About PillPack

Founded by TJ Parker, PillPack is a full-service pharmacy that “delivers a better, simpler experience.” How?

By pre-sorting all your medication into personalized packets (one pack for each dose), which are organized by time and date, and clearly labeled with medication names. Each convenient recyclable dispenser is delivered straight to your door every two weeks, making it simple to take all of your medications, whether at home or on the go.

And PillPack will even coordinate with your insurance company and all your doctors to actively manage your refills, so you’ll always be able to take the right medication at the right time!

Are you among the 80% of Americans who regularly forgets to take your medication? If so, you could be putting your health in jeopardy.

Can PillPack help, or will they just complicate an already complicated process? Let’s start by taking a look at exactly how the company claims to help.

How the PillPack Process Works

Signing Up

You can sign up for a PillPack account in less than 5 minutes by entering your first and last name, email address, and phone number, and then creating a password. From there, you’ll also need to enter your address, the last four digits of your SS#, your DOB, and indicate which conditions you’re treating.

Once this is complete, you’ll be able to enter medication individually by name, strength, and the pharmacy where they’re currently filled. Finally, you can enter your credit card number and insurance information.

From there, PillPack claims they’ll handle all your transfers and confirm your start date. Once everything’s set, the company will send you a message before each shipment is sent, in order to confirm medications and shipping address.

Receiving Your Prescriptions

According to PillPack, they use a highly precise, automated dispensing system to sort and fill personalized PillPacks separately for each customer. The system checks for errors using multiple barcodes and an image recognition system, while a pharmacist physically double checks for potential errors and interactions prior to shipment.

While your daily medications and vitamins will be contained in PillPacks, “as needed” medication will arrive separately in standard bottles, as will any inhalers or creams.

Important note: PillPack cannot fill schedule II prescriptions (e.g. painkillers, ADHD medication, etc.).

Proactive Refill Management

Before each refill, PillPack contacts your doctor four weeks in advance, and continues following up until they have a new prescription in hand. This is something they call “proactive refill management.”

In the mean time, you can always check your personalized dashboard for “your current list of medications, where you are in your roll of PillPacks, and other helpful information.”

If you’re taking a lot of medications, this can certainly seem like a godsend. But how much will the convenience provided by PillPack cost you?

PillPack’s Pricing Model

PillPack claims there is no extra cost for their services, beyond standard 30-day co-pays. However, if you’re currently receiving your medication in 90-day supplies, your co-pay might be “slightly higher.”

PillPack accepts most major insurance plans, including most forms of Medicare Part D, although they’re not “compatible with Humana, Optum, coverage provided by the United States Veterans Administration, or state Medicaid plans.”

Unsure if your insurance will cover PillPack’s services? Be sure to call your provider in advance.

All PillPacks are shipped overnight via UPS in temperature-controlled packaging, and come with a 100% on time guarantee. If you don’t receive the right medications, on time, every time, you’ll be eligible to receive a full refund for the cost of the medications in the shipment.

If you need assistance, PillPack’s 24/7 support can be reached at 855-745-5725.

Pricing aside, what are customers saying about PillPack?

Customer Feedback for PillPack

As a fairly unique startup (more about this next), PillPack has received a lot of media attention, having been featured in Wired, TechCrunch, Forbes, and more. Most of these were high-level overviews though, and didn’t provide a whole lot of insight into the customer experience.

PC Magazine

PC Magazine reviewed PillPack in December 2014, and gave the company a 4.5-star (excellent) rating and named them an Editors’ Choice health service.

Overall, they found PillPack to be a simple, efficient, and convenient way to refill prescriptions, although they didn’t appreciate having to enter a credit card to browse medications and prices, or the fact that you couldn’t compare these prices with other pharmacies.

Blogger Sarah Doody

Sarah Doody claimed to have really enjoyed her experience with PillPack, and could foresee it bringing “great change for both physicians, pharmacists, and patients.”

While she liked how PillPack seemed to be thinking about every little detail, she recommended that they offer a printable checklist with each medication shipment, as well as whether or not any OTC medications might interact with prescriptions.

Chronically Ridiculous

On the other hand, the author of Chronically Ridiculous was disappointed with their PillPack experience, as the company only sent one of the prescriptions they requested. And PillPack also failed to cancel their enrollment after sending an email request.

Granted, the author didn’t mention that they reached out to the company to fix the problem, or to get an explanation for what occurred.

Better Business Bureau

Finally, PillPack, based out of Manchester, NH, had an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau at the time of our research, with just two closed complaints (as of 10/27/15). One of these referenced over-billing an insurance company, and the other referenced difficulty obtaining refills.

Although PillPack seems to have a mostly positive online customer reputation, how do they compare to the competition? Does the company even have any competition?

Similar Pharmacy Services To PillPack

Type the phrase “online pharmacy” into your favorite search engine, and you’ll encounter thousands of results. In other words, if you’re simply looking for an online pharmacy company to fill your prescriptions, you’ve got a lot of choices.

However, where PillPack really distances themselves from the competition is their pre-filled medication packets, which seems to be completely unique. Yes, robots like the one implemented by PillPack have been used for years to deliver medication to hospitals and assisted living centers, but nothing (until now) for consumer mail-order use.

Just because it’s unique, does this necessarily mean you should choose PillPack?

Should PillPack be Your New Pharmacy?

If you’re taking a lot of medications, there’s no doubt that PillPack’s pre-filled medication packets can simplify your life. To boot, the company even claims that you’ll pay about the same as your local pharmacy, so there’s no extra cost for this added convenience.

On top of this, even with limited online customer reviews, PillPack seems to have a solid customer reputation.

Perhaps the biggest hassle you’ll experience with PillPack is signing up for an account and then listing all your medications in your dashboard. And while the company claims they’ll handle all the transfers and insurance paperwork, insurance companies (and even many brick-and-mortar pharmacies) can be notoriously difficult to deal with, so this might require your involvement as well.

Overall? If you’re looking for convenience with your medications, it seems you can’t go wrong with PillPack.

Have you used PillPack? Did it make your life easier, or just give you a headache from all the complications? Whatever it is, tell us about it by writing a review below!

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

51 Consumer Reviews for PillPack

Average Consumer Rating: 2.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 9 4 star: 2 3 star: 3 2 star: 4 1 star:  33
Bottom Line: 27% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 51
Sort reviews by:

  • Guess we all have different experiences

    • Kansas,
    • Jan 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been using this for a month or so, and my experience has been different from a lot of reviews on here. The medicine was correct and arrived on time. And the staff was very polite!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    PillPack.com is AWESOME!

    • Kentucky,
    • Jan 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've been using PillPack.com for several years now. First for my elderly mother who was having trouble remembering which medications to take when and more recently for myself.

    You don't have to worry about individual pill bottles (unless you want to) and shipments come once a month about a week in advance.

    Prices are the same as my regular pharmacy.

    Customer service, the few times I've needed it, has been awesome.

    You can't beat the service, convenience, and price.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    No communication

    • Seattle, WA,
    • Jan 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    PillPack appears to want to help you, but then they don't listen. They didn't listen when I informed them they were about to send the wrong dosage of medication and they didn't listen when I asked them to please verify medications prior to shipping because the same error was being made.

    PillPack didn't listen when I asked to have a supervisor to call me so we could work this out and get the meds scheduled and PillPack didn't listen when they rescheduled my meds and still were going to send me the wrong dose.

    If you want your meds in the wrong dosage, then call PillPack as fast as you can, and if you want a company that won't communicate with you prior to billing or shipments, then PillPack is for you.

    If you want awesome personalized service, DON'T GO HERE. Go to your local pharmacy. They also have delivery programs that work...unlike PillPack.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Not responsible to its customers

    • Philadelphia, PA,
    • Jan 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered blood pressure meds. The first month was fine. Then they ran out and said they had a problem with their supplier. Not my problem. My whole point was convenience. Extremely irresponsible of them to run out. Not acceptable. Said I could go to my local pharmacy. What is the point of their business model? I cancelled.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    PillPack has been awesome to work with

    • New York,
    • Dec 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'm an early user of PillPack. Slightly skeptical at first, I was quickly won over. We've had a couple of small hiccups, which they immediately resolved. They even handle 1/2 pills. My one nit-picky request is that the "rip-point" where each day's pills detach can be improved. The "packets" do not separate as easily as they should.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    3 strikes you're out

    • Pennsylvania,
    • Dec 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Don't even think about using them. They screwed up my order 3 months in a row. It's been painful.

    Incompetent would be complementary. Multiple phone calls, the same result over and over again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Disappointing, dangerous, expensive, and yes, inconvenient.

    • California,
    • Nov 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Their promise is to send you all your pills at one time in packets. However, they do not do that, and if they can't easily fill one of your prescriptions, they will send the packets incomplete.

    Here's the dangerous part. When you receive your pills, there will be no notification that pills are missing either in the box or on the packets. This is no problem if you only take a few pills. If you have to take many pills, you may not notice one missing and start taking them without the required pill. They do seem to think this is a problem since they say if you study your bill you can figure out that a pill or two is missing. In fact, after I called them, they still did not realize pills were missing, although it was confirmed on the original order.

    When I signed up for the service, I requested a co-pay estimate, 20% more, but I figured the convenience might be worth it, but when the bill came, it was 30% more. For one month’s supply. They do not do 90 days’ supply, and here's maybe why - the cost of shipping. I received the packets in two white boxes, taking up about a cubic foot. My 30-day supply before PillPack fit is a small compartmentalized plastic box the size of a large book.

    All in all, this service is not worth it and may be hazardous to your health.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Terrible service

    • North Carolina,
    • Nov 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    It's the worst. I was promised I wouldn't have any problems. I will never use this service again. They just put my health at risk. They told me that I would get my meds on the next day, well, it didn't happen. These meds help to keep my heart from beating fast. Now I have to go to the hospital because of this. Just be careful. I should have checked on this company before I switched.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Very weak process

    • Keene, NH,
    • Nov 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    PillPack is an attractive service, but their processes are error-prone and amount to deception.

    I am converting to PillPack (a process which began in August, and is not yet complete in November).

    PillPack either can't or won't set up prescriptions for future fulfillment, because the insurance company indicates I received a 90-day supply 45 days ago. Instead, they require repeated calls by the customer to determine if they have in fact included your order in upcoming packs. Note; I am not asking them to ship now, I am asking them to package and ship at a set future date. Their response is "Call us then."

    Stay away from PillPack.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Customer service needs work!

    • Palm Springs, CA,
    • Nov 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I called, then emailed (when I noted it was not corrected) to ask them to change the date of my delivery. Both times they confirmed the change would be made. Today received a text from PillPack with the wrong delivery date. Infuriating. The Customer Service rep I initially spoke to on the phone seemed to have no interest in helping. I hope my meds are still on my porch when I return from vacation. Otherwise, I like the service.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Not as easy as it sounds

    • Houston, TX,
    • Oct 31, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    PillPack claims that they make it simple, all you have to do is call your doctor and tell them you are changing to PillPack and they take care of the rest. What you don't know is that they only fax the doctors so it may take many phone calls from you if your doctor's office doesn't get the fax. They never actually call them if they don't hear back. And then when they fail to ask you to call the pharmacies, only tell you to call the doctors, so the pharmacy ships the next batch. They offer to sell you the medicine to have it included in the packaging. "We work with your doctors to automatically manage your refills." No, not really!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 1, 2018

      Steph J.

      I was looking into this PillPack Company because I’ve transferred over a few patients from this place, and I keep seeing horrible reviews much like yours. As a pharmacist, this concerns me because some patients have extremely important medication and these people just do not take it seriously. I had to call them three times to get my patient's scripts transferred. It’s rediculous. I not going to deny that the concept is great. Now, the execution, terrible. I haven’t been in this industry for long but this “pharmacy” is by far the worst I’ve delt with.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 51

Write a Review for PillPack!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review