication if there is any glitch in the payment process. They will not notify you that they've done this. The first two payments went through fine and I received my medications on time. However, the third shipment didn't arrive. When I called to find out why they said it was some problem with the delivery or the payment. The problem must have been on there and because I received the shipment a few days later. I called them and tried to tell them that now I had medication for days that had already passed in addition to not having medication for the first few days. They need to have a policy where they always deliver the medicine on time and work any problems afterward. I would never use them again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Good bye CVS

    • Homewood, IL,
    • Jul 31, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I signed up before I realized no supplementals, so I stopped. Read Amazon, bought the company, called, and now supplemental, was available and rejoined. Their service saves me at least 2 hours a week when I would place meds into daily plastic containers. Also impossible to beat when traveling on vacation. Their service is 180 degrees from the local pharmacy. Looking forward to the drug store closing because of terrible service. PillPack and Amazon will change the landscape of meds forever.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Get the whole story first

    • Washington,
    • Jul 29, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    It is indeed handy to have someone combine my medications and not to have to deal with the pharmacy trips.

    BUT...here's "the rest of the story."

    I still must sort out my OTC meds (vitamins, supplements, etc) or pay 3 times what I usually do to have them included. Even if I bit that bullet as an expensive convenience, their delivery method is honestly a deal-breaker! When you pull out the packet from the roll in the box, the risk or likelihood is that the thin pack material tears open anywhere BUT on the perforated line. PillPack, here's a news flash: when using a heat source to seal a tube of material into small individual pouches, it tends to make the two layers into one layer twice as thick and stronger than one thin easy to tear layer! Even with the heat source installed perforated line, it's still easier for the pouch to tear open scattering your medications everywhere.

    Their "fix" according to a PillPack person is to keep a pair of scissors sticking out of the box to do what their design engineers can't do.

    I'm sorry, just too much trouble searching for those meds that escaped without warning.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 13 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Wait a month for new prescription

    • Plainfield, IL,
    • Jul 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I loved PillPack - even reviewed as such - until I got a new prescription. When PillPack sold me, they had assured that a doctor could call in, and PillPack would send the new prescription in a pill bottle until the next shipment. After three days waiting, and literally 4 and 1/2 hours on the phone, turns out they will only do this if a doctor calls it in as "urgent" - otherwise, you have to wait until your next shipment. So if a doctor calls in a new prescription on June 23rd, but your next shipment is scheduled for the July 21st, you either have to wait the 3 or more weeks for it, or spend hours on the phone to get it a week later. I have no idea what doctor on the planet would prescribe something that you wouldn’t take for another month - ANY prescription - but PillPack seems to think that is "normal". Good luck.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Missing Rx's

    • New Jersey,
    • Jun 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    First order, just realized two life protecting Rx not in the packages after two weeks thinking this was something great.

    Make sure you double check these people, they are incompetent and offer no help when I call.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 77

Write a Review for PillPack!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review