Jump To:
Our Editorial Review
Customer Reviews

PillPack

PillPack

Overall Rating

1.9

98 Customer Reviews

Summary

PillPack is a full-service pharmacy that claims to sort your medication by date and time and deliver them directly to your door. There are some strengths but also some drawbacks pertaining to customer service.

Write a Review

PillPack Review - Is This Online Pharmacy Worth It?

By Anthony Dugarte, M.D., C.S.C.S

Updated on: Mar 25, 2020

What is PillPack?

PillPack from Amazon is an online pharmacy that works with your doctors to coordinate the delivery of your prescription medications straight to your door.

Nearly half of our population uses prescription medications. Filling your prescription often includes multiple phone calls, missed school or work, doctor appointments, and trips to the pharmacy.

Can you imagine a world where you can avoid much of the extra work getting your medications often entails? PillPack can.

Their methods are pretty straight-forward:

  1. They coordinate with your doctors and insurance providers to obtain your prescriptions.
  2. For your convenience, they organize your pills by the date and time you must take them.
  3. Lastly, they deliver your pills to your door.

The idea is that PillPack does the heavy lifting so you can get back to your life.

In this article, we’ll review how to sign up, the services, and the cost to help you determine if PillPack is what you need to manage your prescription medications.

Getting Started With PillPack

PillPack seems to make signing-up simple.

Getting started is accomplished in a few easy steps - here’s what you’ll need:

  1. Your medication list
  2. Your doctors’ contact information
  3. Your insurance provider contact information
  4. Your payment method

That’s really it. Pretty painless, right? After you provide this info, simply sit back and relax while PillPack gets to work.

In the first 2-weeks after you sign-up, PillPack works as the facilitator between your doctors and an insurance company. Once these details are ironed out, they schedule your first shipment.

PillPack’s Services

While PillPack’s methods are relatively easy to understand, there’s actually much more going on behind the scenes.

Here, you can read about the steps PillPack takes to ensure your satisfaction.

Packaging

Whereas traditional pharmacies were designed to dispense single medications, nearly a quarter of those taking prescription drugs use 3 or more.

For those that fall into this category, managing their medications can be challenging and potentially dangerous.

PillPack limits your risk by delivering your medications organized by the day and time you are directed to take them. A pharmacist checks every single packet for accuracy and reviews your medication list to ensure there are no dangerous drug interactions.

In addition to your prescription medications, dietary supplements, and over the counter medications are also available through PillPack.

Delivery

PillPack coordinates shipping based on your prescriptions and doctors’ instructions. Though you may have 90-day refills, your medications are filled on a 30-day cycle.

Refills are automated and will arrive before you run out.

Support

PillPack support is available, both day and night, through various means of communication. You can call 855-745-5725, email hello@pillpack.co, or reach out through the app.

Also, there is always a 2-way line of communication with PillPack. Each month, they send you a detailed list of your prescriptions that includes images of each pill and dosing instructions.

What Do These Services Cost?

So far, it may seem like all this is too good to be true. As we haven't discussed the cost yet, the catch must be pricey shipping charges or hidden fees, right?

According to PillPack’s website, there is no catch. Both their services and shipping costs are always free. Also, they work with most insurance plans - call support to check your coverage.

Thus, your responsibilities include only insurance copays and any out-of-pocket expenses that your insurance doesn’t cover.

If you opt to include any vitamins or over the counter medications with your prescriptions, simply pay market prices - no up-charges or convenience fees.

Payment options are flexible; you can edit account information from any device at your convenience.

You can choose to use a debit or credit card, pay directly from a bank account, or cover the cost with a health savings account.

PillPack also allows you to select a billing date or simply pay when your medications are delivered.

Are There Any Alternatives?

While online pharmacies do seem to be a relatively new phenomenon, PillPack does have a few competitors.

Some well-known retailers are cashing-in on this model by adding delivery options to their pharmacy services.

CVS is one example. You now have the option to log in online or through their mobile app to manage prescriptions, schedule delivery, and also add any other items available from their store to your order.

Most locations offer 1-2 day delivery, though some accommodate same day service as well. They limit delivery to medications that are not considered controlled substances and those that do not require refrigeration.

While delivery charges can vary by location, your insurance may cover these fees.

CVS may not be able to ship some medications, and you are likely to incur shipping costs, but being able to add other necessities available in their stores is convenient.

The Bottom Line

While PillPack seems to offer a great deal of convenience, users do not seem to find value in their services.

At HighYA, 81 users rated PillPack 2 out of 5-stars on average. Over 65% of users assigned a 1-star rating.

These negative reviews seem to revolve around poor customer services, misinformation provided to doctors, mistakes made in prescription packaging, and delivery issues.

It is challenging to recommend this company when users seem to consistently report issues with the pillars of PillPack’s services.

While the upside is the convenience PillPack claims to offer, the downside appears to be more hassle than it takes to fill prescriptions in the first place.

If you’re looking for a delivery service, going with an established company like CVS may be a better option until it is clear that PillPack has made a concerted effort to address the complaints of its users.

Customer Reviews

1.9 Stars out of 98 Reviews
5 Star:15% 4 Star:4% 3 Star:3% 2 Star:9% 1 Star:68%
21% Recommend This Company
Start your review of PillPack:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on May 6, 2022

Terrible

By Laura L., Randolph, NJ, Verified Reviewer

My physician writes a 90-day prescription. The first time, the prescription is filled as written. Refill arrives, only a 30-day supply. My physician was never contacted to change the order, I did not make the change. Contacted PillPack, their answer – their policy will not allow 90-day prescriptions of this medication because of the opioid crisis. This is not an opioid!

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Price

Accuracy

Customer service

Posted on Apr 6, 2022

Run!

By Tamara A. , Seattle, WA

I take a heart medication, taken out of the pack without my knowledge, no one contacted me to let me know I was out of prescription, just stopped sending it!

Length of Use: 1–2 years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Hard to use

Always get something wrong

Stop meds without notifying anyone

Posted on Feb 20, 2022

Horrible customer service

By Paula B. , Kirkland, WA

Paused my service without my knowledge. Overcharged me for 6 months. Was told the situation was being rectified, then had to call again when it wasn't to be told it was out of their hands. Terrible customer service.

Length of Use: 1–2 years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Pills come presorted for helpful reminder

Terrible customer service

Posted on Feb 4, 2022

Partial shipment, not worth the headache

By Guadi R., Chicago, IL, Verified Reviewer

I signed my father up for this service only to be very disappointed. They sent out a partial shipment without even contacting us first prior to dispensing his medication. In essence, I had to open each little pill pack and still sort them out in his pill case because they only send part of his medication. A phone call would have been nice so I could have let them know to hold off until they are able to send the complete shipment.

Completely disgusted with the service.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

The idea

Customer service is awful

Partial shipment

Posted on Dec 29, 2021

PillPack is great!

By John F., Seattle, WA, Verified Reviewer

I have used PillPack for nearly two years (a total of four prescription drugs, three once a day and one twice a day). The service has been perfect – not one error. The 30-day supply shows up in my mailbox usually a week early.

Previously, my prescriptions were supplied by Walgreens, which, in addition to having to drive there and wait in a drive-thru line, always was out of at least one of my prescriptions.

Drug stores are obsolete!

Length of Use: 1–2 years

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No errors, always early

Prices are always lower than the drugstore

No late shipments

No “cons” were specified in this review

Posted on Aug 18, 2021

Lies! Amazon PillPack just lies and lies and lies.

By Brad A., Salt Lake City, UT, Verified Reviewer

It's amazing just how bad Amazon PillPack is. From their pharmacy, to their customer service. I haven't had a single good interaction with them.

PillPack literally doesn't care if they get my mom's medications right, and couldn't care less if she were to die. They even doubled one of her prescriptions!

Every single PillPack employee I spoke/chatted with (7 in total) told me my issues were resolved. But every time I checked, they had just added more problems to my order. They ship whatever they feel like, and bill you for it, even though it's wrong and potentially deadly.

One star is entirely too generous for PillPack.

PillPack is AWFUL. Never use this "service"!

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

It sounded like a good idea

Got medications wrong multiple times

Customer service people lie and tell you they fixed things for you

When you point out and prove they're lying to you, they just hang-up/quit the chat

Posted on Aug 11, 2021

Took out meds twice, second time he could of killed him

By Amy C., North Carolina, Verified Reviewer

During Covid they took out one of my husband‘s meds and when I asked why it wasn’t in the pack they said "does he still needed it," my answer was "did the doctor take it off?"

And now just this past month because my husband has been on hospice and the nurse had called in to tell them that there was only one doctor to contact they were still contacting all other doctors, and when they didn’t have those doctors prescribing to them because that wasn’t where they were supposed to go, my husband on hospice, who shouldn’t be losing any weight at this point, couldn’t eat because his heart meds and two others weren’t in the pill pack.

We didn’t know until a PA that comes every six months, thank God, caught it that his heart was racing sitting. He is on oxygen and he has a hard enough time eating but without his heart meds he couldn’t eat at all and now has lost more weight. Very sad.

And they tried to tell me that I never called it, in meanwhile the nurse from hospice called it in and if they’re texting me instead of calling me when meds are being taken out of my pill pack. There’s something wrong, mostly after just dropping other meds in the past because they were having a hard time getting them without letting me know.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Not having to organize meds

That when there’s a real problem they don’t just call you and not getting our exes is a big problem

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Jan 16, 2021

Awesome except for price

By Staci I., Raleigh, NC, Verified Reviewer

I'm an RN, I take several meds. I LOVED this service because of the convenient packaging. I travel a lot and could just grab what I needed and go. But, you have to decide if you want to pay a slightly higher co-pay for your meds if you do have a co-payment. Unfortunately, I am paying $30 a month for a 30-day supply when I can pay $55 a month for a 90-day supply through my insurance's mail-order program. The difference is only $140 a year or so, but that's money that can go elsewhere for now. I do love the convenience of not having to open bottles, though. IF I were taking 10 or more prescription meds a day, or if I were older, I would probably use PillPack. I think it's GREAT for older folks for several reasons:

1. Not having to struggle opening bottles. Older people and people who have trouble opening bottles in general would benefit from using this service.

2. Keeping track of what to take and when to take it - you don't have to do anything except choose the right time on the package, tear the easy to open package open, and take your meds! Great for anyone with memory problems, also.

3. Grab and go without having to carry bottles everywhere.

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Convenient

Great customer service, chat option is great

Not having to open bottles

Price compared to mail-order

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Jan 9, 2021

Don't use PillPack

By Lewis M., Setauket, NY, Verified Reviewer

I've used PillPack for about a year and was generally pleased with delivery, customer service, etc. I did have this nagging feeling that something was amiss with my copays. And there was! If your doctor, like mine, writes a prescription for 90 days, you go to your local pharmacy and pick up your order and pay one copay. PillPack accepts your 90-day prescription but ONLY sends out meds on a 30-day supply charging you a copay for every 30 days! So your 90-day supply of meds costs you 2 additional copays. That makes PillPack a dishonest supplier of meds. I'm returning to my local pharmacy.

Length of Use: 6–12 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Delivery

Deceptive price practice

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Dec 3, 2020

Prescription gets held for no reason

By Thao C., Wichita, KS, Verified Reviewer

Not sure if they have enough pharmacists working or what. If I had not called my prescription would not have been pulled and worked on. Once they found it I was told it would take 24 days. When I got upset I was told, "sorry, sorry, we can put in a ticket to overnight it." What the heck?!

Length of Use: 1–2 years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Just comes to your house

Customer service

Posted on Aug 12, 2020

Timing is everything

By Bill W., Boston, MA, Verified Reviewer

I ended up having to open several different little packets every day because not all prescriptions begin and end at the same time. Plus, changing pharmacies creates a lot of confusion. Also, when your pills don’t arrive on time, you can’t run to your local pharmacy for a refill. PillPack will go under because people want to communicate directly with their pharmacy and be able to talk to the pharmacist when needed. The idea of PillPack sounds good but in its practical application, it just doesn’t work.

Length of Use: 6–12 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted
Showing 1-11 of 98

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.