PillPack

PillPack

Overall Rating

1.9

102 Customer Reviews

Summary

PillPack is a full-service pharmacy that claims to sort your medication by date and time and deliver them directly to your door. There are some strengths but also some drawbacks pertaining to customer service.

Write a Review

Customer Reviews

1.9 Stars out of 102 Reviews
5 Star:16% 4 Star:3% 3 Star:2% 2 Star:8% 1 Star:67%
23% Recommend This Company
Start your review of PillPack:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Jan 13, 2020

RUN AWAY

By Maria D., Long Beach, CA, Verified Reviewer

I've never written a negative review in my life, but my experience was so bad that I want to warn others. Please do not sign up with this company if you want a positive experience. I used their service for 9 months. Every single month without fail, they scheduled my medication to arrive late, and every month I had to call or email multiple times to get them to ship on the correct date. This past month, they shipped it late and it never arrived. Tracking number proves that. Customer service was no help. They did not comp me, and instead sent out replacement medication and charged me double. I canceled my account today. Save yourself the trouble and go with a competitor - literally anyone else but them.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 24, 2019

Not ready for "Prime" Time...

By Clementine C., New York, Verified Reviewer

I cannot recommend PillPack for several reasons.

They never shipped meds complete from the day I signed up. There was a transition and glitch that prevented the meds from coming all from PillPack. So for the first few months, I had to do a combination of PillPack and my Local Pharmacy to get all the meds required.

However, once PillPack was ready to ship ALL the meds, they failed again to ship all the meds required. However, PillPack never notified me of any issues prior to failing AGAIN to ship all meds...for the third row in a month.

To make matters worse, because PillPack never notified me of any issues, I ran out of meds. Not good!

PillPack packaging has to improve their packaging. The packs do not tear off easily and often the next in line rips causing all the pills to spill and scatter.

I have spent way too much time searching for meds on the floor so my dog would not eat them. Not good!

In addition, you have to figure out exactly which direction and where to tear open the pack or it will not open. The problem is, even when you do figure it out, there are still issues with the perforations, ripping off the next pack in line, pills spilling and scattering and just too much hassle overall.

I am sorry to say this has not been a good customer experience which is made worse by the fact that I had to pay for meds to cover for what PillPack did not send due to the mixup they caused during the transition from my local pharmacy.

Not recommend!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 4, 2019

Don’t do it!

By Kimberly W., Upstate, NY, Verified Reviewer

Listen to the negative reviews on here. I’ve been without FOUR medications for a week now due to incompetency between this company AND my regular pharmacy. I have been on the medications for years and now since I don’t have them, I’m suffering from terrible pain and anxiety. Even though my insurance approved the meds, I still haven’t received them and they told me it could take another ten days to receive my meds. Then they offered to transfer them to a local pharmacy so they could be filled today and the pharmacy still didn’t have the information from PillPack. This seemed like a great idea as I live out in the country and the closest pharmacy is an hour round trip for me. Now I regret it.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 7 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 25, 2019

No human oversight!

By Laura C., Illinois, Verified Reviewer

This company was good until Amazon got involved. There is no human overseeing the medication process. Two months in a row they did not ship vital medication (heart, blood pressure, multiple sclerosis) holding up the shipment for ulcer medication. Seriously! The first time it happened they assured me it would not happen again. This time they said they want to ship all meds at once and they contact the customer to let them know. I asked who they spoke to or emailed and oops! They failed to contact anyone. I asked the logic in holding a shipment of 20+ medications for 1 pill and she said so it is all in the PillPack. I asked her who makes this decision - it is computer generated.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 9 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 19, 2019

Great idea, horrible execution

By Tori B., USA, Verified Reviewer

I should have known it wasn't great when I was without meds for a week because they never bothered to contact my insurance. But no, I just gave them another chance. They used those chances to ignore my request to change my doctor, fail to obtain a refill for me in a decent time frame, and just generally be inept. The customer service is awful. If you decide to take a chance with them, make sure you have some meds stashed so that you can get by while they take forever to do the simplest task.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 11 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 12, 2019

PillPack, great idea, but...

By Byron H., Yorba Linda, CA, Verified Reviewer

In this HighYa article PillPack is defined as:

Founded by TJ Parker, PillPack is a full-service pharmacy that "delivers a better, simpler experience." How?

By pre-sorting all your medication into personalized packets (one pack for each dose), nothing could be further from the truth. If you take several Meds they come in more than one package per dose. This is because of the font size on the package, let me repeat that, it is because of the FONT SIZE ON THE PACKAGE. Pathetic, back to Costco Pharmacy I go...I can help with programming variable size font based on content. These guys don't get it, the whole idea is "one pack for each dose", their idea not mine.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 12 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 12, 2019

Works very well for me

By Cathy V., Charleston, SC, Verified Reviewer

To start with, my situation is unique. I have a PCP in California and pain management in South Carolina. My problem was I spend about three months in South Carolina then the next three months in California. So my pain meds became a huge problem. I am one of the chronic pain people that is caught in the opioid problem. All the script crackdown made my life a nightmare. Add to that most pharmacies do not stock my med because it is expensive. Then add that the dosing is for 28 days and can not be refilled until day 27. PillPack was the dream solution. I no longer had to have the pharmacy in California question a script from South Carolina. Or deal with when I traveled to my other home, much less if I ever wanted to take a vacation...

PillPack has fulfilled all of their promises it has been about a year. Count me as a happy customer.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 19, 2019

If cost is a concern, this is not the best option.

By George S., Illinois, Verified Reviewer

There's a reason they don't provide pricing until you are a subscriber. The cost of my prescription through PillPack is triple what I pay at Sam's Club. FYI - EVERYONE offers mail-order delivery these days. So convenience isn't an advantage. Plus there are several dangers with mail order. What if your package is lost or stolen? How are your drugs packed? (Are they packed in ice, if refrigeration is needed?) How will they hold up if left sitting in the sun? Are they okay if left out in the rain? What's the expiration date on the medication you receive? Where was it packaged and shipped from - within the USA? On the plus side, their customer service is here in the USA. So call and get pricing before subscribing.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 11 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 8, 2019

Can't seem to get it right after 5 months

By Andy M., North Carolina, Verified Reviewer

Very bad communication. First month, April, was ok and I got all 5 meds in the pack. Next month arrived with only 2 meds. I called and they said it was a mixup with Walmart pharmacy and that they would straighten it out the next month. Next month arrived with only the same 2 meds.

I called and they said they would send me another pack with the missing 3 meds and that I would use two PillPacks for a month and they would straighten it out the next month. I then received a bottle with only 1 med, not in a pack. I called again and they tried to again blame Walmart and my doctor.

Today I received another bottle of pills and it's now the first of August. So I now have a PillPack with 2 meds, bottles with 2 more meds, and still missing 1 med.

TLDR; Customer service does not take responsibility and doesn't bother to notify the customer when they are going to ship out a changed number of meds. Even the Walmart calls to tell me when my meds change or when a transfer order is received. PillPack should do the same thing or send a text message at a minimum.

I spoke with a manager named "Chris" who would not give me his full name, even though they have my SS number, Credit Card info, and birth date.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 13 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 5, 2019

Warning: PillPack might not send your medication

By Craig F., California, Verified Reviewer

Be aware PillPack will not send your medication if there is any glitch in the payment process. They will not notify you that they've done this. The first two payments went through fine and I received my medications on time. However, the third shipment didn't arrive. When I called to find out why they said it was some problem with the delivery or the payment. The problem must have been on there and because I received the shipment a few days later. I called them and tried to tell them that now I had medication for days that had already passed in addition to not having medication for the first few days. They need to have a policy where they always deliver the medicine on time and work any problems afterward. I would never use them again.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 12 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 31, 2019

Good bye CVS

By Bob L., Homewood, IL, Verified Reviewer

I signed up before I realized no supplementals, so I stopped. Read Amazon, bought the company, called, and now supplemental, was available and rejoined. Their service saves me at least 2 hours a week when I would place meds into daily plastic containers. Also impossible to beat when traveling on vacation. Their service is 180 degrees from the local pharmacy. Looking forward to the drug store closing because of terrible service. PillPack and Amazon will change the landscape of meds forever.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 9 People Have Voted
Showing 23-33 of 102

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.