PillPack Review - Is This Online Pharmacy Worth It?

By Anthony Dugarte, M.D., C.S.C.S
Updated on: Mar 25, 2020

What is PillPack?

PillPack from Amazon is an online pharmacy that works with your doctors to coordinate the delivery of your prescription medications straight to your door.

Nearly half of our population uses prescription medications. Filling your prescription often includes multiple phone calls, missed school or work, doctor appointments, and trips to the pharmacy.

Can you imagine a world where you can avoid much of the extra work getting your medications often entails? PillPack can.

Their methods are pretty straight-forward:

  1. They coordinate with your doctors and insurance providers to obtain your prescriptions.
  2. For your convenience, they organize your pills by the date and time you must take them.
  3. Lastly, they deliver your pills to your door.

The idea is that PillPack does the heavy lifting so you can get back to your life.

In this article, we’ll review how to sign up, the services, and the cost to help you determine if PillPack is what you need to manage your prescription medications.

Getting Started With PillPack

PillPack seems to make signing-up simple.

Getting started is accomplished in a few easy steps - here’s what you’ll need:

  1. Your medication list
  2. Your doctors’ contact information
  3. Your insurance provider contact information
  4. Your payment method

That’s really it. Pretty painless, right? After you provide this info, simply sit back and relax while PillPack gets to work.

In the first 2-weeks after you sign-up, PillPack works as the facilitator between your doctors and an insurance company. Once these details are ironed out, they schedule your first shipment.

PillPack’s Services

While PillPack’s methods are relatively easy to understand, there’s actually much more going on behind the scenes.

Here, you can read about the steps PillPack takes to ensure your satisfaction.

Packaging

Whereas traditional pharmacies were designed to dispense single medications, nearly a quarter of those taking prescription drugs use 3 or more.

For those that fall into this category, managing their medications can be challenging and potentially dangerous.

PillPack limits your risk by delivering your medications organized by the day and time you are directed to take them. A pharmacist checks every single packet for accuracy and reviews your medication list to ensure there are no dangerous drug interactions.

In addition to your prescription medications, dietary supplements, and over the counter medications are also available through PillPack.

Delivery

PillPack coordinates shipping based on your prescriptions and doctors’ instructions. Though you may have 90-day refills, your medications are filled on a 30-day cycle.

Refills are automated and will arrive before you run out.

Support

PillPack support is available, both day and night, through various means of communication. You can call 855-745-5725, email hello@pillpack.co, or reach out through the app.

Also, there is always a 2-way line of communication with PillPack. Each month, they send you a detailed list of your prescriptions that includes images of each pill and dosing instructions.

What Do These Services Cost?

So far, it may seem like all this is too good to be true. As we haven't discussed the cost yet, the catch must be pricey shipping charges or hidden fees, right?

According to PillPack’s website, there is no catch. Both their services and shipping costs are always free. Also, they work with most insurance plans - call support to check your coverage.

Thus, your responsibilities include only insurance copays and any out-of-pocket expenses that your insurance doesn’t cover.

If you opt to include any vitamins or over the counter medications with your prescriptions, simply pay market prices - no up-charges or convenience fees.

Payment options are flexible; you can edit account information from any device at your convenience.

You can choose to use a debit or credit card, pay directly from a bank account, or cover the cost with a health savings account.

PillPack also allows you to select a billing date or simply pay when your medications are delivered.

Are There Any Alternatives?

While online pharmacies do seem to be a relatively new phenomenon, PillPack does have a few competitors.

Some well-known retailers are cashing-in on this model by adding delivery options to their pharmacy services.

CVS is one example. You now have the option to log in online or through their mobile app to manage prescriptions, schedule delivery, and also add any other items available from their store to your order.

Most locations offer 1-2 day delivery, though some accommodate same day service as well. They limit delivery to medications that are not considered controlled substances and those that do not require refrigeration.

While delivery charges can vary by location, your insurance may cover these fees.

CVS may not be able to ship some medications, and you are likely to incur shipping costs, but being able to add other necessities available in their stores is convenient.

The Bottom Line

While PillPack seems to offer a great deal of convenience, users do not seem to find value in their services.

At HighYA, 81 users rated PillPack 2 out of 5-stars on average. Over 65% of users assigned a 1-star rating.

These negative reviews seem to revolve around poor customer services, misinformation provided to doctors, mistakes made in prescription packaging, and delivery issues.

It is challenging to recommend this company when users seem to consistently report issues with the pillars of PillPack’s services.

While the upside is the convenience PillPack claims to offer, the downside appears to be more hassle than it takes to fill prescriptions in the first place.

If you’re looking for a delivery service, going with an established company like CVS may be a better option until it is clear that PillPack has made a concerted effort to address the complaints of its users.


Customer Reviews

Start your review of PillPack:
  • 87 Customer Reviews
  • 22% Recommend This Company
1.9 out of 5
5 star: 16% 4 star: 3% 3 star: 3% 2 star: 9% 1 star: 67%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • So disappointing

    • By Tom M.,
    • Florida,
    • Apr 28, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    What a terrible experience! I reached out to the CEO - no reply. I reached out to Geoff, Chief Business Officer - no reply. I’ve canceled my account and returned to Walgreens. Never again!

    Dear TJ,

    I switched to Pill Pack just over a month ago. I thought I would love your service. I really wanted to.

    Signing up was so easy but I have experienced a lot of challenges since. Month one did not include one of my prescriptions and there were two daily blister packs instead of one. Okay, I thought we’d work out the kinks. I was looking forward to getting everything straightened on the next run.

    Now, we're in month two and another drug is not available. I received a call today from someone asking me to volunteer/verify my DOB and address (mind you, he called me). That didn't go well.

    I also asked to stop today’s shipment to no avail. As it hasn’t shipped yet, I’m not sure I understand why this request was denied. Or why I wasn't contacted before a partial shipment was made.

    Now, I have a situation where some medicines are on the way from Pill Pack. I apparently have no choice but to accept because you’ve drawn down on my insurance and prescription. And, I must go to Walgreens to get the rest of my medicines. I must also make sure that Walgreens can take care of my needs next month and beyond and that all insurance is in order. All unnecessary work for me.

    This is not the service I expected from your company. I am most especially surprised by the set of poor customer experiences I've endured while trying to on board as a long-term customer. I want you to know that I am very disappointed.

    Sincerely,

    Thomas M

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Rip off

    • By Michael L.,
    • Tampa, FL,
    • Apr 16, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    They advertise little or no co-pay, yet I can get my Rx for $3.60 for a 90-day supply at a reg pharmacy and they want $3.60 for a 30-day supply and claim its what the insurance sets. Through my insurance pharmacy, I pay $0.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Extreme risk to health!

    • By James G.,
    • Washington,
    • Apr 14, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Do NOT use this service under ANY circumstances. Had them less than one year and they left me without my heart medications TWICE! The worst part is they don't contact you in time for you to do something about the "problems" only they have! I have never had my pharmacy wait until 3 days before my prescriptions ran out before telling me! Wouldn't recommend them to my worst enemy!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Total nightmare

    • By Shawna M.,
    • Salt Lake City, UT,
    • Apr 13, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    PillPack was great before Amazon bought them, now it's a nightmare. They have charged me $326.00 for a medication which they never billed to my insurance. My insurance told me they never billed them and my co-pay was supposed to be $14.80. Not only that, but as soon as I was notified what the charge would be I called to ask them not to send it. Sorry, they already sent it and refused to allow me to send the box back. I have complained by phone and email, and they blame my Insurance, saying they refuse to pay, yet I just got it filled at Walgreens for a $4.80 co-pay. Not only that, when I TRANSFERRED my prescription to Walgreens, they tried calling my doctor to get ANOTHER prescription. I requested my account closed, but it's still online and I cannot remove my card information. This is very scary. I am filing complaints against them. Please beware.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • DON’T

    • By Tanya S.,
    • Virginia,
    • Mar 2, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    They are the most incompetent group of liars I’ve ever seen in my life and to see Amazon's name is behind it? I’m baffled! These people claimed they would overnight my medicine on three occasions, here it is Friday night, no medicine, and I'm COMPLETELY OUT OF MEDS! In order for me to get medicine, I have to have my doctor rewrite the scripts and PAY FULL price! And there is nothing anyone can do; so I was told. Additionally, I was told they LOCK you in a CONTRACT that’s HELL getting out of. DO NOT, I repeat, DO NOT DEAL WITH THESE PEOPLE! I cannot believe this company is LEGAL! I will be making a complaint with the BBB ASAP and calling the media to put these people on BLAST! I really feel as though they discriminated against me and I’m not done with them yet. Run, people, RUN!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • They have gotten it right 1 out of 4 months

    • By Michael D.,
    • Massachusetts,
    • Feb 27, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Once they've screwed up they, 1) don't take ownership of it, 2) never get back to you to say what they are doing to fix it, 3) make the same, or subtly different, mistakes again, and 4) seem to have no urgency to fix the problems.

    I should not have to call to check up constantly, yet I need to.

    If you are on medicine for a life-threatening condition, do not use.

    Specifics:

    December, even though I spoke to them almost daily for the last 10 days of the month, and they said I was all set, they got my pills to me late and without two vitamin supplements.

    January, the same thing and without 1 vitamin.

    February, they said it was being built and would ship on the 21st. Called on 24th to find out status - good thing because they apparently had a problem in billing.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • They suck

    • By Jesse P.,
    • Maine,
    • Jan 30, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    If you enjoy being lied to multiple times about them having your medication in stock, almost ready for shipment, and being delivered tomorrow, this might be the pharmacy for you. They will also lie to your doctors about having a supply of the medications when asked about sending in a prescription for it. There seems to be a lot of deception and also serious confusion of the customer service members about anything that goes on behind the scenes. What a nightmare!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • RUN AWAY

    • By Maria D.,
    • Long Beach, CA,
    • Jan 13, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I've never written a negative review in my life, but my experience was so bad that I want to warn others. Please do not sign up with this company if you want a positive experience. I used their service for 9 months. Every single month without fail, they scheduled my medication to arrive late, and every month I had to call or email multiple times to get them to ship on the correct date. This past month, they shipped it late and it never arrived. Tracking number proves that. Customer service was no help. They did not comp me, and instead sent out replacement medication and charged me double. I canceled my account today. Save yourself the trouble and go with a competitor - literally anyone else but them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not ready for "Prime" Time...

    Overall Experience:

    I cannot recommend PillPack for several reasons.

    They never shipped meds complete from the day I signed up. There was a transition and glitch that prevented the meds from coming all from PillPack. So for the first few months, I had to do a combination of PillPack and my Local Pharmacy to get all the meds required.

    However, once PillPack was ready to ship ALL the meds, they failed again to ship all the meds required. However, PillPack never notified me of any issues prior to failing AGAIN to ship all meds...for the third row in a month.

    To make matters worse, because PillPack never notified me of any issues, I ran out of meds. Not good!

    PillPack packaging has to improve their packaging. The packs do not tear off easily and often the next in line rips causing all the pills to spill and scatter.

    I have spent way too much time searching for meds on the floor so my dog would not eat them. Not good!

    In addition, you have to figure out exactly which direction and where to tear open the pack or it will not open. The problem is, even when you do figure it out, there are still issues with the perforations, ripping off the next pack in line, pills spilling and scattering and just too much hassle overall.

    I am sorry to say this has not been a good customer experience which is made worse by the fact that I had to pay for meds to cover for what PillPack did not send due to the mixup they caused during the transition from my local pharmacy.

    Not recommend!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Don’t do it!

    • By Kimberly W.,
    • Upstate, NY,
    • Dec 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Listen to the negative reviews on here. I’ve been without FOUR medications for a week now due to incompetency between this company AND my regular pharmacy. I have been on the medications for years and now since I don’t have them, I’m suffering from terrible pain and anxiety. Even though my insurance approved the meds, I still haven’t received them and they told me it could take another ten days to receive my meds. Then they offered to transfer them to a local pharmacy so they could be filled today and the pharmacy still didn’t have the information from PillPack. This seemed like a great idea as I live out in the country and the closest pharmacy is an hour round trip for me. Now I regret it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • No human oversight!

    • By Laura C.,
    • Illinois,
    • Oct 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This company was good until Amazon got involved. There is no human overseeing the medication process. Two months in a row they did not ship vital medication (heart, blood pressure, multiple sclerosis) holding up the shipment for ulcer medication. Seriously! The first time it happened they assured me it would not happen again. This time they said they want to ship all meds at once and they contact the customer to let them know. I asked who they spoke to or emailed and oops! They failed to contact anyone. I asked the logic in holding a shipment of 20+ medications for 1 pill and she said so it is all in the PillPack. I asked her who makes this decision - it is computer generated.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-11 of 87

Write a Review for PillPack!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
PillPack