Planet Fitness

Planet Fitness

Overall Rating

1.7

61 Customer Reviews

Write a Review

Summary

Planet Fitness’ low monthly fees and its focus on helping people feel accepted and comfortable in their gyms make it a popular choice for those who are working out for the first time.

Pros

  • Affordable monthly payments
  • Low-pressure, welcoming atmosphere
  • Free fitness training
  • 30-minute workout circuit simplifies weight training
  • TRX area
  • Massage chairs and hydromassage beds

Cons

  • Cheapest membership requires a 12-month contract
  • No group exercise classes
  • No pools or saunas
  • No child care

Customer Reviews

1.7 Stars out of 61 Reviews
5 Star:13% 4 Star:0% 3 Star:1% 2 Star:14% 1 Star:70%
15% Recommend This Company
Start your review of Planet Fitness:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Sep 16, 2020

Run away!

By Leanne S., White Bear Lake, MN, Verified Reviewer

I wish I had gotten the name of the little snot that refused to cancel my membership when it's for severe health issues. If I had known they would make me come in during a plague, when I'm incredibly high risk, and then refuse, I would have contacted the BBB first. I have NEVER had such a horrible experience as with Planet Fitness. Have you dealt with an insurance company? They're a treat compared to PF. You have to deal with only the local franchise and I've met ONE person in TWO YEARS that wasn't rude and/or inept. Think twice before you have anything to do with this horror show of a company - ANY other gym, even in a prison, would have to be an improvement. I really, really hope people check the reviews and take them seriously or they will absolutely regret it.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Rude and/or inept staff

Refusal to cancel

Cleanliness at the front was a joke

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 11, 2020

Rude staff, stupid policies

By Catherine G., Panama City, FL, Verified Reviewer

The staff at Planet Fitness is useless! The equipment is always broken and they won’t help you with anything. They don’t rack the weights that are left around. They won’t help you adjust the machines or teach you how to use them. They won’t address any concerns you have. They let people tie up the 30-minute workout room; even though there are signs everywhere telling people that it is for the 30-minute workout only! The trainer that is supposed to come with your membership, is hardly ever or totally not available, and the trainer that has been available lately, is nice enough, but has not had enough training himself and WILL hurt someone if he continues training with the training he has had at this time.

The new policy for masks! It is sooooo stupid. You only have to wear a mask if you are walking the supposed 6 feet between machines. If you are on a machine or just standing near one, you do not have to wear a mask. I was not wearing a mask, because this is a stupid policy. No one is abiding by this policy. I tried to take some pictures just to show the corporate office, and the manager not only came over and called me out about not wearing a mask, but she THREATENED me with calling the police in front of my Mom and other members! And later she called me at home to yell at me!

The HIPPA laws don’t let you ask anyone about their medical conditions and if they have a problem wearing a mask and breathing, you are not supposed to make them wear one. I do not have an issue with this and I am sorry for anyone who does, but the manager said it didn’t matter, because Planet Fitness doesn’t allow this as an excuse to not wear a mask anyway and you still have to wear one.

Also, the new policy at Planet Fitness requires that you carry the big heavy bottle of cleaner with you and clean your machines as you go. You were always supposed to clean your machine and towels were provided at cleaning stations throughout the club. I don’t have an issue with that, but I do with carrying around the heavy bottle, plus my own water bottle. And the bottle, if you drop it accidentally, comes apart and makes a huge mess. I have neck injuries and have trouble holding on to things, and I have dropped the stupid bottle twice.

I have tried to call the corporate office 5 times and have left at least 3 messages. They do not answer their phones and will not call me back to let me voice my concerns! I told them in my message that I would post these complaints everywhere I could find to pot the online and this is to keep my promise. I am looking into other gyms. I may stay at Planet Fitness if I can get them to address my concerns, but only because they are the least expensive gym. Just know what you are getting into if you join this gym.

Length of Use: 1–2 years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Price

Staff rude

Equipment broken

Stupid policies

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Aug 7, 2020

Cancel membership

By Jennifer M., Midland, TX, Verified Reviewer

I walked into Planet Fitness in February to cancel the membership and was told I needed to do that online.

I got online, and it only lets you change the level of membership - not cancel. Of course, I went back in person but the gym was closed from COVID-19. At that point, the app was not letting me access any changes since they were temporarily not billing due to COVID. Fast forward to July 17th, I get a $23 monthly fee out of my bank account. Then 2 weeks later, Aug 3rd, another $43 deduction for annual fees. I called the gym stating my annual renewal date was in April and I've been trying to cancel the membership since before then as to avoid the fee. But was told there's nothing they can do about it. I was very upset about the $66 out of my bank account within a 2-week period, for something I was unable to cancel or contact for 3 months because they were closed. However then, "since I was upset and so they could accommodate me," the girl said she COULD go ahead and cancel my membership. But I thought I had to come in to do that?

The take away is, apparently they give you the runaround to not let you cancel, so you keep getting billed. Yet can adjust the policy when convenient to them. Of course, any refund is "out of their hands" and "per contract" the annual maintenance fee cannot be refunded, despite my efforts in the past 6 months to avoid this situation. And, there has been no correspondence stating when billing was to resume after closing for COVID.

Poor customer service!

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Customer service

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 4, 2020

Best place to pick up the COVID-19 virus!

By Mick R., Bossier City, LA, Verified Reviewer

I used to like going to the gym in Bossier City, LA. But now it's a dangerous place to be. The governor of LA mandates face covering in public places, but they won't enforce it in Planet Fitness. Now they say you have to wear a mask unless in an active work out. That means, if you are standing around doing nothing, must wear a mask. Otherwise, it doesn't matter. They are more worked about memberships than our safety. I'm really disappointed in these people. I love working out, but going to Planet Fitness is very dangerous now! Sad. Money is more important than human life to them.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Nice equipment

They don't care about the health of members

I was told that they don't enforce rules in fear of someone might quit

Poor management

Posted on Jun 19, 2020

Disgusted with Planet Fitness

By Tia G., Pittsburgh, PA, Verified Reviewer

I am disgusted with Planet Fitness...you send an email out on June 10, 2020 and resumed BILLING ON JUNE 17. AS CUSTOMERS WE SHOULD HAVE HAD 30 DAYS NOTICE. PEOPLE ARE FURLOUGHED, LAID OFF, and trying to regroup after this crisis. I understand money was lost but you don't sabotage loyal customers to get it?!

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 18, 2020

Great atmosphere, no jerks

By Solomon J., Salt Lake City, UT, Verified Reviewer

Made up with my gym. Talked it out. Long story short, I was being difficult and I wanted to undo any damage I did. Great customer service. Staff is extremely nice and helpful. Disregard my older one-star review. Convenient location. Not too crowded in the morning, and no gym jerks so far. I like the Planet Fitness crowd a lot more than Gold's Gym or VASA. 24 Hour Fitness is kind of a mix between Gold's and Planet if you want a nice middle ground.

Love it here so far!

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Good atmosphere for the most part

Other gym members very respectful

Trainer that I slighted is actually a really cool laid back guy

Both girls at the front desk are very friendly

Greeted on the way in and way out

Great location, right by tracks and bus on way to many employers

More options on equipment

Be the perfect gym if they just added a few more things

Definitely would want a little better equipment

Posted on Mar 7, 2020

Horrible customer service

By Nancy K., Oklahoma, Verified Reviewer

I had an annual membership and called to cancel. I was not told I needed to go in before February 27 or I would be billed another annual fee. When I went in to cancel I was not told I would still be charged another annual fee. I get emails all the time from Planet Fitness but never got a notice I would be billed another annual fee, like most places that offer annual subscriptions do. The manager said they have every legal right to charge that and it would not be refunded. I'm sure it is legal but customers should get a notification and charges like that should be refunded. The company lacks integrity.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Feb 5, 2020

Front desk personnel

By Sharon M., Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada, Verified Reviewer

Was not offered any kind of a tour by the fellow I spoke to at the front desk. That was a big-time disappointment and once he took my picture, did not even give directions to where the change rooms are. Not much of an area for the free weights. I go to another gym and was really considering Planet Fitness but was really bothered with the reception I received from this person. A person feels uncomfortable entering a new facility and it should be protocol to show that person around. Think I will stick with Shapes...

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Feb 1, 2020

Incompetent manager Jaime

By Minnie M., La Puente, CA, Verified Reviewer

I went to work out on 1/28 and I was told by Jaime, the manager, my stretch capri leggings were not in the dress code because they were denim material and I would need to change. I asked if I could just work out today and would not wear them again, worn them many times and never a warning, I went home to change. I handed my card to Jaime and when she said "thank you," I said "not welcome," that was her reason to terminate my membership, and even though I apologized many times she refused to accept my apology. I've read other reviews and she has been mentioned as incompetent, customers should not be treated like she treats people, I am a senior and have had a membership with Planet Fitness for about 7 years and this is how they repay my loyalty.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 16, 2020

They ripped me off

By Jeremiah P., Kannapolis, NC, Verified Reviewer

I joined at the end of October, I got 2 $10 a month memberships for my girlfriend and I. First month, November payment, they charged me $50 instead of $20. The next month, December, they charged me $50 instead of $20. Then the maintenance fees came and they charged me $54 two times for 2 memberships for a total of $108.00. What I should have been charged was in November $20 and December $20. Maintenance charges of $78.00. I called the manager, he said they don’t refund money. I called corporate, they said sorry. I went into the gym tonight to cancel both memberships and the guys at the desk were nice but just said sorry. What the heck does "sorry" do to me, you just stole my money and you say sorry? He claims he has been canceling my memberships. Hmmm, wonder why. This place is a scam. People, watch your accounts. They lie and steal your money.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 11, 2020

Planet Fitness are liars and steal people's money

By Krystal W., Roseville, MN, Verified Reviewer

Planet Fitness has lied and took money off my card without permission and on numerous occasions said they were going to refund it and it was never refunded. I talked to the manager Greg in the Roseville, Minnesota Planet Fitness on numerous occasions that said it was one in process back to my card and now I cannot seem to get ahold of him. They took off over $150 from my card. I'm a single mom of 3 on disability and they just stole my money right off my card and will not refund it. Do not use these people for the gym because all they do is steal from innocent people and lie.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted
Showing 12-22 of 61

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.