About PillPack

Founded by TJ Parker, PillPack is a full-service pharmacy that “delivers a better, simpler experience.” How?

By pre-sorting all your medication into personalized packets (one pack for each dose), which are organized by time and date, and clearly labeled with medication names. Each convenient recyclable dispenser is delivered straight to your door every two weeks, making it simple to take all of your medications, whether at home or on the go.

And PillPack will even coordinate with your insurance company and all your doctors to actively manage your refills, so you’ll always be able to take the right medication at the right time!

Are you among the 80% of Americans who regularly forgets to take your medication? If so, you could be putting your health in jeopardy.

Can PillPack help, or will they just complicate an already complicated process? Let’s start by taking a look at exactly how the company claims to help.

How the PillPack Process Works

Signing Up

You can sign up for a PillPack account in less than 5 minutes by entering your first and last name, email address, and phone number, and then creating a password. From there, you’ll also need to enter your address, the last four digits of your SS#, your DOB, and indicate which conditions you’re treating.

Once this is complete, you’ll be able to enter medication individually by name, strength, and the pharmacy where they’re currently filled. Finally, you can enter your credit card number and insurance information.

From there, PillPack claims they’ll handle all your transfers and confirm your start date. Once everything’s set, the company will send you a message before each shipment is sent, in order to confirm medications and shipping address.

Receiving Your Prescriptions

According to PillPack, they use a highly precise, automated dispensing system to sort and fill personalized PillPacks separately for each customer. The system checks for errors using multiple barcodes and an image recognition system, while a pharmacist physically double checks for potential errors and interactions prior to shipment.

While your daily medications and vitamins will be contained in PillPacks, “as needed” medication will arrive separately in standard bottles, as will any inhalers or creams.

Important note: PillPack cannot fill schedule II prescriptions (e.g. painkillers, ADHD medication, etc.).

Proactive Refill Management

Before each refill, PillPack contacts your doctor four weeks in advance, and continues following up until they have a new prescription in hand. This is something they call “proactive refill management.”

In the mean time, you can always check your personalized dashboard for “your current list of medications, where you are in your roll of PillPacks, and other helpful information.”

If you’re taking a lot of medications, this can certainly seem like a godsend. But how much will the convenience provided by PillPack cost you?

PillPack’s Pricing Model

PillPack claims there is no extra cost for their services, beyond standard 30-day co-pays. However, if you’re currently receiving your medication in 90-day supplies, your co-pay might be “slightly higher.”

PillPack accepts most major insurance plans, including most forms of Medicare Part D, although they’re not “compatible with Humana, Optum, coverage provided by the United States Veterans Administration, or state Medicaid plans.”

Unsure if your insurance will cover PillPack’s services? Be sure to call your provider in advance.

All PillPacks are shipped overnight via UPS in temperature-controlled packaging, and come with a 100% on time guarantee. If you don’t receive the right medications, on time, every time, you’ll be eligible to receive a full refund for the cost of the medications in the shipment.

If you need assistance, PillPack’s 24/7 support can be reached at 855-745-5725.

Pricing aside, what are customers saying about PillPack?

Customer Feedback for PillPack

As a fairly unique startup (more about this next), PillPack has received a lot of media attention, having been featured in Wired, TechCrunch, Forbes, and more. Most of these were high-level overviews though, and didn’t provide a whole lot of insight into the customer experience.

PC Magazine

PC Magazine reviewed PillPack in December 2014, and gave the company a 4.5-star (excellent) rating and named them an Editors’ Choice health service.

Overall, they found PillPack to be a simple, efficient, and convenient way to refill prescriptions, although they didn’t appreciate having to enter a credit card to browse medications and prices, or the fact that you couldn’t compare these prices with other pharmacies.

Blogger Sarah Doody

Sarah Doody claimed to have really enjoyed her experience with PillPack, and could foresee it bringing “great change for both physicians, pharmacists, and patients.”

While she liked how PillPack seemed to be thinking about every little detail, she recommended that they offer a printable checklist with each medication shipment, as well as whether or not any OTC medications might interact with prescriptions.

Chronically Ridiculous

On the other hand, the author of Chronically Ridiculous was disappointed with their PillPack experience, as the company only sent one of the prescriptions they requested. And PillPack also failed to cancel their enrollment after sending an email request.

Granted, the author didn’t mention that they reached out to the company to fix the problem, or to get an explanation for what occurred.

Better Business Bureau

Finally, PillPack, based out of Manchester, NH, had an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau at the time of our research, with just two closed complaints (as of 10/27/15). One of these referenced over-billing an insurance company, and the other referenced difficulty obtaining refills.

Although PillPack seems to have a mostly positive online customer reputation, how do they compare to the competition? Does the company even have any competition?

Similar Pharmacy Services To PillPack

Type the phrase “online pharmacy” into your favorite search engine, and you’ll encounter thousands of results. In other words, if you’re simply looking for an online pharmacy company to fill your prescriptions, you’ve got a lot of choices.

However, where PillPack really distances themselves from the competition is their pre-filled medication packets, which seems to be completely unique. Yes, robots like the one implemented by PillPack have been used for years to deliver medication to hospitals and assisted living centers, but nothing (until now) for consumer mail-order use.

Just because it’s unique, does this necessarily mean you should choose PillPack?

Should PillPack be Your New Pharmacy?

If you’re taking a lot of medications, there’s no doubt that PillPack’s pre-filled medication packets can simplify your life. To boot, the company even claims that you’ll pay about the same as your local pharmacy, so there’s no extra cost for this added convenience.

On top of this, even with limited online customer reviews, PillPack seems to have a solid customer reputation.

Perhaps the biggest hassle you’ll experience with PillPack is signing up for an account and then listing all your medications in your dashboard. And while the company claims they’ll handle all the transfers and insurance paperwork, insurance companies (and even many brick-and-mortar pharmacies) can be notoriously difficult to deal with, so this might require your involvement as well.

Overall? If you’re looking for convenience with your medications, it seems you can’t go wrong with PillPack.

Have you used PillPack? Did it make your life easier, or just give you a headache from all the complications? Whatever it is, tell us about it by writing a review below!

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

36 Consumer Reviews for PillPack

Average Consumer Rating: 2.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 8 4 star: 0 3 star: 2 2 star: 3 1 star:  23
Bottom Line: 25% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 36
Sort reviews by:

  • Bad people

    • Columbus, IN,
    • Sep 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Where to start...

    They start out by scamming you to join by saying they are calling from your doctor's office. That's how they pull you in. My very own doctor told me that I'm not her only patient they did that to. They told me they would get my scripts altogether and get them sent to me in the mail. At that time I was told to go about getting my scripts like normal through Walgreens. I went to fill my antidepressants and they could not fill them.

    Long story short of it, about 7 to 10 days later I found myself in the Emergency Room. Shaking, sweating, dehydrated, crying from severe depression. To get them to release my scripts back to Walgreens, I had to call my state reps office. If you like taking chances of doing without important medications then give PillPack a chance. I would suggest stay away from these people.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Scam company

    • Florida,
    • Sep 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Buyer beware! This company is terrible. They will not send you out all your medications, then blame the doctor's office. I have seen the faxes be sent out.

    If someone doesn't know what they take, they will not know if they are missing pills. And with pill pack, you will be missing pills. This is dangerous!

    Very incompetent company. The icing on the cake is that they refuse to refund the pill dispenser we bought. SCAM.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Amazon acquires train wreck.

    • Kernersville, NC,
    • Sep 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    So, Amazon wants to get into the healthcare business. They believe they can disrupt the market. Good luck Amazon. Your acquisition is going to require a complete overhaul if you are going to make a dent in the PBM arena. This is more than slapping a shipping label on a Sham Wow. These are people's lives you have in your hands and should not be taken lightly.

    Good concept of pre-packing pills into day/evening dose packs. The packaging material either opens inadvertently when trying to tear off at perforation spilling your pills everywhere or you cannot get into the pack without the use of teeth or scissors. There is no in-between. The dispensing box does not keep the pills dispensing, you have to constantly open up and dig in to pull the strip of pills out.

    There is a disconnect with customer service. They don't get it. I don't think they have any pharmacy customer service training. They cannot pronounce medications; they seem clueless as to policies and procedures (shipping, ordering, delivery). Don't count on them to discover a drug, drug interaction or contraindications. Hopefully, they have board certified pharmacists that will catch those.

    The shipping time and delivery exceed national average...weeks, not days. It is sad when you can get a replacement iPhone in less than 24 hours, but your medications will take weeks to reach you. You will also spend an exorbitant time on the phone trying to set up and order your medications. Their website is not intuitive or user-friendly either. Now...rush shipment. Let's say you have a PRN (as needed) medication that you use for migraines, if you want that delivered, you can get a rush order. I went online and ordered a rush order...a rush order was two weeks. Again, from what planet is this medication being shipped from?

    Now, canceling and getting your prescriptions moved back to a real pharmacy. Good luck with that. You can call. They will tell you they will do it. They won't. Trust me. Call the pharmacy that you want your prescriptions transferred to and have them contact PillPack. It is the only way that you will get them transferred. Better yet, don't use PillPack in the first place and you won't have to worry about it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Horrible

    • Washington, DC,
    • Aug 31, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    PillPack is horrible. They have left me without my meds on numerous occasions. Then don’t want to return phone or emails. Their management is particularly bad. Hopefully, Amazon will clean up the mess. Until they have had an opportunity to do so and recruit some new management, I would recommend you stay away.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    The worst customer service, which will result in you scrambling to get your meds

    • California,
    • Aug 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Fool me once, shame on you. At this point, I've had four major hiccups in the last few months with my pill pack, which has resulted in me being stuck on hold and emailing and stressing about running out of meds. The latest is that PillPack put my account on hold without notifying me. The customer service at PillPack is nothing short of incompetent.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Terrible

    • LA,
    • Aug 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Drugs don’t always arrive on time; this is particularly bad if you rely on your drugs or are on a complex regime. Lacks the personal relationship I had with a local pharmacist and when you think about these enterprises ruin local businesses, your money just fattens up another corporation who will inevitably provide a worse service once they squeeze out their local community-based competitors.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Displeasure

    • Marion, MI,
    • Aug 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The one thing I do like about the service is their prices. Being on many medications and also being on disability, lower prices are very helpful. However, the following are the problems I've dealt with since signing up with PillPack. After dismissing drugs for two months via customer service, I still received the medication and had to pay for them. One week I received my medications three days late another week I received a medication in a packet and I that I had no idea what it was (thank goodness I know what I take).

    What if someone else receives the wrong drug unknowingly, then they took a double payment. I requested a refund nine days ago and customer service assured me they would put a rush on it. Nope, I went on my dashboard today and now it says that my debit card failed and that I needed to enter the correct information. Nothing about my debit card has changed in the last five months. They've always been timely returning my calls, they've also responded to my emails, but I don't think the departments work together smoothly. All I know is right now I don't have my refund and can't put gas in my car, buy groceries, etc. There are too many hoops to jump through.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Horrible service

    • Raleigh, NC,
    • Aug 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Stay away from PillPack! My wife has had the most horrible and frustrating experiences with them over the past week. They didn’t send all her meds, then we spent over 11 hours on the phone in 3 days trying to remedy the issue or at least get the missing medication at our local pharmacy! Trust me, they deserve frigging ZERO stars! You’ll regret dealing with them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Incompetent at best

    • San Diego, CA,
    • Jul 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I moved all my prescriptions from a local drug store. Big mistake. They immediately canceled all my prescriptions from my drug store, then took six weeks to actually ship my first shipment. This left me without meds for two weeks.

    As bad, my first shipment was completely messed up. The number of pills per pack was wrong. The wrong times. It takes them four days to respond to any "urgent" call or email.

    This is not ready to use yet. Great idea, but completely and totally a failure. Give it a couple more years to work at the mistakes. But probably avoid PillPack for all time because of the level of incompetence shown there.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Refuse to return my phone calls. Refuse to reply to my emails.

    On the 3rd of July 2018, I began my odyssey with PillPack. I had a very helpful guy named Evan who took all my information and answered ALL of my questions appropriately. The next thing I knew, I received dozens of emails (22 to date) saying I had asked to change my password. I have NEVER requested to change my password.

    So I called PillPack to see what the problem was. I was NEVER ALLOWED to speak to Evan again. I was told he is only available to set up the new accounts. BUT, Evan had told me that if I EVER had questions or concerned to "please call me." That was never "allowed." So after 34 emails and I have called and left 21 messages to return my calls and to date, NO ONE at PillPack has returned even ONE return call.

    NOW, I am getting emails that they are prepared to ship my meds now, when I had requested the start date to be the 30th of July 2018. They don't return even ONE email. They do not even have all my insurances listed, that I DID GIVE Evan.

    So, GOODBYE PillPack! But I have had to call my bank and all my insurance companies to not allow PillPack to bill anything on my behalf! A pain in my derriere!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 17 out 19 people found this review helpful

    Won't give price quotes; rude on phone

    • Baltimore, MD,
    • Jun 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I called on behalf of my elderly mother to try to get price quotes and find out if they could provide her with two meds that come from a specialty pharmacy. They refused to give price quotes, kept saying copays would stay the same, and couldn't understand that under her insurance she pays a percentage, not a flat price copay. It got to the point where every time I started to speak the man interrupted me. It is quite obvious that they train their employees to avoid giving out prices. I figure if it's this difficult to deal with them on what should be simple inquiries, I don't want to have to deal with them on anything else.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 36

Write a Review for PillPack!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review