About PillPack

Founded by TJ Parker, PillPack is a full-service pharmacy that “delivers a better, simpler experience.” How?

By pre-sorting all your medication into personalized packets (one pack for each dose), which are organized by time and date, and clearly labeled with medication names. Each convenient recyclable dispenser is delivered straight to your door every two weeks, making it simple to take all of your medications, whether at home or on the go.

And PillPack will even coordinate with your insurance company and all your doctors to actively manage your refills, so you’ll always be able to take the right medication at the right time!

Are you among the 80% of Americans who regularly forgets to take your medication? If so, you could be putting your health in jeopardy.

Can PillPack help, or will they just complicate an already complicated process? Let’s start by taking a look at exactly how the company claims to help.

How the PillPack Process Works

Signing Up

You can sign up for a PillPack account in less than 5 minutes by entering your first and last name, email address, and phone number, and then creating a password. From there, you’ll also need to enter your address, the last four digits of your SS#, your DOB, and indicate which conditions you’re treating.

Once this is complete, you’ll be able to enter medication individually by name, strength, and the pharmacy where they’re currently filled. Finally, you can enter your credit card number and insurance information.

From there, PillPack claims they’ll handle all your transfers and confirm your start date. Once everything’s set, the company will send you a message before each shipment is sent, in order to confirm medications and shipping address.

Receiving Your Prescriptions

According to PillPack, they use a highly precise, automated dispensing system to sort and fill personalized PillPacks separately for each customer. The system checks for errors using multiple barcodes and an image recognition system, while a pharmacist physically double checks for potential errors and interactions prior to shipment.

While your daily medications and vitamins will be contained in PillPacks, “as needed” medication will arrive separately in standard bottles, as will any inhalers or creams.

Important note: PillPack cannot fill schedule II prescriptions (e.g. painkillers, ADHD medication, etc.).

Proactive Refill Management

Before each refill, PillPack contacts your doctor four weeks in advance, and continues following up until they have a new prescription in hand. This is something they call “proactive refill management.”

In the mean time, you can always check your personalized dashboard for “your current list of medications, where you are in your roll of PillPacks, and other helpful information.”

If you’re taking a lot of medications, this can certainly seem like a godsend. But how much will the convenience provided by PillPack cost you?

PillPack’s Pricing Model

PillPack claims there is no extra cost for their services, beyond standard 30-day co-pays. However, if you’re currently receiving your medication in 90-day supplies, your co-pay might be “slightly higher.”

PillPack accepts most major insurance plans, including most forms of Medicare Part D, although they’re not “compatible with Humana, Optum, coverage provided by the United States Veterans Administration, or state Medicaid plans.”

Unsure if your insurance will cover PillPack’s services? Be sure to call your provider in advance.

All PillPacks are shipped overnight via UPS in temperature-controlled packaging, and come with a 100% on time guarantee. If you don’t receive the right medications, on time, every time, you’ll be eligible to receive a full refund for the cost of the medications in the shipment.

If you need assistance, PillPack’s 24/7 support can be reached at 855-745-5725.

Pricing aside, what are customers saying about PillPack?

Customer Feedback for PillPack

As a fairly unique startup (more about this next), PillPack has received a lot of media attention, having been featured in Wired, TechCrunch, Forbes, and more. Most of these were high-level overviews though, and didn’t provide a whole lot of insight into the customer experience.

PC Magazine

PC Magazine reviewed PillPack in December 2014, and gave the company a 4.5-star (excellent) rating and named them an Editors’ Choice health service.

Overall, they found PillPack to be a simple, efficient, and convenient way to refill prescriptions, although they didn’t appreciate having to enter a credit card to browse medications and prices, or the fact that you couldn’t compare these prices with other pharmacies.

Blogger Sarah Doody

Sarah Doody claimed to have really enjoyed her experience with PillPack, and could foresee it bringing “great change for both physicians, pharmacists, and patients.”

While she liked how PillPack seemed to be thinking about every little detail, she recommended that they offer a printable checklist with each medication shipment, as well as whether or not any OTC medications might interact with prescriptions.

Chronically Ridiculous

On the other hand, the author of Chronically Ridiculous was disappointed with their PillPack experience, as the company only sent one of the prescriptions they requested. And PillPack also failed to cancel their enrollment after sending an email request.

Granted, the author didn’t mention that they reached out to the company to fix the problem, or to get an explanation for what occurred.

Better Business Bureau

Finally, PillPack, based out of Manchester, NH, had an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau at the time of our research, with just two closed complaints (as of 10/27/15). One of these referenced over-billing an insurance company, and the other referenced difficulty obtaining refills.

Although PillPack seems to have a mostly positive online customer reputation, how do they compare to the competition? Does the company even have any competition?

Similar Pharmacy Services To PillPack

Type the phrase “online pharmacy” into your favorite search engine, and you’ll encounter thousands of results. In other words, if you’re simply looking for an online pharmacy company to fill your prescriptions, you’ve got a lot of choices.

However, where PillPack really distances themselves from the competition is their pre-filled medication packets, which seems to be completely unique. Yes, robots like the one implemented by PillPack have been used for years to deliver medication to hospitals and assisted living centers, but nothing (until now) for consumer mail-order use.

Just because it’s unique, does this necessarily mean you should choose PillPack?

Should PillPack be Your New Pharmacy?

If you’re taking a lot of medications, there’s no doubt that PillPack’s pre-filled medication packets can simplify your life. To boot, the company even claims that you’ll pay about the same as your local pharmacy, so there’s no extra cost for this added convenience.

On top of this, even with limited online customer reviews, PillPack seems to have a solid customer reputation.

Perhaps the biggest hassle you’ll experience with PillPack is signing up for an account and then listing all your medications in your dashboard. And while the company claims they’ll handle all the transfers and insurance paperwork, insurance companies (and even many brick-and-mortar pharmacies) can be notoriously difficult to deal with, so this might require your involvement as well.

Overall? If you’re looking for convenience with your medications, it seems you can’t go wrong with PillPack.

Have you used PillPack? Did it make your life easier, or just give you a headache from all the complications? Whatever it is, tell us about it by writing a review below!

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

43 Consumer Reviews for PillPack

Average Consumer Rating: 2.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 8 4 star: 1 3 star: 3 2 star: 4 1 star:  27
Bottom Line: 26% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 43
Sort reviews by:

  • Very weak process

    • Keene, NH,
    • Nov 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    PillPack is an attractive service, but their processes are error-prone and amount to deception.

    I am converting to PillPack (a process which began in August, and is not yet complete in November).

    PillPack either can't or won't set up prescriptions for future fulfillment, because the insurance company indicates I received a 90-day supply 45 days ago. Instead, they require repeated calls by the customer to determine if they have in fact included your order in upcoming packs. Note; I am not asking them to ship now, I am asking them to package and ship at a set future date. Their response is "Call us then."

    Stay away from PillPack.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Customer service needs work!

    • Palm Springs, CA,
    • Nov 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I called, then emailed (when I noted it was not corrected) to ask them to change the date of my delivery. Both times they confirmed the change would be made. Today received a text from PillPack with the wrong delivery date. Infuriating. The Customer Service rep I initially spoke to on the phone seemed to have no interest in helping. I hope my meds are still on my porch when I return from vacation. Otherwise, I like the service.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Not as easy as it sounds

    • Houston, TX,
    • Oct 31, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    PillPack claims that they make it simple, all you have to do is call your doctor and tell them you are changing to PillPack and they take care of the rest. What you don't know is that they only fax the doctors so it may take many phone calls from you if your doctor's office doesn't get the fax. They never actually call them if they don't hear back. And then when they fail to ask you to call the pharmacies, only tell you to call the doctors, so the pharmacy ships the next batch. They offer to sell you the medicine to have it included in the packaging. "We work with your doctors to automatically manage your refills." No, not really!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 1, 2018

      Steph J.

      I was looking into this PillPack Company because I’ve transferred over a few patients from this place, and I keep seeing horrible reviews much like yours. As a pharmacist, this concerns me because some patients have extremely important medication and these people just do not take it seriously. I had to call them three times to get my patient's scripts transferred. It’s rediculous. I not going to deny that the concept is great. Now, the execution, terrible. I haven’t been in this industry for long but this “pharmacy” is by far the worst I’ve delt with.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Pills never arrived

    • Buena Park, CA,
    • Oct 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Don't waste your time. The order was placed 40 days ago and should have been delivered by September 28th. It's now October 8th and they are not here. I was forced to transfer back to my pharmacy.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Great idea - poor execution

    • Denver, CO,
    • Oct 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    When it works, it is great. When it doesn't, well...We've been using PillPack for the past 6 months for our father who has Alzheimer's. His meds have had to be changed 3 different times and each time PillPack has gotten the new order WRONG. They didn't hear back from the doctor, they didn't get verification on time, they got verification on time but still sent a partial order. What about follow-up? What about better communication? What about getting it right the first time?

    The reason this is a great idea is that everything is prepackaged for you (or your loved one) in AM and PM packets, by date. If all the meds aren't in the pack, what is the convenience? Partial packs are the same as having no packs at all when you have to add in extra meds each day, and when you have Alzheimer's imagine having to try to remember to do all of that. It doesn't happen. The other thing they do is put a list of the meds on the outside of the box with a picture of the pill. This has saved us numerous times because we have had to verify what is in the pack, and when they've gotten it WRONG, we have had to remove meds and add others. Great idea if they could get it right. We hope another company gives them some competition and does it right.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Just DON'T!

    • Mountain View, CA,
    • Oct 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    As a senior with a limited income and a lack of youthful dexterity, I thought PillPack was the answer to my prayers. They were not.

    1) I was told the copays would be identical to my local pharmacy. I explained that my insurance had a two-tier copay plan (preferred and non-preferred). They said they worked with my preferred pharmacy and the copays would be the same. They were not.

    2) I explained that I have trouble opening pill bottles, even those without safety caps. They sent one of my prescriptions in a pill bottle.

    3) They said they could transfer my medications from my preferred pharmacy so that I would receive all my medications in easy open packets labeled with the time of day each packet was to be taken. They only filled three of my 12 prescriptions. Only two were in a packet - see #2.

    4) They miss-filled the prescription that they sent in a bottle. The bottle read "Take one pill three times a day." For a 30-day supply, they sent only 30 pills. When I contacted them, I got apologies, but they would not transfer the prescription back to my pharmacy so that I could pick them up locally.

    3) I ended up going to the Emergency Room, as it was Sunday, and I needed the pills immediately to avoid withdrawal symptoms (common with SSRI’s and benzodiazepines). They could only give me one pill.

    4) I then found out that my pharmacy could not have filled the remainder of the prescription, as PillPack informed my insurance company that they had filled a 30-day supply. My pharmacy could not have filled a newly written prescription, as I was only ten days into my supposed 30-day supply.

    5) My doctor could not, by law, write a new prescription without an office visit. I made an appointment; my doctor wrote a new prescription on Monday. I had to pay the full cash price, as PillPack incorrectly told my insurance company that they had given me a 30-day supply.

    PillPack has refused to even entertain the idea of reimbursing me for any of my costs. I have since contacted a medical malpractice lawyer to try to recover some of the money I had to spend due to PillPack’s admitted error. I also have a call into the Pharmacy Board in New Hampshire and am awaiting their response.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Mostly fabulous

    • Springdale, AR,
    • Sep 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I love that I don’t have to open so many bottles a day and it all comes to my door. The packs are just strong enough that you have to pull them off hard, and then they are so thin they break apart and pills fly everywhere. It’s happened numerous times to all three PillPack users in our home. Please fix the actual packs. They are maddening, but the rest is fabulous!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Bad people

    • Columbus, IN,
    • Sep 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Where to start...

    They start out by scamming you to join by saying they are calling from your doctor's office. That's how they pull you in. My very own doctor told me that I'm not her only patient they did that to. They told me they would get my scripts altogether and get them sent to me in the mail. At that time I was told to go about getting my scripts like normal through Walgreens. I went to fill my antidepressants and they could not fill them.

    Long story short of it, about 7 to 10 days later I found myself in the Emergency Room. Shaking, sweating, dehydrated, crying from severe depression. To get them to release my scripts back to Walgreens, I had to call my state reps office. If you like taking chances of doing without important medications then give PillPack a chance. I would suggest stay away from these people.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Scam company

    • Florida,
    • Sep 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Buyer beware! This company is terrible. They will not send you out all your medications, then blame the doctor's office. I have seen the faxes be sent out.

    If someone doesn't know what they take, they will not know if they are missing pills. And with pill pack, you will be missing pills. This is dangerous!

    Very incompetent company. The icing on the cake is that they refuse to refund the pill dispenser we bought. SCAM.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 8, 2018

      BEVERLY D.

      I was led to believe that PillPack would offer me the same kind of service that I had for years that was received from Oprum Rx. Nothing could be farther from the truth! Not only did I consistently receive an email stating that my account was not being set up until I contacted them, which I did each time I got the message, but while checking online I found that I would be receiving my first order and it cost, unlike Optum Rx. I was led to believe it would be the same as PillPack. Just remember, if it seems too good to be true, it isn't.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 18 out 20 people found this review helpful

    Amazon acquires train wreck.

    • Kernersville, NC,
    • Sep 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    So, Amazon wants to get into the healthcare business. They believe they can disrupt the market. Good luck Amazon. Your acquisition is going to require a complete overhaul if you are going to make a dent in the PBM arena. This is more than slapping a shipping label on a Sham Wow. These are people's lives you have in your hands and should not be taken lightly.

    Good concept of pre-packing pills into day/evening dose packs. The packaging material either opens inadvertently when trying to tear off at perforation spilling your pills everywhere or you cannot get into the pack without the use of teeth or scissors. There is no in-between. The dispensing box does not keep the pills dispensing, you have to constantly open up and dig in to pull the strip of pills out.

    There is a disconnect with customer service. They don't get it. I don't think they have any pharmacy customer service training. They cannot pronounce medications; they seem clueless as to policies and procedures (shipping, ordering, delivery). Don't count on them to discover a drug, drug interaction or contraindications. Hopefully, they have board certified pharmacists that will catch those.

    The shipping time and delivery exceed national average...weeks, not days. It is sad when you can get a replacement iPhone in less than 24 hours, but your medications will take weeks to reach you. You will also spend an exorbitant time on the phone trying to set up and order your medications. Their website is not intuitive or user-friendly either. Now...rush shipment. Let's say you have a PRN (as needed) medication that you use for migraines, if you want that delivered, you can get a rush order. I went online and ordered a rush order...a rush order was two weeks. Again, from what planet is this medication being shipped from?

    Now, canceling and getting your prescriptions moved back to a real pharmacy. Good luck with that. You can call. They will tell you they will do it. They won't. Trust me. Call the pharmacy that you want your prescriptions transferred to and have them contact PillPack. It is the only way that you will get them transferred. Better yet, don't use PillPack in the first place and you won't have to worry about it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 14 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Horrible

    • Washington, DC,
    • Aug 31, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    PillPack is horrible. They have left me without my meds on numerous occasions. Then don’t want to return phone or emails. Their management is particularly bad. Hopefully, Amazon will clean up the mess. Until they have had an opportunity to do so and recruit some new management, I would recommend you stay away.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 43

Write a Review for PillPack!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review