About PillPack

Founded by TJ Parker, PillPack is a full-service pharmacy that “delivers a better, simpler experience.” How?

By pre-sorting all your medication into personalized packets (one pack for each dose), which are organized by time and date, and clearly labeled with medication names. Each convenient recyclable dispenser is delivered straight to your door every two weeks, making it simple to take all of your medications, whether at home or on the go.

And PillPack will even coordinate with your insurance company and all your doctors to actively manage your refills, so you’ll always be able to take the right medication at the right time!

Are you among the 80% of Americans who regularly forgets to take your medication? If so, you could be putting your health in jeopardy.

Can PillPack help, or will they just complicate an already complicated process? Let’s start by taking a look at exactly how the company claims to help.

How the PillPack Process Works

Signing Up

You can sign up for a PillPack account in less than 5 minutes by entering your first and last name, email address, and phone number, and then creating a password. From there, you’ll also need to enter your address, the last four digits of your SS#, your DOB, and indicate which conditions you’re treating.

Once this is complete, you’ll be able to enter medication individually by name, strength, and the pharmacy where they’re currently filled. Finally, you can enter your credit card number and insurance information.

From there, PillPack claims they’ll handle all your transfers and confirm your start date. Once everything’s set, the company will send you a message before each shipment is sent, in order to confirm medications and shipping address.

Receiving Your Prescriptions

According to PillPack, they use a highly precise, automated dispensing system to sort and fill personalized PillPacks separately for each customer. The system checks for errors using multiple barcodes and an image recognition system, while a pharmacist physically double checks for potential errors and interactions prior to shipment.

While your daily medications and vitamins will be contained in PillPacks, “as needed” medication will arrive separately in standard bottles, as will any inhalers or creams.

Important note: PillPack cannot fill schedule II prescriptions (e.g. painkillers, ADHD medication, etc.).

Proactive Refill Management

Before each refill, PillPack contacts your doctor four weeks in advance, and continues following up until they have a new prescription in hand. This is something they call “proactive refill management.”

In the mean time, you can always check your personalized dashboard for “your current list of medications, where you are in your roll of PillPacks, and other helpful information.”

If you’re taking a lot of medications, this can certainly seem like a godsend. But how much will the convenience provided by PillPack cost you?

PillPack’s Pricing Model

PillPack claims there is no extra cost for their services, beyond standard 30-day co-pays. However, if you’re currently receiving your medication in 90-day supplies, your co-pay might be “slightly higher.”

PillPack accepts most major insurance plans, including most forms of Medicare Part D, although they’re not “compatible with Humana, Optum, coverage provided by the United States Veterans Administration, or state Medicaid plans.”

Unsure if your insurance will cover PillPack’s services? Be sure to call your provider in advance.

All PillPacks are shipped overnight via UPS in temperature-controlled packaging, and come with a 100% on time guarantee. If you don’t receive the right medications, on time, every time, you’ll be eligible to receive a full refund for the cost of the medications in the shipment.

If you need assistance, PillPack’s 24/7 support can be reached at 855-745-5725.

Pricing aside, what are customers saying about PillPack?

Customer Feedback for PillPack

As a fairly unique startup (more about this next), PillPack has received a lot of media attention, having been featured in Wired, TechCrunch, Forbes, and more. Most of these were high-level overviews though, and didn’t provide a whole lot of insight into the customer experience.

PC Magazine

PC Magazine reviewed PillPack in December 2014, and gave the company a 4.5-star (excellent) rating and named them an Editors’ Choice health service.

Overall, they found PillPack to be a simple, efficient, and convenient way to refill prescriptions, although they didn’t appreciate having to enter a credit card to browse medications and prices, or the fact that you couldn’t compare these prices with other pharmacies.

Blogger Sarah Doody

Sarah Doody claimed to have really enjoyed her experience with PillPack, and could foresee it bringing “great change for both physicians, pharmacists, and patients.”

While she liked how PillPack seemed to be thinking about every little detail, she recommended that they offer a printable checklist with each medication shipment, as well as whether or not any OTC medications might interact with prescriptions.

Chronically Ridiculous

On the other hand, the author of Chronically Ridiculous was disappointed with their PillPack experience, as the company only sent one of the prescriptions they requested. And PillPack also failed to cancel their enrollment after sending an email request.

Granted, the author didn’t mention that they reached out to the company to fix the problem, or to get an explanation for what occurred.

Better Business Bureau

Finally, PillPack, based out of Manchester, NH, had an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau at the time of our research, with just two closed complaints (as of 10/27/15). One of these referenced over-billing an insurance company, and the other referenced difficulty obtaining refills.

Although PillPack seems to have a mostly positive online customer reputation, how do they compare to the competition? Does the company even have any competition?

Similar Pharmacy Services To PillPack

Type the phrase “online pharmacy” into your favorite search engine, and you’ll encounter thousands of results. In other words, if you’re simply looking for an online pharmacy company to fill your prescriptions, you’ve got a lot of choices.

However, where PillPack really distances themselves from the competition is their pre-filled medication packets, which seems to be completely unique. Yes, robots like the one implemented by PillPack have been used for years to deliver medication to hospitals and assisted living centers, but nothing (until now) for consumer mail-order use.

Just because it’s unique, does this necessarily mean you should choose PillPack?

Should PillPack be Your New Pharmacy?

If you’re taking a lot of medications, there’s no doubt that PillPack’s pre-filled medication packets can simplify your life. To boot, the company even claims that you’ll pay about the same as your local pharmacy, so there’s no extra cost for this added convenience.

On top of this, even with limited online customer reviews, PillPack seems to have a solid customer reputation.

Perhaps the biggest hassle you’ll experience with PillPack is signing up for an account and then listing all your medications in your dashboard. And while the company claims they’ll handle all the transfers and insurance paperwork, insurance companies (and even many brick-and-mortar pharmacies) can be notoriously difficult to deal with, so this might require your involvement as well.

Overall? If you’re looking for convenience with your medications, it seems you can’t go wrong with PillPack.

Have you used PillPack? Did it make your life easier, or just give you a headache from all the complications? Whatever it is, tell us about it by writing a review below!

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

15 Consumer Reviews for PillPack

Average Consumer Rating: 2.7
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 5 4 star: 0 3 star: 2 2 star: 1 1 star:  7
Bottom Line: 40% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 15
Sort reviews by:

  • A bunch of idiots

    • Seattle, WA,
    • Nov 15, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    They cannot follow simple instructions. Doesn’t ship new medication but waits until next delivery. Sends WRONG medication. Won’t simply think about how a patient takes their meds. Why would I want to take two packs at 6 am when you could move the vitamin to noon! Horrible customer service. Going back to pharmacy. Don’t waste your time or money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • No re-fill

    They said they were going to ship my medications and didn’t do it. I called them and they said they would overnight them, but I never got them. I guess my blood pressure and other meds that I need aren’t that important to them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Constant errors

    Every year PillPack has made errors with the dose, or left out medications altogether.

    Today they sent me a text that I need to call my internist about a refill, but they didn't say what medication. I called customer service, and the young lady didn't know anything and couldn't pronounce the name of the medication. I spoke to the pharmacist who told me that the medicine in the text was not the correct one and that I needed a refill from the cardiologist for a different medication . Then she said she found the refill. This was for a heart medicine that I cannot live without. I told her that I'm sure I'm not the only one this happened to, but thousands of people could be missing their lifesaving medications.

    This has happened many times. I am tired of this and am looking for another company. And I may report tins to the licensing board of New Jersey or bring it to the news media.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Godsend!

    • Boston, MA,
    • Oct 30, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have two older parents; Ma 81 and Dad 84. They were living at home until they really needed a safer home environment and so they are a nice assisted living apartment and fairly independent. Each has their own list of ailments, pills, and prescriptions. It was getting harder and harder to keep their medications straight, and it felt like I was going to the local pharmacy every other day. Then I had to worry about them taking the right pills at the right time, out of those little weekly pill organizers.

    Then I read about PillPack.com. No more trips to the pharmacy, no more organizing pills, no more worrying about which pills and when my parents were going to take them. It was all done, and it shows up at my house once a month! It was easy to switch them from CVS over to PillPack. They do most of the work. They call the pharmacy and switch the prescriptions and insurance over; I did none of it. Co-pays are the same.

    You can see everything online in your own account with a dashboard with all your meds, what they look like, information about each med, etc. The doctor's office calls them if there are any changes and should you need a one time or short termed, say an anti-biotic or right away or one time, I just have it sent over to CVS and pick it up that day. They can package pills by specific times, or morning, afternoon or evening.

    Their customer service had been top notch. Always get a real person, fast service, and they are helpful with any question. It really has made both their lives, as well as mine less stressful and the meds more manageable. I really love this product and company!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 14 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Horrible experience

    • New York, NY,
    • Jun 14, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Huge frustration with their constant errors that resulted in my not having medications when needed. And just an overall terrible experience with their lack of diligence, an app/website that does not reflect current information for accounts (missing medicines, wrong shipment information, etc), and despite the promises of a more seamless experience, I find it much easier to deal with my local pharmacy than to deal with these chuckleheads. Too bad, because there is a lot of promise to the concept. Unfortunately, the execution is just atrocious.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Love it!

    • Indiana,
    • May 26, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Not a scam! Wonderful service, with Next Day Air for urgent items. Easy billing. Great use of technology to communicate via website, email or phone!

    It is wonderful to have each dosage labeled. No more opening bottles constantly for each pill and no more filling pill boxes. If I am not acting right or do not feel well, the first thing my husband does is look at the pill pack. He can see exactly what date and time I missed a med and to remind me to take my meds, which fixes all my problems. With regular pill bottles, he does not know after work if I have taken my meds, accidentally taken them twice, etc. When I go on a weekend trip, I no longer need an entire basket for all 14 meds I need. I just put the pamphlet with the prescription info in my purse and three days worth of med packets.

    Meds arrive at my door on time, but usually early even! PillPack is wonderful for many reasons, especially those with memory problems or just busy lives.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 20 people found this review helpful

    Waste of time

    • Seattle, WA,
    • May 1, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I went through a fifteen-minute phone conversation process just to learn that my insurance doesn't work with them. Unacceptable.

    PillPack should check insurance first instead of wasting people's time.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 15, 2017

      Craig

      You should have done your own due diligence before calling PillPack, by calling your insurance. They could have told you in less than five minutes. I am not a user of PillPack, but this is a ridiculous comment.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 20 out 22 people found this review helpful

    Do not use, or run the risk of not receiving your meds!

    • Long Island, NY,
    • Mar 12, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    PillPack is Horrible!

    I used to be good, but every time I have a medication change, it's like I have to go through hoops to make sure it gets done. The hold times are terrible. And finally, I canceled my account but they are holding my scripts hostage! I am on life-saving meds, which are due to run out, therefore I will now have to waste money and go see my doctor since the PillPack will not do the right thing.

    I am so disappointed. They also tried to charge my card the cash price for a medication since they did not get the prior authorization!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Great pharmacy!

    I love having PillPack fill my medications. They are always on time, and I never have to guess if I have taken my medication for the day because it is all in a packet and it is all dated. So there are no overdoses or skipped doses. I have been with them for almost two years now, and they are a GREAT pharmacy! Thank you PillPack for making my day go easier.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 5, 2017

      Rob Berman

      Hi Regunia, Thanks for your review. I have a question I'd really like to ask you about PillPack. Can I email you please? My email is rob[at]offshoot.co.nz

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 12 people found this review helpful

    A lot of work for a nice service

    They never get anything right; I've spent hours trying to get their records to be correct.

    If you change insurance plans, you get to spend several hours trying to update their records. If you want to have more than one (1) person in the family on an account, it's not happening, and you will have lots of wasted time there. If your doctor doesn't respond to them in a timely fashion, it is another lengthy process to get your prescription packs fixed. And there are random problems with the drugs they put in the packs.

    Their "call center" can never help. Their website doesn't really work i.e. you can't delete terminated insurance plans, so PillPack seems to get confused about which one to use.

    It's really a lot of work for a great product. Shouldn't be, but it is. And they want to speak with you during the business day, like, really?

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 14 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Customer service wait times are horrific. They don't get prescriptions right.

    • Florida,
    • Feb 1, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I thought this sounded like a great option for my mom, so I signed her up. What a mistake.

    They are trying to get refills from doctors on medications my mom doesn't take any longer. I have told them multiple times what her current prescriptions are and they just can't seem to get it right. Her meds still aren't showing up on PillPack's website in her medications. Every time I call or try to do an online chat, the wait times are more than ten minutes.

    Their people are nice, but the right hand doesn't know what the left hand is doing. The idea is great, but they're not ready to take care of customers yet. They just don't have enough staff, and they need a better communications system between departments. I think I'll switch back to Optum. It is much easier to deal with.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 15

Write a Review for PillPack!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review